Selectors snub Craven Week kings
3 Jul 2010
Just two players from Free State’s unbeaten Craven Week team have been included in the SA Schools starting XV.
Another four Bloem boys have been named on the bench. Western Province, who suffered a big defeat to Free State on Saturday, have four players in the starting line-up and one among the subs.
Grey College’s William Small-Smith will captain the side.
The back three includes the exciting Western Province duo of fullback Craig Barry and Jean-Paul Lewis. They will be joined by Boland speedster Leroy Bitterhout who scored a hat-trick of tries during his side’s 49-23 victory over KwaZulu-Natal on Saturday.
Small-Smith will partner former SA Schools centre Andile Jho in the midfield. Free State’s Johan Goosen, who scored 22 points during his side’s victory over WP, was selected as the SA Schools flyhalf.
SA Schools – 15 Craig Barry (Western Province), 14 Jean-Paul Lewis (Western Province), 13 William Small-Smith (Free State, c), 12 Andile Jho (Border), 11 Leroy Bitterhout (Boland), 10 Johan Goosen (Free State), 9 Rudi van Rooyen (Blue Bulls), 8 Nardus van der Walt (Blue Bulls), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Western Province), 6 Khaya Majola (KwaZulu-Natal), 5 Ruan Botha (Valke), 4 Ruan Venter (Golden Lions), 3 Allan Dell (Border), 2 Jason Thomas (Eastern Province), 1 Steven Kitshoff (Western Province).
Subs: 16 Anrich Bitzi (Free State), 17 Neethling Fouche (Free State), 18 Schalk van Heerden (Blue Bulls), 19 Wiaan Liebenberg (Boland), 20 Kevin Luiters (Free State), 21 Paul Jordaan (Free State), 22 Tshotsho Mbovane (Western Province).

283 Comments
3 Jul 2010, 15:27 pm
snubbed dragons!!!!
3 Jul 2010, 15:29 pm
simon, just two players from free state have been “including”? What the hell!
3 Jul 2010, 15:37 pm
Have not watched enough of the Craven Week to comment on selections, but the guys who have been picked in final 22 should feel proud whether they are on the bench/starting line up.
If Grey Bloem represented a country I am sure there rugby team would challenge for World Cup silverware. It is remarkable how much talent comes from this school.
3 Jul 2010, 15:37 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-2:
Hey! Transie, is that young Khaya Maj. the son of the deceased Khaya Majola, son of the great Eric Majola?
3 Jul 2010, 15:39 pm
I can spy the weakness in that team right away, just by looking at the names on the team sheet.
Too few Afrikaner boys. That side “gaan harde bene kou”.
Look at the make up of the senior Bok team – DESPITE the quota skewing.
If your SA schools team doesn’t consist of a similar demographic ratio you’re in for a world of hurt.
Don’t lose heart, Free State boys. We’ll bring you into our blue academy. You may not be in any losing SA Junior teams for the moment, but you may just be in a few trophy winning Bulls senior teams one day -if you’re good enough.
3 Jul 2010, 15:44 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-5: lol tacci too late 90% of they grey school team this year contracted to the sharks acadamy
only 1 player of that will be staying at the cheetahs
you better go look at the wp team
3 Jul 2010, 15:44 pm
@ET(ET)-4: i’m not sure ET, he goes to school @ Westville Boys but i suspect so.
3 Jul 2010, 15:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-7: he is a good player
was great in the lineouts against the cheetahs
3 Jul 2010, 15:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
Ja I suspect the Natal Sharks Academy probably offered him to join them and in the process advance his education.
They did the same to a nephew of mine in the E.Cape, but he rejected their offer.
I see the Blue Bulls are a bit overrepresented considering that they were not as talented or performed as well as other sides at Craven Week…
Mmmm…
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-5: not enough of the “traditional rugby playing demographic” for your liking. Hahahaha
where is the Blue Bulls homegrown crop of players Tac?
3 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-11:
Indeed. Just like you say there.
3 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
After yesterday’s drama are you still now big(or even bigger) on the ‘Oranje’ or have you shifted to the Argies because some of their personnel are with your Barca?
3 Jul 2010, 15:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-10:
What can you expect? It is all canned.
Have you recovered from yesterday’s unbelievable drama?
Don’t think there will be a similar wild ride today when the disciples of the “Hand of G O D ” take on your technocrats of football.
3 Jul 2010, 16:10 pm
@ET(ET)-14: Elliot, I did enjoy the drama, but see my comment on the other thread… I did feel dirty afterward – that handball was disgusting…
I must say I cannt help but watch the game today and I hope der Mannschaft give those dirty S Americans a hiding they never forget… After watching Uru and Brazil trying to subvert the whole ethos of the game for a majority of an afternoon I truly hope the final is Germany vs Holland…
Whatever their skill levels, S Americans are cheating, dirty curs at soccer… I wan’t to see them squirm lose control (like Brazil) and then lose…
So, go Deutschland!!!
3 Jul 2010, 16:14 pm
@ET(ET)-13: i like arjen robben but yesterday he left me disappointed with his play acting antics, he has gone down a notch in my book. As for the team, they’re average with sneijder being world class.
3 Jul 2010, 16:20 pm
@ET(ET)-14: 1-0 Germany. Yeah!!!
3 Jul 2010, 16:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-15:
If the final pans out the way you see it(and the score is now accomodating) that will be the ultimate for the ‘Oranje’.
There is no team they dislike more than your technocrats(organised & disciplined) and to get them in the WC Final will be manna from Heaven. Of course the Dutch will win that one.
3 Jul 2010, 16:23 pm
and who said soccer is only for coloured ppl …
3 Jul 2010, 16:23 pm
@ET(ET)-18: Yup, apparently that is the big one for both of them (Germans talk about the WC in 1990 when the Dutch spat on the German players – they never forget that)
3 Jul 2010, 16:27 pm
@ET(ET)-18: Almost another one for Deutschland
3 Jul 2010, 16:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-16:
You have not asnwered my question. Are you hedging your bets?
For decades now the Brazilians have always been in my top two in any WC.
But yesterday’s game demeaned them unfortunately.
I have never seen a Brazilian team ever play a non-Brazilian game until that QF.
They played a Dunga-type game which mimics the dirty, cheating Italian mess of hair pulling and tripping and mean roughness etc. Remember Dunga played close to 130 games for Fiorentina plus more with other ITA. clubs.
In that first 5 mins. I would have yellow-carded 3 Brazilians. They knew they would over-whelm that QF rookie ref. and caused much despair to the Orange men.
Bastos would have been red-carded and not substituted as well possibly Ronaldinho.
The perpetrators became eventually the squealers and forgot to play their own game and Dunga is now bad news and gone(thankfully for future Bra.teams)
3 Jul 2010, 16:34 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-21:
If they got that one Maradonna would have gone berserk. I wish someone would really shup him up forever.
3 Jul 2010, 16:38 pm
@ET(ET)-23:
S H I T, Mick Jagger is a huge football fan. And he is again in the Cape Town Stadium.
I hope he does not favour Germany because that will cause them to not win the game.
3 Jul 2010, 16:38 pm
@ET(ET)-22: i’d like spain to win it…
3 Jul 2010, 16:39 pm
@ET(ET)-23: A hand ball by Messi and Arg get the free kick???
