Hougaard can only get better

Even though wing is not his best position, Francois Hougaard is still an attractive option for the Springboks.

Hougaard scored the Bulls’ only try in their Super 14 final victory over the Stormers, and although much credit must go to Fourie du Preez for the timing of the pass and putting him into the gap, the way Hougaard went around Joe Pietersen was akin to a seasoned winger.

Hougaard only moved to the wing from scrumhalf last year during the Currie Cup, and his try-scoring form and game-breaking ability in recent weeks has been a boon for the Bulls. Du Preez again master-minded the Bulls’ win for their second successive Super 14 title, but Hougaard won his second Man of the Match award in three games. Since the league match against the Saders – where he scored a brace – Hougaard has been one of the Bulls’ most dangerous backs with ball in hand.

‘He’s playing really well at the moment,’ said captain Victor Matfield. ‘Against the Crusaders he was outstanding, and he’s carried on that form.

‘He’s still young and learning. He showed how good he is in that he’s able to perform this well and it’s not even his best position.’

Hougaard’s first choice position is No 9 (he made his Bok debut against Italy at scrumhalf), but with a wing shortage in the country due to injuries to JP Pietersen, Lionel Mapoe and Jongi Nokwe, he must also come into national reckoning there. Odwa Ndungane and Gio Aplon will start against Wales next week, but Hougaard proved at Orlando on Saturday he has more aptitude for international rugby than Aplon, and arguably Ndungane.

Aplon and Hougaard were playing their first final, but the latter’s temperament showed he’s ready for Test rugby at wing and he should come into the selection frame for Tests against France, Italy, and the Tri-Nations. Against the Bulls, Aplon was physically shown up, and on the international stage that will only get worse.

Hougaard showed he has the natural talent to be a success at wing, but his long term future is at scrumhalf. Hougaard will move to No 9 for the Bulls when Du Preez departs for Japan after the World Cup and then he’ll be able to get an extended run in one position.

The luxury for young Bulls players is the climate they are afforded to learn in, and under Du Preez’s guidance, there’s no telling how good Hougaard could become. Speaking to SA Rugby magazine, the Bok No 9 described Hougaard as the best young scrumhalf in the country, and there’s no questioning Du Preez’s estimation.

Hougaard is by no means the finished article, and that showed when he had a forgettable night at Wembley when the Bok dirt-trackers lost to Saracens last year. He’ll need a consistent run in one position to hone his skills, and that will occur from 2012.

Hougaard has all the natural ability to be an attacking threat at scrumhalf and wing. If the game keeps going in the direction it is with the new law interpretations, Hougaard’s running ability from the base with the extra space afforded will ensure he’s a constant threat.

After claiming his first Super 14 title, things can only get better for 22-year-old Hougaard.

By Grant Ball, in Johannesburg

96 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Senga: Reply to this comment

FdP be 28 yrs of age. Still will have a huge roll to play barring injury.

• 52.Die Boek: Reply to this comment

@Senga(Senga)-51:
    To add 2 players to that list
    Stephan Watermeyer (centre/wing)
    Ruan Snyman (scrummie)

• 53.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Senga(Senga)-45: You see now you are doing the very thing that you are accusing him of. Generalising behaviour. By all means have some thing to say about his post, but when you take it a step further and say that it’s typical Cape Town behaviour, you doing just that. Insulting their supporters. Just what you are criticising.

See where I’m going here?

• 54.Senga: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53: I take note. Don’t want to lower myself to that level. Thank you for opening my eyes.

• 55.touchjudge: Reply to this comment

Blixem, Catleya, that is still one hell of a mean team. I have actually forgotten about Kruger for a moment.

• 56.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

Claiming that Hougaard has a greater aptitude for test rugby than Ndungane is a joke. The brothers are certainly not game breaking wingers but they have built their careers on being rock-solid players. Not particularly fast but safe under the high ball, decent kickers and both rarely make mistakes. As I remember Hougaard (in a game against a club side for the Boks) almost single-handedly cost them the victory with a very poor game from his preferred scrumhalf position. I’m not suggesting that this is proof that he can’t adjust to international rugby however there is no evidence to support an assertion that he is better than a guy who has never let the Boks down.

