The big debate
1 Jul 2010
Has Chiliboy Ralepelle become a political pawn?
YES
Ollie le Roux, former Springbok prop
‘I think it’s a disgrace that Chiliboy was selected for the Springbok Test against Wales, especially when you consider he only played 20 minutes of Super Rugby this season and is the third-choice hooker at the Bulls.
‘There are so many world-class hookers in South Africa at the moment, with John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis [who’s currently injured], Tiaan Liebenberg, Gary Botha, Adriaan Strauss and Bandise Maku all in great form. Chiliboy’s selection is disrespectful to those hookers who deserve a call-up, as well as to the Bok team.
‘It’s sad for Chiliboy because he obviously doesn’t pick himself, yet he’s the one who has to suffer the consequences.
‘Chiliboy was a great player at age-group level and is earmarked to be the next Bok skipper, but this can’t justify his selection for the Cardiff Test. I can’t even remember what he brings to the field because I never see him play. He needs to go to a union where he will be the first-choice hooker and can prove to people that he deserves to be in the Springbok team.’
NO
Robbie Kempson, former Springbok prop
‘Chiliboy’s selection for the Wales Test was criticised because of his lack of game time in the Super 14 but I didn’t have a problem with it. He’s been sidelined for a long time because of injuries, which has seen him drop below Gary Botha and Bandise Maku in the Bulls’ pecking order at hooker. But keeping him in the Bok mix will help with his development as a player and keep him exposed to the team structures.
‘Chiliboy will also learn from the best players in the country and have the guidance of the Bok coaching staff, who can explain exactly what they want from him. That’s the ideal mentoring an up-and-coming player needs.
‘Unfortunately, he will be under fire because people feel he hasn’t proved that he’s worth a Bok call-up. But if he can make a success out of it, he will win the respect of the public.
‘Chiliboy has to remain focused, work hard, and make the most of his opportunities. He’s a good player with plenty of potential, but he has to make the step up.’
– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine

506 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All
2 Jul 2010, 09:24 am
@grant10(grant10)-450: He was…? Think you getting confused with Xavi at fetcher and Schweinsteiger at scrumhalf and Giyan at lock… Stick to poofball, it suits you…
2 Jul 2010, 09:31 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-451: found out at 3
and will soon have the best 2 in the world wanting his jersey back.
go plod….best of luck…..
as much a quota as anyone uitlander….wake up and smell the English tea….plonker.
2 Jul 2010, 09:34 am
@grant10(grant10)-452: I would say that most middle aged honkeys sitting in the comfort of Cape Town professing “liberal” values are as buiteland as anyone… You are as probably as alien to Africa as the World Cup visitors to SA… The funny thing is you don’t realise it…
2 Jul 2010, 09:36 am
@grant10(grant10)-452: Barney will be Captain at the World Cup. PdV wants it so, despite politicians and “liberal” honkey Capetonians who are the true uitlanders…
2 Jul 2010, 09:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-454: ja….he will….and qualifys as a quota….because he certainly not there on merit.
So before pontificating from your pulpit at the thames ….remember we dont need your or cabs advice…..go support M Johnson and his merry men while telling your friends how kak it is back in darkets Africa…..we will build our country….so do me a favor and f off.
2 Jul 2010, 09:52 am
@grant10(grant10)-455: What makes you think that South Africa needs advice from a honkey “liberal” from Cape Town… Cape Town does not support the government of the people… why? Is it because the ANC cannot be trusted with Clifton, Camps Bay, Hout Bay and the like…
On a simpler rugby level – mess around a brilliant Aplon to satisfy the blond primadonna, and f.ck around JdJ now with the return of another blonde hasbeen JdV… This is just anther sign of the “liberal” values of Province…
The “liberals” of Cape Town – “talk left and walk right”…
You do realise that Cape Town is not viewed as an African City…? Not really much African about it in aspiration…
Its hilarious to see the chirps about “uitlanders” from a middle aged no doubt english-speaking white male esconsed in the relative (to those in Mjondolos not far from you) comfort of Clifton…
Consider yourself exposed…
2 Jul 2010, 09:56 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-456: Merit is as merit does… John Smit has done and will contine to do much…
Quotas like Hanyani Shimange, Owen Nkomane, Chilliboy have not and will not…
2 Jul 2010, 10:03 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-457: you and cab are nothing but big mouth critics deriding whatever we do here…..while you ran away to so called greener pastures…..fark you both my man…..go get citizenship….we dont need or want your type back here.
