The big debate

Has Chiliboy Ralepelle become a political pawn?

YES
Ollie le Roux, former Springbok prop

‘I think it’s a disgrace that Chiliboy was selected for the Springbok Test against Wales, especially when you consider he only played 20 minutes of Super Rugby this season and is the third-choice hooker at the Bulls.

‘There are so many world-class hookers in South Africa at the moment, with John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis [who’s currently injured], Tiaan Liebenberg, Gary Botha, Adriaan Strauss and Bandise Maku all in great form. Chiliboy’s selection is disrespectful to those hookers who deserve a call-up, as well as to the Bok team.

‘It’s sad for Chiliboy because he obviously doesn’t pick himself, yet he’s the one who has to suffer the consequences.

‘Chiliboy was a great player at age-group level and is earmarked to be the next Bok skipper, but this can’t justify his selection for the Cardiff Test. I can’t even remember what he brings to the field because I never see him play. He needs to go to a union where he will be the first-choice hooker and can prove to people that he deserves to be in the Springbok team.’

NO
Robbie Kempson, former Springbok prop

‘Chiliboy’s selection for the Wales Test was criticised because of his lack of game time in the Super 14 but I didn’t have a problem with it. He’s been sidelined for a long time because of injuries, which has seen him drop below Gary Botha and Bandise Maku in the Bulls’ pecking order at hooker. But keeping him in the Bok mix will help with his development as a player and keep him exposed to the team structures.

‘Chiliboy will also learn from the best players in the country and have the guidance of the Bok coaching staff, who can explain exactly what they want from him. That’s the ideal mentoring an up-and-coming player needs.

‘Unfortunately, he will be under fire because people feel he hasn’t proved that he’s worth a Bok call-up. But if he can make a success out of it, he will win the respect of the public.

‘Chiliboy has to remain focused, work hard, and make the most of his opportunities. He’s a good player with plenty of potential, but he has to make the step up.’

– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine

506 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 51.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009(Oubaas2009)-44:

he
    supports
    us well

• 52.Observer: Reply to this comment

@NOTHING GUY(NOTHING GUY)-19:
    Chili was first team captain not headboy.

• 53.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-46:

because
    there are
    two better
    bull
    no 2′s

• 54.Doppies_better_than_De_jongh: Reply to this comment

A simple test … :

Where in SA will Chilli be first choice? :

1. Bulls – never
    2. Stormer – no
    3. Sharks – no
    4. Lions – maybe
    5. Cheetahs – not really

• 55.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

“I can’t even remember what he brings to the field because I never see him play” LOLLLLL – Ollie has spoken a lot of bllshite in his time, but this time not…

• 56.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009(Oubaas2009)-42: Actually, he kicked a few. Even once for the Boks. (And nobody above 25 will be bored enough to go to Mystic Boer…)

I don’t like Ollie, but if you read his entire post you’ll agree with him. It isn’t fair to be a 3rd choice at your own S14 franchise and jump to 2 choice Springbok hooker. BUT, he also said Chilli is a good player, and should move to another franchise where he is first choice.

He’s not saying anything different from what we’re all saying: Chili’s being wasted at the Bulls.

• 57.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-43:

But I think you missed the point.

He asked about two uncapped players, not part of the setup at all, and you raised an example of a player very much part of the setup – either that or I am having trouble reading your posts (which is not new).

@Transformation(Transformation)-46:

Nah not really but I would rather let others state the obvious.

I am not really in the mood for serious rugby discussions today believe it or not!!!

But now that you mentioned the Bulls example I find it interesting that where FDP is openly believed to take young Hougaard under his wing he is (for most) the automatic successor to FDP.

We know John (as stated in the past) has done the same with Chili but in no way is that the same…

• 58.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Observer(tbannaz)-52: Sounds like Chiliboy has a sad history of disenfranchisement that needs to be rectified – “Chili was first team captain not headboy”. Never mind, SARU are doing their best…

• 59.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Ok, so those that think Chilli is a political pawn and 3rd choice?

Why not select Maku then?

Is it because dare I say it, Chilli is a better player than Maku?

As I said before, it was agreed by Heyneke & Chilli that he needed game time this season. So he played Vodacom.

The Bulle have created this by selecting a flank at hooker last year, ahead of both Maku and Chilli. Where is Derek Kuun now? 2nd choice flank?

• 60.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-35: No.
    Chilli is third in
    line at the Boks.
    Not 8th.
    PDV selects
    the Boks.
    Not
    you.
    Never have.
    Never
    will.

