Excelling in a climate of expectation
6 Jul 2010
There is an unprecedented level of expectation on the Springboks and a measure of how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.
The Springboks have been lavished with praise in recent weeks, from former Springbok coach Nick Mallett predicting that they would defend their Tri-Nations crown, to All Blacks legend Sean Fitzpatrick writing in his New Zealand Herald column that the Springboks’ form, depth and experience scares him.
The liberal outpouring of praise was evident in the Australian and New Zealand media was well. That the latter have generally tempered expectations, even though they play two home Tests against the Springboks in the tournament, is a testament to their opponents’ quality at present.
The New Zealand rugby fraternity will see assertions that their side have lost their invincible aura as Springbok arrogance. It is not. The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks, but recent successes, not least of all three victories in 2009, have eroded the aura that used to paralyse South African players.
Heightened expectation is a by-product of consistent success, and it’s under those circumstances that the Springboks must show their mettle.
The Springboks have in the past thrived when expectations were low, but that is no longer the case. The great sides have ridden that wave of expectation with consummate composure and skill. This will be the Springboks’ challenge in the coming months, beginning with the first of two Tests against the All Blacks in Auckland on Saturday.
The Springboks have earned the right to feel confident about a series victory over their traditional rivals, as have Springbok supporters, whose expectation has been fuelled by last year’s series win over the British & Irish Lions, a Tri-Nations campaign that saw their side lose just one of six matches, and recent victories over Wales, France and Italy.
To say the expectation has been high since after their World Cup triumph would be naive, and fails to take into account that many (mostly foreign) critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one given that they hadn’t negotiated the challenge of Australia, New Zealand or France. To revisit the validity that line of criticism would be futile, but it remains a fact that the Springboks journey to the title was widely viewed as easy.
In 2008 Peter de Villiers was appointed and through his media offerings and Saru president Regan Hoskins’ ill-considered concession that De Villiers was not selected on rugby credentials alone, he was cast as the ultimate underdog. His appreciable success in his three-year tenure thus far means that is no longer a role he can assume. Like his players, De Villiers must now accept that that success has thrown a magnetic spotlight onto him.
He’ll be judged by an exceptionally high standard going forward, and this is justified given that he has at his disposal arguably the finest group of players in Springbok history, notwithstanding injuries to some exceptional players and the continued non-selection of the gifted Frans Steyn.
Ignoring their penchant for dramatic capitulations at World Cups, the All Blacks of the early and mid 2000s developed the habit of performing consistently under the weight of expectation. They embraced their status as favourites in every Test they entered into and generally played in a manner befitting that billing. In defeat, there were no complaints about the pressure that expectation created. They understood that champion teams elicit lofty, sometimes unrealistic, expectations.
This is where the Springboks find themselves. A measure of just how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.

316 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All
6 Jul 2010, 10:43 am
@carol(carol)-97:
Apart from the first few replies, most threads develop their own theme, regardless of their original intention.
6 Jul 2010, 10:44 am
@David(David)-98: Bwahahahh…. Poor old Poppa gets it for being a Kiwi and Big Hit and I get it for being ‘Poms’!!
Only saw first half…..frankly it makes me embarrased that the world follows our premiership football teams and we put in such a woeful performance as a Country.
At least we know our rugby is ‘underpar’ at the moment!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:46 am
@carol(carol)-99: same thing here, you avoid certain places at certain times and use common sense
6 Jul 2010, 10:48 am
@carol(carol)-102:
When you look at the top 6 Premier sides and who the stars are, it’s no surprise that the english contingent performs so poorly when lumped together as a team.
6 Jul 2010, 10:48 am
@David(David)-101: Hey you will make me nostalgic for the good old days of Night Owls with Grant10, Robzim, Tassies, JustRugby, SodaJoe, Charo, Puma, GBS, K9, Ed the Lion, Supa Die Bloubul,Skop and the rest…you would pop in too!
Music, food, banter….. oh yes and of course some rugby!!
