Boks to bank on bitter rivals
19 Apr 2010
The bulk of this year’s Springbok squad should comprise of Bulls and Stormers players.
It’s a no-brainer when you consider the form of these two teams in the 2010 Super 14. After round 10, the Bulls and Stormers are in contention for a home play-off while the Sharks are struggling to salvage some respect with a mid-table finish. Typically, the Lions and Cheetahs are scrapping to avoid the wooden spoon.
Bok coach Peter de Villiers is unlikely to discard his favourites just because of the poor performances of the Sharks and Cheetahs. Expect to see John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarrira, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen and Juan Smith in the mix this season, but if the Bok selectors are going to reward form, they need look no further than South Africa’s greatest rivals.
Bakkies Botha will be back from injury shortly, but Andries Bekker has given De Villiers food for thought with his tremendous efforts for the Stormers. A natural No 5, Bekker has been the money man in a great Stormers lineout and made some thrilling bursts in open play. Importantly, he’s stepped up in the physical department, defying those critics who said he couldn’t play a tighter role.
I criticised De Villiers for playing Bekker in tandem with Victor Matfield last year, and at the time the criticism was justified. Bekker’s showing in 2010 suggests the skyscraping lock could dovetail with Matfield should Botha be rested or injured at any point this season.
Francois Louw has been thumping on the door for some time, and under the new laws his ball-stealing threat in the blindside position has been amplified. With Heinrich Brussow sidelined because of a knee injury, the abrasive Schalk Burger is an automatic selection at openside and is complemented by Louw. The Cheetahs’ Smith may still be the incumbent, but Louw’s breakdown ability and lineout prowess make for an interesting alternative.
In a long international season, De Villiers should also be considering alternatives up front. Smit has played his best rugby at loosehead this year while the surprising standout at tighthead has been the Stormers’ Brok Harris. There are doubts of his ability to compete at the next level at this stage of his career, but in the 2010 competition, he’s been the best of an average South African lot.
Gurthro Steenkamp has improved from a scrumming and ball-carrying perspective while Tiaan Liebenberg has taken these aspects to new levels. The robust Stormers No 2 must wear a Bok jersey this year, as his penetrative runs always get his team across the gain line.
Ryan Kankowski’s early season form reignited the debate over the No 8 position, but his tournament-ending injury and the powerful showings of Pierre Spies confirm the incumbent will hold sway. Spies has been one of South Africa’s standouts and will be a key member when the Bulls feature in the play-offs.
The halfback pair that toured Europe last November have been at the heart of the Bulls’ success in 2010, and Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn will be asked to do a similar job for the Boks. Steyn has battled in recent weeks but is still the best available.
The Lions and Sharks have imported flyhalves while the Cheetahs’ Naas Olivier is barely up to the Super 14 grade which means the only man pushing Steyn for that No 10 jersey is Peter Grant. The Stormers’ flyhalf has provided the usual go-forward with ball in hand, but has improved his tactical punts and goal-kicking.
Juan de Jongh’s made a fantastic impact at No 12 but his quick feet and turn of speed should see him challenging for the outside centre position at the highest level. Wynand Olivier has performed a dual role for the Bulls: crashing it up to lay the platform or chucking it wide when the run is on. Jean de Villiers will return to South Africa when his stint with Munster ends, but he’ll have to fight hard to win back that starting Bok jersey.
Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana have lifted the Stormers’ backline and are starting to show their best form, and Zane Kirchner has been solid at the back for the Bulls. Again, much depends on Frans Steyn’s availability (he’s currently contracted to Racing Metro for another two years) because his boot, bulk and attacking flair need to be utilised by the Boks in some capacity.
The biggest bolter come the first squad announcement could be Gerhard van den Heever, as the young speedster possesses an uncoachable ability to finish. Other uncapped players that deserve a look include Dewaldt Duvenage, a player who has the skill-set to slot into a Bok game plan, and Flip van der Merwe, the Bulls’ underrated second-rower.
De Villiers has a tough task ahead in 2010 and in the build up to the 2011 World Cup. The additional fixtures against Wales in June and the Barbarians in December will test his management skills, and there’s no doubt an extended squad will be needed to cope with the heavy workload.
