Stormers need BJ the destroyer
28 Apr 2010
BJ Botha would provide the Stormers’ scrum with a destructive edge if he was brought to the Cape franchise.
Injuries to looseheads Wicus Blaauw and JC Kritzinger mean the Stormers are one blow away from crisis at a critical stage of the competition. JD Moller will start at No 1 against the Crusaders this Friday, but coach Allister Coetzee will be praying there are no injuries to either of his props.
Coetzee told keo.co.za on Monday they are considering a number of options after it was confirmed Kritzinger could be out for as many as three weeks. Local men like Janro van Niekerk have been talked up, and there’s been speculation that Botha, a Bok tighthead playing for Irish club Ulster, could be called on to help the team.
While the move may seem necessary with injuries to Blaauw and Kritzinger, who are both looseheads, it’s at tighthead where the Stormers are most vulnerable. Brok Harris has done a formidable job at No 3 this season and has played for the majority of the campaign. If Harris goes down, they’ll have to rely on the inexperienced Argentinean Eusebio Guinazu to slot in at tighthead. Guinazu hasn’t had many opportunities to date and while he is listed as a versatile prop, he has played more at loosehead than tighthead for the Cape team.
The Stormers’ scrum has been solid this season and have in some instances dominated the opposition. Harris has been the standout No 3 across the South African franchises, although it’s premature to be talking about him as a Bok contender. He’s also benefited from the scrumming power of Tiaan Liebenberg and the afore-mentioned looseheads beside him, not to mention the underrated back five of the Stormers.
The signing of a high-profile prop to the Cape franchise is long overdue. Botha’s experience would be a boost to youngsters like Harris, Blaauw and Kritzinger, while his own performances would help the Stormers to destroy opposition scrums on a more regular basis.
Botha was recalled to the Bok side last November and had an immediate impact. He impressed against Italy and then produced a dominant showing against Ireland. The Boks’ effort at scrum time was undoubtedly the highlight of the visitors’ performance.
Botha told this site last November that he wants to return to South Africa and push for a place in the World Cup squad. To become eligible, he’ll need to sign with a South African team and play in the 2011 Super 15.
While Harris has done well, the Stormers will strengthen their chances of success in next year’s competition by bringing Botha to Cape Town. At the moment, there has been no official word on Botha joining the Stormers for the back end of this campaign, but surely there should be a move to acquire his services for 2011.
The Stormers have been lucky that Harris has avoided injury in 2010 and will be hoping their luck holds out for the rest of the campaign. But they can’t bank on luck forever. In reference to the old adage, top teams need two quality tightheads, not one.
By Jon Cardinelli

102 Comments
28 Apr 2010, 10:10 am
Who has BJ ever destroyed?
He’s merely held parity.
28 Apr 2010, 10:11 am
Brendan Botha destroyed the Irish scrum last time he played
28 Apr 2010, 10:13 am
Ridiculous to think, you have 2/3 looseheads out injured and you go shopping for a tighthead! Rassies disco lights are getting to him again.
Stormers should be getting Daan Human back for a few weeks.
28 Apr 2010, 10:14 am
“that Botha, a Bok tighthead playing for Irish club Munster” dont you mean Ulster? Whoops.
28 Apr 2010, 10:16 am
doesnt bj play for ulster?
28 Apr 2010, 10:18 am
This story was broken by Gavin Rich, who also broke the Butch James coming to Stormers story.
Reliable?
28 Apr 2010, 10:19 am
BRING BACK THE BJ!!!!!! and Botha too =P
28 Apr 2010, 10:20 am
Stormers are set to lose one of their stars to Bayonne too.
28 Apr 2010, 10:21 am
good buy this for the stormers if they can get him, but we still dont have any monster THs, he’s been about average in the NH.
28 Apr 2010, 10:21 am
what is up with these stupid names in brackets???
