Troubles of a white wing

Gerhard van den Heever faces immense obstacles in his quest to earn Springbok selection.

The Bulls wing wants to go to the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand. And in an ideal world, one uncomplicated by Bryan Habana’s legacy and accepted but flawed selection norms, he’d have a realistic hope too.

This, after all, is the kid who ended his rookie season in 2009 having scored 11 tries in 19 provincial matches, and at the time of writing had bagged four in seven Super 14 starts. Rich in promise and with all the technical and physical attributes a modern wing needs to be successful, his Springbok ambition isn’t misplaced.

But his is a unique battle – one that no other elite South African wing has to fight.

It’s one, firstly, for acceptance and appreciation among the Loftus disciples, who are still in mourning after the passing – figuratively speaking – of their messiah, Habana. Van den Heever is yet to prove he is worthy of lacing Habana’s boots, let alone filling them.

Those in the know at the Bulls tell me he’s quicker than Habana (a South African champion hurdler at school, he once ran 13.7sec over 110m and boasts a 200m best of 20.9). He’s quicker than that now, but speed alone will never see him escape Habana’s haunting shadow.

Habana’s legend was built on feats of brilliance, the most memorable of which came at Kings Park in 2007. That last-gasp try against the Sharks captured the Bulls’ first Super 14 title. Appreciation for Habana became reverence. Whoever succeeded him would be judged by the standard he had set.

Habana was the Bulls’ adrenalin-charged central nervous system, renowned for his ability to spark the team into life with impossibly brilliant feats. Viewed in this context, Van den Heever’s lot is not an enviable one.

He addresses the subject of being compared to Habana with the naivety of the man-child that he is.

‘People shouldn’t compare me to Bryan,’ he says. ‘Of course they shouldn’t,’ I counter, ‘but the reality is they do and are, and will continue to for some time.’

‘I can’t control that. I can’t control what people think. I just know I’m my own man. Bryan is the best wing in the world. Nobody can fill his boots,’ is his rebuttal.

‘Sure,’ I probe further, ‘but as unrealistic as the expectation is, the nature of people is to measure the replacement of an exceptional player by the standards that player has set. Let me ask you this, where do you think you stand in the Bulls supporters’ estimation?

‘I don’t know. I haven’t thought about that.’

Of course he hasn’t. The question was a foolish one to pose to a 20-year-old who was probably oblivious to the issue until I raised it. Such complexities didn’t register with him. Keeping his starting place through consistent performance is his primary, all-consuming, objective. But his ignorant bliss will soon be disturbed by the realisation of the magnitude of the task ahead. The Bulls’ faithful are looking for a new demi-god to worship. Van den Heever’s mortality will only be tolerated for so long. Supernatural is what is demanded.

‘That’s unfair pressure to put on a youngster,’ Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says. ‘We see a bright future for Gerhard, but we’re realistic about his development and understand that we need to have patience with him.

‘Bryan was a special player who will forever be remembered as a legend at Loftus. But I think it’s testament to Gerhard’s talent  that people compare him to Bryan. Even Bryan said he [Van den Heever] is a better player at 20 than he was at the same age. That’s a massive compliment and he will only improve.

‘We’re giving him time and space to progress naturally. I hope others will do the same.’

Van den Heever could have done without Habana weighing in on the issue of his successor in a post-match interview after their Currie Cup triumph in 2009.

It was a throwaway line: ‘I think Gerhard has the potential to be a Bulls and Springbok great.’ The implications of which Habana didn’t consider at the time. He was paying a massive compliment to his heir apparent, but inadvertently dumped a jersey that weighed 100kg on the kid and slipped lead boots on to his feet.

Van den Heever remains unfazed.

‘That comment never made me feel burdened. Why would it? I grew up idolising Bryan and for me to feel down about him saying kind things like that about me to the media would be foolish.’

But there is an uncertainty detectable in Van den Heever’s voice. Earlier he told me ‘I back my ability’ when asked if he ever felt inhibited by a fear of failure, then later admits that he ‘sometimes’ thinks he is out of his depth.

That inconsistency isn’t unexpected from one so young. It does, however, remind us that Van den Heever’s is as much a battle to emerge from Habana’s shadow, as it is one for emotional and cognitive equilibrium.

Then there’s the issue of Springbok selection and the World Cup, which poses an altogether new challenge.

Not since Nick Mallett routinely penned Pieter Rossouw’s name on the team sheet has a Springbok coach consistently selected a white wing.

This has become the domain of the dark-skinned player, and the prospects of the perception that white is whack changing are slim, unless Van den Heever plays so exceptionally that he makes himself invaluable to the Springboks.

And even if he should master levitation, acquire a jet pack and blow his opposition away in the coming year, he would still be competing for just one position, given that Springbok coach Peter de Villiers is highly unlikely to look beyond Habana as his starting left wing.

That leaves Van den Heever competing with eight wingers (at the time of writing, all of whom were black, and one of who, JP Pietersen, is a World Cup winner) for the right wing berth.

‘If I suggested those were insurmountable odds, what would your response be?’

‘I don’t think like that,’ he says, ‘I don’t think about the issues you’ve raised, or all the wingers I have to get past to make the Springbok squad. Maybe it’s naive, but I’d like to think that if I’m the best of the bunch I’ll get picked.’

‘But that hasn’t been the reality of Springbok rugby recently,’ I interject. ‘The best players sometimes don’t get picked for various reasons.’

‘The Springbok coach has said on a number of occasions that he will reward those who perform consistently. I can only trust that he stays true to his word,’ he says.

Only time will tell whether Van den Heever will die in the darkness cast by Habana’s shadow, or whether he’ll stay the execution and build a legacy of his own. This year’s rugby season will be decisive in answering that question.

Time is not an ally. Conclusions about his aptitude for Super Rugby will be drawn at the end of their 2010 campaign, or perhaps sooner, without due consideration of his age. Even exceptional performances will still not guarantee that he even gets a passing glance from the Springbok selectors.

Welcome to the world of Gerhard van den Heever. It isn’t a place for the faint-hearted.

– This article first appeared in the April issue of SA Rugby magazine. The May issue is on sale now.

566 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

this oke is average….mapoe better …as are 2 x incumbents

• 2.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

White dragon.

• 3.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

:(

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

quick….but defence average…at best.

bulls are suspect out wide and with the kid at 13 they were really vulnerable. Now J P back it will assist bulls.

• 5.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

I think a post WC backline might well have room for Shadow. Fourie du Preez gone. Jacques Fourie gone. JDV of again We could be looking at a backline of: (9) Ricky (Make peace with it) (10) Morne (11) Shadow (12) Juan de Jongh (13) Lionel Mapoe (14) Polla (15) Zane.

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

This kid is still young, but he has all the ingredients to become really good.

Under Meyer’s guidance, I have no doubt this will happen.

• 7.rangerman: Reply to this comment

average?

what a laugh.

keep bending over backwards and maybe the comrades wont take that beach house eh?

your opinion is average :lol:

but indeed mapoe is indeed a fine player, pity he got injured.

• 8.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: and a top of the morning to you as well young lady.

• 9.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Looks like a prospect but don’t ‘overhype’ this kid. He has a long way to go, much like the other youngster like Lambie, De Jongh, Mapoe. All talented and will no doubt step up when the time is right.

But for now, give me JPP and Habanero. Just remember not so long ago, JPP was this 19 year old greenhorn fullback. Now at 23 or so, he has a Currie Cup, a Tri Nations, has beaten the Lions and won a World Cup.

If Gerhard is good enough, his time will come.

• 10.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah: Duvenage will be 9, and Mapoe is not a 13, he has said so himself.

So not quite…

• 11.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Flawed article – Habana plays on the left at 11, Vd Heever is at 14.
    So the article should have compared the young man to JPP.
    But we all know vd Heever can’t possibly be selected for the Boks on the wing. Wing is a reserved (wink, wink) position as recognised in the article.

• 12.WP_: Reply to this comment

I know JP P is a quality player but geez he was distinctly kak against the Lions. Butter fingers, missing tackles. He needs to wake up

• 13.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

Headlines like this make me sick, confirming we still live in a country obsessed with skin color, when will we move on I wonder ????

• 14.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

@WP_: Is Ruan going somewhere? For that matter – is Sarel Pretorius, Jano Vermaak and Rory Kockett going somewhere?

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

White wing?

Speed?

Tacitus?

• 16.Dawn: Reply to this comment

We already have one pompous git in the house.

Now just waiting for Bill Reyts.

• 17.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Kerneels: Hopefully not. They are all ahead of Ricky imo.

Just trying to say that Ricky is not even the Best 9 at the Stormers.

Agree Ruan will be the Bok 9 post 2011, he’s getting better and better there with every game

• 18.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Nothing stops him from going – as a spectator that is. He has a way to go.

• 19.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Like another Limerick?

• 20.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

“………‘Sure,’ I probe further, ‘but as unrealistic as the expectation is, the nature of people is to measure the replacement of an exceptional player by the standards that player has set. Let me ask you this, where do you think you stand in the Bulls supporters’ estimation?

‘I don’t know. I haven’t thought about that.’

Of course he hasn’t. The question was a foolish one to pose to a 20-year-old who was probably oblivious to the issue until I raised it. Such complexities didn’t register with him. Keeping his starting place through consistent performance is his primary, all-consuming, objective. But his ignorant bliss will soon be disturbed by the realisation of the magnitude of the task ahead. The Bulls’ faithful are looking for a new demi-god to worship. Van den Heever’s mortality will only be tolerated for so long. Supernatural is what is demanded.”…………….

Nonsense. This paragraph smacks of condescention in the extreme. To assume that he isn’t confronted with these questions every time he walks onto the field is being very naive. Gerhard is simply avoiding the question.

But yes, he has potential, and yes, there are many hurdles to overcome ( :) ) before he pulls on the green and gold.

• 21.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@WP_:

I remember JPP being the top try scorer in 2007, to turn up in 2008 having an absolute shocker – but he then showed when he joined the Boks the class he has.

I would agree, JPP needs to have more on-day’s than off-day’s. He needs to get his head right but he is seemingly suffering from the same disease as most Sharks players currently under a coaching setup which does not seem to inspire confidence.

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ryan ……..

“This has become the domain of the dark-skinned player, and the prospects of the perception that white is whack changing are slim”

What does this mean in Spanglish?

• 23.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Good morning Dawn! I have no issues with you and never had. You can call me what you like.

• 24.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t NOBODY mess with my ……………….

“emotional and cognitive equilibrium.”

(Thanks Ryan … top form today!)

• 25.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@WP_: @Kerneels: Im goin on PDV’s stated preferences. Ricky isnt mine, Id prefer Francois Hougaard to take over from Fourie. As for 13: Adi’s retirement date is approaching so I threw Mapoe in there as there are no other 13s in the country outside of Jaque Fourie who inspires confidence.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

Look forward to another French dialogue today.

• 27.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: I agree. The article written in dialogue style at times is amusing :lol:
    I like this kid as I like all the others which you have mentioned. I agree with your last sentence but I will change it slightly.. “If Gerhard is good enough, time will tell”

• 28.Connag: Reply to this comment

Go to Australia young man, if you are good enough you will be rewarded!

• 29.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

this kid has shown me nothing to suggest he’d be a future bok

• 30.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @ 26

I love you too.

• 31.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w:

He has good hands and speed (Tac) – his defense is suspect, but can be improved with time I’m sure.

• 32.WP_: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: Ya, and it’s frustrating seeing him play like that because we all know how good he can be when on form.

• 33.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w:

He has good acceleration and steps of either foot with ease.

His biggest asset to me however is as a youngster, he seems unflustered on the big stage, which is a massive plus.

• 34.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Only time will tell whether Van den Heever will die in the darkness cast by Habana’s shadow”

Beautiful Ryan. Beautiful.

• 35.Sonito: Reply to this comment

I think he is in the same boat as Nokwe. Super quick but seriously lacking in other departments.

He could always move to Fullback but he will need to imporve a lot. Does have the physical attributes of a Fullback.

• 36.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Que’est-ce que c’est la probleme au-jourd’hui?

• 37.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Ag nee man babes.

Don’t you start.

• 38.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: chatte

• 39.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

All that I want to know is the following:

Is Ryan a bigger Bulls supporter than JC is a Stormers supporter?

• 40.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Journalism is at an all time low in this country.

It seems you have to mention race to sell an article. Gerhard VDH’s career has nothing to do with race. He is a youngster trying to make his mark.

Ryan Vrede you verkrampte b@stard. You bloody agent.

• 41.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

WTF! A blantanly racist headline together with an article peppered with racial comments. Ryan is pathetic.

It’s incredible! Please tell me why Guthro is not getting this punt punt style article about being of colour in an “alledgly” whites only domain of prop or why he is in the que behind many white props for a bok jersey?

