Giteau fined for ref rant

Keo.co.za brings you the latest Super 14 news from Australia.

Brumbies flyhalf Matt Giteau has been fined A$5,000 dollars after criticising Steve Walsh’s performance in last week’s loss to the Waratahs.

When asked what the team will do if Walsh was not removed from this week’s game against the Reds, Giteau told reporters: ‘I don’t know if we will turn up, what’s the point?’. He also lamented Walsh’s decision not to award Adam Ashley-Cooper’s try. ‘Like everyone who knows rugby, that was a try,’ he said.

Walsh has since been replaced by Chris Pollock, but Giteau has also been punished. Sanzar judicial officer Terry Willis said the fact that Giteau had no prior offences counted in his favour.

Giteau, who plead guilty to the charge of breach in conduct, has offered to write a letter of apology to Walsh.

Walsh axed

Match official Steve Walsh has been removed from the Brumbies/Reds clash in Canberra on Saturday.

This follows the Brumbies’ request to review Walsh’s performance in their 19-12 defeat to the Waratahs last weekend, where the Kiwi ref disallowed a legitimate try and made some controversial calls.

Sanzar rugby boss Lyndon Bray said he removed Walsh for rugby reasons and not because of the abusive comments made by the Brumbies’ players and management. Chris Pollock will be the replacement official, while Vinny Munro will take charge in the Hurricanes/Chiefs match.

Pocock extends Perth stay

David Pocock will spend another two seasons at the Western Force after signing a contract extension.

The 15-Test Wallabies flank, who was a major target for the Melbourne Rebels, committed himself until the end of the 2012 Super 14 season.

‘I decided a while ago but there was just the contract stuff that had to be sorted out first,’ Pocock said. ‘I’m really excited about it. To keep playing with Matt Hodgson and Richard Brown was a big plus for me so I’m looking forward to it.’

Deans backs Reds for S14 triumph

Robbie Deans believes the Reds are favourites to win the Super 14 this season.

While the Bulls, Stormers and Crusaders lead the pack at the top of the log so far, Wallabies head coach Deans backed the fourth-placed Reds to be the surprise winners.

‘They’re a side who clearly have the capability to win it,’ Deans told smh.com.au. ‘The reason for that is they have been striving to play a brand that is capable of winning the competition, as opposed to just simply qualifying [for the finals]. You can’t just pluck these things out of thin air. It comes through preparation.’

Deans added that in-form pivot Quade Cooper is not sure of a starting place.

‘The Reds have modified the way they have approached the game through a little bit of lateral thinking. They’ve moved Quade around on the defensive line, so that’s still an issue for them. But the things he enjoys doing, he is doing extremely well.’

This thread will be updated throughout the course of the day.

170 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

just dont axe giteau!

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

i watched that game closely…..Walsh a biased oke….had a huge effect on the game…plonker. I rate that oke is still on the sauce.

• 3.vasteses: Reply to this comment

Is it not time that the IRB starts investigating the refs for match fixing.

• 4.vasteses: Reply to this comment

Reds will not win the S14 if final are at Loftus or Newlands

• 5.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Power to the players!

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

all the games on saturday had the heavy hands of referees! From the hurricanes/highlanders game where Tamati Ellison was blatantly obstructing defenders, Ashley Cooper’s denied try to Mark Lawrence’s incredulous penalties against the Blues! this year’s super14 stinks of sh*tty officiating and will be remembered for it unfortunately!

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: #4 there will be no final @ Loftus anyway! The Reds are not scared of Orlando Stadium :D

• 8.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation):

Orlando stadium Roftus what differance. 60 000 blue bull Impis will have me pissing my pants

• 9.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

So, the next time you draw Stu Dickerson, just mutter grumpily that “it’s not even worth turning up” and Sanzar will do a Walsh on him and assign someone better?

Yeah, right!

• 10.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

Funny! I don’t remember complaints from the benefitting side when the referees make mistakes. Giteau, of course, has never been the recipient of the benefit of flawed decisions. His (Giteaus’ outburst is as much a consequence of his sub-standard form as it is of sour grapes). By the way, the South African sides have received the short stick with much regularity. I dont see any referee suspensions arising from those “errors”.
    Get done with your murky work and fire all refs?????
    THE PLAYERS ON THE FIELD SHOULD BE RED CARDED WHERE THEY HARASS THE REFEREE.

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

yet when they removed Paul whatever-his-name-is… he officiated at the Sharks next game on the touchline…

hmmmm…

seems the Brumbies get special treatment… or the Sharks got ‘special’ mistreatment

• 12.Chaotc99: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks(Bludeks): I totally agree with you. We complain about refs in south africa but just leave it like that. Australia goes and take one of there own refs off.

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

it was only a matter of time before frustrations boiled over. These refs are at best shockers…..i am not saying gits was correct but hell that walsh was damn poor….plonker. Convinced that oke is still not fully recovered. He was intent on nailing Brumbies…

• 14.grant10: Reply to this comment

also no more of this same country refs ….its not cool.Pity we cant get NH refs in….

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

get NH refs in for semis and final.This competetion is tainted with Marks and Walsh and a host of others having made some calls that cost teams like brumbies and sharks a shot at the play offs.

• 16.rugbypedia: Reply to this comment

I am stunned in more ways than one.

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see that nutter Lauki is headed for france….

• 18.gunther: Reply to this comment

Unbelievable…

Justice?

The difference between this and marks is that marks was removed from the panel whereas walsh has just been removed from the brumbies game because they didn’t want him.

It’s a con and it stinks…

I also expect the “git” to a slap in the wrist.. Instead of being clapped in leg irons and sent to work on a construction site in Dubai…

• 19.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation):

You are correct, unfortunately.