28 Apr 2010, 10:22 am
@Karma-zaf(Karma-zaf): And we still lost. Puts to bed Grant10’s kak. Nothing more than a smokescreen for an anti-Smit crusade provoked by his comments about Luke Watson. The Reds scrum was turbo-reversing but they still won. A strong scrum gives you a good attacking platform but what’s the point if your forwards are failing to dominate in the loose and the backs can’t do anything with go-forward ball? This turbo-reverse nonesense is a smokescreen for a hidden agenda. There’s much more to rugby than just scrums.
We lost to Ireland because Matfield was nullified in the lineouts, our forwards were being knocked backwards and we were very uncreative on attack. The Reds proved on the weekend that a dominant scrum will never guarantee you victory.
28 Apr 2010, 10:23 am
My Bok squad for this years Tri-Nations…..
15. Zane Kirschner / Hennie Danillier.
14. Lionel Mapoe / Gio Aplon.
13. Jacques Fourie.
12. Wynand Olivier / Bradley Barritt.
11. Ryan Kankowski.
10. Morne’ Steyn / Peter Grant.
9. Ruan Pienaar / Jano Vermaak.
8. Pierre Spies / Willem Alberts.
7. Juan Smith / Jean Deysel.
6. Schalk Burger (c) / Joe VanNiekerk.
5. Andries Bekker / Juandre Kruger.
4. Bakkies Botha / Flip VanDerMerwe.
3. Brendan Botha / Jannie DuPlessis.
2. Bismark DuPlessis / Gary Botha.
1. Gurthro Steenkamp / Beast Mtawarira.
Players rested for conditioning programme = John Smit, Victor Matfield, Fourie DuPreez, Bryan Habana, J.P. Pieterson.
28 Apr 2010, 10:25 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): very strange indeed.
@Karma-zaf(Karma-zaf): Barritt is not eligible to play for South Africa.
hey Jon…?
So when the tighthead can’t take the heat, it’s his fault alone… but when he can take the heat it’s only because of everyone around him…
hmmmm…???
Harris really shoulda signed your autograph book hey…??
28 Apr 2010, 10:26 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt):
who PA…???
28 Apr 2010, 10:27 am
Is Joe Pieterson not rumoured to be heading overseas?
I expect to wake up one morning and read a headline like this…..
“It was reported in the Cape Times this morning that WP Rugby has made a bid for every South African ruby player, in their quest for Super rugby success.When questioned on this fact,Wp CEO, Robert Wagner, strongly denied ever having made a bid for Earl Rose.”
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh): I have to mention in my opinion John Smit aint no tighthead. Sorry. I must add though that he MUST be in the Bok team though. I think hooker or loosehead is his best bets. To be honest the only player challenging him for the number 1 jersey is Gurthro and this has been his best season so far for about 5 years now to be honest. I think the Bok front row for World Cup time will be 1. Smit. 2. DuPlessis and 3. Botha. Smit has to be there….no negotiations
28 Apr 2010, 10:29 am
@Karma-zaf(Karma-zaf): Ryan at 11?
28 Apr 2010, 10:29 am
@Oubaas2009(Oubaas2009): 6 – Yip, said that yesterday here. The same was said about Butch going to Stormers. He is still in Bath. It never happened.
Botha still has a beautiful home in Durbs. So I am hoping he goes home to the Sharks…
With the Dup brothers not so sure he will come.
Though for South African rugby would be just good to see him back in South Africa even if he had to go to the Stormers.
28 Apr 2010, 10:30 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt): From Stormers to Bayonne is a step down. Bayonne are sitting near the bottom of the Top 14 log.
28 Apr 2010, 10:31 am
I hope that we can sign BJ…
In other news, I see that the ref panel has caved into Brumbie pressure and removed Welsh as ref for their next game.
28 Apr 2010, 10:33 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie): 20
Why the hell not ????? its a worthy experiment i say
28 Apr 2010, 10:35 am
I seem to recall BJ last playing in 2008 3N and his presence had little effect. Face it guys SA scrumming technique is flawed. We need better scrum coaches. I agree that BJ is a much better 3 than Smit but as the 2008 3N proved, dominant or parity scrums do not guarantee you a win. Its what you do with that go-forward ball that matters the most.
