Boks affected by World Cup fever

Peter de Villiers said he made a few mistakes before the Witbank Test, while the soccer World Cup caused the Boks to lose focus.

On Saturday, De Villiers and captain on the day Victor Matfield said they hadn’t been affected by a lackadaisical approach in the build-up to the Test, which saw ‘schoolboy errors’ – as the coach put it – litter their performance. Nick Mallett felt otherwise and said the Boks would always find it difficult to be up for a Test against the European minnows.

De Villiers has since changed his view and said they let a few bad habits creep into their preparation. The Boks travelled to Pretoria on Wednesday night to watch Bafana Bafana lose 3-0 to Uruguay, and while De Villiers said it was part of nation-building, it wasn’t something the players were accustomed to.

‘We drove over 100km to watch the soccer and were still on the road at 1am. It’s not something we normally do in a Test week. It’s important we make a contribution to out country, but maybe we could’ve done it differently,’ said De Villiers.

‘Maybe I made a few mistakes before the game, I can’t just look outside. We’ve got to minimise those mistakes.’

The Boks are now in East London, and can’t say they’ve been hit with soccer fever. Yes, the local public are interested in the event, but the nearest World Cup host city is 300km away in Port Elizabeth.

De Villiers wasn’t complimentary of his side’s performance, and said they would remain focused this week without any sideshows.

‘It’s very important we stick to our routines. Some of the new guys who are having their first chance with the Boks may have noticed all the distractions and got a false impression of what Bok rugby is about. We can’t let that happen again.’

John Smit and Schalk Burger still have to prove their fitness and De Villiers is expected to name his side on Tuesday or Thursday, with not as many first-choice players rested as first thought. Only Victor Matfield isn’t in the 24-man group, while De Villiers is expected to name a few players out of position.

Jean de Villiers ran at wing on Monday, and if that is the case he wouldn’t have had a decent run at No 12 before the Tri-Nations begins. Coach De Villiers didn’t confirm the move but explained his reasoning.

‘We all know Jean. I’ll repeat what I’ve said – what we didn’t have last year was the luxury to select and choose players, we had to take players. Last year we had about 20 guys, with a clear distinction between the better ones and not-so-good ones. This year we analysed the opposition, and looked to see what our players can bring to the team.

‘With all the changes we’ve made in the last three weeks, everyone has been on a par.’

De Villiers said he has pretty much sorted out the 26 players who will tour for the overseas leg of the Tri-Nations, which begins on 10 July. The squad may be announced as early as Saturday evening, depending on the medical situation after the Test. Otherwise, it will be released early next week.

‘You always have to experiment. If not with different players, then with the way you play. Otherwise the other rugby nations will catch up with us.

‘This is the last of four weeks of preparation and I’m 75% sure of who will go on the tour.’

By Grant Ball, in East London

106 Comments

• 1.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Habs diving antics and his stare at the touchie comes to mind.
    Butch brain **** is another.

• 2.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

‘Jean de Villiers ran at wing on Monday’

he looks short of a yard of pace these days so I’m not sure that’s the best idea

• 3.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If they’re distracted by the soccer even when they’re not even in the same town, imagine how they’d fall to pieces if they had their pretty WAGS sitting directly behind the goalposts like that poor Spanish goalie!

• 4.Plegend007: Reply to this comment

As a coach you may want to at times attack Pdv for this or that but as a man I think he is a top block – readily admiting his wrong, honest etc…

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

one would think they’d be distracted by the meisies in witbank, but i guess not… :roll:

• 6.Plegend007: Reply to this comment

As a much we don’t like to admit it, I think to be a south african rugby, you have to be a politician and as far that is concerned he has really upped his level. Like playing Butch at 12, that was a masterstroke in foiling the potential insults that could be directed at the so called quota players. He did it so well people didnt even notice…

• 7.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

ag k@K man …what does Matfield, Spies, Bakkies etc worry about the Soccer …. idiot PDV

• 8.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-7:

Shame.

Spoilt your day?

• 9.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

nope prawn …. france will, if they beat bafana .. see i’m a betting man … i have no favourite team, except the ones i have money on … even if i have to support NZ against the boks…

• 10.chucky: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-7: I am assuming you know these men personally.
    if not i can tell you that matfield has even attended matches overseas and spies is a keen supporter.
    In saying that… the article wasnt stating their support but rather the disruption the logistics and the adhoc way that the boks went about midweek to go to pretiria.Hello

• 11.chucky: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-9: Lol a betting man with no allegiance to his own country..HAHA you are the REAL JORRIE as your name suggests..

