The big debate
1 Jul 2010
Has Chiliboy Ralepelle become a political pawn?
YES
Ollie le Roux, former Springbok prop
‘I think it’s a disgrace that Chiliboy was selected for the Springbok Test against Wales, especially when you consider he only played 20 minutes of Super Rugby this season and is the third-choice hooker at the Bulls.
‘There are so many world-class hookers in South Africa at the moment, with John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis [who’s currently injured], Tiaan Liebenberg, Gary Botha, Adriaan Strauss and Bandise Maku all in great form. Chiliboy’s selection is disrespectful to those hookers who deserve a call-up, as well as to the Bok team.
‘It’s sad for Chiliboy because he obviously doesn’t pick himself, yet he’s the one who has to suffer the consequences.
‘Chiliboy was a great player at age-group level and is earmarked to be the next Bok skipper, but this can’t justify his selection for the Cardiff Test. I can’t even remember what he brings to the field because I never see him play. He needs to go to a union where he will be the first-choice hooker and can prove to people that he deserves to be in the Springbok team.’
NO
Robbie Kempson, former Springbok prop
‘Chiliboy’s selection for the Wales Test was criticised because of his lack of game time in the Super 14 but I didn’t have a problem with it. He’s been sidelined for a long time because of injuries, which has seen him drop below Gary Botha and Bandise Maku in the Bulls’ pecking order at hooker. But keeping him in the Bok mix will help with his development as a player and keep him exposed to the team structures.
‘Chiliboy will also learn from the best players in the country and have the guidance of the Bok coaching staff, who can explain exactly what they want from him. That’s the ideal mentoring an up-and-coming player needs.
‘Unfortunately, he will be under fire because people feel he hasn’t proved that he’s worth a Bok call-up. But if he can make a success out of it, he will win the respect of the public.
‘Chiliboy has to remain focused, work hard, and make the most of his opportunities. He’s a good player with plenty of potential, but he has to make the step up.’
– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine

506 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All
1 Jul 2010, 23:53 pm
every dumb interpreter and his poodle telling it how it is yet nobody quite knows if its this or that.
Bulls are the culprits actually, wtf they got 4 top rate hookers for all vying for a starting spot? Wtf they call Gary Botha back for if they already got a Chili and a Maku and then they still elevate this flank Kuun above them both?
Idiots thinking they’re being so patronizing and goody two shoes paternally Pc in terms of supporting 2 ‘quotas’ in their setup yet they not doing the players any damn good at all.
So its left for the national coach to set the record straight and re right all the bull sh’t baffles brain dumb @ss wrongs
1 Jul 2010, 23:56 pm
Gary Botha should f.off back to where he came from or go play in France.
Kuun should stick to playing loose forward where his real attributes lie.
Maku or Chili should be starting 2 at Bulls or else they should both find a franchise that does justice to their talents.
1 Jul 2010, 23:57 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-401:
Carefull, you may choke on your anti Bulls bile!
1 Jul 2010, 23:58 pm
Yeah, f off Gary, chopstick has spoken……………
2 Jul 2010, 00:02 am
Bulls are sham artists supreme pretending to be this emancipatory all encompassing progressive franchise where back at the ranch they no more progressive than they were 20 years ago. Big sham shackle smoke screen pretenses. Rugby in Bulls country same as FS and elsewhere still the narrow enclave of white protectionist broederbond indoctrination.
2 Jul 2010, 00:02 am
if quotas are to be enforced they should be done so at S14 level and below, but definitely not at the pinnacle level, i.e. the national team.
However, to say quotas do not exist, aint got anything to do with interpretation, poodles or squirrels – its simply horsemanure lies.
2 Jul 2010, 00:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-358: But what about the black “indigenous” African players. Surely its not enough to just be “non-white”… Khompela and the likes of you demand a continuum of disadvantage or disenfranchisement to be variably addressed
2 Jul 2010, 00:03 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-407: or “redressed”. I forget the adequate PC term…
2 Jul 2010, 00:06 am
yeah why don’t you Gary just f.off just like all these other two bit protectionist seekers that run for first world protectionism to some alternative colony and then start calling quota calamity from way over there across the big wide ocean.
2 Jul 2010, 00:07 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-394: Fark… someone from Stormer country without wedgie scars from sitting on their PC, pseudoliberal, eminently “enlightened” fences… A man amongst brokebacks… truly rare…
2 Jul 2010, 00:09 am
@cab(cab)-400: It suits the “elite” to have an indefinite timeline…
Chilli for Captain of the King Proteas, Viva!!!