3 Jul 2010, 16:42 pm
@ET(ET)-24: mick jagger was here yesterday for the holland vs brasil game, with leornado di caprio & were hanging out with paris hilton before she got arrested for smoking marijuana outside the stadium and taken to mount road police station!
3 Jul 2010, 16:45 pm
@ET(ET)-24: I can see the Arg players starting to get frustrated… Dramas coming… lol
3 Jul 2010, 16:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-27: Lol… it was on BBC / ITV news !!!
3 Jul 2010, 16:46 pm
Suarez is a dirty sanchez. I hope all South American teams get knocked out, they are all dirty cheats.
3 Jul 2010, 16:48 pm
LOL… the BBC commentator saw a blonde in the main box and speculated about whose w.a.g she was – turns out she is Charlise Theron!!!
3 Jul 2010, 16:51 pm
@ET(ET)-24: Maradonna is going to do himself a mischief – hernia, heart attack or stroke?
3 Jul 2010, 16:51 pm
goyougoodthing … dont be stupid … that was a natural reaction.
3 Jul 2010, 16:52 pm
if only maradonna could play …. what a legend
3 Jul 2010, 16:53 pm
Not to worry, the Sharks selectors will select the Free State schoolboys.
3 Jul 2010, 16:57 pm
guys from Border??????? in the side …eish…. then they wonder why the “B” team always beats the Bok Schools “A” team … who’s the selectors?? i also think the team in picked on thursday
3 Jul 2010, 16:58 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-33: A natural reaction if you are a CHEAT.
That’s about as natural as a South African parastatal employee taking money from the til.
3 Jul 2010, 16:59 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-27:
S H I T! Does Mt. Rd. police station still stand on the damn same spot?
Is that Municipal market still next to it or close by?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-32:
Or Drugs for his hernia?
3 Jul 2010, 17:02 pm
@ET(ET)-38: Berlin, Berlin, wir fahren nach Berlin… changes to Soweto, Soweto, wir fahren nach Soweto…
3 Jul 2010, 17:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-25:
So its the other but REAL Barca. connection then?
Good. The battle between the two of us is now officially on(don’t fret,only in a good way for us eBhayi boys).
3 Jul 2010, 17:04 pm
final score …. Argentina 2 – Germany 1
3 Jul 2010, 17:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-25: Ssshpain taught the Dirty Sanchez’s from South America how to cheat! Viva Germany!!!!
3 Jul 2010, 17:15 pm
Germany plays with honour – Arg, like other S American teams, don’t…
3 Jul 2010, 17:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-43: I think it’s time to go back to the Falklands.
3 Jul 2010, 17:26 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-44: Their rugger players are good buggers but they seem t be the same as the S Americans – cheating swine… Passionate, skillful, and without honour
3 Jul 2010, 17:27 pm
YEEEEEEEEAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! 2-0 Deutschland
3 Jul 2010, 17:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-45: With football, that is
3 Jul 2010, 17:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-43:
Ger. 2 Arg. 0
That has to be it for the Argies. unless we have two hands of G. intervening.
Watch for the Latin drama now.
3 Jul 2010, 17:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-45: I call them all the Sanchez Sisters, they fall down like girls the cheating oily bastardos.
3 Jul 2010, 17:30 pm
2-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-02-0
yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
goooooooooo germanyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
3 Jul 2010, 17:32 pm
hehehehehehehehehehehehe my restaurant full of argintine supporters lmfao
me and wife and one other supporting Germany
bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
3 Jul 2010, 17:32 pm
@ET(ET)-48: Hopefully some big drama. Arg are going to be frustrated soon. Squirm Arg, Squirm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-49: Thats S American soccer…
3 Jul 2010, 17:33 pm
HG 3-0
3 Jul 2010, 17:33 pm
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
3 Jul 2010, 17:34 pm
SCHWEINSTEIGER YOU BEAUTYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeOLEEEEEEEEEEEEEOLEEEEEEEEOLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
3-0…. Germans are smashing them… Pig Climber just waltzes through!!!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-46:
Ger.3 Arg.0
Are the unlikely S. Americanos of Uruguay and Paraguay to be in the semis and not Brazil and Argies?
3 Jul 2010, 17:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52: Well S American soccer, as with all soccer, sucks balls, Jabulani Balls even
3 Jul 2010, 17:35 pm
you gotta see how quiet 280 people are in a restaurant heheheheheheheheheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
3 Jul 2010, 17:36 pm
@ET(ET)-38: yes the police station still stands, but no market there anymore…
3 Jul 2010, 17:37 pm
@ET(ET)-58: That will be funny
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-60: Nasty
lots of money to be made from suicidal Argies drowning their sorrws
3 Jul 2010, 17:39 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-61:
Hey! You have got to be scared of these young upstart Germans when Spain get them in the semis?
They were not supposed to be ready yet according to Jurgen.
They really scare me for my Orange men.
3 Jul 2010, 17:40 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-62:
HG
3 Jul 2010, 17:41 pm
Whites of their eyes, Germany, Fire at will…
3 Jul 2010, 17:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-62:
Just watch Mara-madonna do somethiung crazy before his team leaves S.African shores.
News headlines coming up as he lands in jail.
3 Jul 2010, 17:43 pm
germany has been clinical and brilliant
3 Jul 2010, 17:43 pm
@ET(ET)-66:
3 Jul 2010, 17:47 pm
schweinsteiger the best player at the tourny as far as i am concerned
he is a damn clever player
@ET(ET)-66: He can go join the 28′s soccer team
4-0
3 Jul 2010, 17:48 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-67:
But they are so young and thus also playing sexy football now,according to Ruud Gullit.
Damn OH! DAMN!
4 -0
3 Jul 2010, 17:49 pm
Blitzkrieg counterattack…
4-0. Vorsprung durch technik. Simple but effective
3 Jul 2010, 17:50 pm
Epic fail Arg. Germany demolished them. Goyougoodkrauts
3 Jul 2010, 17:50 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-70:
I guess these Argies must have been done in by those Cape Sutch beauties of the famous DOCKS Rd. area. Who needs Suzie?
3 Jul 2010, 17:51 pm
@ET(ET)-75:
should read Cape Dutch and not Sutch.
3 Jul 2010, 17:52 pm
oh my word what a performance yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
@ET(ET)-72: this team is brilliant
they play smart and with german presicion , and freakish speed
3 Jul 2010, 17:52 pm
The only hope for other teams is that Germany have peaked early… Ger 4 – 1 Eng, Ger 4 – 0 Arg, Ger 4 – ? Any other?
3 Jul 2010, 17:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73: lol boet , what a match , the argies will now take mara the donna to a rehab again
3 Jul 2010, 17:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73:
These Argies played like a mezmerised bunch of pansies who had all their petals plucked
And the Germs. had to leave their captain, Ballack at home due to injury.
eish ET not even the cape dutch susanna will help them now
@ET(ET)-75: Argies tried and had chances. It seemed they dominated for a while but Germany soaked it up followed by bang, bang, bang
3 Jul 2010, 17:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-78:
They also got four against the Aussies.
3 Jul 2010, 17:55 pm
the differnce here ET is the germans are not a bunch of individuals , they play as a team
every goal game from team play
3 Jul 2010, 17:56 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-79: How does it go? “Dont Cry for me, Argentina!!!!”?