• 12.David: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-7:
    I think he was referring to driving to the game from Witbank and only getting back at 1.00am as being the distraction from their normal builup.

• 13.johnnyblue: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-9: You also said Mexico would beat bafana 6 nil or was that 12 nil, D!ck head. Gee your bookie must be be rolling in the money.
    Get help mate you know **** all about sport.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i saw the cheetahs on blitz this morning talking about bafana, juan, hendro scholtz & naka chucking their lot behind bafana :D

• 15.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Well done, Peter. It takes a good man to admit when he’s wrong.

South African rugby looks healthy with you at the top, and from what I’ve heard, the players are very happy to be playing under you.

Keep it going, Peter. You are proving a lot of doubters wrong.

• 16.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

johny dude … do you really think i placed a bet that mexico would beat us by 6? … i made a small loss i must admit ..thought mexico would beat us … made up big time on the Uruguay game … lekker banana banana ..

• 17.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

bet with your head … not your heart. Go france ..!

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-16:

Waar bly jy.

Danville?
    Alberton?

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-17:

I didn’t have to do anything there.

Six guys sommer donnered you at once.

• 20.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Uraguay 5 Mexico 0

Bafana 2 France 0

Yippee through we go.

• 21.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

the place with the best cricket franchise in world …. PE!

• 22.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

Uraguay 0 – Mexico 0 … they won’t risk anything.

France 2 – Bafana 0

• 23.Staal: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-21:

ek laaikie PE baie nie…

had to hit a 3iron to carry a bunker 90 meters from me……. had te hit it again…. wind was monster!!!! :shock:

• 24.Staal: Reply to this comment

te = to

• 25.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

Staal , ek weet in daaaaai dae was Naas ook nie mal oor PE nie … Bulle het maar altyd gesukkel op Boet Erasmus

• 26.Staal: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-25: honestly… 90m.. hit a solid 3 iron and didn’t carry…..

but second one did…. (cause bunker was only 40m from me then)…. :lol:

Down wind… par 5… driver and 64loft wedge… easy!

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-23: You ever played Milnerton Golf Course? (Sunset Links). Same story. When the S.E’ster comes throug there the back nine is a real bugger. If you use too much loft the ball practically comes right back at you….

• 28.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-7: You the biggest farking idiot here. Hou jou bek , Div is in charge and doing a great job at it , muuuuuch better than some his previous White predecessors.

• 29.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

sparticus … what is PDV real job? .. i mean you have Monty & Os there … then there is D!ck & Gold … hy kry maar baie hulp

• 30.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-28: why say “white predecessors”?

you become what you hate.

just say PDivvy is doing better than many of the coaches before him.

and he is indeed, in PDivvy we trust.

• 31.Staal: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-27: yip but the worst wind ever was at Clovelly…

holy smokes what a struggle!

• 32.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-29: He is the head coach. How many guys did Nick have when he was coach ? He had Solly and Meyer to just start off , both of whom are proven rugby tactical geniuses , fark he then had White as his video operator. That was back then , times have changed evens more , the head coach is the man pulling the strings. Get with the program , Div is here to stay cos he deserves the job and already proved himself and made all u haters look like dumbasses. End of story , finish en klaar , he already proved it. What have u achieved ? LOL

• 33.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-30: Was trying to prove a strong point cos some people can only see in color. Was also trying to highlight Jake White without actually saying so lol. But u right off course , did not mean to drop to his level.

• 34.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-32: nick had PDivvy as an assistant coach too i think.

• 35.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-33: its cool, i have supported PDivvy from the start.

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-30: thats a change Ranger, end of 08 and no one thought so… heaven forbid he doesnt win the 3Ns this year.. :wink:

big roundabout being a Bok supporter lmao..

• 37.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-30: have to agree on the white comment. there are enough bloggers on here who cannot stand the fact that Div and JDJ, Habana, guthro, chili, etc are doing well for the boks.

Their mindsets belong in a different era. Dont fuel the fires they trying to flame. just ignore them and the noise they make will go away.