• 61.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Doppies_better_than_De_jongh(suffer_guy)-54: At the Cheetahs…. over Strauss and Strauss plus whatever human tractor jack they might unearth around Senekal – not likely…

• 62.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-57:

then cap
    them
    same as
    de jong
    my point
    is
    double standards
    and anybody
    with half
    a brain
    know
    it’s
    politics

• 63.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Doppies_better_than_De_jongh(suffer_guy)-54: Lions definitely. Sharks, John’s possibly retiring after WC and Bismarck leaving overseas… definitely a possibility!

• 64.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-60:

third
    because of
    politics
    eighth
    if politics
    made way
    for
    merit

• 65.Doppies_better_than_De_jongh: Reply to this comment

Also Chilli must be like a broher to John Smit (with his family etc paying for Chilli’s education) maybe John also has a big say in this

• 66.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: Only one Strauss left, but agreed: he’ll have a tough time beating Strauss (who should be 2nd choice Springbok hooker) and this new kid PW van Vuuren, who’s apparently a freak.

• 67.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-64:

sorry maybe
    seventh
    bis
    then smit
    botha
    liebenberg
    maku
    straus
    yes 7th

• 68.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-64: But thats
    your opinion
    You are
    not
    a Springbok
    selector
    or coach
    You know that
    saying
    bout opinions
    and holes?
    This may come
    as a surprise
    But your opinion
    doesnt matter
    to the Bok
    brain trust
    Really
    Its sad
    I know

• 69.Observer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-58: Point is with out the correct knowledge your deductions are fabricated.
    Chili did not get out played at the bulls this year – he was injured. Should he have been picked in the original squad? probably not! In hindsight was it the incorrect decision? definitely not! He has played extremely well thus far this international season. Would Gary or Tian have played better or contributed more? I doubt it. Should they have been given the opportunity to try? In my opinion, going forward, no.

For me Tian is a bit of a one hit wonder, much the same as lucus van biljoen.

Gary and chili are remarkably similar, where do you think chili learned to play. he is just the newer, shinier version. Gary will always have been extremely unlucky. Much like Steward McGill.

• 70.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Ag, at the end of the day, Chilli is the 2nd choice hooker for the Boks at the moment.

You may not like that, but its a fact, check the papers.

So deal with it OR have some cheese with your wine…

And Ollie shut your piehole.

• 71.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-68:

the
    springbok
    brain trust
    then rather
    play
    politics
    that’s
    just as
    sad
    as them
    not consulting
    my brilliant
    mind

• 72.Bod: Reply to this comment

Its time this Porras knees got broken… he is getting far too windgat

• 73.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Observer(tbannaz)-69: It amazes me how some justify positive discrimination…

Knowledge = not first choice at the Bulls…? Fact or not?

Never mind, it is snug and comfortably dark from the ostriches point of view when head is in sand…

• 74.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-72:

you won’t
    even
    get past
    my mother
    never mind
    my
    cuzzins

• 75.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-72: Reminds me of Ronaldo

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-66: Dont’t tell me – plucked from a beef farm, with a rear tractor tyre on one shoulder while delicately swinging the misbehaving escaped hefer back over the electric fence…

• 77.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-74:

I have connections in Bez Valley that can shape out a baseball bat with their bare teeth.

Baseball bats break knees.

Watch your mother and cuzzins carefully…

• 78.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-71: Ok. This writing style of yours takes up to much time so Im gonna revert back to normal. The point has been made that were it to have been a political issue Maku would have been a better choice. That doesnt mean its not a political selection. Maybe they back Chilli like Jake White backed Meyer Bosman (picked of the Free State bench). Maybe they are picking him as a token. We dont know. Anything on our sides is speculation and opinion. In my opinion Id have Gary Botha as John Smit’s deputy. But thats just my opinion. Sadly, the Boks brain trust attach as little relevance to my opinion as they do to yours. :(

• 79.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-62:

Nah I am having real difficulty grasping your logic.

Wynand who was the only real option at 12 (given JDV only came back from Munster after the Super 14) left quite a void at 12.

So sensibly the other 12 in the Super 14 who showed good form was brought in.

At 9 (since you mentioned Vermaak who missed half the Super rugby season this year) we have Januarie and Ruan in the team to cover 9 so there is plenty of cover given FDP will be back.

I see no need to cap someone if we are covered already.

But ja, difficulty reading your posts again I am sure but I dont get it.

