Brits impresses up north

Schalk Brits won the 2010 RPA Players’ Player of the Year Award on Wednesday.

The Saracens hooker was on the shortlist of five nominations, which included London Irish’s Steffon Armitage and Northampton Saints’ Phil Dowson, Ben Foden and Soane Tonga’Uiha, after his first season. Brits received the accolade at the Rugby Players’ Association awards.

‘The last 12 months since I arrived in the UK have been absolutely phenomenal. Having this to add to everything else is very special indeed,’ said Brits.

Other winners include Leicester’s Ben Youngs, who won the Norman Broadbent young player award and Simon Shaw, who won the special merit award for his incredible contribution to the game. BBC commentator Bill McLaren was inducted into the Rugby Players’ Association Hall of Fame.