If BJ does go to the Stormers he’s a little turncoat ingrate. He should be returning to his old province. After all it was thanks to the Sharks he got selected for the Boks.
28 Apr 2010, 10:35 am
@money_man(money_man):
1. money_man(money_man) :
April 28th, 2010 at 10:10 am
Who has BJ ever destroyed?
He’s merely held parity.
I was about to say so myself… maybe I’m suffering from short memory syndrome…
28 Apr 2010, 10:36 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): why do you say he is ineligible for the Boks Fish, surely playing for the Saxons doesn’t mean he’s played a test for England right?
28 Apr 2010, 10:39 am
@Sonito(Sonito):
Correct.
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh):
not thanks to his own ability…???
you admitting then that Sharks players should become Boks just cause they’ve got prettier jerseys…?
@Michael(mikeybrass): Are they afraid of another Kurtley Beale style “I was going for the intercept, honest” knock down? Goes to show that Aus rules the roost in the South. Was he the guy that reffed the Sharks/Tahs game?
28 Apr 2010, 10:40 am
BJ is a great player and hopefully solve the soft underbelly of 3 in future. Let’s hope he comes and stays.
28 Apr 2010, 10:41 am
@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism): nah, no use medling if you not going to make it a permanent move, rather give experience to guys who actually play wing, no time to muck about right now.
28 Apr 2010, 10:41 am
Will be a real pity if Joe goes now… he’s been by far the best of the SA fullbacks this season…
28 Apr 2010, 10:43 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water):
Money walks I suppose…
28 Apr 2010, 10:44 am
Cape Argus Headline:
Grant10 finally delivers BJ to the Stormers pack.
28 Apr 2010, 10:48 am
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh): I never doubted that the ref panels would bend to the Aussie will.
28 Apr 2010, 10:50 am
How many group games do you have to play in to qualify to play in the play offs?
28 Apr 2010, 10:53 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie):
A Player who has played for the senior fifteen-a-side National
Representative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National
Representative Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team of a Union is not eligible to play for the senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team of another Union.
Saxons caps are not English Test caps but it does stop him from playing for any other country.
28 Apr 2010, 10:54 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): That should be IRB Regulation 8.2
28 Apr 2010, 10:58 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): That seems made up as:
Barritt played for South Africa against France in the final of the 2006 Under 21 Rugby World Championship.
He represented the Emerging Springboks at the IRB Nations Cup in 2007.
Brad Barritt was selected by England manager Martin Johnson to represent the England Saxons at the 2009 Churchill Cup. This was made possible as Barritt has not had a cap for another country but owns a UK Passport which makes him eligible for England and South Africa.
Are the emerging boks not the same as the Saxons?
28 Apr 2010, 10:58 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): Interesting, thanks for that Fish, didn’t know that.
28 Apr 2010, 11:01 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): The Emerging Springboks are the second national rugby union team in South africa after the national side.
I smell a rat, or is that a fish out of water?
28 Apr 2010, 11:01 am
Grant where are you…..??
This is just what you wanted to hear!!
(Now your quest for CJ) !!
28 Apr 2010, 11:04 am
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated):
No, which is why so many people are tired of the farce of ‘emerging’ Boks as a simple cloak to play useless players in green and gold.
The SA A Team (when last did you hear of them?) are like the Saxons.
28 Apr 2010, 11:04 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie): Wouldn’t beleive everything you read here. Barrit played for Emerging Boks BEFORE Saxons. So something is very “fishy” with 8.2!
28 Apr 2010, 11:06 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt): That’s ridiculous! Is SA rugby really that stupid? I am still dubious of this ruling.
28 Apr 2010, 11:06 am
i haven’t been on Keo since Friday, what has the backlash been since the Stormers succumbed to the Reds and lost the “Favourites” tag.
