‘ABs’ lineout still nothing special’ – Smal
8 Jul 2010
Ireland forwards coach and former Springbok forwards specialist Gert Smal says the Boks will continue to boss the New Zealanders in the lineout.
Smal, who as forwards coach of the Boks won the 2004 Tri Nations and 2007 World Cup, also contributed to Ireland’s Six Nations glory a couple of seasons ago. He is widely regarded as among the best forward coaches in the business and has the track record to back up this opinion.
He told keo.co.za that despite the absence of Juan Smith at the back of the lineout, the Boks should still dominate the home team lineout.
Smal’s influence against the Boks in Dublin last year was obvious when the Boks struggled for lineout authority against a team for the first time in years. The Irish, when they toured New Zealand in June, were unable to assert lineout superiority because they lost a forward 15 minutes into the game. The Irish were also missing their best lineout jumper in Paul O’Connell.
Smal remains unimpressed with what he has seen from the All Blacks lineout this season, despite claims from the All Blacks forward coach Steve Hansen that his boys have lost only one lineout throw in three Tests in 2010.
‘They said they had worked on it a lot before they played us, but it’s still nothing special,’ Smal told keo.co.za. ‘Victor is quick on the ground and in the air and if he does his homework, which he will, the Boks will dominate. The All Blacks will try take quick throws and walk in late, but Victor is experienced enough to read them and close the gaps. They’ll also play the safe option to the front and try drive from there.
‘They’ll also try play towards our loosies, and a lot depends how well organised they are. Because Juan – who is the best loose forward jumper in the world – isn’t there, they’ll try manipulate play towards the back.’
Since last year the hosts have changed their lineout formation. Tom Donnelly has replaced Isaac Ross, while they have the unique situation where No 8 Kieran Read makes the calls, a la Matfield. The All Blacks also swapped coaching roles, with Graham Henry taking over the forwards from Steve Hansen for the November tour, but they’ve reverted back to how it was this time last year.
‘You can’t compare Victor to Read. The one is inexperienced, while the other’s been doing it for years.
‘Their coach’s role swapping also didn’t have much of an impact and it all depends on the man power you have. If it had worked for them, they would have stayed that way,’ said Smal.
One of the Kiwis’ main worries is the strength of the driving maul. Smal spoke of how they would try counter the Boks and the importance of referee Alan Lewis’s management of the area.
‘They and the Aussies realise its a big strength of the Bok and European teams. They’ll speak to the ref about the blocker at the back, and say they’re not allowed one in order to expose the jumpers and sack them. They’ll also try take the lifters out before the jumper’s hit the ground. The ref will have to be vigilant there.
‘Obviously the Boks want to use the lineout for other moves, but they’ll use the maul at least three or four times to expose the Kiwis.’
The 2007 World Cup-winning coach is backing the Boks to continue the dominance over their rivals.
‘That Irish game especially would have lulled them into a false sense of security. Ireland had many guys at home and lost a key player early on,’ Smal said in reference to their 65-28 loss with Jamie Heaslip red-carded after 15 minutes. ‘In the beginning they played for territory, but once we were a man down, they tried to open it up. It’s difficult to play them with 15 men, but with 14 it was near impossible.
‘I’m sure the Boks will climb into them and will have too much power. The All Blacks are dangerous from broken play and they’ll try take quick lineouts, but one of the main reasons for last year’s success was the Boks’ purposeful kicking. They’ll do that again and take them ball and all.’
While Smith’s presence in general play around the field has been filled by Francois Louw, the Free State hardman’s ability at the set-pieces is unrivalled by any loose forward in the world. While he’s on compassionate leave for the away leg of the Tri-Nations, Smith will do duty for the Cheetahs and Smal believes the Australasians will try take advantage of his absence at the tail.
He still believes that the Boks can negate this by making more use of Pierre Spies as a tail option, but left no one in doubt that the Spies, Smith and Schalk Burger lineout option among loose-forwards, aligned with the best locking duo of Matfield and Bakkies Botha, with the luxury of Danie Rossouw and Andries Bekker as back up is unrivalled in the current game.
By Grant Ball

251 Comments
8 Jul 2010, 13:56 pm
Jumping Dragons!
8 Jul 2010, 14:07 pm
VM knows no equal!
8 Jul 2010, 14:12 pm
Pierre can cover at the back and even Schalk is known to take some lineout balls from time to time, so we’ll be more than fine in that area. Look for the ‘Blacks to try and walk away from the linout so the mall cannot form. This worked well in the past, creates uncertainty in the Springboks, even Nic used it once or twice….
8 Jul 2010, 14:15 pm
the lineout is a soft spot for Black Panther
8 Jul 2010, 14:19 pm
lineout ball is also good to launch the backline from, so i hope we dont overdo the maul
8 Jul 2010, 14:22 pm
Australasians?
New Zealand is a country located in the South Pacific. Australia is right next to the USA.
8 Jul 2010, 14:23 pm
Habana and JPP both scored from a line out against the B&I Lions last year. Habana also scored against the Aus with the same move.
I wonder if they’ll try that move on Saturday.
8 Jul 2010, 14:26 pm
@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-5:
When last did we see the boks launch the Backline from any platform?? :0
8 Jul 2010, 14:28 pm
‘I’m sure the Boks will climb into them and will have too much power. The All Blacks are dangerous from broken play and they’ll try take quick lineouts, but one of the main reasons for last year’s success was the Boks’ purposeful kicking. They’ll do that again and take them ball and all.’
except for one tiny, tiny little detail – no “FDP”!!!!
8 Jul 2010, 14:31 pm
AB’s still have no premier lineout lock.
None what so ever.
Best jumper in team is Read.
Donnely is adequate
Thorn hardly gets thrown to
Kaino is decent
But they dont get good enough platform from lineout to unleash outside backs
on bench no better.Boric is no better than Flavell
Messam not even an option
8 Jul 2010, 14:33 pm
I reckon, that is the reason Danie has come in as loosie cover. He IS as good as Smith in the lineouts. Imagine Victor, Bekker and Danie all in the lineout. Scary stuff. Expect old Kevin to **** his pants and throw a few wayward.
8 Jul 2010, 14:35 pm
Another thing the Boks need to look out for is the maul from the AB’s, the media had been focusing on how the AB’s will stop it, but how effective are the Bok’s at stopping the maul seeing as they have had few opportunities to do so
8 Jul 2010, 14:35 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-10: Whitelock has REAL potential. They should be blooding this guy.
8 Jul 2010, 14:36 pm
Reading the above,
Gert gives the AB’s a snowballs chance in hell.
The Boks are Gods………….and the AB’s mere Minions.
We (nz) can’t win…………..it’s Offical, Gert says so.
8 Jul 2010, 14:36 pm
@Guns(Guns)-8: it happens quite often actually. execution not always up to scratch though
8 Jul 2010, 14:42 pm
This is gonna be one hell of a game!
8 Jul 2010, 14:43 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-11: Spies isnt bad either, he is also an option come line out time
8 Jul 2010, 14:45 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-11: he throws a few skew anyway
8 Jul 2010, 14:46 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-13:
Whitelock does have potential…
But so did Isaac Ross last yr..who had an outstanding S14 last yr as well.
I dont see a huge discrepancy in talent stakes between the 2.In fact I think Ross is more talented than Whitelock to be honest.
But look at what happened to Ross…
Cant even get into Saders XV 2010,nor even start for Maori
So praise on Whitelock is premature…much like Ross last yr (Same with “next Richie”-other Whitelock brother George Whitelock)
Big boy level now
8 Jul 2010, 14:46 pm
@nama1(nama1)-7: habana’s try was from the back of a scrum, but 1st phase ball nonetheless
8 Jul 2010, 14:47 pm
this is gonna be an old fashioned war of attrition
8 Jul 2010, 14:48 pm
75 years since the Boks won at Eden Park.
But Gert seems to think it’ll be a skip in the park.
Brain Surgeon…………..or Drain Surgeon?
Time will tell.
8 Jul 2010, 14:53 pm
The United Pacific Ferns (UPF)to lose a tight affair by a very small margin.
