Calling the shots

Victor Matfield is the most complete captain in South Africa.

In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, we find out how Matfield’s leadership style has evolved over the years and what makes him such an outstanding captain for the Bulls today.

Click here to subscribe

‘I was a real stubborn bugger when I was in my early- to mid-20s. Hard-headed and unplayable at times,’ Matfield says in an honest self-appraisal of his formative years. ‘Even though I was a youngster in the teams I represented I would still want to have an influence on important decisions and I wanted things done my way. On the surface it seemed like I had everything under control, but inside I was unsure of myself. Now I see captains like that and I cringe because they are what I was and it’s ugly.’

Matfield goes on to reveal the things that have helped him to grow as a leader and what he learnt from iconic American football coach Vince Lombardi. Heyneke Meyer and Fourie du Preez also provide unique insight into Matfield’s captaincy style.

– Bulls backline coach Pieter Rossouw on earning his players’ respect, Fourie du Preez’s dispensibility and adapting to the new law interpretations

– The Western Province Rugby Institute was established in 2007 in order to retain the union’s young players and help them to make the transition to senior level. SA Rugby magazine finds out what progress has been made

– Why Wandile Mjekevu has the potential to become a world-class wing

Bismarck du Plessis on the Sharks’ poor start to the Super 14, his alleged rift with John Smit, and why he wants to stay in Durban

Conrad Smith on the Hurricanes, next year’s World Cup in New Zealand, his ideal Bok midfield and life after rugby

– Reds flyhalf Quade Cooper may be a bad boy off the field, but he’s making a good impression on it

– The new law interpretations have forced Super 14 teams to change the way they play the game. Rassie Erasmus, Gary Gold, Robbie Kempson and Balie Swart explain why

– Discarded England flyhalf Danny Cipriani hopes to resurrect his career with Melbourne’s new franchise, but it won’t be easy

Francois Pienaar on the progress of the Varsity Cup, its future plans, Maties’ dominance and how the competition helps transformation

– Former Stormers lock Ross Skeate on his successful stint with Toulon, his enduring hope of a Springbok call-up and why the new law interpretations will never catch on up north

Jake White explains why the maul is an important part of the game and how to counter-act it

329 Comments

• 1.schalk burger sauce: Reply to this comment

sorry, the first statement on this article is too bold… how abt Schalk Burger for a Captain, how abt Smit for a Captain, Bekker is pretty good too as Captain “Most complete in South Africa”….. I refuse. He has his weakneses that bring him down to every1 else’s level.

• 2.coma: Reply to this comment

Yeah, and just like Smit, he’s not the best in his position, Bekker is, so WHAT NOW?

• 3.coma: Reply to this comment

“Why Wandile Mjekevu has the potential to become a world-class wing” – ok guys, discard this issue, its all ****!!!!

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

What a season we in for!

Matfield to captain Boks to 2011…..thats my bet.

• 5.bananas: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Grant we know your views. But personally what was worrying for me was the Lions Durban game which I was at, seeing the disintegration of the Boks under Vic. I undertsand there were some crazy subs but when JS got back on we knew he would get us through.

I do like Vic but I just feel JS has the full package. Like you I would be very happy to see him back at 2 or even LH now as he is no TH.

• 6.garth: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha! What a load of k@k!

• 7.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well at least it won’t be a dull day on KEO…..

• 8.Martin: Reply to this comment

the heading could’nt have been further from the truth. when the chips are down vic is nowhere to be seen. in the land of the blind the one eyed is king.

• 9.offsides: Reply to this comment

agreed – what a crock of *****! John Smit will be there to lead us in WC2011! Not convinced that Bismarck is that much better at hooker…. definitely not when you consider the whole!

Big Vic will prob still be there though… bakkies and Vic are still the most formidable locking combo…

• 10.Tisme: Reply to this comment

What is it with us saffas it must either be the one or the other, Vic & Bekker will both be in the Bok squad pushing for the no 1 spot, and that competition will bring the best of both out of both players

wrt the captaincy we have two world class captains that will both be in the WC squad….. we are blessed muppits!

• 11.wpw: Reply to this comment

Anyone who watched the Boks in 2008 would have noticed that Victor is NOT a good captain at test level.

He basically argued with the referees and gave them ‘dagger’ looks.

The fact that he just happens to be captain of a Bulls side that in recent years has had the most world class players of any SA team in recent memory.

Matfield
    Du Preez
    Habana

Any team with these players as well as good S14 players like Gray Botha, Gurthro, Meisiekind, Kirchner, Steyn, etc does not need a ‘great’ leader.

Hell they don’t even need a ‘great’ coach as proven by Frans Ludeke’s appointment (and success)

• 12.rangerman: Reply to this comment

smitty will lead us to the wc 2011.

pdv has confirmed it.

anyone bleating about his retirement or benching him is clearly just looking for a rise.

but smitty will make all his doubters choke AGAIN, circa 2006-2007.

enjoy.

• 13.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@wpw: what a crock of *****!

• 14.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Victor “I kick for touch when I am behind by 2 points” Matfield.

Not for me, thanks.

• 15.Robzim: Reply to this comment

It is hard to comment before one reads the article and the motivation as to why he is “the most complete captain in SA”.

Whether he is it or not, he will probably never lead SA as PdV has indeed confirmed (Rangerman above) that Smit will lead us in 2011 (huge mistake imo but that is not the point)and after 2011 Matfield will be past his best and they will look at blooding a new captain for the 2015 world cup.

So we will probably never really know how good a captain Matfield is at the top level.

• 16.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Tisme:

I agree. This article is a crock of ****!! :roll:

• 17.gunther: Reply to this comment

Jeepers Keo

Here’s your knife back….

Barneys back will fine I am sure…

• 18.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

Victor, most complete captain, the bulls feeding you too much **** (bullshit). He has no idea, on Saturday against the Reds the Bulls needed to change their game, but no, they carried on kicking possesion down the opp. throats. All the Bulls had to do was keep the ball tight and maul and maul and they would have walked over the Reds. I bet every one of us were saying the same things to ourselves on Saturday during the game ‘f*&k, stop kicking the ball away, slow the game down, protect the ball, kick the ball into the stands’
    If the captain can’t pick this up and change the game plan after 20 – 30 minutes, he shouldn’t be captain. I blame the Bulls loss on the coach and captain and no one else.

• 19.Simon: Reply to this comment

@wpw: Have you read the article?

• 20.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

You also predicted that Smit would retire in 2009.

Well if you keep predicting you will get one right eventually.
    Even a blind dog finds the occasional bone

• 21.Papoose: Reply to this comment

what a load of ****
    nt getting this magazine
    and i’m a bulls supporter but i know the truth
    IN SMIT WE TRUST PAPPA

• 22.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: i agree
    sometimes the captain needs to be able to change the game

u dont see the value of a captain when the team is doing well. the great captains are the ones tht show they’re true colours when the team isnt doing well and Smit has proved time and time again tht he’s the one!!!
    Matfield is good, but still limited i feel

• 23.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit: do u think players read this type of stuff?
    can be quite disconcerting i feel

• 24.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

before you become the complete captain you have to be the complete player first(or close to it)
    the only time i saw him on the field on saturday was when he was moaning to the ref
    on current form he does’n t deserve to be in the bok team
    he’s a has been

• 25.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Simon you’re allowing Tac to cloud your thoughts again :roll:

• 26.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

i hope Victor reads this….he’s going to open a can of woop-***.

• 27.Horing: Reply to this comment

@Papoose: Let me give you just two examples of the value of Victor’s leadership: Super 14 final 2007, after Albert vd Berg’s try, standing behind the posts, with a few minutes to go, Victor spoke to his team, kept them calm and said, keep possession, take it through the phases and an opportunity will come. And it did! And the same thing happened in the CC semi final last year. With his leadership, even if his team isnt on top of their game, he still manages to lead the team to victory by taking the right decisions at the right times!

• 28.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: Yah…he’s such a domdoos it’ll most likely go to his already fathead and then he’ll go into a blue sulk ’cause he does not get the captaincy…Bring on Bekker..!!

• 29.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Horing: All history…he was acting like a spoilt brat against the Reds…

• 30.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

All good and well, but what happens if (when, rather) Matfield breaks down?

He has played a crazy amount of rugby. So has Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn.

There’s not much prospect of those being rested, though.

If John Smit is going to captain the Boks at RWC 2011, he will need to be rested soon as well.

As PissAnt pointed out on a thread, it’s not just physical fatigue that’s the problem. Mental fatigue is an even bigger factor.

• 31.Horing: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: History, but proof of a good captain. Victor can’t be responsible for missed kicks, knock on’s etc. If Morne kicked a bit better (1 out of 4), the Bulls woudnt have needed a try in the end and could have won it with a penalty. The fact is the Bulls played badly but still could have won it.

• 32.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Didn’t Matfield captain the Boks for most of the 2008 season (3N)?

• 33.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Horing: Vic is certainly the logical choice for Captain if Smit goes…but the chances are good that they’ll be leaving the Boks together,so who’s your choice for future Bok captain then..?

• 34.Kondi: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w: You talk such rubbish, there is no way you can convince anyone that John Smit is a complete player.

• 35.Kondi: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: John Smit has also thrown abuse at the referees this season.

• 36.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

@Kondi:
    not anymore he ain’t

• 37.Kondi: Reply to this comment

Is time for the old, over rated John Smit to step down. So the EMPEROR Victor Matfield can lead us to victory.

• 38.WTF?!?: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately there are many more examples of VM’s lack of making good decisions under pressure, compared to him keeping a cool head under pressure.
    The Bulls have only been under pressure twice this season and they lost on both occasions.

• 39.WTF?!?: Reply to this comment

If the world cup wasn’t next year I would have said get rid of both JS and VM.
    It is time for the “youngsters” to show what they are made of, but they will get their change after the WC.

• 40.Kondi: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w: He never was that is why his inclusion in the in the Bok squad was questioned. While every time Victory’s name was on the list, people were expecting it.

• 41.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@WTF?!?: Well if they totally fark up the Bok tests this year heads may well still roll before WC 2011 imo…

• 42.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

The problem SA rugby has at the moment is that they have quite a few players that has got great leaderships qualities unfortunately none of them deserves a spot in the team, based on form

• 43.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@WTF?!?: The Bulls have constantly been under pressure this season. There has, if I remember correctly, only been one game where the Bulls weren’t behind at half time.

• 44.Kondi: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w: Victor Matfield deserves a place in the squad. He has played with Andries Bekker a number of times before. I don’t know which idiot said they can coexist. John Smit on the Other HAND, he is a liability in all positions.

• 45.Horing: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Difficult to say. Andries Bekker would definitly be first choice lock, but is he first choice captain? I dont know. I havent heard much about his leadership abilities apart from the Stormers supporters talking him up(and only after they won a match). 2012 we will see a complete different Bok side. Fortunately, guys for the future like Bekker, Dewaldt Potgieter has still got a couple of months to learn from Victor, John, Schalk, Fourie etc.

• 46.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Horing: I also like the idea of Pierre Spies..the guy has houding and no doubt the respect of the entire squad.

• 47.Horing: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Spies doesnt seem to be a natural leader. But he has the ability to spark the team with his explosive runs.

• 48.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Victor is a successful captain for the Bulls, but that doesn’t translate to the Boks.

Smit’s greatest asset from a captaincy point of view is that he pulls people from different provinces together, better than anyone else in SA.

Teichmann and Pienaar did the same.

It’s rare in SA to get captains who can overcome provincialism and I just don’t think Victor is one of them.

• 49.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Horing: He talks well in front of the camera…and has a quiet strenghth in leadership…I think he’ll be a great captain.