2 Jul 2010, 00:11 am
this is supposed to be a debate about whether there are still political pawns in SA rugby, a person living in or outside of SA, is quite entitled to give their own opinion of a policy which looks to reserve places based on race, this was done by the anti-apartheid movement, many of whom resided outside of SA, during the apartheid years.
These are liberal values being discussed.
2 Jul 2010, 00:11 am
whiteys think this game still enshrined in their dna
About time they realized no such reality. Just cause Bulls management are still racially blindfolded don’t mean quotas exist or not. Problem rests with the dumb schmuck franchise management that are obliterated by inherent inbred supremacy fixation.
Go horse manure yourself till you see wood for trees
2 Jul 2010, 00:12 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-401: Because Gary Botha is better than both of them? Ever considered the option that takes into account proven skill and ability, and excludes hue as a factor…
Naah, wouldn’t think so… You’re still trying to figure out the meaning of life while it passes you by…
2 Jul 2010, 00:14 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-411:
i dont see how anyone can be earmarked as a future springbok captain when he;s not been able to show any sustained form at the top level.
but the struggle folk on here will see this as an attack on rallapelle, which its not, but i cant explain my position any more clearly.
2 Jul 2010, 00:18 am
ah fk actually thats the final straw, i;ve had enough of this emotional stupidity, i;m off. whats the fkn point in discussing things with ppl who could not actually understand a different viewpoint if you had to try explain it to them until eternity comes.
2 Jul 2010, 00:21 am
all the quotas should simply boycott this sham shackled lie
Every so called quota player should simply down tools and let these white supremacists play amongst themselves. After all thats exactly what they been crying out to do since Van Riebeek set foot on this alien soil. Leave them be in their holy rugby religiosity let them play their enshrined god given game till their willy’s fall off in their own hands.
2 Jul 2010, 00:22 am
This is actually a total lie and everyone knows it, but thats what ppl dont want to address. Thats the real point, the lying.
2 Jul 2010, 00:22 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-405: There is no “progressive franchise”… liberalism, diversity and equality are nothing more than a confusing joke to shaft those who persist with guilt…
There is nothing more racist than a honkey with “liberal” outward characteristics…. It isn’t honest, similarly for the “black elite” and the continual clamour for “reparation” and “redress”…
It also is a bit see-through and transparent to see your obvious confusion about who the f.ck you are and what you stand for….
Kickshot, what do you stand for other than colourful but bullsh.t laden prose… Or is that too farking confusing or real to answer for the likes of you and your type…
2 Jul 2010, 00:24 am
The bulls selecting white players is a total lie and the Boks selection claiming merit is a total lie, they’re all lying.
2 Jul 2010, 00:27 am
@cab(cab)-415: Mate, you will go round in round in circles… I have veered from admittedly poor attempts (in hindsight) at sarcasm, attempted humour, self-deprecation and ridiculousness most of today… I think it has been wasted… Must se more tongue in cheek in future…
But alas, that may also be misinterpreted by the self-appointed moral guardians… Even the devil as advocate would have his head in in his hands after headbutting the gavel…
2 Jul 2010, 00:27 am
Gary Botha’s better then who by who’s standards? Yours or who’s?
Thats exactly it its so enshrined in your dumb f.ck white indoctrinated brain that no way could Chili or Maku possibly hold a candle to this overrated dumb schmuck white elephant Botha that stand on their indigenous heads these poor little kraal boys will forever carry the stigma of being whitey’s little quota players.
You rugby schmuckaroos suck because your minds already made up long before the quota player puts his green and gold socks on let alone till he takes to the field of action.
2 Jul 2010, 00:31 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-422: Who says I am “white”…?
You need to go and smoke some more of your string-theory farking quantam weed and realise that this is about a game…
No place t hide on a rugby field at the highest level – passengers chosen on the basis of hue are always exposed when better players are not chosen…
Over and out…
2 Jul 2010, 00:34 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-422:
actually lets just wrap it up here, i sent you an email on the wierd *** stuff but just forget it, its times like this i realise i;ve over-estimated you way too much, sorry for contacting you about the religious stuff i nthe first place and good luck with this site, but as for mei;m done. you actually dont understand, you cant always just follow your heart, there are times when consistency are more important, because no single individual can always be right and their emotion overwhelms them.