8 Jul 2010, 14:53 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-10: does Vito jump at all? Somehow i seem to think he is also an option
8 Jul 2010, 14:55 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-22:
So what is it that you disagree with what Smal is saying ?
Just because you don’t like what you are reading does not mean it is not true !!!
8 Jul 2010, 14:55 pm
does anyone know what time tickets will be on sale on monday?
8 Jul 2010, 14:56 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-22: ‘history is there to be changed’ victor matfield about eden park record. after 2009 and 2008 i think hes got a point
8 Jul 2010, 14:59 pm
5+ Marging for the humble “no. 2′s” over the indisputable “no 1.s”.
You heard it here first.
Kiwis, you may well start believing those fairy tales of the “mighty” AB’s losing their “Aura”…
Like Lemons come Sunday…
8 Jul 2010, 14:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-28: 5+ margin
8 Jul 2010, 15:04 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-22:
I dont think anyone thinks its going to be a walk in the park
BUT
That doesnt exclude the fact that the lineout is an intergral part of the game especially with current law interpretations AND the AB lineout isnt the best/hasnt been best in yrs.This eminating as far back as 2007-Flavell/Rawlinson etc
But we all know the game has many facets that contribute to the overall result.
But with current laws of game, the lineout has become all the more important.And AB’s dont seem to have weapons at present to counter Bok lineout.
Thats all.
8 Jul 2010, 15:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-24:
Vito jumps,adequate but he is no better than Kaino nor Read.McCaw at this stage is better jumper than Vito.Often needs shifting etc in lineout to create gaps rather than outright win his ball at lineout time.
Matfield reads than very well.
8 Jul 2010, 15:08 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-19: Ross a joke. Whitelock more respecting of the art of lineout play. Ross was thrown in way to early. Whitelock needs to gain experience before WC. Sam is also much younger. One for the future.
8 Jul 2010, 15:08 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-22: History makers…
…Boks
WCs
NZ 1/2 (incomplete tourny)
Aus 1 1/2 (1 incomplete tourny + luck)
Eng 1
Boks 2
Boks 4 AB’s 0
Rome has burnt, Henry the fiddler has finished playing, and the Bok barbarians are at the gates…
Kiwis, the “Aura” is an illusion… A comfort “blankie”.
8 Jul 2010, 15:18 pm
@mamma_lou(mamma_lou)-5:
You’re right, set pieces is primary first phase ball, but don’t count on the Boks doing anything with it. The Boks just don’t have the ability to break defences down. This will be their undoing. Not to mention that our kicking game is severely limited now, so our tactics of last year won’t work. We have great attacking players, but can the coaching team get them going? A simple no.
8 Jul 2010, 15:20 pm
Guys can you please tell me what the new rules at the breakdown are for 2010? Only those who really know
8 Jul 2010, 15:21 pm
Hallo guys!
I fail to see the problem here…more than enough length in the lineouts.
A nothingness thread.
8 Jul 2010, 15:21 pm
Juan Smith is a brilliant blindside flank. Quite possibly he
has been SA’s best player for the last 3 years before injury and his family bereavement. But at lineout time, there is someone even better than he…
..and his name is Imanol Harinordoquy.
8 Jul 2010, 15:22 pm
Haha heaven’s why don’t you use that battle of Carthage thing again like you did for the S14 final, Matfield is the Roman general and Burger was hannibal or something to that degree, for this game?
8 Jul 2010, 15:24 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-34: ‘the boks just don’t have the ability to break defences down’ yoh, you are one sour individual, if the Boks bring you such misery why do you watch them?
are you talking about the only team to earn a four-try bonus point last year?
8 Jul 2010, 15:25 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-32:
Ross is talented,excellent athlete.Just think as uve pointed out it was too early to push through to AB’s and RELY on him as primary lineout option
While Sam Whitelock is also talented and shows potential it would be dentrimental to his career much like Ross to plant him at the highest level and fend for himself.Much like Boric a few yrs back as well..
Lock stocks not impressive..Pity what happened to James Ryan(the redhead)..He would have been a star…Thought Simon Maling left too early at the time as well.
8 Jul 2010, 15:25 pm
@Partizan(Partizan)-38: Yeah or Aplon is Asterix and Ricky is Obelix or something……
8 Jul 2010, 15:26 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-31: It will be interesting to see if the ABs can get any decent lineout ball, for their backrow and backline will test the Bok defensive system.
Big if though.
Lineout will be a huge area of the game, however no more or less than the breakdown. If the Boks reign supreme in the lineout and get parity at the breakdown, they will be able to exert pressure on the ABs and the risky options will be taken more frequently by the team in black.
However, if the ABs get some momentum at the breakdown, the Bok defence will be tested for sure.
For me, the battle of the tight fives holds the key to this game. Whoever wins that contest will earn the win for their team.
8 Jul 2010, 15:27 pm
Must agree with you Alucard, can January be the best no9 in SA? I mean, you win the lineout and take 5years to get it to the flyhalf. This will be our undoing…and let me not start on his (non existing) kicking game. The up and unders he kicked were as predictable as long range shots with the Jabulani ball. Swirling swerving and way of the mark….
8 Jul 2010, 15:28 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-40: Boric is a good enough lineout exponent. He held his own against Bakkies and Matfield in the S14 when the Blues downed the Bulls.
Donnelly is there because he does the basics well and has a huge motor. He’ll run hard for 60 and then Boric will take the field.
8 Jul 2010, 15:32 pm
@Partizan(Partizan)-38:
…Scipio vs Hannibal
The passions are building up to that… after hopefully a victory there will be a bit of rah rah, poetry and all that…
We’ve got to be inspired, hey, and if one is not inspired by a Bok / AB game then you never will be…
Its gonna be Alexander, Monty vs Rommel, or Achilles vs Hectors or just let it go pear shaped with Apocalypse now or Reservoir Dogs…
This is it… The comfort blankie aura may be ripped to shreds this weekend
8 Jul 2010, 15:34 pm
There is one thing I never get… Why hasn’t the wp and the all blacks just switched codes years ago!? They would really love Rugby leauge
Then nobody has to read bullshit about ugly rugby etc. anymore and they can run the ball everytime from anywhere.
When did the all blacks decide anyway that they just want to play one kind of rugby? In the eras gone by they were the complete package. Runners, kickers, scrummers high ball catchers …everything. This obsession with beautifull rugby is killing them. Thats what is cool about union, its the freedom of tactics using fat guys to thin guys fast guys to slow guys. Rugby is so amazing, because of all the variations that are possible!
For the wp… well they are just *** and don’t like contact.
I hope Rassie’s idea of a new code takes of and the wp just leaves the currie cup altogether and play what ever 20 min no kicking game they want to. They only need the 22m line’s space anyway. He can have more than one game running at the same time.
Just some Food for Thought. Use it or don’t
8 Jul 2010, 15:34 pm
@stodders(stodders)-37: Nah
Juan Smith 1.96 m (6 ft 5 in)
Imanol Harinordoquy 1.92 m (6 ft 3.5 in)
8 Jul 2010, 15:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-41: For once the Stormersader, Bulls, Sharkie, Vrystaat, Lions supporters are all on the same side…
Except for opinions on the Bushpig… But may he play the game of his life and prove all doubters, including me, wrong on Sat…
8 Jul 2010, 15:38 pm
@stodders(stodders)-44:
Dont think Bakkies played in Blues game,but I get your point nonetheless.
I dont rate Boric much,plus he is a sicknote.Donnely is a decent player,but at 28 already dont see much improvement in his play.A harder grafter for sure.If AB’s had put as much investment in Brynn Evans(i think-the other Otago lock) as theyve done with Boric theyd have a competitive lock duo.
But dont rate Boric.undersized as well.
8 Jul 2010, 15:39 pm
oh and Aplon is k a k
8 Jul 2010, 15:40 pm
my dream weekend.
Griquas nail the sharks
WP beat Cheetahs
Uruguay beat the Germans
Boks beat kiwis
spain beat the Dutch.
8 Jul 2010, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-39:
Yes, the very same team who went 4 consecutive games without a linebreak. The same team that couldn’t breakdown a 14 man Australian defence after 18 phases of play. You know as well as I do that the Boks are impotent on attack. And after 30 minutes in that 4 try game the Boks were a lot less effective, australia were more taken by surprise than anything else.
