Backing Bafana

Rugby fans must come to football’s party.

When the 1995 Rugby World Cup was held in South Africa, the sport and the Springboks deservedly took centre stage. South Africans, black and white, threw their support behind the team, which is why Francois Pienaar thanked all 42 million of his countrymen, and not just the 62 000 at Ellis Park, before lifting the Webb Ellis Cup.

This year’s Fifa World Cup gives us the chance to revive that spirit of unity and goodwill, which is why SA Rugby magazine has a football-themed cover this month. The Springboks, including Pierre Spies, have pledged their support to Bafana Bafana, and we urge all rugby fans to do the same.

Click here to see what’s in the new issue

Our national football team had a disappointing build-up to the tournament, but so did Pienaar’s Boks before their World Cup campaign. They weren’t expected to progress past the quarter-final stage but a win against the Wallabies in the opening match at Newlands gave them a massive confidence boost and put them on the ‘high road’ to the final.

If Bafana beat Mexico in the opening match of the World Cup at Soccer City they could go on to reach the second round, and their encouraging performances against Spain and Brazil (ranked No 1 and 2 in the world respectively) at last year’s Confederations Cup showed they can perform on a big stage.

However, while the majority of South Africans will be suffering from football fever in June, the Springboks will still demand attention. Their Tests in June, against Wales in Cardiff, France in Cape Town, and Italy in Witbank and East London, raise several interesting questions.

Peter de Villiers is expected to select some overseas-based players for the game against Wales as it takes place a week after the Super 14 final. But will that new-look team have enough time to train together and if the overseas-based players excel, will they then be considered for future Tests?

How will the first-choice Springbok side, presumably made up entirely of home-based players, perform in their first match together this season, against Six Nations champions France? In Jake White’s third year in charge of the Boks, Les Bleus’ 36-26 win at Newlands signalled the beginning of a nightmare 2006 season that almost cost White his job. De Villiers could find himself under similar pressure in his third year if the Boks suffer another defeat to the French.

The two Tests against Italy will give De Villiers a chance to rest his stars and give his fringe players game time. But which of the Bok midweek players who toured Europe last year will get another chance to impress? And will the coach reward Super 14 form?

Four consecutive wins would erase the bad memories of last year’s European tour and ensure John Smit’s side enter the Tri-Nations as favourites to defend their title. Let’s hope the Boks, and Bafana, will rise to the challenge in June.

By Simon Borchardt

121 Comments

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bafana dragons :D

• 2.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Look good luck to all soccer fans, and I hope they all have a great time.

Good luck to Bafana too.

But quite simply, I cannot stand football.

• 3.grant10: Reply to this comment

i have my 3 tickets in my paws….including a quarter final.

Just cant wait…….a spectacle of note!

• 4.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Not a fan of the beautiful game myself, but the excitement will be something to experience. Might just convert a few people. If not, no worries, just enjoy the once in a lifetime event…

• 5.Puma: Reply to this comment

Good luck Bafana.

Have my Bafana t-shirt. Car flag. Will support them all the way. Hope they make the 2nd round. Will be proud if them if they do.

Going to be a awesome atmosphere. Not a great Football fan but will really get into this experience for sure.

• 6.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I agree, it’s time we got behind Bafana, it doesn’t matter if they win or not.

I got off my horse and bought some flag covers for my car… feels good to be part of something.

Go Bafana

• 7.scar: Reply to this comment

Go Bafana, make us proud!!
    Wherever we are, we are behind you!!

• 8.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-6: And I really think football is like watching paint dry but still, go guys.

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pissant: #2 you’re missing out, such a fantastic sport.

@goyougoodthing: #7 different strokes for different folks, some guiness premiership rugby is worse than watching paint dry…

• 10.skunk: Reply to this comment

Its an awesome time to be a Saffa (Malema and the rest aside). If anyone gets the chance to see THE BEST FOOTBALL FANS IN THE WORLD go and experience it. I have been to a couple of these new stadiums and they are awesome. I am goin to shout my lungs out for Bafana. I hope to see all of you there!

• 11.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

The atmosphere is truly building up, Football Fridays are swelling and a great percentage of those in Bafana shirts in Pretoria are those of lesser pigmentation. Great to see. North Korea made the semi-finals on home soil so with a bit of luck we might experience something magical. Go Bafana! Theko, Steven, Matthew, Franklin and the rest of the boys; we are right behind you.