• 50.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I have no issues with Vic as a captain. i just think JS is better. And by better I don’t just mean better than VIC. I Mean better than anyone at the moment.

Vic’s a class player and a very good captain. Nice to have a strong leader like that in the team, just in case.

The Springbok team has matured into a very experienced and tight outfit. There are a few players who take on leadership positiions on the field, not just the Captain:

Vic bosses the line-outs
    Fouries makes the distribution decisions
    Jaques Fourie organises the defensive lines.
    John is the MD
    Ricky buys the KFC
    Earl buys the Coke (not Cola)
    Jannie argues with the ref.
    Bakkies is the hitman
    Wynand organises the hair care products.

• 51.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek:

Finally someone sees the light.

It is one thing captaining a team from one province, or really when all come from one town and have braais every other weekend together and their wives being best of mates too.

It is quite different to bring the provincial rivalries under control from a national perspective not too mention the political backdrop as a leader of the national team of South Africa…

• 52.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek: That’s an excellent point. Agreed. You get captains and captains…..Maybe Vic can still be that guys, but he hasn’t shown that he’s better than John yet

• 53.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

It’s about respect, as i see it.

He’s well respected by players from all the other provinces, by the coaches and by the opposition.

and he is a true gentleman in the after match speeches, particularly when the bulls have lost.

i see no reason why Vic wouldn’t make a good bok captain, not that i don’t see why J.Smit should be dropped anyway.

He does have an issue with some of the reffing lately, which i believe has been shoddy and inconsistant withregards to certain aspects.He has never blamed a ref for his side losing and remains a true student of the game.

• 54.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

I use the philosophy that we can never judge whether a player is good enough or not until he has proven he is not (given the opportunity and did not live up to the responsibility).

Vic captained the Boks a couple of times now and did not really cover himself in glory most notably in our 2007 tri-nations campaign (lost two out of 3 games at home to Aus and NZ) and the Durban test (against NZ) in 2007 when Smit was also injured.

Victor is a very good leader, his record for the Bulls show this.

His record on a national level however though, is not that impressive.

• 55.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

Also, do not underestimate the rivalry between provinces at national level either.

Best example I can think of was the Joost/Corne debacle of 2003 – both very successful provincial captains, respected for their roles at that level (provincial level), but an utter disaster in the national setup.

• 56.ufo: Reply to this comment

think it’s crazy that at this time we’re promoting one above the other as if their leadership is a mutually exclusive thing…

many great captains will talk about relying on and including the other leaders on the field…

to me it’s not an either/or situation…

we’ve got them both… two great leaders and rugby brains… we must back them both… together… yes they may be great individual captains and leaders… but together they create a phenominal leadership core that that is the envy of world rugby…

when 2011 comes around we’ll need all the leadership and motivational skills we can get…

Smit to captain… and Big Vic to lead as well…

sheesh… only in South Africa to we deem irrelevant, skills and experience that can’t be bought for ANY price… and it’s that experience we need big time next year…

• 57.cab: Reply to this comment

victor always used to give the ref the beady, or at least it came accross that way, he looked mighty dof, but he is a clever play and has matured, i still dont fink he’s engels is vat great, dats fine but da ref no comprende.

• 58.baw: Reply to this comment

ya i wonder if this isnt in response to the interview with roxi smit, i think these journos hate j smit hey -interesting in that behind the seens look at the lions test ,frans steyn had more to say at half time than vic matfield

• 59.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@baw:

Frans Steyn has the best English comprehension of all the dutchies, he was transalting Smit’s half time speech! :)

• 60.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

yes, but joost and krige are both arseholes.

and comparing matfields win record with the boks is also laughable.

under smith we’ve lost to the kiwis at loftus(a proper hiding) and the 49-0 catostraphe.

not that I hold smith responsible but he was captain those days and I don’t see him as a bad captain because of those loses.If anything, those loses made him an even better leader in the long run.

• 61.cab: Reply to this comment

i’d like to see Juan Smith as the captain, he would not understand a goddamn thing, lol, he’s post-match interviews are great, ja nee Juan vok nie rond nie. hy is daar om rugby te speel.

• 62.cane: Reply to this comment

I have been impressed by Big Vic this year. He has undoubtedly matured.

But, (And this is not a critisism), who couldn’t Captain a Team like the Bulls?

Would he be as impressive the Cheats Cappy?

Whatever, Smit will Captain the Boks. It is written in stone.

• 63.cab: Reply to this comment

lets face it tho on if captaincy and ref handling is the criteria, smit is light years ahead of the rest, he’s about as close to fitspatrick as anyone has come, very wily customer.

• 64.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

Smit won 2 Tri-Nations, B&I Lions series, and a World Cup…

I think his captaincy and role in all those victories speaks for itself.

Vic as mentioned is a very good leader for the Bulls – he has never taken that with any amount of success to the Bok setup where he basically had a full Tri Nations season to establish himself as such.

• 65.cab: Reply to this comment

only thing is no-one could ever hope to match the choir-boy face fitzpatrick revealed after surfacing from the bowels of a ruck.

now there was an expert cheata…

• 66.baw: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: ha ha ha

• 67.cane: Reply to this comment

At this level lets face it….what’s a Cappy got to do.

1- Say, “Yes Sir, Please Sir”, to the Ref.

2- Decide whether to kick for 3, or kick for lineout.

3 -At the end of the match remain polite and articulate in front of the TV camera.
    3a- Refrain from swearing, spiting and dribbling when being interviewed.

4- When the Ref says “go back and tell your players to cease….”. Well……..go and tell them.

5- Stay away from the Bookies.

Not exactly Brain Surgery.

• 68.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@cane:

Go read an interview on what Richie McCaw had to say about Smit, his role as captain of the Boks and the challenges he faces when they were roomies for the Baabaa’s clash 2 years ago.

In Kiwi land it (captaincy) might be as simple as you explained – over here, it is something quite different.

• 69.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek: 48
    I said that yesterday already. Vic is not the one to captain SA.

Doing the odd hospital job, by all means.

Smit will captain the Bokke until WC 2011. That is just a fact. Only thing that will prevent that from happening is Smit himself by retiring or if he gets injured. Matfield will not play for SA after WC 2011. He may even retire permanently after that.

That makes this whole debate pointless.

In the unfortunate event where Smit through either retirement or injury does not go to WC 2011 it would be a big mistake to consider Matfield as full time captain of the Bokke for reasons as explained by Vetkoek already..

• 70.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: @nama1:

Think it was Jake White who summed it up best:

“Let me put it this way,” said White. “A Springbok team contains Afrikaners, Englishmen, coloureds and blacks. It has parochial foes in Bulls, Sharks, Stormers, Cheetahs and Lions. It is a recipe for war! Yet in all the years of John Smit’s captaincy, there has never been one unhappy customer, not one voice of rebellion against his leadership. He is the glue that holds the Springboks together. The man is a legend!”

• 71.cane: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

I know PA. (my tongue was wedged)

And despite some of my Posts, I have huge respect for both Smit and Victor.

• 72.cane: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek:

Is that why Smit treated Young Luke like a Lepper?

• 73.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@cane:

As I understand it, he actually tried to include Watson initially. By all accounts (including Watson’s), Luke didn’t want to even be there, so what was Smit supposed to do? Lay out the red carpet and treat him like a hero?

It’s also not really been discussed, but I for one believe there is at least some correlation between Watson’s departure from the Stormers and their improved successes this year?

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cane: in actual fact, smit lobbied hard for luke to be a bok with jake white, who disagreed.

its all in his book, captain in the cauldron.

it was only later when luke became a divisive influence in the team structures that js realised that he was a bit of a cancer.

luke is probably a really nice guy one on one, but he has had problems in a team environment at both the sharks and province (read bekkers comments regarding the improvement in team spirit after lukes departure if you dont believe me).

but people like grant10 will whip themselves into a proper panty wetting over Smitty’s comments without ever having read the context of the comments.

like a teenager railing at the way the world is.

and now JS isnt hitting rucks according to grant? :lol:

what next? he doesnt have a tan? :lol:

funny how all these comments about JS are almost carbon copy of 2006-2007.

oh the irony.

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek: uh, ya think?

ok, maybe the imports had a hand in it too but for all of grant10′s attacks on schalk, the man is leading his troops and on fire at the moment.

i hear he even gets time off training to go to the beach :lol:

• 76.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Im sorry you cant even compare Victor to John. John is probably the greatest captain of all time, whereas the Boks look decidedly week when Victor was been the captain. Victor has never stepped it up on the international stage when captaining

• 77.cane: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek: @rangerman:

Thank You Gentlemen for your posts.

However, if Luke is/was a cancer, how come he gets the “WP Players Choice Award”.

The complexity of the SA psyche is beyond those of us who view it from abroad.

I see Luke as a victim. And many of us are victims. Such is life.

But we, the “Great unwashed” don’t have our personal conversations taped for all to crucify us.

How many of us, here on Keo, could withstand the scrutiny of our every utterance. In the manner Luke has had to endure.

• 78.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@cane: The truth is you cannot hold another accountable for their words concerning you without admitting to your own faults (Lukes reaction to JS book ) and also you cannot judge someones actions and call them a cancer without recognising the impact those words would have.

The first step in reconciliation is admission and the second is forgiveness. Even better though is when one can forgive without the other requiring to admit guilt first, thats called Grace.

I for one believe that both of these players never intended what was portrayed but bloggers are willing to forgive the one without any consideration for the other and will avoid looking at the context in which things were said and done. Whilst I don’t like either’s comments what good does it do me to sit in judgement of them, does it make me feel better? No, all it does is fuel the provincial rivalries even more and create a bitter and twisted society.

• 79.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i did not mean to sound like i was judging luke.

i am not.

i am merely mentioning what js said in his book.

to be honest, luke is gone and i am tired of the issue.

but smitty will be capitano in 2011 barring injury and for that i am thankful.

• 80.nama1: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: 78
    Spoken like a true gentleman.

• 81.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Can anyone please point out where Smit refers to Luke as “a cancer”? I read the book and admittedly English is not my first language so I allow room for the possibility of my comprehension being a bit soddy, but from my understanding Smit says some of the other players came up to him and refered to Luke as “a cancer”?

• 82.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah: Apologies if that is the case because I was led to believe on this site that Smittie had referred to him as a cancer. I really must read the book , a friend has offered to lend it to me to read.

• 83.gunther: Reply to this comment

Cheeky ranger

There are unconfirmed reports of a schalkwatch station on 4th beach..

It is different to the other lifeguard stations in that

It faces inland

It’s guard wears a different coloured speedo

It has a “luke is duke” beachtowel wafting gently in the breeze

• 84.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit is nowhere….useless….a passenger.

Klaar.

• 85.grant10: Reply to this comment

schalk is showing the way with a series of great performances….respect.

Smit started badly

and got worse.

now a journeyman….at best.

• 86.grant10: Reply to this comment

but we will pick him

and pay the price

it is written in stone….pdv has joined teletubby at the hip….so be it.

lots of tears coming.

• 87.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

@#78

Seemingly nice words, nicely put together, organised and structured but, in reality, pure unadulterated garbage.

If your skewed thinking is only one iota correct then not a single one of the victims of racism can judge and hold responsible the millions of whites who put racism into place/practice and maintained it there for all those years by whatever vast means at their disposal including the corrupt and evil police-force and military.

Are you then suggesting that that is unquestioningly so and correct?
    I am not interested in a long meaningless philosophical discoure, just a simple response like a yes or no.
    Or have you already judged in your limited context where you possibly were never a victim.