• 57.Boer in beton: Reply to this comment

@Cyborg(Cyborg)-56: You speak the truth there. The twins can be called solid and they have never let the Boks down. But they have never been game breakers or match turners. Hougaard is a game breaker and will be an asset for the Bokke. Cannot compare the twins with Mullet. They bring different things to a team.

You are right though, Hougaard still has to prove he can do it at test level. But he deserves a chance (at wing) He has big game temprament.

• 58.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

@Boer in beton(Boer in beton)-57:
    Fair points, I agree with you. Hougaard has the game-breaking ability which neither of the twins has and in time I have little doubt that he will be an asset for Springbok rugby. I just don’t see the need for the writer to indirectly slate the Ndunganes who actually have international experience and who have been more than competent in that time.

• 59.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Boer in beton(Boer in beton)-57:

Yesterday’s game was of a higher intensity than most test matches.

Hougaard looked pretty good to me.

• 60.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

he must just
    stop
    his crazy
    diving
    when
    scoring

• 61.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Hougaard has that x-factor that you need in a team. stuff happens when he on the ball. he is still very young though, and quite prone to brainfarts. but he will be a regular starter for the Boks. mark my words.

people call him arrogant, and maybe he is, but look at him, he always has this massive grin on his face. he loves playing rugby, its obvious he lives for the game. he’s very confident, and that makes him take chances others wouldn’t. trying to get him to cut his hair and change his so called “attitude” reminds me of a certain World Cup where everyone was forced to behave and shave their hair etc. stand naked in a dam and pump up rugby balls. its an outdated, horrible way of dealing with young talented people, and says more of the person suggesting it than it does of the intended “victim”

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-61: great post

• 63.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@UK Bok(UK Bok)-30: Fourie cannot step?

You must be new to the game then. Welcome, i’m sure you’ll enjoy it very much.

• 64.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-63: Maybe sverve, but step, no way. Hougaard can step,Brent Russell can step, so can Schalk Brits, Breyton Paulse, Juan de Jongh, Ruan Pienaar.
    Jaque Fourie can run around and through defenders but can not sidestep.

• 65.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

Christian Cullen best stepper I have seen. What a legend.

• 66.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@UK Bok(UK Bok)-65: Maybe.

But Carel Dup also, Jason Robinson.

Quade Cooper this year? Although still much to prove.

• 67.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-66: Yes, Jason Robinson was potent.Do you think that Jaque Fourie can step?

I am a big fan of him, but thought he was poor yesterday. Olivier had his number. Was drifting and never passed the ball.

He would be a true great centre if he could offload in the tackle. Best way to do that is to step just in front of attacker and prevent being hit by his shoulder, allowing your arms to be free. O’Driscoll great in that sense. Roberts and O’Driscoll were pure class during Lions tour, attacking space between defenders and then offloading in the tackle.

• 68.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Cyborg(Cyborg)-56:
    Interesting,
    So the Ndunganes aren’t particularly fast and no game breaker, they haven’t scored too many tries between them either
    If you subtract the formality touchdowns they dotted from other players’ effort, their numbers are shrinking further.
    So the question is: what business do they have at Test rugby?

• 69.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Cyborg(Cyborg)-56: Boet if you simply watch rugby there is evidence every game that Francois Hougaard is a better rugby player than either twin.

By quite a distance.

• 70.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-68: Average, provincial players at best. If I was opposition wing I would much rather face Ndungane than Hougaard.

• 71.UK Bok: Reply to this comment

@UK Bok(UK Bok)-70: Hougaard for me the find of the season, if only they will use him for the Boks.

• 72.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I’m a huge Stormers supporter and find Francois Hougaard’s Zef hairstyle funny BUT I’m glad he expresses himself his way. That’s him.

He’s his own person. He’s hungry, he’s in your face, he gives the crowd fire. Love him or hate him…you have to notice him. Rugby is in his bones.

Hy is lus vir rugby.

He is so one fire for success and I love it that he doesn’t speak English to satisfy the English Saffas, Kiwi’s and Convicts on TV interviews. He goei’s in his taal.

We need characters and people who go against the grain to be themselves and not be all sanitised and boring to satify the status quo. They bring greatness into the mix.

He’s a clean rugby man, a good sport and I dig his wild heart. All of us are many things and reflections of each other in SA and I tell you now that anyone who doesn’t approve of him (even his look) is in denial…there’s a bit of a Francois Hougaard in every Bok fan no matter from what walk of life. Don’t deny the slightly rough diamond in yourself. That’s a big part of Saffa honesty.