8 Jul 2010, 15:41 pm
@vlam(vlam)-50:
Lol aplon will sort you out in a minute
He took Bakkies best head butt
8 Jul 2010, 15:42 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-52:
“..the Boks are impotent on attack..”
Stop talking from your A hole
8 Jul 2010, 15:43 pm
@grant10(grant10)-51:
Agreed with all, all but Uruguay. They are the dirtiest team of the WC and should not have progressed as far as they did. And for the hack job the ref did over Bafana against Uruguay, I hope they are beaten worse than the snot klap the Boks gave them in 2005.
8 Jul 2010, 15:44 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-47:
Not always about height.
Facets such as timing,length of limbs(“wingspan”),size of hands,intelligence of reading play etc play big part.
Case in point Victor Matfield(2.00m)/Andries Bekker(2.08m) or former AB giant lock Mark Cooksley(2.09m) who always got schooled by 1.97m Mark Andrews
8 Jul 2010, 15:45 pm
@Boksarenumber1(Boksarenumber1)-54: And where exactly am I talking rubbish?
janni at 3 over BJ, mmmmnnn.
rikki will be good on saturday.
we should give these guys a hiding- break them down good and proper pre- RWC
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-56:
Well said.
8 Jul 2010, 15:47 pm
@grant10(grant10)-51: My Dream weekend:
Sharks nail the Griquas (2nd side? Liar)
Cheetahs ******* up Province
Germany kills Uruguay and Sewer-rat Suarez
Dutch beat Spain
Mainly the boks beat the Kiwis.
The Bokke makes us one!
8 Jul 2010, 15:49 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-57:
If comment 54 is not self explanatory then you should seek help
8 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-47: And from that incredible bit of analysis I am supposed to deduce what exactly?
That being 4cm taller makes Juan Smith a better lineout forward than Harinordoquy?
If you shaved Smith’s hair off they’d probably be the same height anyway
8 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
Ag, no man this guy I tell you he is talking rubbish. The All Blacks have big bad Brad Thorn and he is one of the best locks in the game. Oh wait we aren’t playing in the midget division. Brad Thorn, mini lock. Looks like someone doesn’t have much to look forward to when he retires, that’s probably why he is hanging on to his career for as long as he can. Brad, you’re 36 years of age and your already questionable strength has gotten even weaker seeing as the testosterone is wearing off buddy, take a hint and let your replacement – Isaac Ross in for some time on the field. Isaac Ross, the lock of the future… haha, what a replacement to have!
8 Jul 2010, 15:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-48: The bloggers here will almost never be completely on the same side, too much provincialism for that. And you have guys like tacitus who keeps saying that he’d prefer to watch Bulls rugby than ‘Boks rugby.
But as the saying goes, you can’t please all of the people all of the time…..
8 Jul 2010, 15:53 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-56: Yes, but in this case I believe Smith is better than Imanol in the lineouts. He’s also much taller which does help.
And just to let you know. Andrews was 2m and Cooksley was 2.05.
8 Jul 2010, 15:55 pm
@Boksarenumber1(Boksarenumber1)-61:
Not when you are provably wrong.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-63: Thorn doesn’t jump much for the ABs. In fact, he more often than not is a lifter in the lineout.
ABs main jumpers will be Donnelly and Read, with a handful thrown to Thorn, McCaw and Kaino.
As for your suggestion that Ross is the future…I can’t agree with you. Whitelock has everything that Ross has, but most importantly the work ethic that Ross lacks totally. If Ross can work out that he should be grunting with his fellow forwards rather than sea gulling in back play, he may yet make it back to play for the Crusaders and then the ABs.
@Alucard(Alucard)-59:
3N 2009
sa scored 120 pts
nz 79pts
aust 79pts
whats ur point???
8 Jul 2010, 15:57 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-65: Fair enough, in your opinion the South African bloke is better than the foreign bloke.
8 Jul 2010, 15:57 pm
@stodders(stodders)-62: Well, that Smith is taller. He’s also younger, has played 62 tests. And imo is better then Imanol in the lineouts. Gert Smal agrees with me. Now what evidence can you present that this is not the case?
8 Jul 2010, 15:59 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-66:
Dude you are an idiot
8 Jul 2010, 15:59 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-65: And 4cm is not MUCH taller.
I mean Bekker is 8cm taller than Matfield so that would suggest he is much better than Matfield based on your hypothesis. Who came out on top the last time they met btw?
8 Jul 2010, 16:00 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-60: LOL
Spain will murder dutch.
boks wont win this one ….as much as it hurts me to say….
joking about the sharks mate
8 Jul 2010, 16:01 pm
I also prefer bulls rugby to boks rugby. I only watch bok rugby to watch THE MAN Bakko Botha.
Bakkies doesn’t sleep, he waits.
On Aplon…Aplon cost Bakko the chance of playing in the S14 final(douchebag), and Hopscotch Bekker didn’t even get the same punishment.
I hope Cory Jane (because he is small) runs over aplon ala Jonah Lomu this weekend. Aplon is is Earl Rose with a gray scrumpet!
8 Jul 2010, 16:02 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-70: I don’t have a French coach to hand to give me a quote that will back up my opinion
Smal though probably forgot it was Harinordoquy who destroyed his own teams chances in Paris earlier at the lineout. It’s best to forget the bad days at the office
8 Jul 2010, 16:02 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-64:
tacitus hates the BOKS like many others here
Thats why the BOKS need to win the world cup in 2011
on All Black soil
8 Jul 2010, 16:03 pm
@Boksarenumber1(Boksarenumber1)-76: Tacitus doesn’t hate the Boks at all. It’s just that his heart is blue, not green and gold.
8 Jul 2010, 16:04 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-52:
Doesnt matter,Aus made the most linebreaks in TriNations last yr and still ended last if Im not mistaken.
Blues in S14 had the most clean linebreaks in competition but ended a lowly 8/9 position
Rene Ranger had the most linebreaks in competition but not best midfielder in S14
Lote Tuqiri in 2008/9 S14 had the most linebreaks/meters gained in S14.Didnt score single try
Linebreaker are nice,finishing & ticking scoreboard BETTER
Points on the board
8 Jul 2010, 16:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-73: I think the Dutch have a good chance. Spain will find them hard to crack, and in Sneijder, the Dutch have the player of the tournament so far.
8 Jul 2010, 16:06 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-78: Very true.
First 20 mins on Saturday is critical. If the ABs get into their rhythm and the Boks let them get their tails up, it will be hard for the Boks to overcome NZ.
If the Boks do what they did last year in Hamilton and dominate from the off, knocking the ABs off their rhythm, they will be able to dictate the tempo and win.
@stodders(stodders)-72: Bekker is a lot taller than Victor. You can see it. Height makes an obvious difference in the lineouts, but is not the only consideration. Obviously. Having said this, Smith IMO is better and Bekker will be awesome. Okay, he’s NOT much taller, happy now. He is much better though.
I’m out of here. Enjoy the rest of the build up guys and the game on Saturday.
8 Jul 2010, 16:07 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-81: In your opinion of course. And that is fine.
8 Jul 2010, 16:09 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-63: LOL
8 Jul 2010, 16:11 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-78:
Points on the board has nothing to do with what I’m talking about. stop drifting from the topic. The original post I was replying to stated that we’d clean out in the lineouts and thus present quality first phase ball to orchestrate a constructed attack. I said don’t count on it, because the Boks couldn’t break through a sheet of toilet paper on attack. But, despite the facts proving my point, some refused to accept this.
8 Jul 2010, 16:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-64: Tacitus does not like ancestor worshippers (his term for Ghana)… Ask him
8 Jul 2010, 16:12 pm
@stodders(stodders)-79: no mate….spain 2 nil….if not more….they are absolute masters….should on nailed germans by 3 or 4…..absolute wizards…..i reckon they are so far ahead of the pack it is scary…..
also outta here
8 Jul 2010, 16:13 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-63: Oops. Missed that you were being sarcastic.
Enjoy the generation of players SA currently have at their disposal. The cycle will continue and it will be another nation who will take over from SA in the years to come.
