Blacks outclass flailing Boks
17 Jul 2010
JON CARDINELLI reports on the All Blacks’ 31-17 hammering of the Springboks in Wellington.
Unbelievably, the Boks found themselves trailing by six points at half-time. Considering their inconsistent defensive efforts, their inability to adapt to Alain Rolland’s relaxed and sometimes negligent style of officiating, and their failure to impose themselves on attack, they should have been buried by the All Blacks before the break.
After the Bakkies Botha headbutt in Auckland, you’d think the Boks would have embraced a more disciplined attitude. They needed to up their physicality after the hammering at Eden Park. They didn’t need to concede another yellow card.
Botha’s replacement, Danie Rossouw, probably didn’t get that memo. After just three minutes, a light kick on New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw earned him a stint in the sin-bin.
The All Blacks scored 10 points in Rossouw’s absence, but the one-man disadvantage was no excuse for some shocking defending. The hosts displayed excellent continuity through their surge and offload strategy. They had threatened the Boks’ wide channels earlier in the game, and exploited this space for an opening score by Ma’a Nonu.
Poor ball security by the Boks handed the All Blacks their second opportunity, and though Rolland missed a Kiwi hand in the ruck, you couldn’t fault the hosts for finishing. A bobbling ball was hacked away by Mr Inconsistency himself, Ricky Januarie, and his opposite number, Piri Weepu, spun a beautiful pass to Mils Muliaina, who outstripped the Bok cover to score.
The South African attack was unimaginative, and were often smashed back by the hungrier All Blacks heavies. A South African surge would be culled, the ball would fly back to Morne Steyn, and the inevitable garryowen would follow. Though the All Blacks battled at times to field the slippery ball, the mistake wasn’t punished by the Boks.
When the All Blacks fielded the deep kicks, the counter-attack was always on. If they used the boot, Dan Carter would kick back at the Bok-back three knowing the defensively-minded Jean de Villiers and Zane Kirchner would never threaten the All Blacks’ defence from deep. When Gio Aplon arrived in the second period, he provided the spark and penetration the Boks lacked. Coach Peter de Villiers missed a trick but not handing Aplon a start.
Januarie, Jean de Villiers and Rossouw made some sort of atonement for their earlier sins, combining sweetly for a Bok try at the end of the first half. Januarie held up the pass to create the space for the line-breaking De Villiers. The Boks cleared the ruck and Rossouw, playing in his 50th Test, showed incredible strength to fight his way over the line.
This try followed an incident where Rene Ranger was let off for a shoulder charge in plain sight of the referee and his assistant Alan Lewis. It pained to see Ranger scoring after half-time, and if he’s cited, it will affirm the fact that the Wellington officials made a costly gaffe in failing to show him yellow.
But it would be unfair to label the miss game-costing. The Boks let themselves down badly on defence, conceding four tries in all with replacement Israel Dagg embarrassing a series of defenders for the match clincher. Their discipline was poor, they were again outmuscled by a hungrier and smarter pack, and perhaps the scariest thing of all was the fact that Carter missed two penalties and three conversions to lend the scoreline an unreflective look.

244 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
17 Jul 2010, 22:36 pm
Louis Oosthuizen from SA is 4 shots ahead of his nearest rival, Paul Casey, after the 3rd round of The Open.
Here’s holding thumbs Louis. Bring the title back home.
Will make up for the kak display by the Boks earlier this morning.
17 Jul 2010, 22:38 pm
as lomg as Plod is captain the downward spiral will intensify…..
He is bloody useless…personally i have no idea how he can look in a mirrow…..he must know its all over….he is dragging the team down….make the hard calls PDV….or be rememberd as a weak spineless coach.
18 Jul 2010, 00:11 am
@nama1(nama1)-199:
Ja, but now say it with real conviction
OK, the Bulls and Boks are tops.
Just remove Januarie and get a decent fullback. Even with unprofessional coaches who aren’t worthy to tie Heyneke Meyers’ laces, we’ll still dominate the world of rugby. As long as the right guys are picked.
