Excelling in a climate of expectation

There is an unprecedented level of expectation on the Springboks and a measure of how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.

The Springboks have been lavished with praise in recent weeks, from former Springbok coach Nick Mallett predicting that they would defend their Tri-Nations crown, to All Blacks legend Sean Fitzpatrick writing in his New Zealand Herald column that the Springboks’ form, depth and experience scares him.

The liberal outpouring of praise was evident in the Australian and New Zealand media was well. That the latter have generally tempered expectations, even though they play two home Tests against the Springboks in the tournament, is a testament to their opponents’ quality at present.

The New Zealand rugby fraternity will see assertions that their side have lost their invincible aura as Springbok arrogance. It is not. The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks, but recent successes, not least of all three victories in 2009, have eroded the aura that used to paralyse South African players.

Heightened expectation is a by-product of consistent success, and it’s under those circumstances that the Springboks must show their mettle.

The Springboks have in the past thrived when expectations were low, but that is no longer the case. The great sides have ridden that wave of expectation with consummate composure and skill. This will be the Springboks’ challenge in the coming months, beginning with the first of two Tests against the All Blacks in Auckland on Saturday.

The Springboks have earned the right to feel confident about a series victory over their traditional rivals, as have Springbok supporters, whose expectation has been fuelled by last year’s series win over the British & Irish Lions, a Tri-Nations campaign that saw their side lose just one of six matches, and recent victories over Wales, France and Italy.

To say the expectation has been high since after their World Cup triumph would be naive, and fails to take into account that many (mostly foreign) critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one given that they hadn’t negotiated the challenge of Australia, New Zealand or France. To revisit the validity that line of criticism would be futile, but it remains a fact that the Springboks journey to the title was widely viewed as easy.

In 2008 Peter de Villiers was appointed and through his media offerings and Saru president Regan Hoskins’ ill-considered concession that De Villiers was not selected on rugby credentials alone, he was cast as the ultimate underdog. His appreciable success in his three-year tenure thus far means that is no longer a role he can assume. Like his players, De Villiers must now accept that that success has thrown a magnetic spotlight onto him.

He’ll be judged by an exceptionally high standard going forward, and this is justified given that he has at his disposal arguably the finest group of players in Springbok history, notwithstanding injuries to some exceptional players and the continued non-selection of the gifted Frans Steyn.

Ignoring their penchant for dramatic capitulations at World Cups, the All Blacks of the early and mid 2000s developed the habit of performing consistently under the weight of expectation. They embraced their status as favourites in every Test they entered into and generally played in a manner befitting that billing. In defeat, there were no complaints about the pressure that expectation created. They understood that champion teams elicit lofty, sometimes unrealistic, expectations.

This is where the Springboks find themselves. A measure of just how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.

316 Comments

• 1.Waster: Reply to this comment

All south africans are wankers

• 2.Waster: Reply to this comment

What a complete ego stroke this article is

• 3.offsides: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-1:

hahaha – what a way to open the comments!

• 4.Waster: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-3: Yeah ha ha bored at work

• 5.offsides: Reply to this comment

Hehe – should get a good couple of hits!

Ja, article is a bit overboard – that said, the boks are favourites to take the title…. reckon the season opener is going to be 50/50 as to who takes it!

Amazed that the ABs haven’t selected Dagg to start – i reckon that guy is the next big thing… Christian Cullan type full back!

• 6.Waster: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-5: He sure is, injured tho, yeah boks certainly an imposing prospect, that is what makes tri nations a good comp I reckon, hopefully australia have a decent crack at it soon

• 7.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-1: What a senseless remark. You really must be very bored at work!

• 8.offsides: Reply to this comment

Aussies have to sort out their injury “crisis”! Wallabies at full strength are very very different prospect to Wallabies carrying a couple of injuries… looking forward to seeing Genia/Cooper in action though. Genia has to be the future…. not Burgess!

• 9.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-1: That really is an incredibly immature comment. This is probably one of the most balanced/accurate articles in Keo regarding the Springboks vs AB’s in the past few days.

@offsides(offsides)-5: I agree re Dagg. I suspect that Henry has gone for ‘safety’ over ‘flashy’ for this first serious test of the season. I think that the AB’s are more dangerous with Dagg there, but Henry will want to see what sort of kicking game plan the Boks are going to employ before risking someone whose defence and temperament he is possibly not as sure about yet.

• 10.Waster: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-8: They need a bit of depth in the tight five, a bit surprised Deans not unearthed more talent, he is pretty astute.
    Genia is going to be awesome, especially if he stays in combination with barnes, pity Mark Gasnier didn’t stay in union I reckon, good for league him going back but they need guys like him in union

• 11.Waster: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-9: Bollocks

• 12.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-11:

Another small willy Kiwi acting all big in cyberspace. Are you the son of wet pantie?

• 13.Waster: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-12: No but at least I am in my own country, do you have a local team in your adopted country you support?

• 14.sglazer: Reply to this comment

“The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks, but recent successes, not least of all three victories in 2009, have eroded the aura that used to paralyse South African players.”

The paralysis was rather the heavy legs and frozen minds that come with travel fatigue. SA have always had the heavier travel relative to NZ sides in this competition and Super Rugby.

We need to call a spade a spade.

• 15.offsides: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-9:

could be, i often wonder about what is the best way to manage new talent. some guys thrive when thrown into the deep end (read Frans Steyn), some guys totally implode (read Gaffie du Toit).

The whole issue of game time could also come back to bite them as well… just over a year until the big event! Prob enough time anyways…

Ja, reckon this game is going to be super tight… read somewhere that both bakkies and pakslae are nursing injuries… would be a massive blow as don’t rate the bekker/matfield combo – brilliant players but style of play too similar!

Now that the SWC is winding down – getting super excited about the tri-nations!!

• 16.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-13:

Yup, Warriors, North Harbour and Silverdale

What country may you be from? Everyone comes from somewhere originally!

• 17.Waster: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-16: Oh fair enough, warriors are hard to support so good on you,

• 18.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-17:

Could make the last 8 this year………

• 19.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-15: It concerns me that Bakkies is carrying an injury again. He was out for months and after returning, he was out of rugby for 4 weeks after the citing; he has barely started playing and he is troubled by a knee injury again. Danie R has played a lot of rugby lately and like you said we don’t want to start with Bekker and Matfield. I suppose if Bakkies and Danie don’t recover in time, we’ll have to play AB and VM.

• 20.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-14: The “spade” is that travel is the same in either direction.

• 21.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-20: As mentioned previously, that’s at the very superficial level of the analysis. One shouldn’t stop there.

• 22.offsides: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-21:

it does get a bit boring talking about the travel thing time and time again (not you specifically)! Yes, it is tough – yes, we should be over this by now! Should only affect the first game anyways… and the fact that we start in NZ means we should have been there with plenty of time to spend to properly adjust, etc, etc, etc… as you see, it does get a bit tedious banging on about it time and time again!

• 23.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-11: I guess my original point is confirmed by that remark. Please tell me that you are an Aussie???

@whatever(whatever)-16:
    Do you live on the HBC?

• 24.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-22: Blogs give us, the fans, the opportunity to be heard. I think it’s important to keep this topic on the agenda because it is not being adequately dealt with, and it has cost us enormously. Here are the facts.

The comparison is SA’s travel itinerary relative to NZ. This is key.

Essentially, SA plays two neighboring countries across far time zones in Australasia, while NZ plays one country in Southern Africa.

While NZ has the luxury of playing Australia down the proverbial street, SA has to travel to Australasia to do so. Geographic reality.

This year, the relative travel itineraries between SA and NZ are as follows:

NZ play two consecutive home games, have a two week break, cross the Tasman Sea to play Australia once (which is flying to Madagascar), and return home for the home match against Australia the next weekend. After a two week break they tour South Africa for all of one week. They then have a two week break and play Australia in Australia.

