Expect a red hot Cardiff clash
4 Jun 2010
There is no such thing as a ‘nothing’ Test. Saturday’s Bok confrontation with Wales in Cardiff has significance.
The Springboks, in the build-up to the 2007 World Cup, relished every chance they had to play – and beat – England. Even when they thrashed an England side in South Africa missing the core of their regulars the Boks spoke up the meaning of constantly winning against blokes wearing the English white jersey.
Wales have only beaten the Boks once in 100 years, but they’ve come bloody close on a couple of occasions, and the 20-15 Bok win in Cardiff in 2008 could very easily have been a Welsh victory.
Both teams are missing regulars, but it is by no means the best of Wales against a second string Bok team. It is the best available Welsh team and it isn’t that far off the best Bok team, especially now that Fourie du Preez is out for the year.
The Bok tight five is the best that currently can be selected and while I’d always select Schalk Burger and Juan Smith to start at next year’s World Cup, Francois Louw and Dewald Potgieter were the form South African loose-forwards in the Super 14. Joe van Niekerk has been outstanding at flank and No 8 for Toulon for the last two years and there isn’t much to choose between an in-form Van Niekerk and a firing Pierre Spies.
At halfback one of Ricky Januarie or Ruan Pienaar will start for the Boks this season and how they perform against Wales will have a huge bearing on the Boks’ season. The Springboks cannot play the same quality kicking game without Du Preez and his unavailability is a leveller because it forces the Boks to adjust their attack.
Butch James should have played and the intention was always to move Pienaar to halfback in the second half and James to flyhalf. Hypocrisy and greed, in terms of Player Welfare and remuneration, means James has to watch from the stands. It is an opportunity lost.
Jaque Fourie is the best outside centre in South Africa, Francois Steyn is the best selection at fullback and Juan de Jongh has been on the rise all season and would have been in an extended Bok squad, regardless of Jean de Villiers’s availability and that of Bulls centre Wynand Olivier.
Gio Aplon and Francois Hougaard were the most exciting of the wingers in the competition and are fighting it out for one place with JP Pietersen and Lionel Mapoe injured. So when you consider a match 22 of who is fit to play for the Boks in the next two months, the players missing for Cardiff are Bakkies Botha, Burger, Spies, Morne Steyn, Bryan Habana and one of De Villiers or Olivier at inside centre.
This team isn’t as second rate as some have made out, and 10 of those starting in Cardiff would always start.
The preparation for the Boks has not been easy because of the chaos around James’s selection and withdrawal three times in three days. What is important in the context of the Test is the presence of John Smit and Victor Matfield, the two most experienced tight forwards currently playing international rugby.
Wales, since Warren Gatland became coach, have closed the gap on the Boks in every Test, and there is a belief within the Welsh squad that Saturday will be the occasion they actually close it completely and win.
I would not bet my house against it happening. Victory for the Boks will show this side can win without the halfback kicking game of Du Preez and (Morne) Steyn, which as a combination has no equal in rugby.
Defeat will give every one of the chasing pack belief that there is a vulnerability to the Boks when Du Preez isn’t wearing No 9.
I don’t buy the dismissive attitude some have to this Test. I think it is massively significant in terms of the World Cup and because of the nature of the build-up trying to pick a winner would be the equal of picking a lotto number.
You’ll know within the first five minutes who is going to come out on top, but on a Friday afternoon trying to call this one would be like taking a leak in the dark. You may think you know which way it is going, but there can’t be any certainty.
If the Boks win this Test it has to be acknowledged what a good win it is. If they lose, there has to be a similar acknowledgement that the defeat will have an impact on their season and especially their pysche with respect to Wales at next year’s World Cup.

294 Comments
4 Jun 2010, 14:29 pm
Damned if you do, damned if you don’t dragons
4 Jun 2010, 14:30 pm
excellent article Keo…many valid points and 1 huge point is that 10 of the team would be regular starters regardless.
Many fans/bloggers have forgotten this and therefore assume its a waste of a team/fixture.
Tough game and i would try grooming mvovo or hurdles now that jp injured.
4 Jun 2010, 14:32 pm
There’s just no way we are going to lose this one…
4 Jun 2010, 14:32 pm
This may be 70% our best team but with less than week to prepare there is no way we can crush these dragon wannabees. I think we will win but its going to be real tight affair.
4 Jun 2010, 14:33 pm
“Taking a leak in the dark”
Pure poetry
4 Jun 2010, 14:41 pm
Keo,
“This team isn’t as second rate as some have made out, and 10 of those starting in Cardiff would always start.”
That might be the case, but taking into account the overall 22, it is a very sub-par Bok side.
In a nutshell, the bench is piss-poor.
4 Jun 2010, 14:48 pm
@willievz(willievz)-6: agreed poor bench but if they beat us they will take confidence that they have beaten the core of our best side and not a Bok midweek special
4 Jun 2010, 14:50 pm
Its not tough to take a leak in the dark if you wee in the sink.
After all the drivel after the final, Keo finally shows that he has some common sense as a journalist. Who is his ghost writer?
4 Jun 2010, 14:51 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-8: Don’t worry I’ve locked that Keo away until next year’s Bulls v Stormers Super 15 final!
4 Jun 2010, 14:52 pm
The things that might scupper the Boks are: the chaos of the last week, tiredness after the Super 14 final and a lack of preperation time.
If the Boks do win tomorrow, a lot of the Northern Hemisphere teams will be very worried.
4 Jun 2010, 14:54 pm
@keo(keo)-9:
Who the hell are you then?
4 Jun 2010, 14:55 pm
@keo(keo)-9: Hopefully the Stormers won’t do a Chiefs or a Bulls from 2008!
4 Jun 2010, 14:55 pm
One ray of light: Last time Januarie & Pienaar started at 9 & 10, we put over 40 on England at Twickenham.
4 Jun 2010, 15:01 pm
well…..here goes….i will say it…..
i take huge comfort in the knowledge that smit is there to lead the boks tomorrow from 2.
said it….its the truth….
4 Jun 2010, 15:02 pm
Only 5 Jones’s in the 22.
What is the quota?
4 Jun 2010, 15:03 pm
@grant10(grant10)-14:
Has your Doctor changed your medication Grunter?
4 Jun 2010, 15:05 pm
@grant10(grant10)-14:
The truth? We can’t handle the truth.
4 Jun 2010, 15:05 pm
@grant10(grant10)-14: Now you can go eat your blue speedo!
4 Jun 2010, 15:07 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-12: I know the Stormers won’t. Only difference next year is we will host final in Guguletu against the Bulls
4 Jun 2010, 15:08 pm
“A leak in the dark”, is a true gem.
However, ……………….I suspect, Keo has soiled the leg of many a companion over the years.
4 Jun 2010, 15:09 pm
While this may not be far from the best Bok side percentage wise, you have to agree that the key personnel that are missing double the potency of the Bok side.
It’s fine to talk about injuries at the moment, but compare it to the ideal team that will start the World Cup and you have the following heavy artillery pieces missing:
Smith, Brussouw and Spies, in other words our entire loose trio – the best back row in the world.
Fourie du Preez – Enough said.
Morne Steyn – Need I say more.
Jean de Villiers/Wynand Olivier – both light years more solid than the rookie starting on Saturday.
Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen.
Really, taking the NAMES and not just the numbers into account, this is very far from our best team. It’s like taking Carter and Mccaw out of the All Black team, only we’re talking heavyweights in just about EVERY position between 5 and 15.
4 Jun 2010, 15:14 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: Have to disagree with your “Rookie” verdict. That “rookie” with Mossie were the best center partnership over the course of the S14. On defence especially… They work well together it seems. Hopefully they can translate their Stormers midfield solidity to test level. This is a good match to try this out… Obviously Meisiekind on his own has performed and will be in the mix but he does not quite gel with Fourie yet. MAybe more gametime needed together. But De Jongh and Fourie as a package are a damn decent deal…
4 Jun 2010, 15:17 pm
At least we have a proper tight5 now. Now the next challenge is to get a proper tight5 AND a world class halfback pairing on the field at the same time.
Next year just prior to the 2011 RWC we can start working on getting the right center and back three combos right, simultaneously, preferably.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-22:
So if it wasn’t Olivier but De Villiers, would you still suggest the De Jongh/Fourie partnership is a better one?
There you go grantie better out than in.
Nice to see a return to form from keo after that guff you dished up over the last week..
Stormers by 10…honestly.
Even a bok team without 8 first choice players should be too good for the men from the valleys…,
That said the bench looks thin to me.
4 Jun 2010, 15:18 pm
@keo(keo)-19: Thats if the Aussies haven’t manipulated the Super 15 so that all finals have to take place at the Syndey Football Stadium in order to fund the Waratahs dreams of playing attacking rugby.