• 42.Chaotc99: Reply to this comment

JPP was good when there was a good backline. Sharks backline is nothing to right home about at the moment. Terblance is really kicking away ball sometimes when he should not. Can’t blame wings for a bad match when they see the ball twice a game. Bulls and stormers move the ball to the wings more then the other unions thats why there wings get more into the game. If nokwe of the Cheetahs see the ball twice in a game thats a lot.

• 43.Dawn: Reply to this comment

We are debating the pros and cons of the phrase …..

“white is whack changing”

• 44.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Really, this kid is NOOOOT a Springbok now.

He might become one, he might not. But all this talk about how he should be included now is truly ridiculous. It’s not that he is young or that he needs to grow – there are other candidates such as Mapoe that is in the same boat. But Mapoe has a physical maturity that allows him to play with the big boys.

Now I’m not saying he must gym till he looks like Jaque Fourie, Aplon and company do great as small players. But they don’t play like small players!

• 45.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Don’t go there!!!

• 46.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Wo ist mein alter Freund Tacitus? Ich will hören was er zu sagt hat über dieses feuchtbares Artikel.

• 47.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: Why “racist”? Please illuminate, shine the light or should we say shine the white?

• 48.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

His defense is rubbish.

He doesn’t get stuck in….but hopefully that can be fixed.

• 49.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Waar is my informasie oor die manne in die kilts.

:evil:

• 50.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

This kid reminds me of Doug Howlett. Great positioning to finish off tries. He has the potential to make the Bok squad after the World Cup. That being said who do you’ll think should be the wings for the World Cup?
    Habana
    JP
    Nokwe
    Odwa???

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

when is just being a saffa ever going to be enough…..

in the immortal words of justrugby!

Right wing…..white wing….

a few of those on this blog!!!

Hey Ranger?

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is a bullsh*t article, the kid has no claim whatsoever to a springboks spot, it is not his destiny; he must still play for it. To try and foretell that he will have problems being selected is mischievious. That’s like saying Burton Francis or any other player of colour will have problems ever playing for the Springboks because predominantly or in the history of Springbok rugby our flyhalfs have been white!

“Hurdles” will make the Bok team in the future and will be valuable for our team.

• 53.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Why you speaking Dutch?

• 54.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: zu horen wo?

• 55.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Aaah ja, and have to agree, the whole “white wing” thing is in truly bad taste.

If you really need to make your point you can refer in the article to how South Africa has only so many players of colour and how a lot of them are on the wings. But to put it like that? That actually makes me more mad the more I think about it.

It is provoking any fans who might be sensitive along racial lines to make it into a race issue, when he is really just still a very fast athlete starting to learn his trade and shouldn’t be allowed near a Bok jumper!

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Quite amazing that Gerhard finds himself on the right wing instead of the left.

This is an emotional and cognitive dilemma.

• 57.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: It’s a disgrace! What is the intention here. Pressure Pdv into sellecting him?

Gerhard vd Heever is so lucky. As a white rugby player he comes on the scene equiped with free marketing from SA rugby scribes. Shame, Mapoe and Nokwe will never get this kind of advantage.

• 58.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Ryan doesn’t want to compare Hougard to Habana. :lol:

• 59.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: Agree.
    “He could always move to Fullback but he will need to imporve a lot. Does have the physical attributes of a Fullback.” A Bulls supporter (forgot who), pi$$ed off at the losing to the Reds last weekend, said something like this…”how can we win when at 1 wing we have a scrumhalf playing and the other winger has a shape of a girl/woman”… :lo:

• 60.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Habana and JPP will be our number one wings for 2011.

People forget how good JPP’s defense is, he puts in some huge hits (like Habana).

• 61.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Its crazy to think how young JP still is. He must take a leaf from Joe Rockoco and loose some weight and get his speed and his Illusiveness back.

JP is one of the smoothest runners you will see in rugby.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

This is between me and WPTID.

Out you go.

• 63.Ashley_Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

we need more articles like this … just to spite those dumbf&ck Newlands crowd supporting the all black teams. (most of them have 1 tooth and grade 8)

• 64.Ashley_Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

grade 8

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):

Can you teach him to hang on to a ball in front of the tryline??

• 66.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Ok

• 67.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Gerhard van den Heever muß ja warten. Er hat Zeit, er ist noch sehr jung.

Zur Zeit ist Habana, Pietersen, Nokwe, Mapoe undsoweiter viel besser als ihm.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Ashley_Langenhoven:

Grade 8 is probably more than you got.

• 69.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading: 55. Why don’t you say black players instead of “players of colour”?

• 70.pappa smurf: Reply to this comment

Stupid article.

All you’ve done is putting “some more lead in his shoes ..”.

Keep color out of rugby, for pete’s sake ..!

• 71.Ashley_Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

dawn yes you papsak Son reporter you ..quota!

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

JPP
    HABANA
    MAPOE
    APLON….

• 73.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

C’est un tel poste d’âge mûr. Je suis heureux de voir que vous êtes si l’objectif

• 74.grant10: Reply to this comment

PIET IN THE HOUSE

• 75.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: do you have a german character set installed?

• 76.Kiddo: Reply to this comment

My post World Cup backline would ideally be:
    9. Francois Hougaard 10. Steyn
    12. Meisiekind (assuming JdV leaves) 13. Jacques Fourie
    11. Habs 14. JP Pietersen
    15. Frans Steyn.
    Reserves:
    Pienaar
    Meisiekind
    Duvenhage
    Grant
    Van der Heever
    Kirchner

Hey dreams can come true hey… :-)

• 77.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Guys!!!!!

Stop being so bloody sensitive.

He is WHITE, he is a WING, and 90% of SA wingers are black/coloured.

• 78.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Pensez-vous que je pisse sur la batterie de Dawn

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Today I will let loose Gotterdammerung on Keo.

• 80.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@theOracle:

HaHa. He does actually have a face and body of a girl. I think he could pull drag off easily.

• 81.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Strange article, based on a preconceived idea that the author simply could not let go of despite the best efforts of the interviewee to dispel it.

This preconceived idea is that Habana is “revered” at Loftus. Believe me, we have let him go, and have moved on. Now Ryan just has to do the same.

As for vd Heever: His Bok fortunes might well be tied to that of someone like Juan de Jongh. Sad, but it’s all about the numbers in the end.

• 82.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: 78. oui. yebo.

• 83.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Ashley_Langenhoven: Pray tell how an article about vd Heever’s future potential to be a Springbok would be upsetting to the crowds and Stormers supporters at Newlands, or are you the one who only has grade 8 education.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):

Ryan started it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 85.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

good acceleration and steps of either foot is a necessity that wingers nowadays have to have and most of the wingers out there today have got that
    there is quite a few wingers currently in sa that i believe show more potential then this guy
    this guy needs to work on and fix he’s shortcomings

• 86.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Kiddo: Meisiekind in the run-on side AND on the bench? That’s a bit much asked, even from him surely? ;)

• 87.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Kiddo:

Come on you can do better than that. Too few True Blue boys there.

Kirschner
    Shadow
    Olivier
    Pretorius
    Hougie
    Steyn
    Du Preez

• 88.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Welcome!

• 89.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: He could. He is very pretty.

• 90.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: 81. its not about the numbers, stupid. its about the pigmentation.

• 91.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

J’adore quand les gens me parler. Cela signifie qu’ils ont le béguin pour cette personne. Avez-vous d’accord

• 92.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Not really, Ryan pointed out the facts.

• 93.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): 77. Dont’t say WHITE, say “non-black” – accepted term around Keo…

• 94.Ashley_Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Rossoneri aka hater aka dumbf&ck racist sl&t … you can put away your panga for now .. Bulls will play @ loftus for another 3 weeks. Not yet uhuru

• 95.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri:

I can just imagine him running out onto loftus with a nice pair of lace stockings.

• 96.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

Ah, tu parles francais – c’est bon.

@Heavens Game:

Nein, aber Ich kenne ASCII ja sehr gut, kann ja schnell Umlauts machen zum Beispiel ä ë ü.

@Bill Reyts:

Je croix que oui, peut-être.

• 97.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

20.9 for the 200m my @@@@@@@@@rse.

Always hyperbole with new players in SA !

Frankly, he looks a nice tidy player but thats about it, no solo individual efforts in his tally. Give the lad a break, hardly needs to be built up at this stage of his career ?!

• 98.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: 91. oui, mais elle est un peu confus

• 99.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri:

You will be labelled – retract that statement immediately.

• 100.Sonito: Reply to this comment

I seem to think that “Ashley_Langenhoven” is the same person who nick is “God” and is just on here to stir race rubish from both sides.

Piss off!!!

• 101.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Ashley_Langenhoven: Ok. You’re just stupid. Moving on.

Oh and it’s great to know I can still get that vein in your neck to pump with fury without even trying. Why don’t you run along and get a heart attack now. :lol:

• 102.gunther: Reply to this comment

Oh la la …. Quelle horreur…

Pauvre Hurdles..

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Ashley_Langenhoven:

Grade 2 and dropping … fast.

• 104.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: :lol: Now you’re being naughty. I just think he genuinely is very pretty. He has freckles over his nose I think.

• 105.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Time to drop the race card and pick players on merit and not race.

• 106.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: :lol: hahahahahaha

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: Well if there are some who haven’t yet, they certainly will after he scores a couple over V/D Heever in Newlands next month!! :)

• 108.grant10: Reply to this comment

reds

Crusaders

sharks

bulls

That keeps me awake at night!

Bloody hell could they have made stormers run in more tough??

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1: 105
    viva

• 110.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Non, je ne parle pas français du tout. J’écris avec un peu d’aide

• 111.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10: It’s crunch time. I wouldn’t worry about the Sharks though.

• 112.grant10: Reply to this comment

between Dawn and Rossoneri i reckon Piet gets to experience a good old saffa hospital today….cardiac section.

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: 111
    Picked up grand stand ticket for Saders game yesterday!!

• 114.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I see we now have three limp dicks swanning around with pocket hankies and speaking French.

• 115.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther: WTF hurdles?

• 116.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: A limp **** wont matter to you, obviously.

Don’t flap

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Ja.

Your **** flaps even when you don’t want it to.

• 118.sparticus: Reply to this comment

K@k , he is not bok material. Its one thing to run fast but another to do so with a rugby ball in your hand.

• 119.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Quatre – Avez-vous passé en mathématiques à l’école

• 120.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Elle adore l’attention qu’elle reçoit de tout le monde parlait d’elle.

• 121.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Will get that money into your account today !!

Can’t wait !!

• 122.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: Agree 100%, there is nothing wrong with our current bunch of youngsters, just because they’ve been in the wars and won so much does not mean they are old and disposable, 2015 RWC is where GVDH will shine

• 123.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: 117. At least it works, however minimally. lol. For you it shouldn’t matter though, surely. Or are you actually interested in dicks, I might have been mistaken all along.

• 124.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

Audi Quatre?

Did I pass mathematics at school?

Why?

• 125.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: 120. That she does.

• 126.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

I adore attention?

Why?

• 127.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @124

Quatre mecs de langue française mon amie

• 128.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Schwoa, Ich bin so schrecklich geil heute.

Dieser Typ “Ashley_Langenhoven” muß ein Schwanzlutscher sein.

• 129.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Parce que Je t’aime et le langage de l’amour est le français

• 130.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: jakomte, jakomte!!!

• 131.gunther: Reply to this comment

Dawn avez vous beaucoup d’experience des connards?

HG

Oui “hurdles” c’est son nom de guerre!

• 132.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Elle s’intéresse à des kilts…

• 133.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Mon doux Dawn! Je m’abstiendrai de parler français au moment où vous avouer votre amour mourir pour moi.

• 134.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: 132. Yeah, it seems anything with a dress

• 135.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Elle s’intéresse également à pénis doux que je vois.

• 136.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Non, “Hurdles” est son nom de plume.

“Pantoffel” est so nom de guerre…

• 137.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

Interestingly enough, if you use a IRB player value system exactly along the lines of FIFA player value system ………you end up with something like this

Dan Carter 25
    FDP 22
    Richie Mc Caw 17
    Brian Habana 18.5
    Jaque Fourie 15
    Vic Mattfield 13.5
    Joe Rockokoko 11.4
    Frans Steyn 9
    Juan Martin Hernandez 9
    Will Genia 9
    James O’ Connor 8.5
    Quade Cooper 8.5
    Conrad Smith 8.5
    Juan Smith 8.5
    Schalk Burger 8
    Bakkies Botha 8
    Matt G 8
    Stephen Brett 8
    Steven Donald 7.9
    Morne Steyn 7.9
    Jamie Heaslip 7.8
    James Horwill 7.8
    Tony Woodcock 7.7
    BOD 7.7
    Gethin Jenkins 7.7
    Carl Hayman 7.6
    Vincent Clerc 7.6
    Jamie Roberts 7.6
    Imanol Harinordoquy 7.6
    Rob Kearney 7.5
    Jimmy Cowan 7.4
    Sergio Parisse 7.5
    Rocky Elsom 7.5
    James Hook 7.5
    Tommy Bowe 7.5
    Jerry Flannery 7.5
    Ben Robinson 7.5
    Nicolas Mas 6.5
    Nick Easter 5.5

Note one of the major Factor is the age of a player, hence O’ Connor priced above BOD

• 138.Kiddo: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah: Assuming JdV buggers off or gets injured.