• 88.ET: Reply to this comment

Even now, almost 20 years after this seemingly non-racial dispensation, too many who formerly had the vote(alone), still do not want to accept, and admit, that the Watson family’s major flaw was, and still is, their intolerance of and non-acceptance of racism even in this day and age in the history of S.Africa.

• 89.bananas: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: Can you give us a jist of what he wrote ? A mate was at a function in Dubai with them both a few yeras ago, said they got on well.
    Also mention Richie left with two very hot chicks ….. now thats a captain leading from the front.

• 90.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: ET ,the victims of racism have a choice is all I’m saying. They can hold the millions of whites responsible or choose to forgive them and that I know is very hard to do. I think its rather presumptious of you to assume that because I am advocating forgiveness that I don’t advocate accountability. All I’m saying is that when you do choose to hold someone else accountable realise that you apply the same judgement to yourself.

• 91.bananas: Reply to this comment

@ET:

Lets stick to rugby, for me Luke was a good loosie but nowhere near great like Juan, Shalk or upto the developing Brussow and Spies.
    It is just bad luck on his part that we have one of the best Bok teams in history and he is not part of it. Nothing to do with politics …. or is it ??

• 92.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: and don’t presume I’ve never been a victim. I’ve had to forgive things as bad if not worse than you could imagine my dear friend.

• 93.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

@#90

Life is not as simplistic as you would have and humans have many emotions to which they react.

If I just take one loss that some suffered, does forgiving whites give back to those millions who lost their homes, because of the Group Areas Act throughout the Cape but particularly in places like District 6 and Woodstock and Claremont and Sea Point etc., to them?

The answer is a resounding NO. They have not even been compensated for those losses which at that time was largely their life’s savings then. And that is just one area to be addressed but what about the myriads of other questions?

• 94.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@bananas:

In essence, Smit and McCaw were roomies, whilst chilling in the room John got a call from a reporter and continued to do an interview right there and then.

At the end of the conversation, McCaw apparently asked Smit what that was all about (it was full of questions about the South African political landscape, quota selections etc.) and McCaw apparently could not believe what Smit had to deal with as a captain.

That is about the low-down of it.

• 95.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

@#92

When you do not have a worthy point of view then too many latch on to emotional straws as you do in post 92.

In my post #87 I clearly indicate you may or may not be a victim as shown below in my quote from that post:

” Or have you already judged in your limited context where you possibly were never a victim.”

The word “possibly” indicates you may have been a victim.

Always think CLEARLY before you write anything, as it may offend others in a way you may not even realise.
    The coin always has two sides.

• 96.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

@#90

I asked you for none of your philosophical garbage.

I have not acted in an inhuman manner to any fellow humans anywhere where I have found myself on this globe but that does not mean I will never defend myself when there is a need to so do.

Matter closed, so do not give me more garbage.

• 97.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: Your wish and I respect your views.

• 98.cab: Reply to this comment

My 2 cents, whites should be accountable, the watson’s family stance during apartheid was extremely honorable and the correct thing to do, which should have nothing to do with selecting for a rugby team. Some thought Watson was a very good player who deserved to be a springbok, many others did not cos they felt their were better players in SA. As in every team, there are players who feel hard done by for not being selected. Stephen Jones and Murray Mexted both felt Watson was too small.

• 99.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

@cab: #98 Many of his ex girlfriends share Jones’ and Murray’s view. But for different reasons. :twisted:

• 100.cab: Reply to this comment

Jake White had a penchant for size, especially in his pack, he noticed that the Boks were being dominated upfront particularly by teams like England, whose 02/03 pack he tried to emulate. He also did not like to get dictated to by players, he not only refused to select watson, but schalk brits too, because JW had something specific in mind. you may argue whether he was right or wrong, but he did improve the boks and he did win a world cup.

Watson’s non-selection had nothing to do with politics, the coach simply did not resonate with watsons style. Instead it became political when his family and the politicos exerted influence, one of those outcomes being hoskins worst error of judgement in bypassing the selection process.

Even Mugabi started off as a reformer before power went to his head, ppl in power should not overstep their remit because emotions outweigh everything else and nepotism filters in.

• 101.ET: Reply to this comment

I note, of late, that many of you are developing very cold feet a full year or so ahead of WC 2011.

Is it because the Bulls lost 2 too many and the Sharks far too many and even my Stormers(who may still lose more)?

All of a sudden the word tired, and even fatigue, features again, comes into vogue again but we do not see the French or the Aussies or the Kiwis use that notion when their teams lose.

Way back in about May 2008 before PDV’s first squad was selected but after he had been persuaded and convinced to bring back from France Smit and Matfield(and Percy M.), I boldly predicted, on sound grounds, that if PDV persisted with the 2007WC seniors then the 2011 WC would not be won because that OLD squad would be mentally deficient to do so or to put it differently because of the extreme difficulty to get them mentally effecient.
    Since then PDV has to me been blackmailed into retaining these old goats instead of blooding new Boks as starters, like Bekker, Louw, Vermeulen,Potgieter, Hargreaves, even Grant( who incidentally was in his 1st squad), Wian,W.P. Nel, and a host of others who would have the hunger for winning a WC.

Now the dye is cast and he has seemingly to stick with Smit, Matfield and the others because it is much too late now to do what the Wallabies and French have so well done.

Do I want the ‘Boks to not win the 2011WC? You bet I do, even to the extent that he should call back Percy and Os, to prove my prediction correct which I again state is based on the lack of mental adequacy (which you should know cannot be measured and expressed in units that we can understand and thus have to refer to what we call observational studies) which that old dog squad will have.

Never forget no team has won consecutive WCs and only an exceptional team will do so and the 2003(but old) Wallabies could not and they were very good.

• 102.bananas: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Wow very healthy attitude there Bananaboy ! Congrats ..

• 103.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

Understand that nothing is directed at your person but just at the views expressed and thus the consequences they may evoke.

• 104.bananas: Reply to this comment

@ET: Yes PdV has been “blackmailed’ by the Boks winning 3N, beating Lions, Bulls winning S14 etc… ha ha .. Thats just not good enough !

I dont agree with your synopsis on the mental ability of said “old dogs” more of a concern are the law changes of ELV’s to speed up the game in 2008/9 and again in 2010 the more “attack minded” amendments to the laws. Thus more running involved suiting younger legs.
    That of course could be contradicted by the kicking stats all teams are clocking up these days.. oh well.

• 105.ET: Reply to this comment

To the ‘thinkers’, and not those that have gone ‘bananas’, amongst you, can anyone offer an explanation for the appearance, and significance, of the ‘*** tapes’ at that particular time?

• 106.Alucard: Reply to this comment

ET you are wrong. PDV made many additions to the squad, but all but 3 have failed, and only 1 was willingly. He alone has failed to grow the squad, and it’s because of those seniors alone that 09 happened! Bekker and Grant are not test quality, and those deserving were omitted out of stupidity and racism. A poor coach is to blame. Two years to develop, wasted. Now it comes down to 06. I can’t wait to see the back of these three stooges!

• 107.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

this out yet?

• 108.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    ja that was very bizarre, at that stage they might very well have all been forming their power cliques, but the initial non-selection was not a political one as watson’s supporters tried to make out.

• 109.ET: Reply to this comment

@Alucard:

You are entitled to your views however incorrect they may be. For the record that 1st squad vs. Wales had a few newer faces but thereafter all of Matfield, Smit, James, Monty were brought back as starters with disastrous effects and results.

But why waste your time? Let us wait for WC2011 and see the consequences.

• 110.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: Apologies ET was just busy. No I understand fully where you are coming from and as I say respect your views.

• 111.ET: Reply to this comment

Alternatively, to the S.Africans, the French team, by all accounts, should be by far the most mentally efficiently prepared one. There should be no difficulty in motivating them to take it all by their coaching team, as the will to win, the desire to devour and take it all should be popping out of their eyeballs.

Just watch the French they have the forwards they have the team and the have a winning culture in Kiwiland.
    The Wallabies should not be far behind but for them this WC may come a little too soon.

• 112.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

If only more would have your healthy attitude what a fine country we could still develope into.

The whole is always more important than the sum of its componets.

• 113.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Too often we do not read between the lines. My simplistic reading of that in S.A. is that the big money people were just making a statement about who really is in charge of affairs.

He who pays the piper calls the tune and we all should know where the big money is in S.A. rugby. It certainly is not within the blacks.

• 114.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: ET when you’ve lived overseas you realise how beautiful the people in SA are and in particular those who have been previously disadvantaged. Their ability to forgive and make the best of life in lousy circumstances is fantastic.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    Its fine to read between the lines, but one should equally be careful to also not blur the lines.

The situation initially was that Watson was not picked by JW. The ppl who supported Watson decided to read into it that therefore JW must be a racist verkramptes who had an agenda against the watsons because of their prior political stance, this was utter nonsense and was blurring the lines.

The subsequent political shennanigans left alot to be desired, forget the video tapes, what about the offer/strongarm tactics warning white to select watson if he wanted to stay on as coach.

The whole thing was a viper pit.

• 116.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

I can confirm that as I am in the US. Where are you?
    I have always thought of you as being in Durban, hence your support of the Sharks.

It is always a case of almost every day here is a day too long. I am going back to C.T. when may sojourn in science here is done thus I never sold my home.

• 117.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: I’m in Holland and have been here for 16 years but always long for home. Unfortunately my kids were born here (I started late in life with kids) so they are Dutch in schooling etc but Saffers at heart.

I never immigrated, was transferred for a period of 3 years that got extended and before I knew it couldn’t get back home for a variety of reasons.All my immediate family (in-laws included) are still in SA. I only sold my home about 7 years ago as my intention was always to go back.

• 118.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

I am not as convinced about that matter as you are and read it totally in a different way. The jury on that is still out.

What I do know is that in 2006 Luke was the best S14 #6 and deserved a call-up especially as Burger got that injury.
    But what happened? Other, far less desrving, even blacks, were called up including Kabamba Floors. So with those 2 blacks who were both smaller than Watson where does the commitment to size come in? Floors even went on the eoyt that time.

It was clearly unjustified and vindictive behaviour by the decadent, racist, decrepid White and since the I lost what little respect I had for him, but I do note that you have gone to and fro wrt him and that call. The ‘colour balance” was misused by him to make a point with his appointees esp. Hoskins.

Besides in sports size is not as important to the exercise physio., as we all have herad and read of the skilled soft-hands little ones(Aplon for example) and contrariwise the big clumsy oafs(Burger). The laws of physics goes both ways for big and small it just depend on your understanding of those laws and I doubt whether you believe White’s understanding of physics is superior to mine.

• 119.Alucard: Reply to this comment

You fail to take into consider the Boks gameplan in de Villiers first year! He tried to copy NZ and failed, as Jones put it, nobody on the planet was playing like de Villiers was talking about. That coupled with all of de Villiers failed experiments prove emphatically that I’m right. The 07 seniors have been carrying the Boks and struggling to fight the blunders of the worst coaching team in test rugby. Nothing you say ET can stand up to the facts.

• 120.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

You are in a good healthy(not for now with that ash cloud) situation for your family considering the tough S.African road we all had to travel. Do not accept that because they are born there that that makes it unfortunate.
    I have Dutch genes from my mother’s family side and have a desire to spend some time in Holland. I am a great admirer of their football teams such as the national team and Ajax , in particular.
    I bet your kids(if one or some is a/are boy/s) must be soccer followers or has dad converted them to rugby with all the rugby that is available on tv?

• 121.ET: Reply to this comment

@Alucard:

I suggested you not waste your time. As it is you are too categorical hence I don’t waste my time.

Gameplan? That the players did not even want to put into practice accept that last 3N games where they wiped the Aussies across the floor because eventually they could execute by catching and passing an oval ball and thus score some tries?