8 Jul 2010, 16:15 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-64: I permit myself to like and rate all Stormesaders, excepting the Bushpig, if they wear the Green and Gold.
Added to this, I am ashamed to admit that I am slightly upset that two Stormersaders aren’t playing…
8 Jul 2010, 16:16 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-85: What about trys. Does that count?
8 Jul 2010, 16:17 pm
@grant10(grant10)-87: look the Spaniards are frikken good but if there was 1 team looking like a bunch of wizzards it was the germs. think u would have said they were far ahead of the pack b4 yesterday?
cant believe how they man handled those germs.
8 Jul 2010, 16:18 pm
@grant10(grant10)-87: Spain cna’t win by more than 1 goal. Have you not been watching? 1-0
1-0
1-0
8 Jul 2010, 16:19 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-90:
Yes it does, but one test does not reflect the entire season. choosing a 30 minute blitz to define the Boks 2009 season is clearly flawed. The Boks failed to convert their dominance into points. Had NZ’s backs had that platform with a better coach, they’d have been planting 50 thrashings on everyone. The point is that the Boks are not great on attack, and what frustrates me is that they can clearly do a lot better, but two imbeciles on the coaching team are not taking the Boks as far as they are capable of going. And this will be their downfall, like in ’99. It’s all too eerily familiar.
8 Jul 2010, 16:21 pm
it only takes 1 nil
Ask the arrogant cheating Germans…..
GO SPAIN…!
8 Jul 2010, 16:22 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-93: Whateva
8 Jul 2010, 16:22 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-65:
I seem to remember Andrews being around 1.97-1.98m,He was listed at that height in his socks.
Remember Adrian Garvey use to say they always use to fool around with weight & height statistics as McIntosh was big on that.Andrews & Garvey used to put weights in their pocket when coming for weigh in etc
But back to Harinodiquoy,he is class.Juan as well.Very close at lineout time.
8 Jul 2010, 16:24 pm
Stodders = Keo royalty.
Nice to see you back lad.
8 Jul 2010, 16:25 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-93:
Hush, little baby, don’t say a word.
Mama’s gonna buy you a mockingbird… u know the rest
8 Jul 2010, 16:26 pm
@mainland(mainland)-98:
LMAO
8 Jul 2010, 16:28 pm
@vlam(vlam)-74:
“Aplon cost Bakko the chance of playing in the S14 final(douchebag),…”
Joke of the day.
8 Jul 2010, 16:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-51: My Dream Weekend
Sharks nail Griquas
Cheetahs nail WP
Urugauy beat Germans
Boks beat Kiwis
Spain beat Dutch
8 Jul 2010, 16:33 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-93:
Is there anything about the Boks that you are satisfied with?
8 Jul 2010, 16:39 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-93: you must get so annoyed when the Boks win
8 Jul 2010, 16:41 pm
@nama1(nama1)-102: nope, nothing! Heyneke Meyer should’ve got the job and the Boks would be attacking better than they did when Jake White was in charge.
8 Jul 2010, 16:48 pm
@RedMan(RedMan)-97: cheers Redman!
8 Jul 2010, 16:50 pm
Lowveld Club Rugby Finals – Saturday 10 July
White River 1st Team vs. Barbeton 1st Team 16:00
White River 2nd Team vs. Nelspruit 2nd Team 14:40
Both games at Whit River Rugby Club or Witrivier Rugby Klub to the locals…
Some good rugby, good brandy but bring your own chicks…
8 Jul 2010, 16:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-104:
It must be hell for him that the Boks have been winning under this coach.
Imagine being a supporter of a team and you want them to win on the one hand (to give you bragging rights) and on the other hand you want them to lose (so that you can slate the coach).
Real tough for the likes of him.
8 Jul 2010, 16:56 pm
@nama1(nama1)-107: yep you’ve got it. That’s how ‘open secrets’ of senior players coaching the team come about, it’s smit, matfield, fdp, percy & now lately os…what the hell does pdv do there really?
8 Jul 2010, 17:12 pm
I don’t want anybody to lose. de Villiers was a coach I backed to succeed Jake, my biggest concern was that coetzee would be elected head coach. Little did I know what we were in for. And even worse then that was the rabble he selected for his coaching team. The point is that they are holding the Boks back from achieving their full potential, de Villiers uses this team as a vehicle for his own personal agendas, like Rose for instance and his other racist views which were exposed when he attacked the Super rugby coaches for apparantly lack of quality POC. He plays players out of position, screws matches over with his consistent use of the bench, he has total lack of planning, poor squad development and a serious lack of tactical acuteness. These are very serious problems that are going to nail our WC to the cross. But far too many are far too shortsighted to see these issues, issues which were highlighted emphatically on the EOYT. You honestlt think Australia and New Zealand are going to be weak forever? We kicked them when they were downm, particularly New Zealand, but what when they get back to their best? What when plan A fails? And it will. relying on a one dimensional 10 man game won’t last forever, and this is my point. The coaching team stumbled upon this approach after repeatedly failing to develop a rounded game, it worked in the short term, but won’t be sustainable until the WC. And given how substandard Muir and Div are with their strange and deeply flawed backline philosophies, when the time comes that the Boks need more, don’t be surprised to see the headless chickens of 08. Or even worse under the new laws, the Lions of this year!
8 Jul 2010, 17:12 pm
that bok backline looks a bit sterile to me…..
8 Jul 2010, 17:21 pm
big pack…..but slow in loosies without a Brussow/ Steggmann type.
I remain rather unconvinced…..but will gladly be proved wrong…again.
8 Jul 2010, 17:27 pm
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-11: I hear you. Great lineout, but then the AB’s must kick the ball out for all that to be of value. I reckon we will see Carter kicking long and deep on Zane and look to Zane to kick out. If Zane does not oblige, we will see Carter kicking the ball out inside our 25, which will to them be the next best thing. The Boks will have to attack from inside their 25 to use the lineout as platform. That is what I would do if I were the AB’s.
Alternatively the Boks could contest on AB ball and force lineouts by deliberately kicking out. If that is the case I would far sooner have used someone lighter that can be lifted high and easily to contest their ball. Sorry, I don’t buy all this **** about trying to dominate their lineout and using it as an attacking platform. Remember Italy 1 and 2- our lineouts were poor for the most.
So – quick analysis:
1. Parity in scrums.
2. Boks edge lineouts.
3. AB’s edge rucks.
4. Boks edge mauls.
5. Parity in kicking game.
6. AB’s edge backline play.
So, guess what, it comes down to discipline and individual brilliance in a moment. So what’s new? and guess what else- who does Schalk and Bakkies play for again?
8 Jul 2010, 17:28 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-109: if we win the world cup, do you promise to shut the f.ck up?
8 Jul 2010, 17:30 pm
@grant10(grant10)-110: i think they should move plod to 3 and get chili on, he is mobile and can fetch.
8 Jul 2010, 17:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-114:
that a big spoon yoou have.
8 Jul 2010, 17:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-113:
LOL, not a chance. Who knows, maybe de Villiers will be as “lucky” as Jake… LMAO, of course not, anything he does is perfect of course. But if the Boks win the WC, it will have made my point pointless for this cycle, but that’s if they win it.
8 Jul 2010, 17:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-114: ja
and move me into a mental asyum at the same time.
8 Jul 2010, 17:38 pm
no real mongrel except for bakkies…
bissy not there will hurt us bad….
my main concerns 12…14 and 15.
Up front a lack of a counter to MC Caw….
M Steyn must expect a lot of heat.
Butch may have a role to play at 10.
8 Jul 2010, 17:39 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-109:
Some valid concerns there. Maybe if you change the way in which you bring your message, people will start to listen and take you more seriously.
@Transformation(Transformation)-113:
Better still, let him get into his coffin again and nail it shut for another few 1 000 years.
Alucard = Dracula backwards.
8 Jul 2010, 17:39 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-116: you see how vindictive you are, you’re secretly hoping we don’t retain bill so you can be ‘vindicated’ and we all know, only grant10 is vindicated on keo.
8 Jul 2010, 17:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-120: ja
tell the plonker Transie!!