4 Jun 2010, 15:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-22:
Part of why I believe it’s so important to have the Bok upcoming loose trio be of one union, at this time in history, sorry to say, it’s at the Blue Bulls.
4 Jun 2010, 15:24 pm
I agree with TAC (did i actually admit to that?) but it’s true, if anything, this game shows how we are lightyears ahead of any other team in world rugby regarding depth.
look at the names mia and you’ll agree, come 2011 we will have a very strong squad to take to the land of the long white cloud.
bring back
bakkies, schalk, juan and spies, fdp and morne steyn, jdv and habana and you’re takling more than half the team. 8 out of 15.
keo, this article could so easily have been twisted the other way. it’s in the eye of the beholder i guess.
4 Jun 2010, 15:25 pm
Best news ever, Keo tip a Bulls – Stormers final for 2011, that means the Sharks have a 1 in 13 chance of making the final! The Bulls and Stormers won’t even feature….
Why isn’t anyone buying tickets to watch the Boks in Witbank? The price is right (R250)
4 Jun 2010, 15:25 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: @keo(keo)-19: The only comment I would like to make is that we kinda tried to tell ourselves the same thing when the Bulls B side went down to Cape Town, on paper they were similar sides in terms of number of boks, partnerships etc. BUT the lack of game time and settled partnerships was telling in the end with important things like defencive structures and not having settled descion makes (8,9,10,12) going astray!
The difference is that Wales is in a similar boat when it comes to game time as a unit. So I’m very cautious when we start trying to justify our side by saying look at the numbers!
4 Jun 2010, 15:27 pm
@gunther(gunther)-25: i can’t see how the welsh will stop themselves giving away penalties outside our 22…..and steyn will take care of the rest.
4 Jun 2010, 15:29 pm
my pants is red hot
4 Jun 2010, 15:29 pm
Gio Aplon, for all his S14 brilliance, is not an international winger.
He got badly shown up by the Bulls in a Test-like S14 final and looked like a primary school child mixing it with the big boys.
He’s too small. Groom Shadow
4 Jun 2010, 15:32 pm
@seamus(seamus)-33:
Not so much his size as his indecisiveness.
4 Jun 2010, 15:33 pm
@AlterEgo(AlterEgo)-30: ja
we moered you okes stukkend.
we will sort out your a team next year in Gugs as well….
matter of time
4 Jun 2010, 15:33 pm
@seamus(seamus)-33: i agree on aplon. too small, but then breytie could mix it up in his days, and he scored countless tries. let’s see…
4 Jun 2010, 15:36 pm
1 week to prepare. Few combinations. Players not playing in their preferred positions.
I’d say that we fans have every right to be worried.
As for the 10 players that should be starting, I’m not sure how you get that?
None of our 1st choice loosies are playing. Our top inside centre’s aren’t playing. Our top wings aren’t playing. Our top flyhalf and scrumhalf aren’t there and we’re missing one of our locks?
To be clear we are missing:
Spies
Smith
Brussouw
Botha
FDp
Steyn
JDV
Habana
JPP
That’s 9 players, who would ALWAYS start if they were fit/available?
Whilst this is a good test of depth and naturally I hope they perform and win, I think it’s a little unreasonable to give the impression that 10 of those starting would be assured a spot anyway. At best, the front row, Matfield and Fourie would be the only guys in this side who would make the Bok 1st team at full strength.
4 Jun 2010, 15:37 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-24: To tell the truth on current form only – on a center partnership level – De Jongh and Mossie. Yes, JdV has more test caps and experience but his current form is not brilliant. He still has to get “back in the game” as such after some slomo rugby in the Magners league and a not entirely successful time for Munster in the HC. I believe that Steyn + Mossie combo would trump the lot… But this is a great opportunity for JdJ and not without merit (unlike Januarie, Odungane, Ralepelle) and is better than having Butch at 12.
4 Jun 2010, 15:39 pm
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-37: see my post at 28. i agree completely.
4 Jun 2010, 15:40 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-27: You forget about Juan Smith. Full stop.
4 Jun 2010, 15:42 pm
Burger, B du Plessis?
4 Jun 2010, 15:44 pm
i normally will able to give a 1 st team bok side sommer quick sticks…..
i am now seriously confused.
4 Jun 2010, 15:45 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-40:
No I didn’t…I’ve only just read that he lengthened his contract with the Cheetahs.
Ja, ok.
I did.
4 Jun 2010, 15:46 pm
lengthened=extended
forgive the afrikaans english. “verleng”
4 Jun 2010, 15:47 pm
Very true Keo I think a lot of us are underestimating this game at our peril.
With a relatively new look team and 1 week to prepare I wouldn’t put it past an ever improving and extremely motivated Welsh side to put one past us. The master stroke of Warren Gatland and a duanting home crowd for any opposing side will make this a very tough game.
We’re still in that old mindset which almost sees a victory against a NH side as a foregone conclusion. The truth is Wales have been closing that gap year on year and when playing at home they aren’t far off.
Pienaar has plenty of talent but has never proven any level of consistency in a Bok jersey yet at Flyhalf.
4 Jun 2010, 15:48 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-40:
But due to Juan’s leave till August…in the mean time…
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-43: He has experience and form despite his personal grief.
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: Dont forget Gurthro Steenkamp. He is a monster in all facets of front row play
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-47:
A real Bok hardman. Like Andre Venter.
4 Jun 2010, 15:52 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-48: That he has been and his performances against top tightheads over the last few months justify him having a bite at making the position his own.
4 Jun 2010, 15:53 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-49: Yeah, but with more brains and less of an anger short-circuit…
4 Jun 2010, 15:53 pm
Keo, do you seriously think that an in-form Joe is on a par with Spies? I must admit that I have not seen Joe play for the last couple of seasons, but it will be interesting to see if he can match Spies’ speed, strength and anticipation
4 Jun 2010, 15:54 pm
Grantie
Are the stormers playing in gugs next year?
What stadium would that be?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-51: Forgive me I was thinking AJ Venter. I give myself a huge biff. There is only ONE Andre Venter… Farksakes. Apologies muchos…
@grant10(grant10)-35: Hey buddy, that was a little rude!
I suppose th comment is deserved and your point is exactly what I’m trying to illustrate…
As for the Stormers I will at least give you guys credit for being eternally optimistic!!!
We’ll cross that bridge next year in the S15, in the mean time let me say, welcome back to the Stormers, about time you guys came to the party! Let’s use that to make the BOKKE top of the world!!!
@keo(keo)-19: who is we paleface?
first you claim that you are a bulls supporter and that your crit of C. Joubert was based on “fair play” blah blah blah and that you were “wearing your bulls jersey proudly”.
then you say “only difference is next year WE will host the final in gugulethu against the bulls”
haha, i guess you just confirmed that you are just another bad loser.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-51:
Don’t confuse anger-management issues with sterness.
4 Jun 2010, 15:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-50: I think G Botha has a lot to do with his rise to form this year. Wonder how he will fare with another hooker in the Bok jersey? Although Smit and Bismarck do not give much away to Botha as scrummagers
@grant10(grant10)-35: tounge firmly in cheek obviosuly!!!
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-57: Of course not – I hurriedly posted to correct…
4 Jun 2010, 15:57 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-58: He can’t do worse with Smit as his hooker on the scrumming front.
4 Jun 2010, 15:58 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-58: smit is the top scrummaging hooker in sa.
ask tiaan liebenberg.
4 Jun 2010, 15:58 pm
@gunther(gunther)-53:
Ja, and don’t expect any porta-potties either. ANCYL will confiscate ‘em.
4 Jun 2010, 15:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-60:
See 6 or 7 comments came down at once like a torrent
4 Jun 2010, 15:59 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-56:
Ranger you haven’t by any chance been gored by a Buffalo today have you?
4 Jun 2010, 16:00 pm
Let me say it loud and clear and then you can say that you heard it here first: Saturday will see the rise of a Springbok star – Francois Louw.
4 Jun 2010, 16:01 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-62:
In all fairness, Smit didn’t have Mollig and Brok’n next to him.
4 Jun 2010, 16:01 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-62: Yeah, I will concede that any day. We should not judge Tiaan on that one performance, though. He was up against the best scrumming no 2 in the world. I think he has a future as a Bok.
4 Jun 2010, 16:02 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-62:
I think this Keo is an imposter.
@GI POT(GI POT)-66:
Nah…we’ve heard it before. And read it too.
HG
Juan Smith and Bakkies are the heart and soul of the bok pack.
Ask keo to tell you about Juans boxing performance at camp staaldrad…
@GI POT(GI POT)-52: Big Joe has been playing at 6 for most of the season for Toulon. Their number 8 is Fernandez-Lobbe… So a bit of a selection for Joe made on past reputation at 8 for the Boks.
