Brits, Joubert in line for top award

Schalk Brits and Ernst Joubert have been nominated for the Premiership’s Player of the Year award.

The two Saracens players are joined by the Northampton trio of Chris Ashton, Phil Dowson and Soane Tonga’uiha. Brits, especially has been in brilliant form and has received many plaudits from northern pundits.

With Peter de Villiers set to name a few overseas players for the Test against Wales on 5 June, it would not be surprising if Brits was named in the squad.

However, Sarries’ director of rugby Brendan Venter wasn’t one of the three coaches nominated for their award. Leceister Tigers’ Richard Cockerill, Leeds’ Andy Key and the Saints’ Jim Mallinder are in contention when the announcement will be made at a dinner next Tuesday.