SA play three consecutive away games across far time zones in Australasia (NZ twice and Australia once), have a four week break, and play three consecutive games against NZ and Australia at home.

SA have the more challenging schedule relative to NZ in terms of both frequency of play (three games in a row versus two) and time spent on tour across far time zones (four weeks versus one).

This has been the reality for both Super Rugby and the Tri-Nations since inception of the competitions about fifteen years ago.

The actual itineraries have varied somewhat, but the overriding pattern has been the same. NZ have had a clear advantage.

The obvious thing to do is to give the SA teams an extra home game, or an extra point for the extra games they play on tour across far time zones. Unfortunately our administrators have not done this. And our journalists and many fans have fallen for the superficial and wrong idea that it is whinging to raise the travel differences, or simplify the analysis to the point of fudging the true reality. Many NZ fans just overlook it completely.

• 25.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-23:

There or thereabouts :)

• 26.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-24: the most notable change for me is what the new zealand camp, journos and analysts are saying. even though the no.1 team is playing at home, the boks seem to be the favourites. that would never have been the case just before last year.

• 27.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-26: They really have been under a delusion, overlooking the advantage they’ve had. Many will deny it still, even now. Our administrators carry the most responsibility though. they’ve allowed this to continue, for years.

• 28.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-24: give it a rest, its not gonna happen. whats interesting to me is the fact that we started winning more in australasia round about the same time we stopped complaining about the travel thing. the players have excepted it why cant you

• 29.whatever: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-26:

Blowing smoke up our arses mate…..trying to get the underdog “status” and lullying the Boks into over confidence. A lot of Bok supporters appear to have bought into this as well….just hope the Boks have not……this is gonna be a big one and there are no gimmies!

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-28:

Travel excuse is like the highveld excuse……… just an excuse!

• 31.aliboy: Reply to this comment

I have travelled between NZ, Aus, Europe, Asia, America, Africa many times and the time zone change is only relevant for the first week. After that it is only the ‘emotional’ fact that you are away from home that affects you. There is no ‘physical’ disadvantage. There is however a time zone difference between NZ and Aus (significant if you are playing in Perth) and even the east coast 2hr difference needs adjusting to. It isn’t a 10 – 12hr adjustment, but it does still exist.
    Some people on here try to argue that for NZ to travel to Aus or vice versa is like a home game. The reality is that it is not. There is still a day of travel, still the need to settle into a new enviroment, still a noticeable time zone change.

In this years tournament the AB’s are at home for the first two games, travel away for their 3rd game, travel home for their 4th game (same week), travel away for the 5th game and travel away again for the 6th game. Whilst some of the travel is only 6 or 7 hrs (in total) from home to hotel, crossing only 2 time zones, it still will affect people.
    The Boks this year travel once (10? time zones though)for their first 2 games, once (2 time zones) for their 3rd game, and then are rested and waiting at home for the final 3 games. Not sure how this makes their itinary harder than the AB’s in 2010??

• 32.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-27: …the serenity to except the things i cannot change and the WISDOM to know the difference

• 33.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-29:not in kiwi nature. they too proud of their team. dawning of reality more like

• 34.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31: No disrespect, but your analysis is inaccurate. Moreover, medical science says otherwise about time-zone changes.

• 35.whatever: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-33:

Hehe, I will agree or disagree with you at 9-30 pm Sat night mate!

• 36.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-32: History has shown that one person can change anything.

• 37.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-36: have a coke and smile.

• 38.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-28: This is what Nelson’s jailers would say to him almost every day.

• 39.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-35: its gonna take more than 1 home win to get your mojo back

• 40.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-37: :)

• 41.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-38: you a freedom fighter now? i think holland has the most windmills don quixote

• 42.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

i’m out

• 43.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-42: Fire up your Spirit Mamma_Lou. There’s work to be done.

• 44.Soccer_World_Cup_a_Flop: Reply to this comment

to be honest, the way NZ are playing at the momment, they are not worthy to play against a team like the Boks. New Zeeland the W Indies of rugby

• 45.bokguy: Reply to this comment

The introduction of Argentina in the four nations will go some way to balance this disadvantage that we have had for years. Lets see what the Australasians say once that competition begins.

• 46.siener: Reply to this comment

OK, that’s it. The Springboks are going to lose … badly.

We never ever win when expectations are this high. Full stop.

• 47.Soccer_World_Cup_a_Flop: Reply to this comment

usually i’d say Boks by 22 .. but a bit of overconfidence by the boks and the travel issue, i’d say boks by 15

• 48.bokguy: Reply to this comment

Transformation: why do you think 2010 world cup was a flop?

• 49.offsides: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31:

agree that the time travel probably only affects players the first week.

the fact that aussies and kiwis are much more familiar with each other than saffas could be an additional reason…

anyways, we should be pros at this by now. I am somewhat reminded of how South Africa embraced France during the 2007 world cup and what wonders it did for the team morale as well as the local support…. not sure this is relevant here though…

• 50.Soccer_World_Cup_a_Flop: Reply to this comment

bokguy, cause the host nation failed to qualify.

• 51.rangerman: Reply to this comment

all i can say is thank goodness we have our fantastic leader to motivate the troops and keep our players focussed in the face of all the bs being thrown at their egos.

it seems a former bok hooker finally informed grant10 that his opinion was a load of kuk and grantie doesnt feel so vindicated anymore.

maybe not too late to get on the smitty train grantie? be like the rest of the haters, circa 2007 :lol:

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bokguy(bokguy)-48: don’t fall for it, read properly.

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-52: why do you keep making silly comments?

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-51: trolling so early in the morning? :D

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-53: cos silly goats like you need to read them ;)

• 56.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-54: :lol:

trolling?

moi?

never! just having a laff with me mate transformations.

remember: i am “di duiwel se kind” LMAO!

• 57.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-51:
    @Transformation(Transformation)-54:
    The two of you seem to be having a jolly morning with all the smilies. :lol:

• 58.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-55: :lol: easy now my upright imbuzi.

just because you are in a coat and staggering along in your buddies arms doesnt mean you are not a stolen entity.

• 59.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod better keep up with play this sat…..and not shirk!

Need all hands on deck …going to be a toughie.

• 60.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-57: you can jump in too :razz:

• 61.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-57: i am in such a good mood and me mate transie feels the same.

• 62.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-56: hahahahaha yep that’s because of all the trolling you do…refer to post 51 for a perfect example…

• 63.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-61:
    Until Uruguay beat the Netherlands tonight. :evil:

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-59: hey g10, how is clifton this morning? Are you ready for the semi?

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-63: don’t even think it! I see the uruguayan coach is taking exception to his team being called cheats and lashing out at the media.

No way jose, the Dutch must f.ck up suarez and all his mates, i want to see them cry this evening :twisted:

• 66.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-62: what?

that was an opinion mate. i think we saw the difference in the second italy test dont you?

and besides, a former bok hooker has vindicated my view.

@David(David)-63: it must not be. let that dirty rodent suarez get his own medicine from the diving dutch.

• 67.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: just back from walking the dog….overcat and a bit cold mate….hope it wont rain.

I havent got a ticket but will be on the fan mile for the last time….what a great tournament….i have enjoyed more than i thoought possible….Justrugby and i decided we going to support pro football in the western cape….going to get behind the newly promoted Vasco Da Gama….

SA has shown the world again we more than capable.

Last Sat a German oke told me this is better than the last WC….as well organised but more character!!

I have spoken to loads of foreigners on the beaches, restaurants, etc….they are in awe of SA….only great ,positive things to say.

