Selectors snub Craven Week kings

Just two players from Free State’s unbeaten Craven Week team have been included in the SA Schools starting XV.

Another four Bloem boys have been named on the bench. Western Province, who suffered a big defeat to Free State on Saturday, have four players in the starting line-up and one among the subs.

Grey College’s William Small-Smith will captain the side.

The back three includes the exciting Western Province duo of fullback Craig Barry and Jean-Paul Lewis. They will be joined by Boland speedster Leroy Bitterhout who scored a hat-trick of tries during his side’s 49-23 victory over KwaZulu-Natal on Saturday.

Small-Smith will partner former SA Schools centre Andile Jho in the midfield. Free State’s Johan Goosen, who scored 22 points during his side’s victory over WP, was selected as the SA Schools flyhalf.

SA Schools – 15 Craig Barry (Western Province), 14 Jean-Paul Lewis (Western Province), 13 William Small-Smith (Free State, c), 12 Andile Jho (Border), 11 Leroy Bitterhout (Boland), 10 Johan Goosen (Free State), 9 Rudi van Rooyen (Blue Bulls), 8 Nardus van der Walt (Blue Bulls), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Western Province), 6 Khaya Majola (KwaZulu-Natal), 5 Ruan Botha (Valke), 4 Ruan Venter (Golden Lions), 3 Allan Dell (Border), 2 Jason Thomas (Eastern Province), 1 Steven Kitshoff (Western Province).
Subs: 16 Anrich Bitzi (Free State), 17 Neethling Fouche (Free State), 18 Schalk van Heerden (Blue Bulls), 19 Wiaan Liebenberg (Boland), 20 Kevin Luiters (Free State), 21 Paul Jordaan (Free State), 22 Tshotsho Mbovane (Western Province).