Cape Town is very much part and parcel of SA….i have only lived in Clifton and Camps Bay for the last 3 years….before that in Melkbosstrand, Bergvliet, Tableview and Milnerton, Harfield Village for a year as well….so dont paint me with a wealthy upmarket brush ….just because it suits your agenda.
I never ran away ….i am here….doing my best to make a contribution…and fiercely proud…..more than i can say for you Uitlander….
so…i repeat….go give advice to M Johnson…..
leave pdv alone….he doesent need your kak….
now have to run uitlander….need to make a living…..
2 Jul 2010, 10:16 am
@grant10(grant10)-458: I never said you were “wealthy”… Conceit know no bounds, ne.
I have not run away…
Have skills, knowledge, do and will use… So your simplistic xenophobic rubbeesh does not wash…
Cheers Capetonian “african”….
You are just another ignorant middle-aged honkey liberal…
2 Jul 2010, 10:18 am
@grant10(grant10)-452: Well well nothing changes in this world it seems. G10 you have to do something about the hatred for John. Go read his book , the comments about Luke were sensationalised by the press and not given in the proper context but i guess that won’t change your mind.
I find it amazing that you are willing to overlook comments by players you rate about the important role John plays in the Springbok set up, whilst praising those same players for their contribution. So what you are saying is that the same players are good players but rather thick individuals when it comes to their judgements and opinions.
2 Jul 2010, 10:21 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-447: colonialist!!!!!
2 Jul 2010, 10:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-459:your simplistic views on grant betray you ingrained ignorance hahahaha
2 Jul 2010, 10:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-461: I’m surprised you haven’t said “gwaan, blaady spaai” like your “youth” leader and the rest of your Sandtonista revolutionary type…
2 Jul 2010, 10:25 am
i see
the papsak
and chemicals
have messed
bigtime
again
with skopskiet’s
brain
last night
this morning
he tries
to make
ammends
with a
reasonable
@Transformation(Transformation)-462: What “simplistic” views? Educate me, enlightened, sophisticated “Transformation”…
2 Jul 2010, 10:27 am
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-464: LOL. The Porra of Zen. Like Kickshot, there is only one Porra
2 Jul 2010, 10:36 am
@grant10(grant10)-458:
Don’t include Cab in your accusations. Over the years he’s been one of the more balanced bloggers, who’s prepared to discuss rather than pontificate, and acknowledge others points.
2 Jul 2010, 10:37 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463: it’s a free country anyone cam live in Sandton now, probably the last time you were here the Group Areas Act was still in place.
2 Jul 2010, 10:38 am
@David(David)-467: Just another Capetonian “african”…
2 Jul 2010, 10:39 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-465: why bother, you will croak over there on mud island soon enough and we wont have to deal with your whinging type
2 Jul 2010, 10:41 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-468: Aah, so it was in place June 2010…?
Funny that, it seems you are a bit removed from your “people” aren’t you… Lost your traditions…? Thats the price of “Model-C”…
2 Jul 2010, 10:43 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-470: “Whingeing”…
Is the dam of insults dry… Lost your manhood…?
2 Jul 2010, 10:49 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-470: Or are you singing Bashuka Ndabazini with pretence…
2 Jul 2010, 10:50 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-469:
Oh, go and pull some wings off a butterfly, or whatever people like you do for kicks, you irritating little man.
2 Jul 2010, 10:55 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-472: it’s not an insult it’s a fact.
The eastern cape has very good schools with years of tradition, ask sodajoe
2 Jul 2010, 10:58 am
@David(David)-474: Sprout… You are confused aren’t you…
2 Jul 2010, 11:01 am
pathetic grant10.
so now south africans cant comment about south african issues if they live outside the country?
you truly are a tunc of note.
the last thing we need is your kind in this country, rather fk off to someplace they appreciate xenophobes. i said it once before, in germany 1938, you would have worn a brown shirt.
2 Jul 2010, 11:02 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-475: You obviously have lost the meaning… Disappointing, sometimes it has to be spelled out for your generation of lost tradition…
But as you say “why bother” !
I must just amuse myself with the confusion, which is blaady funny, ne?