4 Jun 2010, 16:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-69:
Did you receive my up-to-date apology on the other thread, Dawn?
4 Jun 2010, 16:03 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-68:
Tiaan will always be an “emerging Bok”
4 Jun 2010, 16:04 pm
@gunther(gunther)-71: I heard about Bakkies performance with Selbourne Boome… Juan Smith’s will be an interesting story…
4 Jun 2010, 16:04 pm
@gunther(gunther)-71:
He was a Bloem bouncer too years ago. Can dish out a real outydse Vrystaatse PK.
4 Jun 2010, 16:05 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-67: You took the words right out of my mouth. It is damn nice to have so many good hookers to choose from and suddenly the prop situation is looking up as well
1. Gurthro
2. J Smit
3. BJ
1. Beast
2. T Liebenberg
3. W Kruger
Gary Botha, Bismarck, Jannie, CJ, Coenie Oosthuizen (rate him highly)
4 Jun 2010, 16:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-62: And as such he makes his props look good. If only he had a top scrummaging hooker playing alongside when he was TH
4 Jun 2010, 16:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72:
Indeed. but Vermuelen is in all likelihood already settled in Pdiv’s heart as 8thman backup for Spies this yr?
4 Jun 2010, 16:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-74: I suppose so, after all, Chili is much better than he is
4 Jun 2010, 16:07 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-73:
Should I believe it?
4 Jun 2010, 16:08 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-56: we as in those of us based in Cape Town. Didn’t know you would need a geography lesson!
4 Jun 2010, 16:08 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-77:
IMO:
best
1 CJ
2 Bismarck
3 BJ
2nd best
1 Steenkamp
2 Smit
3 Kruger
3rd best
1 Beast
2 G Botha
3 J Dup
?
4 Jun 2010, 16:09 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-80: Sorry, loggin off now to go and take my tablets. The shrink says the voices will stop eventually, but I feel special because they only talk to me
4 Jun 2010, 16:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-81:
Yes. not the one where I’m yanking your crank. the last one.
And there’s a question added about my uncertainty.
4 Jun 2010, 16:10 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-79: Maybe.
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-65:
no man, i actually forgot my smilie.
i am peachy, the sea looks good and the boks play tomorrow.
hows things with you?
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-67: @GI POT(GI POT)-68: i rate tiaan. he is a class act and imo he and bizness will be our two top hookers when JS retires.
@Dawn(Dawn)-69: i agree. either that or he is related to the flip-flop fish. a brazen sea creature able to evade fishing nets due to the lack of spine.
@GI POT(GI POT)-84:
You don’t wanna know what they’ve been saying about you behind your back to me mate.
4 Jun 2010, 16:11 pm
@keo(keo)-82: The only place in the world where teh sun never sets hey Keo. It only disappears when Cape-Townians sit down.
4 Jun 2010, 16:12 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-78:
@keo(keo)-82: those of you based in capetown?
AGAINST the bulls?
will “those of you based in capetown” playing “against the bulls” be “wearing your bulls jersies proudly”?
4 Jun 2010, 16:12 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-83: There is no way that CJ is a test level loosehead prop. He is a tighthead – finish and klaar. I saw him get hammered on that side of the scrum in the HC this year. He is good enough to start with and have BJ come on as replacement. Steenkamp is in a class of his own this year. There is not one tighthead that could handle him in the S14. I heard from WP Nel that he reckons that Gurthro is the one guy he was clueless against
4 Jun 2010, 16:13 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-78: LOL. Well said!!!
4 Jun 2010, 16:14 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-89: BWAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!
was that a geography lesson or does it fit into the biology curriculum?
@GI POT(GI POT)-77: Which hooker most catches your eye?
@rangerman(rangerman)-87:
Jaaa, I prefer G Botha. I don’t like it when players have boeppies. It’s unnecessary.
But Tiaan is a bit life-wire. The thing a always appreciate about him, is that he’s the guy that is always shouting, and I mean SHOUTING, encouragement and chriping.
You ALWAYS need a guy like that in the team, often you develop an agenda on the field for some reason…and these guys just bring you right back down to earth and remind you of your place and that it’s just a game.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-88: Oh no – here comes the paranoia again…where the damn car keys
Cheers everyone – have a great weekend and COME THE BOKS!!!!
4 Jun 2010, 16:15 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-89: LOL.!!!
4 Jun 2010, 16:15 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-91: funny that because wp nel took an almighty hammering from 80% of the looseheads he played this year.
4 Jun 2010, 16:16 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-52: As an athlete, Joe is certainly not in Spies’ class.
As a nr8, however, he is certainly on par.
4 Jun 2010, 16:17 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-91:
Perhaps, Beast and Gurthro are in line.
I’d pick Heinkie vd Merwe anytime prior to his knee injury.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-95: after the 2011 wc, g. botha will be too old to feature consistently for the boks i think.
good player.
@GI POT(GI POT)-96:
bye
@willievz(willievz)-99: On current form, you have got to be joking…
4 Jun 2010, 16:18 pm
@willievz(willievz)-99: When last did you see Joe play number 8?
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-100: Agile,
what do you think of SA Rugby’s efforts trying to convert Heinke to a nr3?
As I remember it he boxed against big joe and sent him to the hurt locker…
When big joe came around again he thought he was a rare goats cheese from Provence…
I think he had trouble with solid food for a bit too… Which was handy at camp Stalingrad…
ok, i am outta here!
BOKKKKKKKKKKKKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!
p.s. keo, its cool if you are one of those reversible jersey kinda guys, seriously
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-94: The one on the street corner in Long Street did not look too shabby
I am biased towards Liebenberg because of his mobility, aggression in the loose and ability to break tackles…and he plays for the Stormers
John Smit is the best choice for various reasons
1. Captaincy
2. Player respect
3. Opposition respect
4. Partnership with Matfield and Botha
5. Management abilities, including PDV
The guy is untouchable imo
4 Jun 2010, 16:19 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-101:
Gary 29, fit Smit 32?
Can still get a good 2 years outta Gary… especially seeing as, unlike Smit, he won’t have his life-expectancy shortened on the side of the scrum at 3.
4 Jun 2010, 16:20 pm
@willievz(willievz)-105:
What do you think of it?
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-89:
Glad you understand then !!
Am soooooooo tired.
Gimme strength.
4 Jun 2010, 16:21 pm
@GI POT(GI POT)-108: She is pretty cheap also.
Yeah, John Smit at 2 until he retires is the way I see it. I hope they have forever put the idea of Smit at prop to rest. Bismarck can sit on the bench until Smit decides to retire, or even Liebenberg or Gary Botha if Bismarck’s attitude is still miserable.
It was amazing to see the difference Smit at 2 made to the Sharks when he shifted there. I would just like to see him drop a couple of kgs.
4 Jun 2010, 16:22 pm
Rangerman, keo has always supported stormers. From as long as I can remember.
Anyway, met the Bulls top management at pecanwood today, also got to pick up the s14 and Currie Cup trophies. Flippen heavy. A good 7-10kgs each
@gunther(gunther)-106: LOL. Big Joe got a bit of a glass jaw!!? Probably was sniffing for Mummy after that…
@GI POT(GI POT)-108:
You’re saying that John Smit manages Pdivvy?
4 Jun 2010, 16:23 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-107: Yeah, light Blue on the outside and Christmas tree (as in the original Stormer jersey design) on the inside…
@Dawn(Dawn)-112:
Iiiiiiiiist the weekeeeeeeeeend BABY!!!
Damn.
Now Drogba is out of the World Cup too.
@Partizan(Partizan)-114: Did they notice when you stuck the Super 14 trophy in your pocket and tried to sneak away?
4 Jun 2010, 16:24 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-118:
only swap the s and the t and badabing badaboom.
4 Jun 2010, 16:25 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-119: So what…
4 Jun 2010, 16:26 pm
I need to leeeaaan on something. Or someone.
4 Jun 2010, 16:26 pm
@Partizan(Partizan)-114:
Did you kiss them? (The trophies)
4 Jun 2010, 16:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-116: Nothing escapes you my friend
Outta here.
4 Jun 2010, 16:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-121:
Haven’t you recovered from your hangover yet.
It’s 16h30 THE NEXT DAY already.
4 Jun 2010, 16:28 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-123:
Is your chair ergonomic? Get up drink a glass of cold water, stretch for a couple of minutes, and do some pushups.
ferdinand out of world cup!feeling gutted for the bloke…captain of your country and gone seven days before the start of the world cup.
@Dawn(Dawn)-126:
What hangover? I wasn’t drunk last night.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-122:
Who pissed on your battery.