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

overcat is overcast

• 69.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-65:
    Suarez isn’t playing, so I’m quietly confident. Even the comments on the US sites call him a cheat, and they don’t even understand the game.

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-65: the uruguayans are a bunch of cheating fukkers and i hope they get a 10-0 stuffing.

arjen to dive so much he looks like a seagull come sardine run.

• 71.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-66:
    What view was that? Reveal all.

• 72.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-69: :lol:

anyways, i am out.

have a good day all.

• 73.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-72:
    Cheers!

• 74.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-69: i know he isn’t playing, but seeing him air punch and happy after that penalty miss made me mad! I can’t believe i cheered for the doos @ the stadium when they played in the last 16 against south korea…what a wa.nker

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-74:
    I know, I could hardly contain my fury when he did that. If I was one of the Ghanains, I would have gone over and flattened him after the final whistle.

• 76.Mike H: Reply to this comment

51. rangerman(rangerman) :

I like it Ranger :)

• 77.Mike H: Reply to this comment

67. grant10(grant10) :

That’s awesome to hear. This WC has been worth the expenditure just for the amazing positivity it has brought to the country from within and from outside.

• 78.The Old Enemy: Reply to this comment

The truth of the matter is, world cup’s are a lottery. 2007 proved that. Not so the tri nations. 2009 proved that.

There is absolutely no doubt the Springboks are the best because the last rugby that mattered was the 2009 tri nations, which they won with alarming ease.

So, the Boks have 1998. They have 2009. Can they finally step up and string together two or more seasons at the top?

By the look of it, they probably can.

:-(

• 79.offsides: Reply to this comment

Sheesh, lots of Bonhommie happening on this site…. everyone mates today!

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@offsides(offsides)-79: yes, geniality is the order of the day on keo vandag :D

• 81.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-75: Yeah, reminds me of the whole Ronaldo “wink” after he got Rooney carded in the last WC. Haven’t had any time for him since.

Something about “if you cheat in sport, you’ll cheat at anything” about that sort of thing…

• 82.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

that AB team is a real good team… man for man i think the backs overshadow ours, but our forwards are better…

not going to be such a walk in the park as most of disillsuional saffas think its going to be…
    remember confidence is good over confidence has still brought us no Cricket W/C titles

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-82: The loss of J.Smith is a big blow for you guys… my fav SA player… and if Bakkies and Danie arent there, I think it weakens your forward pack quite a bit…

• 84.Soccer_World_Cup_a_Flop: Reply to this comment

he did not cheat ..it was a natural reaction. he was sent off etc … some stupid idiot couldn’t convert the penalty – bad luck … thats life.

• 85.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

is JS out?!?! when did that happen?

• 86.David: Reply to this comment

@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-85:
    I think he means Juan not John Smit.

• 87.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

phew okay… thought i missed something major!!

• 88.Soccer_World_Cup_a_Flop: Reply to this comment

crickey … we are not that lucky

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-83: Clutching at straws…

• 90.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh is this todays football thread? ;-)

@Mike H(Mike H)-77: A British reporter was telling us that there were now streets in Joberg you could now walk down and not get mugged!

Still not entirely sure I want to visit yet!!

Although in Britain the coverage has been very positive! ;-)

• 91.carol: Reply to this comment

Look, I have not been here for a bit and missed the point of the anoying little box on the right hand side. What does it ‘Do’?

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-90: your reporter is nuts! People get mugged in most cities in the world, if one is dumb enough to wander in hillbrow they’ll get nabbed.

• 93.David: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-91:
    Irritates everyone. It’s just there to encourage more page hits.

• 94.carol: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92: Where’s Hillbrow?
    Remind me to avoid that too!!
    You could probably get mugged in Oxford if you really tried!! ;-)

• 95.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@bokguy(bokguy)-48: look at the “o” and the “zero” in Transformation, spot the fake

• 96.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-90: met a girl who used to stay in london who says she was more scared there than in joburg

• 97.carol: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-93: Hi David, it does get in the way rather!!

I wonder if Keo would be brave enough to put up a rugby lovers world cup soccer final thread on Sunday….

He may even get some hits there, instead of everyone lurking about talking about football on every other thread!! :lol:

• 98.David: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-94:
    Bloemfontein is worse. The whole England team got mugged!

• 99.carol: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-96: I think I tend to veer towards the ‘nice’ bits of London when I venture there occasionally eg: Twickenham!! :-)

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-94: close to where ellis park is, hillbrow, berea, doornfontein, slum heaven!

• 101.David: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-97:
    Apart from the first few replies, most threads develop their own theme, regardless of their original intention.

• 102.carol: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-98: Bwahahahh…. Poor old Poppa gets it for being a Kiwi and Big Hit and I get it for being ‘Poms’!!

Only saw first half…..frankly it makes me embarrased that the world follows our premiership football teams and we put in such a woeful performance as a Country.

At least we know our rugby is ‘underpar’ at the moment!! :-(

• 103.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-99: same thing here, you avoid certain places at certain times and use common sense

• 104.David: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-102:
    When you look at the top 6 Premier sides and who the stars are, it’s no surprise that the english contingent performs so poorly when lumped together as a team.

• 105.carol: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-101: Hey you will make me nostalgic for the good old days of Night Owls with Grant10, Robzim, Tassies, JustRugby, SodaJoe, Charo, Puma, GBS, K9, Ed the Lion, Supa Die Bloubul,Skop and the rest…you would pop in too!
    Music, food, banter….. oh yes and of course some rugby!! :-)

• 106.carol: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-103: Exactly…

• 107.carol: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-104: Fabio Capello ‘Lumped’ our team together…..I like that!

Ok stuff calls….Outta here.

• 108.David: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-107:
    Cheers Carol. :lol:

• 109.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

“…critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one…” shouldnt that be “hollow”?

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

McCaw plays it cool on revenge factor

By MARC HINTON – Stuff Last updated 19:06 06/07/2010

Revenge may be the dish best served cold, but the All Blacks captain was doing his level best to downplay the emotional quotient for Saturday’s Boks showdown at Eden Park.

It’s fair to say there’s enough hype around this Tri-Nations opener in Auckland without Richie McCaw adding fuel to the fire.

Yes, the All Blacks owe the South Africans one – or two — after last year’s 3-0 whupping, and everyone knows that the New Zealanders need to reassert a bit of home dominance over such a dangerous foe just a year or so out from a certain global tournament.

But McCaw was toeing a more cautious line as he spoke to the media following today’s announcement of a predictable, and experienced, All Blacks lineup.

“We’ve just got to be careful we don’t play the game before Saturday because we’ve had an extra couple of days together. We’ve just got to make sure Saturday is the day we’re ready to go,” he said.

In other words, keep the excitement levels contained until you need them.

An experienced team (there are a combined 325 test caps in the forwards; 346 in the backs) would help, reckoned the skip.

“There are times when you’ve got to think about it and times when you’ve got to relax a bit too. Hopefully the guys who have been around a while understand that.”

Asked about the revenge factor, McCaw was clearly reluctant to buy into the storyline..

“I guess there’s a bit of memory about last year and the guys who there are pretty keen to get stuck in again. It’s been a while since we had a crack and we’ve had a while to think about it,” said McCaw.

“We’ve just got to be careful we don’t get too caught up in that… I’ve been looking forward to it for a while, and the reality is in the Tri-Nations with two home games to start we’ve got to win them if we’re going to be in with a shot.”

But there’s no shortage of respect from McCaw when it comes to the Boks as a foe. He feels they have a depth to their rugby now that was once the sole preserve of the All Blacks and ensures that whatever the circumstances a quality team runs out on the pitch.

“The other thing is they’re pretty physical,” added McCaw. “You always realise you’re in a test match. Even the games you win, they’re still pretty hard matches physically. That’s what you remember when you come off the field — you know you’ve had a good old bashup.”