• 139.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Todos está siendo terriblemente grosero

• 140.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sometimes, men are a HUGE disappointment.

• 141.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: got to their website www dot capetown-caledonian-pipeband dot com

• 142.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: sympathies

• 143.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

C’est magnifique – Keo en francais!

Allez les Bleus!

• 144.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby:

Yes I agree with you JR!

• 145.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Allez

• 146.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Seulement quand ils ivre et ne peut pas effectuer

• 147.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

LOl……let’s all then converse in English !

• 148.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Ma cherie: wwww dot cthighlanders dot co dot za

• 149.Blouste: Reply to this comment

This kid have the attributes to become a great like Pissant mentioned earlier.
    He still have to walk the walk though ,but have made an more than decent start.
    Further, hopefully selections will be on merit only ALLWAYS !!!
    Our national team must be the 15 best players, whether they are lilly white or chocolate brown – The best 15 please !!!

And lastly, this kid does’nt sound all that childish at all, and I for one thought he handled Ryan’s leading questions quite well…

• 150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: shove your “crude” up your mini-me

• 151.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby:

Ok! Dawn loves guys who can speak French. We are all fighting for the first date.

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: 140

Really?

i thought a decent pharmacist could sort any performance anxiety?

HG may be an exception.

• 153.gunther: Reply to this comment

Mechant wptid….

• 154.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Grant i thought i told you, Never Aplon, NEVER

• 155.grant10: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: 154
    I dont share your sizeist jake the snake views….

• 156.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 112Recon you’re right. @grant10:113 Grant the saders will have to bring their A game. Stormers are looking formiddable these days. But Saders are not to be underestimated. They have many youngsters in their side, but they know how to win matches. It’ll be juicy. :lol:

• 157.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: ag no man, dont start that kaaark again, got find another thread about Lions or sharks where no one is blogging and talk your sweet nothings there.

• 158.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: I agree. Based on the article his responses were great. Shows a maturity and focus. I was referring to Ryan’s interpretations of some of his comments implying a sort of “youthfull ignorance” which didn’t appear to me to be the case at all.

• 159.grant10: Reply to this comment

HG is living proof that French talking doesent pull the ladies….

• 160.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Size matters in Blue Bull country mate!

• 161.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

Oh Good morning Mac. You well?

• 162.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@grant10: hahahaha, you know he’ll never make the RWC though.

• 163.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

Thanks Mac.

• 164.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

Oh put your skirt on and catch a life mate.

• 165.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@grant10: and no matter what all the girls tell you to assure you bud, SIZE DOES MATTER =P

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

Leave this kid to play….not neccessary to put pressure on him….Akona Ndugane may well have taken his place if he never got hurt again.Bulls are vulnerble out wide….i sense a few teams will want to head out wide against them….like the reds did…makes sense.

• 167.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Crude should be rude dimwit !! Your translator not working to well ???

Time to take yourself in hand you frustrated wannabee Capetonian !!

• 168.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: you guys killed the thread with that bol yesterday, now u wanna do the same here.

• 169.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 159. Eyeties pull more than the Frenchies

• 170.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

You guys! Don’t pull the other guys in. It’s me who you have an issue with. If you lack humour then wear your dress.

• 171.bokbal: Reply to this comment

Why are my posts being moderated all the time? What are we allowed to post and not? I suppose we cannot provide direct links to other websites?

• 172.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 167. lol. What defines a “Capetonian”, Mini-me?

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

keen to see the bulls team…..reckon they should take a chance and rest some okes….Matfield….fdp and MS spring to mind….those okes looked klaar against reds.

• 174.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: got no issue with you, but there you go again reading me all wrong, it just really got stupid yesterday with you guys having handbags at 10 paces in foreign languages.

• 175.Dawn: Reply to this comment

April 28.

Fox ‘n Hound pub gig.

19hh00

Where is the Fox ‘n Hound!!!

:evil:

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

i never understand H G S drivel anyway….so he may as well talk Swahili for all i care.

• 177.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 167. Translate this, umufo omfuphi umboko omncinyane

• 178.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

You can see that we’ve run out of anything meaningful to say about hekkies that hasn’t already been said.

And you can tell by how the comments have degenerated that people have gotten tired of the usual “my player is better than yours” debates that dominated the threads in the first 10 weeks of the competition.

I shudder at the thoughts of the depths we will have sunk to by the end of the tournament.

• 179.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: secondly you trying to make fun of me wearing a kilt will never work because it doesn’t embarrass me son, its part of my life and heritage which i’m extremely proud of, so anything you say regarding that, I’ve heard before, said before or read before so it does not have the effect you might wish for.

• 180.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: LOL

Derbies coming up….then its chaos!

• 181.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Mediterraneans in general pull the women. They have ettiquette.

• 182.grant10: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: 179
    Careful…..all the talk of kilts will result in HG stalking you!

• 183.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: which band is that Dawn?

• 184.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: 181
    And love there football……so thats you out of the question.

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

You tell him Mac.

(Listen. This band better not be full of old men blowing bagpipes!)

• 186.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 178. Wait till the derbies. There its pretty clear though, the incredible invincible Stormers are on an unstoppable march to the Cup. So debate is pointless, isn’t it?

• 187.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

Sad but true… :sad:

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: ubolo oluncane

• 189.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Do you think they’ll risk resting players at this crucial stage? If they’d beaten the Reds I could see that happening much easier than now.

Fatigue is a real factor, you are 100% right, and it will be better for SA rugby, but is it better for the Bulls?

I personally think they’ll give the Lions a hiding regardless, so I’d play guys like Flip, JL Potgieter, Move Hougaard to 9 (I personally havent seen much to suggest that he’s the next springbok no 9, but I’m open to being convinced). They’ll still have way too much for the Kitties….

• 190.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

You dont want to go there… its the local dive in Bothasig…aka The ‘Sig

• 191.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: OK you meeting up with Tony’s crowd then, they cool, not old men, there are a couple of young drummers as well, Tony is a party animal but i’m not to sure if he’s taken or not, but im sure you’ll find one or 2 guys to feast on =P

• 192.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

The Caledonians.

• 193.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

Cool and always respect all views. Apologies.

• 194.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

The strangest bit about this article is that it compares Hurdles with established and accomplished internationals i.e Habana and JPP, FFS!!! Fabian Juries had this kid for dinner last year.

Can SArugy do an article on why Fabian has been so unlucky not to have had as much of a chance as the rest of the SA wings, the try he scored against the Bulls last year was just a demo of what he’s capable off, he scored a try like that for the Bulls whilst playing under Rudi Joubert but still never got a look in.

to those that didn’t see the try, go to youtube and search for Fabian Juries, now thats magic!!!

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bod:

This is turning into Mission Impossible (Kilt!)

• 196.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: Well FH has spent much time at nine over the last 2 seasons but once he gets an extended run he should convince you, the thing about him is relative to his size it takes a ***** load to bring him down which i find very pleasing.

• 197.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: 186 You are not going to get me to bite at that one. My views on the tenuous nature of the current top 4 are well documented.

@grant10: 180 Yes, that does up the intensity of the provincialism up a bit! You enjoy the footie last night? I must say, class as Barca are, I’ve always been a fan of Inter since the days of the all conquering German trio of Jurgen Klinsman, Lother Mattheus and Andreas Bremer played for inter in the early ’90s.

• 198.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: like i said i’ll respect all vies as long as they don’t come from an aussie perspective.

• 199.wpw: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid:

AMEN!!! :cool:

• 200.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: sorry has should be hasn’t

• 201.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 197. Yeah, you are a bit atypical – a sane, decent Stormer supporter on Keo.

• 202.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 184. Wrong G10, my husband is Greek, so I am more than up to speed ;)

• 203.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Never mind a kilt

You dont want even to go near there in a full suit of body armour AND chastity belt… full stop

• 204.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

You are a Spear supporter right?

• 205.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: mmmmmmm Greek, i could do with a Makynos Vima from Babylon right now.

• 206.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: MacStooge 198 I will save you the bother of posting the same comment tomorrow.

Feel free never to respond to any of my comments… care factor = Zero ;)

• 207.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: 195. Pretend its a skirt. That should do it for you. And don’t flap…

• 208.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 197
    Barca will take them at home i reckon….last 15 minutes inter were on the ropes….but great game.

• 209.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: 202
    Good people the Greeks….bankrupted there country…but what the hell…..

• 210.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@grant10: True, so typical is their attitude too… What the hell :D

• 211.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

The chosen one will be too good for Barca. Classical comment of his on how he will now be blamed for the volcano..

How we miss that man…

• 212.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: ummmmmm, huh?? what did i say wrong now?

• 213.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 209 Greeks are a bit like Stormer supporters particulalry those from Camps Bay. They all like a bit of Greek, don’t they G10 (wink, wink)

• 214.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

Morning RR – Don’t use language here. We might start blogging in Greek.

• 215.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

?? ??? ??????????, ??? ????, ?????? ?? ?? ??????? ???? ??????? ?????? ? ????? ????? ????!!

• 216.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: @212 – Oh so it is not only me! Maybe it is the way we project things.

• 217.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: ? = Applause? Why thank you Mini-me

• 218.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

You are a annoying limp **** prat ……. and still no rugby contribution from you since day 1 !!!!!

• 219.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: No problem, blog in whatever language you are comfortable with.

I only swear a little, I definitely do not punctuate with it. :D

• 220.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Is that so? Rgby does exist outside the Stormers. You do know that, don’t you?

• 221.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: are you going to tell me what i did to offend you RR?

• 222.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bod: 211
    he will take over from Fergie at man u…

• 223.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 208 They may well do that, but by 2 goals? I guess they have the team to do it, and the Spanish will be all over them to raise their game. The Noukamp must be one of the most partizan venues to play at, even more than Old Trafford. Will be a good return leg regardless…

Not as bad as loftus though….. ;)

• 224.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: 213

you a closet my man….no doubtwhatsoever.

Bass guitarist for the Village People.

• 225.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Dear Ryan

“Wondering why Cheetahs are where they are?, thats should be you next article heading. Here is an example, this was last year September’s article

” Johannesburg. – Fabian Juries, Man of the Match in two of the Free State’s last three Currie Cup matches after being a late inclusion, was again not selected for the side which plays the Boland Cavaliers in Wellington on Saturday.
    Juries’ Sevens Springbok teammate Danwel Demas takes over on the wing because of his better kicking proficiency, while two other Sevens Boks, Lionel Mapoe (injured hamstring) and Jongi Nokwe also swap places on the other wing.
    In an interesting move, the Cheetahs have selected young Coenie Oosthuizen as tighthead.
    Former Springbok great Os du Randt, who looks after the Free State scrum, is confident Oosthuizen is strong and talented enough to play on both sides. He has impressed on the other side of the scrum, but the Cheetahs’ management felt it wasn’t fair on the youngster to blood him at tighthead in the tough Currie Cup competition.
    They are now confident he can take the step up.
    Springbok No 6 Heinrich Brüssow is back in the side in place of Hendro Scholtz and, in another change, Louis Strydom starts as flyhalf in place of Jacques-Louis Potgieter who has injured his back.
    The Free State team for Saturday: Hennie Daniller, Danwel Demas, Corné Uys, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe, Louis Strydom, Tewis de Bruyn, Ashley Johnson, Frans Viljoen, Heinrich Brüssow, David de Villiers, Nico Breedt (capt.), Coenie Oosthuizen, Richardt Strauss, Wian du Preez. Replacemenmts: WP Nel, Izak van der Westhuizen, Hendro Scholtz, Kabamba Floors, JP Joubert, JW Jonker, Fabian Juries. – Sapa”

• 226.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

Tolerance is something few posses! ??? ???? ????? ??? ?? ???

• 227.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

Oops it didn’t pick up the Greek? Sorry – I said a good day to you.

• 228.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: You have not as yet offended my sensibilities. I referred you to your post #198, whereby you have reiterated your stance of yesterday.

• 229.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Yes I know, that’s why if the Sharks had listened to the basic advise and had played Ruan at 9 and JS at 2 or 1 from the first game , you might be real semi final contenders rather that a wish and a prayer contenders.

The fact that stormers fans highlighted this at the very begining shows you how astute our rugby brains are in CT !!!

Must be the Camps Bay boom hey !!!

• 230.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 223. “My man” is a bit possessive. G10 are you getting excited?