4 Jun 2010, 16:29 pm
@scorpion(capestormer)-128: So what…?
@Dawn(Dawn)-123: I know of a Nigerian that can hook you up with some special white powder.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-103: Spies still has a lot to learn about the 8 berth. He can become the complete article with time as his technical knowledge about positional play (especially on defense) improves.
However, I fully agree that his name should feature on a starting Bok XV team sheet. He is one of a few players opposition sides genuinely fear.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-104: He mostly plays as a blindsider for Toulon, but has played a decent amount of rugby from the back of the scrum too in recent times.
He is my backup to Spies, performing a similar role Bob Skinstad performed at RWC 2007.
@Dawn(Dawn)-130: Go lean on a goal post.
4 Jun 2010, 16:31 pm
@willievz(willievz)-133: Yup, fair enough.
4 Jun 2010, 16:31 pm
@willievz(willievz)-133: I want to see what Big Joe can do in southern hemisphere rugby before I include him in any squad. A lot of players who dominate up north and spend a lot of time up north barely feature when playing Super 14.
4 Jun 2010, 16:32 pm
@willievz(willievz)-133:
“Spies still has a lot to learn about the 8 berth. He can become the complete article with time as his technical knowledge about positional play (especially on defense) improves.”
Yes, we know…they remind us in every SARugby edition.
4 Jun 2010, 16:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-131: you don’t need to comment to all posts you prick!
4 Jun 2010, 16:35 pm
@scorpion(capestormer)-138: You snooze, you lose…
4 Jun 2010, 16:35 pm
@scorpion(capestormer)-128:
All the top players are dropping like flies.
Won’t give us much of a World Cup.
4 Jun 2010, 16:36 pm
@scorpion(capestormer)-138:
Don’t be jealous! You can be that good too. Just try a little harder.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134:
Shut up.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-139:
Snap
4 Jun 2010, 16:37 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-142:
==========JUDGE DAWNER==========
4 Jun 2010, 16:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-131:
I don’t think I’ve ever come across such a complete doos.
4 Jun 2010, 16:38 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-87:
I’m good thanks bru!
Wasn’t insinuating anything with that comment, was just reading the news on News24 and thought of you as some poor ranger in KZN felt the wrath of a charging buffalo today.
I’m outta here , its a beautiful afternoon here in Holland, time to barbecue
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134:
Is there actually a woman on this planet who has decided to allow you within 50 feet?
4 Jun 2010, 16:39 pm
Without recoiling with revulsion?
@Dawn(Dawn)-145: A doos tickle your fancy… That makes sense Ms Toolbox
@Dawn(Dawn)-145:
That’s just the thing Dawn…you haven’t ever come across him.
4 Jun 2010, 16:40 pm
Do you address this poor unfortunate soul with the same venom you spew at me?
4 Jun 2010, 16:41 pm
Sorry for being such a ********…what does this mean:
“…go lean on a goal post”?
4 Jun 2010, 16:41 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-150:
And then she still comes back for more?
4 Jun 2010, 16:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-153:
It means what it says, sewer-brain.
“Go lean on a goal post”
Like .. a football goal post?
4 Jun 2010, 16:43 pm
*’s = D utchman
Hey! Keo I believe I’m entitled to use D-utchman seeing as I’m one.
These *’s are a little rediculous.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-136: That is a fair point, but look at it from a broader squad perspective.
Of course the player needs to be good enough, and you might argue that it is difficult to compare Joe to our other emerging nr8s domestically. I for one don’t buy a comparison between North and South, with the latter camp claiming superiority over the former. There are too many variables to consider here and is a PhD topic in its own right.
My view is that an overseas player can add diversity to the squad mix by injecting cultural capital and general knowledge stock. Add to it a 50-test veteran with leadership abilities and you can add a lucrative stock to an already impressive portfolio.
Look at the value Gary Botha added to the Bulls scrum in 2010.
If managed well, Joe should go to New Zealand in 2011.
@Dawn(Dawn)-152: Thats just been friendly. This is like a cat tapping a caught lizard with its paw… Its too easy…
@Dawn(Dawn)-155:
I don’t get it.
4 Jun 2010, 16:44 pm
@scorpion: #128 good riddance to bad rubbish! I hate Rio! I remember a poster made by Leeds fans after he left them for Manure “Rio is scum and he knows it Classic!
4 Jun 2010, 16:44 pm
@gunther(gunther)-106:
Hahaha…you need to go and write for hayibo dot com dude! Your posts often give me a good laugh.
4 Jun 2010, 16:45 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-158:
Oooooooooooooooo
You so scarey!
4 Jun 2010, 16:46 pm
@willievz(willievz)-157:
Willie, you didn’t answer me on what you think about Heinke at 3.
I think it’s stupid. Heinke is diplomatic…but
well, you can probably guess…
4 Jun 2010, 16:47 pm
@willievz(willievz)-157: I personally reckon the Boks are fine on the experience front come 2011, and a number of them would have played in Europe – Smit, Matfield, BJ, CJ, Steyn, de Villiers etc. I would far rather see a player like Vermeulen or Kankowski go to the World Cup in 2011 than Joe, simply because Joe is a completely unknown quality these days. Watching videos of Toulon play isn’t enough to know how a player will match up.
I agree that Skinstad was a good selection for 2007, but I don’t see the same thing with Joe as being necessary in 2011.
4 Jun 2010, 16:47 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-162:
ADD Dawn, please answer question.
4 Jun 2010, 16:48 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-164:
Joe is being tested.
Our coach wants to see if he still has what it takes.
4 Jun 2010, 16:49 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-163: I also think it is a foolish move.
4 Jun 2010, 16:50 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-165:
Wat is dit nou.
Jy’s soos ‘n vretende kanker.
4 Jun 2010, 16:52 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-168:
My bliksem man! Ek soek my antwoord! op die vorige draad en wat beteken: “go lean on a goal post”? Ek wil nie eendag ‘n faux pas maak nie.
4 Jun 2010, 16:53 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-162: Don’t imprint your desires on to me – I am not a scary doos, no matter how much you may want to lean on one…
4 Jun 2010, 16:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-170:
Aaaage nee!
4 Jun 2010, 16:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-169:
Man, vra vir HG.
4 Jun 2010, 16:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-171: For the record I neither mentioned doos or scarey intitally.
I have just taken them to their logical conclusions for Dawn’s benefit…
4 Jun 2010, 16:58 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-170:
As if.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-164: We certainly have a lot of quality Super14 loosies in this country, but I am highly sceptical about some of them making the step up.
I believe Potgieter and Louw can. I think Alberts can. I doubt Vermeulen can at this point, maybe later (but will be happy to admit if I am wrong). Kankowski has proved to me that he can’t.
Joe has played extremely well against New Zealand in 2008 in the away leg of the 3N. That is a long time ago in rugby, I admit, but he has too much class and proven ability at international level to be overlooked.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-173:
You are a repulsive specimen.
4 Jun 2010, 16:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-172:
Ok fine! Maar nou op my vraag op die ander draad? My last kommentaar gerid aan jou.
4 Jun 2010, 17:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-173:
*sigh* Jaaaa… can’t win, us men, can we? All the doos and don’ts’.
4 Jun 2010, 17:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-176: Sorry I am taken… Only women and not those with a desire for scarey doos (your words)
4 Jun 2010, 17:02 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-177:
You are forgiven if …
You have a bakkie with a gun rack and a big dog.
None of that Maltese poodle nonsense.
4 Jun 2010, 17:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-179:
Take it in context.
I didn’t use them in the same sentence.
Are you stupid too?
4 Jun 2010, 17:03 pm
@willievz(willievz)-175: Fair points. It has unfortunately been the case that players who have dominated up north have struggled in the south, so am weary of selecting a player who may backfire. But, as you point out, he has shown his class, and experience wins matches. Would rather have a player with 50 caps on the bench than a player with 3! Will be interesting to see how the backrow goes on Saturday – that is the biggest area of interest in this test in my opinion.
4 Jun 2010, 17:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-180:
Afrikaans please, I don’t know if any of those were euphemisms.
4 Jun 2010, 17:06 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-181: You don’t say… It took you a while
So you like scarey doos, gunracks and big dogs… Naah, I’m too conventional… no match here, I’m afraid
4 Jun 2010, 17:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-180:
I’ve got a bicycle, a pellet gun and a cat. Does that count?
4 Jun 2010, 17:14 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-182: I have been very worried about our bench selections for the past 3 years now.
This Saturday is no exception.
The identification and selection of the best 7 bench players for the RWC should be as important as the quest for identifying the starting 15 players.
If there is one criticism I have of PDV, it is on this point.