8 Jul 2010, 17:41 pm
Im not sure why the Boks even bother to turn up. In the last month alone, as publicized to the World via Keo….
Theyre ‘superior’
Theyre ‘brainier’
They’ll “boss NZ”
The ABs “fear” the Boks.
NZ fans “will go in to mourning”.
8 Jul 2010, 17:42 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-115:
8 Jul 2010, 17:42 pm
@nama1(nama1)-119: alucard s nick should be ….reknolp.
8 Jul 2010, 17:43 pm
bloody germans in mourning i tell you!
8 Jul 2010, 17:44 pm
@grant10(grant10)-118: Flo will counter Mc Caw just nicely.
Why do you recon we have no counter? Are you basing it on experience?
8 Jul 2010, 17:46 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-122: all those things are written just to get up your nose
8 Jul 2010, 17:50 pm
@grant10(grant10)-125: got tickets to see uruguay vs germany, think i’m going to donate it to charity… Can’t get myself to see that cheat suarez….
8 Jul 2010, 17:52 pm
@grant10(grant10)-118:
G10, with Bissie out, the Sharks scrum looked much better with Beast, JS and JdP. JdP looked like a different player this year not scrumming with his brother. He really surprised me in the scrums during the S14. He also did well in the home test matches so far this year. So much so that PdV has selected him above BJ for this Saturday’s test against the AB’s. Now I would not like to put me out there as a fundi on the intricacies of front row play but…
Don’t you think there are some merit in the suggestion by some that Bissie was in fact the reason for our struggles in the scrum last year because of his height? If he is indeed the reason why our scrum struggled, would you be willing to drop him despite him being the “best hooker” in the world in order to have a solid scrum?
8 Jul 2010, 17:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-124:
8 Jul 2010, 18:01 pm
I see Noddy in his Blue Speedo is up to his cr.ap again…
8 Jul 2010, 18:02 pm
@nama1(nama1)-129: The scrum is such a collective 8 man shove that it really is hard to single out a player for non performance at this set piece.
Only the coaches and players involved in scrum practice and during the match will really know where things are going wrong etc.
8 Jul 2010, 18:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-120:
Again, you are wrong. That’s how many times today, I’ve stated already that I don’t want the Boks to lose, but keep trying. And by stating that it’s “if the Boks win the WC”, I am alluding to the possibility that maybe some other team will win it, because it’s an open competition, and nobody can guarantee what will happen. That is going to be difficult for many SA supporters to grasp, because they’ll have to stop being so arrogant, like before the 2008 TNs, and the Lions tour. Win a few games and all of a sudden it’s absolutely impossible that the Boks could ever lose… very shortsighted. I try to be a little more prudent, granted I’m not always right, but I am generally not far off the mark.
8 Jul 2010, 18:08 pm
@vlam(vlam)-50: You are now talking out of your nought – go speak to G10, he can translate…
8 Jul 2010, 18:19 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-132:
I think it’s fair to say that one of the 8 MAY be the weak link, whether it is a weak prop, a lock that does not push or a flank that hangs around during scrum time.
The weak prop you can sent to the gim, the lock you can give a taai klap and the flank you can give a verbal bashing.
What do you do if the heigh of one of the front rowers is the reason for an ordinary to good rather than a good to formidable scrum?
8 Jul 2010, 18:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-131: what happened to ur germans last night, huh? All that bravado for sweet fokkol, doesn’t help to be grootbek
8 Jul 2010, 18:22 pm
@grant10(grant10)-51:
My Dream Weekend
Boks beat Kiwis
Holland beats Spain
Jensen Button wins the British Grand Prix
Percy Montgomery asks me out to dinner!!!!
Oh…also the sun will shine for my party on Sunday!!
8 Jul 2010, 18:22 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-133:
You did not answer my question at 102.
8 Jul 2010, 18:28 pm
@grant10(grant10)-124: BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!
8 Jul 2010, 18:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-136: What bravado? I said that I was worried because the prissy, prancing dirty Spanish still had to peak…
Oh well, not having the Germans in the final against Holland is a loss for SA… It would have been the best final to round off a good tournament…
The Germans didn’t start the tournament thinking that they had it in the bag – a young, excellent side who played brilliantly but at the wrong time…
If they had played the Spanish like they played against the Argies, many prancing Spanish would have committed hari kiri.
Don’t forget, the Germans have won the WC many times…
But thats it for Spain, they have now blown there load. Holland have yet to peak. Spain already have and the dirties have no BMT…
8 Jul 2010, 18:42 pm
should be But thats it for Spain, they have now blown their load
8 Jul 2010, 18:48 pm
Spain should take this Wc though its still anyones game Sunday. Pretty equal capacity both ways though class for class Spain still edge it. Germany Argentina England Brazil Italy Portugal France none are in these 2 teams class except perhaps Brazil who still have a soft mentality when it comes to pulling out the stops. Top 2 teams deserve to be where they are Holland and Spain have shown they the top 2 class acts for others to follow..
8 Jul 2010, 18:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-140: i don’t remember a murmur about germany having “blown their load”, why would it be the case with spain? These are the European Champions u’re talking about, did you even watch the Championships in 2008 or were you like the rest of the plonkers on Mud Island who didn’t because their kak team couldn’t even qualify?
8 Jul 2010, 18:55 pm
Dunno where exactly to nail my colors Saturday. This Bok team starting to reek of same stagnancy as Whites dismal team of 2006 where he didn’t quite know his @ss from his illustrious elbow. So I reckon its about time some serious lessons were learned with this bunch of chicken yellow bellied mob of safety first play to our dumb doos non evolving strengths. I reckon an AB win might just be exactly what the doctor orders for Sat 10-7-10
8 Jul 2010, 19:01 pm
Transie
All those words were written on an SA sports site to an audience of Safas because it represents the collective opinion of it’s readers. I’ve already lost count of the number of times I’ve read bloggers here saying “Boks will win the RWC” and that was well before 1 Test match in 2010 being 2 x TriNs prior to the tournament commencing.
Sure did love Big Hits recent sermon about the “Kiwis being arrogant…..Safas humble”. And to think you lot actually believe he’s a Pom.
Time for a reality check me thinks.
8 Jul 2010, 19:09 pm
Bok’s starting to walk around like they invincibility itself. Time for some real hard wakey wakey realizations to light some fireworks up their one dimensional @ssholes.
8 Jul 2010, 19:21 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145: now you’re acting dumb on purpose, how many times have we you seen bloggers take on the so-called journalists on this site over their articles? The only time i was ever banned on this site was for verbally abusing ryan vrede! So your “collective opinion” chirp is sadly betrays how misguided you are or possibly another it is another attempt at mishief makin by yourself.
So, by extension am i correct to suggest that the article written by a kiwi journalist marc hinton about the all blacks is no doubt the “collective opinion” of all new zealanders? Pffft gtfoh
8 Jul 2010, 19:28 pm
@nama1(nama1)-138:
I’m satisfied with the pool of players, there’s a strong spine to the team. They are capable of so much and I expect great things fom them, even with passengers like de Jongh and chili in the team, and without two of it’s best, they still are highly formidable. That’s all I can really say, the team development is bad, the management of the players is bad and they haven’t developed at all. We have an outstanding kick-chase game, but we had that in ’07 anyway. Our defence is much weaker than ’07, and little has really improved in our game, but much has regressed. I will say that the Boks, the players, have adapted well to the numerous law changes, which is exellent. Skills are constantly improving and the next generation don’t have the fear that past sides have had. I must credit the super rugby unions for their work in creating this culture and the work they’ve put in with the players. They’ve generally taken this into the national team and it worked well last year. But again, the coaching trio of the Boks have not taken this further at all. That’s about it.
8 Jul 2010, 19:30 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145:
I’m very sad to say this, but the Bok supporters really do remind me of the England football fans and keo its media. Big mouths over every little thing, then all perspective is lost… only to come back down to Earth with a thud, how many times has this happened? still, lessons never learned.
8 Jul 2010, 19:32 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-126: Brussow not only countered Mc Caw, he outplayed him.