• 231.Transformation: Reply to this comment

well kobus kitty thinks “hurdles” look like a girl…hehehe :D

• 232.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

This boereseuntjie will never make the Bok team…that’s just the way it is..!

• 233.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: ahhhhhhh so you are a sheila then……. lol

• 234.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 229. Yeah thos damn Sharks coaches should have listened to the completely sane views of some Stormers fans. After all they do follow the most complete, incredible, invincible team in the S14. (Sorry I couldn’t include successful in the hyperbole)

• 235.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 229 agreed…it was so simple to point out the obvious and Sharkies just took everything so personally…now Ruan has shown he can be the best 9 in the country…why was everybody so one-eyed..?..except for Stormers supporters pointing out the obvious :roll:

• 236.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

LOL………we should share the CBB (camps bay boom )

• 237.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: ??? ???? ????? ??? ?? ??? <<< Kalimera means good day.

@MacToogie: Yes I am Australian

• 238.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

AHHHHH…..so you do dispaly the ability to learn !!!!!!……..slowly, but you are making progress !!

• 239.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@bokbal: @171

I think Keo must now be re-routed via China ?!

I had 1 article stopped 3 x, even tho I ethnically-cleansed that baby like never before.

• 240.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

I tried writing it in Greek and Keo picked it up as Hieroglyphics

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

plumtree today in the witness says sharks fortunes turnaround came when they settled on new sharks front row.

when i said that all these closets attacked me?

Very funny….they should listen to sage advice…..and it doesent even come at a cost…its free.

Plum…e mail me ,mate….dont listen to the Rangerman, HG,Ratel Brussow ****….

• 242.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: I’m in da winelands…we can mix in the Robertson Skunk with some CBB and have a blended Boomtime…at Newlands nogal :lol:

• 243.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 238. Thank you so much. I just so want to be accepted… (sniff, sob, sniff).

Please “Bud”, please…

• 244.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: My Greek is limited as my husband and his family speak predominantly English. If I can help ask away, I can always get my husband to translate if I get stuck.

• 245.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 241. The only “sage” you know or give is good ole Camps Bay boom. (wink, wink)

• 246.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Bod: @211

the ‘Special’ One needs to learn some respect, I hope he gets his @@@@@@@rse kicked and that smug arrogance wiped clean off his face.

(think youre right tho)

• 247.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

LOL……sounds like a plan…….shoud we invite HG ??

• 248.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

I don’t speak Greek! But I do speak Australian ;)

It was so funny listening to an interview once, where the actress said she spoke American. :lol:

• 249.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: 243
    You are accepted….

with Ranger man…and Ratel Brussow…you make up the 3 stooges….

The most moronic, senseless,rah,rah,pom pom ladies on keo….without a doubt….

Absolute closet loonies masquerading as rugby lovers….single cell organisms have more brains and knowledge.

wallys of note i tell you.

• 250.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Bru…HG is permanently stoned with his head so far in the clouds he can’t see the obvious problems with his team that the Stormers fans so politely try and point out.
    If someone told me Ricky is kak,I would not argue,just say he has his part to play :roll:

• 251.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Time to go folks,

kalinikta (means goodnight).

• 252.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Its the Camps Bay boom. I am trying to see from some Stormer supporters perspective. Help me, PLEEEEEASE

• 253.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: Speak again.

• 254.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10: @249

you still got some way to reaching Skoppie-levels there, G10.

• 255.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: lol
    Tongue in cheek….

there is only 1 Skop!!!!

• 256.Mike H: Reply to this comment

It would be nice if there was 0 skop’s

• 257.cane: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 255,

Thank the Almighty.

• 258.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Mike H: skops a legend ….@cane: LOL

• 259.rangerman: Reply to this comment

yes yes grantie.

keep telling yourself that i am a loony as long as it takes buddy.

you have repeated the same line on every thread for about 8 months and i am loony? :lol:

now its right wing, white wing and vryheidsfront? :lol:

what next, JS is kak?

no man, surely not?

and the nerve of you, asking an oke you have just insulted( gunther) to get you rugby tickets? what a weasel.

but i see he is now off your list. will that truce last until you have tickets in your hand or until the bulls beat the stormers at newlands?

• 260.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: 252 It’s simple..don’t change what ain’t broke…
    players are professionals and should be treated as such…when a top international player has cemented his place in a team you don’t change his position however valid the perceived reasons may seem ie. to make room for another player :roll:

• 261.rangerman: Reply to this comment

skopskiet is actually an ok guy who talks **** all the time.

like many of us here.

• 262.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 259
    I thought you were at band practice with HG?????

Slacker ….

Ja….i want my bulls tickets…then Gunther back on the moron list…although you remain the undispited flyweight champion of the moron club.

• 263.ImAStronter: Reply to this comment

Let me guess, Tacitus will be on here discussing 100m times or has allready at some point….

• 264.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: haha, and you remain the undisputed emotional queen of the rah rah pom pom luke fanclub.

but who cares right?

you have your opinion, plum and pdv are probably emailing you right now to get clarity as we speak.

they didnt understand the first 3000 times you posted the same comments here :lol:

• 265.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Yah…he does have some strange notions like, “maak die Stormers almal bokke” :lol:

• 266.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@ImAStronter: Tacticus loves 100m times as much as G10 loves the S3 flury.

• 267.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    @rangerman:

Dammit.

I’m gonna get the twose of youse together one day.

I swear.

• 268.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 264
    Plum has taken heed….

just hope PDV reads this stuff….

Need to mail him….just in case….

• 269.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: :lol: your side are playing awesome rugga man!

sheesh, i watched them tear the chiefs a new one and i was so chuffed.

congrats man.

• 270.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: “plum has taken heed”

*** me you are an arrogant little man eh?

you also said schalk and jannie dup were kak.

in fact you wanted schalk to fark off from the stormers.

vindicated?

• 271.grant10: Reply to this comment

Boks play Smit at 3 i honestly will need a life support system….

No matter what happens Dawn dont allow the blonde to turn the machine off unless i am well and truly clinically in my moer in!

She may be after the insurance!

• 272.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: :lol:

hi Dawnie.

ag, i am just joshing grant.

he isnt a repetitive, boring, arrogant, know it all, girly luke cheerleader at all!

• 273.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@grant10: If PDV does select JS at 3 against France, please can we have a webcam broadcast of you watching the game at Newlands. It could be up there on youtube’s greatest.

• 274.XV: Reply to this comment

Ryan

Do you miss those days when the Bok team was all white AND afrikaans? What a pathetic article and headline. Mediocrity seems to be thriving in the old Republic……

• 275.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 270
    Schalk has convinced me he is back in the mix through performance after performance.

Smit ….with every performance….convinces me he is headed for the retirement village….thats the difference.

Jannie Dup is a 1000 times better 3 than smit….and it shows….

guthro has come back powerfully…on the field…

WP Nel has been poor….on the field.

Smit has been nowhere….on the field.But at 1 at least he doesent turbo reverse….thank the angels plum saw the light.

• 276.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: well you better get your order in fast grantie because there will be very few life support systems available during the swc.

personally i think you should grow your hair, fingernails and toenails and wander the cape mountains, maybe find a cave and definately dont wash for at least 6 months.

pronounce loudly on front row issues to every poor hiker and tourist and maybe a few drugged up itinerants will start worshipping at your “turbo revese shrine”.

i am sure even balie and os will end up coming to see you.

even if it is only to take photos whilst they are on holiday with the kids.

• 277.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: 273
    I will be the oke on the life support system at Groote Schuur…will miss the game…

• 278.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 276

that was moer of a funny! I spilt my tea you twit!

• 279.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: haha, how could i forget oh hermit of the hills.

last year wp nel was the greatest LH in the world after a few scrums against tired boks.

guthro was kak after being destroyed on eoyt and so was jannie (pap slap snoek was the term you used).

your hypocrisy and idiocy knows no bounds but its ok, we know for you its an emotional argument and there is no point discussing things on a logical basis with an emotional person.

keep banging your drum tonto. you may convince a few people but you will always be viewed as a kukpraater by true rugby minds.

• 280.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: :lol:

hope it burnt the bug out of yer ***.

• 281.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 279
    True rugby minds that want smit at 3??

Fark me your delusion has no bounds….

• 282.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: well they fight like husband and wife, so its a match :lol:

• 283.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: :lol:

more like cousins thank you poppa.

anyways, i have to go and do some work.

its been fun.

cheers Dawnie, poppa and Hermit(crab)man.

have a cracker!

• 284.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

I have’nt had time to check…

Where are we on superBru ? :lol:

• 285.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: cheers ranger

@Blouste: long time no see, coincided with the Bulls losing :wink:

Im in 27th, should have got the GS point but didnt back the Stormers, so kicking myself a little…

• 286.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Yes, I also lost it on the Stormers and Bulls games. :sad:

Whats your take on the games this weekend ?

• 287.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: I tipped the reds, tipped the canes too..

chiefs
    REDS
    Saders
    canes
    Bulls
    brumbies
    BLUES

• 288.gunther: Reply to this comment

Ranger

Bollocks you mean grantie was only being “nice” to me in the hope of rugby tickets?

I am undone …. Mind you at least I can count on the ever loyal jr to like me for who I am..

Who knew?

Next you will be telling me dawn is a lesbetian…..

• 289.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Chiefs (although I think Cheetahs might just suprize)
    Reds (wildcard)
    Crusaders
    Canes
    Tahs
    Bulls
    Blues

Have’nt submitted yet though…

Have to throw some wildcards if we hope to get somewhere…

• 290.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gunther: LOL

any more sarcasm and you back in the moron club…..moron!

• 291.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 290. What, are you a mor(m)on too.

• 292.grant10: Reply to this comment

Dont know many mormons….must be damn brave chaps though….no way i am putting up with more than 1 wife…

• 293.Blouste: Reply to this comment

suprize = surprize.. :oops:

• 294.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10: yeah, they brave enough to set up their own safe, sanitised website RT (Rugby Tabernacle)

• 295.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: suprize = surprize = surprise :oops:

like I said, if Id have tipped the Stormers I would only be 4 points off the lead… but agree, have to throw in one or two wildcards..

will have to go the lions then :wink:

• 296.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Just a quick pre-luinch comment on this silly article.

“Troubles of the white wing” pale into total insignificance when measured against trouble of the right wing.

Much ado about nothing, fit for the trash can like those mormon-type plastic articles.

Oh! and don’t even begin to worry about the left-wing. Bryan Habana is there.

• 297.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Mike H: @256

Skop for Prez !

• 298.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

He he he yes, so focussed on “r”…sorry

The Lions…Yes go with them, it will extend my points difference with you defenitily !!!

Just hope you Blues turn up, you blow hot and cold way to much !!!

• 299.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: hehe all good…

the lions huh, and if they won youd be livid :D

dont tip the blues mate, go with the sharks.. otherwise I will be forced not to tell you who Im tipping for the remaining rounds, sort of like a secret ballot…

Ive spoken to jannie, hes going to use his fancy footwork to stop Toeava…

• 300.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: 296. Flok ET, WTF is wrong with you. lol. For once I agree with you.

• 301.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

See that Ranger is benched !!!

What’s up with that ? :shock:

• 302.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Well i don’t know why Van Den Heever should be included in the Bok Squad of 30!! I thought PDV is trying to build a sqaud of 30 players?

Typical SA mentallity, everytime there is a new promising player everyone goes on about who he will replace! Whatever happened of bringing in the new players like Van Den Heever into the Bok setup as backups to the top players!!

Plus Wales and the 2 Italian test are ideal to blood some new talent etc.

However his biggest problem/threat is Nokwe. Nokwe lookeds to be next inline after Habana/JPP & Ndingane!

• 303.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: your joking… I see Pat buys into the whole Luke McAllister sham… now Im not sure who to tip, much prefer the Stanley/Ranger combo… as I said on the Blues thread, think Lam is guilty of playing “mates” within the team environment…

not good, probably the form centre of the comp and hes not starting in such a crucial match?

and so the life of a blue’s supporter takes another farkin 270 degree turn..

• 304.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Well I saw it on stuff dot nz if memory serves…

Anyway, they shared you’re sentiment regarding Ranger being the form centre of the tournie, so hell I don’t know either.. :?:

Thought you might have some answers :P

• 305.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Heini Adams will make a rare start when the Vodacom Bulls take on the Lions at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. It wil be his first start in the competition this year.
    Adams replaces Fourie du Preez, who is rested and will make a contribution from the bench if needed.

Jaco Pretorius is also back to combine with Wynand Olivier in the midfield. He replaces Stephan Dippenaar, who played against the Reds.