4 Jun 2010, 17:15 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-21: Couldnt agree more, but you missed some additional names there too:
Gurthro,Beast (who are both more dynamic than CJ in loose play)
Bismarck, Bakkies, Becker and Burger. Huge experience and huge potential not there.
Either way though its a pretty strong team, solid as hell pack, wonky backline at scrumhalf, flyhalf and wings. Centres and Fullback dont bother me.
If we control it up front we should win. No reason why not.
4 Jun 2010, 17:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-160: no need to be nasty transie!
4 Jun 2010, 17:21 pm
@willievz(willievz)-186: Who would you stick on the bench? You don’t have to give your full team as I will be able to guess who is this team from your bench selections!
The Bulls had their bench perfect this year – this played a big role in their success, especially in winning the games which were close at the end. Part of this was due to du Preez always playing 80 minutes and Hougaard being his back up should he have been injured. Five forwards on the bench was fantastic, although I am not sure if this will work for the Boks.
4 Jun 2010, 17:27 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-189:
Ideally? A-team?(Sorry for butting in) 5/2-2 F/R
16 Smit
17 W Kruger
18 D Rossouw
19 F Louw
20 Hougaard
21 W Olivier
22 D Potgieter
4 Jun 2010, 17:28 pm
Mvovo should be on the bench at least, ditto, Sarel Pretorius, Deysel and maybe a tryout of kids like Lambie. Why you would have Jannie Dup, Chilliboy, Hargreaves, and Bosman warming the bench when you could have:
Werner Kruger, Tiaan Liebenberg/ Gary Botha/ Bandhise Maku, Flip van der Merwe/ Franco van der Merwe/ Anton van Zyl/ Steven Sykes, Doppies la Grange who all deserve a tryout instead? Ditto the above inlcuding Willem Alberts, Joe Pietersen, Rory Kockott.
4 Jun 2010, 17:33 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-190: Interesting. I would go with the same split but with:
16 Bismarck
17 W Kruger
18 D Rossouw
19 F Louw
20 Pienaar (9/10 and at a stretch 15 – the 10 and 15 are barely ever replaced unless injured)
21 du Jongh (12/13 or wing – the wingers are barely ever replaced unless injured)
22 D Potgieter
Perhaps the lack of specialists might come back to bite this bench, but it allows for the forward pack to maintain intensity.
4 Jun 2010, 17:34 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-189: In a nutshell, this is my bench for the RWC:
I will split it 5-2.
Gurthro
Bismarck
Bekker
Rossouw
Burger
Pienaar
Olivier
Van Niekerk doesn’t cut it.
4 Jun 2010, 17:36 pm
@willievz(willievz)-193: Rossouw to cover the backrow? And Pienaar 9 and 10 and Olivier 12 and 13 and maybe wing? Much the same as mine and Stegmannov’s, methinks, same ideas different players.
4 Jun 2010, 17:41 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-194: Yes.
I think a 5-2 split suits SA’s strength better. I have noticed that bringing on 3 bench backline players for Bok teams in the past have significantly reduced the rhythm and fluency on attack and disrupted defensive lines.
If you have Frans Steyn, JDV and Fourie in your starting team you have enough insurance to get away with a 5-2 split.
4 Jun 2010, 17:41 pm
Just saw the pics of Andries Bekker and his mistress. He has to sit down on a park bench, and she has to stand on her tippie-toes just so they can kiss.
Very rambunctious to fall around in broad daylight with your squeeze in public when you’re 2.08 meters tall.
4 Jun 2010, 17:44 pm
@willievz(willievz)-195: Yeah I agree, especially if you have a player like Pienaar who can play 9 and 10. A flyhalf rarely gets replaced unless injured. 5-2 worked well for the Bulls and could work even better with the Boks. I remembe Whitaker made something like 80 test squads for the Aussies without getting a game because of Gregan. His spot could have been better served with another forward to lay the smack down.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-196: Down right stupid to go cheating on your wife in a park when you are as recognisable as he is.
4 Jun 2010, 17:45 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-192:
well, ours is very similar.
I see you’d prefer Smit over Bismarck, and seeing as neither WO or Jean d Villiers is there I assume WO on? and JdV out?
is this the current situation this year ideally?
Also no Hougaard? on the field?
Who’s your wings?
What’s your loose trio?
4 Jun 2010, 17:52 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-198: My wings would either be Habana and JP (dependent on form) or Hougaard (dependent on if he is still playing wing next year) or Gerhard van den Heever (dependent on picking up 5 kgs and learning to smile).
My loose trio would be Spies, Smith and Brussouw or Steggmann – I don’t think Schalk offers as much as either Brussouw or Steggmann and also think he is too much of a hot head to sit on the bench. One of those players who will want to make an impact and take someones head off. (Stormers fans can say what they like, I think there are better flanks than him).
Smit stays my captain and my (well the Springbok’s) hooker. I don’t think Bismarck has been on form this year and appears to have a negative attitude. I also think Smit is better in the scrums and his capataincy also makes him better than Bismarck.
If JDV is available I would start with him and no Olivier on the bench. He has to start or not play, especially with a 5-2 split. If JDV is not available, Olivier to play. If Olivier was to start, JDV on the bench instead of de Jongh.
What about yours?
4 Jun 2010, 17:56 pm
will confess, I’m a little worried about the game
4 Jun 2010, 17:56 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-199: Agreed on Brussow. He was my player of 2009.
Some fans have forgotten the massive value he brought to the table.
He is also a deceptively efficient ball carrier.
4 Jun 2010, 17:58 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-198: @WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-199: Was good chatting to you guys.
I am out.
4 Jun 2010, 18:01 pm
@willievz(willievz)-202: Have a good weekend.
4 Jun 2010, 18:04 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-199:
GvdHeever weighs 95Kgs. You want him to tip the 100 mark?
i won’t want him to become to heavy, he might lose that nice light step he has.
Well, first of all, I’d play my most ruthless team so Bismarck above Smit. Captaincy schmaptaincy. Like I said, we have Matfield, FdP, Spies in the forwards as the starters. In the backs we have J Fourie and JdV (all these guys have captained their sides (except Spiesa, but he was Affies captain and is the next Bulls captain so).
I don’t beleive De Jongh is good enough yet, I’d take Hougaard over him just for center, but he’s at 9 backup, and utility. If M Steyn goes down, F Steyn to 10, and J Fourie to 15, JdV to 13 WO in at 12. Hougie can also play wing and center, JdV wing and center.
1 CJ/Steenkamp
2 Bismarck
3 BJ
4 Bakkies
5 Victor
6 Stegmann
7 J Smith
8 Spies
9 FdP
10 M Steyn
11 habs
12 JdV
13 J Fourie
14 GvdH
15 F Steyn.
Unfortunately there’s no space then for Bekker. But it all will depend on game plan (slightly and oppo). Burger won’t make my team if Stegmann, Brussow are fit. And unfortunately then I can’t have Brussow on the bench either. But this is of course general purpose. With 3 props CJ/Steenkamp is at 16.
This basically covers everything.
4 Jun 2010, 18:05 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-199:
you won’t beleive I posted and it flopped. I’ll type it again.
4 Jun 2010, 18:05 pm
oh there it is.
4 Jun 2010, 18:07 pm
Hey, anyone know where I can watch the game in San Diego, CA?
4 Jun 2010, 18:08 pm
@willievz(willievz)-202:
Cheers boet.
4 Jun 2010, 18:09 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-200:
Why? be honest, you’re just concerned for F Louw’s safety aren’t you? Out with. You see, that’s another benefit of playing Stegmann instead- you won’t have to worry about Flo getting hurt.
4 Jun 2010, 18:10 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-206: The spreadsheets make you crazy!
Thats a good looking team – only really differ about Smit. If he isn’t going to be captain though it has to happen soon, giving Matfield the chance to pick up the reigns.
Van den Heever was held up over the line three or 4 times this season, so he might weigh 95kgs, but he isn’t strong enough yet to put the ball down in contact. I hope he is fit for the Currie Cup as his development is coming along very nicely. I forgot to mention Mapoe as another chance on the wing, but I don’t think his Super 14 season was very good and he is injured.
Potgieter to captain the Bulls ahead of Spies?
4 Jun 2010, 18:15 pm
@gregSD(gregSD)-207: Look for a hook up online. The game isn’t being broadcast on a lot of networks apparently, so they might not be showing it in any bars in your area, unless you can catch one with a Supersport connection or BBC.
4 Jun 2010, 18:20 pm
@gregSD(gregSD)-207: look at this address: www dot myp2p dot eu/competition.php?competitionid=&part=sports&discipline=rugby
4 Jun 2010, 18:25 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-210:
Fristly, I think if you approach retirement and want to “holdout” to make a WC, you obviously have to be good enough to continue well after the WC. This, I don’t think is the case with Smit and he should have retired in 2009. Perhaps.