3 Jul 2010, 17:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82: they killed them same way they killed the poms
took what the pommies had to offer and slaughtered them
3 Jul 2010, 17:57 pm
the fitness of this german team is brilliant
never stopped running
3 Jul 2010, 17:58 pm
3 Jul 2010, 17:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82:
I said to you much earlier the Germans are renowned for organisation and discipline in defence (first) but also attack.
I thought they were low on experience and then lost Ballack their captain. But these boys have become men overnight.
I fear for my Dutch Orangemen.
damn now grown men crying like girls
Was in Amsterdam yesterday – awesome atmosphere. Much as I’d like them to win the thing, though, ze Germans do look rather good.
3 Jul 2010, 18:00 pm
@ET(ET)-83: A pattern emerges… I don’t know the game but Germany are stamping their mark on this WC.
Unfashionable and a bit unloved, but this is a winning team. I am happy for them – they play with honour too…
The best final would be be Germany – Holland…
The worst would be Paraguay – Uruguay!!!
3 Jul 2010, 18:00 pm
wow im still in shock , look i thought we could win , but damn like this?
never to be honest
3 Jul 2010, 18:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-92: germany holland final would be huge, and prolly the 2 most deserving teams left
3 Jul 2010, 18:02 pm
where dutch lack is the speed the germans have
3 Jul 2010, 18:03 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-86: England were a bit of a disaster but after this game, maybe they weren’t as bad as they thought… Deutschland are good.
3 Jul 2010, 18:03 pm
@ET(ET)-89:
But thanks to the WWs, Germany always, but always brings out the very best of Holland on a football pitch and here they are destined to meet each other in the Final on the World’s biggest stage with 94000 people in attendance.
3 Jul 2010, 18:05 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-96: exactly
i also dont think england is bad , the germany team is just far better then people were giving them credit for
3 Jul 2010, 18:07 pm
germans are not a bunch of big names , i see the german commentator in studio at supersport just said the same
also the fitness , and speed , man what a super TEAM
@ET(ET)-89: 3 great games in a row – I haven’t enjoyed football as much in my life
I feel good after this one… No cheating could change the course of this gam!!!
Need to go get me some Lederhosen
@ET(ET)-63: spain beat them in the Euro ’08 so they have one over them..but La Furia Roja must win tonite before any thoughts of a semi clash withze germans are entertained…
3 Jul 2010, 18:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-92:
In S.Africa with our history and demographics you cannot get better than Ger. vs. Holland.
Both have a sizable community with the Dutch more dominant though.
3 Jul 2010, 18:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-100: amen
3 Jul 2010, 18:10 pm
Germany let the ball do the work, whilst the Argies tried to do it individually and held on to the ball too long.
very impressive from Germany
whats even more impressive is watching all these dyed in the wool rugby fundi’s like Heavens Game, Sharks Lover, Tacitus, Porra the fat speedster, Puma, and all the others beginning to fall in love with this world cup and losing their preconceived disdain for the game they call poofball.
Would be quite a thing for them to even admit they been witnessing some true to life sporting class out there.
@ET(ET)-102: no doubt it would be a huge game
3 Jul 2010, 18:11 pm
@ET(ET)-97: Eish… it will be fireworks. I mentioned earlier in a post to you how Germans speak about the game against Holland in 1990 – when the Dutch spat on their players…
The Dutch would love to beat Germany – it would be their dream final ! Deutschland would also enjoy beating the Dutch – put them in their place !
Fireworks!!!
Please let it be!!
3 Jul 2010, 18:13 pm
Hitler 5 – Rest of the World 0
3 Jul 2010, 18:14 pm
skop i have always loved football , i hate the acting and diving , it spoils the game , never here have i said i dislike soccer
i grew up in PMB play soccer under 8 under 10 and up untill 2nd division where i played for shamrocks
rugby came later with military days
so put away ur wooden spoon of trying to stir , not gonna work
3 Jul 2010, 18:16 pm
bloody hell…..was at the fan walk ….its like being in farken Berlin!
Another of my teams in there moer…..now only got Spain left….couldnt give a hoot about the rest of them.
Spent Rhundreds on a Argie and Ghana flag….now what the fark can i do with them?
And a load of bucks this morning for a Spanish shirt for the blonde…..which probably means Paraguay will win later.
No man….my heart is sore…my ex wife loving this.
Bloody dissapointing….well done Germany, will never support you buggers but respect.
3 Jul 2010, 18:17 pm
skop, the Bulls won the Super 14 … Holland(the dutchmen) & Germany making the semi’s …. eish ..that papsak must be tasting like osbloed for you hey??
3 Jul 2010, 18:17 pm
@grant10(grant10)-110: lol grant i told you my team is on a roll
3 Jul 2010, 18:18 pm
grant10 … word ‘n bul en word ‘n wenner
3 Jul 2010, 18:18 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-105: lol. Kickshot, I have admitted I like the drama (dont know the game technically at all) – don’t like the **** (diving, rolling around, screaming at the ref, blatant blatant cheating – not just gamesmanship) – especially how the S American dirty curs play..
But I have enjoyed Germany today, I also work with many so I shall be happy with their happiness. I also enjoyed Holland beating the sulky/dirty Brazilians. I dislike Ghana’s loss to Uru and I pray Holland give them the lesson of their lives in the semi…
It could be a cracker of another semi – Germany vs Spain…
3 Jul 2010, 18:19 pm
@grant10(grant10)-110: and so it came to pass …… an ex wife got revenge
sharks_Lover ..did you support Germany from the start of the SWC?
Schweinsteiger was the link man and the general in midfield. Lucky Ballak is out because this German team is youthful exuberence and class all the way through from young no name coach to young youthful skilled back line players through to their Polish and Turkish strike force vanguard in Klose Podolski and Ozil with new found wunderkind Thomas Mueller
final : Germany vs Holland ….
3 Jul 2010, 18:20 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-114: lol yup
look how ghana got cheated last night
damn felt so sorry for them
3 Jul 2010, 18:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-101:
Sure, Spain has still to win tonight and nothing can be taken for granted once between the lines.
Remember 2008 is 2 yrs. ago and that’s a long time in the life of a footballer. I bet half these youngsters like Ozil and others did not play then and there is no emotional negativity then.
Also Germany may well be more complete/global now than ever before.
Half these players could have played for another national team by choice e.g. Boateng, Khedera and others.
3 Jul 2010, 18:22 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-116: i have supported them my whole like and my wife is of german heritage
i supported them in the old days as we SA was out of world football
i loved their style of play non compromising hard tackling and speed football
no one cheated last night … the rule is = penalty … if you can’t even score a penalty (which even Earl Rose can do) you don’t deserve to get a goal …
The Pig Climber or Rising Pig is star of the tournament…
3 Jul 2010, 18:23 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-117: correct skop , but like messi is the man at argie , schweinsteiger is not in the german team
germany is all about the team and not individuals
3 Jul 2010, 18:23 pm
sharks …. i was 9 when i saw Maradonna play … he was my hero …and i remember we lost against Germany in the final … 1990! great times
3 Jul 2010, 18:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-123: Schweinsteiger translation
3 Jul 2010, 18:24 pm
friendly : Bulls 101 – Ep 19
3 Jul 2010, 18:25 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-122: as much as i agree i also dont agree
and thats where rugby got it right , when cheated openly of a score a penalty try is awarded
if it accidently hits ur hand thats one think mate
the uru player openly threw his fists at the ball with his head nowhere
meaning it would have been a goal
3 Jul 2010, 18:26 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-125: look he was a great player even though he also cheated to win a world cup , he got away with it good luck to him
wont stop me thinking he was a great player
3 Jul 2010, 18:26 pm
well i am hoping for a spain win now…..but wont hold my breath….
this football so intense i forget to miss rugby this weekend…but hell man i would like to get a result later…..