The team is: Zane Kirchner, Gerhard van den Heever, Jaco Pretorius, Wynand Olivier, Francois Hougaard, Morné Steyn, Heini Adams, Pierre Spies, Dewald Potgieter, Derick Kuün, Victor Matfield (c), Danie Rossouw, Werner Kruger, Gary Botha, Gurthrö Steenkamp. Replacements: Bandise Maku, Bees Roux, Flip vd Merwe, Deon Stegmann, Fourie du Preez, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Pedrie Wannenburg

• 306.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: he was on the bench for the force game, apparently because of his “defence”…

got a coin, Blues heads, Sharks tails

or reverse

may be the only way to go..

still say you should tip the sharks mate :wink:

• 307.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Might be what I’ve read then.

They should start him no doubt !!!

Why? You wanna catch up ;)

• 308.Soda: Reply to this comment

“Not since Pieter Russouw has a coach routinely penned in a white player’s name.” Could that possibly be because the best players haven’t been white? You people accuse Malema of turning everything into a race issue then come up with this tripe.

• 309.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

Just thought i would put my selectors cap on for once and pick my teams for the3N this year as well as the RWC next year,

3N 2010
    15 – Kirschner/Lambie
    14 – JPP/Mapoe
    13 – Fourie/Newman
    12 – Wynand/De Jongh
    11 – Habana/Nokwe
    10 – Steyn/Grant
    9 – FdP/Pienaar
    8 – Spies/Vermeulen
    7 – Smith/Louw
    6 – Burger/Stegman
    5 – Matfield/Bekker
    4 – Botha/Russouw
    3 – Harris/WP
    2 – Smit/Botha
    1 – Steenkamp/Beast

RWC 2011
    15 – Frans/Kirschner (Lambie)
    14 – JPP/Mapoe
    13 – Fourie/De Jongh
    12 – JDV/Wynand
    11 – Habana/Nokwe
    10 – Steyn/Grant
    9 – FdP/Pienaar
    8 – Spies/Vermeulen
    7 – Smith/Louw
    6 – Burger/Brussouw
    5 – Matfield/Bekker
    4 – Botha/Russouw
    3 – CJ/Harris
    2 – Smit/Botha
    1 – BJ/Steenkamp

• 310.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

Aplon or Pietersen in place of Kirschner for sure.

• 311.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Nah its cool thanks, PDivvy already gave the nod for my 2 lists =P

• 312.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: But i’ll consider putting in a good word for Joe, will he be ready for 3N?

• 313.Soda: Reply to this comment

How long is Mapoe out for? I thought it was four months from the end of March.

It would be good to get Schalk Brits back, he’s light years ahead of any other SA hooker right now. If this is out of the question, Strauss is still better than the rabble we currently have.

Full back an inside centre however are the biggest problems. I would probably go with Hennie Daniller at FB. At least he can kick the ball.

It’s going to be a tough 3N for us although at least the ABs will be rubbish. I fully expect the Aussies to win this year and then go on to win the World Cup.

• 314.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

I hear he has started training – heard not hearsay.

• 315.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: Are you an aussie?

• 316.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Without real world class palyers in key positions there is no hope of beating two of top three teams in the world. Kirchener and Aplon are nowhere near world class full backs. Sure, Aplon can be exciting in loose play and best suited to the non existent defence in S14 but in a test match? It would be embarrassing to watch.

• 317.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: ok, thats good, then they can get aplon back on the bench where he belongs

• 318.Soda: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: can you read? the reason i ask is in both posts i’ve used ‘we’ and ‘us’ when referring to the Boks. besides, do you really think there are any aussies who actually care to read your fantasy selections?

• 319.Falken: Reply to this comment

Hey Mac

I must say i enjoy your 2 teams that you laid out.
    I feel for Pdivvy. The oke is gonna have a hard time picking a team because the sleeping giant that is WP Rugby has awakened and if he pisses them of their is gonna be hell to pay.

• 320.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Soda:

Key being:

15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 = 22, 21, 20, 19, 18, 17, 16.

• 321.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: “It’s going to be a tough 3N for us although at least the ABs will be rubbish”

love it when you guys write us off, please continue doing so…

• 322.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: no. key being key positions based on the gameplan and based on the opposition. you are unlikely to have the world’s number one player in every position but if you had to choose half the team where you could have the best player in the world, i’m sure you would which they were.

• 323.Soda: Reply to this comment

@ryan vrede: did you adapt this headline from Die Burger after ET’s demise: ‘troubles of the white right wing’?

• 324.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Soda:

Yeah I know what you mean Soda. I agree with you. I think Oz will be one of the favourites come 2011.

• 325.Falken: Reply to this comment

Poppa why was Ranger dropped against the force?

• 326.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: No need to get snotty dude, it was just a question, some of your answers were coming across like a thick headed aussie’s would, Daniller has nothing on any other full back at the moment, Pieterson is miles ahead of him, Strauss? he might be ok this season but will never get noticed in that orange mess, Tiaan is playing awsome rugby, so is GBotha, and you want to bring back Brits? Brits is old news and would never fit into the Bok combinations he doesnt know if he’s a hooker or loosie and imo he’s **** at both, leave him at the Sarries…. or is that Saffies =P.

• 327.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: ok then. how do feel about it when we tell you that you won’t win the world cup and every four years we’re right?

• 328.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Falken: for his “defence” apparently… baffling to say the least…

• 329.Soda: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: sorry. just that i’ve been watching some of the ‘saffies’ matches and he’s been awesome in attack and defense. then again, it is the english game to involve the hooker as a loosie which is why Gary did well and players like lee mears excel. i could agree on Tiaan though.

• 330.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Falken: he’s a good player. there are a lot of very good NZ players out there. problem is, as good as henry and co are, it’s gotten a bit stale fo the ABs.

• 331.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Come now Poppa, we all know the only 2 things NZ had going for them the last 2 years were McCaw and Carter, and this year they are nowhere near what they were back then, so honestly tell me what else have you got that’s different….. cos it aint the coaching staff.

• 332.Soda: Reply to this comment

speaking about wings (black and white ones if that’s ok with you Ryan), Mjekuvu looks like the real deal. needs to get out of the lions though.

• 333.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: the reason why i went Both and not Tiaan was the experience factor, he’s been 2 a world cup and many domestic finals, but he would still be 2nd in line to Captain Fantastic

• 334.Falken: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I was shocked when i saw it! The man or should i say beast has destroyed his opponents the last few weeks at 13. He must surely play against the sharks. With Grandpa Terreblanche ahead of him will make joke of them.

• 335.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: it doesnt bother me, thats the beauty of a knock out tournament..

how does it feel knowing you guys have lost to Scotland (4 times) and Ireland? two countries who have never ever beaten us…

how does it feel knowing it took you guys 10, thats right 10 years to win a game on NZ soil, now that youve won 2, have you used it up for the next ten years?

• 336.Soda: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: also, i say we’re in for a tough ride in the bizarre sense that i hope i found out i was wrong.

we really need de villiers and steyn back as well as steyn’s kicking form!

• 337.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: he looks good, got a good (If not weird) step, but he never looks for support and is very clumsy on defense, like GVDH he will be better come RWC 2015

• 338.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: a Scotsman talking about rugby, specifically NZ rugby… bwahahaha 0-25 says a lot mctugger

• 339.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: ah, so actually you DON’T like to be told you’re rubbish. but to answer your question: i don’t really know, i mostly think about having a 50% win rate in the world cup and over half a century of never having lost a test series.

• 340.Falken: Reply to this comment

@Soda: Mjekevu looks good but my problem with him is the poor oke looks scared to death.

• 341.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: you don’t want to go there son, how does it feel to only have won the RWC once??? 75 years ago when SA weren’t there to knock you out? hmmmmmmm, how did it feel when Gregan said those epic words “FOR MORE YEARS BOYS”????? hmmmmm? and i can tell you that NZ will not win next year either……. thats without a doubt, my money would be split on France, Aus and Boks thank you very much.

• 342.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: to be honest, the past doesn’t matter. what i’m really interested in is how many future NZ rugby players you’ll produce in the long white cloud of methamphetamine.

• 343.nama1: Reply to this comment

“This has become the domain of the dark-skinned player,…”

And why is that? Because some provincial and national coaches thought that hiding the “dark-skinned player” out there, and conservative ten men rugby, the “dark skinned player” won’t be able to stuff up.

Just a pity people like Chester, Breyten and Habana did not allow them to be used for window dressing and went about revolutionising wing play in SA. No more just waiting on the wing for the ball to come to you but they went about looking for work on other parts of the field. Something this light skinned player, mentioned in this article, still needs to learned. Don’t mention that set move where Steyn give a short inside pass to him from first phase ball in the opposition 22.

This kind of heading is plain kak.

John Daniels holds the record for the most CC tries in the history of the competition, 80 odd. He consistently was one of the top try scorers season after season in his playing days. Yet not once was his name mentioned as a possible Bok. The reason for that was that everybody knew that he had speed to burn and that he was a great finisher. Apart from that, not much else. Of course, there was already another “dark skinned player” at wing. The requirement of one “dark skinned player” in the Bok team was fulfilled leaving a place for Slaptjips on the other wing. This kid, at this stage of his career, is exactly the same as Daniels was back then. Why is he being discussed as a possible Bok player and then to insinuate that he will be kept out of the team because of his colour?

Why don’t you guys investigate how many “dark-skinned” forward players got lost in the system and why. One of the reasons according to me is because coaches were/are not willing to give them a chance. Wayne van Heerden were regarded by most on this blog as one of the stand out players in the Cheetah pack at lock last year. Where is he now? Coaches back then, and still even now, were only willing to give a “dark-skinned” player a chance if he was a back line player, and then only after they moved him to wing. Chester and Habana were both centres before they were moved to wing, Breyten was a flyhalf/full back before he was moved to wing.

So if the wing position has become the domain of the “dark-skinned” player and a light-skinned player find it hard to crack a place in the Bok team because of it, it is because coaches in this country have created the situation.

• 344.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: yeah im a born and raised saffa dude, wakey wakey.

• 345.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: i liken NZ in the RWC to when Rossi said to Gibernau ‘you’ll never win another race’. the more you lose the harder it gets until it’s an impossibility.

• 346.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda : you never lost a test series because all your refs used to speak in Afrikaans when officiating a test…

but please, continue to perpetuate the Arrogant Saffa stereotype, youre doing a fantastic job of it…

• 347.Soda: Reply to this comment

@nama1: Ryan’s angered a lot of us with this drivel. i think most of us agree that none of the wings we’ve had have been there for anything other than merit. it’s a headline designed to incite and generate views. nothing more.

• 348.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Hurdles has shown way more in his short career than DeJong.

way,way more.

(and yes,i know the one is a winger and the other a poof)

• 349.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Soda: agreed

• 350.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: you forget that before we were yanked out of world rugby SA were the dominant force in the world son, now that we are back we are slowly but surely getting back to where we belong, and i can see how the little silver furn is starting to wilt with every year of our resurgence as a rugby nation.

• 351.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: i think you’ll find that we never lost a test series at home OR abroad in 53 years. but maybe the foreign refs learnt afrikaans just to irritate their home teams? not sure. i do know that in the days when local refs handled the game, there was bias regardless of what language they spoke. fact is, home and away we were undefeated.

• 352.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: hahah throwing stones when we know Saffa players like Spies are guaranteed to be on the juice, hence his pulmonary embolism.. at such a young age.. tsk tsk

how many others are on the juice???? no wonder the sudden rise in SA rugby

also, how many foreigners are you guys going to murder during this years soccer world cup??

• 353.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Oh yes and the french team lost in the RWC against NZ because of an english speaking ref…….. oh no wait they didn’t. stupid excuse my boy, the rules of the game dont change from one language to another.

• 354.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: PS, how many grand slams have you got?

• 355.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: Hey MacDoogle…you weren’t that chop on Superbru with a kilt in his profile pic going around with this ‘Ochey….Ochey…’ all the time ?

He was also a Flou Nulle supporter.

The hookers chosen for the Boks will be Bismark and the Cheetahs Strauss. Sub national rugby heroes Tiaan and Gary wont even come into the picture.

• 356.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: @MacToogie: you havent answered my question, how many visitors to your shores this year will never return home? how many will be murdered?

• 357.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: you see, you have no come back so you have to move to other chirps to try and get to us, you know that NZ wont win the RWC next year, you guys are kakking yourselves and it just shows by your comments.

• 358.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I know of teams that have lost tournament finals being refereed by alcoholics – that were committed to rehab a couple of weeks after the game.

I reckon they had a couple of Klippies and Cola at half time.

• 359.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: thats not the topic of discussion sunshine, why the switch off topic? cant handle the truth son?

• 360.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I dont know that at all, the tournament hasnt even started… like I said before, continue to write us off…

so tell me, how many people will be murdered in SA this year??

• 361.Falken: Reply to this comment

I dont think it is such a bad heading.
    Because we all know that the quota system exist in our rugby and both our wings are black. But the trouble is not that they are black its because they are the best in their position in the country and they fill a quota slot.