6 Jul 2010, 10:50 am
@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-103: Exactly…
6 Jul 2010, 10:52 am
@David(David)-104: Fabio Capello ‘Lumped’ our team together…..I like that!
Ok stuff calls….Outta here.
6 Jul 2010, 10:57 am
@carol(carol)-107:
Cheers Carol.
6 Jul 2010, 11:01 am
“…critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one…” shouldnt that be “hollow”?
6 Jul 2010, 11:04 am
McCaw plays it cool on revenge factor
By MARC HINTON – Stuff Last updated 19:06 06/07/2010
Revenge may be the dish best served cold, but the All Blacks captain was doing his level best to downplay the emotional quotient for Saturday’s Boks showdown at Eden Park.
It’s fair to say there’s enough hype around this Tri-Nations opener in Auckland without Richie McCaw adding fuel to the fire.
Yes, the All Blacks owe the South Africans one – or two — after last year’s 3-0 whupping, and everyone knows that the New Zealanders need to reassert a bit of home dominance over such a dangerous foe just a year or so out from a certain global tournament.
But McCaw was toeing a more cautious line as he spoke to the media following today’s announcement of a predictable, and experienced, All Blacks lineup.
“We’ve just got to be careful we don’t play the game before Saturday because we’ve had an extra couple of days together. We’ve just got to make sure Saturday is the day we’re ready to go,” he said.
In other words, keep the excitement levels contained until you need them.
An experienced team (there are a combined 325 test caps in the forwards; 346 in the backs) would help, reckoned the skip.
“There are times when you’ve got to think about it and times when you’ve got to relax a bit too. Hopefully the guys who have been around a while understand that.”
Asked about the revenge factor, McCaw was clearly reluctant to buy into the storyline..
“I guess there’s a bit of memory about last year and the guys who there are pretty keen to get stuck in again. It’s been a while since we had a crack and we’ve had a while to think about it,” said McCaw.
“We’ve just got to be careful we don’t get too caught up in that… I’ve been looking forward to it for a while, and the reality is in the Tri-Nations with two home games to start we’ve got to win them if we’re going to be in with a shot.”
But there’s no shortage of respect from McCaw when it comes to the Boks as a foe. He feels they have a depth to their rugby now that was once the sole preserve of the All Blacks and ensures that whatever the circumstances a quality team runs out on the pitch.
“The other thing is they’re pretty physical,” added McCaw. “You always realise you’re in a test match. Even the games you win, they’re still pretty hard matches physically. That’s what you remember when you come off the field — you know you’ve had a good old bashup.”
McCaw also rates the Boks trio of Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies and Francois Louw
as worthy competitors.
“The key is if you allow them to get across the advantage line off set piece and get nice easy ball there, that’s when they come into their own. They’re good players but they’re not perfect and if you put them under pressure you can find areas to exploit.”
And though McCaw was happy to acknowledge the Boks as the premier test in the game at the moment, he was not too keen to buy into the more long-reaching subplots to Saturday night’s sold-out fixture.
“The long-term thing is building on what we did on the end-of-year tour and being better so at the end of this Tri-Nations we’re in better shape than we were. So come this time next year if we keep aiming like that we’ll be in pretty good shape.”
McCaw was similarly bland on the matter of how important it was for the All Blacks’ 20-test winning streak on Eden Park to be defended.
Some see this as a match that could have World Cup implications, and that if the Boks were able to win their first test in Auckland since 1937 they would be in the box seat for next year.
“That’s secondary too,” said McCaw. “It would be nice if that becomes the case, but it’s not going to be the difference this week or next year. We do enjoy playing there and, hey, we’d love to keep that record going there and we certainly want to win on Saturday.
“But that’s not the sole reason we want to do well. We want to do well because we want to beat the Springboks and win the Tri-Nations, and if it adds a bit to down the track that will be good.”