• 122.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET: Both ET. My son is an avid Ajax fan whereas I am a PSV fan in the Dutch league. However he plays rugby for the British School in the Netherlands (although he is not a student there) and I coach his side. If you ever do decide to visit the Netherlands let me know.

• 123.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Smit didn’t make all that many ‘great’ leadership inspiring decisions on the field in recent memory, now has he?

Back end of CC 2009 3 x losses on trot, France Eoyt 2009, Ireland Eoyt 2009, 3 x warm ups early 2010, 5 x S14 openers 2010.

I fail to see Smits great leadership pedigree, same as I fail to see Matfields, now Bekker or Louw or Watson or Joe Van Niekerk or perhaps Potgieter, now there are some decent type leaders you can nail your colors to.

• 124.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

As for Watson he was knifed in the back from the beginning by White and Smit, and the rest of the Klu Klux Klan followed suit.

• 125.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Anycase guys I’m outta here. Got to go and let this old body do some work in the gym. Cheers ET, have a gr8 day.

• 126.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Dont you believe in Karma Skoppie. ;-)

• 127.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

Do not agree with this article. Matfield was a disaster as captain against the Wallabies 2 seasons ago. The ref got annoyed with his constant backchatting etc. John Smit much better with “manipulating/softening up” of ref. But, neither should make the Bok team on merit. Can we afford to pick players on reputation alone? don’t think so.

Matfield overrated, only performs well in dominating/winning side. I will take Bekker any day above Matfield. Infact, if we gonna pick players on reputation, then Matfield will play forever, as can not ever see him getting injured. He collapses like a bag of potatoes when touched by any opposition player, including the scrumhalf.

• 128.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

Then your son is my buddy and you are the ‘enemy’, except when the national team plays. Hey! they should do well very well in WC2010 in a few weeks, especially if they play some of there games in C.T. You do know they(Ajax) have a connection with soccer in C.T.(with AjaxCT’s coach).

With the advent of Cruyff, Neeskens and Johny Rep in the ’70s I have consistently followed Ajax and Holland. They(the brilliant ones) always seem to come in groups of threes. Thereafter it was Van Basten, Gullit and Rikgaard etc.

So do you stay in Amsterdam or is it Rotterdam or another city or town?

I would most definitely look forward to meeting you anywhere in the Netherlands, in fact, my son is passing through Schiphol on Monday early(if flights resume by then) on his way here to the U.S.

• 129.ET: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

@125

Thanks for the good discourse Bananaboy/Oranje(nou).

• 130.ET: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

@124

Totally with you on that Skoppie, but you know that a long time ago already.

• 131.grant10: Reply to this comment

luke watsons non selection in 2006 was criminal…..

despicable

and malicious….

klaar!

• 132.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    John Smit

Rugby World Cup
    2007 Champions

Tri Nations
    Winners: 2004, 2009
    Runners-up: 2005

British and Irish Lions Series
    2009 Series 2–1

Test Series Record (Home)
    2004 2–0 Win Ireland
    2005 1–0 Win France
    2006 2–0 Win Scotland
    2007 2–0 Win England
    2008 2–0 Win Wales

Those other names you mentioned?
    Sweet F-all.

But I’m sure you know best. It helps that most of them are or were Stormers, hey Skoppie?

• 133.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek: 132
    Teichmann and Pienaatr and Morne du plessis et al all had decent records…..but all had to move on…

smit is playing kak!

• 134.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    That is a fair point.
    This is not: “I fail to see Smits great leadership pedigree”

• 135.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek: it is just very frustrating to see players like Bissy ,guthro coming under threat from a player that is so out of form …..really Smit cannot always survive on this leadership story forever.

No one wants to run the oke down but hell man….he is not even close on the radar!

• 136.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Bismark isn’t setting the world on fire either. I’d have Liebenberg at 2 to be honest.

• 137.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Hi All,

Just want to cause a bit of controversy today.
    Do you remember how some bloggers (G10 etc etc) commented that Smit was the reason why the Sharks lost their first 5 games.
    Can we now say that Matfield is the reason why the Bulls lost on Saturday?

Furthermore, are we now cherishing Smit as Captain cause the Sharks have won the last 4 games?

If Matfield was the best Captain for the Boks, he would have been doing the job the last 4 years.

I do not remember may people criticising Smit during the RWC & The Lions series…Short memories.

• 138.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek: 136
    Gary Botha,T Liebenberg and Bissy miles ahead oF sMIT CURRENTLY…..NOT ON THE SAME CHART.

gUTHRO IS THE FORM 1 …..bEAST MADE MORE OF AN IMPACT IN 10 MINUTES THAN sMIT IN THE ENTIRE GAME VS LIONS.

sMIT IS NO 3!

i DONT KNOW WHERE THAT LEAVES SMIT….BUT HE DOESENT MAKE MY wc 30….NEVER MIND MATCH 22.
    sorry caps

• 139.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BULLET: 137
    Smit at 3 was partly to blame.

• 140.charo: Reply to this comment

skoppie,ufo,pissant

waiting at vic times for you okes

• 141.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

Watson was a great captain for the Stormers, his unselfish decision to put the Stormers and the success of them above that of his own by moving overseas speaks of great leadership qualities.

• 142.vasteses: Reply to this comment

It seems like most of you guys have never played Rugby, I cant recall that I have ever told my Captain that he was a K@K Captain because I knocked the ball. Or passed the interception try or missed the winning kick. O yes now I remember all 14 team members left the field and said hey Cappie if you cant win these guys on your own you are K@K.

Smith is a great Cappie the best we had in a long time, he helped us forget that we had K@k ones like krige and Joost.

• 143.vasteses: Reply to this comment

On performance these last few games neither Vic nor Smith should be picked, however test rugby is not S14 and will need that experience. End of year tour would be great to leave these two to rest for WC even if it will be to provide much needed experience and assistance for the new guys

• 144.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Aaagh, hello Grant 10,

Is Matfield at 5 partly to blame for the Bulls loss on the weekend?
    Agree, Smit is not the answer at 3, however I do recall bloggers stating that Smit must go. Not partly go!

• 145.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BULLET: well if i was coach Smit is a goner!

• 146.The Shark Supporter: Reply to this comment

I’ve seen that adapt or die title a before, cant these guys think of something new?

• 147.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    116, well that is your opinion, i agree kabamba was less deserving and even smaller, but the political pressure applied at the coach was to pick black players, not honorary-black players.

There were many that agreed with you that Watson should have got the call up on the back of the Burger injury, including Nick Mallett, but JW liked size. he may have been wrong, but it was not correct imo for everyone to implicate JW as somehow having some sort of racial agenda in that respect. People called for Botha and Britz over Smit and he stuck to his guns. Ppl called for many things and he stuck to his guns. He may have been incorrect from a rugby strategist perspective not to pick Watson, but those folk who implied he had some agenda is not correct or fair. Instead what happened was when Watson was not selected, the whole incident was politicised.

You are welcome to your own opinion, but I do not share it and I also dont like players and politicos dictating selections.

• 148.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    how can someone’s non-selection be criminal?
    the only thing criminal is you lecturing on TR and of course that speedo.

• 149.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab: 148
    Maybe….but the biggest crime is fat boy making the bok team based on his leadership skills!

Daylight robbery i tell you…..bloody useless he is! Disgarceful performance against the lions…..he just walked from set piece to set piece….hit hardly a ruck….no man…that oke needs a break….i reckon for at least the next 40 years!

• 150.GOD: Reply to this comment

@cab: Mallet, JW along with all teh previous springbok coaches were white supremacist… prove to me that they were not… There was nothing rational about anything that they done.. You say bigger players… I say whiter players.. Stop trying to find legitimacy in the history of springbok rugby.. The bullshitting needs to stop.. I will expose the ugly truth.. The non selection on the bases of race is criminal and black players with their agents need to take S14 coaches to the Equality court.

• 151.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    by fat boy i take it you mean john smit. Smit has not only won a world cup but has guided the boks to probably one of the best runs of their history and you still wont give an ounce of credit.

and you are also hypocrite, you swing between saying he is an old warrior to be being bladdy useless, in short, you talk ****.

@GOD:
    upon what do you base your idea that these ppl were all racist supremacists? are you actually going to provide any logic in your arguements or is it all just going to be emotive nonsense. You have absolutely no arguement from me regarding the boneheads of the past, but why do you think Mallett and White are racist?

• 152.cab: Reply to this comment

non-selection on the basis of race, wtf are you talking about?

Watson is white. If anything, the selection process is in fact biased to selected based on skin colour, but that happens to be black today. You damn right, those policies should be up for judicial review.

• 153.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ooh look, its the grant10 show.

set to run til 2011.

but a bit like “Lost” its all made up along the way.

• 154.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit is not even a contender if based on form…..any logical coach would tell him to call it a day…..but pdv has chosen to make his bed….and we will all harvest the fruits [ or lack thereof ] come 2011.

Silly and sentmental wallys.

• 155.rangerman: Reply to this comment

if it wasnt for the fact that some fine folk like wptid and Dawnie have met both grant and skopshit at the same time, i would have said they were two ******* bouncing from branch to branch of the bonsai growing in some old nutters head down in capetown.

but i guess i would have been wrong.

it seems they breed obsessive compulsive kuk talkers down in the fairest cape.

but jake white was a magnificent bok coach

and john smit will be remembered long after little blog warriors like skorpie and grant have dripped back into the sea.

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

best looseheads….Beast ….Guthro…Wickus Blaauw….Heinke vd merwe…W Du preez…..then maybe smit.

best hookers…Bissy….liebenberg….G Botha….then maybe smit

best tightheads…..BJ….CJ….BROCK…WERNER KRUGER…..the wynberg girls high u 15 tighthead…..then maybe smit.

Bloody disgrace i tell you.

Heavens ablove the oke must be a captain of note….because he cant play for toffee!!

• 157.GOD: Reply to this comment

@cab: Mallet about Deon Kaizer.. “Not much must be read into the three tries scored by Deon, it belies his actual ability” Find the logic in dismissing a potent finisher who had proven himself game after game when given the opportunity.. Mallet about Paulse “Quota with merit???”… Even though he was arguably the best finisher in the world at the time.

JW looked to embarass Nelson Mandela and prove to the world that Black players cannot step up.. The game in 2005 he chose 9 black players for the Mandela cup game… All the players stood up and shocked the rugby world by destroying the Aussies in the first half… JW was pissed off.. so he removed the two most prolific black players in the team and replaced them with two white icons.. If you don’t remember.. Solly T and January were substituted… Schalk burger proceeded to fkup as usual and th twisted decision of JW allowed teh Aussies back in the game..

I have much evidence.. but suck on that first.

• 158.grant10: Reply to this comment

jake white was a malicious , back stabber,small minded wally of note…..

• 159.rangerman: Reply to this comment

thank *** we dont have a cancer in the bok squad at least.

luke will probably end up running for prime minister of the uk.

he is getting too long in the toth for the boks now with all the talent coming through and i wish him all the best.

but he wont cross my mind for a nanosecond when i watch smitty lead our troops onto the kiwi turf next year.

gooooooooooooooooo Smitty!!!!!!!!!

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 160.grant10: Reply to this comment

matfield to lead boks in 2011.

Get rid of the deadwood….once and for all

• 161.rangerman: Reply to this comment

pointless conversation anyways :lol:

smitty is the most succesful bok TH of all time. 80% win record.

good enough for me
    good enough for you
    good enough for three
    if you count pdv

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

madness. i mean everyone knows the Boks have to select a certain no of black players in every squad, this type of legislation is widespread in modern day SA.