The one-off Test against France, the Tri-Nations, and the Grand Slam Test against Ireland should be viewed as the priorities for senior players. Fixtures against Italy and Scotland, and even the international season opener against Wales should be used to test new combinations and give other players a look before 2011.
Bok form XV – After 10 rounds
15 Zane Kirchner (Bulls)
14 Gerhard van den Heever (Bulls)
13 Jaque Fourie (Stormers)
12 Wynand Olivier (Bulls)
11 Bryan Habana (Stormers)
10 Morne Steyn (Bulls)
9 Fourie du Preez (Bulls)
8 Pierre Spies (Bulls)
7 Francois Louw (Stormers)
6 Schalk Burger (Stormers)
5 Victor Matfield (Bulls)
4 Andries Bekker (Stormers)
3 Brok Harris (Stormers)
2 Tiaan Liebenberg (Stormers)
1 Gurthro Steenkamp (Bulls)
By Jon Cardinelli

345 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All
19 Apr 2010, 13:16 pm
@ImAStronter: ahhhhhhhhh you seems like a worthy challenge, unlike your team though.
19 Apr 2010, 13:18 pm
@mshiniwami:
and let’s not forget,Van den Heerver is white. Mapoe isn’t, plus he is injured…so that definately makes him the favorite in South African terms.
19 Apr 2010, 13:20 pm
@MacToogie: Last point and then I move on. I would rather rally a few friends than making a few enemies. Rugby is a great game, owned by all, contrary to some peoples perceptions. Good luck on the S14 2010 title mate, don’t know why we are even bothering playing the remaining games.
19 Apr 2010, 13:21 pm
@mshiniwami: I prefer Mapoe out of the three right now, got great feet, skills and pace to go with it
19 Apr 2010, 13:24 pm
@ImAStronter: @295. A great win this weekend mate! How good was the balance between attack and defense! I’m sure this young team can only improve with time.
19 Apr 2010, 13:25 pm
@MacToogie: My friend… I have been waiting for a year like this since 2004. You humiliated me in 2005 and 2006… I have the deepest hate for anything Bulls of anybody in this country…
Which means I got raised correctly by my father.
Your arrogance is borderline sickening and therefore I’m going to rub the Stormers demolishing of the Bulls in for quite some time.
I will be doing the exact opposite of what “Groot Blou Smile”(he’s a bit before your time) has been doing to me ever since 2005. You will be given the biggest “Pak van julle lewe” on Stormers Blue Saturday – 15 May 2010
Shame man….
19 Apr 2010, 13:26 pm
@Bill Reyts: I have enough friends outside the internet =), i come here to banter and chat rugby as you will pick up from my posts, but if Stormers make it to the final and Bulls don’t, i’ll be sitting in my stormers jersey shouting the buggers on. but that scenario will never happen, my call all season has been a Bulls Stormers final, and it shall remain that way till proven otherwise
19 Apr 2010, 13:30 pm
@MacToogie:
I concur. Mapoe has the allround package.Injuries willing TO STAY AWAY, a move to the Bulls in not to distant future…HE IS GOING TO BE A SUPERSTAR
19 Apr 2010, 13:30 pm
@ImAStronter: i seeeeeeeee, so you reckon I’m arrogant, obviously can’t read to well then, understandable of your kind, just like the Cape Town media see what they want to see, it must be grating you though that you guys in WP need our hero Habana to sort out all your problems down in CT, hmmmmmm? ever since he got there from the Bulls you look like a proper rugby team, amazing what a little bit of Bulls magic can do huh, love it.
19 Apr 2010, 13:31 pm
@Bill Reyts: It was a good performance. I would like to believe it was because of our excellent play that the Chiefs looked like ****. I must however concede that the Chiefs weren’t good at all and therefore the performance must be put in perspective….
It was an excellent win, but you have to take the quality of opposition into account….
There is lotsa work to be done…. BUT…. I have faith that we will get there…
I’m glad the schedule only get more and more difficult… cause that will keep us focused and even more hungry.
