Excelling in a climate of expectation
6 Jul 2010
There is an unprecedented level of expectation on the Springboks and a measure of how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.
The Springboks have been lavished with praise in recent weeks, from former Springbok coach Nick Mallett predicting that they would defend their Tri-Nations crown, to All Blacks legend Sean Fitzpatrick writing in his New Zealand Herald column that the Springboks’ form, depth and experience scares him.
The liberal outpouring of praise was evident in the Australian and New Zealand media was well. That the latter have generally tempered expectations, even though they play two home Tests against the Springboks in the tournament, is a testament to their opponents’ quality at present.
The New Zealand rugby fraternity will see assertions that their side have lost their invincible aura as Springbok arrogance. It is not. The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks, but recent successes, not least of all three victories in 2009, have eroded the aura that used to paralyse South African players.
Heightened expectation is a by-product of consistent success, and it’s under those circumstances that the Springboks must show their mettle.
The Springboks have in the past thrived when expectations were low, but that is no longer the case. The great sides have ridden that wave of expectation with consummate composure and skill. This will be the Springboks’ challenge in the coming months, beginning with the first of two Tests against the All Blacks in Auckland on Saturday.
The Springboks have earned the right to feel confident about a series victory over their traditional rivals, as have Springbok supporters, whose expectation has been fuelled by last year’s series win over the British & Irish Lions, a Tri-Nations campaign that saw their side lose just one of six matches, and recent victories over Wales, France and Italy.
To say the expectation has been high since after their World Cup triumph would be naive, and fails to take into account that many (mostly foreign) critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one given that they hadn’t negotiated the challenge of Australia, New Zealand or France. To revisit the validity that line of criticism would be futile, but it remains a fact that the Springboks journey to the title was widely viewed as easy.
In 2008 Peter de Villiers was appointed and through his media offerings and Saru president Regan Hoskins’ ill-considered concession that De Villiers was not selected on rugby credentials alone, he was cast as the ultimate underdog. His appreciable success in his three-year tenure thus far means that is no longer a role he can assume. Like his players, De Villiers must now accept that that success has thrown a magnetic spotlight onto him.
He’ll be judged by an exceptionally high standard going forward, and this is justified given that he has at his disposal arguably the finest group of players in Springbok history, notwithstanding injuries to some exceptional players and the continued non-selection of the gifted Frans Steyn.
Ignoring their penchant for dramatic capitulations at World Cups, the All Blacks of the early and mid 2000s developed the habit of performing consistently under the weight of expectation. They embraced their status as favourites in every Test they entered into and generally played in a manner befitting that billing. In defeat, there were no complaints about the pressure that expectation created. They understood that champion teams elicit lofty, sometimes unrealistic, expectations.
This is where the Springboks find themselves. A measure of just how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.

316 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
6 Jul 2010, 08:36 am
all i can say is thank goodness we have our fantastic leader to motivate the troops and keep our players focussed in the face of all the bs being thrown at their egos.
it seems a former bok hooker finally informed grant10 that his opinion was a load of kuk and grantie doesnt feel so vindicated anymore.
maybe not too late to get on the smitty train grantie? be like the rest of the haters, circa 2007
6 Jul 2010, 08:36 am
@bokguy(bokguy)-48: don’t fall for it, read properly.
6 Jul 2010, 08:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-52: why do you keep making silly comments?
6 Jul 2010, 08:43 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-51: trolling so early in the morning?
6 Jul 2010, 08:44 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-53: cos silly goats like you need to read them
6 Jul 2010, 08:44 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-54:
trolling?
moi?
never! just having a laff with me mate transformations.
remember: i am “di duiwel se kind” LMAO!
6 Jul 2010, 08:45 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-51:
@Transformation(Transformation)-54:
The two of you seem to be having a jolly morning with all the smilies.
6 Jul 2010, 08:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-55:
easy now my upright imbuzi.
just because you are in a coat and staggering along in your buddies arms doesnt mean you are not a stolen entity.
6 Jul 2010, 08:47 am
plod better keep up with play this sat…..and not shirk!
Need all hands on deck …going to be a toughie.
@David(David)-57: you can jump in too
@David(David)-57: i am in such a good mood and me mate transie feels the same.
6 Jul 2010, 08:49 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-56: hahahahaha yep that’s because of all the trolling you do…refer to post 51 for a perfect example…
6 Jul 2010, 08:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-61:
Until Uruguay beat the Netherlands tonight.
6 Jul 2010, 08:51 am
@grant10(grant10)-59: hey g10, how is clifton this morning? Are you ready for the semi?
6 Jul 2010, 08:55 am
@David(David)-63: don’t even think it! I see the uruguayan coach is taking exception to his team being called cheats and lashing out at the media.
No way jose, the Dutch must f.ck up suarez and all his mates, i want to see them cry this evening
6 Jul 2010, 08:57 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-62: what?
that was an opinion mate. i think we saw the difference in the second italy test dont you?
and besides, a former bok hooker has vindicated my view.
@David(David)-63: it must not be. let that dirty rodent suarez get his own medicine from the diving dutch.
6 Jul 2010, 08:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-64: just back from walking the dog….overcat and a bit cold mate….hope it wont rain.
I havent got a ticket but will be on the fan mile for the last time….what a great tournament….i have enjoyed more than i thoought possible….Justrugby and i decided we going to support pro football in the western cape….going to get behind the newly promoted Vasco Da Gama….