McCaw also rates the Boks trio of Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies and Francois Louw

as worthy competitors.

“The key is if you allow them to get across the advantage line off set piece and get nice easy ball there, that’s when they come into their own. They’re good players but they’re not perfect and if you put them under pressure you can find areas to exploit.”

And though McCaw was happy to acknowledge the Boks as the premier test in the game at the moment, he was not too keen to buy into the more long-reaching subplots to Saturday night’s sold-out fixture.

“The long-term thing is building on what we did on the end-of-year tour and being better so at the end of this Tri-Nations we’re in better shape than we were. So come this time next year if we keep aiming like that we’ll be in pretty good shape.”

McCaw was similarly bland on the matter of how important it was for the All Blacks’ 20-test winning streak on Eden Park to be defended.

Some see this as a match that could have World Cup implications, and that if the Boks were able to win their first test in Auckland since 1937 they would be in the box seat for next year.

“That’s secondary too,” said McCaw. “It would be nice if that becomes the case, but it’s not going to be the difference this week or next year. We do enjoy playing there and, hey, we’d love to keep that record going there and we certainly want to win on Saturday.

“But that’s not the sole reason we want to do well. We want to do well because we want to beat the Springboks and win the Tri-Nations, and if it adds a bit to down the track that will be good.”

• 111.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-110: Very diplomatic from McCaw. He should rate the loosie trio – they smashed his Saders team (including himself) in the S14 for their respective teams.

• 112.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-111: LOL
    the Saders had NO Answer for them
    I CANT WAIT!!!

• 113.willievz: Reply to this comment

It is time for a good Springbok team to become a great one.

IMO this team cannot be called a great one yet.

Too much complacency on EOYTs and losing dead rubbers have marked our inability to put the preverbial final nail in the coffin.

• 114.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-112: Ja, it was awesome display by Stormers and Bulls.

The Stormers performances in NZ were also brilliant (Bulls were also very good), so Im hoping/believing they will replicate those on Saturday – the Stormers players in the team bodes well if you think of the Stormers white-washing the NZ teams in S14, and of course McCaw and Co. must be k@kking themselves at the thought of Matfield, Bakkies and Spies after last year’s 3Nations and the Super14 :-)

I think they will also be very aware of Aplon’s skills and as he is new to the Boks they might over-concentrate on him, which will open things up for Habana a bit more than previous years?

• 115.David: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-113:
    You’ve got a point. As far as the EOYTs go, the ABs have never, as far as I remember, claimed that they were fielding an experimental side as an excuse if they lost. In fact, they rarely lost on those tours.

• 116.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-113: Well then you must have incredibly high standards Willie!

Focussing on the team as in the players

1. World Cup winners
    2. B&I Lions winners
    3. Tri Nations winners
    4. Victories in NZ (including first-ever in Carisbrook)
    5. 3-0 beating of NZ
    6. Record score against England at Twickenham

Is that not enough to be a GREAT team? :-)

Of course the team has been changing since 2007, but the core (Smit, Matfield, Du Preez, Jean DV, Fourie, Schalla, Januarie, Bakkies, Smith, Spies, CJ, Steenkamp) have all been involved for the whole or majority of the time since 2004.

An AMAZING feat when you think of previous Springbok teams…

• 117.willievz: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-116: You missed a 7th and 8th point on that list: Record victories over Australia (in 2008) and consecutive wins on NZ soil.

I have high standards Bokfan, and so should you. Our record last year could have been even better.

Maybe it is just me but that 3rd BI Lions test and the EOYT 2009 just leaves a sour taste in the mouth.

A 2nd WC win with these players would make the medicine go down in the most delightful way.

• 118.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-117: You are right, I left a few points off :)

Of course we have high standards, and expect the best from the Boks at all times. My only point was, after their HARD work, surely can allow them a little praise and say they are great?

While it does leave a sour taste because we know they were better than the results indicate, I always think that if someone offered you the deal at the start of 2009 that Boks will beat Lions 2-1, win Tri Nations but lose EOYT, Im sure yourself, like most Bok fans wouldve taken the deal, no?

If/when the Boks lift the World Cup trophy for the 2nd consecutive time, in New Zealand, ou maat I will be happy enough to die on the spot :D

• 119.willievz: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-118: I don’t think a choice between a 3N and EOYT should be a trade-off to be considered. We had the personnel to make skoonskip on that excursion.

I guess one can talk about great players, surely, but not a great team yet.

• 120.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-119: I agree with you – didnt mean it as a trade-off, just that in reality you cant expect to win every game in the year, so if offered the year of 2009 as it turned out (and especially after 2008!) any of us wouldve been pleased with the deal beforehand.

Ons sal moet saamstem om te verskil oor die span dan – maar defnitief BRILJANTE spelers. Ons gaan ons klein-klein kinders van die span vertel, of hoe?

• 121.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-116: Yip. A great team in anyone’s book. If they accomplish nothing else they deserve to go down as one of the greatest SA teams in my opinion..

• 122.willievz: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-120: That is the difference between you and me I guess – you will tell your kids about the Bok team, and I will tell my kids about the Bok players and the NZ team.

Why can the All Blacks win a BI Lions series 3-0 and go undefeated on EOYT?

The All Black teams of the late 90s, despite their WC fumbles, were great. And this comes from the biggest diehard SA fan out there.

My viewpoint will change when we lift the koppie for the 2nd time in Auckland :)

• 123.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121: For sure – we are spoilt in SA and we dont realise how good the Boks are sometimes, we always raise the bar of what we expect.

I was re-reading Monty’s book and there they mention how when Mallet was coach and the Boks started winning every game, the media and fans would complain about a 20 point victory over Scotland in Edinburgh (which Mallet k@kked them out about).

After 2002/3 SA fans would’ve been happy just to win overseas, then we started winning and then just winning wasnt enough, and so we go :)

Think of teams even like Australia or England – they would love to have had our year last year, and if their teams managed to win similar victories, Im sure they would be enshrined as great teams.

• 124.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-122: good points in your post Willie, our EOYT was not a highlight was it?

Perhaps the only silver lining is that the back up players are much better this year and there is more test-ready depth, but ja, I see your point.

When they lift that trophy I will be the happiest man alive :)

• 125.willievz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121: Howzit stormies, hope you are well.

My point is merely that this team has not yet reached its potential and that, despite its good results of late, have never succeeded to put the icing on the cake.

They can still improve, which is the scary thing, or they can vanish into complacency, which will be disturbing but certainly a realistic outcome.

I would love to see a SA team go unbeaten for 17+ games. And I don’t think this is unrealistic.

Complacency is the poison of the SA sport fraternity.

• 126.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-122: I know we shouldnt tempt fate by using “when” but it shows we believe in our team, ne?

• 127.willievz: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-126: Altyd ou maat :)

• 128.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

“The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks”…. I don’t think the Boks fear the ABs.

• 129.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-128: not fear like they used to. I think “fear” that if they dont play their best game for 80 minutes the ABS can still win, and that keeps them on their toes, but I would agree, no fear of the ABs anymore

• 130.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-129: respect but no fear. If we win the first one it will definitely help our campaign.

• 131.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-130: Yes – nice way to put it.
    If we win this first one, our year is MADE. Like the first B&I Lions test, when it goes well it gets the team going for the whole season

• 132.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-131: absolutley, Goooooo Boks!!!

• 133.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-125: I’m good thanks, enjoying the “gees” here in Cape Town today. Some stunning tall blondes walking around…I hope you’re well too.