28 Apr 2010, 11:11 am
It is (ridiculous).
But the Saxons, who are effectively England A, is very different from the Emerging Boks.
Emerging Boks is not classed as our A side. But exactly what the name says – Emerging…
28 Apr 2010, 11:14 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt): ahhhhh so Barrit is ineligible then, shot for the clarification PA
28 Apr 2010, 11:19 am
Grant 10 has been in dire need of a bj for some time now..,
Let’s hope the big guys arrival brings him some relief..
28 Apr 2010, 11:20 am
For the purposes of this Regulation, a Player is deemed to have played for
the senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the next senior
fifteen-a-side National Representative Team of a Union if:
(a) He is selected for such team to play in an International Match against
the senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team or the next
senior fifteen-a-side National Representative Team of another Union
(or in a fifteen-a-side international Match against another Union’s
senior or next senior Touring Squad during an IRB approved
International Tour) and is present at the Match played by that team
either as a replacement, substitute or a playing member of that team
and has, at the time of the Match, reached the age of majority; or
Now it seems to me that the IRB nations cup is one of these such instances???
28 Apr 2010, 11:20 am
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated): U21 rugby is not senior rugby, if you read properly you would’ve seen that.
28 Apr 2010, 11:22 am
@gunther(gunther): HAHAHAHAhahaha…
28 Apr 2010, 11:27 am
The most important part is the first paragraph.
Deemed to have played for the senior fifteen national representative team, or next senior fifteen national blah blah blah.
Even though the ‘emerging Boks’ played in the IRB nations Cup, the emerging Boks is NOT our next, or second senior national team.
28 Apr 2010, 11:32 am
@fish out of water(fish out of water): No, but what about the 2007 IRB Nations Cup. Barrit represented the Emerging Boks at this tournament.
28 Apr 2010, 11:38 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt): How then did the IRB allow us to play in a tier 2 or 3 tournament?
28 Apr 2010, 11:40 am
Macdougal
I believe grant10 has started some sort of BJ fund…
I will happily chip in if it brings grantie some kind of relief ….
I am sure ranger will be in for a few rond as well…
28 Apr 2010, 11:44 am
BJ would be great for WP and Stormers. I mentioned a year or so ago that BJ and CJ would be returning to challenge for places in the World Cup squad and to get either of them would be massive for Stormers next year. Just imagine BJ/CJ and Jean De villiers in next years Stormers team. Coupled with quality youngsters that have gained superb experience this year.
28 Apr 2010, 11:47 am
And what’s this bullshit about “BJ the destroyer”
He sounds like a darts player…
About the only thing bj has ever destroyed is the salad valley at the spur…
Oh and he sat on rikki by mistake once at pre season.
Took three yards off rikki’s pass that did…
28 Apr 2010, 11:50 am
I reckon if WP get BJ then CJ will go to the Bulls.
28 Apr 2010, 11:50 am
Having read through regulation 8, I believe SA rugby have a strong case against England.
28 Apr 2010, 11:57 am
@gunther(gunther):
bj does not eat salad
28 Apr 2010, 11:58 am
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated): I though PissAnt already explained it, if I could draw you a picture and post it up here it might help you to understand.
THE EMERGING BOKS ARE NOT CONSIDERED TO BE THE NEXT SENIOR REPRESENTATIVE SIDE.
28 Apr 2010, 12:01 pm
Mainland my china
BJ eats all the croutons, feta cheese and bacon bits…
28 Apr 2010, 12:06 pm
BJ eats his pronutro without milk in it !!!!!!
28 Apr 2010, 12:10 pm
@fish out of water(fish out of water): then who is our next best??
28 Apr 2010, 12:12 pm
Talking about eating habits, was watching this show on obese dogs where the owners were distraught about their dogs being overweight, I mean how ferking hard is it to put an animal on a diet, its not like the dog can sneak off to Mackie D’s for a cheat meal !!!