3 Jul 2010, 18:27 pm
one can see the germans did their homework brilliantly before the game
3 Jul 2010, 18:28 pm
sharks .,..but remember … a penalty try is only 5 points … the kicker must still get the kick over … its easy for him (straight in front) – same with soccer… 99% of penalties are convertered … if you let a Matt Giteau kick your penalty ..its your own fault
@grant10(grant10)-130: No more visits to Brazilian club ???
Dirty S Americans…
the football has been very good for the most this WC , just a pity officiating was always up to standard
3 Jul 2010, 18:29 pm
my son has taken after his mom in that he is a huge German fan….
I am going to change my will….leave my stuff to my daughter…..
enjoy the Spain game
3 Jul 2010, 18:30 pm
sharks ..so if Germany wins the SWC .. you’ll give me a 50% discount @ your restaurant if my old man & I go and watch the sharks in durban?
Outtahere, till later….
Steh auf wenn du ein Deutscher bist!!!
even this fake makethecirclebigger is glued to his Tv watching the poofball world cup egging on his famous aryan dynasty
except only problem is Hitlers men have all gone decidedly quasi aryan all a sudden with 2 Poles, a couple Turks, couple Africans making up his Tuetonic feast.
All the rugger bugger’s who pretend to hate poofball suddenly totally gobsmacked in love with the game. They even pretend they got no clue about the tactics and aesthetics of the game when all it is is you gotta get that sound orb into the oppositions net, how more complicated could it possibly get?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-133: only got in once…..too full ….and fark me it must of been carnage after the holland game….
3 Jul 2010, 18:31 pm
u@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-132: yeah but you cant be punsihed twice so yes the kick is in your own hands
in the case of the penalty try the fact that you were robbed by cheating means you have now been rewrded and in the end did not lose
one asks urself this question , if the uru player had not used his hands would a goal have been scored????
100% no doubt as it was to high for his head to get there in time
3 Jul 2010, 18:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107:
One more game for both before it becomes a reality we hope.
I can give more such stories of the love/hate between the 2 but suffice to say that when the two meet before a Final be it in WC or Euro. Cup if and when the Dutch beat the Germans that spells the end of that tourney for the Dutch.
I think that happened in ’82 or some such time earlier. They beat the Germans in the semis and then went on to lose to Denmark in the finals. But the Danes did not even qualify to be in that Euro. tourney. They were a late addition because the Czechs. were disqualified because of the civil war there.
Rivalry abounds between these two, like no other.
3 Jul 2010, 18:33 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-136: lol np but i am in JHB
3 Jul 2010, 18:34 pm
@ET(ET)-141: ET if is does happen , it will be a final of huge proportions
3 Jul 2010, 18:34 pm
sharks lover… i agree 100% .. but in soccer there isn’t even a TMO …. wat nog van a penalty goal??
3 Jul 2010, 18:36 pm
sharkslover … lol, but you’r thinking of expanding?? some good franchise opportunities. in durbs!!
3 Jul 2010, 18:36 pm
you gotta love skoppies atempts to stir
3 Jul 2010, 18:37 pm
sound = round
3 Jul 2010, 18:37 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-144: agreed thats why i believe its time to change
soccer is to big a sport to be left behind in terms of the modern world
3 Jul 2010, 18:39 pm
shees, you have sony behind Fifa …. even games in 3d … how can they not have a tv ref … even wimbledon has tv refs
3 Jul 2010, 18:40 pm
you cant change now i know that as the tourny is nearly over , but after world cup they should seriousuly re-think soccer in terms of rules etc
i for one feel the TMO should be used but only withing the box area and in the case of a goal or no goal
i also believe to stop the danicing divers they should bring in a immidiate red card
3 Jul 2010, 18:41 pm
you will see if its a red card for diving how coaches will stop teaching their players to dive
3 Jul 2010, 18:41 pm
@ET(ET)-141:
With what Germany did to Holland in WW2, can you blame the Dutch?
3 Jul 2010, 18:43 pm
@David(David)-152: he do4esnt blame them david infact ET supports the dutch
3 Jul 2010, 18:44 pm
i have also always enjoyed the dutch soccer players
johann kryff , marco van baston , ruud gullit etc
great players
3 Jul 2010, 18:45 pm
kruyff
3 Jul 2010, 18:48 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-153:
Puma also pointed out yesterday, the animosity the Dutch have for Germans that he experienced when he lived in Holland.
I wasn’t suggesting ET blamed them.
3 Jul 2010, 18:49 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-155:
Lobster? Don’t you mean Cruyff?
3 Jul 2010, 18:49 pm
this is the difference between rugby & soccer …. in soccer there are +- 16 teams who can win the whole thing …. in rugby there are about 4. I think its time for the IRB to make a decision about progressing rugby .. lets say for I.e. a guy like Gary Botha who played for SA before …. lets say SA says that we will never be part of Bok rugby again .. make him available to USA … let USA, with their money, buy a few players who won’t play for their country again and have a more competitive world cup … maybe let kockett and a few other sign for italy or japan etc .. that would be great for the RWC
3 Jul 2010, 18:51 pm
@David(David)-156: oh my bad lol but its true
i had a restaurant full of dutch supporters last nit and even though i was supporting the dutch yesterday , i did admit to some i support germany
a few gave me a **** look
3 Jul 2010, 18:52 pm
@David(David)-157: lol yup cruyff
and of course the new generation of today also playing great
3 Jul 2010, 18:57 pm
now imagine if spain loses tonight???
wow what a shock that would be
3 Jul 2010, 19:01 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-158:
That’s already allowed between the Tier 1 and 2 teams. A player from a Tier 1 country is allowed to later represent a Tier 2 one.
3 Jul 2010, 19:01 pm
@David(David)-152:
No and that is why I love that part of my heritage esp. on a football field anmd esp. against Germany.
And look what footballing wonders they have given us since the 70s forward: Cruyff, Rep, Neeskens, Krol, Gullit, van Basten, Bergkamp( a spec. fav.), Overmars, van Persie, Robben, Sneider, De Jong(even a Saffa name) and I can go on and on.
Hope your Norwhich and my Leeds hold their own in the Championship this year. I doubt they challenge but will not be surprised if they do.
3 Jul 2010, 19:04 pm
david .. is it the same rules as cricket?? I think Hansie also played for Ireland …. its a good thing i think … we have to have more than 4 teams competing a rugby & cricket world cup
3 Jul 2010, 19:16 pm
@ET(ET)-163:
Same with me, although de Jong isn’t a saffa name, it’s pure Dutch. Strange, I’m also half dutch and we both support teams in the same english soccer leagues.
