Deans changes four

Australia coach Robbie Deans has made four changes for Saturday’s first Test against England.

James O’Connor, who played from the wood against Fiji and impressed in the Austalian Barbarians’ midweek draw with England, starts at fullback ahead of Kurtley Beale. Drew Mitchell returns in place of the injured Adam Ashley-Cooper on the left wing.

Benn Alexander’s injury-enforced absence has provided an opportunity for the inexperienced Ben Daley to start at loosehead prop, while Salesi Ma’afu runs on at tighthead with Saia Faingaa at hooker.

Meanwhile, there was no place in the England starting 15 for Jonny Wilkinson. The Toulon flyhalf will cover Toby Flood who has debutant Shontayne Hape on his outside.

Australia - 15. James O’Connor, 14. Digby Ioane, 13. Rob Horne, 12. Matt Giteau, 11. Drew Mitchell, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Luke Burgess, 8. Richard Brown, 7. David Pocock, 6. Rocky Elsom (captain), 5. Nathan Sharpe, 4. Dean Mumm, 3. Salesi Ma’afu, 2. Saia Faingaa, 1. Ben Daley
Subs: 16. Huia Edmonds, 17. James Slipper, 18. Mark Chisholm, 19. Matt Hodgson, 20. Will Genia, 21. Berrick Barnes, 22. Kurtley Beale

England – 15 Ben Foden, 14 Mark Cueto, 13 Mike Tindall, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Chris Ashton, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Lewis Moody (c), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Simon Shaw, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Steve Thompson, 1 Tim Payne.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 David Wilson, 18 Courtney Lawes, 19 James Haskell, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Jonny Wilkinson, 22 Mathew Tait