If only the quality of refereeing in this tournament could match the quality of the rugby being played.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

i reckon if bakkies had done a giteau he would have got a jail sentence.

But gits must play sat…show those reds who is the baas of the convicts plaas.

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

cmon stormers…more details about BJ please…

• 22.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

A precedent has been set. You complain and the ref will be changed! Isn’t it funny how everyone jumps for the Ozzies! I really don’t understand this at all. We have all said all along this guy is k@k and include Dickenson in this group as well. I suppose you won’t have any Ozzie refs if we take them out. NZ didn’t want him so he ran to Ozzieland.

• 23.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Has anyone noticed how Welsh winks at the players? A very strange guy that one!

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

imo dickinson and walsh are one eyed biased plonkers. I wont go so far as to say match fixing….but lets say i certainly would not be surprised .

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

and of course who have stormers got fri nite…..

bloody dickinson

• 26.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

Walsh replaced by Chris Pollock, from one idiot to another.

• 27.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10): @ 21. Have I missed something?

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat(KEA): 27
    stormers looking to sign bj for rest of super 14

• 29.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

Gunther you’re 100 percent correct…

this stinks…

they’re pandering to Gitteau and the Brumbies…

fully justified in saying Matt is a real Gitt…!!

• 30.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots):

He’s a recovering, latent homosexual, alcoholic.

Let’s have some sympathy for him…

• 31.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat(KEA):

Check the SuperSport site – BJ might be released as early as next weekend.

• 32.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

If it was this easy… why did they not remove stuart dickinson from refereeing stormers and bulls games. that guy has an obvious problem with saffas.

• 33.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever):

I knew he was an alcoholic and thought he might be scrumming for the other side as well. Intersting.

• 34.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White(Jake_White):

And we (the Stormers) have him on Friday night…

In fact, how many times have the Stormers had Saffa refs in this tournament? Versus how many times the Bulls have had Saffa refs…

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

on the bj issue…if i was Rassie i would be speaking to Faan Rautenbach as well….just in case . We need another quality prop for remainder …

• 36.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

I believe the Bulls have had one foreign ref!

• 37.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10): Great news. I know in the Currie cup a player has to have a certain ammount of game time for a Province to be able to play in a semi or final, is there such a thing for Super14?

• 38.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10): Yes it was a case of bad refereeing BUT if players are allowed to criticise ref’s in the media then rugby is no longer a gentleman’s game and becomes more like soccer.

• 39.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat(KEA):

You can only bring in players not named in your initial Super 14 squad if you have injury problems, and no specialist cover.

Due to the injury to JC Kritzinger, Allister Coetzee is trying to lure BJ Botha for the rest of the Super 14.

• 40.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

if i remember correctly, robbie Deans backed the Sharks in 2007 and the Crusaders last year in the semi.

quite frankly, I wouldn’t listen to anything this oke has to say.The Reds will get pumped if they show up in SA for a semi or a final.

oh, and Walsh is kak, so is his replacement Pllock and Bray was a right proper *** as well.

• 41.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@fish out of water(fish out of water):

Agreed. Referees are already under enough strain as it is.

• 42.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots):

they’ve had a few more than that, they’ve actually lost when they’ve had Saffer refs.

• 43.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever): The refs were rated at the beginning of the season. The teams were rated aswell, the Bulls were rated no.1 (obviously). The top teams get the top refs, thats why the Bulls have had SA refs for most of their games.

I wonder if they are going to use the best refs for the semi and final, if so SA refs will be in charge.

• 44.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

wouldn’t suprise me at all if the reds lose to the brumbies on the weekend.

• 45.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat(KEA):

Makes sense.

The Stormers, due to ending 6th last year, therefore got the mid-table refs (Aussies)… :lol:

• 46.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat(KEA):

think it’s something like 40 minutes play before the semis… remember Matt To’omua was in the same position last year for the CC…

• 47.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl):

Which would be a great result for the SA sides.

• 48.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

Now you’re talking eligibility for the playoffs, which is something slightly different.

I think the Super 14 has the same rule as the Currie Cup, which (as I recall) was at least three 40-minute runons before you are eligible.

• 49.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

especially for the stormers who’ll probably lose as well.

• 50.Connag: Reply to this comment

The only reason they are under strain, is because they try and manipulate the outcomes of games.

There are three main culprits doing the rounds at the moment

Walsh
    Dickenson
    Bryce Lawrence

SA’s legal officer (if they Have one) should be making a dossier of these precedents, which he must use, when next time a SA sides needs to make a trip to the judiciary.

SA sides simply have to box cleverer off the field.

It is unfortunate that there is such distrust in the judiciary, but when there is so much at stake, we should be as prepared and professional as the Aussies.

If the Brumbies can get a ref changed (and rightly so) so should we, but through the correct channels and with all the facts to hand as well as details of all precedents

• 51.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): Morning ufo, You are correct, it was Paul Marks. After his atrocious reffing of the Sharks game against the Tahs he should have been dropped, but there he was the very next week as a assistant once again against the Sharks and Brumbies. Where he messed up again speaking to the ref as once again Marks got it wrong. He cost us two games where we should have won.

Also the the novice kiwi ref Sharks had against the Chiefs was terrible.

Well that is all in the past, they just have to get better refs.

We have to get back to neutral refs. The only way to go. The best but it has to be neutral. I would rather even have NH refs reffing the S14.

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Connag(Connag): Have to agree with you there. Also those Refs.

Now look Stormers have Dickinson for a 3RD TIME this S14. I just hope he has a good game on Friday. Last year Sharks had Bryce Lawrence 3 times as well and he was terrible too.

Something has to be done about the reffing that is costing teams that should win games.