• 12.Puma: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-6: I have tickets to the Brazil/Portugal game. Really looking forward to that. Will go in my Bafana shirt though…hahaha. Have my car flag on already. Atmosphere up here in Joburg already a huge, huge buzz. Everyone has flags on their cars already.

The whole country supporte us our turn to support Bafana.

• 13.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-9:

I will make an effort to watch Bafana, but I simply not a fan of the sport.

• 14.Partizan: Reply to this comment

I am also not a real fan of the sport but I enjoy the big tourneys. Anybody know where I can get mirror socks in jhb north? Robots?

• 15.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Have to say I was thrilled to see so many white folk in SA with Bafana shirts on…..

Traditionally the black sport and all that…

Just like the above article says the whole country got behind the Boks in 95.

All eyes are on SA now so do yourselves proud.

It really is the greatest show on earth.
    So much bigger than rugby on the world stage even if you do prefer rugby

• 16.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Partizan(Partizan)-14: At the traffic Lights. They sell them everywhere. Also the little flags you hang on your windows.

• 17.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’m so tired of people giving opinions on what I should do, what I should think and what I should feel.

How about letting people decide for themselves on these matters, hmmm?

• 18.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

I wear my yellow Bafana t-shirt over here in London with pride – stopped counting how many people stopped me and asked me where they can get one… Go Bafana-Bafana!! It is truly a beautiful game – if you don’t believe me, start watching and enjoy!

• 19.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet(panniepeet)-18: \

Think the boys will punch above their weight.
    The home side usually gets the rub of the green with the refs.
    Home team yet to fail to make it past the first round

With the crowd and those infernal Vuvuzelas it will be hard to stop!

• 20.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-19: Here’s hoping! We surely need all we can get – otherwise we’ll be in the history book as the first hosts ever to NOT make the 2nd round…

• 21.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-5:
    Hey Puma
    Howzit

• 22.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet(panniepeet)-20:

Either way I reckon Africans know how to party.
    you’re all like paddies in the sun.
    It’s gonna be great.

Just don’t cheer for the French!

• 23.Pollwardotcoza: Reply to this comment

First team South Africa
    Second team Germany

One of them will WIN – mark my words!

• 24.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-21: Howzit Coach, How you doing? You must be looking forward to Stormers semi this weekend. Should be a cracker. Well both semi finals should be.

Just a hi and bye. Out of here now.

• 25.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

@Pollwardotcoza(NFLvsRugby)-23: Put your money on the Spanish….

• 26.Pollwardotcoza: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet(panniepeet)-25:

No can do :) – SA first and foremost and then I just bought a house in Germany, so they are second

I have high hopes

• 27.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

I’ll support them 100%. But lets be honest, they’re *****. Seriously.

• 28.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-27: ***** = s hyte. :roll: good l0rd this censorship is childish.

• 29.kwas: Reply to this comment

How utterly pathetic – like a child being told to clean his room, SA rugby fans are told to support Bafana. Surely as adults we can choose for ourselves whether we prefer to watch paint dry or a thrilling football match that finishes 0 – 0?

• 30.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

Frankly this ‘support bafana’ business comes across as somewhat contrived.

No doubt most saffers will, but they are no-hopers. Shouldn’t even be at the tournament.

• 31.Jim Bobby the Lumberjack: Reply to this comment

I’m not a football fan myself but I always watch the World Cup. Earliest I can remember was Italia ’90 and collecting those Coke cans with all the countries flags on. I’m fully behind SA and hope they give a good account of themselves.

• 32.skunk: Reply to this comment

The problem with pessemists is that they always assume to be right. But each to their own. Like most fans I never give up on my team. And we will claim our rightful place as one of the top as we were before.

• 33.Jim Bobby the Lumberjack: Reply to this comment

@skunk(skunk)-32: look I don’t want to throw a dampner on your optimism but SA have never held a “rightful place as one of the top [teams].”

We may once have been an African “giant” along with the likes of Cameroon, Nigeria and Tunisia but this hardly means anything on the world stage where African teams play second fiddle to the real giants.

But I like your optimism, however misguided! :-)

• 34.Nils: Reply to this comment

Have a good time and great tournament, South Africa. :)

• 35.Shaunsagod: Reply to this comment

Bafana have beaten Mexico away before. I remember the game.. it was more like Supersport Utd against Mexico in terms of team selection.. The team contained no real stars .. so its not impossible.. We also have one of the greatest players on earth playing for bafana.. The magistic Steven Pienaar!!!