• 362.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: i’m not talking about steroids dude. come on, the same percentage of rugby players in every country are on them (except maybe england at the moment).

mostly we don’t murder foreigners, we murder each other. New Zealanders on the other hand murder themselves with the highest suicide rate amongst the youth and overall per capita in the world. in fact, if you take suicide into account as a crime (which it is in NZ) then NZ has the highest per capita crime rate in the world. bet you didn’t know that.

• 363.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I can handle the truth, but how can there be a truth for an event that hasnt occurred yet…

do you see the flaw in your very limited logic?

or do you still prefer to be a little man and have to measure your tiny appendage to prove yourself somehow better?

• 364.Falken: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Atleast 22 that being the All Black squad when they play the Boks!

• 365.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: you seem to know an awful lot about a country you so obviously hate so much, why is that?

• 366.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: the point is, you have a lost generation to deal with (lost and dying). is NZ really that bad a place that most of the kids are turning to drugs or suicide? i’m confused because it looked kind of nice in that lord of the rings movie. especially the place where the elves lived – the mountainy bit with the stream.

• 367.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: the tournament hasn’t started yet so how do i know how well we will do this time around.

• 368.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: so tell me, the slums in soweto, how about those lost generations, what have you done to rectify those??

oh I see, criticising others while not tending to your own backyard speaks immeasurable volumes..

• 369.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: now you see, they way you go about your comments just shows you have nothing to say and that you are in fact scared because you know that there will be mass suicide in NZ when the AB’s lose to france yet again in a RWC

• 370.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I passed Biometrics with honours at Varsity. So, I did a bit of a calculation.

Using available statistics provided by our government (which no doubt reflect about 50% of the reality) – I worked out that from the figure initially bantered around of 1.2 million tourists that the world cup might attract and taking into consideration the duration of their stay that up to 6000 tourists will experience violent crime during their time in South Africa.

Now that it looks like we will be lucky to have half that figure, it looks like only 3000 will be affected by violent crime.

It wasnt a difficult calculation to make. And if FIFA think that somehow things will change in SA just because its world cup time – they are horribly mistaken. In fact, I think its more like the spider saying to the fly – come into my web….

And ummm…our criminals dont care if 100 Billion was spent on security. And they are pretty ruthless…raping a paramedic while they are helping on the scene of a serious accident….thats pretty ruthless..

• 371.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: @Soda: had your fun boys, had your little stir?
    feel better about ourselves now huh? feel like real men for a change?

• 372.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: yeah, that has nothing to do with rugby, HAHAHAHAHA what a git trying to divert attention away from how bad NZ are at the moment.

• 373.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: To hell with that idea….next year, the All Blacks lose to South Africa…in the final.

The greatest reward available in international rugby….the sweetest, sweetest most awesome, and worthy of worship will be the beating of the Kiwis in the rugby world cup final – in front of their own fans.

So – no, France must please not knock them out again.

• 374.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: i don’t deny that (although mostly the slums are not in the townships but part of informal squatter camps). in fact a lot has been down to bring in low cost housing for the established townships. however, i digress. the point being made was how much of the population to play rugby would be left. south africa has 48 million people so ensuring the next generation of players isn’t really a problem, even though it is only played and supported by a minority of the country.

• 375.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: my enourmous **** makes me feel like a real man POPPA, not posts on a silly forum.

• 376.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh guys?

suicide? murder? rape? lost generation?

i think it would be suicide for the blues to try and murder the sharks at kings park this weekend. just because we have a lost generation (frans steyn etc) doesnt mean they can just pitch up here and…uh……rape us?

no, rape just isnt a good word in a rugby discussion.

now ****** keep it clean you tossers.

• 377.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: run little kiwi, run, zee French arrrge cumiiiiing

• 378.Soda: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: point taken, i take it all back. except the enormous **** bit.

• 379.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Soda: You are so wrong though. Did you watch Dale College take on Hilton (I think it was) on FNB Classic clashes.

Mostly black players – and pretty damn good as well.

The sooner South Africa can incorporate its black population in rugby, the sooner we can reap the rewards of their natural athletic prowess.

Have a look at the Sharks academy – 90% black. Big, powerful looking black guys. I thought they were all forwards, but not….half of them are backline players that will have the little guys whimpering and running away like little girls.

• 380.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: yep, thats why there is a kiwi team at the top of the log… bwahahahaaha

48 million people and you are behind on the head to head count 42-33 to a country with only 4 million people..

lets not get into actual registered playing numbers though huh, even more embarassing for you guys huh?

• 381.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Soda: 347
    Good afternoon.

Only now had time to get my daily dose of Keo and then were confronted by this tripe. Did not read the bloggers’ responses before I posted. Was just too pissed off.

Agree with you, they’re only looking for hits so I’ll leave it there.

@Falken: 361
    If they are the best, than they can’t be quotas because by definition a quota is “an INFERIOR black/coloured player who gets selected ahead of a BETTER white player because of his skin colour”.

By your own admission, JPP and HABANA are the best wings and therefore not inferior to any white player out there.

Ag wat, just leave it.

• 382.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: You cant play them in the final if they don’t have the balls to make it there, and thats the problem they don’t have the gnads to do it.

• 383.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: i’m all for it mate. really, i don’t care if we have purple people with pink spots playing for us as long as they’re good. the sad reality is that even though the percentage of the team might become more black, it’s still a very small minority of black people that are interested in rugby. i do of course hope that changes.

• 384.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: seriously dude, how big is YOUR ****? mine is really huge. REALLY huge. send me your email address and i’ll ping you a pic.

• 385.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@nama1: We haven’t had a black or coloured Springbok player in a couple of years that wasn’t there based on merit.

Van den Heever is an average player – right now. He may develop, but he doesn’t really deserve the hype he is getting.

Against the Blues the guy couldn’t tackle a blanket soaked in super glue if it was fired at him from a canon. And the same guys that are yanking his string will tell you Adi Jacobs cant tackle. Horribly biased…

Lwazi Mvovo, both Ndunganes and Mapoe are all black players that are better then ou Gerhardtjie…

• 386.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: playijg numbers mean nothing without the silverware, as much as you NZlander’s say the world cup doesnt matter, each one of you would give your left eye to have that in your trophy case.

come talk to us again in 6 weeks when the S14 is over, SA have 2 teams in the top 4 son, and then the saders still have to come here and play our top 3 SA sides, come back then my boy

• 387.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: No – we must cheer them on…they must make the final…against us. Flip, it will be the most beautiful Springbok victory ever…

To beat the All Blacks in a world cup final in New Zealand….nothing will ever beat that.

• 388.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: whoah, this just got all kinds of weird. didnt know this was a CT thread….., =P

• 389.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: we wont meet in the final, we will be on the same side of the draw… unless we lose to France in the POOL stages, in which event you guys will face France…

• 390.Eminem: Reply to this comment

hahahaha troubles of a white wing. Thats some funny stuff right there in the headline not that I entirely disagree with some of the content.

• 391.Falken: Reply to this comment

@nama1: That surely is not the definition of a quota player nor is it that of the quota system in a totality.

• 392.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: knowing the hurt they would feel and actually having some very good kiwi friends (i actually do like NZ’ers a lot) i actually wouldn’t want this. let the frogs finish them off first and get it over and done with.

• 393.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: are you the real Eminem? can you give us a quick rap about rugby and pretending to be black?

• 394.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Dammit ! :-)

• 395.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: @386 silverware huh?

NZ
    10 Super titles
    9 3Ns titles
    1 WC

SA

2 Super Titiles
    2 or 3 3Ns
    2 WCs

so not sure what your point is…

and dont worry, I will be here at the end of the super 14, will you? considering the stormers have a really hard road in, and the bulls have been shown to have glaring weaknesses, its not all as rosy as youd like to believe…

• 396.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: Will the real slim shady please stand up…please stand up…

• 397.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: hahahahahaha Viv le France

• 398.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Soda..

you guys talk about the frogs beating us in next years world cup, no probs..it will be in the pool stages

WE ARE IN THE SAME POOL AS FRANCE..

do you guys not understand this???

• 399.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: true, when was the last time you guys beat France?

• 400.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: But ummmm….one piece of silverware that is more important than all those….is missing for 20 years ?

Sorry – I am not a Kiwi hater…I thought I should just mention it.

• 401.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@Soda: Pretending to be black ? :/
    But seriously check this out you wont be dissapointed

ttp://www.thekoalition.com/listendownload-b-o-b-airplanes-pt-2-feat-eminem-and-hayley-williams/

• 402.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: but still, you guys only have one more then us, not a big difference…

• 403.Eminem: Reply to this comment

^h

• 404.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: the question is, when last did NZ beat the Boks HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WHITE WASH comes to mind

• 405.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Lucky for you guys actually to have France in your pool. The All Blacks could make it all the way to the semi-finals this time.

• 406.poppa69: Reply to this comment

McTugger – when was the last time you guys beat France?

• 407.Eminem: Reply to this comment

I want feedback about my new track chaps :)

• 408.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: when was the last time you guys nilled the ABs at home?

I know we did it to you in 08, was it 19-0…I think so

bwahahahaha and wasnt that the World Champion team? getting pantsed? at home?

bwahahahahaahahahahahaahahahahahahaha

• 409.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: When did you guys win the world cup ? 1987 ?

So, its more than 20 years. Its 23 years already….going on 24 for the world cup next year.

Thats about as long as the period in between Cheetah Currie Cup trophies.

• 410.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: you see there you go off topic again. im trying to find the stats of when last but its taking a while, why dont you just tell me when?

• 411.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: That does NOT count. The strongest team in the world at the time wasnt present. NZ have yet to win a world cup.

• 412.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

Sigh, nothing like an article about a wing to bring out the Xenephobia.

• 413.poppa69: Reply to this comment

49-0 Aussie

53-3 England WTF!!!

be proud..

• 414.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: you mean sharks and CC trophies =P

• 415.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @ 398

yes we understand this bud…

what you’re not grasping is…

we were in the same pool as the poms in 2007… we still met in the final…!!

being in the pool with the frogs… (hehehe…) doesn’t exclude meeting them again… later…

just my 2c…

• 416.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 3 in a row mate ;)

• 417.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: this is also true, there’ no more restrictions on SA to help NZ win the RWC, they had to do everything in their power to make sure the RWC is in NZ just so they can win it agian, and i hear its the first one that’s going to run at a MAJOR MAJOR loss

• 418.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo: I agree, but if we do meet them it will also be the final, because we are in the same pool we will go to opposite sides of the draw…

• 419.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: You know what the difference is ? The All Blacks have definitely declined.

In years past, I could recite the entire All Black side without a problem – and you guys had SUPER players….like McCaw & Carter….Chris Jack….

But now – none of your players are really standing out. In fact, Carter looks decidedly average as does McCaw…Off hand, I cant even tell who the All Black supporters will select.

With the Stormers coming up so strongly this year, Pieter De Villiers has a massive pool of form players to select from, but, most importantly there is one clear selection in almost every position.

Lots of people say that the 2009 Bok team was one of the strongest, if not the strongest ever…but I think the 2011 Bok team will be even better….by quite a bit actually.

We just need to get PdV to select Francois Steyn at 15. Thats the only position I am unsure about.

• 420.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

so… nervous bud…??? :lol:

• 421.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Dude, dont delude yourself, your NZ has no one coming through that has the balls to take the trophy, AUs, France and Boks bud, get used to it, i bet Wales or Ireland knock you out next year.

• 422.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: No, even the Sharks are not as bad as the All Blacks. We only had 12 years between trophies. Thats very much better than 24 years….and there is no guarantee even that the All Blacks will win next year. So – it could advance to 28 years…eish….

I reckon the Boks will become the first team to defend a world title. They are going to have one hell of a team !

• 423.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I know. Especially after France did such a magnificent job in 2007. Should have definetlely gone to Japan.

• 424.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: 411: True actually.

• 425.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: PREACH THAT GOSPEL REVEREND DUSKY, AAAAMEN!!!!!! Poopa, pick us a NZ team please son, let us see what you got?

• 426.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: Well, the NZRU is pretty much bankrupt already. The can’t afford video ref’s at all the NPC games. The NPC runs at a loss. They are flogging matches again the AB’s to the highest bidder just to make ends meet, which will only end up cheapening their brand. And all that money they spent of their preparations for the previous RWC was just money down the toilet. It will be interesting to see of they can come back from all this – it must eventually affect the quality of their side. Even luring Hayman back was out of their grasp, such dire straits.

• 427.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dusky:

sheesh bud… setting us up for a fall there…

the ABs can still put together a world-beating team…

remember when Mallet was coach…? we got pummelled by the ANZAC sides… but Mallet wasn’t worried cause he could still put a strong Bok side together… and we won the 3N…

the ABs are in exactly the same position and could just as easily whup us in the 3N… and WC next year…!!

• 428.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

does NZ even know who their best 15 and 22 are?

that is their real concern only a year or so out from world cup.