• 53.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

hey puma… you well…?

thing is that SANZAR and the ref’s associtation have stuffed up from the get-go…

the refs should be rotated around all the teams so that each ref only refs each team once or twice throughout the competition… that would go a long way towards reducing the effect of any bias (perceived or real)

but this thing of one team having the same ref over and over again unfairly benefits (or penalises) a team depending on their relationship with that particular ref…

• 54.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

Puma, it’s quite simple, really.

South Africans are not allowed to complain about the match officials. Neither are New Zealanders.

Only Aussies are :twisted:

• 55.ufo: Reply to this comment

how is Matt Gitteau, in the glare of the world’s media, crying like a pre-teen girl, throwing his toys out of his cot and saying ‘we don’t wanna play’ sticking out his bottom lip and holding his breath till he’s red in the face…

any different to the Boks wearing white-armbands protesting at the OTT treatments of Bakkies Botha…???

i mean how is wearing white armbands any worse that threatening not to play at all…?

Waiting for our ANZAC bloggers to justify Gitteau’s cry-baby antics…

• 56.Connag: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):
    Puma, personally I think the SA teams get a better deal having SA refs from time to time, because they do not get a fair deal. The SA refs do get it wrong, but they are the best in the comp and when they get it wrong its usually swings and roundabouts, its not just onesided.

The neutral refs unfortunately are that in name only, because they are far from neutral, we never get a fair go from Aussie or Kiwi refs, at least with the odd SA ref we get a fair go.

Sorry, but my trust of the ANZAC’s refs over the years has diminshed greatly.

We have suffered and lost far too many games, through their inconsistency (bias) over the years.

• 57.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Matt Giteau is so gangsta! But one could easily see that that game was deteriorating when Hoiles and Walsh were getting snappy with each other.

• 58.Connag: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

UFO I hear you about Giteau’s cry baby tactics, but in a way I’m glad he has done it, because it has put the spotlight on these incompetent cheating officials.

Just glad it’s an Aussie doing the bleating and not a Saffa.

• 59.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Connag(Connag): SA reffs cheat for SA sides too. Mark Lawrence did a number on the Blues last weekend.

• 60.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): Very well ufo, hope you are too mate.

Yes you are right there. Refs should be rotated and really no team should get the same ref twice, least of all 3 times!! I do hope Dickinson has a good game on Friday. The only good thing is Stormers will probably know how he blows by now. Well maybe, as he too can be awful.

Ufo, I think neutral refs have to come back. This never ever worked when I grew up. We used to have saffa refs reffing games against the ABs here and when we toured there they had AB refs against us. Both were very biased and it never ever worked.

Get the best but they have to be neutral.

Gits should get suspended for one week. If that was a saffa player be sure he would be suspended.

• 61.Puma: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever): Morning WPTID…hehehe. You could be right there :D

• 62.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Connag(Connag):56 – Agree that saffa refs are the best, but some of our teams have hardly had them. Sharks have only had a saffa ref 3 times. Well twice a merit ref the other half of the Cheetahs game we got a novice saffa ref, that too was dropped.

For me I would go completely neutral and let the NH refs come ref the S14. Some good refs up there now. Never used to be but there are these days.

Yes agree, too Gits brought all this bad reffing out, but he only done it for his team. We got screwed by Marks against the Brumbies he was assistant ref that day. Got the Brumbies a penalty which they should never have got. Sharks should have won both the Tahs and Brumbies games had it not been for Paul Marks.

Gits should get a week suspended. If it was saffa be sure he would get get a week or two.

• 63.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Connag(Connag):

sortta Connag… sortta not…

didn’t Paul Marks performance and dumping spotlight the issue of incompetant reffing…?

thing is if the IRB doesn’t step in and sanction Gitteau they are condoning players publicly ridiculing refs opening the floodgates that will be nigh impossible to close…

@Puma(Puma):

cool thanks…

the truth is that neutral refs in this comp are very few and far between…

the only real neutral way to go is getting NH refs down here for all the games…

which may also assist in getting the two hemispheres into the same ball-park re which rules to use…

• 64.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Walsh is a disgrace, always has been. The Aussies thought they would **** a snook at the Kiwis and brought him over, warts’n'all.

Let them eat cake.

While the authorities are at it they should banish Joubert, Plonker & B.Lawrence to Schoolboy reserve grade (if noone else is available).

• 65.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

see you posted pretty much what I was writing while writing it…

• 66.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

Mark Lawrence did a number on the Blues last weekend…….so what its about time he did the Sharks a favour, ive seen him screw them too many times B4, (IE Sharks vs Tah’s Durban 2009)

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): 55 – By Gits threatening not to play he really should get suspended for a week.

We wore arm-bands but turned up to play. Think there is a difference there. Think we got fined for that, so Gits should get suspended.

If that was a saffa or a kiwi be sure we would be suspended.

• 68.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

The S14 is a dead goose, S15 gonna be worse. We want strength vs Strength SANZAR, not more watering down. 2 Tiered system. The S15 is ridiculous, we have a CC to play our own.

• 69.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism): 66 – Mark Lawrence should have given Stefan that try too. He never. So he also got it wrong with us too.

• 70.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

my feelings exactly…

at least we pitched and played… and didn’t take the primadonna “we’re bigger than the game” route that Gitteau took…

• 71.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

This ‘merit-based’ ref system we have in S14 is ridiculous. Surely the comp is big and rich enough for us to have neutral refs – all 4 match officials – in every match. Its bad enough when refs make a mistake – they ALL do – but to then have that mistake twisted in to some ‘favouritism’ or the oppositie, by derranged rugby fans just seems unprofessional, unfair on the refs, and completely unnecessary. Is it right that the reigning Champion team, and current comp-Leader – the Bulls – has SA refs for 90% of their matches ? I think not. There are enough all-SA/NZ/Aus matches involved to involve the domestic refs, we dont need even a hint of suspicion where it should not be a factor.