I like Flo, but is he a Brussow?@nama1(nama1)-129: i wouldnt blame Bissy till i see how he goes with a real 3….the poor bugger had plod there so it couldnt of been easy. Bissy is the best 2 in the world bar none imo…..and i reckon he will be hugely missed in tri nations.
8 Jul 2010, 19:35 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-144:
The difference between now and 2006 is depth and injuries. Most of the quality players only came onto the scene during and then after the 06 CC. There was no depth, and when we lost Bakkies, Fourie, Jean, Habana, Schalk, Van Niekerk amongst others it hurt a lot. But the team grew from those trials. Now, de Villiers has pretty much everything in front of him. No Du Preez? Well, how about duvenhage? Vermaak? Kockott? So much depth on the wings, loosies gallore, Morne, Butch, JL Potgieter, Pienaar at 10, quality everywhere. It’s his own inability to make the most of this that is the problem.
8 Jul 2010, 19:37 pm
@grant10(grant10)-150:
Aside from his fetching, he is inferior and his poor temperament his a liability in every test. Do you want a guaranteed loose cannon in the knockout stages? I don’t. discipline is the make or break of a team. There is no place for him.
8 Jul 2010, 19:42 pm
@grant10(grant10)-150: speedo dude luckily its only ur opnion
hows things on ur side grant?? lol
atleast the plod is one of the greatest of all time
what more can one say about twatson??
8 Jul 2010, 19:46 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-153: all good my side……but i am going to miss the WC badly ! Really loved every minute and thrilled the Spanish are through, nice to know whatever happens THERE will be a brand new 1 st time world champion team……but i would bet my last penny spain will win!
Have not really got into the rugby as yet, i am sure it will all change come Saturday…..will be 1000% behind boks but fear that there are some glaring weaknesses in the make up of the team.
8 Jul 2010, 19:48 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-152: bissy brings a lot to the party, but obviously its complex with plod there as capitano…..lets see how season develops….for now i am just happy plod away from 3.
8 Jul 2010, 19:50 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134:
eina man….
not even a warning chirp….just straight for the jugular…..
8 Jul 2010, 19:53 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-148:
So all in all, according to you, the coaching staff have not done anything since 2008 to take the team to where they are currently.
@grant10(grant10)-150:
Fair enough. Let’s see how the scrum goes when he plays with BJ, probably next year.
PS, as I said I’m in no position to blame any player when it comes to the scrums. I was just articulating what some scrum “experts” on this site said.
8 Jul 2010, 19:57 pm
@nama1(nama1)-157: i am no expert either…..its just i am also not a blind bat !
So it was obvious , to me anyway, that we were being drilled by all and sundry with Plod there…..but its water under the bridge….not much appetite from most pundits for plod at 3 anymore…..
key will be what happens when bissy 100% and firing on all cylinders?
8 Jul 2010, 19:57 pm
Smit, Botha, Burger, Spies, Olivier, Kirchner, Bj Botha, Roussow, James.
All are going to see some inverse gatte this weekend.
If I were a betting man I’d be putting my hard earned income on Ab’s this weekend and not on these dead men walking.
England France and Italy were taught this lesson recently in the current SWC. Next perhaps to learn the hard nose lesson that to everything turn turn turn, there is a season turn turn turn, and a time to every purpose under heaven are these that hedge their bets on redundant non evolution..
If you unable to learn the lesson willingly and bravely then nature will teach you the lesson unwillingly. Hope they got the stomach for such lesson when it drives its relentless course of awakening into the psyche of such sterile self preservation. .
8 Jul 2010, 20:07 pm
Smit is almost fini, same with Botha, Burger, Roussow, James and even perhaps to lesser extent Jdv.
This current setup may be hoping on a wing and a prayer that this bunch of yesterdays hero’s are going to somehow miraculously sustain their collective power all the way to Wc 2011 is hoping and praying with eyes wide shut.
8 Jul 2010, 20:10 pm
Spain to destroy Holland on sunday. There attack,midfield and ball retention is going to be too good for the dutch
8 Jul 2010, 20:10 pm
@grant10(grant10)-154:
I wouldnt bet your ‘last penny’ just yet. Save that for the RWC that you said some months ago that the Boks “will win” next year.
Dont underestimate the opposition. Netherlands are tough mentally, technically excellent and with a mean streak thats exhibits a win-at-all-cost ethic. Sound like any rugby team you know ? Yes, the Spanish are wonderful to watch and are loved the World over for their flair and personality and have the star players. Which sounds like a rugby team I know.
I think Sth Africa should be rightly proud of the World Cup. Its been a magnificent spectacle (eventually, the 1st 2 rounds were scrappy), the fans were magnificent and colourful (I’ll ignore those hideous-horns for now), the stadiums amazing, and now a dream Final for 2 under-achieving, yet talented, teams. Congratulations Sth Africa – encore !
8 Jul 2010, 20:16 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-162: i have gone to 3 games and did the fan walk when i didnt have a ticket…..Saw Spain against Portugal….spanish on another planet…..imo Dutch can bring it on….but will be chasing shadows…..Spain at least 2 nil….
WC 2011 ….if we are ‘clinical’ and dont select with sentiment i reckon boks will come close….but as Skop is rightfully pointing out….we may just be wanting to carry some dead wood…..
i do feel by end of 2010 the sentiment would have been replaced by hard nosed realism.
As for Sat….kiwis by 5 i reluctantly forecast.
8 Jul 2010, 20:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-147:
Just like Piet van Zyl ran on to the field to bash referee McHugh because he represented the collective Sth African opinion that there was a NZ-Aus refereeing conspiracy against the Boks. McHugh is Irish.
Ive specifically referred to you as fairer than most, albeit not entirely without a 1-eyed streak. But for every Transformation, there seem to be 10 x KKKs. In other words ‘collective’.
8 Jul 2010, 20:24 pm
@grant10(grant10)-163:
Will my opinion is that you dont honestly believe that. And I’d put my last penny on it.
8 Jul 2010, 20:28 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-165: well i hope i am dead wrong…as i often am….
but gacts are we are down Brussow, Juan Smith, Bissy….those three were the heart of the success last year….
Then we have some key backs out…..and throw in a mind numbing selecton of 12 and 14…..and the non selection of f steyn, and i foresee a rather steep hill……
8 Jul 2010, 20:29 pm
gacts is facts
8 Jul 2010, 20:29 pm
I found this extremely funny and thought I’d share it wiyh you.
Paul The Psychic Octopus to be appointed special adviser to Malema
POLOKWANE. The psychic octopus which last night continued an unbroken run of correct World Cup predictions is to be headhunted for the position of Chief Political Aide to Julius Malema, ANC Youth League sources confirmed. Following Germany’s loss to Spain in the semi-finals – a result predicted by the octopus – Malema is reported to have ordered, “Get me that magic sea-monster.”
ANC Youth League spokesperson, Toddler Makhanye, announced this morning that an offer is being made to the Aquarium Sea Life in Oberhausen, Germany, to purchase Paul the Psychic Octopus for the Youth League’s NEC.
“We in the ANC Youth League are continually trawling the sea-bed for signs of intellectual dynamism in protoplasmic life forms, and it is clear to us that this octopus has a mind which is as razor-sharp as a sharp, sharp razor,” said Makhanye.
“We will build it a special aquarium where it can do all its thinking. We are going to call it a ‘think-tank’”.
8 Jul 2010, 20:33 pm
@nama1(nama1)-168:
8 Jul 2010, 20:39 pm
@grant10(grant10)-154: weaknesses in the team are 12 , 15
also JPP is injured
then 9 is a big problem , fourie dup is so much more solid and dependable
he controls a game , i am sure you watched the super 14 final hehehe
anyhows its still not a bad side
8 Jul 2010, 20:41 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-170:
under the circumstances not a bad side….agree
but can they win a test match at Eden Park??
Lets wait and see…
8 Jul 2010, 20:42 pm
cheers all
8 Jul 2010, 21:26 pm
Bok problem is not at 9 or 10 those in fact are 2 of our strongest positions,
its before 9 – i.e at 6 and 8, and after 10 i.e 12, 13, 14, 15 where our Achilles heel will be exposed.