Lekker. Go Frans Hougaard. Even Habanero must say well done bru. I bet cha! ;-)

• 73.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Bulls’ Ndungane scored ONE try in 11 tests
    The Sharks’ Ndungane scored ONE try in 6 tests
    Both pushing 30 years old now
    Habana scored 36 tries in 57 tests, Paulse scored 26 tries in 64 tests
    Just to keep things in perspective.

• 74.Slowpoisen: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-43:

Jip,does Herchelle Gibbs ring a bell? You betja.Eish maar hy het leke geploeg daar in Fortress Orlando.Telkom se wonderkind…

• 75.pearl rose: Reply to this comment

imagine if francois hougaard was a black, hip hop influenced ongeskirk upstart who only spoke shangaan in interviews and still as windgat as the mullet rat. I do not think many of you would be as accommodating.:D

• 76.Slowpoisen: Reply to this comment

Ag los die laaitie man,hy kook en is entertaining.:D

• 77.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Juan De jongh also has a pretty good step on him. Just ask Curtly beale..

• 78.Slowpoisen: Reply to this comment

Ha ha Beale is good at knocking down balls.Cost the Sharks some teeth ek sê!

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I posted last week that I was more worried about Hougaard than Van Der Heever. For good reason. Pity I wasn’t right about the rest of my predictions… ;)

• 80.gman: Reply to this comment

Hougaard definetly needs a run in the test arena he’s been the form 11 so far this year blistering pace great step and he does’nt dissapear on defense and most importantly not on the end of the line swinging his arms trying for intercepts all the time ..

Maybe Habana needs sometime to get his head straight spend sometime on the wood focus on the game and not on his own glory ..toss

• 81.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Hougaard is a superb ATHLETE.simply superb.great conditioning,power and speed to boot.wing suits his style at present as he is primarily a ball carrier.He doesn’t have the tactical nous,kicking game,decision making aptitude etc but that comes with time.He can be a super sxrumhalf.have seen him
    play 13 at junior level-outstanding.so whichever position he settles in he will excell in experience.wing is easiest to acclimatize to if u are a good ballcarrier. But his kicking,profciency under high ball,positioning in back 3 still suspect.But GREAT with ball in hand-gamebreaker

But I find his insistence to speaking Afrikaans even at Orlando stadium in
    front of a cosmopolitan crowd,international viewers and dignitaries irritating and disrespectful to say the least.Jongi Nokwe is predominatly Xhosa speaking but you never see him not engaging viewers in English when interviewed.

And I’ve heard Hougaard speak English,he’s very eloquent-speaks like Spies.

Don’t have problem with his bravado on the pitch, enjoyed himself and the game.Backs it up through performances.No problem

But ain’t of funny that had he been a Province player or been a different hue he would be getting far different comment from the rugby fraternity…especially in the platterland

hypocrites

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@pearl rose(pearl rose)-75: but he isnt.

he is afikaans, speaking his home language, in front of a crowd that speaks mainly afrikaans.

it is his right, afforded to him by our constitution.

or do you only like certain parts of the constitution?

why dont you busy yourself with making CT “ungovernable” rather than focussing on what language a man communicates in?

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and btw, anyone still seriously touting gio needs to have a serious rethink about what motivates their reasoning.

he is simply too small.

doesnt lack heart though, or skill. but there are bigger players with just as much heart and skill out there.

we all know it.

• 84.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

rangerman

One bad game doesnt discount an entire season.Aplon has been superb.was the highest rated 15 by our Antepodean counterparts.Superb gamebreaker.great under high ball,brave on defence,solid kicking game and excellent speed.plus consistent season.

Jason Robinson only weighed 6-7kgs more than gio.height almost same.yet he was a phenomical player.Russel when first entering Bok scene was Gio size.has more than 25 Test caps.and thy heart/skill quote is presumptuous at best.vd Heever can’t tackle 4 ****,kicking game suspect and often shy away from contact yet all and sundry see him as Bok star.

Sori but ur reasoning here I disagree with.

