Coetzee, Burger escape censure

Stormers duo Allister Coetzee and Schalk Burger won’t face a hearing for slamming Super 14 final referee Craig Joubert.

The Stormers coach and captain both had an open go at Joubert following Saturday’s decider in Soweto. Burger complained that Joubert coached the Bulls, but penalised the Stormers at the breakdown, while Coetzee also lamented the official’s inconsistency.

Burger said he wouldn’t normally criticise a referee, but suggested that the criticism was justified. Saru manager of referees Andre Watson told this website on Monday that Joubert had blown the game fairly, and even supplied some statistics to support the referee.

Despite the Stormers’ outburst, Saru has decided not to refer the matter to Sanzar.

191 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-147:

Lol…..sharp , gunther…..sharp !!

• 152.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-143:

I’m not from the gutter.

• 153.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-143:

I see you are adopting all the Bulls mannerisms.

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

As I’ve said before. The team is good, the supporters suck.

• 155.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

now
    saru has
    done it
    now we
    can
    never
    ever again
    complain
    about the
    gloves
    ozzies
    and kiwis
    get treated
    with
    saru is
    guilty
    as charged
    just like
    that missing
    link
    called
    sulk burger
    should
    have been

• 156.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-154:

stormers suck
    their supporters
    suck

• 157.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-156:

maybe
    but
    you
    suck
    more

• 158.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-157:

nobody
    sucks more
    than a
    stormer
    supporter
    and player
    both on
    the field
    and in
    the
    dressing room

• 159.charo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-144:

mate, you stormers may have never come last.

but they’ve done worse than that…..

one year they failed to even qualify 8)

• 160.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-159:

Talking S14 Charo……S14 ……stop being nasty !!! :)

I’m sure you know how it feels I mean you guys played Sport Pienaar for about 90 years !!! :)

• 161.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-157: Have you entered the ladies only competition? DNKY?

• 162.charo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-160:

hell, those days were harsh.

those bladdy purple people eaters always pipped us.

that’s why the cc final 1990 v ntvl was so sweet – watson you biscuit.

• 163.gunther: Reply to this comment

LOL charo

That was the year after joseph’s technicolour dreamjersey….

I always thought missing a year of superrugby was the absolute minimum punishment for that sartorial faux pas…

• 164.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-162:

LOl….remember that try well……was indeed a great day for the then Natal !!!

• 165.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-161:

Yes

• 166.scorpion: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-158: ok we get the point…stormers supporters suck…now get a fkking life you doos.

• 167.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-158:

Nobody
    sucks
    more
    than
    porras
    who
    admit
    they are
    fat
    and
    can’t see
    their
    willies

• 168.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-163:

Talking about the purple people eaters, remember eric Herbert, he came to Province , I think he lasted 3 games and “verlanged” for Welkom so much he went home !!!

How’s that ? Welkom over CT…..there’s a first !!!

• 169.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-163:

It was ugly, even to us !!

• 170.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-167: :lol:

• 171.charo: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-163:

sartorial was hardly the word.

if i remember correctly, some colour blind designer tried to combine wp, boland and swd into one strip.

garish

in fact …. dare i say it….nauseating?

a bladdy good excuse to puke

• 172.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@scorpion(capestormer)-166:

Well that’s as direct as one can get !! :)

• 173.charo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-168:

if i recall correctly, he came from kzn south coast originally.

obviously not your typical south coast boytjie poaching shad in the off season.

ok, 1st tee is calling and i am a bit late.

• 174.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-171:

called the Western force then…….geez those jerseys were awful !

• 175.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-173:

Never be late for a tee off…….simply not done !!!

Cheers !!

• 176.gunther: Reply to this comment

LOL the western force sounds like a bad science fiction movie..

I remember eric the eel herbert he was like a third rate naas…

Man those Welkom sunsets are something..

• 177.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-176:

Would not know, I made it my mission to pass through after dark !! :)

• 178.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@scorpion(capestormer)-166:

don’t forget
    stormer
    players
    suck too

• 179.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-167:

no porra
    cab be
    that fat
    maybe
    your cuzzin
    but he’s
    no porra
    the skinny
    little runt
    you have
    no reason
    to know
    about your
    cuzzin

• 180.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

just watched the game again. stormers got coached plenty, what was interesting to see, that i didnt see first time round was how Sulk spoke to the ref. eish.

also the Strompies got away with a bunch of high tackles, especially in light of what Steyn got penalised for.

also how many times did Meisiekind and Jaco catch and hold Fourie & De Jongh up in a tackle? Fourie didnt get kak overnight. it was a massive defensive display from the Bulls midfield.

also januarie may be slow and fat, but he has a good pass. cant they work on his fitness? surely they must have the expertise for that?