28 Apr 2010, 12:14 pm
BJ would be welcomed in the Cape
28 Apr 2010, 12:17 pm
@fish out of water(fish out of water): Where is that said. The IRB plays them in all their official tournaments, or did when Barrit represented them.
28 Apr 2010, 12:17 pm
@gunther(gunther):
28 Apr 2010, 12:21 pm
eish poor haaikona ndugane is out again with a broken leg
28 Apr 2010, 12:42 pm
Pure speculation. Whilst I would be very happy to see BJ in the Cape, I’m not sure Brok would take kindly to suggestions that he needs rescuing. He’s doing great on his own. He may not be the most destructive scrummager in the world, but then neither is BJ. Good, but not in the class of Sheridan, the Italian monster et al (his name escapes me now but i’m sure I’ll remember him by the time I finish this post). Brock brings an amazing workrate to the team and his commitment to all aspects of play must make him one of the most valuable props in the tournament (the odd stray pass aside).
So, what we need is a great emerging tighthead talent who can be used as cover. Not BJ. Although I’d take him if he was offered. Problem is, you might lose Brock then.
28 Apr 2010, 12:49 pm
Castrogiovanni. That’s him.
28 Apr 2010, 12:59 pm
Stormersboy
It pure ejaculation…
28 Apr 2010, 13:30 pm
@gunther(gunther): Grant is probably ejaculating right now! But he’ll never be satisfied until he gets his BJ.
28 Apr 2010, 13:33 pm
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh): It Smit won’t do! Arf arf.
28 Apr 2010, 14:15 pm
Wasn’t Castrogiovanni effed up solid when Beast came on in the Italy game?
28 Apr 2010, 14:36 pm
so whats the story here…..?
Is this oke coming or not?
I am too scared to read the posts…bet you bloody plonkers been ripping me off…
28 Apr 2010, 14:48 pm
and Joe Pietersen heading to Bayonne as well…..man what a blow for wp and stormers…..horrible news.
Stormers should make a huge move for F Steyn and BJ Botha.
28 Apr 2010, 14:48 pm
@grant10(grant10)-78: Yes we have my turbo reverse friend, yes we have……..
28 Apr 2010, 14:51 pm
@grant10(grant10)-79: Yes, this is bigger news than BJ.
28 Apr 2010, 14:53 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-80: LOL
Been out on appointments….cant leave this place alone for a bloody few hours and all hell breaks loose….
Bakkies back into bulls team
akona breaks his leg
wp sign some oke called buckle!
instead of BJ Botha!!!!
Joe P signs for Bayonne
Bulls move W Olivier to 13 !
what the hell is happening…..cant leave my office for a couple of hours and its all over rover, goodnite nurse.!
28 Apr 2010, 14:54 pm
joe p is a monster blow….seriously very the moer in….he could of become a bok…sad,sad,sad!
28 Apr 2010, 14:59 pm
@grant10(grant10)-82: Yes, it’s total chaos.
28 Apr 2010, 15:00 pm
from iol…
greg sommerville is also in negotiations with the stormers.
28 Apr 2010, 15:02 pm
i would really rather have a saffa than a kiwi….somerville is a fine 3 ….but BJ Botha would be my 1 st choice. He will want to make a point here and will give it 100%….
28 Apr 2010, 15:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-83: He’s was definately in my larger springbok squad. I’d be surpised of he wasn’t on Snor’s radar. Kind of testing the home based selection theory now. If Peter caves in and selects foreign based players then it will probably be Steyn at 15. Joe’s best chance was to stay here, as Peter always said that he’s look locally first. Joe in my opinion is the best local 15 by a long way.
28 Apr 2010, 15:12 pm
@grant10(grant10)-86:
yeah must say it feels a bit cheap going for a NZ prop. Would take the shine off it.
@79.
F Steyn would a good sub for Joe P but with him and P Grant in the same team id feel bit uneasy when it comes to the kicking duties….- L Cronje!