• 38.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

i can bet i can coach the boks and achieve the same results with guys like Matfield, Bakkies, Spies, Fourie, Steyn, JDV, Habana, Smit … and help from D!ck, Os, Monty & Gold … i never mentioned colour, but that will always be you Die Son reader’s excuse. White was better IMO …

• 39.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-36: many of us were vocal in our continued support for the guy in 2008 pops.

sure, the 3n was a washout but we won in dunedin and smashed aus 53-8 as well as an unbeaten eoyt where we beat england 42-6 at twickenham (i was there).

no, many of us supported him then just as we do now mate.

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-37: funnily enough, the majority of saffas support ALL our players. but the friction comes from both sides mate.

cant wait for the 3n to start.

• 40.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

PDivvy has a 67% success rate at the moment.

Now he just needs a Rugby World Cup title, and he’ll be the most successful Springbok coach ever… ;-)

• 41.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-36: Poppa, problem with some people are that they often react on emotion especially when confronted with things they are not used to.

Lots of people judged Div on a non-rugby basis when he was appointed. They ignored his rugby credentials. (one of the only coaches who coached at every level of rugby from club rugby, where he coached his club to the championsip, to National level. Only job he did not have was S14, but was appointed coach of the Spears before SARU screwed them over)

The honest guys a remaking an about turn based on his track record as Bok coach. The others who dont support him still judge him for non-rugby reasons. (get my point)

• 42.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-39:

And many of us – like me – had to defend Peter de Villiers at every turn and corner on here.

Remember the *** tape allegations, the so-called “open secrets” that senior players were coaching the team, Jake White SMS’ing the players instructions from the bushes…

Eish. Those days were bad, bra.

• 43.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-39: agreed, friction comes from both sides. you often find people retaliating which often is stupid as it divides more than it helps matters.

all i want is honest and objective analysis and commentary. No emotional, subjective ****

• 44.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-39: I know mate… but it would be interesting, especially if he doesnt select the best players :evil:

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-41: understand fully… didnt he have a successful youth team? I think hes grown in the job and his rugby nous does indeed seem knowledgeable.. still could use a Publicity person to assist this side of his tenure, but experience will also help that aspect IMO.

• 45.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-44:

He probably needs to work on his media skills, yes, but he’s a lot more understandable in his mother language, Afrikaans.

I personally think he must just have a translator and then conduct all his interviews in Afrikaans.

• 46.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-31:

Doen my ‘n groot guns

Vat asb hierdie quota sux onder jou vlerk in en maak hom wys.

Hy weet nog nie dat die petrol enjin ontdek is.

• 47.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-44: Yes he did.

Played at the highest level he was allowed – SARU (Black Boks)
    Coached Tygerberg rugby club to WP championship
    Coached falcons in Currie Cup
    WP assistant/backline coach
    Appointed Spears Coach with view of playing in S14
    Bok assistant coach under Mallet
    U21 coach of succesful world champs
    Emerging Bok coach
    Bok coach with ever improving success rate
    He also has a level 3 International coaching qualification obtained in Wales (paid for by himself to advance his credentials and learn)

He certainly is learning from his mistakes. He will never make everyone happy with everything he does (me included) but given time he will be one of the greats. Hi gaffes are embarrasing at times, but makes things entertaining. As long as he has the support of the players, especially the senior players I am happy.

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-45: granted, its not his mother tongue… hence the translator would be a sensible approach… I actually dont mind his comments, better then the bland and cliched stuff we get from every other coach and often the players…

you know, back to the drawing board, pleased with the efforts of the boys, stuff to work on etc etc..

• 49.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

dawn whats your name on facebook

• 50.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

It is amazing how much c r a p can come out of PdV mouth…

• 51.Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

Deary me this smacks of a total lack of professionalism by PdV. His man management skills are kak. Yes by all let the Boks watch Bafana but for them to travel all the way to see them is going to extremes, especially to see them get hammered. The Boks should’ve been focussing on their own team. And the Bafana match was on Wednesday, how is it with 2 days before the test this isn’t sufficient time to recover from a late night. Stop making excuses PdV. Really starting to lose my faith in this coach. The Bok lack the professionalism of the ABs. Do you think the ABs would’ve sacrificed their rest or training time to watch the All-Whites play? Hell no. They’d support them but their team comes first.