2nd, wrt GvdH being held up- it boils down to lack of experience (it was 3 times). The encouraging thing is that he made all those opportunities by himself. I especially liked the one against the Hurricanes. Also you have to remember that it could also happen purely coincidentally. But he should have dive this way or that way. it doesn’t matter still the leading try-scorer before his ban.
3rd, Spies I think will captain the Bulls before Potties. Spies has a massive influence on that team.
4 Jun 2010, 18:31 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-213: Yep, those tries he didn’t score showed me more about his talent than some of the tries he did score! Those missed chances were, as you point out, self created, and on a couple of them he beat 4 or 5 players with a sweet step, change of pace etc. The talent is there, and he will improve. His defence improved as the tournament went on and his work rate will improve also.
I agree that Spies has a massive impact, but I wonder if he is a talker. I reckon he could be the type of player who has a huge influence on the team, and doesn’t need to be captain to do this, whereas a player like Slagkos (wtf?!) might be what is needed if there are a number of new players. I guess we will wait and see!
4 Jun 2010, 18:38 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-214:
1st on GvdH, it wasn’t only his “sweet step and change of pace”, but his brute force too remember. His defence probably did improve as it wore on…but this is normal for a young kid in a big team, he wants affirmation about every little blerrie thing he does. He got sucker out of his channel in the first 4 games , and I was highly annoyed, until I realized it’s because he doesn’t trust Zane Kirchner enough, and a time or two he went for the intercept in an obvious attempt to impress, which was unnecessary.
RE Spies, he communicates very well with his men, you see it on the field. I don’t know if Potties has got the gift of the gab so tremendously that you’d throw him ahead straight away like that. I think perhaps people perceive Spies as a “good guy” like the latest SARugby where Ryan says that of him. Then people assume that Spies is apussy. not so.
4 Jun 2010, 18:43 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-214:
BTW, I think perhaps Potties is called ‘Slangkos’ because of his light complexion and hair.
We call guys like that “witrot”. We had a guy like that at school. And obviously when you keep snakes you feed them rats, like those white ones you buy from breeders…
I assume this is where Potties got the nick “Slangkos”, or maybe it isn’t even his nic and Victor was simply pulling his leg.
Though the hair I see has fallen in the way quite a bit with Potties having to wear an alice band or wipe it from his eyes, or pri it from the grasp of Johan Muller. Not ideal IMO, but good if you eant to get noticed for the flashy stuff (which is how most people I see tend to rate theor favourites with)
4 Jun 2010, 19:11 pm
Premier Rugby has lodged a formal complaint to the International Rugby Board, over South African Rugby Union statements, as the Butch James saga continues to escalate.
With last year’s Springbok ‘armband protest’ and the IRB’s unhappiness with the Boks’ conduct still fresh in the mind, the possibility of a ban being imposed on John Smit and his team has resurfaced.
The latest complaint against SARU and the Bok camp follows the decision to pull James, who plays his club rugby for Bath in the UK, out of Saturday’s one-off Test against Wales.
Having been recalled to the Bok line-up for the first time in nearly two years, James, unwittingly, now finds himself in the middle of an ugly public spat between his country, his club and Premier Rugby.
Premier Rugby, the umbrella organisation responsible for managing the 12 professional clubs in England, have since won their ‘dispute’ with the South African Rugby Union over the services of the World Cup-winning Bok.
However, on Thursday SARU President Oregan Hoskins and acting MD Andy Marinos expressed their unhappiness with Premier Rugby – which has now resulted in a riposte from the English organisation.
Premier Rugby has confirmed that they will lodge a formal complaint with the IRB.
“Following comments reported to have been made by the South African Rugby Union at the press conference yesterday [Thursday], Premier Rugby will regrettably have to make a formal complaint to the IRB alleging a breach of international regulations by SARU through their actions and statements this week,” the statement said.
“These actions and statements have been repeatedly directed against Bath Rugby and Premier Rugby and seem to have been designed to put unfair pressure on the player and his club, who have acted in accordance with the IRB’s regulations and to deflect attention away from the real causes of the issue.
“June matches in the international calendar are played in the southern hemisphere and the schedule is settled years in advance. Apparently this extra one-off match outside the schedule and in the northern hemisphere was only arranged earlier this year and seems to be primarily a money-making exercise for which SARU is apparently receiving a large fee.
“When arranging a match outside the international window, all Unions should be aware of their regulations concerning player release. On Wednesday, it became clear that SARU had not properly understood these regulations.
“As a result, actions have been taken and statements made by SARU which have been damaging to the interests of the player, his club and Premier Rugby.”
It will be the second time in less than a year that SARU faces a possible IRB disciplinary hearing.
In August last year an IRB disciplinary hearing imposed a fine of £10,000 (ZAR113,000) on SARU, £200 (ZAR2,260) against each of the other players who wore the protest armbands and £1,000 (ZAR11,300) against captain John Smit.
The action arose from the SA national team and management wearing armbands during the third Test against the British & Irish Lions on July 4 – as a protest action, following the upholding of Bakkies Botha’s two-week suspension.
At the time the IRB made it clear that had it not been for the “legal technicalities” (including the fact that the Committee felt it had to take a “necessarily strict interpretation” of certain aspects of Regulation 17), both SARU and the Springbok players and management would have faced much more serious sanctions.
This, according to the IRB, included a more severe fine in the case of SARU and the suspension of the Springbok players and management from the World Cup 2011.
The IRB said at the time that they gave “serious consideration” to bringing an appeal against the level of sanctions imposed against SARU and the Boks.
And they also made it clear that they took into consideration the Schalk Burger eye-gouging case, which saw the Bok flank banned for eight weeks at the time.
4 Jun 2010, 19:22 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-217:
They should have thrown the entire book, nay library, at the righteous arrogant sods.
Justice4 BaXXies ?
Repeat offender of the same injury-inducing technique prior to this match. During this match; victim injured for 6mths. And after this match a few weeks ago; victim injured.
And what did we hear at the time of the Lions Test ?
“he’s not like that”.
The same excuse they used about Burgers gouging. The same excuse used during the RWC for Reckless Play by Burger.
“He’s not like that”.
W R O N G !
4 Jun 2010, 19:22 pm
Nothing but another quota show case IMO
The conviction in the self induced excitement of the article is thin, it means nothing for the Boks and Walse are well hit by injuries.
But it will be fun to watch Pienaar fumbles Januarie passes or balls bounce off Ndungane or dropped passes by De Jungh
4 Jun 2010, 19:38 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-218:
Bakkies doesn’t mind hurting people, as long as it’s done legally, which it was, both times (excessive force is a silly issue to raise in rugby, really).
On Burger, I’m not sure he wanted to harm the man last year. One could argue in the same spirit that Spies was blocking the “victim’s” keeping him from defending himself.
I think Burger went out to hurt some players in the S14 final, I forget the exact time, but he hit Wynand Olivier with a fist basically when “assisting” the tackle on Saturday, and in protest of the ref went out to injure Stegmann at 67:00; his 2nd major source of frustration.
4 Jun 2010, 19:39 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-220:
“victim’s HAND”
4 Jun 2010, 20:51 pm
@agile tyrant’s-tits: #217 oh my goodness!! What is up with this Poms? Didn’t the IRB say Butch can play, so what are these cry-babies looking for?
Are they hoping the Boks will be banned from the RWC? Hahahaha how feebleminded
4 Jun 2010, 21:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-222: haha, probably a lot of countries wet dream at the moment considering the boks form.
what a great commercial idea though. take a couple or ten million off the nzru profit margin, that should finish them off.
4 Jun 2010, 21:53 pm
baabaas lead the oirish 21-10.
good game actually.
4 Jun 2010, 21:55 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-218: haha, dont get all wet in your blackpanty now sonny.
the boks will be there to contest the wc 2011.
no gifts ala 1987 this time boyo.
4 Jun 2010, 21:57 pm
heymans try.
26-13 baabaas.
4 Jun 2010, 22:09 pm
@rangerman: #225 i actually enjoy wakanathan’s posts when he is not wailing like on post 18. I don’t know somehow he just loses it and switch moan-gat mode. How many times is he going to carry on about bakkies when back @ the ranch he has a serial offender like lauaki who clothes lined Habana?
4 Jun 2010, 22:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-227: i think he will whine forever.
and ever.
he doesnt come here for discussion mate, he comes here to vent.
i hope it helps him because it certainly makes me happy to realise that the boks own his thoughts
4 Jun 2010, 22:24 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Stegmannenov)-215:
“I don’t know if Potties has got the gift of the gab so tremendously that you’d throw him ahead straight away like that.”
All of which is why he captained SA Schools, Blue Bulls, Emerging Boks vs BILS and Boks vs Sarries.