It is race reservation based on skin colour, but apparently excused on the basis of past injustices.

As for due process and the rule of law, please.

the president of SA rugby is black, the Springbok coach is black, the govt of this country has enforced widespread legislation based on skin coloring and favouring black ppl – so please dont talk nonsense.

And as for the struggle, what exactly are you trying to expose. I mean how do you prove there is all this supposed inherent racism where PdV is supposedly this powerless naive puppett. Pdv does not take anyone’s kak, and everyone knows that any white organisation, be it real or imagined, is pisswilly compared to the might and influence of the ANC – so please lets frame the context accurately.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

lets do the merit thing…..thats all i want.

Bloody quota smit at 3 ….and r pienaar at 15….

disgrace.

wake up pdv…..smell the coffee.

• 164.GOD: Reply to this comment

@cab: 152.. Watson’s political history made him unpopular with the white supremacist.. Remember, White activist were also assasinated/murdered by white supremacist..Neil Agget, Rick Turner….??

• 165.grant10: Reply to this comment

beast and guthro do more in 10 minutes than smit in 80…..disgrace i tell you.

Relying on past glories….soft…soft…soft.

we will go down smashed by the frogs…..watch.

• 166.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the civil service in south africa has been “over transformed” according to research.

transfomed into a festering sink hole of corruption and incompetence.

luckily sport is all about actually having talent so it has not been so easy.

• 167.GOD: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Still sad about the death of ET you faker.. When you gonna meet up with xkreni.. stay at his B&B.. talk about the good old days.. You are pure twat mate

• 168.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    they said that about gary botha and then scalk britz, in fact, you were almost certainly one of those, he’s seen them all off and has forgotten more about the game than you will ever know.

@GOD:
    157, as far as a i know Kayser was competing against Robbie Fleck and Andre Snyman at the time, arguably one of the best centre combinations the Boks have produced. Keyser was also selected by Mallett as far as i know and played where possible.

Would you select Kayser ahead of either Fleck or Snyman?

As for you supposed evidence, its all total conjecture as experience through your subjective prism. I believe JW was a strong admirer or Mandela and would never purposefully try insult him, but as far as i know the Mandela trophy remains a series of test matches, not charity friendliess highlighting the scurge of racism.

• 169.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

skopshit just met 2 other bloggers today, Ufo and Charo just had a beer while skopshit drank his bitter lemon, so yeah just because other bloggers like cab and rangerboy think JW walks on water and his prodigy JS too, don’t mean diddly squat in the grand scheme of things, not even in the grand scheme of all things rugby,

there are many fine lines drawn in the sand between heroes and villains, and just as Krakatoa might erupt again tomorrow, so too does John Smits invincibility or Jake Whites credibility get washed down the plughole of time, because as much as hero’s are born from biochemically baffled brainwashed bred contortionists theories of pie in the sky morality, so too are those who got done by the status quo conundrum of puritanical bigoted bully’s still to garner their own pound of flesh, somewhere, someday, somehow.

• 170.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyway…..pdv has made the bed….i will continue o point out his stupidity….maybe he reads this….

if he chooses ‘capt fantastic i walk on water but cant scrum for toffee’ at 3 though, then i choose the right to support the wynberg girls u 15 rugby team rather than watch the carnage that will be bok rugby.

That wynberg girls team at least got a specialist 3…

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

@GOD:
    152, but you have simply equated Watson’s non-selection as being a result of JW’s supposed bigotry. I dont believe it was, i believe it was a rugby decision and there are others who believed there were better flankers in SA. As i have indicated, Jones and Mexted also felt this, are they also white supremacists? they have nothing to do with watson and yet i’m sure they were equally impressed by Watson snr’s stance.

But what has actually happened to Luke Watson insofar as his captaincy and impact is concerned. Do you know that in both of the S14 seasons after he left the Sharks and the Stomers, the team appears to have performed considerably better, that is concrete evidence reflected in the actual results.

• 172.GOD: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 166.. Rugby = competence.. LMAO.. Cheetahs still have the same twats in charge.. **** Muir gets applauded for a good lose..??? Grow up young man..

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

Bloody hell we a bunch of sentimental,candy floss rah rah barney is a demi God bunch of pom pom ladies.

How much more we have to thank smit ?

FFS….its klaar, over, verby, kaput, in its moer man!

The man is finito!

• 174.cab: Reply to this comment

yeah and just like skopshit, et, grant10, heyta, trannie and the 1001 other fellas with a pyre to burn think their opinion about rugby and politics is correct – its mostly BS fanned by their politics. you’re simply blinded by your struggle and it feels good, so go for it, but its nonsense and its not fair either.

• 175.grant10: Reply to this comment

luke watson has integrity….he didnt publically deride a fellow bok for 30 schekels of silver .

• 176.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    170, yeah you mean more carnage like 2009, we should be so lucky.
    fool.

• 177.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems bloggers sit in France and then call the odds….

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    175, no just spat the dummy and called in his pa when the coach did not select him.

• 179.cab: Reply to this comment

while others sit in clifton and lecture on the frontrow.

• 180.grant10: Reply to this comment

we win a few tests in 2009 even though we scrummed in our moer….worst scrums i have ever seen….kak poor man, sleg!

Now we happy to leave it?

Fark that….smit must go….klaar!

• 181.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@GOD: now now, dont get all worked up shaun.

i may speak uncomfortable truths but i have not a racist inclination in my body.

and why would i give a toss about a horse riding meglomaniac who professed just as much hatred towards english speakers as he did about security gy=uards and petrol attendants.

lastly, come back from stevengae man, we need thinkers here to write speeches for young julius :lol:

• 182.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

the poor dumb lefty has done an about turn and become a full blooded righty, in fact the poor dumb rationalist has rationally convinced himself that playing black players in the bok setup is tantamount to racism, the reverse type at that.

So now you have a dyed in the peepee hole revolutionary, standing vas by his bigoted pie in the sky poephol White coach who was such a conniving two timer coward that he was too chicken to select the best No.6 in the country for fear of his cowardice being found out for what it was. So what does this bigoted conniving unscrupulous schoolmaster do, he creates a pariah scape goat catalyst and hides behind his schoolboy head boy captain, making him the evangelist and the black sheep the sacrificial lamb.

Should be hung up and drawn and quartered for such despicable acts of underhanded deceitful Big Man Coach cowardice, creating scape goats from minors because he’s not big enough to face him square on one on one.

Pah, cowardly underhanded chicken **** tactics supreme, and these punk eyed rationalists can’t see reality from fiction.

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

a few tests…you an utter idiot, its the best year we’ve had since readmission.

• 184.GOD: Reply to this comment

@cab: Your selective amnesia is wonderful.. The stormers and province started to perform when luke took the helm.. rather disingenius of you to forget that Luke was chosen as player player of the year at the stormers last season.. why?? Luke was the best loosie at the sharks.. he was also the best lossie in SA. Catleya who hates him proved that in his very interesting analysis.. so you view of Luke in terms ability and leadership is skewed by your own lack of ability to remove your blinkers

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit lost all my respect when he took the sensationalism for cash. I still am in shock that a bok skipper could ever stoop that low….sorry, but that was the end for me . I cant stomach that….on so many levels it is wrong.

So you ladies can don the pom pom dress and rah rah all you like….for me Smit is a persona non grata….and to top it all not even an average player .He should retire and go join Jake snake at winning ways….

thats my bundle….

• 186.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Grant10,

You know what, you are right. Smit is probably not playing his best rugby. I want to explain to you once and for all the impact of not dropping your Captain…

1) G Teichman. Dropped for a supposed better player. Nearly had revolt throughout the team. Henri Honiball was so angry, he faked injuy.

2) Sean Fitzpatick – overstayed his international welcoe by 2 years. In 1996, Norm Hewitt was NPC player of the year. Did the AB’s drop him? No. What did his leadership deliver? Tri-Nations titles in 1996 & 1997.

3) John Eales – not the best lock in Aus in 1999. Won the RWC though.

Now I am not trying to compare these players, but what I would like you to acknowledge (because I think that you have some decent ideas) is that dropping your Captain will cause ripples within your team. It will make certain players feel vulnerable, and create discontent.

Read a few books where players talk about how a Bok team with 17 consecutive victories fell apart at the seams over their Captain being dropped.

• 187.carol: Reply to this comment

Am I the only one that Victor looks like an Argentinian in this picture?

Any night owls about?

Or do we have to argue about Sharks and racists?

• 188.cab: Reply to this comment

i aint become a rightie, i am evaluating what has happened and prefer not to label ppl as racists when we dont know their actual selves. And insofar as i know there are racism is not the sole preserve of whites.

i dont have to convince myself of anything, it is widely known that the Bok have to select a certain no of black players in their squad, morever BEE is enshrined in the SA stature, so its my opinion, its fact, there are places reserved based on skin colour, and i can assure you its not white.

you got no clue, you blinded by payback, and its probably deserved, but you happy to bypass the principles. You are emotive and its not the wisdom mandela had, he expressed it very clearly when he took over, equality for the cycle to stop.

• 189.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@GOD: :lol: and the eastern cape is punted for a s15 franchise on the back of coming 7th in the vodacom cup.

grow up yourself chappie, your bs doesnt fly in the uk and it wont fly here.

@grant10: LMAO! now PdV is going to read your drivel and learn something? :lol:

what an inflated opinion you have of yourself.

its actually quite disturbing.

now sit back and stay tjoepstil as langes and skopdoos unleash another racial tirade.

no backbone in a group of liberal clifton folk, just hoping being “revolutionary” will save the pad with the view.

sad thing is, your kind are rounded up first, like picking mushrooms (grow in the dark and eat….)

• 190.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

in fact these so called scientific rationalists wouldn’t know what a politically driven sentiment is, all they see is White was right to banish and ostracize a junior player based on the very fear factor driven by the boys parental political agendas.

So in actual case of point, and no two ways about it is it in any way otherwise, shroud your dogma any which way you like, White was a downright underhanded unscrupulous double standard coward, and to this day he knows himself that I’m right.

bullshit baffles balderdash rationalists bunkum bewildered brains

• 191.GOD: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: …”i may speak uncomfortable truths but i have not a racist inclination in my body.”… try and tell that to yourself every day.. while sipping a cold one with Xkreni.. Time to tell us who you are mate.. Don’t be afraid.. remember.. “you have not a racist inclination in your body”

• 192.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

You have this annoying habit of going to and fro wrt White and Burger. Come to a conclusion soon to help yourself and others.

The selectors and the coach are tasked with selecting a non-racial competitive team and you know the coaches(all) and the unions(even W.P.,eg. Jacobs to the north) were deliberately flouting that requirement. so the Govt. nudged them with ‘guidelines’

Even if I restrict myself to your criteria(sadly misguided they are) you are not being honest. Where is the stupid White size factor when you admit that in 2006 after the Burger injury the selectees were Solly Tjibilika and Floors. Where is the form or merit factor with either of those two relative to Watson? Where is the non-racial factor with those two relative to Watson.Please do not refer to colour as not a single black would have complaned about that if Luke was selected.

You do not want to accept that White deliberately did that to even the score with the Govt., ANC and his mostly
    ‘verkrampte’ SARU exec. who called him to task on a number of occassions. White imo deliberately did that to rub the nose of non-racialism in the dirt.
    He is a racist, vindictive skunk, of that I have no doubt.

• 193.baw: Reply to this comment

@grant10: stop pushing youre anti smit campaign ,smits been good this year and youre whole turbo reverse story is slowly becoming ,no wait it has become a pain to listen to

• 194.cab: Reply to this comment

@GOD:
    the currie cup is nonsense, half the best players are injured or resting after the S14 and EOY tests. hell if the currie cup was the indicator there’d be a different bok team each week, its the S14 that counts.

