Rossouw cleared

Danie Rossouw has passed a fitness test and will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.

Rossouw, who was named in the starting team for the suspended Bakkies Botha, tweaked his calf in training on Tuesday and was in doubt for the Wellington Test. However, he was cleared on Thursday to start alongside Victor Matfield in the second row.

‘I’m relieved,’ said Matfield. ‘Danie and I played a lot of games for the Bulls as a lock pairing this year and it’s nice to know that he will be there. It always helps if you and the guy next to you are familiar with one another.’

Flip van der Merwe had been called out as cover, but will remain on the sidelines. Andries Bekker was expected to start if Rossouw was still injured, but the Stormers lock will stay on the bench.

49 Comments

• 1.bananas: Reply to this comment

Some good news

• 2.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Great news.

• 3.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Danie should of started the 1st test already. Bakkies just wasnt up to speed. Silly error by PDV.

• 4.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-3:

Sometime he has too much faith in his coaches.

• 5.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-4: :-) LOL

• 6.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

How come these guys can clear a sprained muscle or stretched tendon in 2 days?

When I pull a muscle jogging, or hurt something at the gym, I feel it for two weeks.

If a guy is declared fit does it mean he is now 100% cured? Or does it just mean that the pain is sufficiently reduced that with strong pain killers he will be able to take to the field on Saturday?

Cause I have to question how a guy can be unable to train on a Tuesday, and then suddenly be ready to go full pace for 80 minutes at the highest level of international rugby a few days later.

Anyway, great to have Danie back. As always, he is a staatmaker.

• 7.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: If you extrapolate that, they should be able to clear a shattered femur in, say, two and a bit weeks?

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-7:

Sorry. Been a long day and I’m a bit tired. So I haven’t the energy to read your comment 4 times and ruminate on it to try and decide whether you’re agreeing with me or having a subtle go at the point I was trying to make.

Can you just tell me outright which of the two it is, please?

• 9.RedMan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: I’ve always wondered this.

One can only imagine, or hope, that the reason for missing training was a practice of extreme caution.

I’m sure these okes play with so many niggles most of the time anyway, that they are very rarely 100% fit.

• 10.Faust: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-8: LOL

now even my head hurts….

Isn’t it maybe a case of if even the smallestthing is wrong, they stop you from doing anything and just treat the issue (with whatever)….reckon if you had a team working on your leg, you would probably be jogging the next day!

• 11.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-8: :-)

• 12.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-8: Let me answer that by saying that I’m not sure now whether you’re sarcastic or just paranoid.

Does that help you?

• 13.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: Do you know how many times I have wondered that myself?

I would love for Keo to get the feedback from the Bok Fitness coach!

• 14.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-12:

Sigh.

I should have known. Even in addressing my simple request, you have to make a word game out of it. A mental puzzle I had to stubmle my way through.

Rest assured I was not being sarcastic.

As for the rest: No one has ever accused me of being paranoid, unless they did so behind my back.

And if they did, I would respond to say that just because you’re paranoid, doesn’t mean they’re not watching you.

• 15.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: It’s medication, the same type that allowed Fourie Du Preez to play the whole season with an injured shoulder for the Blue Bulls but then be unavailable for Springbok duty for the rest of the year and leave us saddled with ricky January.. ;)

• 16.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-15:

Wow. Even I’m starting to regret that, given the horrible suffering January is inflicting on us.

• 17.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-16: Yes, thanks very much, we really appreciate the hospital pass lol. Seriously though, the real loser in this article is Flip. He’s called over, won’t even be on the bench and now can’t play for the Bulls this weekend. They will really miss him i think….

• 18.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: It’s the way they eat and train, their body’s are in such good condition that they heal faster.

But the main reason is the ice baths because when you get into an ice bath the icy cold water causes your blood vessels to tighten and drains the blood out of your legs. Your legs feel cold and numb.
    So when you get out of the bath, your legs fill up with ‘new’ blood that invigorates the muscles with oxygen to help the cells function better.
    At the same time, the more blood coming into your legs will have to leave as well, draining away and at the same time taking with it the lactic acid that has built up.

Looks like I wrote that but I copy and pasted a bit, makes more sense than totally using my own words.

• 19.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-18:

Are you telling me these guys have to get in an “ice bath” after every game? A literal bath of ice water? Like that Lawrence Pugh Arctic Speedo Swimmer madman?

They couldn’t pay me enough to do that. What next? Expect me to put my toes in the water at a Cape Town beach?

What are they masochists or something?

• 20.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-18:

I suppose wearing a wet suit into these “ice baths” would defeat the purpose, right?