• 72.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated): 68 – Ratel, agree with you. They should have just kept it the way it is, just add the Rebels making it a extra team to play.

Really don’t think next year it will be as good.

Hey!! time to chance your (Morne Steyn is under-rated) Put Ruan is under-rated there. Ruan has really stepped up this S14 playing some fantastic rugby. In both positions. Sh and Fh. Do it change that part of your nic..hehe

• 73.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism): @66

Personally I think M.Lawrence is the best ref in the competition. But that match was a disgrace, Blues were reffed out of that match entirely – embarrassing to watch.

• 74.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated):

Ratel… I said this when they were talking about the new system for the S15… gonna be a huge flop IMO…

I wanna watch my team play foreign teams… not a pre-run of the CC…

once again… all done to maximise benefits to Aus…

• 75.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): 71 – BP, How you mate? hope well. Well remember it was only you and I last that never agreed to this reffing sysem. Both of us said it was never ever going to work. I don’t think it has, not at all.

Bring back neutral refs. The only way to go. Must be the best but it has to be neutral refs.

• 76.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): @70

“we didn’t take the primadonna “we’re bigger than the game” route that Gitteau took…”

*cough* ~splutter~

If wearing ‘Justice4′

JUSTICE 4 !!!!!

armbands, en masse, Capt and Management, is NOT ‘prime donna, bigger than the game’

then WHAT is ?!

• 77.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):70 – ufo, Agree. We also got a fine, so Gits should get suspended for a week. Saying his team may not pitch up!! That is a threat, we don’t need that sort of thing to start in rugby.

• 78.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther):

Believe it or not i rate Bryce Lawrence as a good ref too, if a team respects his interpretations his his really fair, but his temperament also has a slippery slope, pi$$ him off and you feel the wrath of his whistle

• 79.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma): Can’t change that now with this new stupid bracket system!!

• 80.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): @ 71

Hey BP… I agree with everything you say… it is absolutely ridiculous… this thing of rating the refs and giving the best placed team the (perceived) best refs is a load of *****… Bulls definitely have had the best of the refs this season…

And the comp certainly does have the money to import all four neutral refs for every match… in fact it wouldn’t cost anymore than it already does… they pay the refs according to their experience so there’d be little or no extra moola shelled out…

• 81.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): 76 – BP, BUT we pitched up and played. WE got fined so Gits should get a week in the cooler.

• 82.sweeper: Reply to this comment

It just leaves a sour taste in the mouth that the Brumbies got what they wanted by complaining. I do however feel that Walsh would have been in an impossible position if he were to ref the game.

In the end – nobody wins and rugby is the big loser.

• 83.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

Yo, my feline friend !

Yes, we agreed on that from the first minute it was instigated and OF COURSE we’ve been proven right.

Im all for refs being chosen on ‘merit-based’ system for Semis/Finals and Im also all for refs being stood down for 1-2 Rounds if theyre making glaring mistakes

BUT I want NEUTRAL refs in every single match, all 4 of em !

Thing is, with less suspicion from fans, then slowly greater respect for them will grow too (hopefully). Other than cost issues, I simply dont see any down side

• 84.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

Well i tell you what was worse then Mark Lawrence’s in the Sharks Tah’s game of 2009, was Joel Stransky’s anti Shark commentary, it was like he single handedly beat the Sharks with the mic !!!

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated): Pity, As it would be appropriate to change it to Ruan now. Though maybe you can by letting Roy know.

Ruan is playing superb right now. Just hope he can play Saturday. Has a knee niggle. Alberts too has a small injury niggle. So just hoping like crazy they are fine to play.

• 86.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): @ 76

definitely not the same… we pitched and played so the game could continue thereby demonstrating that we are not bigger than the game…

Gitteau threatened not to even pitch up for the game… meaning the game would NOT go ahead… meaning fans who have paid for seats would be defrauded of their hard-earned money…

demonstrating that Gitteau believes he and the Brumbies ARE bigger than the game…

those are the facts… however you choose to ignore them…

now take your teeth out of your coffee and put them back in your mouth… :wink:

• 87.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism): 84 – Have to agree with you. Then Stransky is just anti South African really. With every team and the Boks, he favours the otherside. Also a very, very boring commentator. Wish we had some commentators that had some sense of humour to add.

• 88.Connag: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri):

Yep, I thought so too, and commented a number of times on a previous thread on this exact same subject.

• 89.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma): @81

sorry Puma (/UFO), but here we part ways.

It was the fact that they DID ‘pitch up and play’ whilst wearing those armbands that was – most certainly – ‘prima donna, bigger than the game’ behaviour. They were, after all, rubbing the Citing system in the noses of administrators in full view of a high-profile Test match. And, dont forget, this in the immediate aftermath of Burgers finger-surgery.

I think all you fellas are still very sensitive to Gits getting away with that ‘tackle’ last season, that should have seen him banned. I think Gits will be penalised here, he certainly should be.

• 90.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

Stransky is a gitteau no doubt…

he always used to work the 95 WC into his commentaries saying… “When we played…” “When we won the WC…” etc

but the 2007 victory put paid to that… so now he’s just anti-SA…

what a git-ou…!!!

• 91.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma):

For sure, why not give John Vlismas or Mark Lottering a go !!!

• 92.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): 83 – BP, Agree totally. WE have to have NEUTRAL refs. We both lived through the past watching the dreadful biased reffing from saffa refs against the ABs and vice versa, we got it back touring NZ against your refs.

Those days should be behind us and always NEUTRAL refs. I would go as far as having NH refs for the S15 next year.

• 93.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian who believes Sharks will be S14 Champs: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri):

Haha, remember you and Transie saying we wouldnt do it against the Blues. That was funny. This weekend we’ll take out the Bulls at Loftus

• 94.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

I didnt know that about Gits, but its not the first time Ive heard that threat. Pathetic really.