Oh, can you pick it up…… I HATE THE BULLS
19 Apr 2010, 13:32 pm
@mshiniwami: yeah, once he’s at loftus he can start growing =), just like we made made Habana good, we’ll do the same for Mapoe
19 Apr 2010, 13:34 pm
@MacToogie: Yeah I’m pleased to hear you have friends mate – internet is an easy tool to blast our mouths off, without anyone really knowing us. Saying things without substance often leads to people not taking us seriously. I have made great friends here though, all respecting my views and me theirs. We may differ by the way we say things, but we have to live by the sword, so let’s each do as we wish. As you mentioned earlier the Bulls will win the Super 14, now you retracting your view doesn’t really make me take you too seriously mate. Anyways my bad mate.
19 Apr 2010, 13:35 pm
@ImAStronter: My question to you Stront is would you support an Aussie or NZ team over the Bulls?
19 Apr 2010, 13:37 pm
@skopskiet: @272
Not with Grant as your flyhalf
19 Apr 2010, 13:37 pm
@ImAStronter: Yes the Chiefs were pretty mediocre and we have to keep our feet firmly on the ground taking it one game at a time, not thinking of semis or finals yet. But hell it is good being a Stormer again.
19 Apr 2010, 13:39 pm
@Bill Reyts: where did i retract? my view was always Bulls to win the Bulls Stormers final, but i tried to make a point in showing that i would support the stormers if they were to make the final and not the Bulls.
19 Apr 2010, 13:40 pm
@MacToogie: Toogie, give it a rest. You dont wanna engage me in a fight… cause then I’ll tell you that Habana…. is not a Bulls product…. You guys bought him from the Lions…. This is called the …. let me spell it out for you…. t-h-e p-r-o-f-e-s-s-i-o-n-a-l e-r-a
Just like you bought Victor Matfield from Griekwas…. yes go look it up… he didn’t start his rugby at the light blue paradise called Pretoria….Oh wait… is that Morne Steyn coming from the FreeState… or Deri-kak Hougaard from the Western Cape… I can go on and on…. So lets rather leave that item of discussion…. you are waisting my time.
Secondly… I despise old Stephen Nel and all his co-”this is the year of the Stormers”-writers…. What makes these stormers so much beter is because they don’t believe the hype…
I’ll say it again…. you have been warned…. get yourself ready for the biggest Bulls’ loss in history. I’m just trying to help you…. seeing that we’re both Keo bloggers
19 Apr 2010, 13:42 pm
@MacToogie:
I rest my case! Contradiction in terms.
19 Apr 2010, 13:43 pm
@ImAStronter:
biggest bulls loss in history?
even worse than 75-14?
19 Apr 2010, 13:44 pm
@Bill Reyts: and Bill, no disrespect bud, because i genuinely do believe you to be a good guy, but the day I measure my character on weather people on keo take me seriously or not will be a very sad day for me.
19 Apr 2010, 13:46 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Buurman
You are getting your knickers in a knot here.
Most Stormers fans (myself included) kinda rate Meisiekind, as he has improved in leaps and bounds, but there is a concencus that he cannot offer too much at international level, as he lacks a little of the X factor needed to operate there
De Jongh is going to be good, very good, as he has shown at a very early stage that he stands back for nothing, thinks well, takes good options, straightens well and keeps the ball alive. Time will tell…
19 Apr 2010, 13:46 pm
@MacToogie: You see Toogie, I have always had the idea of supporting any South African team…. however I have changed my perception due to the following…and this is a legit reason and not treason against my country….
I support the Stormers….
Like now, I want the Stormers to finish above the Bulls in any way shape or form… because of me wanting a home semi etc.
If however it does not affect log position etc, then by all means, I’ll cheer for every team…. accept the Bulls. Sorry mate, I got scarred last year in the Currie cup semi final… And will never forget that day….
Plus another thing… I’ll cheer for the team I selected on superbru ….
19 Apr 2010, 13:48 pm
@ImAStronter: they all came here before they did anything worthy of talking about, and all of those names have said there is no better setup than the Bulls, the WP/Stormers are getting it right but they are still 5 years behind the bulls franchise, but my question still is Stront.
do you support Aus and NZ teams over the Bulls?
19 Apr 2010, 13:49 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Ja Brigadier, of is dit korporaal…
Vryf maar daai kak in… Dit was die defining moment in my lewe gewees van haat vir julle….