If Watson was all of that, how come both the Sharks and Stormers performed considerably better after he left?

• 195.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BULLET: 186
    I have read all the books mate….i love thios godforsaken game with a passion…..but smit is way off the pace….miles bhind…..and we still over a year out from wc 2011.

Smit is finished….klaar….and i would give the armband to Matfield….who would do the job without the massive backlash.

The game is professional…not amateur….these are top boks we are talking about….not amateurs….they will adapt.

FFS Smit would never make the bulle team anyway….Matfield has the WC and 2 x super 14 titles and a win in dunedin as capt.

This putting a now 2 nd rate player on such a lofty pedestal is childish and an insult to bok rugby.

Its downright ludicrous to think boks will implode without smit.

We may implode with him as he is a weak link…..

• 196.BULLET: Reply to this comment

SKOPSKIET,
    I am not condoning or chastising White’s actions, as I do not understand the facts well enough, but on 20 October 2007, I believe that any of the critics who claimed that White did not know what he was doing as coach, were hiding.
    He delivered the ultimate prize.

when he delivered that prize, I do not recall too many bloggers/fans complaining that Watson was no in the team…Even the “Anti-White” campaigners were happy to receive the trophy, endorsement deals, trips to Laures Sports awards etc etc.

• 197.cab: Reply to this comment

nonsense, Jake White is quite entitled to choose whoever he wants provided he is rugby coach, he was not the only one who did not feel Watson’s selection was deserved, so please stop talking **** in my ears, you want to believe that, that is fine, but its rubbish.

White was annoyed when Watson attacked him through the press, and responded in kind. Now you can argue who should’ve been the bigger man and all that, but that cuts both ways, and i find it especially ironic coming from a section of ppl that have already so plainly made up their mind about ppl that its actually amusing.

Dogmatic struggle fellas, every bit as dom as their calvinistic forebears. you just dont get it, its conditioning, but no surprise.

• 198.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and there we have it.

grant has not read smitty’s book but will attack the man endlessly because of snippets he has read on keo and in the sensationalist press.

does this make grantue the same as all those who attack luke for his speech about kotsing on the bok jersey while his comments are apparently taken out of context?

i think so.

and i think it makes our grant a hypocrite.

and you cannot EVER trust a hypocrite folks. their moral compass spins according to what they hope to gain out of honest discourse.

• 199.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh, never mind…… :-( !!!!

• 200.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@GOD:

Just remember the trio of Xkreni, Karen and Ranger and boom you were banished.
    Note who is on the far right of that group.

Just seeking a non-racial S.Africa means being a leftist to that misguided oaf. He does not know his arse from his elbow when it comes to left, right or centre for that matter.

• 201.baw: Reply to this comment

@grant10: well what u say about matfield as a captain on the other hand look at what smit has lead us to ,he hasnt been average this year ,hes been good at loosehead -the shars front row is probabl the best in sa atm ,which is a scary thought becuase last season they where shocking -and grant if ud rather have brok ahrris than john smit than you crazy haha

• 202.BULLET: Reply to this comment

ef

• 203.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    No, you misunderstand what i am saying, White always wanted size, we all know that, its what everyone gets pissed off about, he would select Burger over Brussow.

But White also knew he had to select the min no of black players, so he mostly likely would’ve felt since both watson and floors were the same size, pick the black player – its obvious.

If you had said to White, forget the political policies, i doubt very much watson or floors would have been selected.

• 204.BULLET: Reply to this comment

G10,

On what are you basing your chastisement of Smit? When has he played poorly for the Boks?
    Many, many international players have average S14’s, then have great international seasons

• 205.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Got sweet fanny all to do with pay back, its to do with non bigoted open eyed ability and pursuing equality in sport as an equality in society. Whats enshrined in this constitution is equality, no reservation of ethnic supremacy, which is still rampant in rugby circles, ask the players who have suffered under its yoke.

Watson in any other sane country would have been automatic first choice open side flank in 2006, only reason he wasn’t here is purely because the coach and the ideology behind him represented cowardly convictions of blinded bigoted fear, nothing else, pure unadulterated fear and power politics between a coach and a minor rugby player.

bullshit yourself any which way that its about size, nothing of the sort, it was about fear, and manipulative control, and that was it.

• 206.carol: Reply to this comment

Scuse me, have just remembered I need to watch some paint dry!!

• 207.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@GOD: i am the rangerman.

welcome to my world little guy.

@grant10: ag, smit has 2x3n, a BIL series, a world cup and a CC.

and you talk kuk man, you have not read smitty’s book. have you read jakes book?

reading snippets on keo or in a magazine does not count buddy.

• 208.cab: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:
    you right, terms like left, right and centre are stupid, but since we’re a country that operates on labels and small-mindedness, and being proud of such stupid categorisations – feel free to continue.

• 209.cab: Reply to this comment

****, equality is equality, it does not mean race reservation based on skin colour (for any justification), it means equality for all from now. you have skewed equality to mean postive discrimination against a previous advantaged minority, which is payback and probably justified, but its not equality – this is what you ppl will never understand.

• 210.cab: Reply to this comment

carol, if you bored, i suggest heading back to RT for some back-slapping.

anyway, i gotta go pick someone up so must be off.

• 211.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: ag, i had nothing to do with any banning, i really couldnt give enough of a toss.

non racial south africa?

LMAO!

if you are in business then you soon learn that the boot is simply on the other foot.

soon it will be on your neck froggie, but you just keep going…riiiiiiiiiibbbbbbit!!!!!!!!!

• 212.GOD: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: You don’t understand business or economics you twat.. S14 is not only about developing local talent to play rugby.. it is about selling entertainment and making a profit. Its bigger than the on the training field. A S15 in the franchise in teh Eastern Cape is a marketing boon for the whole of the Eastern Cape.. Getting a winning team is about the wise selection of resources.. If there is enough money, the Franchise can buy whoever it wants to make it succeed and achieve the higher objective of uplifting the whole economy of the Eatern Cape.. Fortunately there is a rugby culture in the Eastern Cape so the use of Rugby as a marketing tool for teh Eastern Cape is not a bad idea.. No fake implementaion of a rugby culture is needed.

• 213.grant10: Reply to this comment

of course i read whites book….i wanted to see how the sod spoke his way around not selecting the best opensider in SA in 2006….bloody malicious wally that he was////

broke down crying in church asking luke for forgiveness i bet…..sod!

• 214.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

@202

Cab you are ignoring my Facts. Solly and Kabamba were selected in Burger’s injury absence in 2006 and Luke was voted S14 player of the year that occassion for his superb play as a #6 in that 2006 S14. Where is the size factor with those 2, where is the form factor with those 2, where even is the non-racial factor with those 2 relative to Luke. You can, ad infinatum, say Watson is white but you will not convince the millions who know and support what he and his family stood for, that he is not black or not non-racial to the very core try as hard as you may.

• 215.cab: Reply to this comment

oh gawd, listen to this fool.
    right i’m out.

• 216.cab: Reply to this comment

sorry ET, i am late, will reply when i get back. cheers.

• 217.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and with that, i too am off.

now no one get banned in my abscence please, it will all be my fault like all the criminals in south africa with their scapegoats.

captain glorious is going nowhere so grant should be able to entertain us all for another year.

and jake white is one of only six rwc winning coaches.

these truths, i hope, will set you all free.

• 218.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 215
    Go read your latest vryheidsfront newsletter tosser.

• 219.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@GOD: huh?

i said drop the lions and bring on the spears.

are you sucking on a crackpipe langes?

look, i agree, rugby must grow, roundball must fall.

gotta go man, stay well.

• 220.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: bye bye grantie, just one chance! :lol:

• 221.grant10: Reply to this comment

goodnite all…

• 222.GOD: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: The fkkers are so predictable… but Mark almost got his arse kicked out of Safika for that incident.. here I am blogging from teh same IP address that they banned.. proof of my power..lol

• 223.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

@3209 and 215

Of course you will see you stupid association with racists as not contributing to a banning, how else can you then sleep at night the so fair-minded fool others see you to be.

What will you some day tell yor daughter 20 yrs. hence when she asks daddy what did you do to improve our country except be a hypocrite?

And now you typically run when the kitchen gets too hot.

• 224.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@GOD:

Just keep on remembering the hypocrites and give them hell based on their growing confusion and frustration.

• 225.GOD: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Run away twat.. trying to be humerous accentuates your twat demeanor

• 226.GOD: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Cheers dude.. will catch up sometime

• 227.GOD: Reply to this comment

Seems like my work is done here for tonight… chhers all.. and remember.. The Bulls are White Supremacist Scum.. humanity needs them to fail…

• 228.GOD: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: BTW.. Transformation called me a racist the other day to the applause of the Supremacist twats.. I have removed the knive from my back and wrapped it up as evidence of wabenzi submissive behaviour..

Cheers dude.

• 229.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Who is the ‘you people’ dumb schmuck? What kind of a people are you, dumb *** idiot?

Do you know what a ‘you people’ or a ‘them people’ is you dumb *** delinquent irrational non rationalist?

Your punk nosed irrational bigotry is spewing out your punk *** judgmental bewildered brain right about now. Schmuck face.

Facts are White chickened out, no other two ways about it. White was and is a coward for creating a manipulated scape goat scenario out of a junior player, one he could not and did not have the courage to handle or face straight out or head on. So he created a furor in a country already divided through political ideologies and the idiot made it worse not better.

And who suffered out of it all, the player, nobody else.

And size shmize, f.all to do with size. Outright manipulative paranoid fear nothing else, just personal manipulative control and fear. Idiot. Politics or pay back f.all to do with any of it. Personal blatant manipulative control freak fear. Thats all it was and is.

• 230.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

@209

You cannot even comprehend what you read.

My post 202 refers to “seeking a non-racial S.A.” and not as you understood which is to you claiming S.A. is non-racial, for it is clearly not.
    But what can you expect when you attended the pits of our then English universities.
    For your edification, and delight the order then was;

Uct, Wits, Rhodes and then Natal of which PMB was not quite up to Howard College standards.

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@GOD:
    @elliott2:

umZala kancane, gqoka okumnyama ngakuziqhenya. Musa ukungatha umbala wakho

• 232.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

This HG fella is a linguist, a multi national linguistic one at that.

• 233.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

A Zulu speaking colonialist, now fancy that, I thought they all died out with the Empire.

• 234.JL1: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Is there something wrong with you?

• 235.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:
    @GOD:

Alternatively because you are obviously “Sport Scientists”
    parum vir, tergum verecundor non

• 236.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 231. Bepa your umdidi pipe

• 237.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Dammit why cant we get an electronic version of this magazine?

• 238.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: 222. As confused as you are about meat and colour?

• 239.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

rather smoke my hooka hubbly bubbly thank you very much ta

• 240.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Old fruit, what.

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: White was a successful coach – he won a World Cup.

Luke is a serial cotch and spew revolutionary. Nothing special.

Smitty is the most successful Bok Captain of the Modern era, followed by Teichmann – both Sharks!

Wake up from your nightmare and emerge from your cave…

• 242.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 231. The Empire is very much alive. Good thing that, Old boy?

• 243.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@GOD: 210. Is this a lesson in voodoo economics from the Mugabe / Zanu school? G*d help the Spears!

• 244.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 154. Duh!!?

• 245.cab: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    you ppl was a cracker, you dumb *** twat.

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@GOD: 157. Dont remember. Where you smoking the same cultivar G10 smokes.

• 247.cab: Reply to this comment

rubbish, White was quite entitled to pick whomsoever he wanted to and it need’nt have had anything to do with fear or race or any of your other bullshit either.