• 181.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Du preez kicks, Pietersen fields, Moses tackles and rolls out teh way immediately. Steenkamp get there as moses is rolling away, is on his feet and grabs the ball, pietersen, lying on his side, holds onto the ball, steenkamp, on his feet wrestles for it, Sulk arrives, ref blows the penalty. rightly so, steenkamp had right to that ball, pietersen had opportunity to place but didnt, as there was no support.

Sulk swears at ref throws his hands up and walks away like Joubert just shagged his cat.

ridiculous

• 182.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

i do agree that the Bekker turnaround penalty was ridiculous though.

• 183.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

72 mins into the game, Moses monsters Grant in a massive tackle. did he use arms? Vermeulen covers, rucks over grant, grabs Moses, looks up for the ref and launches a headbutt at the back of Moses’ head. the fact that he misses is almost besides the point.

• 184.blueboy: Reply to this comment

How long are you 2ndrates going to whinge about getting your arses kicked (and deservedely so)you got beat accept it and get on with it,i mean there is always next year,and the next year, and the next year and the next year,maybe sometime in the next decade you might get to another final maybe even the vodacom cup final if you are a little bit lucky and you will probably get the bulls and they will klap you again.

• 185.NSWStormer: Reply to this comment

Various posters – Joubert went “nuts” against the Bulls in the last 10 minutes.
    2 possibiliites. The Bulls started to get so cynical in their game that even he could not ignore what was going on. Schalk was getting in his ear – perhaps the communication eventually started getting through.
    He would also have known that his stats were against the Stormers – very strongly so in fact. He would also have been aware at half time that he had made some blunders in the first half. Don’t for a moment think he wouldn’t have known that his defence would have been based around the stats that Watson put out later. Those last 10 minutes made this defecnce more credible.

I don’t think he cheated. I don’t think there was some grand conspiracy against the Stormers. I just think he was incompetant and made some bad decisions. There don’t have to be dozens – just a few key decisions on which the game turns. Those he certainly made.

I was hoping for a game where the referee wasn’t the talking point afterward. Where both sides could truly say – the best side on the day won. I was expecting hte Bulls to win and won my SuperBru pool by backing them. However, the way in which it was done – through no fault of their own, I might add – sticks in the craw.

When the ref stuffs up – as he did here – there shoould be clear communication that this happened – as was the case with Paul Marks earlier. It won’t change the result of course – that is in history now. But too many games this Super 14 have been strongly adversely affected by incompetant referees – most of them Australian, by the way – it would have been good for the final to be unsullied.

• 186.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

its a self fulfilling prophecy. “we just wanted a game where the ref wouldnt be a talking point afterwards”

****. if it wasnt the ref it would have been something else. the only talking point should be how the Stormers were completely dominated and committed too few players to the breakdown, causing them to get monstered. which told in the early stats.

thats how the Bulls have been playing all season, and in effect how the Stormers have played all season. applying pressure, causing the penalties to mount. the bulls were just better, and as some people couldnt handle that (read: Keo) the ref gets blamed.

SARU have released the stats from the game, but thats not good enough? nothing will be.

well done to the Stormers supporters who have manned up about the result. no ifs. buts, or maybes.

• 187.stephen: Reply to this comment

@Nartjie(Nartjie)-37: strange NARTJIE, I would have thought you would be far more supportive of Burger and Coetzee, seeing as what happened in the final proved you to be 100% correct.. ?? dont you recall saying before the game that Joubert would ref kak like he did?? now that it happens, you dont want anyone to talk about it?? you should be shouting from the roof tops that you were right, and CJ stuffed up the final.. or dont u like being right??

• 188.JEZ: Reply to this comment

Matt Giteau got nailed for effectively calling Steve Walsh a c###. Despite overwhelming evidence that Giteau’s assessment of Walsh was accurate he still got fined and disciplined.
    How Burger and Coetzee have avoided censure completely escapes me.
    You cannot have players and coaches making statements of this nature to the press.

• 189.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@mainland(mainland)-112: HAHAHA!!!!! Post of the week!!!

• 190.seamus: Reply to this comment

I still can’t believe this. Complete and utter bullsh1t! Both should have heavy fines.

• 191.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

The Cape Mafiosi took charge and viola! Schalkie and Allie go free. Corruption and Affirmative Action with one stone. It is high time to get rid of the spinelss Andre Watson.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.