Jy kan maar daai score omruil sodat dit in die Stormers se guns gaan tel…. JY GAAN HUIL OU BEES…
19 Apr 2010, 13:52 pm
@MacToogie: Toogie, isn’t it obvious….I will never cheer for you… only against you, dependant on the log or superbru….
Other than that I couldn’t give 2 ***** about your team.
19 Apr 2010, 13:53 pm
@ImAStronter: i see, so you blame Sereli’s high tackle on the Bulls then? anyways, i reckon thats where my dealings with you shall end, because if you genuinely support any Aus or NZ team over an SA team, for ANY reason, thats just makes you narrow minded and not worthy of the effort. i hope you enjoy the game on the 15th because i have a feeling you will be scarred even more son.
19 Apr 2010, 13:55 pm
@Bod:
he’s a WP center.
basically that means he will get folded in half one time or another and become a sicknote.
stormers form has a lot to do with the lack of injuries so far….something that they are generally the worst for.
but they are coming
two derbies coming up.
do you remember Jaapie Mulders cold hard shoulder on DeWet?
was never the same again.played a different game after that.
19 Apr 2010, 13:56 pm
@ImAStronter:
Tacitus is online. Move threads mate. Some real substance there.
19 Apr 2010, 13:59 pm
@Bill Reyts: Where?
19 Apr 2010, 14:05 pm
@MacToogie: Toogie, don’t you understand…. I’m scarred man…. hehehe.
Listen, so tell me if th sotrmers has the ability to go of the log and out of reach for the bfore the final weekend… would you seriously cheer for the Stormers knowing that you will then have to possibly face the stormers in a final(and I know I’m getting way ahead of myself) at Newlands instead of Loftus(if it was at Loftus)…. come on man… dont tell me you don’t agree with this scenario….
It works differently when your team is in contention… This is a provincial competition….
Aaargh I’m done with this explaining ****….
19 Apr 2010, 14:16 pm
@ImAStronter: your coment was a bit gibberish, but to clear things up for you, i would never support any NZ, AUS, French, English or any other country’s team over an SA side EVER, and to do so would be treason.
19 Apr 2010, 14:22 pm
@MacToogie:
‘our hero’ Habana???
How about OUR Derrick Hougaard??
and OUR Francois Hougaard??
and OUR Heyneke Meyer (Stormers assistant coach in 1999)
See where I am going with this?? Rugby is a professional sport you idiot!!
19 Apr 2010, 14:26 pm
@cab: 217
You know better than to do something like this. Our first team got beaten by France and Ireland last year. Aus also beat them once. How can you even think that your B & C SA team will be anywhere close to world class?
19 Apr 2010, 14:26 pm
@wpw: just shows you have no clue or any respect so you are definitely not worthy of a response.
19 Apr 2010, 18:44 pm
This debate happens every year, and every year since 2007 the team has stayed pretty much the same. Now why, please tell me, would PdV want to change combinations that work so well together so close to the title defence?
I would like to believe that the squad will pick itself, with of course a few form players sprinkled in to keep the 1st XV on their toes. We are about to see a couple of players coming back from Europe, and so Wynand and De Jongh, while on fire, will have to make have for these stalwarts.
Smit (c) Bismark Beast
Bakkies/Russouw Victor
Burger Smith Spies
FdP Steyn
Habana Jdv Fourie JPP
I hope Steyn, probab Pienaar/Kirchner
Guthro/WP Nel/CJ/BJ
Botha
Bekker/Russouw
Alberts/Deysel/Louw/Stegman/Wannenberg
Duvenage/Pienaar/Vermaak
Grant
Aplon/Van de Heever/Nokwe/Mjekevu/Mapoe
de Jongh/Wyand/
Pietersen/Lambie
The bulk picks itself, its the younger guys that need to be picked correctly. Combinations are key.
