Poms crowned World T20 champs

England eased to a seven-wicket victory against Australia in the World T20 final.

It just proved that there can be no favourites in the T20 format. Australia had the more convincing run into the final as they achieved an undefeated campaign while England had a controversial group stage – which involved rain that endangered and saved their tournament life against the West Indies and Ireland respectively. The Poms then picked up late momentum and produced the necessary performances when it counted.

However, this was the final and all that mattered was which team would come out best in Bridgetown on Sunday. And it was England who were stronger from the outset.

England paceman Ryan Sidebottom’s two early wickets and a run-out gave the Aussies a poor start to their innings as they fell to 8-3 in the third over. This forced a conservative and slow approach as Michael Clarke and David Hussey steadied the innings with a 37-run partnership in the following six overs.

Cameron White tried to pick up the run-rate with his 30 off 21 balls, but it was just not Australia’s day as they finished on a mediocre 147-6 off their 20 overs.

England could sense their first T20 title as they already reached the 148-run mark four times in the tournament, thrice in their last three games. They needed a strong and aggressive start to their chase.

Michael Lumb was dismissed cheaply, but Craig Kieswetter (63) and Kevin Pietersen (47) played the key partnership as they put together 111 off 68 balls. The South African-born duo eventually fell but the job was done as Paul Collingwood and Eion Morgan saw the Poms through to seal the win and the title with three overs remaining.

Australia 147-6 (20 overs)
David Hussey 59, Cameron White 30, Ryan Sidebottom 2-26.
England 148-3 (17 overs)
Craig Kieswetter 63, Kevin Pietersen 47, Steven Smith 1-21.

For a full scorecard click here