• 429.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: Yeah. Just an amateaur rugby tournament like the next one. 1995 was the first proffesional rugby world cup.

• 430.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

i think Henry has proven to be a poor selector on a number of occassions.

• 431.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo: nah not at all… as Ive said a few times, keep writing my team off…

yep, we have no hope in hell of winning a tournament in our backyard, in our conditions, that will be contested in over a years time…

considering the opposition

SA have won there 2 times in the last 11 years
    Aussie have not won against us in the last 7 games.
    France have won 1 game in their last 16 years in NZ

yep, no hope in hell have we…

we may as well just not have the tournament and declare those 3 sides joint winners…

lets hope SA doesnt have Barnes for any of their games in the tourney, we all seen the hatred for the man after your loss to Aussie in Brissy last year..

• 432.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: Ahhhhhh thanks for that Charlie, so its even worse than i thought, getting nervous yet Poopa?

• 433.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

But then I think Twakkie has been bizzarre in this regard as well on occassions.

• 434.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

poppa bud… I don’t write your team off at all…

see my post above…

• 435.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

also wrong about Barnes… I really rate him as a ref…

would rather him than any of the OzMob… :wink:

• 436.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: so you going to blame everyone except how **** your team was in that game against france, the english hate france so you had Barnes in your corner son, i’m still waiting for you to pick a NZ team for us boy, show us what you got, do you even know the players?

• 437.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo: well, I bet if my team did beat them they would not show their faces at all… I know their type well, fair weather idiots who shout the loudest when theyre winning, but disappear when theyre not..

not one ounce of decency between them, and not one man amongst them either…

catch you later mate… sick of this my teams better then your team ****… no wonder there is never many foreigners on this site, the average class of the SA male is on full show for everyone here, and its not a pretty sight..

• 438.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: Twakkie and ****…SARU’s very own comedy hour :lol:

• 439.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I think a Kiwi recently said they have been punching above their weight for a few years now.

The only reason their ‘brand’ was so successful was that they used to sweep all before them – they were the invincibles (except at RWC time). What South Africa has done in the last two seasons is completely destroy that aura, and along with the RWC failure, noone really fears them anymore. Even France went over there and played like they believed they could beat them. The trouble for the AB’s is not South Africa, who have their selection up’s and down’s. It’s now the rest of the world that believe they will beat them too if they follow the Bok game plan.

• 440.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: no, I actually blame GHs rest and rotation policy as well as his poor selection policy for that game, by cheapening the jersey and having a 2 squad team he effectively didnt know his strongest side, thus the players were never sure of each other either..

but then you dont want to hear my opinion, you just want to continue mockign and deriding me for something I have no control over..

so go ahead, have your little laughs and your moment in the sun..

standing ovation here

BRA-phucking-VO!

• 441.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

ain’t that the truth.

please sweet Mary, no press conferences for Twakkie this year.

Rather send Bakkies, his grunting and drooling is often more understandable,albeit, not quite so funny.

• 442.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

you’re probably right poppa…

chin up bud… it’s never easy between the ABs and Boks… and as the guys keep saying about the Stormers… a few wins don’t make a flock of swallows… :shock:

we’ll be just as nervous playing the ABs… any and every time we play you guys… anyone who says otherwise is kidding themselves…

• 443.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: To be fair, Mac, both teams were **** in that game, the AB’s were just crapper on the day and make a few strategic mistakes. It happens, but in a knock-out it’s fatal.

• 444.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: yep, 7 straight games against Aussie and no tries in 8 matches against NH opposition… solid argument champ..

• 445.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Poppa, I hope for your sake GH has learned his lesson. Although, there won’t be as much money to have a double squad playing this time around – perhaps a blessing in disguise.

• 446.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I think referring back to history is a grave mistake when it comes to the Springboks.

It should be abundantly clear, even to someone deaf and dumb that something is coming right in SA rugby.

I recall Eddie Jones saying once ‘Beware the day that South Africa start to get things right’

I think judgement day has arrived.

• 447.ufo: Reply to this comment

sheesh… the guys who go on about Stormers supporters being windgat… are demonstating who are the real windgat fans of SA Rugby…

farking embarrassing guys…

:oops:

• 448.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: did you get the pic?

• 449.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

but that is a ridiculous statement.

Do I have a voice withregards to who is selected for the Boks.

But true that Henry did give the impression that whoever he put on the park was good enough. Probably got ahead of himself having seen how his side klapped France at home a few months earlier.

but what exactly is the kiwis best 15.

1.woodcock
    2.hoare
    4.Thorne
    6.Kaino
    7.mcCaw
    10.Carter
    13.Smith
    15.Mils

Way to many positions open to debate so close to the worldcup in my opinion. And,I’d even say that Thorne’s position is debatable as well.

• 450.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yet you lost to France at home. A very junior French side with none of their stars. And but for some appalling refereeing, the French would’ve taken the series. The aura is gone, delude yourself if it makes you feel better, but the AB’s will lose more and more and more against all opposition.

• 451.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: and that is how you get under the skin of a kiwi, next lesson……. LOL

still waiting on what team you would pick if you were a NZ coach

• 452.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

but things do change fast in rugby.Just last season it was the Rubble Reds.

• 453.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: did you also take into account the injury toll NZ had, the new players in the side that day? and they only beat us then because an overrated showpony who came back from Eng injured and had only played one ot two games before gifted them an intercept try in the final minutes??

did you see the result in France when we had our full compliment back, or is that different?

lets remember, you guys havent really beaten the french for a while now either have you, what is it, 2 out of the last ten games?

• 454.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: fully agree there Charlie, the fear of playing NZ has left the SA boys.

• 455.Soda: Reply to this comment

one theory for the ABs being good outside the world cup and cr@p in it could be to do with the fact that a large portion of them are not actually NZ’ers. perhaps they play well for the ABs but when it comes to representing them in a competition full of their own nations, it becomes more apparent.

• 456.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: The All Blacks will be back. You wont keep a quality rugby nation like New Zealand down forever, but – this fall off in form has come at a very inconvenient time for them.

Plus, they have too many questions.

Just like the Sharks early season – too many unanswered questions.

If they can get a few of those questions answered before the world cup – they will be seriously competitive…but they just have too many question marks I think.

• 457.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 453. Bloody French… :-)

• 458.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@ufo: oh come off it now UFO, this git started with us, you think we gonna be all polite to him when he starts attacking us.

• 459.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: Dont write off the Aussies….

The tri-nations will be interesting for sure.

• 460.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: hahahaha yeah right… need validation now do you…

gutless is all your are

gutless trash

• 461.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

I for one hope that the stories about the financial decline in NZ rugby are not true. If so perhaps the SANZAR committee should look into how they can ensure some continued growth in the game in the region.

The last thing we can afford is the Kiwi’s and Ozzies getting beaten regularly as they have a good alternative to switch to in the strength of their rugby league.

• 462.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: the worst thing about new zealand losing every four years is the excuses. forward passes, food poisoning when in actual fact the only real excuse was in 1987 and that was an excuse for winning in that it wasn’t a real world cup without the Boks there.

• 463.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 460 You wanna put a hit on them mate, my brass knuckles just been polished, and i don’t discriminate to only kiwis

• 464.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: i dont, my prediction is Aus, France and or Boks in RWC fianl

@poppa69: no need for validation just the list of players you would pick, remember you’re not allowed to pick and aussies or SA players in your team LOL, and i know you’re beaten cos you revert to calling me names, LOVE IT :)

• 465.Soda: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: maybe they could unite the Tongan, Fijian and Samoan unions with the NZRU? oh, no they’ve already pretty much done that.

• 466.ufo: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

hey Mac… Poppa’s no git… he’s a quality man…

and there’s nothing wrong with banter…

but when you guys read this back when tempers have cooled down… will anyone be big enough to come back on and say they are embarrassed by the arrogance being chucked around…???

one good season and we are eternal world beaters…???

:shock:

• 467.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

everyone must know by now that tri-nations and any other test form has no bearing whatsoever on worldcup form.

ironically, from a SA point of view, S14 has been a slightly better indicator.

• 468.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

would love to see a footrace between Gerhard van den Heever and Zac Guilford

• 469.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Soda: please, we’re all guilty of excuses.. quotas?

as for 87, was it our fault you guys werent invited? no, somehow your countries policies of the day had more to do with that…

the thing is, going on last years EOYT, once your 07 stars leave you dont have a lot of strength yourselves, but keep turning a blind eye to it all..

• 470.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Now my moer is stooting.

Others may pussyfoot around you but not me.

You have been responsible for the most sweeping generalisations ever seen on this site.

“How many tourists are we going to murder”
    “We are ******** over our so-called lost generation in Soweto”

Where do you get this? We may not be squeaky clean but keep your **** to yourself!

I say again … if this country pisses you off, go blog somewhere else.

• 471.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: I would love to see a foot race between Lwazi Mvovo and Bryan Habana.

• 472.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Soda: :-) that was funny. I want to see us beat the Kiwis and Ozzies every time we play but the concern I have about that is that unlike us i.e. when we were getting beat we just had to knuckle down and turn it around because we don’t have other codes, these guys will abandon rugby union for the other codes easily. They’ll support the sport in which they are winning and for the Ozzies that is ARF.

• 473.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @ 469

if things don’t go well after the 07 stars retire… we’ll fall back on ‘our’ favorite excuse…

and blame PdV…!! :wink:

• 474.Soda: Reply to this comment

our EOYTs are always poor. we don’t like the cold and rain and would prefer to be back at the vaal/hartebeespoort/midmar/beach with a braai and a windhoek. as opposed to looking for a good time in a foreign country and then jumping on peoples’ cars.

• 475.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: and here comes miss righteous herself… the soweto reference was a direct response to a NZ reference, but you obviously skipped that part didnt you…

shame you only ever read one side Dawn, youd almost be a decent person if you looked at both parties..

but no… so go away now!

• 476.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@ufo: i’m not embarrassed that im arrogantly pro boks, im not embarrassed to say I’m arrogantly pro SA, for years we have sat back politely just for NZ and Aus to walk all over us like we are nothing, i say NO MORE!!!!! =)

• 477.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@ufo: When the 2007 stars retire…the Bulls better start thinking up a couple of excuses as well. :-)

• 478.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Vat hom Fluffy….. i mean Dawnie :)

• 479.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Hey Dawn I thought you might be a colleague and might know another colleague of mine Birgitte. She will be returning to SA soon.

• 480.ufo: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

mac bud… I’m not suggesting we sit back and let others walk all over us…

but when we do stand up to them… please let it be with a little class and dignity…

i KNOW you’re better than that…

• 481.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Go to blazes.

No-one tells me to go away, especially not some self-important so-called morally righteous Kiwi.

Caramba the ***** we have to put up with from the likes of you.

I see you didn’t address the “how many tourists will be murdered in SA” bit.

• 482.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: bulls have plenty of stock, never you mind, Sharks better worry about which mercenary flyhalf they’ll get once goode is finished sucking the life out of them =)

• 483.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Welcome to the world of keo…it isn’t a place for the faint-hearted..!

• 484.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dusky:

too true bud… :lol:

stormers too… :shock:

• 485.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: 481. Flap and flutter…

• 486.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

I mean how can he say something like that!!!!

Is this the only country where tourists have strife?

• 487.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: would love to see a fight between Andrew Hore and Sebastian Chabal

• 488.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 489.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@ufo: you obviously dont know me well enough then. i will break his spirit here if need be (and it looks like we getting close to that), they have their own sites to try and diss the Boks and SA sides, not here, not while im blogging.

• 490.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: admittedly, i made the first inter-nation comment referring to the crystal meth problem in NZ but it was in realtion to rugby. of course, we have our own in SA (CT mostly) but Pooper didn’t pick up on that.

regarding class and dignity, i agree and should have used the word ‘member’ in place of ‘****’.

• 491.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Oh shut the fark up for once.

You are not involved in this.

You have as much opinion as the underside of a maggot.

• 492.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: and so it should be :)

• 493.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Sweet, A Fight!!

• 494.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: break my spirit, on a blog hahahahahaha

hahahahahah

hahahahahaha

too farkin funny…

• 495.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: 483

yeah here at this hour you have to type with bandages wrapped around you hands, soaked in glue then dipped in broken glass

• 496.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: i would like to see fight between graham henry and wayne smith.

• 497.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Soda: lol

• 498.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Soda:

Thanks.

Still no justification for some wannabe Enzed to insult a whole nation.

• 499.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: why is it that kiwis are such masochists? out of all the foreign bloggers they seem to look for a beat down. is it so you can handle the bitter pain at world cup time?

• 500.poppa69: Reply to this comment

its funny though, ONE kiwi has how ever many Saffas all ganging up on him..

ONE kiwi with so many saffas..

CLASSIC !!!

• 501.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: getting there son, you arleady resorting to stuff that has no relevance to rugby, crime rate , shlong size and name calling, so yeah we are getting there

• 502.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Or, as we like to say where I come from, hou jou bek.