6 Jul 2010, 11:25 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-110: Very diplomatic from McCaw. He should rate the loosie trio – they smashed his Saders team (including himself) in the S14 for their respective teams.
6 Jul 2010, 11:38 am
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-111: LOL
the Saders had NO Answer for them
I CANT WAIT!!!
6 Jul 2010, 12:12 pm
It is time for a good Springbok team to become a great one.
IMO this team cannot be called a great one yet.
Too much complacency on EOYTs and losing dead rubbers have marked our inability to put the preverbial final nail in the coffin.
6 Jul 2010, 12:13 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-112: Ja, it was awesome display by Stormers and Bulls.
The Stormers performances in NZ were also brilliant (Bulls were also very good), so Im hoping/believing they will replicate those on Saturday – the Stormers players in the team bodes well if you think of the Stormers white-washing the NZ teams in S14, and of course McCaw and Co. must be k@kking themselves at the thought of Matfield, Bakkies and Spies after last year’s 3Nations and the Super14
I think they will also be very aware of Aplon’s skills and as he is new to the Boks they might over-concentrate on him, which will open things up for Habana a bit more than previous years?
6 Jul 2010, 12:17 pm
@willievz(willievz)-113:
You’ve got a point. As far as the EOYTs go, the ABs have never, as far as I remember, claimed that they were fielding an experimental side as an excuse if they lost. In fact, they rarely lost on those tours.
6 Jul 2010, 12:17 pm
@willievz(willievz)-113: Well then you must have incredibly high standards Willie!
Focussing on the team as in the players
1. World Cup winners
2. B&I Lions winners
3. Tri Nations winners
4. Victories in NZ (including first-ever in Carisbrook)
5. 3-0 beating of NZ
6. Record score against England at Twickenham
Is that not enough to be a GREAT team?
Of course the team has been changing since 2007, but the core (Smit, Matfield, Du Preez, Jean DV, Fourie, Schalla, Januarie, Bakkies, Smith, Spies, CJ, Steenkamp) have all been involved for the whole or majority of the time since 2004.
An AMAZING feat when you think of previous Springbok teams…
6 Jul 2010, 12:24 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-116: You missed a 7th and 8th point on that list: Record victories over Australia (in 2008) and consecutive wins on NZ soil.
I have high standards Bokfan, and so should you. Our record last year could have been even better.
Maybe it is just me but that 3rd BI Lions test and the EOYT 2009 just leaves a sour taste in the mouth.
A 2nd WC win with these players would make the medicine go down in the most delightful way.
6 Jul 2010, 12:33 pm
@willievz(willievz)-117: You are right, I left a few points off
Of course we have high standards, and expect the best from the Boks at all times. My only point was, after their HARD work, surely can allow them a little praise and say they are great?
While it does leave a sour taste because we know they were better than the results indicate, I always think that if someone offered you the deal at the start of 2009 that Boks will beat Lions 2-1, win Tri Nations but lose EOYT, Im sure yourself, like most Bok fans wouldve taken the deal, no?
If/when the Boks lift the World Cup trophy for the 2nd consecutive time, in New Zealand, ou maat I will be happy enough to die on the spot
6 Jul 2010, 12:35 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-118: I don’t think a choice between a 3N and EOYT should be a trade-off to be considered. We had the personnel to make skoonskip on that excursion.
I guess one can talk about great players, surely, but not a great team yet.
6 Jul 2010, 12:46 pm
@willievz(willievz)-119: I agree with you – didnt mean it as a trade-off, just that in reality you cant expect to win every game in the year, so if offered the year of 2009 as it turned out (and especially after 2008!) any of us wouldve been pleased with the deal beforehand.
Ons sal moet saamstem om te verskil oor die span dan – maar defnitief BRILJANTE spelers. Ons gaan ons klein-klein kinders van die span vertel, of hoe?
6 Jul 2010, 12:51 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-116: Yip. A great team in anyone’s book. If they accomplish nothing else they deserve to go down as one of the greatest SA teams in my opinion..
