Excelling in a climate of expectation
6 Jul 2010
There is an unprecedented level of expectation on the Springboks and a measure of how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.
The Springboks have been lavished with praise in recent weeks, from former Springbok coach Nick Mallett predicting that they would defend their Tri-Nations crown, to All Blacks legend Sean Fitzpatrick writing in his New Zealand Herald column that the Springboks’ form, depth and experience scares him.
The liberal outpouring of praise was evident in the Australian and New Zealand media was well. That the latter have generally tempered expectations, even though they play two home Tests against the Springboks in the tournament, is a testament to their opponents’ quality at present.
The New Zealand rugby fraternity will see assertions that their side have lost their invincible aura as Springbok arrogance. It is not. The Springboks still have a great deal of respect and a healthy fear of the Blacks, but recent successes, not least of all three victories in 2009, have eroded the aura that used to paralyse South African players.
Heightened expectation is a by-product of consistent success, and it’s under those circumstances that the Springboks must show their mettle.
The Springboks have in the past thrived when expectations were low, but that is no longer the case. The great sides have ridden that wave of expectation with consummate composure and skill. This will be the Springboks’ challenge in the coming months, beginning with the first of two Tests against the All Blacks in Auckland on Saturday.
The Springboks have earned the right to feel confident about a series victory over their traditional rivals, as have Springbok supporters, whose expectation has been fuelled by last year’s series win over the British & Irish Lions, a Tri-Nations campaign that saw their side lose just one of six matches, and recent victories over Wales, France and Italy.
To say the expectation has been high since after their World Cup triumph would be naive, and fails to take into account that many (mostly foreign) critics perceived the Springboks’ success in France as being a hallow one given that they hadn’t negotiated the challenge of Australia, New Zealand or France. To revisit the validity that line of criticism would be futile, but it remains a fact that the Springboks journey to the title was widely viewed as easy.
In 2008 Peter de Villiers was appointed and through his media offerings and Saru president Regan Hoskins’ ill-considered concession that De Villiers was not selected on rugby credentials alone, he was cast as the ultimate underdog. His appreciable success in his three-year tenure thus far means that is no longer a role he can assume. Like his players, De Villiers must now accept that that success has thrown a magnetic spotlight onto him.
He’ll be judged by an exceptionally high standard going forward, and this is justified given that he has at his disposal arguably the finest group of players in Springbok history, notwithstanding injuries to some exceptional players and the continued non-selection of the gifted Frans Steyn.
Ignoring their penchant for dramatic capitulations at World Cups, the All Blacks of the early and mid 2000s developed the habit of performing consistently under the weight of expectation. They embraced their status as favourites in every Test they entered into and generally played in a manner befitting that billing. In defeat, there were no complaints about the pressure that expectation created. They understood that champion teams elicit lofty, sometimes unrealistic, expectations.
This is where the Springboks find themselves. A measure of just how good this current generation is will be revealed in how they respond to that expectation.

316 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
6 Jul 2010, 22:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-248:
That Gyan looks like the skelmest guy this side of the Sahara.
6 Jul 2010, 22:20 pm
How did Robben not score…?
6 Jul 2010, 22:20 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-245:
Where is your Diegi now .Man. U even chased him away. His Dutch masters have taught him how to play the beautifil, even sexy game.
6 Jul 2010, 22:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-252:
Out of sympathy for that keeper.
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-251: No-one is skelm like Suarez – he is now the byword…
Paul the Oracle Octopus has predicted a Spanish victory. The Germans’ goose is cooked. No one beats the Oracle.
6 Jul 2010, 22:22 pm
,Holland, concentrate now. Two goals can be scored in quick, quick time. Just concentrate now. This game is yours. Take your time.
@ET(ET)-253:
He was one man against an army. He did more than his fair share.
Well done, Forlan. You were magnificent.
thank you! The cheats are going home, put them on the nearest Air Nigeria flight that goes through Zimbabwe & Sierra Leone where their luggage will get stolen!
6 Jul 2010, 22:23 pm
Bugger there Uruguay scores. Holland taking their foot off the gas as I thought.
CONCENTRATE HOLLAND YOU MESSING UP HERE THIS GAME IS YOURS MAN.