• 36.Shaunsagod: Reply to this comment

@Shaunsagod(Shaunsagod)-35: Magistic…?? ok I meant Majestic??.. Ok I meant that he is fking Awesome!!

• 37.Shaunsagod: Reply to this comment

Mathew Booth sweeps.. Mokoena destroys.. Sibaya enforces.. Pienaar creates.. Benni strikes.. The rest of troops sweat blood.. The dream is possible!!

• 38.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Soccer? Pffft…

• 39.Shaunsagod: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-38: Take it you will be missing the greatest show on earth.. ?? among other great things in life or should I say life itself??

• 40.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

39. Shaunsadog(Shaunsadog)you fled your country to find a better job abroad. Ha lol you sell out. The story is shaun always hid at the back of the protests ask some of his ex mates…coward!
    As for the Football we all support south africa team know matter the make up or their poor management.
    Go Bafana Bafana…

• 41.boerinbeton: Reply to this comment

I have some friends from the US coming over. Can not wait to take the opportunity to introduce them to THE sport, played by the Manne-Manne and not the Boys-Boys… :-)

Hope the guys will make it to the second round, and if they fail to, will get my support behind the rest of Africa.

• 42.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Shaunsagod(Shaunsagod)-39: Greatest show on earth? That would be the one happening in NZ in 2011.

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

the world cup final we’d all like to see

bafana bafana / all whites

• 44.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

I hope they get thrashed in every single game, although I don’t have to hope too hard. This peasant sport is the reason why Loftus has been taken away from the Bulls.

• 45.Staal: Reply to this comment

Bought myself this yellow canary kapoen colour shirt…. eish…..

• 46.Simon: Reply to this comment

What do you guys think of the cover? Give me some feedback (positive or negative) and your comment could appear in the next issue.

• 47.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-45:
    ek kan nie eers een bekostig nie.

• 48.JL1: Reply to this comment

Rugby fans do not have to do anything, they can decide what to watch and who to support
    Maybe act like some of those Cape rugby fans and support Germany or even Brazil

Who cares? I will manage my expectations by thinking that Bafana will lose all their pool games and not progress, that way there is no false expectations

• 49.GreenLion: Reply to this comment

It’s going to be a huge party and a great advertisement for SA’s ability to host major events. I am going to give it my full support and make sure tourists have a great time in our country!

Good luck to Bafana! I still support you even if you’re not so hot at the moment!

Kind of like I still support the Lions…

Funny how you didn’t see too many Bull supporters when they lost every game in 2002 and had to be given a mercy sponsorship by Momentum!!

• 50.GreenLion: Reply to this comment

I think it’s a great cover, Simon. Brilliant that the Boks are getting behind the team. It will definitely foster unity in the country, I think.

My feeling would have been to put Spies in the Bafana jersey rather though..
    What was the debate behind that (if there was any)?

• 51.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-46:

Simon, did Spies actually want to drape that yellow filth over his shoulder or was he asked to?

However, still a good cover and I think you managed to capture his image perfectly.

• 52.siener: Reply to this comment

I’ve been wearing my Bafana Bafana shirt every Friday for the past six months. I’ve got tickets for the first game in Cape Town (France v Uruguay). I was in Long Street on the evening of the final draw – it was one of the best parties I’ve ever been to in my life.

Normally I am not much of a football fan, but this is going to be HUGE.

• 53.fabio: Reply to this comment

#51 – disappointing comment there KK. They (Bafana) may be perennial under achievers but to brand their jersey as “filth” is just cheap and nasty.

• 54.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@fabio(fabio)-53: lol. You are new here arent you?

• 55.siener: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-42: I’m going to try my best to be in NZ in 2011 to witness the Rugby6 World Cup.

But please let’s be realistic. There is a bit of a difference in scale between the RWC and the SWC. Even more so since it will be in NZ where most things are a bit smaller and less spectacular than in other countries.

Saying the RWC is bigger than the SWC is a bit like saying your child’s primary school play is bigger than a show on Broadway – It might be more significant to you, but you can’t expect the rest of the world to share your delusion.

• 56.fabio: Reply to this comment

#54 nope! been here since day 1…just don’t comment so much anymore. But I am on in the background almost all day!!

• 57.mainland: Reply to this comment

the opening game is going to be huge. i feel the skeptics and mudslingers out there will shut up once they see how insane that game is going to be. From that game on the vibe is going to go into over drive.
    Stadiums 90 -95% sold out already.