I take your point about what there is still left to acheive. And you’re right, there are still some hights to scale, including a grandslam tour win in the NH (That even Nick wasn’t able to accomplish), Clive Woodwards consecutive wins record and a successful defence of a 3N and WC. So when you look at it this way there is no reason to say that they’ve done it all. You are spot on that this is the team to do it, with the blend of experience and youth coming through. Coupled with a “winning habbit” (Stemming from a very successful Super 14 with many wins in Australasia) we are better placed than ever before to do this. So whilst I am happy to call this one of the best teams ever I aslo agree that there is more to do. As there always is I guess…..

• 134.ET: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-63:

David that is grossly sacrilegious.

Are you the ONLY one amongst us rooting for the S.Americanos?

Triple shame on you.

I thought we established eternal kama when we agreed(finally) on the true order of things wrt Morgan and John?

• 135.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-65:

After lambasting my ‘Oranje’ team as big time cheats now you jump on their bandwagon.

Are you eBhayi’s own Mick Jagger the known Angel of football Death?

Stay away from the ‘Oranje’. Please just this once.

Got to be very innovative today in stealing away from work and student time but I will be here come kick-off.

Got to go now for some hours.

• 136.David: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-134:
    You obviously didn’t read my comment at 69. :lol:

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-135: i’m on no bandwagon!!!! Get it straight, they’re the lesser of the two evils! :twisted: it’s like being forced to kiss either nkosazana zuma or helen zille…eeuww!

• 138.ET: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-136:

Now I did(I’m in a rush) and I think you have restored the much needed kama again.

Please just for today keep it there.

Duty calls. Sure I’ll speak to you later.

• 139.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-137:

That’s the way I like it.

But don’t make it difficult for me to leave now. Work beckons.

Do you go to a fan park(Crusader Ground?) to witness this semi?

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-135: if holland were facing ghana, i’d be like fu,k the Dutch & their prancing queen arjen robben!

It’s just that i’m disgusted by that suarez slime.

• 141.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-137:

F A R K what a choice of delivering a kiss. BORING and worse than kissing your sister.
    Rather you than me.

OFF.

• 142.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-139: fan park is @ st georges cricket ground, lekker vibe…

• 143.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-142:

Hey! That’s the SAME f a r king ground. But am I surprised as you do not pay attention to history even of sports.

• 144.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-143: ffs, why should i give a fark what it was called by you and your cronies? Sheesh you like claiming hollow victories damn :x

• 145.CrackerJack: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-129: respect but no fear. If we win the first one it will definitely help our campaign.

AN UNBELIEVABLE ‘CONFESSION’.
    Without a doubt this Springbok team is currently the best team in the world & arguably one of the best Bok teams ever. But never did I think I’d ever see the day when red blooded Bok fans, let alone their coach & captain felt compelled to go public confessing that they are no longer in awe of the All Blacks… respect them, but no longer fear them etc.

My god. Can some red blooded Bok supporter please tell when exactly the Boks ever feared and/or were in awe of the All Blacks? Was it every Springbok prior to the team finally winning a game in NZ two years ago? Was Victor Matfield really **** scared of the AB’s a few years ago? Was Korne Krige shaking in his boots every time he played them? Was Rudi Visage really dry reaching before AB tests? Ditto Ruben Kruger? Or was it the mighty Danie Gerber who used to break into cold sweats the night before? Morne DuPlessis simply terrified? Surely the legendary Frik DuPreez might have something to say about this confession!!!

Seriously guys. While I’m used to the likes of Wales, England, France & even the Wallabies (15 years ago) going down this path in the media trying to convince themselves they’d finally overcome the same fears. But the Mighty Boks – the All Blacks staunchest ever rival – two teams that contribute to one of the most brutal contests in world sport.

To quote the legendary John McEnroe ” YOU CAN”T BE SERIOUS”.

• 146.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-144: bwahahaha – tranny is caught out! No hissy fits please…

• 147.CrackerJack: Reply to this comment

Sorry. Mis Quote: “YOU CAN NOT BE SERIOUS!”

• 148.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CrackerJack(CrackerJack)-145: even the blue bulls dreaded & “feared” touring new zealand until recently,heyneke meyer confessed to it.

• 149.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-146: there you are laughing @ nonsense :D hahaha senility is ravaging your faculties of reasoning old codger! Go take your meds fool :D

• 150.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CrackerJack(CrackerJack)-145: i don’t know where you’ve been, the springboks haven’t been mighty against the all blacks for a while now.

• 151.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CrackerJack(CrackerJack)-145: Good one !

Thats the way…!

• 152.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

What a sensible article.

• 153.CrackerJack: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-150:

Mate. Haven’t missed a AB Bok test in 20 years – over which time sure the AB’s have dominated the Boks. But let me tell you something for nothing. If the Boks were to go through a period of similar domination & the AB’s then began to turn the table on them – over my dead body would an AB fan, coach or player ever be heard publicly saying that the AB’s no longer fear and/or were in awe of the Springboks.

Never ever my friend!

• 154.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-23:
    North Shore? Auckland…. Saafi
    Sydney …St Ives Saafi

• 155.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@sglazer(sglazer)-24:

I did not hear anyone complaining last season, when the Bokke had the lesser travel.

When the Wannabies Play the Bokke in Perth, the travel itinerary is firmly in the Bokke favour.

• 156.NOTHING GUY: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc(AiDoc)-155: Aidoc, when you say ‘lesser travel’ are you comparing last years Bok travels to this years ? The Boks ALWAYS have a harder travel schedule than both the Aussies and the ABs. 3 away Tests in 3 weeks = on the road for 3 weeks. When the ABs and OZ play each other its an out and back flight with a 2-3 hour time difference. Worst case scenario for ABs or OZ is a 2 week trip to SA.

• 157.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

No place for Aplon, de Jongh
    2010-07-06 17:40Email | Print

Gio Aplon (Gallo Images)
    Adnaan Mohamed

Auckland – Two of South Africa’s most exciting young backline talents Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh will not be in the Springbok starting line-up in the Tri-Nations Test match against New Zealand at Eden Park on Saturday.

The Stormers-duo have both played excellent rugby for the Boks since making their Test debuts this year. They have also proven themselves against the best that the Super 14 has to offer.

The Springbok match 22 will however only be named on Thursday, but if the Bok training session at the Takapuna Rugby Club on Auckland’s North Shore is anything to go by, Jean de Villiers will start on the right wing, with the Bulls-duo of Wynand Olivier and Zane Kirchner preferred to De Jongh and Aplon at inside centre and fullback respectively.

Aplon who played his last Test against Italy in East London at fullback, will probably make his debut against the All Blacks from the bench with De Jongh possibly out of the match-22

“The All Blacks are still the number one team in the world. It’s the dream of any youngster playing rugby in South Africa, to play against the All Blacks. I am still a bit nervous and sometime have to pinch myself to feel if everything is real,” Aplon said about the impending clash against the arch enemy.

Bakkies Botha (hamstring) and Danie Rossouw (hip) did not participate in Tuesday’s practice session. They will be given a chance until Thursday to recover.

Andries Bekker partnered Victor Matfield in the engine room, while Gurthrö Steenkamp, John Smit and Jannie du Plessis will again make up the front row.

The loose-forward combination of Pierre Spies, Schalk Burger and Francois Louw should remain the same.

According to Louw who will also make his debut against the Kiwis on Saturday, he expects the men in black will have a point to prove after their disappointing Tri-Nations campaign last year.

Ricky Januarie and Morné Steyn should remain as the halfback pairing, with Ruan Pienaar and Butch James warming the bench.

“We beat them thrice last year and they will probably be out to take revenge. We are expecting a great onslaught from them,” warned Steyn.

The possible Springbok starting line-up:
    Zane Kirchner, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morné Steyn, Ricky Januarie, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit (captain) and Gurthrö Steenkamp.

• 158.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

What is good is that we travel better and the confidence is there.
    They will be tough tests, they always are, but the nice thing is, is that the Kiwi’s will also be nervous now.
    The Boks have definitely made an improvement to their reputation…and long may it last.