SA has shown the world again we more than capable.
Last Sat a German oke told me this is better than the last WC….as well organised but more character!!
I have spoken to loads of foreigners on the beaches, restaurants, etc….they are in awe of SA….only great ,positive things to say.
overcat is overcast
@Transformation(Transformation)-65:
Suarez isn’t playing, so I’m quietly confident. Even the comments on the US sites call him a cheat, and they don’t even understand the game.
6 Jul 2010, 09:00 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-65: the uruguayans are a bunch of cheating fukkers and i hope they get a 10-0 stuffing.
arjen to dive so much he looks like a seagull come sardine run.
6 Jul 2010, 09:00 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-66:
What view was that? Reveal all.
6 Jul 2010, 09:01 am
@David(David)-69:
anyways, i am out.
have a good day all.
6 Jul 2010, 09:04 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-72:
Cheers!
6 Jul 2010, 09:05 am
@David(David)-69: i know he isn’t playing, but seeing him air punch and happy after that penalty miss made me mad! I can’t believe i cheered for the doos @ the stadium when they played in the last 16 against south korea…what a wa.nker
6 Jul 2010, 09:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-74:
I know, I could hardly contain my fury when he did that. If I was one of the Ghanains, I would have gone over and flattened him after the final whistle.
6 Jul 2010, 09:35 am
51. rangerman(rangerman) :
I like it Ranger
6 Jul 2010, 09:39 am
67. grant10(grant10) :
That’s awesome to hear. This WC has been worth the expenditure just for the amazing positivity it has brought to the country from within and from outside.
6 Jul 2010, 09:43 am
The truth of the matter is, world cup’s are a lottery. 2007 proved that. Not so the tri nations. 2009 proved that.
There is absolutely no doubt the Springboks are the best because the last rugby that mattered was the 2009 tri nations, which they won with alarming ease.
So, the Boks have 1998. They have 2009. Can they finally step up and string together two or more seasons at the top?
By the look of it, they probably can.
6 Jul 2010, 09:43 am
Sheesh, lots of Bonhommie happening on this site…. everyone mates today!
6 Jul 2010, 09:55 am
@offsides(offsides)-79: yes, geniality is the order of the day on keo vandag
6 Jul 2010, 10:00 am
@David(David)-75: Yeah, reminds me of the whole Ronaldo “wink” after he got Rooney carded in the last WC. Haven’t had any time for him since.
Something about “if you cheat in sport, you’ll cheat at anything” about that sort of thing…
6 Jul 2010, 10:04 am
that AB team is a real good team… man for man i think the backs overshadow ours, but our forwards are better…
not going to be such a walk in the park as most of disillsuional saffas think its going to be…
remember confidence is good over confidence has still brought us no Cricket W/C titles
6 Jul 2010, 10:09 am
@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-82: The loss of J.Smith is a big blow for you guys… my fav SA player… and if Bakkies and Danie arent there, I think it weakens your forward pack quite a bit…
6 Jul 2010, 10:09 am
he did not cheat ..it was a natural reaction. he was sent off etc … some stupid idiot couldn’t convert the penalty – bad luck … thats life.
6 Jul 2010, 10:13 am
is JS out?!?! when did that happen?
6 Jul 2010, 10:15 am
@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-85:
I think he means Juan not John Smit.
6 Jul 2010, 10:20 am
phew okay… thought i missed something major!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:21 am
crickey … we are not that lucky
6 Jul 2010, 10:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-83: Clutching at straws…
6 Jul 2010, 10:27 am
Oh is this todays football thread?
@Mike H(Mike H)-77: A British reporter was telling us that there were now streets in Joberg you could now walk down and not get mugged!
Still not entirely sure I want to visit yet!!
Although in Britain the coverage has been very positive!
6 Jul 2010, 10:30 am
Look, I have not been here for a bit and missed the point of the anoying little box on the right hand side. What does it ‘Do’?
6 Jul 2010, 10:32 am
@carol(carol)-90: your reporter is nuts! People get mugged in most cities in the world, if one is dumb enough to wander in hillbrow they’ll get nabbed.
6 Jul 2010, 10:34 am
@carol(carol)-91:
Irritates everyone. It’s just there to encourage more page hits.
6 Jul 2010, 10:35 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-92: Where’s Hillbrow?
Remind me to avoid that too!!
You could probably get mugged in Oxford if you really tried!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:36 am
@bokguy(bokguy)-48: look at the “o” and the “zero” in Transformation, spot the fake
6 Jul 2010, 10:38 am
@carol(carol)-90: met a girl who used to stay in london who says she was more scared there than in joburg
6 Jul 2010, 10:39 am
@David(David)-93: Hi David, it does get in the way rather!!
I wonder if Keo would be brave enough to put up a rugby lovers world cup soccer final thread on Sunday….
He may even get some hits there, instead of everyone lurking about talking about football on every other thread!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:40 am
@carol(carol)-94:
Bloemfontein is worse. The whole England team got mugged!
6 Jul 2010, 10:40 am
@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-96: I think I tend to veer towards the ‘nice’ bits of London when I venture there occasionally eg: Twickenham!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:41 am
@carol(carol)-94: close to where ellis park is, hillbrow, berea, doornfontein, slum heaven!
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All