2 Jul 2010, 00:37 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-422:
jeez, are you a whitety with a big chip on his shoulder, just a stupid one eyed doos, or always drugged out? Maybe all three? Your anti white, anti Bulls, my way or the highway stance is sooo totally boring…….but hey you got one fan….wet pantie!
You go boy!
2 Jul 2010, 00:38 am
f.off with your guilt cr@p Heavens Tame nobody feeling guilty about f.all unless you are.
Its you dumb elevated idiots that think you still more qualified to play this dumb f.ck ignoramus game than somebody who isn’t up to your preconceived elevated indoctrinated status. Go get f.ck’d take a grand glorious hike back to your roots and wallow in your hyper supreme rugby enlighted superiority. Its inherent in your psyche and in your attitude its so emphatically blindfold mesmerized into your consciousness that no way in hell could Chili possibly be anyway nearly as qualified as this schmuck idiot Botha that you automatically brand him a quota. Same as Heyneke Meyer and Frans Ludeke does.
2 Jul 2010, 00:41 am
“up to your preconceived elevated indoctrinated status”………obviously been looking at yourself in the mirror chopstick?
2 Jul 2010, 00:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-410:
What’s a wedgy scar?
Never had one.
Have you?
I thought this thread was dying out and then everyone woke up.
2 Jul 2010, 00:48 am
again, this has nothing to do with superiority, it has to do with lies, with a player who is not being selected by his province and being selected for the springboks on merit when hes had no S14 gametime to support this.
Its lies, simple lies.
2 Jul 2010, 00:48 am
don’t do me any dumb doos favors cabbipatch
Its not me thats confused about who the f.ck they are and what they doing wallowing around in their delusional mesmerized intellectuality. You got a problem with your own existence that ain’t my problem its your own. Find out for yourself wtf you actually doing in this creation if you think your intellect got half a clue about it. Or continue being confused thats up to you, and in fact even that much is out of your non free willed hands..
2 Jul 2010, 00:49 am
Liars all of them includingn you.
2 Jul 2010, 00:50 am
well i’d suggest the only one not confused by their existence are you fundamentalists, that have it all so taped, that look down their nose at teh rest of us poor confused immature souls. what a twat you really are.
2 Jul 2010, 00:52 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-402: they should move if they’re not being giving game time at the Bulls, but I think there was a story on here a while back where Rallephelle signed a new deal. One has to ask if this was the wisest move for his career since he spends most of his time on the bench.
Mind you, the other provinces are well stocked at hooker with Liebenberg, BDP, Strauss…there was only really the Lions who could guarantee him a starting S14 position and I’m not sure many players would be so keen on moving there.
SA need to sort the Lions franchise out or get the Southern Kings up and running.
2 Jul 2010, 01:02 am
@cab(cab)-431:
As i said in a previous post, honesty is the only way forward from here. Up and coming Boks right now, don’t know where they stand – as you said, a brilliant Super 14 doesn’t count for much.
Maybe PDV is the pawn here – we don’t know.
Hoskins and PDV need to sit down and make it clear to the players – and us, the rugby playing public – how long this quota thing is going to last.
The players of colour want to know as much as the whiteys – we cannot carry one like this forever where doubt remains.
It isn’t fair on the player selected or the one left out – both have questions in their head – or should have.
2 Jul 2010, 01:13 am
ok cheers guys
i’m outta here
till tom
2 Jul 2010, 01:17 am
thats right blunderbus call them fundamentalist, thats the easy way out of your blind as bat intellectual confusion. Why not just crucify them on a cross thats the next best option, or boil them in oil, or behead them or burn them alive. All in the name of enlightened scientific secular clarity of reason .
2 Jul 2010, 01:19 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-434: it’s a tough one stormer, most of the coaches are white and most of the players are white. Even if they aren’t consciously racist it’s not beyond the realms of possibility that they will naturally favour the white player just as a black coach might favour black players. Quotas are reviled by most however they do provide a safety barrier of sorts in that sense.
There is also a flip side if one considers the potential black pro players have to to inspire young black kids to follow and take up the game. As an example, Jerry Guscott was Paul Sackey’s hero, and Sackey is a big football fan. These kids need player to identify with and spark their interest in the pro game, in the longer term SA might well have a backline with every player as good as Bryan Habana has been. With no Habana’s to look up to, then they might well be lost to football or some other sport.
I do think however the key is a winning team at national level, no one wants to support losers whether they be white, black or yellow.
2 Jul 2010, 01:23 am
Chili had a far better game than Smit did by a landslide against Wales or France.
Both games that Chili started or came on he had fine games nothing short of bok quality and contribution for contribution way better than John Smit had by some distance.