But please dont try to wash over the Justice4 BS as some subordinated crime. Its the worst thing Ive EVER seen taken ON to the field of play, and hopefully the last time we’ll ever see it.

• 95.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): 81 – BP, Agree it was wrong, but we did pitch up to play and we got a fine for doing what we done. We got punished. Don’t think it will happen again.

Gits now needs to be suspended for a week. I tell you what if that was a saffa or kiwi that said that both would have had a week already in the cooler given to them.

• 96.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): @ 89

no need to apologies BP… :twisted:

never expected you to agree with us…

to me… protesting is one thing… threatening not play unless you get your own way is an entirely different and more petulant thing…

• 97.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): 90 – ufo, We need some new commentators. With a bit of humour.

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism): 91 – hehehehe. Why not :lol:

• 98.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ 94

hey BP bud… you’ve misunderstood my intentions here… it was not to “wash over” the Justice 4 thing… it wasn’t the right thing to do IMO and the Boks should’ve handled it differently…

I merely brought it up to make the point that ALL our ANZAC friends and the IRB jumped on us big-time for bringing the game into disrepute…

details aside… Gitteau has just done the same thing and I think it’s an indictment of the IRB, the rugby press and the Aus and NZ unions that they haven’t condemned Gitteau’s behaviour…

• 99.boerinbeton: Reply to this comment

Let me understand this:
    1. The Ref is axed due to a poor performance…
    2. The player is in trouble for saying number 1 should happen.

I don’t think there should be an open war of words on refs (by the players that is), but surely by axing the ref, you’re kind of admitting that the ref was indeed ****?

• 100.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther): 94 – BP, I see tickets are on sale for the Rugby WC. Have you got yours yet? I am looking. See we need to buy pool tickets to get a chance to buy semi final and final tickets.

• 101.Connag: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

UFO I think Git’s comment was more a throw-away-line, he did not threaten not to turn up, but rather a comment along the lines of “whats the use of even turning up, with Walsh reffing”. Well…my interpretation anyway.

He should cop some sort of punishment, but I am glad someone has actually come out and said it the way it is.

• 102.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay I am off. Catch up later.

Cheers all.

• 103.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Connag(Connag):

sure… but he WAS ridiculing the ref… if that’s not bringing the game into disrepute what is…?

thing is though that SANZAR and the IRB have gotta do something to stop all this k@k… it starts and ends with them… and using neutral refs as mentioned by Puma and BP has become crucial for the validity of the game…

• 104.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo): @96

yes, petulant is the best word, by an individual.

an individual.

but Team AND Management ?

hmmmmmm, yes, wellllllllllllll………

@ufo(ufo): @98

no, I did NOT ‘misunderstand your intentions’ !

theyre quite black’n'white and uber-clear, in fact

“we didn’t take the primadonna “we’re bigger than the game”

I have registered my Vote and now have ink all over my fingers.

@Puma(Puma):

Ive gone long on RWC tix already. It hurt a bit but not as much as when my wife eventually finds the bank-statement

You can register for Semi/Finals by purchasing either ‘Team’ or ‘Venue’ packs. Ive bought the Eden Park ‘Venue Pack’ plus tagged on both the QterF packs.

The Safas get a nice itinerary. And Puma, mi casa tu casa.

• 105.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

GARETH do you know how to report the FACTS?

Here is the truth and no an edited BS version of Walsh being removed from the game NOT STOOD DOWN for the benefit of the game. It is about the Reds and the Brumbies not ‘Hollywood’ Steve.

Stuff dot com dot nz < NZ RugbyHeaven site.

Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray says he pulled Steve Walsh from Saturday's Brumbies-Reds Super 14 clash in Canberra in the best interests of the game, and not because of the pressure caused by Matt Giteau's comments.

Bray called for Brumbies and Wallabies playmaker Giteau to face a Sanzar disciplinary hearing and be held "accountable" for his inflammatory comments on Walsh and Sanzar has confirmed today that he would tonight face a code of conduct hearing.

Bray confirmed Sydney-based Kiwi ref Walsh had been withdrawn from Saturday's Brumbies-Reds game and replaced by New Zealand's Chris Pollock because of the controversy created by Walsh's handling of the Brumbies-Waratahs clash in Sydney last Saturday night. The Tahs won the game 19-12 to put a severe dent in the Brumbies' semifinal hopes.

Walsh made a number of contentious calls in the match, many of which appeared to go against the visiting side, and had a running battle with Brumbies skipper Stephen Hoiles throughout. Late in the piece he also ruled against what looked like a legitimate Adam Ashley-Cooper try without even consulting the video ref.

In the aftermath of the game several Brumbies complained about Walsh's performance, with star playmaker Giteau being the most vocal.

"I don't know if we will turn up," Giteau told reporters on Monday when asked how the Brumbies would react if Walsh was not replaced this week. "What's the point?"

Giteau was equivocal Walsh had made a major error when he turned down Ashley-Cooper's late score. "Like everyone who knows rugby, that was a try," he added.

Brumbies coach Andy Friend was a little more restrained in his criticism. "I thought the first 30 minutes wasn't a very even contest," he said after expressing his hope Walsh would be replaced for this week's match.

But Bray has refused to condemn Walsh's performance – though he did concede the Kiwi ref had an "average" game — and said the decision to pull him from Saturday's match was because of more far-reaching implications.

"We have to look at what's in the best interests of that game and what's in the best interests of Steve as a ref," said Bray on Radio Sport today. "We think it would be remiss to ignore what sort of environment is likely to happen if we left Steve refereeing the Brumbies and Reds.