• 248.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 101. Wow, Wallaby lover.

• 249.cab: Reply to this comment

the only ppl that are full of fear and paranoi is poephols like you lot that see the boogeyman behind every tree, but i really dont give a goddamn what you believe or know to be the truth, it is not the truth, only your version of it, heavily influenced by your own beliefs.

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 113. Capital is Global and Mobile.

• 251.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 123. Duh!?!

• 252.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 131. And totally the right decision!

• 253.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@GOD: 150. Everyone “non-Black” is a supremacist?

• 254.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab: 98. Everyone should be accountable!!

• 255.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

No wonder you ducked for cover under her majesty’s petty coat tails.

Old Jakey boy wanted to do just the same but the Old Fruits wouldn’t have him, his background was just that little too sordid and distasteful what with all the in house bickering and back stabbing that went on around his lack lustre tenure where the linesman handed him an undeserved victory over the hard done by home country.

Jake fluked a Wc, get the facts straight, not a decent rugby playing nation in sight did he have to negotiate, and even then he leaned so heavily on his comrade Eddy’s armpit that the poor fella is still reeling from prop up crutch syndrome. He almost wet himself when Tonga almost f’d his famous bokke right out the competition even before the quarters. Stiffest competition he faced was from two little unknown pacific Islands throughout the entire competition the rest just never bothered to pitch up.

No Jake never won anything, he got gifted a fluke made in heaven and Eddy actually deserved the half baked accolades.

Easiest pie in the sky competition I ever witnessed dunno how the hell destiny colluded with fate to cough up that no contest pie in the sky one way ticket lucky packet Wc setup. Never again will any coach have it so categorically flukety fluke uncanily one sided.

• 256.cab: Reply to this comment

you wouldn’t know bigotry if it slapped you right in the head and god knows you need it big time. talking of judgemental, just who is the person casting aspersions on bigotry, hyprocryrical twat.

• 257.cab: Reply to this comment

ducked for cover, where? you wrong about many thing old man. i aint fearful of SA, i left for the same reason you did and your sons have, to see the world, you know it and i know it, but this is all just about winning the argument.

fact of the matter is, you lot have absolutely no idea what lies in the hearts (or more importantly minds) of men like White or Mallett, and yet you cast these blanket aspersions, these massive sweeping judgements, bunch of bladdy damn fool hypocrites, to thick to even see how think they are.

• 258.cab: Reply to this comment

Jake White won a world cup that is a fact, it is only YOUR opinion that it was a fluke, get that right for a start and you;ll have some idea what rational thought is all about -you dont even have the foggiest.

as i’ve said all along you lot are all the same, swept away with emotion, just the same as the nationalistic mamparras who caused all this **** in the first place – cut from the same cloth.

• 259.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 253. Farking looollll…

Her Majesty’s coat tails, the Kaisers Helmet, Napoleon’s Jacket and Paul Revere’s spare saddle – no ducking, but dodging volcanic ash.

• 260.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 253. Are you also a puke-spewing revolutionary from the trenches of Camps Bay?

• 261.cab: Reply to this comment

in fact, the funniest of the lot is both GOD overhere is based in the UK and old ET is based in the US – so thats one dame stupid line of fool thought as per usual.

• 262.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab: 259. God is based in Stevenage (Separate from the UK!)

• 263.cab: Reply to this comment

all i know is God here, who i thought was the real deal, i.e. one of the old MK cadres, apparently carried the struggle out on the mean streets of the UCT campus about 5 years after apartheid, so wtf he was or is struggling against i am not quite sure. the lord moves in mysterious ways.

• 264.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Stevenage is a separate prinicpality for chavs, pikeys and now langenhovens. Its twinned with Swindon.

• 265.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab: Naaah, he was learning voodoo economics in Fort Hare, same “Alma Mater” as Bob

• 266.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

what you don’t seem to realize is that some are more easy to read than others. Some self righteous self idolizing fools are as easy to read as an open book.

Maybe you feel its your rationalists duty to defend bigotry for all its worth, but bigotry it stays and bigotry it is when a grown man coach is far too chicken to handle and face up to a measley young youth for fear of his own self acquainted well worn insecurities.

Maybe you simply can’t handle it when I call out rank blatant raw egotism for what it is, maybe its just too close to the bone for you, perhaps because you recognize some of that blatant raw human egotism right within yourself.

Far better to see it for what it is than pretend it don’t exist. Or you still blatantly disagree with that also?

• 267.cab: Reply to this comment

but what utter arrogance, how the hell can you just ‘tell’ what lies in the minds of others?

i have never EVER defended bigotry.

As for egotism, what you now a psychologist too? hell if i have a big ego, just imagine the size of yours or God;s?

• 268.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

btw I was actually talking to HG here in 253 but you most welcome to take it on the chin if you so think the cap may perchance fit.

• 269.cab: Reply to this comment

White has never been a great diplomat, he reacted angril and stupidly on many occasions, you dont seem to be such a gracious bigger man either, i dont see you turning the other cheek or being the bigger man – you guys are hypocrites.

• 270.cab: Reply to this comment

you have’nt landed a thing, so go right ahead. simply confusion.

• 271.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, we have some tosspot who calls himself GOD and another able to read between the lines due to his superior education and the leader of the pariah demigogue society for battlers who can see evil in the hearts of man from a thousand yards.

• 272.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

naah I’m no revolutionary, I leave such heroic’s to the likes of cab and others, I’m just an ego busting bull sh’t stirrer.

Funny thing is bullsh’t like ego is just so patently obvious you can easily identify it without much sweat by the stench of its highly intoxicating smell

• 273.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 264. Egotist – White? Sure, he was a school teacher, ever met a male one who wasn’t?

And Luke Watson, the puker-on-bok-as-a-demonstration-of-his-revolution, has none? Good one…

• 274.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 270. like one big, steaming bosha… mmm, you are a connosieur

• 275.cab: Reply to this comment

you most certainly are a revolutionary and a fundamentalist, and you have a very big ego too, make no mistake, and you know that too.

the thing is you fancy yourself as being able to bust these big truths, but its such utter ego-ridden bullshit itself. totally and completely.

• 276.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

@214

Cab, in the year(2009) of my absence on Keo I observed your confusion with some facts and also your repeated vacillations wrt White and Burger where, with others you went to and fro(+ve and -ve) in the way you perceived either.

What I comment about in posts 118(your 116), 192 and 212, and now, just concerns the year 2006 and what led to it. Thus it only concerns Watson, Floors and Tjiblika after the Burger injury and White.
    Those posts cover all the bases that you set with your criteria and I have calmly presented the facts to give you no room for skirting around them.

The White size factor I have adequately answered as Luke is bigger (albeit marginally) than both of White’s selections. The form and thus merit selection is overwhelmimgly in Watson’s favour as he was selected the S14 player of that year in the position of #6 that he played that tournament.

The colour component, which I prefer to tag as non-racial selection, does not have to always deal with colour. Try to convince the millions of people of colour that they will not accept Luke as a human being, even as a black, whilst you and others mischieviously will deliberately and non-constructively say he is white.

Having dealt with those criteria, and more, how can you then perceive White’s selection as nothing other than being vindictive and quite clearly then racist because he knew that the non-racists in the country, whoever they are, would obviously be angered, as history clearly showed at that time(remember the Watson campaign).
    Your stance in your posts 147 and 196 just to me, changed from istly size and colour(quota) restrictions to later Watson attacked him in the press(but you fail to say that that was long after the selections of the 3N and eoyt of that year 2006. It was really what happened when he was also Luke’s u/19(or so) coach and Luke as he was encouraged to do by his Grey High schooling questioned the coach whom you know is no god. In this day of cyber space respect from young to seemingly older no longer exists. It is correctly about ideas.

I implore you to read my posts, which I have numbered above, quietly and clearly and admit that the facts argue against your understanding of the situation. Recall also how you emotionally argued against and belittled the same White when you read he was seriously interested in the 2009 BL coaching job.

And whilst you are at it please bury this over-emphasising of size (bigness) in sport.It is just a bully-boy approach which I find so prevalent here in the US.

You should know that the smaller are naturally more skilled(soft hands),generally, and the large and big are more often than not described as clumsy oafs. It all about the laws of physics for both groups and the one is not necessarily more advantaged than the other. It cuts both ways.

• 277.cab: Reply to this comment

right, thats it for me, i’m afraid i’ve never been one to swallow bullshit too well, esp of the variety used to tar ppl personally.

ask yourself who started this little fiasco in the first place?
    the reason you dislike white is because he did not select watson whom YOU personally happened to believe should be selected, but your ego will not allow the possibility that others actually dont think Watson should have been selected.

• 278.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Strange that you find yourself with this great urge to defend Jake White from my ire and atrocious judgement. Strange that you find this rather weak individual somebody who you actually admire.

Hmm I’m looking for some kind of pattern here, weaklings, bully’s, scape goat manipulative artists, schoolmaster power play shenanigan’s on relatively defenceless young 20 year olds.

Still can’t quite fathom wtf there is in such deplorable actions to somehow find admirable..

• 279.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    let me clear up any confusion, i think White and Burger did very well for SA rugby, they performed to their very utmost and gave alot of ppl alot to be proud of SA for, which is no bad thing with all its in-fighting. These guys have never given anything more than their utmost and you cannot ask for more then that. I personally beleive they are both very skillful at what they do and the results speak for themselves, its only you lot that try to constantly detract what is blatantly obvious to everyone else.

Where White made me mad was when he wanted to coach England after the Springboks. I thought this was traitorous to the extreme. I aint never been a big fan of the Springboks growing up, but I could understand the genuine passion certain rugby ppl have for it (and some of those do happen to not be racist either). I thought White was like this since he talked about the tradition and pride of the jersey, and i thought its probably a good thing, since the players will play with the sort of committment found in teams like the ABs who will bust their poepstrings when they pull on that jersey. Then when he wanted to coach england, i thought he was an utter ******* and hypocrite.

Its SA first for me, i dont care for White or Burger personally, but so long as they trying their hardest for SA, they have my full support. What more can you ask for?

• 280.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Cab, post 274 comes before I have read anything between 223 and 273.

• 281.cab: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    so you believe Watson, with all his connections, is the underling in this one do you?

• 282.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Is your 277 in answer to my 274?

• 283.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 274. Nonsense, rubbish…

• 284.cab: Reply to this comment

ET,

let me also say something else, all of you guys prefer a more cerebral type of rugby game to white, or perhaps i should rather say a more attacking instinctive game.

White, believes in a pack of forwards that dominates, he wants big athletic rangey bruisers, he’s made that clear from the start and persisted with players that you guys dont like, and you prefer the more skillful smaller forwards.

Its an antithesis to White’s rugby mind, he may be wrong, but his penchant for size does not make him a racist.

As for his u19 days, i dunno what you talking about.

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

look i’ve gotta pack up, am heading to spain tomorrow, later.

• 286.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

What the hell does post 259 mean?

I cannot work where I desire to work and also not brown-nose the decadent ANC for such work?

Why do you not mention that you are in France for much longer?

And I can go back tomorrow if I want to my home which I have not sold. So what dowes say about my intent relative to your intent?

And does one need to be in S.A to be critical of that which is wrong?

• 287.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    yeah sorry about that, i thought it was all out war for a little while there.

• 288.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

You do not know about White previously being his coach earlier? And that he queried some aspect of rugby then? Is it not good to query your coach in S.A.?

Again you then do not know the facts, but you make copious comments and judgements.