Also 4 is heavily overrated, the going at 2, 3, and 4, is just going to be a shade too quick for these plodding huffing puffing has beens
8 Jul 2010, 21:37 pm
How emphatically stupid can you get?
A British gambler placed the biggest World Cup bet of all time on Germany to beat Spain in the World Cup semi-final – and lost.
The £417,000 wager – that’s half a million Euros – was placed with William Hill’s telephone betting service at odds of 10/11, meaning the punter would have walked off with just under £800,000 if Joachim Loew’s men had prevailed.
But Carles Puyol’s winning second-half header put paid to the punter’s dreams – and we doubt any fan in the world was screaming louder at their TV sets when the referee denied Germany a late penalty.
William Hill spokesman Graham Sharp admitted before the match that a Germany win would be a disaster, with the nation having received huge backing throughout the tournament including a £67,000 bet being placed on them before the championship at 14/1.
But Spain have also attracted the high-rollers, with one man putting £50,000 on Fernando Torres and co to lift the trophy.
8 Jul 2010, 21:58 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-174: Well obviously the man do have some real money, for a person erning 5000p.m a bet of say R1000 gives him an adrenelinrush(I am afrikaans, exuse spellng errors)But for an billionaire to get that same feeling or actually just making the bet wortwhile he will have to bet a million for exmple. I am betting on sport for 5years now, since turned 18, loving it. And if you are an sportsfanatic, its much more fun than going to a casino or any other form of gambling, good way of making some extra money or losing only an amount that wont have an effect on your life. Did you bet on sport at sometime / are betting on sport?
8 Jul 2010, 21:58 pm
Anyone know a webssite streaming the game…?
8 Jul 2010, 22:02 pm
By the way hello everybody, I am new. Read keo for long time now, but only registered now. Can someone finally please tell me what is it allabout the “dragon thing” on a first comment of an article??
8 Jul 2010, 22:04 pm
@jocuba(jocuba)-176: just google it….
8 Jul 2010, 22:06 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-174: In NZ punters are betting on the octopus.
8 Jul 2010, 22:25 pm
@Macgodiman(Macgodiman)-177:
welcome to the asylum
8 Jul 2010, 22:30 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-174:
At least he was a Pom.
8 Jul 2010, 22:32 pm
Octopussy dreamboat
imagine that, human sapient intelligent beings being led by the nose by some spineless underwater sea creature to forfeit their entire pickings on the whims of some bewitching tentacle?
Oh the glory of human life, how elevating and enlightening do we become with our advanced state of intelligent evolution?
Octopussy Galore – make a dem millions for the swarthy human idiots of creation.
to quote our pal Shakespeare
What a piece of work is man
How noble in reason
How infinite in faculty
In form and movement how like a God
being led by the snout by a clairvoyant Octopus
Natures advanced darling of creation sure has arrived at the pinnacle of universal intelligence
Sporting morons – nothing short of it. Idiots supreme.
8 Jul 2010, 22:36 pm
i’m tired of quotas : January, Kirchner & Chilli – hope boks lose by 20+ … w@nker PDV and his quotas… hou by die blou. Laat skopskiet en sy ounooi die mag van die blou bulle ervaar!
8 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-182:
hi skoppie,
in my humble opinion…
your best post ever on this blog..
loved it..
look forward to chatting face to face again
8 Jul 2010, 22:41 pm
makethecirclesmaller is heading for the laager – big time – in retreat – in reverse
gather them ossewaens closer broeders hir kom die kffrs beter jou onderbroek goed onderskerm.
8 Jul 2010, 22:44 pm
howdy Charo boet, you know where to find me when next in the omgewing
not too far from the madding crowd.
see ya anon.
8 Jul 2010, 22:58 pm
I see every cockroach kiwi crawled out of the woodwork the last couple of weeks,I would just love it if the Boks can give your team another whipping
8 Jul 2010, 23:00 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-182: Similar to throwing them bones in Africa
8 Jul 2010, 23:05 pm
@JL1(JL1)-187:
Then out comes the rat.
8 Jul 2010, 23:15 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-189: JL1 would be a ‘farking big’ rat…..I can tell you!!
8 Jul 2010, 23:21 pm
Da rat in my kitchen,hehe
Carol tell these Kiwis I make Bakkies nervous
8 Jul 2010, 23:25 pm
@JL1(JL1)-191: You look taller than Bakkies and wider than Andrew Sheridan!!
8 Jul 2010, 23:26 pm
@carol(carol)-192: I think you may be right,built for comfort not for speed
8 Jul 2010, 23:32 pm
@carol(carol)-192:
carol, stop exaggerating.
jl1 is a big soft pussycat – too nice and kind to intimidate anybody
8 Jul 2010, 23:45 pm
@JL1(JL1)-193: Oh I dunno, you seemed to put away that beer pretty quickly!!
8 Jul 2010, 23:47 pm
@charo(charo)-194: Exaggerate, me!!!
You OK Charo?
8 Jul 2010, 23:50 pm
Good evening.
8 Jul 2010, 23:53 pm
Whenever South African’s pound their chests in premature glory we lose and eat each other alive.
I feel another cannibalistic braai coming on.
My bones, brittle as they are, tell me that AB’s at Eden Park, will win by 4.
Fok.
Fok.
Fok.
But the game is played on the field and it appears that our players respect their opponents. Thanks be to the rugby gods. I am willing to sacrifice my Superbru points for a win.
8 Jul 2010, 23:55 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-197: Hey Soda, how are you doing?
8 Jul 2010, 23:56 pm
@carol(carol)-199: I was starting to worry that I had chased you all away.
Working hard.
Traveling too much.
Licking lamposts. It’s summer, it’s hot.
8 Jul 2010, 23:56 pm
I hate this little box in the bottom RH corner of my screen. When did that “innovation” occur?
8 Jul 2010, 23:57 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-198: If you have a bad feeling about the Boks I imagine hyou are nearly sucicidal when you think about the Lions and the forthcoming season?
@carol(carol)-196:
my patience is being stressed to the limit with ghana.
need another break before i strangle somebody.
took 1.5 hours tonight to complete an easy 30 minute journey.
why?
because normally civilized citizens lose all sense of decorum at intersections where traffic lights have long failed to operate.
the result?
gridlock of horrendous proportions….simply because man does not trust man to give and take……and basic greed takes over.
thought i was back in lagos
anyway…eventually made it home for some chop and a cold beer.
I would like do the chest pounding just for once or maybe a couple of times,is it too much to expect that our Boks must stand and deliver,they are after all wearing a Bok on their chests
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-201: Frightfully irritating little box…..
8 Jul 2010, 23:59 pm
Ok I feel like I have been away for a while.
What’s the gossip?
Grant been vindicated?
Transformation converted everyone to soccer & the Mighty Elephants?
Miss Ghana still devastated?
Pink Panther still fighting with you all?
Good to have some rugby conversation.
Someone bring me up to speed.
9 Jul 2010, 00:01 am
I am using Safari on an Ipad and that little box does not exist,only on my desktop on Explorer
9 Jul 2010, 00:01 am
@carol(carol)-202: Who asked you about the fkg Lions. You’re quite cruel for a country lass.
I can’t tell you how much I hate them and their non-entity ambitions.
9 Jul 2010, 00:03 am
@JL1(JL1)-207: I use Firefox. It’s a pain, that serves no useful purpose. Kind of like when they did away with the arrow & post number response for a while. Work of pure genius.
9 Jul 2010, 00:03 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-206: No one gets vindicated on a kakpraat site like Keo
9 Jul 2010, 00:05 am
@JL1(JL1)-210: Surrey Boy. I ahve been away, so forgot. Human beings have a way of forgetting the bad.
You guys having lovely weather I see.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-209: What I do not get are these stupid ads aimed at us in the UK or are they aimed at Saffas travelling?
@charo(charo)-203: Sounds like rush hour in Oxford Charo….
9 Jul 2010, 00:08 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-206: The gossip is that Grant now supports Spain…I ask you!!!
9 Jul 2010, 00:09 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-211: Very nice the weather,one appreciates it more when you live here.Seems the USA did OK in the SWC except for that disgraceful draw against England.Those players should be flogged for that
9 Jul 2010, 00:10 am
So what does everyone think about Saturday’s game?