28 Apr 2010, 15:13 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87: 87
Ja….i am actually a bit moerig with Joe p….its all about the money i suppose….damn brilliant player…..wp and stormers will miss him as much as shatks miss steyn.
28 Apr 2010, 15:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-89: So Joe P is a money grabbing prima donna just like Frans Steyn eh? Hasn’t even given himself enough time to be selected for the Boks and he’s already bolting. Funny how the Sharks got ripped to shreds for losing Steyn, Barritt and BJ but what are the Sharks management to do when you’ve got European clubs offering 10 times as much. Ooh its burns your ar$e doesn’t it Grant?! Feel the burn doos. Suck up your own bs for a change. Would you like some chakalaka sauce with that?
28 Apr 2010, 15:38 pm
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-90: ja…i am hurting here….enjoy…
28 Apr 2010, 15:48 pm
@grant10(grant10)-91: Now you know what its like to be a Sharks supporter and read the ton of abuse coming from the Stormers camp every friggin day. You know what they say about people in glass houses? Come on you angry Saders! Can’t wait to see McCaw give Schalk a rugby masterclass at the breakdown.
28 Apr 2010, 15:51 pm
@KZN King “I touch you on your studio” Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-92: jeez you turning the knife my man….
just remember….sharks my 2 nd team…and any criticism i levelled was to assist. I maintained from day 1 that you needed a proper tighthead and a happy ruan pienaar at 9.
since that was adopted sharks got 5 wins on the trot.
So turn the knife…my conscience is clear.
28 Apr 2010, 16:50 pm
C’mon Rassie…bring BJ home….it’ll be the best buy of the year…and you’ve made some pretty darn good one’s
28 Apr 2010, 16:55 pm
@grant10(grant10)-83: Yah…Losing Joe P a train smash…what a bummer….damdamn.. just when Stormers playing so much better rugby…I hope he’s the 1st and only one jumping ship…Stormpies still got so much to prove and far to go…Rebels could cause plenty of k@k..imo…
28 Apr 2010, 17:21 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-61: 61. At the time Barritt played for the Emerging Boks they weren’t registered as SA’s 2nd team, they might well be so now but it’s not retrospective. Barritt jumped ship too early as Boks could’ve used him in 2009 but he will be an England player in the future and maybe a Lion too.
28 Apr 2010, 17:42 pm
BJ is a born and bread KZN boy, I doubt that when he returns to SA he will choose cold, wet, clicky CT over the lush, tropical surrounds of DBN…
Come home BJ, bring Butch and Steyn with you…
28 Apr 2010, 18:27 pm
Headline could read, “No BJ for Stormers as Rassie blows it”
28 Apr 2010, 22:05 pm
BJ is making a mistake and so is the WP. They will be stunting Brok’s growth but not to worry he can always return to his home union … the Lions.
28 Apr 2010, 23:42 pm
That’s a real shame about Percy Lite.
29 Apr 2010, 01:07 am
I like how when a key Stormers player leaves to go satisfy their greedy mercenary desires its ag shame man but when its the Sharks its the blame is laid vehemently at the management. Is it really their fault that European clubs are throwing money around like it grows on trees? Its ABSOLUTE bullshit the Sharks should take complete blame for Butch, BJ, Frans and Barritt. They were star players, none of them were pushed, they made their own decisions and had to satisfy their greed. Frans Steyn being the greediest of the lot.
29 Apr 2010, 04:29 am
@jaydafiveoh: #101 who booed francois steyn at the tank for missing one of his drop kick attempts? Um……..supposed sharks supporters. I’m not suggesting that frans left because of this incident but i am sure it all also contributed to him making the decision to leave as he said in the latest interview in sa rugby mag, that he wasn’t enjoying his rugby anymore at the sharks.
Barritt left because he thought he was being overlooked for the Boks, don’t know how much the sharks management could’ve done to make his wish come through.
Butch after the WC was thinking of securing his future as his playing days were drawing to a close and his body wasn’t getting any younger. No blame can be laid @ management’s door on that one too..