6 Jul 2010, 12:51 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-120: That is the difference between you and me I guess – you will tell your kids about the Bok team, and I will tell my kids about the Bok players and the NZ team.
Why can the All Blacks win a BI Lions series 3-0 and go undefeated on EOYT?
The All Black teams of the late 90s, despite their WC fumbles, were great. And this comes from the biggest diehard SA fan out there.
My viewpoint will change when we lift the koppie for the 2nd time in Auckland
6 Jul 2010, 12:55 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121: For sure – we are spoilt in SA and we dont realise how good the Boks are sometimes, we always raise the bar of what we expect.
I was re-reading Monty’s book and there they mention how when Mallet was coach and the Boks started winning every game, the media and fans would complain about a 20 point victory over Scotland in Edinburgh (which Mallet k@kked them out about).
After 2002/3 SA fans would’ve been happy just to win overseas, then we started winning and then just winning wasnt enough, and so we go
Think of teams even like Australia or England – they would love to have had our year last year, and if their teams managed to win similar victories, Im sure they would be enshrined as great teams.
6 Jul 2010, 12:57 pm
@willievz(willievz)-122: good points in your post Willie, our EOYT was not a highlight was it?
Perhaps the only silver lining is that the back up players are much better this year and there is more test-ready depth, but ja, I see your point.
When they lift that trophy I will be the happiest man alive
6 Jul 2010, 12:57 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121: Howzit stormies, hope you are well.
My point is merely that this team has not yet reached its potential and that, despite its good results of late, have never succeeded to put the icing on the cake.
They can still improve, which is the scary thing, or they can vanish into complacency, which will be disturbing but certainly a realistic outcome.
I would love to see a SA team go unbeaten for 17+ games. And I don’t think this is unrealistic.
Complacency is the poison of the SA sport fraternity.
6 Jul 2010, 12:58 pm
@willievz(willievz)-122: I know we shouldnt tempt fate by using “when” but it shows we believe in our team, ne?
6 Jul 2010, 13:04 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-126: Altyd ou maat
6 Jul 2010, 13:08 pm
“The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks”…. I don’t think the Boks fear the ABs.
6 Jul 2010, 13:12 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-128: not fear like they used to. I think “fear” that if they dont play their best game for 80 minutes the ABS can still win, and that keeps them on their toes, but I would agree, no fear of the ABs anymore
6 Jul 2010, 13:22 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-129: respect but no fear. If we win the first one it will definitely help our campaign.
6 Jul 2010, 13:25 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-130: Yes – nice way to put it.
If we win this first one, our year is MADE. Like the first B&I Lions test, when it goes well it gets the team going for the whole season
6 Jul 2010, 13:33 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-131: absolutley, Goooooo Boks!!!
6 Jul 2010, 13:33 pm
@willievz(willievz)-125: I’m good thanks, enjoying the “gees” here in Cape Town today. Some stunning tall blondes walking around…I hope you’re well too.
I take your point about what there is still left to acheive. And you’re right, there are still some hights to scale, including a grandslam tour win in the NH (That even Nick wasn’t able to accomplish), Clive Woodwards consecutive wins record and a successful defence of a 3N and WC. So when you look at it this way there is no reason to say that they’ve done it all. You are spot on that this is the team to do it, with the blend of experience and youth coming through. Coupled with a “winning habbit” (Stemming from a very successful Super 14 with many wins in Australasia) we are better placed than ever before to do this. So whilst I am happy to call this one of the best teams ever I aslo agree that there is more to do. As there always is I guess…..
6 Jul 2010, 14:11 pm
@David(David)-63:
David that is grossly sacrilegious.
Are you the ONLY one amongst us rooting for the S.Americanos?
Triple shame on you.
I thought we established eternal kama when we agreed(finally) on the true order of things wrt Morgan and John?
6 Jul 2010, 14:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-65:
After lambasting my ‘Oranje’ team as big time cheats now you jump on their bandwagon.