• 159.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-157: F.ck sakes if that is the backline…

• 160.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

Louw must let McCaw worry which he will surely be doing. McCaw getting on a bit and has never been the best Captain for the Kiwi’s and Louw is going to be in his face at the breakdowns…I relish it.

• 161.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-157: JdV at wing for the ABs game??!! WTF!! surely this will not be the game they is in for a big kick up the butt if they start fkn around with combos like this.

• 162.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@byoboy(byoboy)-161: I’m sure d ick and PdV won’t put JdV at wing ffs

• 163.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-157: Disappointing that. Why leave out De Jongh and Aplon? Damn crazy.

Anyhow go HOLLAND BEAT THOSE CHEATS FROM URUGUAY. :D

• 164.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-163: Hear, hear…

• 165.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

ET, ELLIOT WHERE ARE YOU???

• 166.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-163: did you see that cheat suarez sitting out!

• 167.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-165:

Which thread is it going to be?

Chance gone abegging to Kuyt.

• 168.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-165:

ET is here but I don’t know about that Elliot fellow.

• 169.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-166:

Are you at the Crusader Grounds where Cheeky brought his whole Spring Roses or Kwaru team to a practice?

• 170.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-169: nope, it’s bloody cold there, i’m in front of my telly with single malt in hand…

• 171.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-170:

Good for you and malt it is.I will not forget OK?

• 172.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-170:

What a goal Giovanni?

• 173.Puma: Reply to this comment

Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooo HOLLAND.

HUP……… HUP……… HUP……..HUP … HOLLAND.

Best goal in the tourney so far.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE ORANJE.

• 174.ET: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-172:

I got his signature in a Best Buy Store in Miami in 2003 or thereabouts when he played for Glas. Rangers.

He was so recognisable to me(even thu he had a Rangers tracksuit on) but I was still so surprised.

• 175.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-170: HAHAHAHA. Glass of red in hand for me…hehe. Also 27 here today. No winter in Durbs Transie…hehe.

GO THE MEN IN ORANGE.

• 176.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-173:

Who were the stars in that Ajax team you saw in Amsterdam?
    Cruyff and company(70s) or Van Basten Gullit and company(80s)?

• 177.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-166: Did too Transie. Now hope the Oranje can beat em cheats from Uruaguay.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164: For sure.

Back to the tv.

• 178.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what a scorcher of a goal!!!!! But i bet you if suarez was in goal he would’ve save that ;)

• 179.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-173:no mate, maicon’s goal is still the best, from an acute angle at pace nogal :shock:

• 180.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-176: Know they were before my time in Holland. I went there lat 89 to end of 94. Only got into football sometimes there with my Dutch friends. I mostly watched Ajax but never at the game at the pub with my Dutch mates. Still don’t know much about the game buddy. Enjoy the world cup. Watch it everytime but have enjoyed the 94 cup and this one the most. Maybe cause I was still living in Holland there even though it was held in the States and this one in our own country. I have beent to many Celtic games with my Scots mates too in Scotland. Still have with all that don’t know much about football. Enjoy it but need to get into it more. Rugby is is my sport love it with a passion. Though this world cup has been totally awesome and really want to watch mroe football after.

Now see some drama there. Think it was a accident and hope no concussion.

• 181.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-180: Sorry man, too much wine…..hehehe. Know = No.

• 182.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-180: Jeepers, reading through my post there. :D Ignore the typos…hehehe.

Back to the tv.

• 183.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-180:

OK so you got the stars like Bergkamp, Overmars, De Boer twins and company.

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-179: Well you know more than me Transie about this game. This time I am sitting with just football mad crazy mates. They say this is the best in this world cup. So if you say so and them something else. It is fine with me…… :D As long as Holland win Transie I am happy with that.

Go the men in ORANGE…………. HUP HOLLAND….. HUP… HUP HOLLAND.

Back later.

• 185.ET: Reply to this comment

Excellent goal by Diego Forlan.

• 186.Transformation: Reply to this comment

diego forlan is the MAN of the tournament!!!!! Hands down, same goal that he scored against Bafana!!! Defenders backing off!!! Sh.t

• 187.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-183: Yes. Those were they players when I was there.

ET, I don’t have tv in my study. Also never blog from my lap top ever. So back to the tv. Back later buddy. Off to watch my old adopted country. Go the men in orange.

• 188.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-187:

OK that’s fine.

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

Damn come now Holland. Get one back after the break. This is Holland all over again. Get to the semi and just let it go.

Concentrate Holland. Don’t let this one slip.

• 190.ET: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-186:

Going to be Sneijder or Klose who is going to get a brace tomorrow against Spain.

• 191.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Come on Uruguay.

I say it again, Diego Forlan is the man of the tournament. Unbelievable ability to make something happen under immense pressure.

I’ve backed Uruguay all tournament, and they’ve given me lots of satisfaction. The little country up against the big boys.

They’ll probably lose to Holland, but boy are they putting up a fight to the bitter end.

And that Forlan. Simply unbelievable.

• 192.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Pity about that equaliser.

But what a pleasure to see the best goalie of the World Cup, Luis Suarez, sitting on the bench, picking his nose.

Holland must just finish it off now.

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-190: david villa not far behind!!! Sneijder? I don’t think so!!!

• 194.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-186:

Great strike that – I could see it coming.

Just sorry Muller from Germany not playing tomorrow.

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-192: am quite content seeing the shot stopper suarez out there! Bloody Agent! :x

• 196.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc(AiDoc)-155: The Boks did not have the lesser travel last year. NZ did have a more challenging itinerary last year than they do this year.

Perth is six hours ahead of SA and three hours behind Sydney and Brisbane. SA do not have the travel advantage when playing Australia in Perth.

Any which way one looks at it, SA is playing two neighboring countries in Australasia, while NZ is playing one country in Southern Africa.

• 197.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-195: good day julius :lol:

• 198.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-194: yeah pity about mueller, i had him in my fantasy league but had to sub him… Athletico Madrid must forget about Forlan, he is gone, they must just be content with pocketing £60 million for him, he is gone. I can see those arab motherf.ckers from Man City writing the cheque.

• 199.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-191: forgive me for pointing out the obvious but shouldn’t you be supporting the Dutchies in view of your Dutch heritage?

• 200.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-197: sawubona mangaliso!

• 201.Jack Parow: Reply to this comment

Caught this article on the break. Good read, this sure is the time for this legendary bok era! Just pisses me off no Fransie though, I mean c’mon div??? Now lets go Holland!

• 202.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Remember when Teichman was dropped before ‘99 RWC?(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-199: Tac backs the La Celeste with the powder blue if the Bulle…plus he knows his forefathers were probably peasants in Holland. :D

• 203.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Boks can’t be ‘great’ until they beat Ireland and France away from home and consistently win 90%+ of all games in the NH.

• 204.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Uruguay are looking the better team now.

• 205.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sorry chaps was waylaid for a half – how good were those goals!!!

Holland is struggling here…

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-185: Hope you aren’t biting the tongue too much – skidmarks today… Very strange, Holland are subdued…

• 207.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

why is there a box in the right hand corner? What purpose does it achieve?

It’s dumb. Please remove it Roy.

• 208.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Spain will beat Germany tomorrow. Paul the Oracle Octopus has spoken.

• 209.Jack Parow: Reply to this comment

@Remember when Teichman was dropped before ‘99 RWC?(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-203: Haebo! Last i checked they must great then. No?,

• 210.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

@Jack Parow(Jack Parow)-209: your post makes no sense.

When last did SA win in France or Ireland?

• 211.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

How many of the current Boks have won in France and Ireland?

• 212.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

good passage of play from Holland

• 213.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Are we going to have penalties?