"They've made it very untenable for Steve to be able work in that environment and we're only being responsible to the game in saying this week should be all about the Reds and the Brumbies who both fighting for semifinal spots, and the last thing you want is this week being all about the referee.
    Ad Feedback

"I think if we left Steve on that game that's exactly what the outcome would be."

Bray said Walsh had taken the decision well and had agreed that "you don't want to be put in a situation where the environment is extremely negative even before you walk on the paddock".

But Bray told Radio Sport that this should not be perceived as a victory for intimidation via the public and inflammatory comments from Giteau.

"That's exactly why we have to bring the hammer down in my opinion," he said. "I think [Giteau] definitely needs to face a disciplinary hearing on the comments."

Bray said it would be "nice" if Giteau was suspended at least for this week's match, but was happy to leave that decision to the appropriate judicial process.

"I just want him to be answerable for his comments and be accountable for that," added Bray. "I'm not emotive about what happens to him just pragmatic about it, and the realty is he's quite out of line."

Bray said he had no issue with Giteau's comments on the no-try decision, though he stoutly defended Walsh's call saying analysis showed the whistle-blower had made the right assessment.

What was unacceptable, he said, was the personal attack on Walsh as a referee. "Where Giteau stepped over the line in my opinion is he's gone on to a whole emotional aspect about not turning up."

Bray conceded Walsh, who's making a return to top refereeing after overcoming a battle with the bottle, had an "average day" in the Tahs-Brumbies match, mostly around game management.

"He would have loved to have had far better outcomes at scrum time… and unfortunately he lost Stephen Hoiles and that's partly about Mr Hoiles and partly about Steve and he'll address why that happened."

But Bray was emphatic Walsh got it right on Ashley-Cooper's scramble over the line – ruled a double-movement.

"The ruling was absolutely correct. He was four and a-half metres short when he lands in the tackle, rotated once which is fine (that's momentum), then in order to get across the goal-line has got off his knees and launched over the tackler to force the ball.

"I don't think you can for a second in law criticise Steve's decision."

Bray also backed his referee who he said will return in week 13 to control the Chiefs-Waratahs game in what is essentially a straight swap with Pollock.

"We think he's done a pretty admirable job this year in getting back on the horse at this level," said Bray. "Yes, he's had a couple of games, like every ref has, where he hasn't been at his best… but we back him and he'll certainly be there in week 13."

• 106.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Not too many Aussies are in support of Gits,he has made an idiot of himself.

• 107.boerinbeton: Reply to this comment

To bring the game in disrepute….

The actual performance of the ref or the player commenting on it…

The ref wins hands down

• 108.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@boerinbeton(boekinbeton): That is one of the first lessons a coach imparts on kids. The Ref is in charge.

• 109.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Sorry to saty, Connag, but I agree with you. It was a ‘throw away line” by the Git, not really meant as a threat.

That aside, he should still be held accountable. Because the domain for criticising refs within an inch of their reputation lies solely and exclusivly with US the fans !

• 110.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Damn BP…. You are 110% right again. ;)

• 111.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ 104

fact is we never threatened or intended the game stop for us…

Gitteau (and the Brumbies… as their management have not distanced themselves from his comments and thus must be seen as condoning and supporting them) made it perfectly clear the game SHOULD stop for him (them)…

so quite clear to any rational supporter which team or individual thought they are bigger than the game…

comparing the two incidents does not equate to condoning either one of them…

but hey… if that’s what you’ve decided… good for you…!!

• 112.gunther: Reply to this comment

removed stood down

Potato potato

Semantics…

Bottom line the brumbies succeed in getting a ref removed/stood down …

That’s a dangerous precedent.,

When I think of

Dickenson
    Bryce Lawrence
    George Ayoub
    Etc…

For years we suffered at the hands of these Nazis with whistles.

Now Gits has a little fanny **** and all of a sardine we are removing officials for the good of the game…

Something is rotten in the state of sanzar..

• 113.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther): You haven’t been the Canberra to watch a game have you?

….Cue banjo :lol:

• 114.boerinbeton: Reply to this comment

Yes, indeed. One of the first things you do learn is that the ref is in charge….

Now at schoolboy and club level, you end up loosing bragging rights for a year. At Super 14 level you end up loosing millions for not making the play-offs.

It’s not right for a player to run his mouth against the ref, but neither the coach, manager, whoever is allowed to run his mouth. My question is why refs are such protected species?

• 115.gunther: Reply to this comment

Rulz

Only ever watched rugby in Sydney as a boy..

Brumby HQ looks like it has all the vibe of a *** shop on a Monday morning..

Banjo or no banjo …

UFO

Charo says you are famous?

Are you Brock and Roll Harris?

• 116.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

who me…???

no way…

not famous… or Brok-n-Roll Harris…

:lol: :lol:

• 117.gunther: Reply to this comment

Are you Randall from Idols?

• 118.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

great guess…!!! :lol:

seriously… I’m a nobody… just another rugby loving blogger…

• 119.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

only thing that is ‘rotten’ here is the referee in question.

Too chitty chatty with players throughout the match, too me me meeeee. He has his hands all over them too, like “we’re NBF’s”, fook orf y’***** ! The petulant way he dealt with Brumbies Captain, marching him, said everything you need to know about S.Walsh. Same with Matt Goddard and Dickenson to lesser extent – these guys destroy games with their personality more than mere ‘bad decisions’ do.

Walsh is a *****, whether he’s a NZRFU or ARU ref; nothing will change that.

• 120.gunther: Reply to this comment

UFO

That’s not what charo says!

Last guess

Chester the fester Williams?

• 121.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Wow

Skoppie is going to get a right ******’ing over all this ******’en ********’ing ********icty nonsense from the Moderator, when he sees it

******* it.

• 122.gunther: Reply to this comment

UFO

Jaqui de la Cruz?