2 Jul 2010, 11:11 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-477: “in germany 1938, you would have worn a brown shirt” classic…
Keo.co.za is finding form again…
Xenophopic middle-aged Capetonian Mlungus, eminently rational observers from KZN, aspirant confused Sandtonista flunkys and the Zen Master colourful prose crafters. Not to mention the seemingly timid AB supporters coming out of their shells slowly…
Its lining up for a cracker…
All thats left is for tinderbox Gunther to light the fuse (did I say tenderbox)…
2 Jul 2010, 11:21 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-477:
Just leave Grant 10 alone. He’s just pissed that his ex lover Luke Watson doesnt have a World Cup, Tri Nations and Lions tour winners medal as captain in his possession.
I actually think he’s still on the ‘Bring back Luke’ crusade.
Shem…
2 Jul 2010, 11:24 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-480: Eish…
2 Jul 2010, 11:40 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-480: ja, and he is acting more and more like a p e nis with his bs about saffas who are furthering themselves in the BIG WIDE WORLD (that place outside of the republic of camps bay).
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-479: funnily enough i think i am right about grant.
2 Jul 2010, 11:45 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-479: lol @ “eminetly rational observers from kzn” hahahaha wow such obsequience.
you and rangeman are lank funny
2 Jul 2010, 11:49 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-483: Obseqiuence is a big word… No struggle credentials using that on a Rugby site
2 Jul 2010, 11:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-483: its my pleasure transie.
will you be joining your gabba grant as he hunts down “uitlanders” who dare to have an opinion?
the simple fact that you didnt comment on that point of view shows that your views are far from objective.
but what can i expect from someone who applauded the suspension of beasts right to play?
2 Jul 2010, 12:03 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-485: Was Beast also labelled an Uitlander by Sandtonistas and Honkey Capetonian “Africans”… Well, in that case I wear that label with pride…
2 Jul 2010, 12:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-486: ja, uitlanders all.
i wonder if grant has discussed his view with his DA supporting friends?
they did after all seem to think that expat saffas had as much right to vote as…oh, prisoners?
2 Jul 2010, 12:11 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-485: by all means assume sh.t on my behalf i expect nothing less. What Grant says is his opinion & i’m not obliged to express any views on it in the same way you don’t comment when heavens game or Tacitus or doppies is better than de jongh spew their nonsense all over this site. So shove the last post up your
“eminetly rational observer
” behind.
2 Jul 2010, 12:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-488:
i assume that you find it objectionable when others do as you do by making assumptions then?
“colonialist mentality” ring a bell my native?
2 Jul 2010, 12:19 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-485: as for the beast issue, did you see me celebrate? Am i not allowed to express my opinion now that SARU fu.cked up in only considering the irb rules and not looking into the immigration laws of the country? What part of that came out as celebratory? It is the law of the country it should be bent for nobody, even a rugby player loved by all.
If you care to know you will realise that the ammendment was made to curb more the influx of foreign football players in south africa than rugby, but i know you’re not bothered with facts only propaganda is paramount to you. Hlonga ndlebe!
2 Jul 2010, 12:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-490: easy now tranise, dont get all worked up
i consulted the Book of Grant and it seems you are indeed allowed to comment on the beast issue as you live within the borders of south africa.(though your view and that of khompela and co. smacks of xenophobia to me, much like granties ergo the comparison, geddit?)
phansi with uitlander views, phansi! (hope fifa arent reading this, they may ban grant from those games featureing uitlanders that grant is swooning over).
2 Jul 2010, 12:31 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-487: You must be joking… the 26′s, 27s and 28′s having a vote…. The farking DA has always been as African as Washington consensus democracy hasn’t it… The Capetonian DA – last refuge of the honkey liberal – “talk left, walk right”, go for a swim at Camps Bay, sip cocktails at the V&A and conveniently forget about the mjondolos.
Not to mention stuff the Weepee team with an eminently blonde quota and mess arond true merit and skill embodied by JdJ and Aplon. But that isn’t DA – I’m being unfair…
2 Jul 2010, 12:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-490: Now look who’s throwing a hissy fit
2 Jul 2010, 12:34 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-492:
2 Jul 2010, 12:37 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-491: I see you really want to hit the 500 mark.
2 Jul 2010, 12:38 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-495: it
is
going
2 Jul 2010, 12:39 pm
to
2 Jul 2010, 12:39 pm
be mine!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All