SA Schools trio miss out

Three players who made SA Schools haven’t been included in the 32-man SA U18 High Performance squad.

Starting wing Jean-Paul Lewis (Western Province), reserve hooker Anrich Bitzi (Free State) and substitute lock Schalk van Heerden (Bulls) are the trio that didn’t make the expanded squad. The SA U18 side will play matches against France U18, a Namibian invitational XV and England U18 – who the Baby Boks lost to 45-13 in Kimberley last year.

SA Sevens coach Paul Treu and SA U20 coach Eric Sauls – who hasn’t managed to take that side past the semi-finals in the last three years of the Junior World Championships – will head the management team. They will be assisted by SA Schools coaches AJ Mercuur (Boland) and Janse van der Ryst (Griquas Country Districts).

The first and last matches against France and England will be televised on SuperSport on 16 and 23 July respectively.

SA U18 High Performance Squad –

Backs – Craig Barry, Richard Collins, Leroy Bitterhout, Johan Goosen, Patrick Howard, Ruwellyn Isbel, Muhammad Ismail, Siseko Jafta, Andile Jho, Paul Jordaan, Kevin Luiters, William Small-Smith, David Schmidt, Syviwe Soyiswaphi, Tshotsho Mbovane, Rudi van Rooyen.

Forwards – Ruan Botha, Fabian Booysen, Allan Dell, Neethling Fouche, Hendrik van der Walt, Neill Jordaan, Steven Kitshoff, Wiaan Liebenberg, Khaya Majola, Ettienne Oosthuizen, Tshepo Motale, Sikumbuzo Notshe, Charles Thomas, Jason Thomas, Ruan Venter, Justin van Wyk.