Let’s talk facts guys, not conjecture.
4 Jun 2010, 22:39 pm
baabaas win 29-23.
a great game.
4 Jun 2010, 22:39 pm
sjoe, these irish commentators make the aussies look like the united nations…
4 Jun 2010, 22:51 pm
@gunther(gunther)-231:
they were practically begging for a yellow card and gave the MOM award to an irish player 15 mins before the game ended.
LMAO!
4 Jun 2010, 23:03 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-232:
lol I expected Seamus/Flaherty/Declan to invade the pitch waving a card, everytime a baa baa made a tackle there a the hopefull query
“was that high bertie?”….
I wonder if blackpanty has any Irish in him?
5 Jun 2010, 01:21 am
Spies is a domkopf compared to Potgieter
If Bulls management make Spies captain ahead of Potgieter then they don’t know wtf they actually doing.
As for Spies vs Joe Van Niekerk, as rugby players go, Joe 100 times the 8th man that Spies will ever be,
typical dom doos saffa sentiment, if its big and fast and thick as two planks then it must be better than Swiss cheese
JvN will play Spies into oblivion every time, and so too D. Vermeulen, can’t blame him for the tight five’s demise against the Bulls, Vermeulen and Flo were the only two performing when the schmuck ref Joubert handed Bulls all the cherry picked momentum and possession on a plate.
5 Jun 2010, 02:35 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-234:
Agreed every time re Big Joe. What a player ! An awesome no8, 1 of the best since Zinny. Spies is big and fast, great in open space. But thats it. Big Joe has wonderful hands and is a mongrel. Just right. He was superb at Carisbrook. A shame injury hit and then the move out of the spotlight to France.
5 Jun 2010, 02:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-227:
Im on record here, many times, as saying Lauaki should have had his contract ripped up by the NZRFU. Big useless thick lazy piece of serial-offending sh*t should have been shown the door years ago.
But he’s nowhere the on-field THUG that dear BaXXies is.
You used to be smart. What happened ?
Fickle little man arent you. I suppose thats why BH has his fan club here, always blowing the smoke where it tickles. Make your way to 235, maybe that will keep you happy for 5mins. Cretin.
BaXXies was only recently banned. For a flying-headbutt, his ‘signature move’. And some here were proved rather right in the process…..Furthermore, my post was a response to someone who “brought up” the BaXXies incident. Not I.
5 Jun 2010, 06:46 am
@blackpanther: “you used to be smart, what happened?” i hang around the likes of you, so i’m forced to dumb down.
chap, at any oppotunity you get, you’re flinging vitriol about baxxies UNPROVOKED, you convince yourself that we must have little or no memories when you suggest $hit like “the springboks 1st team lost to the british & irish lions, when you know exactly that pdv made 10 changes to the starting line up with guys like kirchner on debut & a centre combo of wynand olivier & jaque fourie that probably last played together in 2006 if they did!
Big Hit is appreciated here because he is independent of mind & isn’t prone to emotional outbursts like say…..yourself
5 Jun 2010, 08:19 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-237:
‘unprovoked’ ?
Please note that post no 218 follows post no 217.
As for you ‘flinging vitriol’ abut the Lions 3rd Test selection, again, I simply cant understand your problem. 1. it was a Test and 2. The Boks selected their own team, noone else did and 3. they lost.
Where is the conjecture ?
So what youre saying that unless the team is, what YOU consider to be the ’1st XV’, then the records dont count ?
And yet Ive seen you try to claim the BaaBaas victory over the 2nd-string ABs in November as a “4th Springbok victory” because of the high number of Boks. And it wasnt even a Test match.
flinging vitriol indeed.
too much hanging around with that dimwit Rangertwit would do that to anyone. Didnt your Mum tell you how important it is to choose your friends wisely ?
5 Jun 2010, 08:34 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-238: don’t let that zulu hating doos lecture you on the virtues of being a decent blogger like big hit who sucks up to saffas here… at first i thought he was a saffa when i got onto this forum.bakkies is pure human garbage and don’t let this zulu hater tells you otherwise.
5 Jun 2010, 08:39 am
Good luck Boks…….do us proud boys !!!!!!!
5 Jun 2010, 08:44 am
rangerman is the cancer on this site and unlike certain bloggers like this zulu hater i shall never suck up to this piece of human garbage who calls himself rangerman.he should take the man out of his nick because he is nothing but a nasty slimy little rodent who thnks he is god’s gift to rugby blogs.
5 Jun 2010, 08:52 am
How freaking mobile is that irish hooker? the Irish scored a great try in the first half, O-gara makes a Kobus Wiese look like Usain Bolt.
5 Jun 2010, 08:58 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-211: it’s on the BBC Red Button and BBC Wales (which will probably mean on the BBC website). S4C and Setanta are carrying it too.
5 Jun 2010, 09:15 am
Good morning everybody! It is beautiful to behold the sharing of the lurve on the blog today. Why don’t you guys focus on the game and stop raising to the bait every time? Mud-slinging and taking things personally is not what this place is all about FFS
5 Jun 2010, 09:33 am
I think the Springboks must give the welsh such a thrashing that they’ll never be able to look us in the eye without trembing in their shoes
5 Jun 2010, 09:33 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-238: BLACK PANTHER, the story goes that during a match where Bakkies Botha and Rueben Thorne were both involved, Thorne flattened Bakkies. While Bakkies was down and dealing with the flashing stars and the ref busy with the penalty Bakkies shouted..”Ref, ref….whatever you do, don’t send him off!!!”
5 Jun 2010, 10:13 am
Not on Sentanta in AU.FECK
5 Jun 2010, 10:24 am
@scorpion(capestormer)-239:
Actually, Im fairly sure he IS a Safa.
But Im not sure which is more embarrassing….being a Safa but pretending to be a Pom in a desperate bid for ‘neutral credibility’ OR being a Pom that sucks up to Safas and disses all-things NZ for some referred blogger-manlove.
Either way he has compromised himself so severely that its impossible, now, to know when he’s being serious. A shame, because he clearly knows his footy but because of his desperation for attention, lacks credibility with it.
@scorpion(capestormer)-241:
I like you. Stick around.
This belief that some people here ‘rule’ Keo like its their personal fiefdom is all rather sad.
@whistleblower(whistleblower)-246:
HA ! love these tales.
And, of course, you meant Brad Thorn not Reuben Thorne. I presume.
Brad and BaXXies were meant for each other – they are cut from the same cloth (albeit a little more material required for BaXXies).
5 Jun 2010, 10:30 am
@black panther: #238 hahaha you’re mistaking me for rangerman bra, i have never EVER referred to the Barbarians game against the All Blacks as a fourth Tri-nations game but i certainly know people who have.
I can’t now be guilty by virtue of being a saffa
On the b&i lions 3rd Test: when you go around saying it was the 1st team that lost the match i will take you on everytime. Drum it through your head that the team that took to the field @ Ellis Park last year is NOT the Bok 1st team, the regte manne are the ones the nilled you last year! i hope we have that sorted!
5 Jun 2010, 10:33 am
@scorpion(capestormer): #239 dude i have no idea where you’re coming from with your thrash talk but i would suggest you cool it. as for calling me a “zulu hater” you missed the joke, so just stopping making a fool of yourself..
5 Jun 2010, 10:42 am
does this Black Panther chappie ever sleep?
his anti-SA slant in everyone one of his oh so boring posts is tiring (not to mention bitter and predictable) to others but not him obviously
5 Jun 2010, 10:44 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-249:
Time to front up.
A Test is a Test is a Test is a Test.
No avoiding it.
Besides, you could hardly call a team with Fourie, Morne, FdP, Beast, Smit, Matfield, Bismarck, Spies, Frans, Pienaar Brussow and Juan Smith as an entire ‘Second team’.
or, are you ?
5 Jun 2010, 10:46 am
eish ordinary tourists here for the SWC are paying between R2000 – R4000 per day for bodyguards.
Over the top surely.
5 Jun 2010, 10:47 am
@papertiger: #251 when he does sleep he dreams of the Bokke moering the 3-0 so he wakes up from the mare mad as hell hence the vitriol he spews here. But i like him, he can be quite eloquent & amusing
5 Jun 2010, 10:48 am
the ‘test series’ had ALREADY been won 2-0 so we played our B team and lost. Big wank. Who cares about the minor details. Move on.
5 Jun 2010, 10:49 am
@Paper Tiger(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-251:
Sensitive wee soul arent you. Found any of those trophies in Durban yet ?
Im a Highlanders and a Counties fan btw. Theyve won even less than your hopeless lot.