6 Jul 2010, 22:24 pm
@ET(ET)-254: Holland could be 2 more in credit…
6 Jul 2010, 22:25 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-258:
ASgree with your assessment. he is the forgotten man in British football.
6 Jul 2010, 22:26 pm
Funny how Tacitus supports Uruguay just because Grant10 supported Ghana.
Ignoring his own ancestors just to prove his “un-Africaness”.
6 Jul 2010, 22:26 pm
@Puma(Puma)-260: Dammit… Squeeky bum time
6 Jul 2010, 22:27 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-261:
HOLLAND GOING TO THE WORLD CUP FINAL
Die KAAP is HOLLANDS vanaand en die ‘BOKKE speel nie eens daar nie.
6 Jul 2010, 22:29 pm
HOLLANDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
IN THE FINALS.
Had to blow my vuvu a few times for that.
HOW AMSTERDAM AND THE WHOLE OF THE NETHERLANDS WILL BE IN A MASSIVE AND I MEAN A MASSIVE PARTY TONIGHT. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE ORANJE. SO proud of them making it through. Watched too many times them going out in the semi. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE MEN IN ORANGE.
@ET(ET)-254: How are those f.cking Urus get heated about a hand ball!!
Holland Win!!!
@Puma(Puma)-244: fark that was close at the end.
suarez must go home economy.
6 Jul 2010, 22:30 pm
Well done, Holland
Good luck in the final.
Now to find a hotel to stay in – the one they’ve been using is fully booked.
They didn’t expect to get this far – their soccer federation only booked until the 5tth July. FIFA pays for match days.
Ain’t sport crazy!!
6 Jul 2010, 22:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-257:
60,000 in the streets of Amsterdam. Add another 50,00 in the Hague and also Rotterdam and what about Antwerp?
6 Jul 2010, 22:31 pm
@ET(ET)-265:
@Puma(Puma)-266:
Congrates chaps. You guys have been behind the Oranje from the beginning…
The old enemy plays tomorrow, who knows, they may meet in the final…
That will be huge for SA!!!
6 Jul 2010, 22:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264: The men in Orange made it this time. Damn feel fantastic. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holland will party the whole night long. I lived there and know em. They going to party tonight until tomorrow.
HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND HUP HOLLAND. FEEL AWESOME FOR THEM.
6 Jul 2010, 22:32 pm
Go Germany.
6 Jul 2010, 22:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267:
Bottle of Red bottle of White both from the Cape which one shall I open.
What the HELL open BOTH one for me and one for the wife.
6 Jul 2010, 22:34 pm
arjen robben should represent holland at the next olympics though.
high dive.
6 Jul 2010, 22:34 pm
@ET(ET)-274: Enjoy!
6 Jul 2010, 22:35 pm
@ET(ET)-270: They have just shown pics from Amsterdam – orange chaos!
6 Jul 2010, 22:36 pm
@ET(ET)-270:Brilliant. I can almost feel myself there. I know em well. EVERYWHERE WILL BE OUT AND PARTY UNTIL TOMORROW MORNING.. What a fantastic feeling for them. They came here in there thousands and thousands and I sulute em supporters from Holland for supporting our cup here in Africa. I hope they can win it. Face Germany and it will be like a war buddy. Those Dutch hate em Neigbours, the Germans…………….HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE MEN IN ORANGE. I wore my Orange in pride today. With my Dutch and South African flag flying from my house and car.
Now for the final.
Good night everyone. Going to party the rest of tonight with my mates. My daughter is soooooooooooooooooooooo happy as well. She speaks fluent Dutch with still plenty Dutch friends. They are all on their cell phones now.
What a feeling. Now goooooooooooooooooooooo BOKKE FOR SATURDAY.
Good night all.
6 Jul 2010, 22:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271:
I will be holding thumbs for those young German footballers but Sunday will be another day and they WILL be the ENEMY.
It will be third time lucky for Holland. This time they will not have to contend with a host nation in a Final as they did in the previous two attempts. In fact, it is a home game away from home for ‘Oranje’.
Enjoy it Oranje supporters – those young Panzers may be looming on the horizon !
@Puma(Puma)-278: Cheers
6 Jul 2010, 22:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-277:
Ja I saw and expect that and Puma has said that about them also and experienced it the lucky bugger.