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

in three of the four games on saturday the captains were justified in complaining to the ref, but nothing came of their complaints because the rules of the game don’t allow the players any room for appeal or redress. Jimmy cowan was within an inch of being red carded for asking the ref to open his ******* eyes! The same with steven hoiles, walsh didn’t want to hear a thing, pouting and prancing around like a peacock! I quite enjoyed hoiles in his post-match interview, after the commentator “it was hard for your team and that you didn’t get to score any tries” and hoiles rebutted “we actually did mate”

And the last one was mark lawrence throwing a hissy fit @ keven mealamu because toeava was chirping him the whole game, mark lawrence: “are you the captain? Should i talk to you or talk to him?”
    mealamu: “i’m the captain” lawrence: “well no.15 has been talking to me the whole game, then tell him to shut up”

With such a condescending tone & roll of the eyes, i was so embarrassed & appauled because i rate lawrence as one of the better refs sa has, for him to be acting like matt “you’ve got big ears use them” goddard!? :-(

• 124.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

Charo’s wrong…!! don’t know why he’s making trouble for me… :shock: charo…? wassup with that…???

no… not chester… not anyone…

seriously… if I put my name here you would’ve never heard of me… you’d say Ufo Who??? not famous… not ‘nearly famous’… never gonna be famous… wouldn’t want to be…

• 125.Brumby: Reply to this comment

At least some justice has seen to be done.

Bray still defends the arrsehole. They just don’t get it!!

There is a bubbling away of tensions amongst the fans and probably for as long with the players.

If there is a need to muzzle someone you have something to hide.

My prediction is the Brumbies will roll the Reds in Canberra, but they may well make it a bit more difficult without Gits.

Strange world when you get punished for being right.

Conspiracy I say, they are out to get us :)

• 126.charo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther): 122

:lol: nowhere near.

look, my boet’s family, my in-laws and anyone else who cared to listen know of ufo.
    therefore, in my eyes, he is famous.

and he is going to become more famous when he expands his empire.

hey ufo, need a good pr person?

could pop in once a month or so to help out 8)

• 127.ufo: Reply to this comment

said before that IMO there should be a review after every game between all four refs both captains and both coaches to discuss, question and explain calls and incidents from all sides… with a report or minutes of the review released to the press afterwards…

it may not stop bad calls entirely… but would foster better understanding between all concerned moving forwards…

• 128.ufo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo):

hey charo… very kind of you to see it that way… but that’s just so not what i’m about…

i’m a small fish in a really small pond…

i’ll call you re the PR job… :wink:

• 129.gunther: Reply to this comment

Charo

He is a butcher?

• 130.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

I can vouch for charo: UFO is indeed famous.

• 131.charo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

butcher?

hmmmm not in the traditional sense.

but then again, don’t know how he treats his staff.

or his contractors.

• 132.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

THe real issue here is that The Waratahs have been given 3 undeserved wins against the Sharks, Blues ( Paul Marks) and now against the Brumbies ( Walsh), now the Tahs are sitting on 33points instead of 20

• 133.gunther: Reply to this comment

UFO

Are you in fact Patricia “the bullshit stripper” de Lille?

• 134.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther):

UFO will soon be rivalling Ted Turner!

• 135.ufo: Reply to this comment

hey bud… what’re you guys doing to me…???

you should be vouching for me…!! you had NEVER heard of me or my business before we met… not one person at Firemans had… how famous is that…???

@charo(charo):

in business and in life it is important to treat everyone with dignity, respect and honesty… i make an effort to do so…

Gunther… i admire and respect Patricia De Lille…

i run a small business that has a small profile in a small place… period… nothing to talk about… really…

• 136.gunther: Reply to this comment

UFO is another builder like skopshit?

His sane alter ego?

Dr Jekyll ?

Hannibal Lecter’s good side?

• 137.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

Actually I had known of your business before we met – I’d actually read a few issues.

The question is: do you remember the early days in the uninsulated garage when no-one gave you guys a chance of success? ;-)

• 138.ufo: Reply to this comment

cheers guys…

heading for space…

stick to the subject of the thread…

beam me up scotty…

• 139.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

ok…ok.. sorry i started this “famous” business 8)

but you’ve got a great product that is pretty unique.

• 140.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

Cheers, mate :-)

• 141.gunther: Reply to this comment

Geez what happened to moderating swear words now I am going to have to watch myself in traffic this afternoon…

UFO these guys have outed you and crudely robbed you of your silken veil of anonymity…

However you will always be UFO to me…

Ps I like patricia as well I am very disappointed you are not her…

• 142.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo):

travel safely

• 143.ufo: Reply to this comment

thanks guys… sincerely appreciated…

• 144.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Brumbies season hasn’t been smooth – Smith gone with injury and a *** contract, Morty injured again and going to the Rebels, Hoiles going to the Rebels and then shut out, Elsom! the Reds wanted him and arguing with coach Friend???, the injuries all S14 long; the list is endless.

You tell me… Gits is one frustrated little git and we call all see why.

• 145.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

*** = J A P

• 146.Eminem: Reply to this comment

Woooooow… What ???!!!!
    ttp://usershare.net/v27gno8d6rle

• 147.Eminem: Reply to this comment

^h

• 148.Puma: Reply to this comment

Gits only got a fine for this. Should have got a week suspended.

• 149.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-148:

I tend to think match-suspensions should be kept solely to offences ON the pitch, therefore a fine does seem consistent with off-field incidents. However, like the FA here in UK, it should be calculated on 1-2 WEEKS pay, for eg, not some insignificant figure that is but a mere f@rt in his take-home salary.

• 150.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Hey

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-149:

para no’s are BACK !

yip EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• 151.JL1: Reply to this comment

Black panty are actually Stodders

• 152.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-113: Is that the banjo from ‘Deliverence’?