Selecting JdV has to be one of the worst ideas I’ve ever heard. You’ve got Basson with pace to burn but PdV wants JdV who does not have the speed of an international winger. Shunting players around back and forth. It never stops with this oke! Do you think Henry would ever play Nonu on the wing? Good god not a chance in hell. I understand PdV may have lost faith in Kirchner which doesn’t surprise me but why the hell did he put Basson in the squad if he was never going to play him. The crazy crazy selections continue. ABs are going to murder us in NZ. They must be loving this. They’re getting good game time with their settled combo while PdV is shunting players to and fro. What next? Gurthro at 10? I wonder what excuses he’ll use for another woeful performance. The Italians probably fancy their chances this weekend. Can’t believe we struggled to beat one of the worst teams in the world! Wales who nearly had our number were taken to pieces by the ABs. A total ar$e kicking. I think the last two AB results show the gulf in class between the Boks and the ABs. If PdV doesn’t shape up soon Henry is going to be laughing hard in a few weeks time.

• 52.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-47: quite an extensive resume… I believe its that sort of path in the game that makes a great coach.. Henry did it at school boy level when he coached Auckland Boys Grammer school… (although I think Henry has been in way too long as coach)..

one only needs to look at Johnson for England, hasnt cut his teeth anywhere… his results have been indicative of it..

also think it is a lot of man management these days too..

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-42: i was with you then, i am with you now mate.

PdV is such a likeable chap too.

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-43: hehe, rugby fans are an emotional bunch at the best of times.

@poppa69(poppa69)-44: he wants to win pops, be sure of that.

@fish out of water(fish out of water)-50: :lol: his comments about the welsh fruit farm were so funny its not true.

• 54.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-38: Having said that: how much coaching experience do you have? Not anybody can coach – a number of guys that used to be fairly good rugby players struggle(d) to coach, e.g Straueli, Reece-Edwards, Kevin Putt. Even the great Danie Gerber could not achieve much in coaching!

• 55.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-38: Let me take u back to Australia when White coached most of these same players , remember 49-0 ? So sad u are.

• 56.Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-52: In my mind Henry is a brilliant coach. What is Henry’s win ratio? Despite NZ’s poor showing in the S14 and losing lots of players Henry still has the ABs kicking ar$e. He finds his combos and sticks with him. None of this aheming and ahing. No shunting players around. The Welsh and Irish come over to NZ fancying their chances and the ABs give them a snotklap of note. 66 points is really embarrasing for Ireland. You can tell the ABs absolutely love playing rugby, its their life, they’d play it with two broken legs if they had to. But with the Boks the excuses come out “oh I’m tired” “oh I was watching Bafana and felt sad because they lost” “oh we didn’t play that well because we hadn’t any melktart”. Really pi$$ poor excuses for a so-called professional outfit. If the ABs had been playing Italy last weekend it wouldn’t been an Azzuri massacre. These okes are ruthless and relentless, they never give up even if they’ve won the game in the first 20 mins. The Boks are puppy dogs compared to the ABs.

• 57.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-51: you are talking through you backside mate.

A few years ago the All Blacks went to attend a France soccer match during their tour of the Northern Hemisphere. All arranged by kit sponsor of both teams; Adidas. They did not even have the excuse of wathcing their countrymen play in a world cup on home soil.

how unprofessional by the mighty All Blacks who could not beat the Boks last year (including twice at home)

As long as the boks win under P Div…..

• 58.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Best of luck to Sth Africa for todays big match vs les Sulkers.

go Bafana Bafana !!!!

@poppa69(poppa69)-52:

Did he coach the Kelston XV too or was he ‘only’ Headmaster there ?

• 59.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-53: what comments were those? :lol: I bet it has something to do with the Welsh thinking the Boks are ripe for picking… :mrgreen:

• 60.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-58: you probably know better then I do, though I distinctly remember him at ABG..

• 61.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-56: is this the same Henry did chopped and changed his starting line-up so often leading up to the last world cup that he had no clue who his best combinations and players were.

oh ok then..

by the way did the all blacks massacre the italians last year when they played them at home.

• 62.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-51: easy now jay, i you seem to suffer from extreme anxiety about the boks and i remember you taking the same line before the france game and remember how that turned out?

PdV clearly has a plan.

what is of interest to me is the sudden lack of attacks by bloggers on muir and gold?

and chili too for that matter?

it makes me think…

• 63.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-56: I think his win ratio is somewhere near 80%… but he did NOT know his best combos in the 07 world cup, his selections for the French game the prime example… something I think PDV is on a slippery slope with trying to build “depth”..