3 Jul 2010, 19:33 pm
@ET(ET)-163: great players who have never won a world cup…always the bridesmaid & never the bride. I liked kluivert, koeman, cocu, edgar davids, de boer brothers…
Ruud Kroll is unsuccessfully coaching orlando pirates.
3 Jul 2010, 19:39 pm
@makethecirclesbigger(makethecirclesbigger)-164:
I seem to remember Hansie losing to Holland, but I don’t know if he played for them, as he was a current springbok. The rugby rules only allow a tier one country international player to move once. Once he’s played for a tier2 nation he can’t go back to play for his original country.
I also noticed on another thread, you used a scenario that forgot about the penalty try.
The point about Suarez is that he knew that the worst punishment was an automatic red and a penalty, not that what he did wasn’t cheating.
It used to be the same in rugby, a ploy used by the ABs to avoid a try being scored, which forced the IRB to introduce the penalty try to avoid the type of situation you posed.
3 Jul 2010, 19:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-166:
Hasn’t everyone?
3 Jul 2010, 20:08 pm
@David(David)-165: @Transformation(Transformation)-166:
Sorry guys, between games and had a number of things to do, including having lunch(2pm here).
3 Jul 2010, 20:12 pm
@ET(ET)-169:
What games? I see Paul Lambert has been strengthening his squad for the Championship, and letting a number of players go, who he doesn’t think can make the step up. Leeds doesn’t seem to have done that much. Any reason?
3 Jul 2010, 20:17 pm
@David(David)-165:
Just a bit a poetic mischief making and a case of the cart before the horse.
All our Dutch surnames, as you know, originate in the Netherlands so don’t take it too seriously.
And the same WP teams and dislike some players (a few) but mostly like most including Oupa Jan and now his grandson.
Oh! and marvel at the 1974 Br.Lions in all their glory but going back I say Morgan but I think you say Barry J.
And I now ask if I had Edwards with Morgan and you had Dickie Jeeps with Barry John would BJ still be your choice?
3 Jul 2010, 20:21 pm
@David(David)-170:
The two QFs of today. Spain about to start now.
Last time I checked(late last week) Leeds had purcheased 4 new players,including another Argie(I must go soft on them now) and sold off some older, dead wood like Robinson and others.
3 Jul 2010, 20:26 pm
@ET(ET)-171:
I’ve never rated BJ over Morgan, only over Bennett. For me the Welsh F/H factory supplied 4 glorious 10s in succession, in Morgan, Watkins, BJ and Bennett. I’m glad to say I saw them all.
I’m also about to eat and watch the game. Hope to speak later as my PC is in a different room to the TV.
3 Jul 2010, 20:26 pm
@David(David)-170:
Man the 3/4 QFs(75%) we have experienced have really been all somewhat different but out of the top draw in their different ways..
So maybe this last one will just be average,in anticipation of Spain being too big for Paraguay.
Let’s not be too demanding then.
3 Jul 2010, 20:31 pm
@David(David)-173:
David OK on both points here.
It seems I got the first point wrong then as I thought you meant some time back BJ over CM.
3 Jul 2010, 20:31 pm
@ET(ET)-174:
Agree, but I’d love to see Spain really open up. Cheers till later, if you’re around.
3 Jul 2010, 20:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-166:
Oh! So the battle begins before your Spain has won their QF?
All true but perspective will indicate Holland twice played the host country(’74 & ’78), something no team really desires, in their appearances in WCs. Some teams have never even been near there yet e.g. Spain.
Holland also been ina few Euro Cups and won one.
And you are right about those additional names but as you know there are too many to put on paper. And both have not mentioned Seedorf yet.
3 Jul 2010, 20:40 pm
@David(David)-176:
Fine.
3 Jul 2010, 20:55 pm
Shows you how schoolboy talent the Bulls actually have at their disposal! No wonder they send their little scouts straight down to the Cape for Craven week in such desperation!
3 Jul 2010, 21:04 pm
Just show you how pathetic SA Rugby is. Wouldn’t even be surprised if KEO was a selector!
Same with u19 and 20 teams. Free State the champions at both those levels as well, but both national teams have almost no Free Staters in. Now… you gotta wonder why these national teams keep on failing! LOL!!!
3 Jul 2010, 21:05 pm
@ET(ET)-177: you like having the last word on anything hey? Now the fact that holland might’ve hosted the tourney twice makes them superior to spain?
go La Furia Roja!!!
3 Jul 2010, 21:08 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-180: well if it makes ya feel better bouts , the sharks know how good the free state schoolplayers are
thats why they bought 90% of this team that played today
3 Jul 2010, 21:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-181:
No man the Dutch played the host country Germany in the ’74 and Argentina in ’78 and lost those two because of the huge emotional and numerical support that those countries got from their citizens in their countries.
Is it because it is a Saturday night and you have a whiskey in your hand that you get it so wrong?
Your team seems to be dominating here but must still score against this lowly opposition.
3 Jul 2010, 21:18 pm
I sense an upset here. Spain dominating but not looking like scoring… Very uninspiring game – least exciting of the other QF’s – for that reason bring on the penalty shoot out.
3 Jul 2010, 21:19 pm
other QFs should be all QFs
3 Jul 2010, 21:26 pm
@ET(ET)-183: hahaha where do you get this idea that i’m a whisky swilling individual?
Ain’t this funny, Alex Ferguson says Diego Forlan is welcome at Manure
3 Jul 2010, 21:26 pm
I think the Germans will give either side a good Blitz und Donner.
No blatant cheating so far – a big surprise…
3 Jul 2010, 21:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-186: I sense your type is Johnny Red, Black or Blue
3 Jul 2010, 21:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-188: i hear the health minister has declared that he will circumcise a 1000 boys in one month in a drive to prevent HIV. You’re lucky you’re in Mud Island you would be in line to get the chop
3 Jul 2010, 21:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-189: Gwaan wena…Voessek man!
3 Jul 2010, 21:47 pm
Cheating S Americans get a penalty
3 Jul 2010, 21:48 pm
saved
3 Jul 2010, 21:49 pm
Cheating Spaniards get a penalty… Game livens up
3 Jul 2010, 21:50 pm
Got to retake penalty – drama!
3 Jul 2010, 21:51 pm
Penalty saved – Drama!!!
3 Jul 2010, 21:56 pm
spaniards stupid!! What is this things of running into the box?!!!
3 Jul 2010, 21:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-186:
Hey! You wrote that sometime when you were on vacation somewhere on that Wild Coast area.
More importantly you should be very worried here.
Your team has players that want to waltz with the Paras’ when a corner is being taken and get carded and concede a penalty.
And then when Spain gets a penalty you stars cannot convert.
Even that lady Mia Hamm would convert that penalty.
You should be very worried. Start worrying now.
3 Jul 2010, 22:01 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-196:
first truth you wrote in a week.
Villa, Alonso,Torres, Iniesta all shooting like girlies in this man’s game. Are you worrying yet?
Ghana did much better.
3 Jul 2010, 22:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-196: Your fault you want to support these latin cheating swine teams…They might be skillful but they are dirty. You pick wrong…
3 Jul 2010, 22:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-194:
Can you imagine what a farcical penalty shoot-out we will have with all these girlies missing penalties?
Two in two minutes misses.
3 Jul 2010, 22:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-199:
He can and should change to Holland or Germany before this QF ends in a farcical shoot-out with a lucky-dip-packet-win.