• 503.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: 482: Really ? The ones that did so well for you guys in the early stages of the Currie Cup last year ? hmmmm ? :-)

• 504.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

This is going to get ugly. I better disappear while I still have my innocence.

• 505.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Soda: Bwahahahaha….and they both must be “doosdronk” at the time !!!!

• 506.Sonito: Reply to this comment

KEYBOARD WARRIORS: Cause taking **** in person is too dangerous.

• 507.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: don’t flap, old “girl”.

• 508.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Shame.

You feel a bit put upon?

It’s just me buddy.

It FEELS like so many Saffas.

• 509.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: it takes many hands to handle a big ****.

• 510.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Soda: I would love to see a fight between Danie Rossouw and Schalk Burger !

Or between Bismark Du Plessis and Geo Aplon ?

• 511.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: 508. gangbang…

Must go now

• 512.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Listen.

I’ve had it with you too.

You may be 65 and a molester, but don’t paint me with that brush.

Lord above do they still make men as stupid and thick as you, with a vocabulary limited to ………… “FLAP” ……………..

• 513.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: they got the job done dude, we got the home final thanks =), im out dudes and dudettes, still waiting for that team sheet pooper!!!

• 514.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 500: Uhhh…it is a South African website.

.co.za ?

What did you expect – there to be more Kiwis here ?

• 515.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: lol.

• 516.gunther: Reply to this comment

There is a vacancy at our embasy in New Zealand. I will submit your name to the comrades at the Polokwane Cigar Club…

• 517.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: 513: They hung in there against the minnows to leave enough room for their Springboks to secure them 3rd place on the log. Quite right…

• 518.ufo: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie:

mac… of course i don’t bud… but based on the really excellent posts you’ve made on your short time on keo… i’d say you are way wittier and quicker with a barbed but meaningful reposte…

but on the other hand Darren…

don’t let me get in the way of you and poppa…

you’re both good enough to handle yourselves… and heck… watching a good scrap always gets the blood pumping…

enjoy…!!

• 519.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Nothing like a sexy, smouldering………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….****

• 520.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @ 491

gotta love you Dawn…

now you’re really into it… lashing out at everyone…!!

• 521.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: I think youve broken my spirit, oh woe is me…

15 Dagg/Jane/Muliaina
    14 Wulf/Guilford/Roko
    11 Sivivatu
    13 Smith/ranger
    12 Stanley/Bruce
    10 Carter
    09 Matthewson
    08 Waldrom ? problems here, no one else really..
    07 McCaw
    06 kaino/Reid/Thompson
    05 Boric/Jack
    04 Thorn – another problem area
    03 Franks
    02 Mealamu/De Melmanche
    01 Woodcock/Crockett

there you go, my team

now waiting for you to tell me how uncompetitive it would be…

• 522.Frenkly: Reply to this comment

Nice friendly site today. Any idea what underside of a maggot looks like? Cheers all, going for a bar-fight, more peaceful.

• 523.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dusky: @ 510

my money’s on Gio…!!

• 524.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: not at all Dawn, I prefer a lady to a tramp, any day of the week…

@Dusky: yeah true, you mix with uncivilised people you have to expect it I suppose… thanks for clarifying it for me though..

• 525.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: would take Corey Jane over Dagg anyday

• 526.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Seriously, Poppa, without all the emotion – do you really think that the AB’s still have their ‘invincible’ aura or do you think that it has been erased over the last couple of years and other teams will think they have a fair chance of taking the AB’s now, however misplaced that may be?

• 527.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

Lets remember that all teams are likely to lose starts after 2011..

AB’s shall lose:

McCaw
    Carter(debatable??)-will be 29/30
    Williams
    Thorn
    Mealamu
    Cowan
    C.Smith
    Rokocoko
    Muliaina
    Sivivatu
    Woodcock
    Tialata(debatable??)

OZ shall lose:

Moore
    Sharpe
    Smith
    Elsom
    Hoiles
    Palu
    Mortlock
    Giteau(debatable??? but might take big money)
    Waugh
    Barnes(debatable)
    Sherperd
    Mitchell

SA shall lose:

Smit
    Matfield
    Botha
    Smith
    Burger(debatable??)
    Du Preez
    Olivier(debatable)
    De Villiers(debatable??)
    J.Fourie(debatable)
    Habana(debatable??)
    D.Rossouw
    Bismarck(debatable???)
    Pienaar(debatable???)
    Guthro(debatable???)

• 528.Eminem: Reply to this comment

Corey Jane is a beast.

• 529.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown: I dont think the ABs ever had an invincible aura… that was created by those outside of NZ, not us…

apart from France in the NH, I’d say they still have it as far as the 4 home unions go… realistically its only ever SA, Aussie and France who pose a threat to us…

Aussie only since the 80s
    France the occassional victory, which happens to be the WC unfortunately..

The Home unions, One solitary victory over us in 2003 (Eng) this century

and SA have always been the old enemy, nothings chanegd there…
    but for some to say we have no hope next year, that NZ rugby is in serious decline,then I would say they are deluding themselves..

and if we dont win next year, not the end of the world… more important things in life then rugby..

• 530.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

of course mate…

i hope those debatables all do stick around…!! but can’t see them resisting the lure of the big buck…

be back to square one for all three sides… will be very interesting…

but i do like the look of our depth coming through for sure… and feel slightly more comfortable as a Bok supporter…

• 531.Eminem: Reply to this comment

We need a guy like F.Steyn to face him.

• 532.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Fair comment and good answer. Let’s leave it there then :-) .

Regarding the decline, well that is speculation on all fronts and time will tell whether it’s true or not. What will be interesting to see is if the AB’s can establish dominance as they had pre the 2007 RWC. I suppose the lack of this dominance has led to talk of decline.

The rugby world would be poorer without the strong AB’s and, yes, there are more important things in life than rugby, but not many!!

• 533.poppa69: Reply to this comment

as for McTuggers assumption that I started this all, my post 321 was apparently the “catalyst” for this whole argument…

but then I guess my comment was such a bad one, as Im sure you will all see and agree with huh…

how dare I say that on a SA blog…

• 534.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Pops. The All Blacks will always be in the top 2 rugby nations.

For the Springboks they are the benchmark, everything else is practice.

There is a big change that has come about with the onset of professionalism, there are 6 nations at least who have very good teams who can beat anyone on their day – SA, NZ, Aus, France, England, Ireland. Then you have 2 more who when the clouds break and they build some depth can be world class too – Wales & Argentina.

If we could build: Scotland, Italy, Fiji, Samoa, US & 1 other the global game would be in good shape.

• 535.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

this article is very irresponsible, why use race as a determining factor of whether this boy will be picked or not? which white wings were better than Chester, Breyton, Habana, Jpp, Nokwe, Chavanga and were never selected because of their skin colour? Ffs Peter de Villiers has even used Jaque Fourie on the wing (where he scored the best try of 2009) so why would anyone even suggest that he won’t pick this boy because he is white?

This is why our rugby will always be bogged by issues of race, because of irresponsible journalists like this. You will never find this kind of thing on RT..

• 536.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

I’m sorry. Why is everyone taking the holier-than-thou approach and predicting Springbok honours for this laaitie? This boy has a lot of catching up to do, and I mean A LOT. His defence is absolutely nowhere and his ball distribution is not at Super 14 level. And the fact that he is white is not a bloody hindrance! Why are we not seeing an article on the future prospects for Lionel Mapoe? This guy is stronger and more capable under the high ball.
    No man. Enough of this Blue Bull fanatical ‘sports literature’.

• 537.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@boktoinfinityandbeyond: Looking beyond your hysteria, I also believe Mapoe is excellent. Very well rounded.

But clearly not as quick. Few are.

But very strong, and well rounded. A talent.

But you cannot argue with vd Heever’s ability – pace & finishing. And he is Bok potential. A good thing.

• 538.gunther: Reply to this comment

His distribution is minimal?

I must be missing something I thought he was a wing.

• 539.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@gunther: 538 LOL.

He’s a great finisher. His sheer pace makes him very hard to stop.

Let’s see him get 2 more years under his belt. I can’t comment that much on his defence or kicking or strength under high ball – I like my wingers to be very, very fast fullbacks. Your thoughts.

I think a lot of this debate is a result of JPP’s very poor season.

• 540.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    I cannot argue that he has talent. And loads of pace to burn. He is a very good prospect. I would just like to see more on other players of equal calibre.

@gunther:
    Should I simplify it?
    General ball control and passing.

• 541.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Soda: 366. ‘is NZ really that bad a place that most of the kids are turning to drugs or suicide? i’m confused because it looked kind of nice in that lord of the rings movie. especially the place where the elves lived – the mountainy bit with the stream.’

• 542.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@boktoinfinityandbeyond: Aye.

• 543.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Waldrom would be a shoe-in on my team sheet. legend.

• 544.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: lothlorien i think it’s called. apparently they are getting a S14 franchise next year.

• 545.Soda: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie: actually, he didn’t say anything about ******* size. too embarassed to comment i think.

• 546.Soda: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 356 @Soda: @MacToogie: “you havent answered my question, how many visitors to your shores this year will never return home? how many will be murdered?”

i honestly don’t know the answer to that question. how many do you want to be murdered?

• 547.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Soda: doos

• 548.Soda: Reply to this comment

getting back to the topic…

‘I don’t think like that,’ he says, ‘I don’t think about the issues you’ve raised, or all the wingers I have to get past to make the Springbok squad. Maybe it’s naive, but I’d like to think that if I’m the best of the bunch I’ll get picked.’

‘But that hasn’t been the reality of Springbok rugby recently,’ I interject. ‘The best players sometimes don’t get picked for various reasons.’

talk about a political agenda. ryan is the white Malema.

• 549.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 389. or Argentina/England

@poppa69: 529. 2002 and 2003, but you still have the aura where Scotland are concerned no doubt :)

• 550.Soda: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: sorry, did i miss something?

• 551.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

‘Not since Nick Mallett routinely penned Pieter Rossouw’s name on the team sheet has a Springbok coach consistently selected a white wing.’

Wasn’t JDV selected on the wing for quite a few tests?

• 552.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: jake white thought he was black until one day in showers he realised his error and moved him to the white mans’ position of centre.

• 553.Soda: Reply to this comment

by this i mean jake white thought that JDV was white not that he (jake) was white becuase obviously he would know that as his name is even white not a ‘white persons’ name’ but the actual name ‘white’. whereas jean’s name doesn’t give away his ethnicity.

• 554.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Also, Dean Hall was the regular left wing for two seasons (01/02). So basically Ryan is speaking out of his anu5.

• 555.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

actually, I believe JDV probably played only 8-10 tests on the wing.

hardly a test match regular in the greater scheme of things.

• 556.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

and I’d be suprised if dean hall played 10 tests as a starting wing as well.

• 557.Soda: Reply to this comment

he played 13 in total. sure, maybe not starting all but he was ‘penned’ onto the team sheet even though apparently white.

• 558.Soda: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: look brig, anyway you want to carve it, this article and the interview itself is sensationalist due to the fact that we’ve had the best wings on merit for the last god knows how long and those choices had nought to do with colour.

• 559.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@soda: what you might be missing is that this article was written is sarugby mag targeting exactly the kind of readers like brig van zyl who are obsessed with colour!

• 560.GOD: Reply to this comment

Van der heever should never be considered for bok colours. Any player that opts to use the WHITES ONLY entrance should be prevented from getting any recognition.. White Supremacist scum deserve abuse…

I see the Bulls have grown poep scared of me… Heini in the starting line up, diversity on the bench… LMAO

• 561.Gerhardt: Reply to this comment

Ryan Vrede : im not even gonna read this ****.

im so sick of writers writing their favs into the Bok team. the boy is no where near Bok selection, wash your blue shirt for change- i can smell u miles away

• 562.Tjokker: Reply to this comment

Ryan Vrede = is dit so moelik om sense te skryf? Volgende maand kan jy die jonge Lambie van die Sharks se naam probeer gat maak. Dalk droom hy om die volgende Rolls-Royce te word.

Van den Heever is in sy kinderskoene en hy, van alle mense, weet dit. Hy het baie spoed – so ook Nokwe en Mapoe. Selfs ‘n blinde kan sien dat hy nog baie het om te leer, veral op verdediging. Gee hom kans, dalk is hy ‘n volwaardige vleuel @ 2015. Hopelik het hy by Master Bryan geleer.

• 563.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Blah blah, he is not ready yet. Habs, Aplon, Killian etc.. are way ahead of him.
    Lambie will be the biggest problem. Steyn then Kirchener will keep him out

• 564.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

V.D. Heever is very far away from a Bok team…on merit.

• 565.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Soda: still a doos.

• 566.whatever: Reply to this comment

@GOD:

Racist doooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooos!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.