And I am calling, long odds maybe, Holland to win the World Cup too.
9 Jul 2010, 00:12 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-216: I am also thinking the Kaaskoppe to take it.Spain blew hot and cold in this SWC
@JL1(JL1)-215: England on those rare sunny days in summer is sublime, almost unbeatable. Every plant goes in to photosynthesis overload, mini-skirts on slightly plump ankles look great.
I hope the England team received a flogging, pathetic. A sad sad spectacle.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-206:
Yup, wet pantie is still a doooooooooooos boet! Nothing has changed there.
I’m nervous about Sat, gonna be a cracker tho………..
9 Jul 2010, 00:13 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-189:
Rats would give this plonker a good name.
9 Jul 2010, 00:13 am
@JL1(JL1)-217: They have the bad-temper and grumpiness to compress that horrible boring passing game of Spain’s to a rink a dink.
Although Spain were very impressive yesterday.
9 Jul 2010, 00:15 am
Well speak of the devil…………
9 Jul 2010, 00:16 am
@whatever(whatever)-219: Have to come to the defense of the Pink One. Very good value, likes good music, knows his rugby, and gives as good as he gets.
There are FARRRRRRRRRRR worse doos’ on Keo. By miles.
I would regard Agapanthus as a friend.
Don’t tell him though.
9 Jul 2010, 00:17 am
@whatever(whatever)-222: And the nat poep appears as you so rightly pointed out
9 Jul 2010, 00:17 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-220: Whoops, hello Waka. Your thoughts on Saturday. I unfortunately am feeling far less than confident.
9 Jul 2010, 00:18 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-216: I have put Holland to win, mind you have you seen my Football Superbru placing..Not as impressive as my rugby ones!!
@JL1(JL1)-224: ag come on dude you’re better than that.
@carol(carol)-213:
hi carol,
been to oxford but never experienced any traffic jams.
believe me, one has to experience a jam in africa….the facade of “civilization” disappears within seconds and becomes “survival of the fittest”.
the only redeeming factor is the way some (only a few) of the drivers keep a semblance of a sense of humour.
for most, it is the worst example of road rage.
didn’t take me long to realise that these guys aren’t yet ready for mechanised transport.
Tight five dominance will make or break the team
I like the way Jannie has started to play
9 Jul 2010, 00:19 am
@carol(carol)-226: Soccer world cup was very hard, early rounds impossible to predict. I tae my hat off to those guys on top. Very impressive. I made a late come back to mid-table. Beating Grant & Just-Rugby, being held off by RobZim by 0.25. Bastrd.
9 Jul 2010, 00:20 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-227: If he is a mate of yours then he is a mate of mine
I actually wanted to invite him for a braai
9 Jul 2010, 00:21 am
@JL1(JL1)-229: Good point. With smit at 2, Guthro in incredible form, even Jannie Poep has looked very good.
But still ….
If Bakkies gets fkn sent off or binned or whatever again I will personally shoot the doos.
9 Jul 2010, 00:22 am
@JL1(JL1)-231: I would have you and BP over for a braai any day of the week. At least some semblance of intelligence and sense of humor.
9 Jul 2010, 00:23 am
I reckon Thorne is good but he’ll he is now old,surely the ABs would do no worsre by playing one of the light weights
9 Jul 2010, 00:26 am
@JL1(JL1)-234: Ross is very good. They could always play the Crusaders 8′th man at 4 too he is bulky enough, and slow enough.
9 Jul 2010, 00:29 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-235: Now there is an idea,convert a loose forward to play lock
That VIto and Kaino both disappear when the going gets tough,Henry made a big boob when he let Jerry Collins go
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-230: Well Robzim will put Holland to win!!
Anyway later all
9 Jul 2010, 00:31 am
Me too. Adios. See you through the window.
9 Jul 2010, 00:37 am
@JL1(JL1)-238: To be fair you are far thinner than Andrew Sharridan!!!
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-225:
Charmer.
Y’know what, Ive been less interested about rugby. Just completely immersed in the football, lovin it. My daughter is an anorak (just selected for a county team too) and my youngest on his way there, so great times watching sport with yr kids.
Your homeland has put on a great spectacle, you can be rightly proud. Colourful, awesome stadia, has put SA in a good light. I was hoping Bafana Bafana would go all the way, dreams are free, and more proud of the All Whites than I have been of any NZ team in memory (altho NZ rowing 8 in ’72 still springs a tear).
And now a really interesting Final. Everyone seems to have fallen for the Matadors but Im not so sure, those Dutch have a real hard edge to them. They will take in a win-at-all-costs attitude. Strange how prevalent and strong that gene has been in the blood….
As to EP on Saturday ? Not so sure. At this stage Im happy the way NZ is slowly building. Im sure it will still be an up’n'down season results wise – atleast Im, sorta, ‘hoping’ it will be. The attitude is essential. The last thing we Kiwis want now is an unbeaten season going in to the RWC, happy for your boys to continue beating their chests (look around…..). Lots of that about here, crikey. The Boks look strong and have had great seasons for their clubs so must be brimming with confidence, and rightly so. People tell me this ‘rivalry is back’ but Im not sure it ever left ?! Im just hoping for a good match but my real attention with be ON Sth Africa come Sunday, not Saturday. Lets worry about that later.
Just back from 4 days of golf in Madrid. Great to be there for Spains QterF and then Rafas victory at SW19. The palce was going nutssss – VAMOS !!! They sure do love their sport those Madristas. Great town, 1 of my very favourites.
Im off to see Pat Metheny on Sat pm, my boss is shouting me (we have a shared passion for rock). Lovin the I Am Kllot new album, could be their commercial breakthru. Got the Crowded House out of national obligation. Not sure it pulls my strings. Favourite album of the year remains the Black Keys, damn hot. You ?
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-239: cheers me old duck…..
Sorry who is Andrew Sharridan when he is at home?
9 Jul 2010, 00:39 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-232:
If that happened, Eden Park would go mo fo crrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrazy !
9 Jul 2010, 00:39 am
@charo(charo)-228:
See you Charo, good luck on your next journey!
9 Jul 2010, 03:18 am
@JL1(JL1)-187: Yes I guess you would slime ball, but then you have already conceded the notion they are going to win with your own words ” I would just love it IF the Boks CAN….”
Keep HOPING…
9 Jul 2010, 03:21 am
Far more to the point, this is going to be a cracker of a series..the AB’s wanting their Mojo back, the Boks wanting to keep theirs and the Wallabies trying to create something. What it will come down to are three very simple things. Desire, game plan and execution. No more, no less!! Good luck to all and enjoy.
9 Jul 2010, 03:23 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-232: There’ll a be a package taped under seat 12a, row 13.
9 Jul 2010, 07:47 am
I also think that there will be quite a change and a surprise for the All Blacks with our scrummaging.
So we will now have two set pieces which we can launch our attacks from.
I also hope that we can utilize our rolling maul to better effect which sometimes we just don’t use enough.
9 Jul 2010, 08:41 am
@iceman(iceman)-248:
Good point, a reasonable one. Smit definitely adds more solidity to the Boks scrum at hooker than he ever did at prop. Not sure about J.DuP tho, looks rather average. Saw him dismantled by Crusaders this season and struggled elsewhere too (Highlanders). Steenkamp has certainly come on this season, and Franks is still a work in progress for ABs. So should be an interesting battle up front.
Given Bok dominance at lineout last season, it will only take a small improvement there from NZ to unsettle them a bit. ABs now have Kaino and Read supplementing Donnelly so more options there, albeit no Matfield as a go-to man.
What Boks gain with Smit at 2 they certainly lose in the loose without Biz, who was sensational throughout TriN’09. If I was as disrespectful as the pieces-of-***** here (hi, HG !) I would even call him Suarez given his repeated offending. But you wont find hypocrites like that on my watch.
9 Jul 2010, 10:08 am
@nama1(nama1)-168: Flipping blazes that is funny. LOL.
9 Jul 2010, 10:21 am
@iceman(iceman)-248: Yes I have no doubt the surprise will be losing at it!!