Cant wait for game day! I will be putting rugby on the back burner for a month.

go bafana!

• 58.mainland: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty
    Kobus kitty- shame on you… i have no respect for your type. scum of the earth you are but probably ‘sit voor in die kerk elke sondag’.
    go dig a hole.

• 59.poppa69: Reply to this comment

you guys are lucky… it will be one long party… I would love to get to a SWC, just for the vibe…

any sporting event of this magnitude is fantastic to experience, I had the pleasure of experiencing the Olympics here in Syd in 2000…

• 60.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@mainland(mainland)-58: KK doesn’t like black people, and maori’s. It’s well documented on this blog. It’s not worth upsetting yourself about. Why do you think the rest of us are not commenting.

• 61.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-60: Yep. Did you miss the signs? They are posted everywhere. “Dont feed the *******”. ;)

• 62.mainland: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-60: like an inverted shaun. bloody fools

• 63.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Huh? bab-oons are censored as well? Freedom of speech? Constitution? Ring any bells Keo?

• 64.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@mainland(mainland)-62: The lot of them. :)

• 65.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-60: @Taahirah(Taahirah)-61: @mainland(mainland)-62: at least you guys have us unbiased, level headed kiwis here to maintain some integrity on the blog

LMFAO :lol:

• 66.Simon: Reply to this comment

@GreenLion(GreenLion)-50: There was some debate. In the end, we felt that you have to earn the right to wear the Bafana jersey (just as you have to earn the right to wear the Bok jersey). By having it over his shoulder, he’s actually showing Bafana respect.

• 67.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-66:

Did you tell the Bok Selectors this? Don’t think they would understand though…Rubenheimer, etc.

• 68.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@siener(kriek)-55: that’s always been my argument over the years… soccer is much much bigger than any other single sport in the world IMO. The only global tournament which can compete with a SWC is maybe the Olympics. Maybe.

• 69.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-65: You joke but on average the Kiwi population has a higher IQ percentage on this block, makes for good reading.

• 70.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-67: No, I don’t think they would.

• 71.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-70:

I know they won’t!

• 72.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-69:

Luckily I live three blocks down – not on this block. I blog here though. ;) Smilies farking smilies.

• 73.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-72: lol.

How does one make the “blushing’ emoticon?

• 74.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-73:

My bad mate. Just joking with you.

• 75.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-73:

Just put oops between :

• 76.GreenLion: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-66: Ok, that makes a lot of sense.. Nice work!

• 77.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@GreenLion(GreenLion)-76:

Please tell me you are sarcastic!!!

• 78.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-74: It does proof my point though! Ironic huh? :D

• 79.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-78:

It does too. I often do the same mate. All well on Keo buddy.

• 80.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-60:

Oh yes, but it’s okay for you to support the Crusaders/All Blacks, hey? I wonder why you do support them.

• 81.mainland: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-65: ive never responded to ur posts cause you have always been too levelheaded for me :)
    good luck for saturday

• 82.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-80: Hey. I told them that you have your views, and that’s it.

Don’t attack me. I never told you to support Bafana Bafana, or buy tickets etc. It’s your choice, but to call the national jersey a dirt rag is offensive to other bloggers.

If you have no interest in the World Cup, that is your story. Good Luck.

As for me? I’ll cheer for whomever I choose. I have a Bafana jersey, but so too a Spanish one, One for Portugal, the Netherlands, England, Argentina and Brazil. My money, my choice.

I support the Saders, have their jersey and I hope they do well on Saturday, my money, my choice.

• 83.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@mainland(mainland)-81:

His team is the Blues mate. They are out. I think he may support the Stormers this week.

• 84.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-65: You have always been a breath of fresh air Poppa. :lol:

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

damn room smells sour . poppa must be in :lol: lol jk gm popps ^5

• 86.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

i will not support bafana. not representative enough by my race. GO GERMANY!!

• 87.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-86: growing up in the years we never played international sport , i always supported germany in the football

• 88.mainland: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-86:

pick a number between 10 and 15

• 89.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

Only jersey I have is one my Gran knitted for me last xmas.

Red & green with a huge reindeer on the front.

• 90.mainland: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-89: lol

• 91.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-89:

No Iceland missed out mate! Wear it in 3012 – think they might make it then. ;)

• 92.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-82:

You support your national soccer team that’s a pathetic joke yet you don’t support the world champion Springboks? I’m not the racist one here.