• 21.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-20: Ja hulle klim in ‘n ys bad na elke liewe game.

The new thing the soccer players do in Europe is treating injuries with horse placenta, apparently it works really well.

• 22.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

This tour is starting to sound like 2006 Trinations! Come on boys, get it together!!!!

• 23.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-21: Wonder what makes horses so special? Why not cow, goat etc I wonder.

• 24.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

..or human?

• 25.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-24: I have no idea, there’s not a lot of information on the subject and the woman who gives the treatment charges 3000 euro’s a session

• 26.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-25: Sounds suspect to me. :twisted:

• 27.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-14: Okay, if you must know, I was just making a joke to express my disbelief at the rate at which these players heal. We all know that no one can heal a shattered femur in a couple of weeks. Not even Superspies. It was an exaggeration, but not at your expense. It seems you are a little paranoid.

• 28.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

Some nice placenta recipes out there. :shock:

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-6: this was just a ruse to deplete the blue bulls’ lock stocks even further! :D now flip is on vacay in kiwiland and the sharks are licking their lips :razz:

• 30.Ig: Reply to this comment

Go to hear. Pity WO hasn’t be injured or run over by a bus.

• 31.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-28: don’t women use it in make up??

Sound like someone is guilty of some horseplay…

• 32.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-31: Wouldn’t surprise me.

• 33.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-31: Looks like it’s in men’s products as well.

• 34.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@racheltjiedebeer(racheltjiedebeer)-33: not much of a metrosexual am I…..Shaving cream, soap and shampoo only for me…Which is just as well because I’m a bit OCD and my wife once suggested I use some of her conditioner and it said lather, rince, repeat…I was in the shower most of the day before i could stop.

• 35.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-34: :mrgreen:

• 36.gunther: Reply to this comment

Tac surely not.

“No one has accused me of being paranoid unless they did so behind my back.”

QED.

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-30: yoh, IG easy dude…

• 38.Ig: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-37: Yea well when they pick the correct player at 12 – i won’t have to be so pissed about it.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-38:

Baby!!!!

Howzit.

Do you have a baby yet.

• 40.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-19:

Hey

Lawrence Pugh is not a madman.

• 41.gunther: Reply to this comment

I don’t think there is much traffic in new zealand.

You will have to wait until he returns home.

• 42.katman: Reply to this comment

Hey Ig. Wazzup.

• 43.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

Danie vader! Nou voel ek n bietjie beter oor die span

• 44.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

Danie is ‘n groot wa soos dié perde wat trek die groot karre op die mark.

PEOPLE say he is old.

BUT

WE have the perfect replacement in FUDGE MABETHA . A STAR FOR THE FUTURE.

• 45.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#29 transformation do not worry about the bulls they still have kruger and steenkamp to play at lock and they will do fine as they are two good players.

• 46.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Transformation i stand corrected kruger is injured and is not playing,mabeta is playing alongside steenkamp.

• 47.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Good news. Lets hope he does not get his jersey pulled like Bakkies last week cos he has a mean temper.

• 48.Predawn : Reply to this comment

Good solid player with essential experience. One enforcer for another and he’s as solid as a house on the run. He might make Bekker look good in this game too.

• 49.king george: Reply to this comment

Januarie’s feed from broken play is way to slow…way to slow…

SA rugby has potentially the match winning no 8 but where is he ?
    wait wait…rotting away in a shark freezer
    let’ be honest here yeah…
    p spies, r kankowski aren’t gonna run the 100m dash against the AB’s in the tri nations nogal a WC2011 in NZ.
    Willem Alberts is guarenteed real estate he will always win u 5/6m gained f, .rom the back of a scrum, his height would allow him to challenge or take from the line out..his defence was outstanding considering all the tackling the sharks were doing this whole super12…W Alberts springbok no 8…
    doubts….?
    maybe he wudn’t last the full 80 so then we bring on that prancing, 100m dash, affies wing P Spies..
    somebody second here !

these classic battles against our lil island foes have always been a clash of NZ style vs SA ferocity…
    SA always dominates NZ when we’re able to bully their forward pack..just go back and look @ the beginnin of our ascendency to overpowering the AB’s it was something Jake read into thats why cool Luke(what’s his name) cudn’t make the team good as he was…same thing with francios louw..when is this oak gonna steal the ball with j caino giving him a wedgie..
    schalk needs 2 revive his early career form without brussouw it’ gonna be a bruiser of a tri-nations boys and girls…

come sat I say start with all 3..matfield, bekker and rossouw no 7…bliksem the hell out of that black jersey til it’s pale white

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.