Pietersen returns

JP Pietersen is back in the Sharks starting team for their match against the Bulls at Kings Park.

Pietersen injured his knee against the Blues and missed the final three weeks of the Super 14 and the Boks’ June internationals. With Jean de Villiers currently playing out of position on the wing for the national side, some strong showings could see Pietersen return for the home-leg of the Tri-Nations.

Elsewhere, John Plumtree has named Pat Lambie at centre, while Louis Ludik shifts to fullback. Rory Kockott is dropped for scrumhalf Charl McLeod for Saturday’s match against the defending champions.

Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanche (c), 12 Patrick Lambie, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Steve Meyer, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Skholiwe Ndlovu, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Andries Strauss.