6 Jul 2010, 22:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-278: salute. Sorry for the typos. Too much wine tonight….. IT WAS FOR A GOOD CAUSE……….HAHAHAHA.
Cheers all.
6 Jul 2010, 22:39 pm
@ET(ET)-279: 2nd half came alive – great drama!
Good win – justice !
Big game for the youngsters tomorrow – those Spaniards still have to peak. Will be huge!
6 Jul 2010, 22:40 pm
ok, had my Glenfiddich 18yr old to celebrate the cheats being outplayed by the divers and i am off.
tjorts.
6 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-285: Cheers
6 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
there you go, how much ‘satisfaction’ are some people getting tonight? Hahahahaha the cheats are gone!
6 Jul 2010, 22:43 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-287: The funniest thing was seeing them getting heated about a hand ball in midfield – WTF???
6 Jul 2010, 22:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-287:
I backed Uruguay against their opponents so far. Especially against the ancestor worshippers.
Tonight I backed them because they had served me well so far, and because they were the underdogs. But I have nothing particular against the Dutch. Apparently they are unbeaten for something like 20 games.
That said, I WILL be supporting the Germans tomorrow, and in the final.
There’s just something about the Dutch which is faintly ridiculous. Their mindless frivolity is a bit nauseating. I prefer people who take themselves a bit more seriously.
Like the Germans, for example.
6 Jul 2010, 22:48 pm
@Puma(Puma)-278:
Just spoke to my Dutch friend a prof. in Boston. When I arrived in Philly he took me under his wing(first person to meet me, actually sort me out)) and treated me as a brother. Little did I know that he lived a few years in S.A as a child in the Tvl. as his father worked in Angola.
I spent much time talking to him about Ajax, Holland and S.A and even rugby (saw the ’95 RWC Final on his tv) and he was well informed about all those.
Wonderful people those Dutch and more so if you love football.
6 Jul 2010, 22:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-284:
You know who I will be supporting as I knew who you were supporting today.
6 Jul 2010, 22:50 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-251: Because he’s black? Is that why? Racist piece of sh.it! Ghana were an exemplarary team that took the pain of losing like gentlemen unlike the Uurguayan thugs who wanted to fight the Dutch after losing. Showing your true colours now eh?
6 Jul 2010, 22:51 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-284:
Yes the game really flowered in the 2nd. period just when I was getting frustrated and then the dramatic quick 1-2 by the Dutch and a late response by the Americanos.
6 Jul 2010, 22:54 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-287: YESSSS! Brilliant isn’t?! Uruguayans getting some of their own medicine. The angry look on Forlan’s usually smug face was so satisfying to see! They showed whay sore losers they are by trying to start a brawl after losing. Lets get these thugs out of SA right now…we have enough of our own as it is!
6 Jul 2010, 22:55 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-289:
I’ll be supporting the Germans again tomorrow.
As mentioned a couple of days ago, that Scheinsteiger, is a mid-field general.
Forlan can learn from this guy.
6 Jul 2010, 22:56 pm
@JR – The Real Make The Circle Bigger(JayDaFiveOh)-294:
Feeling such solidarity with a team from Ghana is bizzarre. It’s no different from feeling solidarity with a team from Kazakstan.
What on earth do the Ghanains have in common with you?
6 Jul 2010, 22:57 pm
@ET(ET)-291: Good man… If they do get to the finals then let the chirps begin… Still a big game tomorrow and they haven’t reached the final yet… It will be an incredible final for SA to have – positive xposure to an even higher level as a backdrop to war on the pitch!!! Still mch to do before then… I will be here tomorrow supporting Der Mannschaft and chewing the fat over my times in Munich and Frankfurt ! I am enjoying the drama and this is coming from someone who does not have an affinity for the game – its the drama and the vibe coming from SA – incredible…
6 Jul 2010, 22:57 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-295:
Forlan must be the best striker of the ball I saw this tournament. But his short passes seemed to give away a lot of possession. Maybe he just didn’t have enough support.
But there’s no one I’d rather have taking a free kick or getting the ball with a bit of space in front of the goal area.
6 Jul 2010, 22:58 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-288: they wanted to moer van bommel, he was taunting them the whole evening! Kicking the sh.t out if them, he is lucky really to get away with a yellow card.
6 Jul 2010, 22:58 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-295: Yeah, young Rising Pig has played well
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All