• 214.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Robben should have passed inside. Glory boy.

• 215.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

GOOOOOOOAAAAAALLLLLLL!

To Tacitus’ cousins.

• 216.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Viva Oranje viva!!

• 217.Jack Parow: Reply to this comment

I beg your pardon. Had a moment. Back to the footies then. Keep to watching.

• 218.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-212:

Yes, yes ,yes. GOAL 2-1 go ‘Oranje’.

• 219.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

the game has come alive – near goals for both sides

• 220.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-218: Goal…?

• 221.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

GGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLL!

• 222.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-218: OMG… ITV must have a lag this side… p.isspoor!!!

• 223.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-218: You must be happy…

• 224.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-212:

Where have you been hiding?

Been getting very irrittated but it is all over bar the shouting now

The Oranje are marching with aplnb to the WORLD CUP

Transie where is you team? Mine is there already.

• 225.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

And out go the cheats.

until the world cup in 2030… Uruguay only do well in world cups ending in zero.

• 226.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Justice.

Cheaters on the first plane outta here.

Koebaai.

• 227.ET: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-224:

aplnb should read APLOMB

• 228.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Holland haven’t been great tonight. Reckon Spain will take them in the final.

• 229.Puma: Reply to this comment

HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND HUP THE MEN IN ORANJE…………..YEBO.

3/1 NOW. Had to blow my vuvu a bit there…….hehehehe.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOLLAND.

• 230.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-223:

Over the ******* I N G MOON with delight.

I have waited for forty years for this. Ever since the advent of those superstars Cruyff, Johnny Rep and Karel Neeskens.

• 231.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Remember when Teichman was dropped before ‘99 RWC?(Paper Tiger with Nuclear Teeth)-228: They without their two mid-fielders. Back for the finals if they make it.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ORANJE. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOLLAND.

• 232.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-224: Goal, your team is through!

Was waylaid, Banshee locked her keys in the car – had to go take the spares…

• 233.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-229:

We’re there Puma the ‘Oranje’ are there. Die Kaap is weer regtig Hollands vanaand.

• 234.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-226: koebaai :lol:

• 235.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-230: :D :D

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ORANJE!!

Damn Amsterdam must be going crazy. Can almost feel the vibe there.

• 236.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-230: funny how the steady eddies might go one better than the superstars…

• 237.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Cruyff
    Van Basten
    Gullit
    Bergkamp
    Overmars
    Cocu
    Davids
    Van Nistelrooy

Some good players there.

• 238.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-232:

Then freedom of Cape Town is bestowed on the Dutch once more as it was on 6th April 1652. Jan Van Riebeeck se Dag.

• 239.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

This game should be Holland vs Ghana. Not these gatecrashers!

• 240.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-233: Yebo……..hehehehe. We are there ET. Damn can almost feel the vibe in Amsterdam and The Hague. Really loved my time in Holland. Great people and the best party ever will go on there tonight if they win.

HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND……………..GO THE ORANJE.

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-238: Its gonna be Wesley Sjneider day :wink:

• 242.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, out you go you dirty cheats.

• 243.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239:We know HG. Think everyone is supporting the men in Orange tonight cause of that. For me I lived there for quite sometime. Loved it there. The Hollanders are superb and huge, huge fun.

GO ORANJE.

• 244.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-242: :D :D :D For sure. Hoping like crazy.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ORANJE.

• 245.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239:

Nah. The ancestor worshippers got what they deserved.

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-243: Its good stuff. I can feel the vibe from hear. Sounds like 95% of the stadium are behind Oranje

• 247.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-246: hear = here

• 248.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-245: No-one deserved Suarez…

• 249.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Knew it. Tacitus was against Ghana. Not a surprise really…

• 250.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-241:

Where is our poor Buddy Transie?

I hope he is not pep talking his Spaniards because that is a forlorn case as the Germans are needed for WW3 after tomorrow.

• 251.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-248:

That Gyan looks like the skelmest guy this side of the Sahara.

• 252.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

How did Robben not score…?

• 253.ET: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-245:

Where is your Diegi now .Man. U even chased him away. His Dutch masters have taught him how to play the beautifil, even sexy game.

• 254.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-252:

Out of sympathy for that keeper.

• 255.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-251: No-one is skelm like Suarez – he is now the byword…

• 256.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Paul the Oracle Octopus has predicted a Spanish victory. The Germans’ goose is cooked. No one beats the Oracle.

• 257.Puma: Reply to this comment

,Holland, concentrate now. Two goals can be scored in quick, quick time. Just concentrate now. This game is yours. Take your time.

• 258.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-253:

He was one man against an army. He did more than his fair share.

Well done, Forlan. You were magnificent.

• 259.Transformation: Reply to this comment

thank you! The cheats are going home, put them on the nearest Air Nigeria flight that goes through Zimbabwe & Sierra Leone where their luggage will get stolen!

• 260.Puma: Reply to this comment

Bugger there Uruguay scores. Holland taking their foot off the gas as I thought.

CONCENTRATE HOLLAND YOU MESSING UP HERE THIS GAME IS YOURS MAN.

• 261.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-254: Holland could be 2 more in credit…

• 262.ET: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-258:

ASgree with your assessment. he is the forgotten man in British football.

• 263.Remember when Teichman was dropped before '99 RWC?: Reply to this comment

Funny how Tacitus supports Uruguay just because Grant10 supported Ghana.

Ignoring his own ancestors just to prove his “un-Africaness”.

• 264.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-260: Dammit… Squeeky bum time

• 265.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-261:

HOLLAND GOING TO THE WORLD CUP FINAL

Die KAAP is HOLLANDS vanaand en die ‘BOKKE speel nie eens daar nie.

• 266.Puma: Reply to this comment

HOLLANDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

IN THE FINALS.

Had to blow my vuvu a few times for that.

HOW AMSTERDAM AND THE WHOLE OF THE NETHERLANDS WILL BE IN A MASSIVE AND I MEAN A MASSIVE PARTY TONIGHT. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE ORANJE. SO proud of them making it through. Watched too many times them going out in the semi. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE MEN IN ORANGE.

• 267.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-254: How are those f.cking Urus get heated about a hand ball!!

Holland Win!!!

• 268.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-244: fark that was close at the end.

suarez must go home economy.

• 269.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Well done, Holland

Good luck in the final.

Now to find a hotel to stay in – the one they’ve been using is fully booked.

They didn’t expect to get this far – their soccer federation only booked until the 5tth July. FIFA pays for match days.

Ain’t sport crazy!!

• 270.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-257:

60,000 in the streets of Amsterdam. Add another 50,00 in the Hague and also Rotterdam and what about Antwerp?

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-265:
    @Puma(Puma)-266:

Congrates chaps. You guys have been behind the Oranje from the beginning…

The old enemy plays tomorrow, who knows, they may meet in the final…

That will be huge for SA!!!

• 272.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264: The men in Orange made it this time. Damn feel fantastic. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holland will party the whole night long. I lived there and know em. They going to party tonight until tomorrow.

HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND. FEEL AWESOME FOR THEM.

• 273.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Go Germany.

• 274.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267:

Bottle of Red bottle of White both from the Cape which one shall I open.

What the HELL open BOTH one for me and one for the wife.

• 275.rangerman: Reply to this comment

arjen robben should represent holland at the next olympics though.

high dive.

• 276.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-274: Enjoy!

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-270: They have just shown pics from Amsterdam – orange chaos!

• 278.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-270:Brilliant. I can almost feel myself there. I know em well. EVERYWHERE WILL BE OUT AND PARTY UNTIL TOMORROW MORNING.. What a fantastic feeling for them. They came here in there thousands and thousands and I sulute em supporters from Holland for supporting our cup here in Africa. I hope they can win it. Face Germany and it will be like a war buddy. Those Dutch hate em Neigbours, the Germans…………….HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE MEN IN ORANGE. I wore my Orange in pride today. With my Dutch and South African flag flying from my house and car.