• 80.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-77:

watch your
    connections
    they
    may be
    my cuzzins

• 81.Observer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73: Positive discrimination? is there such a thing? Discrimination is negative. Thus when it is positive it becomes something completely different. It becomes an informed choice. A choice that i agree with in this case. hindsight will prove that!

“not first choice at the Bulls…?” not fact! that is your opinion. when fit (granted not often), who is better? Gary? maybe, but they have not competed, both fit, since Gary let to quins.

• 82.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-62: let me understand you, are you saying De jongh’s selection ahead of Wynand is political?

• 83.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-79:

i’ll try
    to do it
    slowly
    it comes
    down
    to
    double standards
    centre
    has been
    handled
    correctly
    scrumhalf
    and definitely
    hooker
    not
    but like
    i say
    anybody
    with brains
    know why
    here endeth
    the
    lesson

• 84.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-82:

no
    read
    no 83

• 85.Transformation: Reply to this comment

why did jake also keep on selecting chiliboy?

• 86.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Observer(tbannaz)-81: “positive discrimination” is a term used by many a commie inclined liberal with delusions of grandeur – much like “affirmative action” or “rectifying the previously disavantaged” – nice words to excuse the inexusable. A thin whisker away from “separate development” and “final solution”…

If… there is a great set of words accompanying the word “If” by the “colonialist” Kipling… Chili, by that standard is no man…

When has Chiliboy ever been 1st choice at the Bulls other than at age group level…

I think you are groping for mammaries that are just out of reach here…

• 87.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-85:

because
    chilli
    was earmarked
    as the
    first
    black
    bok captain
    and if it
    worked
    according to
    plan
    one hundred
    percent
    but it sort
    of stuttered
    to a
    standstill
    and now
    they try
    to get it
    started
    again
    but it’s
    not really
    working
    good luck
    to them

• 88.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-85: He was forced to…?

Similarly with Luke the puke…?

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-72: Naah, the Porra of Zen is just missing a little bit of Gunther’s proverbial “Dead Badger”…

• 90.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Again the two situations are completely different.

At 12 we were in trouble (no decent back up) but at 9 and 2 we have more than enough back-up, experienced back up nonetheless.

I ask the question, what would Gary or Maku have brought to the Bok setup Chili is not currently delivering on?

We know Bismarck brings something totally different hence is the official number 2 just injured at the moment.

• 91.David: Reply to this comment

The interesting thing about the furore surrounding Chili is that another ex SA u/21 player with a similar pedigree has found his way into PdeVs larger squad, in Hargreaves. Apart from the odd “he’s K@K” comment, people have been noticeably less critical about this choice due no doubt that being white, the quota label doesn’t apply. I realise Hargreaves is currently first choice at the Sharks, but that’s meaningless considering their other lock choices.

• 92.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

this sorry mess highlights the problem that pdv has. talented players of colour is for reason not being brought through to senior provincial level after performing at junior level.

• 93.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-91:

you’re right
    hargreaves
    is
    kak

• 94.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-90: Reliability…? Less risk of discontinuity through injury… Even better scrummaging…? Better tight play…? Better loose play… ? And on, and on…

• 95.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-91:

But that is just it.

If you want to justify an out of the ordinary white selection it is just one of those things.

And out of the ordinary black selection is politically motivated.

• 96.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-89:

It appears this version of the Porra has moved out of Bez Valley and stepped up the ante.

To quote…. “here endeth the lesson”… rather eloquent and definitely not your average Bez Valley dead badger type.

• 97.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-90:

because
    chilli
    is clearly
    used
    for political
    purposes
    and he was
    no 3
    at the
    bulls
    that is there
    for all
    to see
    i mean
    botha on
    current form
    may have
    brought
    a lot
    more
    than chilli
    but he
    was never
    even
    considered
    so we won’t
    know
    the only
    thing
    we know
    is that both
    he and
    maku
    kept chilli
    out of
    the s14
    bull team

• 98.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-94:

Based on what?

Your opinion only?

Our scrums looked great against France and Italy, better than what they have in years and that against two of the better European packs in the 6N.

I cannot remember us losing many line outs.

I do not remember Chili shying away from any contact, make mistakes in contact either on defense or offense either.

Given what we have seen in two tests from Chili can you actually back up the fact that Gary or Maku’s contribution in any of those areas are significantly better than what Chili’s was?

Injury?

Please, any player can get injured climbing off the team bus.

• 99.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-93: Hey Porra – why do you write in Haiku china?
    Its very difficult to read…

• 100.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-97:

See 98.

What did Botha bring in the Super 14 that was significantly different from what Chili brought in two tests we have seen him?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.