Its a shame that its left to the national coach to fix the foil that the franchise coaches are simply too bogged down in their own erratic fearfilled fallacy to address.
2 Jul 2010, 02:20 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-436:
which scientist has ever boiled, burned or crucified anyone? come on then, name one you blithering idiot, just give us one decent fact for a change.
you think i actually want to see a white player chosen ahead of a black player?
u think i give goddamn about the superiority of rugby in relation to any other sport?
u think i believe europeans are superior to anyone else?
believe what you must, after all you know it all with your magnificent intuition. But you guys are also liars, nowhere else is a player elevated to national team selection when he plays no first grade rugby and its called a merit selection. What an utter outright lie and this is what you will have me believe, nope the only nblunderbus is yourself. You have a very definite agenda when it comes to these selections, where reason is totally thrown out and you seem to rely on your subjective all-knowing knowledege of life, the universe and our human natures. Utter horsehit.
Chilli played against italy at home, what are you fkn talking about you stupid cretin? to be a merit selection he would need to play regularly against smit, bismarck and botha so that we can compate apples v apples.
2 Jul 2010, 03:04 am
Ralepelle has zero self respect, and we all know Skopskiet long lost his on this site and in the ‘real’ world.
2 Jul 2010, 04:28 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-407: firstly f.ck you for this “the likes of you” approach of yours. You don’t know me to be likening me to anyone!
The guys i listed earlier are representative enough for me, they play the game at the highest level and i’m proud of them no less.
Now you can gaan aan about what you think the likes of me are supposedly pursuing…
2 Jul 2010, 06:16 am
Morons:
Firstly the strugle is about equality between the rich and the poor. Colour is incidental and used as tool to create division.
Secondly it is clear that some these
racist bloggers are actually Keolings
getting the blog mark over 400. Shameful really.
Thirdly there is a clear distinction between inteligence and wisdom. Yes I know I have niether…
If you live in the past your past becomes your future. If you seek injustice in everything you will find it.
So lay off the genaralisations…
2 Jul 2010, 06:35 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-56: was Ollie Le Roux really a goal-kicker?
2 Jul 2010, 06:53 am
@cab(cab)-439: this whole chiliboy saga is quite astounding, the guy has managed to be in the “mix” of two springbok coaching regimes even though he has had limited game time
2 Jul 2010, 07:05 am
the Springbok team should go like this
Wiaan du Preez
Gary Botha
Werner Kruger
Bakkies Botha
Victor Matfield
Schalk Burger
Juan Smith
Pierre Spies
Jano Vermaak
Morne Steyn
Francois Hougaard
Jean De Villiers
Jacque Fourie
Gerhard Van der Heever
Frans Steyn
Strauss
Jan du Plessis
Andries Bekker
Dewalt Potgieter
Ruan Pienaar
Wynand Olivier
Hennie Daniller
This will make every rugby loving pundit in this country (and abroad) proud as punch
No more hollering about racism and quotas, no more crying and gnashing of white teeth about non merit players getting picked. The team will represent this multi talented and multi faceted nation of ours and we can continue to be proud and patriotic pure bred South African rugby supporters. I mean this is the holy tradition of Springbok rugby we talking here, no sullying of tradition and blood line do we encourage or support and espouse. So all you non merit political pawn quotas better f.ck right off and go play your beloved soccer game instead.
I just wish they would play this merit selected non racial team then we can go on winning every World Cup and every tri nations tournament just like we always did in the good old days when Bok rugby was Bok Rugby and no damn meddling by politicians forced any non merit impure specimen into our fold
Keep it pure keep it rugby keep it untainted by political pawn quota selections keep it real
Go Bokke
2 Jul 2010, 07:18 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-445:
2 Jul 2010, 08:57 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-441:
After much of a day reading your simplistic generalisations about my supposed colonialist tendancy’s you throw a little tantrum after receiving a bit of your own medicine… Farking funny and very predictable…
2 Jul 2010, 09:03 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-426: Aaah, then explain why I think Aplon, JdJ and Mvovo are the next best things as sliced bread…
Not so easy to place in a predetermined box, you transcendental meditating trance bunny…
Who is the generalizing superiority monger now…?
Thats right, you will never reply to a direct question, because it is beyond that peanut of yours you mistake for a brain, no matter how creative it is with colourful prose…
2 Jul 2010, 09:11 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-445:
good and
well
thought out
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-423: ja
ask john smit
fark me he was more than found out!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All