• 153.SAussie/QldRed: Reply to this comment

I’m pretty shocked that the Brumbies have got away with this, it seems like Gits has as well. I’m kind of glad that they allowed him to play because he knows he’s Wallabie spot is on the line. This game is as much about Wallabie spots and bragging rights as it is a spot in the finals. Go Reds

• 154.scar: Reply to this comment

Walsh might catch them in the semi-finals!!

• 155.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

What bullsh1t.
    Fisrt of all Walssshh has been doing this to SAFFA sides for years,
    cheating f@$k.
    Secondly Gits should have recived a ban. If we behave like this we get caned.
    SANAR is a joke. load of biased ****.
    Did you see how **** Walsssh was and how the players went off, the penalties should have been a lot harsher.
    Gits is right that players morale get destroyed, why bother when the ref
    cheats. Look at what Krige did after
    some very poor reffing.
    He lost it and headbutted the same player that came off sides,
    more than 5 times in the same game.
    I see why the Cheetahs and Lions have morale issues.
    Why bother turning up.
    All Saffa teams have felt the brunt of poor refs this season.

• 156.whatever: Reply to this comment

Faking wet bus ticket!!

One rule for us, another for you Saffa’s

Pathetic really!

• 157.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Lol now even I am interested in the UFO spaceman (cue the Killers).

Anyway, Transie those 3 incidents sure do sound interesting. I’m so I missed Jeeemy Cowan’s chirps. A real fiesty scrummie that 1.

Re; ‘Tahs position, that team’s success this year is mired in controversy. There must be at least 10 contorversial calls wrt that team. One that springs to mind is how Lachie Turner ran up the line to score against the Sharks when he clearly stepped on the line right infront (I’m talking like 2m away) from the touch judge’s face, but the touch judge makes as if nothing happened and it ends up in a try. To watch this amazing spectacle go to youtube > “ANZAC spirit – combatBok”.

That guy makes AWESOME/funny/legendary Bok videos.

Okay that was offtopic, anyways of the Australian teams one has to applaud the Reds and WF, feel sorry for the Brumbies and feel apathetic to the Waratahs.

But it was Adam Ashley-Cooper who called the Bulls parasites and now look what happened to their season

• 158.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the adam ashley-cooper “try” is a point of interest for me because i seem to remember a morne steyn scoring a “similar” try where he was tackled right infront of the try line and instead of turning around and placing the ball to set up another phase, he reached out & scored, the try stood. None of the opposition players disputed the try!

Tappe Henning on boots ‘n all the next week referred to the footage and said that in fact morne’s try should’ve never been awarded because it was “double movement” because the revised rules state that the tackled player must immediatelty place the ball to set up another phase!

In the case of AA-C i’m of the idea that momentum carried him over the line when i see it in real time but in slo-mo am a bit unsure whether he also “launched” himself over the try line. Either way walsh & assistant made the call & dismissed they brumbies’ contentions..

• 159.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@Partizan(Partizan)-157: Never understood why the Bulle boys got so offended at the ‘parasites’ remark.
    He went on to explain that their gameplan was parasitic in that they feed on any mistake the opposition makes and destroy them with it.
    It was a compliment of their stength, using a little light-hearted humour to break from the standard cliche-riddled responses.

• 160.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@CharlieBrown(CharlieBrown)-152:
    That’s them thar banjos.

@whatever(whatever)-156: Yep 5K Aus around $34,300.00 Rand. Gits has deep pockets so in effect it is a slap with a wet cigarette paper, Tallyho! The fine is about right, his comments were off the cuff… Jokingly serious. The cheeky bugger will watch his Ps and Qs in future.

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-149: I agree, match suspensions should apply to on field misdemeanors. After all the match up between Cooper and Gits should be entertaining. Will Friend play Gits at 10 or 12?

• 161.Connag: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-149:

Yep! Good comment.

• 162.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Partizan(Partizan)-157: Had a look at the you tube reference. You are right, how the Assistant Ref missed that is ridiculous. I guess the read score for that game should have been Tahs 66 – Lions 12.

I deducted 7, one has to assume that try was converted. :lol:

• 163.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-160: Will play at 10. Injuries are such that there really is no other option (Lealifano, Toomua and Huxley all injured, as with Mortlock, Fainifo, Mafi, Taumopeau).

Backline for the match will probably look like:
    9. Valentine
    10. Giteau
    11. Brackin Henry (Academy player)
    12. Tyrone Smith
    13. Andrew Smith
    14. McCabe
    15. Ashley Cooper

Bench players to be Phibbs, Ed Stubbs (academy) and 1 other academy player even I haven’t ever heard of.

• 164.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-163: Shame so many out, I was hoping Huxley (great story) fit enough to play. At least we will get to see Stubbs have a run :)

• 165.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-164: It’s only a hamstring strain I hear, nothing too serious, should be back for the Highlanders match.

Just found out the final back reserves spot to be filled by Robbie Coleman, a Canberra local and another Aus Sevens player like Stubbs and Henry. Looks like the ARUs investment into the Sevens team as a feeder system is paying off.

• 166.Brumby: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-162:

Yep ridiculous, but of course we should not question it, these demi gods are always right. Yea right!

• 167.Brumby: Reply to this comment

@Brumby(Brumby)-166: Just anti Tahs atm.

• 168.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-141:
    @ufo(ufo)-135:

Im curious now, UFO, whats with the ‘famous’ ?

Just as long as you dont go saying “Ive got 2 computers”, because that is a crime around here punishable by extreme insults.

• 169.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-155: @155

yes, the Bulls have really felt the ‘brunt’ of their refs this season, 90% of whom have been Sth African.

Is there a less bigotted poster on Keo than you ?

• 170.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-169:

‘less’ ? silly me, we ALL are. I meant ‘more’ of course.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.