3 Jul 2010, 22:07 pm
@ET(ET)-200: Maybe the penalty shoot out will go round both teams twice and still land up 2 – 1
3 Jul 2010, 22:07 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-202: if that is possible, of course
3 Jul 2010, 22:08 pm
@ET(ET)-201: lol – Transie seems like an Uru type
3 Jul 2010, 22:12 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-203:
Anything is possible with these girlie teams even though Spain scores on the third attempt by Villa.
3 Jul 2010, 22:13 pm
The funniest, freakish goal ever !!! Maybe no penalties after all… Not unhappy about these underdogs losing – they S American…
3 Jul 2010, 22:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-206:
Germany will have Spain for breakfast, lunch and dinner all in two hours on Tu/Wed.
3 Jul 2010, 22:17 pm
@ET(ET)-205: Yeah, little dainty kiss on the cheeks and fall over types…
Big shots Spain are not so hot – but they may peak at the right time…
But from watching Germany, Spain makes one mistake – bang, they find themselves playing catchup…
Holland will mark the daylights out of Forlan – Van Bommel will redo his Percy hairstyle !
3 Jul 2010, 22:21 pm
@ET(ET)-207: It will be a meal of Spanish Rioja with Sauerkraut and Eisbein… Rioja will be quaffed before the main course…
3 Jul 2010, 22:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-209: The main course will be a selection of Gouda and Edam, with many holes or gaps to goal
3 Jul 2010, 22:25 pm
Very uninspiring game – nothing like the other QFs
3 Jul 2010, 22:26 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-209:
Germany gain an easy semi-final.
Spain was just piss-poor.
So I go for the ‘Oranje’ in the one semi and for Germany in the other.
The final definitely Germany vs. Holland.
3 Jul 2010, 22:27 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-210: Afterward some sightseeing of the broken windmills…
3 Jul 2010, 22:27 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-199: @ET(ET)-198: you two doos(es) spoke too soon. andres iniesta weaved his magic and el guaje to the team through!
Eat that b.tches!!!!!
3 Jul 2010, 22:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-211:
Where is our whiskey swirling Saffa Spaniard?
3 Jul 2010, 22:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-214:
A real D O O S makes a noise after that piss-poor lucky-dip-packet-win.
3 Jul 2010, 22:31 pm
@ET(ET)-212: That will be a huge game and I think it will be the best game for SA to end-off the WC 2010…
The exposure will be huge – bigger than anything SA will have experienced !!!
Old animosity rears up on neutral turf !!!
There will be an absolute clamour of Dutch and Germans to fly to SA, starting now !!!
3 Jul 2010, 22:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-214:
My!Oh!My! you really are very releaved.
You wre chewing your nails big time hey matey?
You should worry about Tu/Wed.
Really,really worry.
3 Jul 2010, 22:35 pm
The young Germans to choke against Spain and Holland to beat Spain in the final through a second half goal by Robben. It will be a left booted strike after cutting inside from the touchline.
3 Jul 2010, 22:39 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-219:
Hey! Robbo, you seem to be really converted to the beautiful game now?
Germany with these youngsters know no fear so they will kill Spain just see.
3 Jul 2010, 22:39 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-214: Was that play-it-again-Spain? Many chances needed to score a goal
It was Spain 1 – 0 Para…
Earlier it was Germany 4 – 0 Argentina…
Spain to crack under expectation and pressure. The German youngsters don’t care – nobody expected them to do well here, but they will want to play Holland in the Final…
3 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
@ET(ET)-216: hahahaha what was piss poor about that game? Paraguay played out of their socks and were marking like energiser bunnies! Holland weren’t that great either, actually they were kak for most of the 2nd half and only managed to play the referee better than brazil who just got frustrated at the incompetence of the ref.
You go on about cheating teams but say nothing about oscar-nominee robben who was rolling all over the pitch and somehow miraculously got up to take the quick free-kick that led to the 1st goal!
If i wasn’t talking to you, i would be astounded by the hypocrisy but i know better.
3 Jul 2010, 22:44 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-219:
Join SodaJoe and me at Leeds, you cannot go wrong for further drama. I am sure you do know we eventually went up correct?
Don’t link up with David at Norwich as they are called the Canaries, a small pretty bird.
3 Jul 2010, 22:45 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-222:
You will say all that to give yourself hope for next week against those destroying Germans football wonders.
3 Jul 2010, 22:46 pm
@ET(ET)-220:
They are certainly on a roll but I think Spain might be a bit tougher than Argentinia who seemed strangely out of touch today.
The tourno came at the right time – nice break from rugby and the disappointment of the super 14 final.
You still ok in the USA?
3 Jul 2010, 22:49 pm
Watching highlights of the German game – Merkel nearly somersaulted next to Zuma after goal 3.
Germany didn’t expect to do so well this year – the expectation was meant for the next WC…
They wont play with any pressure but Spain are Euro champs and ranked 1? – the Spanish now will expect their team to win…
Germany to soak up the Spanish play, wait for a mistake, blitz counter, bang goal…
3 Jul 2010, 22:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-222:
Why was the captain Melo sent off if Robben was cheating about that ungodly all-the-world-to-see tramping of the gastrocnemius and soleus muscles of his calf which was purple?
Worry about Germany and not about Robben and the Oranje. Your team will not qualify to play the Oranje, ask the Master Ruud Gullit.
3 Jul 2010, 22:51 pm
@ET(ET)-223:
I have always been a Liverpool fan – not a fanatic but supported them since the days when Kevin Keegan still had long black hair.
3 Jul 2010, 22:53 pm
@ET(ET)-218: no anxiety here boyyo…spain beat germany in the euro final in ’08 and shut everyone up. Count them out at your own peril. This is football, noone gets points for predicting what is going to happen, spain lost to switzerland and germany lost to serbia (i know cos i was there!). every team can be beaten on any day.
3 Jul 2010, 22:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-225:
All the Germans have to do is take care of David Villa .He has scored 5 goals for Spain and I am not quite sure if anyone else scored.
Man they needed 3 attempts and both uprights to get the ball to fully cross the line whereas the Germans scored 4 three times against real teams in Arg., Eng. and Aus.
Put your money on Germany for the one final and you already know the other.
Still here in this football desert.
3 Jul 2010, 23:01 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-228:
No man how could you do that. They have that girlie Spaniard Torres playing for them and like Man.U they wear that dreaded colour, red, that the Mighty Whites of Leeds like to devour.
3 Jul 2010, 23:02 pm
@ET(ET)-224: talk the germans up, that’s right, spain will lose to the new princes of football – germany
3 Jul 2010, 23:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-229:
How many times did you change your undies today because of stress-related self-urination? Be honest now.
Two years is a very long time in the life of a footballer. Those 20yr.olds like Muller ,Khedera and others did not play for the national team then. That loss means nothing to them. There is no residual. You are clutching at straws out of FEAR for Germany, and you should.
3 Jul 2010, 23:06 pm
@ET(ET)-227: you’re talking about one incident, i’m telling you robben was flinging himself on the ground the whole match…
3 Jul 2010, 23:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-232:
You should really fear the BLITZKRIEG of Germany.