Henry ended up with two squads that he got confused as to his best 22..

• 64.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-52: glad to see that foreigners like yourself can acknowledge and respect his credentials.

Now if only his own countrymen could do that….. Prejudice is a sad thing

• 65.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-56: Puppy dogs ? Brother check the results since 2007 SA vs Abs and then tell me who is the dog and who is the master ? Also add in the super 14 results for the last few years in that equation. Your version of the truth is really amusing

• 66.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

i am out for a while chaps. chat later

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-59: hahaha!

he said something along the lines of:

“the welsh seem to think we are ripe for the plucking like some kind of fruit from a welsh fruit farm. well, we want to be prickly pears”

afrikaans analogies like this are beautiful for their simplicity.

• 68.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-66: cheers me too , go bafana !!

• 69.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

Look the Boks won and a win is a win so well done to the Boks!! Having said that the handling errors need to stop also – RJ must be booted, Chilli boy must be benched for Botha or Liebenberg and Butch should not be playing at 12.

• 70.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-64: happens in all societies mate… not one is immune to it…

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-65: woof!

• 72.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-60:

Yeah, he got the Kelston post only after his days at AGS. AGS did everything they could to keep him but JG was still Head so off he went. Kelstons XV then went thru a meteoric rise and won a few titles out of the blue.

When we played Kelston in my senior year (gulp ’80), they had 2 wingers the same height as me and legs bigger than kauri stumps. I was no5…..

• 73.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-67:

Yes, I chuckled at that – here are his direct words:

“We will give them a psychological advantage and we cannot allow that. We’ve read in the papers here that they believe South Africa are ripe for the picking. They’re comparing us with some fruit from a Welsh fruit farm but they need to know that when you pick fruit, it isn’t just apples and pears; there are prickly pears as well. We want to be a prickly pear for them this Saturday.”

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i am off to watch bafana at the suncoast fanpark in a few hours.

then i will walk across to Moses Mabhida to watch the s.korea/ni ger ia game.

i will be supporting N i g e r i a!

though i know not one player in either side.

i am quite excited.

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-73: FARK the man is hilarious!

btw, today i will try to meet up with Colonel-Prince Haji E’boa the 3rd who has $450 million in a Bank of ***** account. i will help him out with a bit of money for an R5,00 mtn airtime voucher and lend him the keys to my car and my house whilst i watch his countrymen and in return he will give me most of the cash and a free holiday somewhere in the Delta with some “adventure guides” who deal mainly with oil tourists.

dangerous place that Delta so the guides are armed and look like a bunch of rascals. no one will mess with us.

i am so excited.

• 76.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-72: I grew up in Glen Eden, so know full well the size of those at Kelston :D

• 77.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-75: enjoy the games ranger, got your earplugs?

• 78.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-75:

Yes, that Delta is seriously on the MEND…

…cut some cocaine while you’re at it to show your solidarity with N i g e r i a…

• 79.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-77: i got my earplugs man.
    my wife bought them atually. she got cheapies as she seems to think i am already quite deaf :lol:

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-78: the holiday seems like quite a active one.
    not for sissies.

the itinerary is something like this:

day one
    mock “hostage situation”. apply mosquito lotion liberally before arrival as hands will be tied.
    *possible forced night march in blindfold dependant on conditions.

day two
    take part in looting of shell oil pipeline. buckets and any other containers will be supplied. smokers not advised to take part.

day 3 through 270
    scratch mozzie nites, crash course in “***** weight loss techniques” (world famous) and occasional random rifle butt to head.

we guarantee you will come out well equipped to face the luxuries of the modern world and knowing your family really loves you.

• 80.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-79:

Excuse me????!!!!!!!!!!

• 81.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-75: Good for you man… you are definately FEELIN IT!

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-80: uh, sorry???

i didnt quite catch that (as i was watching sport/ reading about sport/thinking about sport).

@theOracle(theOracle)-81: i am super psyched. got my bafana kit on too.

i know tac told us it is media driven hype, but what can i say? am a sucka for the patriotism thing.

• 83.Bod: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-79:

no rangerman… pleeeeeeze dont do the white thang and take ear plugs along.