Now for the final.

Good night everyone. Going to party the rest of tonight with my mates. My daughter is soooooooooooooooooooooo happy as well. She speaks fluent Dutch with still plenty Dutch friends. They are all on their cell phones now.

What a feeling. Now goooooooooooooooooooooo BOKKE FOR SATURDAY.

Good night all.

• 279.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271:

I will be holding thumbs for those young German footballers but Sunday will be another day and they WILL be the ENEMY.

It will be third time lucky for Holland. This time they will not have to contend with a host nation in a Final as they did in the previous two attempts. In fact, it is a home game away from home for ‘Oranje’.

• 280.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Enjoy it Oranje supporters – those young Panzers may be looming on the horizon !

• 281.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-278: Cheers

• 282.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-277:

Ja I saw and expect that and Puma has said that about them also and experienced it the lucky bugger.

• 283.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-278: salute. Sorry for the typos. Too much wine tonight….. IT WAS FOR A GOOD CAUSE……….HAHAHAHA.

Cheers all.

• 284.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-279: 2nd half came alive – great drama!

Good win – justice !

Big game for the youngsters tomorrow – those Spaniards still have to peak. Will be huge!

• 285.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, had my Glenfiddich 18yr old to celebrate the cheats being outplayed by the divers and i am off.

tjorts.

• 286.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-285: Cheers

• 287.Transformation: Reply to this comment

there you go, how much ‘satisfaction’ are some people getting tonight? Hahahahaha the cheats are gone!

• 288.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-287: The funniest thing was seeing them getting heated about a hand ball in midfield – WTF???

• 289.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-287:

I backed Uruguay against their opponents so far. Especially against the ancestor worshippers.

Tonight I backed them because they had served me well so far, and because they were the underdogs. But I have nothing particular against the Dutch. Apparently they are unbeaten for something like 20 games.

That said, I WILL be supporting the Germans tomorrow, and in the final.

There’s just something about the Dutch which is faintly ridiculous. Their mindless frivolity is a bit nauseating. I prefer people who take themselves a bit more seriously.
    Like the Germans, for example.

• 290.ET: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-278:

Just spoke to my Dutch friend a prof. in Boston. When I arrived in Philly he took me under his wing(first person to meet me, actually sort me out)) and treated me as a brother. Little did I know that he lived a few years in S.A as a child in the Tvl. as his father worked in Angola.

I spent much time talking to him about Ajax, Holland and S.A and even rugby (saw the ’95 RWC Final on his tv) and he was well informed about all those.
    Wonderful people those Dutch and more so if you love football.

• 291.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-284:

You know who I will be supporting as I knew who you were supporting today.

• 292.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-251: Because he’s black? Is that why? Racist piece of sh.it! Ghana were an exemplarary team that took the pain of losing like gentlemen unlike the Uurguayan thugs who wanted to fight the Dutch after losing. Showing your true colours now eh?

• 293.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-284:

Yes the game really flowered in the 2nd. period just when I was getting frustrated and then the dramatic quick 1-2 by the Dutch and a late response by the Americanos.

• 294.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-287: YESSSS! Brilliant isn’t?! Uruguayans getting some of their own medicine. The angry look on Forlan’s usually smug face was so satisfying to see! They showed whay sore losers they are by trying to start a brawl after losing. Lets get these thugs out of SA right now…we have enough of our own as it is!

• 295.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-289:

I’ll be supporting the Germans again tomorrow.

As mentioned a couple of days ago, that Scheinsteiger, is a mid-field general.
    Forlan can learn from this guy.

• 296.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-294:

Feeling such solidarity with a team from Ghana is bizzarre. It’s no different from feeling solidarity with a team from Kazakstan.

What on earth do the Ghanains have in common with you?

• 297.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-291: Good man… If they do get to the finals then let the chirps begin… Still a big game tomorrow and they haven’t reached the final yet… It will be an incredible final for SA to have – positive xposure to an even higher level as a backdrop to war on the pitch!!! Still mch to do before then… I will be here tomorrow supporting Der Mannschaft and chewing the fat over my times in Munich and Frankfurt ! I am enjoying the drama and this is coming from someone who does not have an affinity for the game – its the drama and the vibe coming from SA – incredible…

• 298.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-295:

Forlan must be the best striker of the ball I saw this tournament. But his short passes seemed to give away a lot of possession. Maybe he just didn’t have enough support.

But there’s no one I’d rather have taking a free kick or getting the ball with a bit of space in front of the goal area.

• 299.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-288: they wanted to moer van bommel, he was taunting them the whole evening! Kicking the sh.t out if them, he is lucky really to get away with a yellow card.

• 300.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-295: Yeah, young Rising Pig has played well :wink:

• 301.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-289: what ancestors do the ghanaians worship?

• 302.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-299: Good Van Bommel – no sympathy from me for the gatecrashers…!

• 303.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-297: Chewing fat as you and Puma have done…

• 304.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-301:

Theirs.

• 305.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-297:

Don’t hide away tomorrow. I was here at the time you asked where I was, but on the other thread where you and David were busy with your past teams.

It was an enjoyable semi today after all the to and fro parrying early on.

See you later. It has to be Holland vs. Germany and no other.

• 306.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-305: Awesome. Apologies for vanishing…

Happy that one half of a final of note has come together…

Enjoy the double-tap of wines…

Wear the oranje in classes tomorrow!!

• 307.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-298:

A Forlan free kick is edge of the seat stuff – you expect something to happen.

Schweinsteiger – the way he provides ball to the strikers Podolski and Klose – quite classic.

Listen to me, you’d swear i’d been watching soccer for years.

• 308.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-296: They’re African and so am I, how more do you want in common! Not withstanding they’re a group of gentlemen and I enjoy watching them play. They were excellent against those thugs and tonight’s match would’ve been much more exciting, One thing’s for sure I have fck all in common with you!!

• 309.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outtahere

• 310.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Watched a bit of rugby game between ABs and Boks earlier tonite on ESPN Classic.

ABs won of course, back in 1997.

Im looking forward to this weekend’s match as I want to understand the mental strength of the current squad.

That’s why its called a “test”

• 311.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“The AB’s have to b favourites. Boks only 2 sessions in nz before playing. Nz 2 win on sat. Boks to win 2 & 3 v NZ”

Keo, on Twitter.

He thinks the Boks are going to lose. And the Eden Park record will be intact since 1937.

That’s what Keo thinks.

• 312.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Keo’s having a bob each way: one on his blog and the opposite on his Twitter.

(At least Paul the Predicting German Octopus makes unambiguous predictions. And an octopus is spineless!)

• 313.whatever: Reply to this comment

wow, there sure are one or two Saffa fans getting way ahead of themselves……… the game still has to be played boys, and I reckon it’s anyones game. Who wants/needs it more?

A little perspective is needed here….. please. The AB’s are our greatest rivals, on their home patch, with something to prove. This is gonna be a big challenge for da Boks!

• 314.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Don’t care about the result, all that matters is how we play.

• 315.Try time: Reply to this comment

Despite the banter being thrown around here the talk coming out of the Bok squad sounds just right. They’re not getting too far ahead of themselves. It sounds about the same as the South African cricket side before taking a Test series in Australia. Right balance of intensity and perspective.

Going to be a cracking game, should be very close. The ABs will throw the kitchen sink.

• 316.Waster: Reply to this comment

Just wondering how many bok players will be “unfairly” targeted by the ref.
    I can hear it already, “oh they are just picking on us cos we are saffa wankers”
    Maybe not the last word…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.