3 Jul 2010, 23:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-232: You should be supporting Germany ! All Sandtonistas aspire to drive a German motor marque – why not aspire to support the Football team… Either way, finely tuned machines
3 Jul 2010, 23:08 pm
@ET(ET)-227: fyi, holland didn’t score their first goal from the foul that melo was sent off for, if you taped the game, watch it again.
3 Jul 2010, 23:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-226:
You are calling it correctly with all the honest facts that old Transie is battling to dispel from his memory banks.
He is truly fearful of Germany.
3 Jul 2010, 23:13 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-237:
I never claimed that but I understand why you bring that up.
3 Jul 2010, 23:13 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-150: I couldn’t agree more! And if Fifa have any backbone they will ban Suarez for life because there is no place in sport for such blatant cheating. God I hate Uruguay so much! I’ve never come across such a nasty arrogant team before. Suarez did a number on Bafana Bafana and another on Ghana. They typify everything that is wrong with football. Last night demonstrated how inferior football is compared to rugby in every aspect of the game. And in terms of officiating, football is stuck in the dark ages. Ghana were robbed. It could’ve been the story of the tournament, instead we get the nasty windgats who like to say a big fck you to anyone who disagrees with their cheating tactics! Give me rugby any day of the week. Can’t wait for the 3N to start.
3 Jul 2010, 23:15 pm
@ET(ET)-227: @ET(ET)-230: how many goals did the boy wonders score against serbia?
*cue the excuses*
3 Jul 2010, 23:17 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-240: Hey, is there some sort of “make the circle bigger” club… Fark there’s a couple of you around !
3 Jul 2010, 23:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-234:
The Brazilians started that cynical Italian type cheating football from the first minute already.
I said to you earlier that in the first 5 minutes of the game at least 3 Brazilians should have been yellow-carded starting with Bastos and Robinho but the overawed ref. instead yellow-carded the Dutch first to bully them to not respond to Brazil’s niggling.
let me remind you Brazil have always been in my top two choices in all WCs.
3 Jul 2010, 23:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-241:
More correctly how many did they score TODAY a more important day than the day they played Serbia?
And what about the dayu they played England.
And I have not even mentioned the day they played the Wallabies.
If you add those up you get a total of 12.
Name any other team that got to twelve(12. Not even Portugal who got 7 for nothing in one game.
3 Jul 2010, 23:25 pm
@ET(ET)-233: @ET(ET)-233</a: fyi, mueller is out of the semi, two yellows!! Keep up.
The residual is certainly there on schweinsteiger, fredriech, klose, lahm, mario gomez and that one defender whose name i forget mersetacker of something.
3 Jul 2010, 23:25 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-242: Or is it farking imposters again.
3 Jul 2010, 23:27 pm
Germany vs Netherlands in final – my prediction. Germany to win.
But who cares.
South Africa is still the winner. Unbelievable scenes at a fan park in JHB. South Africans and others chilling together.
That is what sport is all about!!
3 Jul 2010, 23:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-242: @Transformation(Transformation)-241:
Okay you guys I have to leave to do something in the rain.
Need to get out. Will talk to you sometime in the new week and defintely by Tues.
3 Jul 2010, 23:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-236: i told you i prefer range rovers
3 Jul 2010, 23:33 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-240:
Agree.
That oke is a total vuilgat – he’s even proud of the fact that he ” saved” a goal and the new ” hand of god”.
3 Jul 2010, 23:33 pm
@ET(ET)-248: @Transformation(Transformation)-249: Cheers, I am out of here too. Banshee has returned…
Football drama has been good, I shamefully admit… This WC has been great for SA and so far so good – this could be a turning point for the country like no one could ever imagine….
Will be back for the semi and give my thoroughly naive soccer commentary…
3 Jul 2010, 23:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-245:
Where did I say he is playing in the semis?
Don’t link two sepearate and pick out only one name from more than one mentioned. And what does other mean. Yes more than two in that sentence of mine that you are now going thru with a microscope in desration and FEAR of the BLITZKRIEG of Germany.
I am out Transie it is the July 4 weekend. Fireworks and drinks abound outside my home even in the rain.
FEAR GERMANY, NOT HOLLAND.
You will not get to them this WC.
3 Jul 2010, 23:35 pm
@ET(ET)-252:
should read: “.. separate points and pick…”
3 Jul 2010, 23:35 pm
anybody thinking that Paraguay team is a gimme is living in doodoo land. They cut the Spaniards down at every opportunity and shut them down and forced the play at every point and harassed and fought tooth and nail for every ball. Germany would have never had their way with Paraguay or Uruguay the way they did with Australia England and Argentina. Same as Serbia cut Germany down to size same as Switzerland did same to Spain same would Paraguay do to bigger teams.
Spain had to fight with every resilient bone in their body to overcome this Paraguay resistance and negotiate a manipulative prima donna ref to boot.
Germany won’t have it easy against Spain this time the wunderkinds will have to deal with some real pro class footballer’s who know how to manage some constructive football of their own.
Can quite easily be a Netherlands Spain final contrary to most beliefs.
3 Jul 2010, 23:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-251:
It is not so naive because the same principles mostly apply e.g. deny the opposition the ball(whatever shape) and they cannot score etc., etc.
Sport is mostly sport.
Go well but Shell and not BP
3 Jul 2010, 23:40 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-254:
Don’t get too serious now we are mostly just riling Transie who riles you sometimes.
3 Jul 2010, 23:41 pm
@ET(ET)-239: i pointed you to an incident of cheating by mr glass robben that led to the 1st goal but you chose to reply in the only way you know how, speaking past the facts. Robben is a diver like drogba & ronaldo.
3 Jul 2010, 23:41 pm
Holland got lucky vs Brazil defensive and goalkeeper error turned that game around till that point was all Brazil but soon as they conceded the first own goal the wheels slowly came off.
Arjen Robben is the new Christian Ronaldo, thinks he’s bigger than the game and bigger than his own team too. Schneijders been the one to pull them through everytime just like Villa has for Spain, not Robben who’s more of another prima donna thinking the sun shines out his @nus
3 Jul 2010, 23:52 pm
could still be anyone of last remaining 4 even Uruguay can take Holland and Spain can take Germany. Football is like lucky packet draws or pinball. You pull back the trigger and shoot then watch the thing ricochet every which way sometimes in sometimes out very much a lottery as to who eventually pulls on through. Just like Ghana were practically through had the strike been 30cm lower from the Gyan penalty or like the double post ricochet from the Villa strike today,sometimes they go in and sometimes they don’t thats how close it gets between a win and a loss. Like the 4 penalty goals of Japan vs the 5 from Paraguay thats how close it gets in this type do or did inferno.
3 Jul 2010, 23:57 pm
@ET(ET)-252: hahaha, well spain is playing germany in the semis, so where else can mueller play spain? Don’t be daft here…
twice now you have mentioned mueller’s name in your attempts to make a point that your boy wonders suffer no residual from ’08s dedeat at the hands of la furia roja
4 Jul 2010, 00:03 am
please god, anybody but uruguay
4 Jul 2010, 00:21 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-260:
Muller will play again in the WC Final but not against Spain but against Holland.
Muller’s name, as well as Khedera’s, were(note plural) mentioned in reference to the youthfulness of this German team and thus the youthful group having no fear and residual from that 2008 loss. I could have said Ozil or other names of young ones too. Look at the collective of youthfulness embodied in those names and don’t see what you want to see. Remember I am making the point. I know what my brain processes and no one else really does.