Are you eBhayi’s own Mick Jagger the known Angel of football Death?
Stay away from the ‘Oranje’. Please just this once.
Got to be very innovative today in stealing away from work and student time but I will be here come kick-off.
Got to go now for some hours.
6 Jul 2010, 14:18 pm
@ET(ET)-134:
You obviously didn’t read my comment at 69.
6 Jul 2010, 14:22 pm
@ET(ET)-135: i’m on no bandwagon!!!! Get it straight, they’re the lesser of the two evils!
it’s like being forced to kiss either nkosazana zuma or helen zille…eeuww!
6 Jul 2010, 14:24 pm
@David(David)-136:
Now I did(I’m in a rush) and I think you have restored the much needed kama again.
Please just for today keep it there.
Duty calls. Sure I’ll speak to you later.
6 Jul 2010, 14:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-137:
That’s the way I like it.
But don’t make it difficult for me to leave now. Work beckons.
Do you go to a fan park(Crusader Ground?) to witness this semi?
6 Jul 2010, 14:27 pm
@ET(ET)-135: if holland were facing ghana, i’d be like fu,k the Dutch & their prancing queen arjen robben!
It’s just that i’m disgusted by that suarez slime.
6 Jul 2010, 14:28 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-137:
F A R K what a choice of delivering a kiss. BORING and worse than kissing your sister.
Rather you than me.
OFF.
6 Jul 2010, 14:30 pm
@ET(ET)-139: fan park is @ st georges cricket ground, lekker vibe…
6 Jul 2010, 14:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-142:
Hey! That’s the SAME f a r king ground. But am I surprised as you do not pay attention to history even of sports.
6 Jul 2010, 14:37 pm
@ET(ET)-143: ffs, why should i give a fark what it was called by you and your cronies? Sheesh you like claiming hollow victories damn
6 Jul 2010, 14:37 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-129: respect but no fear. If we win the first one it will definitely help our campaign.
AN UNBELIEVABLE ‘CONFESSION’.
Without a doubt this Springbok team is currently the best team in the world & arguably one of the best Bok teams ever. But never did I think I’d ever see the day when red blooded Bok fans, let alone their coach & captain felt compelled to go public confessing that they are no longer in awe of the All Blacks… respect them, but no longer fear them etc.
My god. Can some red blooded Bok supporter please tell when exactly the Boks ever feared and/or were in awe of the All Blacks? Was it every Springbok prior to the team finally winning a game in NZ two years ago? Was Victor Matfield really **** scared of the AB’s a few years ago? Was Korne Krige shaking in his boots every time he played them? Was Rudi Visage really dry reaching before AB tests? Ditto Ruben Kruger? Or was it the mighty Danie Gerber who used to break into cold sweats the night before? Morne DuPlessis simply terrified? Surely the legendary Frik DuPreez might have something to say about this confession!!!
Seriously guys. While I’m used to the likes of Wales, England, France & even the Wallabies (15 years ago) going down this path in the media trying to convince themselves they’d finally overcome the same fears. But the Mighty Boks – the All Blacks staunchest ever rival – two teams that contribute to one of the most brutal contests in world sport.
To quote the legendary John McEnroe ” YOU CAN”T BE SERIOUS”.
6 Jul 2010, 14:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-144: bwahahaha – tranny is caught out! No hissy fits please…
6 Jul 2010, 14:41 pm
Sorry. Mis Quote: “YOU CAN NOT BE SERIOUS!”
6 Jul 2010, 14:57 pm
@CrackerJack(CrackerJack)-145: even the blue bulls dreaded & “feared” touring new zealand until recently,heyneke meyer confessed to it.
6 Jul 2010, 14:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-146: there you are laughing @ nonsense
hahaha senility is ravaging your faculties of reasoning old codger! Go take your meds fool
6 Jul 2010, 15:02 pm
@CrackerJack(CrackerJack)-145: i don’t know where you’ve been, the springboks haven’t been mighty against the all blacks for a while now.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All