I was lucky enough to be at the opening game at Soccer City. We were hosted by our bankers in a very posh way, along with a whole bunch of palefaces that actually arrived at a soccer game wearing pin striped suites and their little ear plugs. What a bunch of tossers.

Believe me the sound of 90000 vuvus was like a symphony to my ears… take it in and enjoy.

You too will become a vuvu convert like myself

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-82:

Listen

Leave our pipelines alone.

Oil is a messy business and we WILL get down and dirty!!!!!!!!

:evil:

• 85.WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final: Reply to this comment

Bafana will be the first host nation ever not to make it past the first round. SWC should’ve gone to NZ

• 86.Bod: Reply to this comment

Is’nt there an age restriction on this site?

• 87.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-86: I was wondering the same thing when I ready no. 85 above.

• 88.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-87: the Nic that is… the other part is true unfortunately

• 89.WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final: Reply to this comment

why don’t we then just give Brazil the rugby world cup … or the cricket world cup to greece … SWC = failure.

• 90.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-83: haha, you were in a box mate, but i will be cheering lustily amongst my african brothers and sisters :lol:

@Dawn(Dawn)-84: :lol: i forgot that Shell has agents EVERYWHERE!

i will do my best to avoid that part of the holiday but i fear it may be a compulsory activity.

• 91.money_man: Reply to this comment

I’m very sure Bismark, Strauss, Liebenberg, Kockott, Pretorius, Van Den Heever, Hougaard et all were NOT watching the farce world cup!

• 92.Bod: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-90:

Still sat outside though and I loved it.

Lose the plugs, grab yourself a ‘zela, learn to blow it and enjoy…

I am off to go and watch the boys hammer those Frogs

• 93.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@money_man(money_man)-91: who are they?? :lol:

• 94.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-92: enjoy it man.

i know how to blow a vuvu.

• 95.RaGe_X: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-51:

This. Exactly.

We won the Tri nations simply because we had stiff competition against the British Lions. So we were forced to play our A team and get settled. This season is going to be one of those that youre ashamed of being a bok supporter.

PdV is a Nepotist

• 96.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_X(RaGe_X)-95: oooh…you made a word green!

the only problem is that the colour of the word draws attention away from the meaning of the word.

and the general sentiment is kuk.

besides for all of that, great post. see you in shameville.

• 97.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-92:

I’m able to get four different notes out of the vuvuzela.

• 98.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-97: i can accompany you with an AYOBA!

lets make an advert.

• 99.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-98:

Tell you what, do a search on YouTube for “Blaas jou vuvuzela!” by the Radio Kalahari Orkes.

Very, very funny stuff :lol:

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-99: will do.

• 101.rangerman: Reply to this comment

BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 102.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-101:

Did you watch it?

Baby swaai jou boud vanaand
    Baby ek voel stout vanaand
    Baby ek bring harde hout vanaand
    Baby ek wil…..braai

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-102: :lol:

ja very good man.

but as a soutie from durbs, i had never heard of jack parow before and i watched @jy dink jy’s cooler than ekke” after and that honestly was in a class all of its own.

i am still laughing actually.

• 104.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-51: Please shut up, seriously!

The Boks deserved to get to watch the Bafana game and are making a MUCH bigger statement of their support for South Africa THE COUNTRY by going to them game, to the possible detriment of their test match. They should be admired for it, and applauded after their performance against France.

Please dont use NZ as an example of Professionalism, they do LOTS of things wrong, and Henry HAS played players out of position (Remember Mils in the centre?). Plus I wouldnt want the “professional” set up of the ABs if it means we get white-washed 3-0 (4-0 incl. Baa-baas) like what happened to them last year.

Our boys are proud ambassadors for our country and if there is ONE thing Pieter has, its man-mangement skills! (Although he does have all the other skills too).

Jinne jy kan lekker k@k skryf. Moenie so bitter wees nie man, geniet die feit dat jy n Suid-Afrikaner is EN die sokker is in jou land. As jy wil NZ ondersteun dan doen dit, en gaan skryf op hulle webblad (stuff.co.nz of silverfern) en vertel hulle hoe “professional” hulle is.

• 105.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-56: Nog meer lekker gatkruip ne? Skaam jou

• 106.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-104: “…and if there is ONE thing Pieter has, its man-mangement skills! …”

I don’t think this is always true. He has not managed to handle the FSteyn issue, other than manipulate it to try cover his stance and ego. Unfortunately it will bite him.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.