• 85.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

plus the new AB backup 10 and kid sensation Aaron Cruden is same size as Aplon.and he is the middle of channel where most ball carriers look to attack.no problems there.Size overated esp concerning players with above avg ability,X-factor etc.Aplon is that.

• 86.Craven: Reply to this comment

@allamapstieks(allamapstieks)-41: So you take what “die antwoord” does as a serious lifestyle direction? Then cultivate your mullet, talks english with your ridiculous lekker accent, whatever blows your mullet back my friend. Just remember, die antwoord is a farce, a joke, the band members are just having a bit of fun. Do yourself a favour and read up on what they got up to in their previous musical incarnations. Kudos to them for milking it at the moment, if people fall for it why not make some money out of it.

• 87.pearl rose: Reply to this comment

so Rangerman let us have it out, what is your problem doos? Mshiniwami expresses his IRRITATION with hougaard’s use of die taal in front of what he calls a ‘cosmopolitan crowd in soweto’ just 6 minutes before your post yet he should not focus on making ct ungovernable?

What do i have to do with cape town anyway? You do not know me so stop tring to box me doos!

your leap to the constitution is really so far-fetched, so wind your neck in boy. Kobus Wiese had his hands full having to repeatedly tell viewers to comment in english so as to accommodate supersport’s viewers in australia ;)

• 88.Craven: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-82:

hmmmm… not quite my friend. It is common curteousy to reply to someone in the language they adressed you, if you are able to speak it. And, with the Super 14 being an international competition being broadcast to a lot of countries arouns the world, it is also courtesy to speak in an international language when an interview is conducted with you after the game. You might have constitutional rights, but being thoughtful to others is a trait you might also consider. Perhaps the boy can’t speak english? That would actually be sad, very sad.

• 89.husky: Reply to this comment

I have always like Hougaard and am pleased for him, whether he plays scrumhalf or wing, not sure? Problem is you can’t easily play wing for 6 months, them switch to scrummie and be outstanding. As for Aplon I think one of the tough things with small players is that they are sensational to start with. But in the modern first class and test game where tactics, defence and analysis generally rule, small, nippy guys get worked out and very carefully covered as well as targetted for attacks so their life can become very difficult.

Another thought; interesting that, as I read it Bulls and Stormers backline were coached by Roussouw and Fleck respectively who both shone for WP, and the Boks, mainly on attack, in their day, and often together. Who won Saturday? Well Roussouw obviously and wasn’t Bulls defence so much better than earlier in the season?

• 90.IOU: Reply to this comment

Sooo… wie van die Stormer manne wil my antwoord??
    N week / 2 weke gelede het ek net gehoor hoe goed is die Aplon.
    Hougard het Aplon se naam bollie gemaak en net gewys
    dat Aplon nie Springbok material is nie. Actually suck hy!!
    So groot bek Stormers, wat het van Aplon geword in die game?
    Kom ek raai, die ref het hom seker uit die game uit geblaas ne??
    Dis mos jul antwoord vir als…

• 91.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

kry julle bulle volgende jaar weer in die final … die keer in die Kaap, dan kyk ons … miskien al die Curry Cup

• 92.Slowpoisen: Reply to this comment

Afrikaans speaking lads with an accent always gets mocked on ALL public platforms,fact! So kudus to FH by saying up yours I kan rock in my taal.I see this blatant mockery on a daily basis.

• 93.Slowpoisen: Reply to this comment

On another flat note, where r all the english supporters?With Cobus and co yesterday who phoned in?Seems to me that only afro’s can be called true hardcore rugby supporters…..

• 94.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-68: @SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-69:
    You didn’t read my posts. The issue is not whether Hougaard is a better rugby player than the Nungane brothers but the fallacious statement that he has a better aptitude for international rugby than these two (especially when in his only “B” international appearance for the team he had a shocker). You may list the try scoring stats for the twins but how does this show that Hougaard has more aptitiude than the twins? You can’t and that was the point I was making. Many players have excellent Super 14 / Currie Cup seasons but never quite make the grade in international rugby (WP Nel, Kankowski etc) so I’d suggest that you actually see Francois Hougaard in the test arena before stating that he would do better than the Ndungane’s who actually have a test pedigree.

• 95.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Gio is much better than that piece of dirt!

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@IOU(IOU)-90:

Ja

Stormers are hondkuk en ons praat strond heel dag.

Happy?

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.