• 93.mainland: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-92: how many fingers am i holding up?

• 94.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

all of you who support the Boks but not Bafana suck big time. you are the embodiment of the sad truth that there is still a huge rift in SA society today… a rift that still exists because of your pathetic attitudes.

• 95.Hoops: Reply to this comment

I will be shouting for evey game the bafana play, but my second team is Germany!

The Bafana is not going to be there in round 2 so have to have someone to support!

I was in Portugal on holiday in 2006 with the World cup in Germany. It was amazing how the Portugese supported their team. It was the first time I really got to mingle with serious soccer (footbal) supporters and it made my stay there even better!

I hope we have the same experience this time around!

• 96.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-94:

It’s human nature to support winners.

• 97.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Hey! I want any SA team to become the best, same goes for Bafana. I want them to succeed and reach the top. But realisticly that’s impossible. Currently ranked 90th. Come on guys… as much I’m hoping for a miracle, at this stage it’s ten levels above ‘impossible’.

But I can’t stand football/soccer. So, I’ll check the results, but I won’t be watching it.

All the best to all the African teams. (A few of them having a much better chance at succeeding)

• 98.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-92: Keep trying to convince yourself of that Kobus. I have not called any South African National jersey a “dirty rag”. You are the one who did that.

• 99.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Let’s see how Bafana’s current rating compares in the WC:

African:
    - Algeria (31)
    - Cameroon (19)
    - Côte d’Ivoire (27)
    - Ghana (32)
    - Nigeria (20)
    - South Africa (90)

N American:
    - Mexico (17)
    - United States (14)

S American:
    - Argentina (7)
    - Brazil (1)
    - Chile (15)
    - Honduras (40)
    - Paraguay (30)
    - Uruguay (18)

Europian:
    - Denmark (35)
    - England (8)
    - France (10)
    - Germany (6)
    - Greece (12)
    - Italy (5)
    - Netherlands (4)
    - Portugal (3)
    - Serbia (16)
    - Slovakia (38)
    - Slovenia (23)
    - Spain (2)
    - Switzerland (26)

Oceania:
    - Australia (20)
    - New Zealand (78)

Asian:
    - Japan (45)
    - N Korea (106)
    - S Korea (47)

Hey. N Korea should be our target!

• 100.heita: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-96:

So who were you supporting in the days when the Bulls were getting pomped blue?
    Those days when they were losing all their super rugby matches?

• 101.GreenLion: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-99: Those stats actually make for some interesting reading.. Portugal are #3 and they almost didn’t qualify for the WC2010 – they had to go through the playoffs..

Italy are the World Champs and they qualified top of their group. They only lost 1 game and that was on penalties against Spain in the Euro 2008 and they are only 5th.

England have been smoking hot under Fabio Cappello in the last 2 years, but they are behind Argentina who were touch and go to automatically qualify..

If I had to put my house on it I’d have to go for Brazil who have a great coach in Dunga. He doesn’t go in for all the Brazilian “as we long we look good nonsense”. He puts structure and tactics above flair which makes Brazil extra dangerous..

• 102.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-98:

I didn’t call it a “dirty rag”, I called it yellow filth. I stand by that.

• 103.Eminem: Reply to this comment

We’re desperately lacking quality strikers. McCarthy is getting on a bit :(
    Still, obviiously going to support our team and heres to hoping we get into the second round! An absolute must.

• 104.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-102: Then you must accept the hostile comments that will come your way. I get it Kobus. You hate people of colour, not just in SA but all around the world. That is your thing, and being disrespectful of the National jersey of your own country appears to be your thing to.

Strange what a hippocrate you are. You are probably one of those bloggers who gleefullt attacked LW for his comments made, that were taken out of context, but you expect a slap on the back for your disgraceful comment.

Hahahaha. But that is what you are, and I was simply telling the fellas that they ought not to waste their time with you at all. You are not worth it.

• 105.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@siener(kriek)-55: Greatest doesn’t only mean biggest. Greatest also means best. The soccer world cup (pffft) may be bigger, but the rugby world cup is the best.

• 106.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-104:

Yeah, that’s why the Beast and Habana are some of my favorite Boks. I understand that you were deprived of ever becoming something but that is in the past now, let’s stop pulling the race card all the time.

Bafana Bafana are losers, I wonder if the Xerox Lions would beat them in a game of soccer.

