Chennai crowned kings of IPL

The Chennai Super Kings triumphed by 22 runs against the Mumbai Indians in the IPL final on Sunday.

It was heartbreak for Mumbai after their top-of-the-log campaign, but it’s the performances in the play-offs where it all counts as last year’s finalists Chennai were the better team on the day.

The Super Kings batted first and M Vijay and Matthew Hayden laid a solid platform with a 44-run opening partnership. Suresh Raina then played a match-winning knock, scoring 57* off 35 balls. MS Dohni (22 off 15 balls) and Albie Morkel (15 off 6 balls) also provided valuable contributions at the death to see Chennai finish on 168-5 off their allotted 20 overs.

Mumbai’s chase suffered an early setback with S Dhawan dismissed for a duck, but Sachin Tendulkar and A Nayar settled the innings with a 66-run partnership. However, the rest of the batting line-up failed to fire as only A Rayudu (21) and Kieron Pollard (27) scored over 20.

Once Pollard fell, the Indians’ chances were over and they eventually slumped to 146-9 after their 20 overs.

Chennai Super Kings 168-5 (20 overs)
Suresh Raina 57, M Vijay 26, C Fernando 2-23.
Mumbai Indians 146-9 (20 overs)
Sachin Tendulkar 48, Kieron Pollard 27, S Jakati 2-26.

The Chennai Super Kings won by 22 runs

For a full scorecard click here