Also Transie I actually don’t like the German team as such, ever, full stop because I favour England, Holland and Brazil in no particular order every WC.
But I am prepared to give credit where it is due and this youthful German team without its selected captain,Ballack, has really astounded me with the manner that they played and beat England and Argentina, two big names in football in their last two games after creating doubt by being beaten by Serbia(amazingly).
For my way of thinking they will have little or NO residual from that game, and played superb football against two HUGE super-powers of the football world in their last games.
To cut a long story very short let us just wait until Tues./Wed. and see the result.
4 Jul 2010, 00:33 am
@charo(charo)-261: annoyed with Suarez?
4 Jul 2010, 00:40 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-259: got to agree skop, with the scoring so low in football the games can often hinge on little things which are so often heavily influenced by sheer fortune
4 Jul 2010, 08:56 am
I am a ex Grey College pupil. What a school! Can any one PLEASE tell how it is possible that no forward from this team was included in the starting XV of the SA School team? They are good enough to win the Craven week but no forward included!
I think the SA schools selection committee are a bunch of idiots!
4 Jul 2010, 09:02 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-263:
understatement of the year
4 Jul 2010, 10:39 am
my nerves are totally klaar with this football…..only Spain left who i give a damn about….so hoping they sort out the Germans…..
Tuesday the Cape is alweer Hollands…..will do thefan mile again…..
I dont think SA ever realised how damn great and huge this soccer WC is!!
Awesome….words cannot describe….
4 Jul 2010, 10:49 am
watching the drama with the penalties last nite i thought i was in a leon schuster make believe set up stunt….how the hell can the drama be so intense?
Hell i was finished…..sitting on thefloor holding my head in disbelief!
4 Jul 2010, 10:55 am
@grant10(grant10)-268: hahahaha it was exciting stuff indeed. The genius andres iniesta conjured up something again. He is one of the most underrated players ever! And San Iker needs no superlatives, the guy has been keeping goals for Spain since he was 17yrs old Iker Casillas you beaut!
4 Jul 2010, 11:40 am
The business of rugby clearly starts at school these days and Grey have mastered the art. Wasnt long ago when some schools were frowned upon for ‘buying’ players. Interesting to see a soutie captaining their side nogal. Anyone care to inform me about Majola and if he descends from his more known names sake (for now anyway). The original KM is Xhosa and from the EC if I’m not mistaken?
4 Jul 2010, 13:12 pm
@Jack Parow(Jack Parow)-270: i’m not sure how the kid is related to the Eastern Cape Majolas because the late Khaya has 2 kids, Vukile & a girl Sphokazi and Gerald his brother has 3 kids, a boy Allister (named after his half-back partner, Stormers coach Allister Coetzee) and 2 other girls…
4 Jul 2010, 13:27 pm
Shot Trans. No doubt we’ll hear more in commentary. Interesting.
4 Jul 2010, 14:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-271:
hey! Transie peace to you today but you know WW3 starts earnestly on Tuesday. But ’til then we are E.Cape brothers-in-arms.
More pertinently something you write there I find interesting.
You write:
” (named after his half-back partner, Stormers coach Allister Coetzee) ”
I don’t know why I do not know that these two played as half-back partners at some stage.
Was this at provincial level(E.P.for AC or Kwaru seemingly for GM) or at club level or both?
I’d be very pleased if you can provide some clarity on that.
In the early ’80s two of those youngster Majolas(I don’t know who now) stayed with me as part of the non-racial E.P. table-tennis team in that championship in C.Town. My cousin was captain of that team and part of his med.consultant practice was based in New Brighton(fond memories that period with all the community involvment).
I know a Sphokazi from Gugs. here in Philly.
4 Jul 2010, 19:40 pm
FS boys played really well, who knows what the selectors were thinking… racist quotas again??
4 Jul 2010, 20:09 pm
Anyone still convinced that quotas don’t exist? 2 FS players! No Howard at 12? Eish.
4 Jul 2010, 20:35 pm
@Oubaas2009(Oubaas2009)-275: yes quotas exist, habana, guthro, de jong, aplon, beast.
4 Jul 2010, 20:56 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-276: According to the likes of you and Khompela Beast is makwerekwere not quota
4 Jul 2010, 21:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-11: Being screwed up by Eric Sauls, along with everything else he touches.
4 Jul 2010, 22:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-277: yes tendai was born in zimbabwe like skinstad & the like, big deal.
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-278: how can that be, when some of them eg blommetjies, van velze, brummer played in the friendly yesterday an Tacitus gave them the thumbs up, surely the sauls is doing a good job
4 Jul 2010, 22:09 pm
And then they wonder why teh U20′s get stuffed at the junior world cups. When you select badly at lower age group, thegood players will go else where, r fall out of teh system. The players not selected on merit go on to provide a bad foundation for the rest of our age group teams.
The selectors at lower age groups are still mates of mates and part timers that are actually sports masters at school, with their class favourites, and doing teh job part time. They are amateurs, and select their buddies kids, and the rest according to the 50/50 quota system (because they have to). Actually this is probably the most important job of the lot. Accurate identification of talent at the lowest age groups is critical to ensure that special talent does not fall out of tehsystem because they were never selected despite playing better and trying harder than the others. The selectors should be professional, and theur JOBS should be dependent on how well their age grou pteams perform.
Frankly, if the SA Schools team is beaten by SA academy (again) they should all lose their jobs (and get a p@$klap from every rugby supporter in the land). They are not doing SA rugby any favours by their incompetence. There is no place for anything but the best performers in any sporting team.
4 Jul 2010, 22:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-279: So does that make him an uitlander like Skinstad, Teichmann, Chavangha, Ryk van Schoor, Ray Mordt, Ian Robertson, Van Jaarsveldt, Chris Rogers, Andy MacDonald, Adrian Garvey and others… Makwerekwere all, according to you…
4 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-280: SA Schools has always been beaten by the “ACademy”. In my day it was called “Nampak”!
5 Jul 2010, 13:48 pm
What an absolute joke!! What an insult! Sure there’s no quotas in rugby – hahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Just like in 2007 – the tournament played in Stellenbosch that year – arguably the strongest schools team in SA ever – the invincible Free State thrashed WP in the Final that year – 52-3 (with the Ebersohn brothers at 10 and 13) – yet – also only 2 FS players made the SA Schools starting XV…
Yet again – weaker, inferior, players are selected ahead of clearly better players. And, of course, the quota numbers have to be met.
I have an idea! Let Free State Schools play the SA Schools team (FS obviously have first right on their 2 players selected)… Come on SARU!! Hahahahahahahahaha – will never happen – SARU would never allow their quota team to be clearly embarrassed by a superior Free State team…!!
Hahahahahaha – they make it so obvious (are they still going to deny quotas exist??) – let the whole rugby world know the TRUTH about SA Schools team selections…
Free State is our rugby nursery – the perennial nursery of SA rugby. FACT. Yet – they get snubbed every year – yet every year – Grey Bloem and Free State are the best in SA – by far! And, of course, Free State is the “feeder union” for the wealthier, leeching, unions – especially the Blue Bulls and the Sharks!
Well done Free State on winning Craven Week – and thrashing all others – again!!