19 Apr 2010, 20:19 pm
World Cup Team:
15 F Steyn
12 Jean De Villiers
10 Morne Steyn (Bulls)
8 Pierre Spies (Bulls)
4 Bukkies Botha (Stormers)
3 Brok Harris (Stormers)
1 John Smit(Sharks)
19 Apr 2010, 20:29 pm
15. Zane
14. V. D Heever
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Francois Steyn
11. Habana
10. Morne Steyn
9. FdP
8. Spies
7. Flo
6. Schalk
5. Matfield
4. Bekker
3. BJ Botha
2. Bismark
1. Guthro
16. CJ
17. Smit
18. Bakkies
19. Juan Smith
20. Ruan
21. Grant
22. Joe Pietersen
Additional Tourists
23. Beast
24. Liebenberg
25. Vermulen
26. Alberts
27. Flip vd Merwe
28. Juan De Jongh
29. Lionel Mapoe
30. Jean De Villiers
19 Apr 2010, 20:31 pm
I love the way JP Pietersen isn’t included. He really sucks and wouldn’t even make my 34 man squad. mapoe is better, an Den Heever is better hell, Killian is better! JP does absolutely nothing! He really is terrible! He is what one would call a functioning ******. I also think Kirchner is not good enough to be Bok fullback. It’s a pitty that Ludik’s been injured. This could’ve been his year. I also really like Joe Pietersen but hinestly, PDV must piss off with his over-seas policy and choose Frans Steyn who was a super-hero last year. I also don’t dig that front row. I feel that Gary Botha has had a mammoth season. Although Liebenberg has been brilliant. Don’t like the props. No doubt Brok is good, but you can see that he’s not ready for international level yet. And come on! Gurthro Steenkamp?! Really? That’s a shocker of an inclusion. One would have to look over-seas and bring in CJ and BJ.
My SA Team as of Round 10 Including Overseas players:
1. CJ Van Der Linde
2. Gary Botha/ Tiaan Liebenberg
3. BJ Botha
4. Andries Bekker (Gotta put him in. He’s been too good)
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Frans Louw
8. Pierre Spies
9. Fourie Du Preez (But I’d tell him “Stop f*#king kicking everything”)
10. Morne (I’d tell him the same thing I’d tell FDP, but now let’s remember that Riaan Viljoen can play 10)
11. Bryan Habana
12. Olivier/JDV
13. Jaques Fourie
14. Gerhard Van Den Heever
15. Frans Steyn
16. Tiaan Liebenberg/Gary Botha
17. John Smit (only as a loosehead or hooker)
18. Bakkies
19. Potgieter
20. Vermaak/Duvhenage
21. Riaan Viljoen
22. JDV/Wynand Olivier
19 Apr 2010, 20:34 pm
@SodaJoe: Jean vs Francois at 12?
Zane vs Francois at 15 – we saw where Steyn should be in the Tri Nations – 15.
19 Apr 2010, 20:37 pm
@rugbywriter: I agree JP doesn’t even deserve a spot on the bench, ffs, Gerhard kicks his ***. Zane is good but not good enough.
19 Apr 2010, 20:41 pm
@byoboy: Boet. We need a center big and strong. Look at every team that klaps us, they run through our 10/12 channel. That’s why I have Steyn there – to moer that big French fkr, and Jamie Roberts, and ….
JPP on form is not good enough. But it would not break my heart to see him included.
19 Apr 2010, 20:48 pm
Forgot about our other talented tight head (the Italian game comes to mind):
15 F Steyn
12 Jean De Villiers
10 Morne Steyn (Bulls)
8 Pierre Spies (Bulls)
4 Bukkies Botha (Stormers)
3 BJ
1 John Smit(Sharks)
Bench:
Bekker
Vermulen
CJ
Guthro
Ruan
Wynand
Aplon
19 Apr 2010, 20:51 pm
@RUGBYWRITER:
Not a bad squad. Would agree with most of it.
Got to punt some my guys.
What about guys like Duane Vermeulen, Gio Aplon (small oke with a massive heart) and Joe Pietersen (injured but about to come back).
These 3 are in the form of the lives right now and also deserve recognition.
What’s with Riaan Viljoen? What has he done that so special?
19 Apr 2010, 20:54 pm
@SodaJoe: If you look at player stats Jean and Francois come in at about the same height and weight – almost exactly. Why not have 2 monsters to fk them up. And with Steyn’s boot at 15 its a real bonus.
19 Apr 2010, 23:55 pm
And Duanne Vermeulen has been a standout at 8 for the Stronters.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All