• 289.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    so you know the facts do you?
    i know white had a brief stint where he suggested watson should play hooker, but what has that to do with the price of cheese. watson knew whites thoughts early, has absolutely nothing to do with bigotry.

White plainly did not rate Watson as a springbok flanker.

Your accusations are that White did not select him because of some sort of racial agenda, where is your evidence for that and please no more reading between the lines.

• 290.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

OK so we will hold fire about that vindictive, racist White and his cohorts until you comment from Spain then.

I do not hope the ash clouds take you out as I still want to disturb you and have a glass of french wine with you some day.

• 291.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET:
    lol, you are wrong about White being racist, but it would be nice to meet up if you ever around europe, tho you sound like quite a fancy eminent md, i’ll have to scrub up nice and get some decent wine.

• 292.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

You deliberately ignore the evidence. You have not countered a single fact or points made in 118, 192, 212, 214(particularly) and more.

The racial call is a conclusion after what happened before, and the way he dealt with Tjiblika and Floors relation to the obvious choice

Give me the evidence for him being non-racial and see what you can come up with.

• 293.Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa: Reply to this comment

Anyone who disagrees that Jake White was a champion of transformation, a hero to the masses, a winner of trophies… IS A RACIST.

While Jake White is a holder of trophies you are just a holder of a great big chip on your shoulder.

• 294.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Hey! I am only interested in physiology, wine, rugby, assocciation football and cricket( a triple tie for the 3rd choice(sport).

OK I will leave you to pact in peace now and not in pieces.

Hamba kakhuhle uPapa.

• 295.ET: Reply to this comment

@Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa:

OK Supa die bloubul(of so iets dom).

• 296.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Agreed Victor is a good captain. He does sometimes fall foul of the SANZAR refs that dont like afrikaaners.
    What he does, working off field tactics and directing play on the ground is awesome.
    Well done Vic for not sitting on your laurels and continuing your development. Younger players take note, Habs!!!

• 297.Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa: Reply to this comment

@ET:

16 of the 35 new Springboks appointed by former coach Jake White were non-white.

You see what happens when you only see things through race tinted glasses my self righteous friend? You make wild and blatantly false statements without any research whatsoever to support your drug induced theory that White was somehow a ‘racist’.

You’ve been shown up for what you are. A liar and a racist.

• 298.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Who or what determines “Non-racial”?

A new classification term like “Non-black”?

Like eating meat leads to racism?

The Willy-wonka guide to smartie hue classification?

• 299.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa: 295. Naaah, Elliot is a “Sport Scientist” who struggles to differenciate between a metatarsal and a fibula, confuses “non-black” and “non-racial”, and thinks flying to the US is a bungee off Table Mountain.

• 300.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Demented, meaningless garbage as usual.

Is it your autism, only belatedly, affecting you hence your twisted tortured approach that no one can follow because it is non-directional and irrational?

Or is it really the dementia rapidly overwhelming you or is it that ugly Als. word that no one wants to mention.

Whatever it is ‘slaap goed ou befokte doring’.

• 301.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 298. It all relates to your comments on this forum:

I remind you:

“Non-black”
    “Non-racial”
    Your “meat eating = white supremacy” thesis
    And more, just can’t be bothered doing a Google site search.

Now, who is twisted?

You’re as whacky as G10

• 302.ET: Reply to this comment

His job depended on those numbers have you forgotten?

Did he seriously believe in the skills of Tjibilika and Floors when he selected them in 2006 or was it because he was thumping his nose at the authorities whose rules so prevented him from selecting his BIG bruiser lily-white bashers.

How many seriously big bruisers are not lily-white you vaaljapie swirling pig(pay back for your drug-induced reference)?

• 303.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

So you do not deny that you are, in fact, cerebrally challenged?

Why are you up so late? It is only 8.37 pm where I am which, I know messes with your thumb sucking capabilities.

• 304.Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa: Reply to this comment

@ET: You have unknowlingly just proven my point again.

Have you not heard the expression “what, are you on drugs?” if someone questions the sanity of another? It has no racial connotation whatsoever.

So let me get this straight. You assume from my “drug” reference that I am making an underhanded statement regarding your race? And in retort you make a point of calling me a “Vaaljapie swirling pig”, assuming in doing so that I am a white afrikaans speaking person?

You see my friend, you need to remove the race tinted glasses covering your eyes. It will destroy your life and will also destroy that chip on your shoulder.

• 305.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 292. As a professed “Sports Scientist” colleague of Noakes, some of your logic is tenuous at best, but definitely humorous when you do attempt to answer direct questions.

No evidence just emotion – indicative of a slide in academic rigour? or just an indication of no rigour at all?

Much like the other Walter Mitty on this site, “god”.

• 306.ET: Reply to this comment

Hell’s Shame

Did the banshee kick you out of the bed because you are not virile enough?

Shame Old Tart.

• 307.ET: Reply to this comment

Totally wrong. All of that is because you support a white, this one called jake.

Happy now that I did not regard that as an underhand statement about my race?

You are far to serious here. Much of the above is just banter.
    Just ask Hell’s Shame.

Do you think he seriously conducts himself like that in his day to day living?

I am gone. Too much time totally wasted here.

• 308.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: Here we go. Character of an academic? Or not? There is no shame in being a clerk, Elliot. Accept it and move on – you and “God” are continuously exposed for the Mitty’s you are.

Grandees…of delusion

• 309.Jake White is a hero to the New South Africa: Reply to this comment

@ET: No, it sounds like you are leaving because I have exposed you for what you are. A liar and a racist.

I have followed your posts for some time now. You are not too disimilar in your thoughts and personality from that other chappie, Shaun Langenhoven (who now blogs as “God”).

Have a good evening in the U.S.A.

• 310.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: 306. What could you possibly be doing trying to pretend you are working by USA Eastern Time.

Are you a security guard on night shift?
    Or could you actually be in Boston? Some fairly decent med schools around New England.

But its you, naaah it must be the former.

• 311.ET: Reply to this comment

Seriously, unless you are J.W., I do not know who you are so am not likely to just discuss serious matters with you.

That type of name you have is here today and gone tomorrow so why should I take you as being a sincere individual.

You can draw whatever conclusions you want to, they are all inconsequential as far as I am concerned but if it helps you get through your night or day(wherever you are) then I guess they have some benefit to you, but not me.

Do you see me take Hell’s Shame seriously?

He is a demented soul constantly sucking things out of his thumb so how could I give him some credence.

I need to attend to some things for tomorrow’s demands.

• 312.ET: Reply to this comment

You actually come across as one Johan Fourie,

• 313.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 309. Night, night Elliot – the permanently disadvantaged. You are forgiven.

• 314.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: and don’t forget: umZala kancane, gqoka okumnyama ngakuziqhenya. Musa ukungatha umbala wakho

• 315.ET: Reply to this comment

Hell’s Shame

For ****** sake stop being a stupid prick, you **** it just makes you look more dumb when you suck the information like that. You are deluded. Just accept the facts.

On the Fox channel they just completed at 9pm the latest edition of House and now from 9-10pm they are showing 24.

I am not interested in all that garbage.
    But why are you up so late or so early?

• 316.ET: Reply to this comment

Hell’s Shame

I am in Phila. which at one time had 6 med. schools which is now down to 4 because MCP merged with Hahneman to form U. of Allergeny which has subsequently merged with that good engineering Univ.of Drexel so it is all now Univ. of Drexel or more correctly Drexel Univ.

• 317.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 313. Am stuck under a cloud of ash in the city of BMW and Dornier. I am sleepless without lederhosen, obviously, and the banshee is far away. I am pissed off with the continual teutonic efficiency and service of my port-of-call for the last few days. So I have logged in to give you the obvious benefits of my wisdom. But have got bored so will leave you in peace.

• 318.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 314. No Ivy there…

• 319.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Wrong again.

Univ. of Penn. is probably the 1st Ivy League or amongst the earliest Ivy. It is one of the four or fivethat I referred to earlier.

So you are in Germany on some sort of business?

• 320.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Can you not acquire an equivalent drug or is it because you need a prescription?

You probably forgot your original back home not so?

Ja, that German efficiency can be so damn sterile most times.

• 321.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: 317. You didn’t mention Penn.

No holiday in Munich, thats a yes.

• 322.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET: Must go – night to you.

• 323.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Ok hope your problem is solved.

• 324.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I see the freedom fighter Shaun Langenhoven is here, visiting us all the way from merry old England (reverse colonisation – quite acceptable behaviour on the part of the previously disadvantaged, and quite different to the behaviour of the dastardly previously advantaged who have also left our hallowed shores) to crusade bravely for the rights of non-whites (don’t you dare say “Africans”) to fill positions 1 to 22 in the soon to be Proteas rugby team, and park wherever they choose on the soggy island.

ET et al, this is your GOD – look on him and be amazed:

wwwDOTthecometDOTnet/content/whtimes/news/storyDOTaspx?brand=WHTOnline&category=News&tBrand=herts24&tCategory=newswhtnew&itemid=WEED01+May+2007+15%3A13%3A09%3A550

Shaun Langenhoven – as unwelcome in Hertfordshire as he is in South Africa.

• 325.whatever: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek:

Mate, can’t find that link, you may have to cut and paste!!

• 326.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@whatever:
    OK, there were three DOTs that needed to be replaced, now there are just two (it’s worth a visit – there is a photo):

wwwDOTthecometDOTnet/content/whtimes/news/story.aspx?brand=WHTOnline&category=News&tBrand=herts24&tCategory=newswhtnew&itemid=WEED01+May+2007+15%3A13%3A09%3A550

CAMPAIGNERS trying to stop commuters parking on the road found their cars hit with tickets outside their own homes, writes Ben Griffiths.

Digswell residents, who had urged the borough council to prevent commuters parking on their streets, left their cars metres from their front doors in a prohibited area.

Homeowners from Adele Avenue, close to Welwyn North railway station, were unaware that weekday parking restrictions applied on Good Friday, the day their cars were booked.

Shaun Langenhoven appealed against his £30, but it was rebutted.

He said: “I’m amazed and annoyed that they can do this on a bank holiday.

“I first thought someone had left a pamphlet on my car but when I saw the yellow parking notice I could not believe my eyes.

“I did not think anyone would be doing overtime on Good Friday. These parking restrictions are there for commuters not us.

“I think there was about five or six others who got the same fines.”

He added: “It’s madness.”

Leaving a car between 9am and 11am on weekdays in Adele Avenue is prohibited in order to stop roads becoming an extension of the station car park.

However, Mr Langenhoven said the sides of the road were “close to empty” due to the fact it was a bank holiday.

One onlooking neighbour was “in amazement” at seeing wardens booking residents rather than commuters.

Mr Power, who also lives on Adele Avenue said: “I have real sympathy for them as they must have thought; ‘I won’t get any problems on a Good Friday’.

“It’s utterly immoral.”

A Welwyn Hatfield Council spokeswoman said: “We enforce traffic regulation orders where and when they apply.

“Most restrictions do apply on bank holidays.

“We pay Control Parking Service, the council’s service partner, an additional 47 per cent per hour for attendants to work on bank holidays and Sundays.”

This episode follows the saga concerning commuter traffic in the neighbouring New Road and Station Road, as previously reported in the WHT.

Residents have been using rubbish bins and cones to discourage station users from parking outside their houses.

• 327.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek: 326. Kick him out of Blighty, ugly schwanger

• 328.The Shark Supporter: Reply to this comment

One of the best issues yet, why can’t they all be like this one. It defiantly was more to the point and up-to-date than the last issue!

• 329.McSchalkBurger: Reply to this comment

Very true point about the sponsors invading the viewer’s watching pleasure…and I always knew Jan was a Bulls supporter. Thats why I never liked him!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.