• 107.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-106: Hahahahaha. :lol: Are you seriously pulling on that old “I am a white man and I love Habana” story? Hahahahaha. How cliche.

You have already exposed yourself, no, “But I like Habana” is going to clean the slate for you. (Can’t believe you even went there.)

As for who I am. I am clearly more educated and vastly more enlightened than you. That is all you need to know about me.

Kobus. You are what you are. Like I said. No need for insults. Just wanted the fellas to know they ought not to waste their breath with you. You are proudly racist.

• 108.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-107:

Please enlighten me, why do you support the All Blacks and Crusaders instead of the Springboks? I believe it’s due to spite. I’m wondering if you support the Bok 7s side seeing as it has a far greater representation of color?

It works both ways, you don’t support the World Champion Springboks, why should I support the hopeless Bafana Bafana?

• 109.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-108: Go easy on her… Different people have different tastes. Not for Rossi some big Saffer boerewors, rather some tender lambchops…

• 110.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-108: I support them, because I always have. I don’t switch sides. BUT, and here is the important part Kobus, I have and never will call the national jersey, and I quote you “102. Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty) :
    May 17th, 2010 at 12:49 pm
    @rossoneri(rossoneri)-98:

I didn’t call it a “dirty rag”, I called it yellow filth. I stand by that.”

I am still South African and believe in the country and that it’s people have choices and opinions. I never said you MUST support Bafana, but I object to you caling the jersey filth. The same way you would object to me calling the Bulls jersey or the Bok jersey filth.

My support has nothing to do with colour. Simply the team whose brand of game I enjoy more. ie Like Spain and Brazilian football.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-109: :lol: Silly man.

• 111.False_Bay_Boy: Reply to this comment

As much as i Despise Kobus’s standing on Bafana and their jersey. I do agree with him to some extent! Dont Support New Zealand and then come and question some1 elses patriotism! I Was at the George 7′s last year and had to be restrain from klapping some All Black supporters who were swearing at springbok supporters and standing on the SA flag! So dont come with “we respect SA but support New Zealand’

• 112.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@False_Bay_Boy(False_Bay_Boy)-111: I said to Kobus I have no drama with the fact that he refuses to support Bafana Bafana, just don’t insult people who do and call their jersey filth.

My first footie team of choice is NOT bafana bafana, NOT! It’s Spain and then Brazil. My first choice rugby team, is NOT the boks.

There is no quit pro quo. You can’t say me as a person of colour MUST SUPPORT THE BOKS AND IN EXCHANGE, YOU’D BE GRACIOUS ENOUGH TO SUPPORT BAFANA.

What utter rubbish. If you do not feel it in your heart, THEN DON’T SUPPORT THEM.

I do not feel passionate for the Boks in my heart. I DO NOT! You cannot make a deal for my support, just like I cannot cut a deal for you to love Spain during this SWC.

• 113.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@False_Bay_Boy(False_Bay_Boy)-111: Who restrained you? They are entitled to support whom they like but verbally attacking other supporters? They deserved a “snotklap” or 10.

• 114.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-113: I agree. Verbally attacking someone for cheering is rubbish.

• 115.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

if you support say france at a bafana game you’ll end up in hospital (if you’re lucky)

• 116.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-115: Have you ever been to a Bafana soccer match? Ever? Because you appear to be talking out of your arse.

• 117.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

my friends have ros .. and they were “klap’ed” hard .. was the last time they went

• 118.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-117: Sorry if that happend.

But my experiences of matches are very peaceful and great atmosphere, no matter who you are cheering for. If what you say is so, then it must have been a strangely out of place incident.

• 119.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-117: Were they spewing verbal abuse at other fans by any chance?

• 120.ruggaboy: Reply to this comment

Eish the comments getting a bit unpleasant here at the end… I’m damn sorry I’m gonna miss the world cup at home. Definately cheering like a banshee for the boys – even though realistically their chances are small.

• 121.Boer in beton: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-46: Like the cover a lot Simon. Not exactly Madiba wearing the Bok number 6 jersey, but close enough. It is time the Afrikaners especially show that they are truley part of this diverse nation, by supporting Bafana. The Bulls have gone a long way towards this gesture by wearing the Bafana jerseys on tour. I have my Bafana jersey and will wear it with pride here in Yorkshire during the tournament. My Bulls jersey will need a rest after celebrating in it when the Bulls defebd their S14 title :-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.