5 Jun 2010, 10:54 am
@black panther: #252 you missed, chiliboy ralepele, johan muller, wynand olivier, zane kirchner, jongi nokwe, odwa ndungane. our 1st team beat the lions in the 1st 2 test, clear?
5 Jun 2010, 10:54 am
team vs BI Lions in 3rd test:
Tendai Mtawarira
Chilliboy Ralepelle – B player
John Smit
Johann Muller – B player
Victor Matfield
Heinrich Brüssow – first season 3rd cap; at the time B player
Juan Smith
Ryan Kankowski – B player
Fourie du Preez
Morné Steyn - first season 2nd cap; at the time B player
Jongi Nokwe – B player
Wynand Olivier – B player
Jaque Fourie
Odwa Ndungane – B player
Zane Kirchner – B player
9 of the 15 were B players. You would call that a ‘B’ team.
Don’t talk **** on here Black Panther.
5 Jun 2010, 10:56 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-256: bwahaha never been called sensitive in my life. always a first.
Shame, your Highlanders have only made one super final ever so a long way to go to be called the “Manchester United of rugby”
The Sharks, with all their foreign signings, have made 4. So I guess that makes them Portsmouth. Making finals but never winning. (At least they get to finals)
5 Jun 2010, 10:58 am
If anyone can be called sensitive its a kiwi guy who spends all his time on a saffa blog defending his own country at ALL costs. Wonder what caused the bitterness?…
5 Jun 2010, 10:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-254: you forgot the baabaas game Trans, the one many on here claim as a fourth victory over the ABs..
also a B team, and not even a test, but many here claim it as some sort of superiority victory… surely we can then throw it back at you guys?
5 Jun 2010, 11:00 am
anywhoo. I am not going to spend all my time on here arguing and playing cat and mouse with some poor bitter internet souls. The real world beckons! Have fun chaps and play nice.
5 Jun 2010, 11:01 am
game day!!!!!! kickoff is at 2.30 in Wales so what time is that local time?
5 Jun 2010, 11:03 am
@Paper Tiger(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-258:
God, Id be far too embarrassed to write that.
Brussow is now “a B player”. He wasnt at the time, it was his 3rd consecutive Test.
Muller has Captained the Boks.
Theres no point going over the rest of your list actually. The ONLY player on debut that day was Kirschner. The rest all had been capped.
Besides, my list is correct.
All of these players, if they didnt already start, had no less than 30-40mins:-
Fourie, Morne, FdP, Beast, Smit, Matfield, Bismarck, Spies, Frans, Pienaar Brussow and Juan Smith.
Not good enough. I suppose that why they call it a ‘Test’.
The ABs started many squad members in the 3rd Test in 2005, vs a vastly more capped Lions team, and thrashed them by 20pts.
5 Jun 2010, 11:03 am
@poppa: #60 hey Pops, long time no see, you kinda ran away there after the super14 final
as i said to black panther, i have at no time before mentioned the barbarians game as a fourth tri-nations game, it is madness to even contemplate it. But i certainly will admit that some on this blog have used it in their thrash talk. Happy now?
5 Jun 2010, 11:05 am
@Paper Tiger(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-259:
The Sharks have only made one Super Final. I hope youre not so desperate to include the invitation-ONLY tournaments pre-’96 ?!
Um, I wasnt the one comparing my team to ManU or Real Madrid. You were.
5 Jun 2010, 11:06 am
@Paper Tiger(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-253: that is ridiculous…but hey if they want to spend R4000 a day on security then so bet it….just shows what perceptions can do. For a lot of these tourist its their first time to ‘Africa’ so they don’t really know what to expect besides what they read in the paper or see on tv
5 Jun 2010, 11:07 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-265:
Maybe you just blended in with the majority.
But, Transie, despite your recent bout of PMS, Ive always counted you as 1 of the fairer ones here. Fair dues.
5 Jun 2010, 11:09 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-264: can i just ask….whats the relevance of bringing up the b&i lions 3rd test on the day we playing wales?
5 Jun 2010, 11:15 am
@mustard: #269 black panther, like mike phillips the welsh scrummy believes that the 3rd test is the perfect springboard for warren gatland & his dragons to psyche themselves up and believe that the Bokke are beatable.
5 Jun 2010, 11:18 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-266: man you can talk kak. Its all you do.
2007 – Super 14 final vs Bulls
2001 – Super 12 final vs Brumbies
1996 – Super 12 final vs Blues
1994 – Super 10 final vs Queensland
Even if you rule out the Super 10 final that’s still 3.
As I said above, you talk kak. Plain and simple.
5 Jun 2010, 11:20 am
A4Y’s
Nuff said – cheers.
5 Jun 2010, 11:21 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-265: hey Trans, when all your spare time is spent visiting the hospital, you dont really want to come on here…. glad to see you missed me though
5 Jun 2010, 11:23 am
@Staal(Staal)-272: originality plus… A1 for effort… gees. that aussie influence is getting stronger in SA isnt it? first the love affair with Eddie, now quoting Gregan… whats next??
5 Jun 2010, 11:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-270: false sense of security… i like
these okes never learn do they….when you play the boks just shut up whole week and not give them any added motivation but ag. Im still nervous about today though…the guys had so little time to prepare…im hoping they settle quickly
5 Jun 2010, 12:01 pm
@transie:don’t come on here and lecture me little boy.keo isn’t your personal fiefdom little boy.
5 Jun 2010, 12:10 pm
@scorpion: #276 alright sir, yes sir, won’t do it sir
5 Jun 2010, 12:28 pm
Does anyone know where I can see this game in the UK?
(Sorry if someone has already given this info!)
5 Jun 2010, 12:34 pm
@Jim Bobby the Lumberjack(Jim Bobby the Lumberjack)-271:
Chokers.
5 Jun 2010, 12:35 pm
@Mustard(Mustard)-269:
Actually, Im not the 1 that keeps bringing it up. But BS demands an answer, plain’n'simple.
5 Jun 2010, 12:37 pm
@Jim Bobby the Lumberjack(Jim Bobby the Lumberjack)-271:
ps – I was wrong. But all the losses start to blend.
5 Jun 2010, 13:29 pm
Wales can only win the test if they give it all, which is unlikely, it’s their last test of the season and many played already nearly 40 rugby games last 12 months, a huge toll
Expect plenty of up and under from Stephen Jones to rip off dividends from Aplon, Ndungane and De Jungh, nothing else
5 Jun 2010, 13:34 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-282: optimistic, I think they’ll go all out in this one as Gatland/Edwards know it’s winnable.
5 Jun 2010, 13:44 pm
@UK Bok(UK Bok)-278: Millenium Stadium?
5 Jun 2010, 14:28 pm
@BLACKPANTHER – Can you please refresh my memory – when was the last time the All Blacks won a game against the Springboks?
5 Jun 2010, 14:29 pm
@Pam Anderson’s left ( . )(Pam Anderson)-284: LOL, yes I know.
I meant to say internet site!
5 Jun 2010, 14:41 pm
@Mountainsausage(Mountainsausage)-285:
If you can answer me a Question first.
How many times does 13 go in to 27 ?
that would be under neutral refs in the post-isolation years.
OR
do the numbers 42 vs 33 mean anything to you ?
Over History.
Got lots of catchin up to do, Sausagedog. Continue that 3-0 every year for another 3-4 years and maybe, just maybe, I’ll answer your Question.
5 Jun 2010, 14:46 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-287:
1) Twice, rest 1
2) a. The 6th multiple of 7
b. The amount of tomatoes in a bottle of All Gold tomato sauce.
5 Jun 2010, 14:48 pm
(*)
5 Jun 2010, 15:13 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-282: I see you still think Up and under’s pose problems for black players, fcuken move on, its 2010
5 Jun 2010, 15:31 pm
@BLACKPANTHER –
Nevermind, I think I remember now – about 2 years ago.
Re your hilarious neutral refs inferral – you guys are seriously funny. For a proud rugby nation cloaked in history and tradition you sure do whinge and whine a helluva lot.
And as for you coming over to our shores and blatantly trying to poach and steal our young talent….well what can anyone really say about you now?
5 Jun 2010, 19:00 pm
Apart from Fransie, I wouldn`t select any of the overseas players in my starting 15. A prop or 2 may make it to the bench. Joe looks like a donkey compared to Spies. LOL
5 Jun 2010, 23:46 pm
@Mountainsausage(Mountainsausage)-291:
Yes, the comparison between pre and post isolation years is rather hilarious and no little revealing. Just confirmed what we always knew all along.
6 Jun 2010, 18:26 pm
HAPPY BIRTHDAY KEO MY MAN!!
MAY YOU LIVE TO SEE YOUR GRAND CHILDREN’S CHILDREN…
AND CONVERT TO THE BULLS IN TIME TO PRESERVE YOUR SANITY.