Here is my little bit of wishful thiking and what I think they should change (start from bottom):
a) Gary Botha in @ hooker. Smit to bench (or conditioning program).
b) BJ Botha prolonged time at 3.
c) Deon Stegmann in @ 6.
d) Juan Smith immediate start at 7.
e) Pienaar @ 9, Hougaard the backup @ 20. Ricky can go play for ther Osprey’s (if they’ll take him).
f) Jean de Villiers @ 12, Wynand on bench.
g) Gerhard van den Heever in @ 14.
h) Francois Steyn and PdV kiss and make up, in @ 15.
See? No problems at all, stronger than last years team- small simple changes that we can do NOW. We should be stronger. The reason we dominated last year is because we had no weaklings. JJP was off form and Smitty too- bouncing around @ 3. But our defence saved the day.
Should I leave my contact-number so that the Bok-management can reach me for further advice?
18 Jul 2010, 03:31 am
South Africa Lost to the All Blacks. It wasn’t the referees fault. It wasn’t the All Blacks fault. They just lost. Deal with it and move on. They are a great team and they will sort themselves out.
Facts from the game last night: The Springboks were warned for “Not releasing the ball” the same amount of times that the All Blacks were warned for “Off your feet in the tackle”. Neither team received a yellow card. The referee decided to let the game flow. The All Blacks concede 10 penalties to the Springboks. The Springboks conceded 9 penalties to the All Blacks. The All Blacks won by more than the 10 points they scored while the Springboks had 14 men on the field. Rene Ranger did not shoulder charge the Springbok. He did receive a penalty for it though. Rene Ranger was spear tackled by a Springbok and the Springboks did not get a penalty. Instead a Springbok player has now been cited and will face the judiciary and so on and so on and so on…….
All of the above sounds like a game of Test Rugby. It just so happens that this game of Rugby was dominated by the All Blacks. Get the lemons out of your mouths and learn to enjoy a good game of rugby.
18 Jul 2010, 03:52 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-203: Hard to find positives, but it was refreshing to see the change in momentum when Ruan came on – immediately the Boks got front foot ball as a result of his quick service and zippy accurate passing. I don’t think we would have won if Ruan started but it would have been a very different game. How come everyone else can see the difference in quality with Ruan on except for the Bok coach?
18 Jul 2010, 04:27 am
@Whiteheart(Whiteheart)-204:
H A L L E L U J A H !!!!!!!!!!!!!
what a depressing thread this has been until the likes of yourself (and a rare few others) turned up. Respec’ !!!
18 Jul 2010, 04:37 am
@Whiteheart(Whiteheart)-204: ‘Rene Ranger did not shoulder charge the Springbok.’ And this therefore means that the Pope is not Catholic.
18 Jul 2010, 05:02 am
@Whiteheart(Whiteheart)-204:
well said!
18 Jul 2010, 05:16 am
Yes again well beaten by All Blacks who were a better team no questions.
That said
Danie should not have been given yellow
Zan had a better game Steyn is still our 15
habana poor game
Jdv should be at 12 please its obvious Play aplon at 14 or Van de heever
Yes must be a change at 9 not sure ruan is the answer
Ricky was not that bad today
Spies Please just send him home
Play vermeulen he can play with his team on the back foot
bring back Juan
Skalk and Louw were fine but had to play for matfield and Spies
WHY NO BJ STARTING???????????
Sorry Victor and John you off form and well not playing well
Bring in Botha or Bismark
Play Bekker and Danie at locks
18 Jul 2010, 05:21 am
Oh also get the tackling bags out please ????
18 Jul 2010, 05:48 am
2 passangers on the field today
J smit
Spies
V. Poors games
habana
olivier
Matfield
18 Jul 2010, 07:17 am
I think people here are ungrateful to Alain Roland
He HANDED us on a plate the RWC 2007 trophy against a formidable Pom pack, he HANDED us on a plate the ABs in Bloem last year.
Roland should have penalised Steenkamp on at least 5 times for dropping th scrum and Habana for being a runner in front of the kicker on at least 4 occasions, Januaarie’s little dirty work went unnoticed too
What exactly are we complaining about?
18 Jul 2010, 07:19 am
Danie was a complete idiot to push out that cynical lazy boot to the head of McCaw, lying prone and defenceless.
It was unnecessary and unsporting and — in the light of Bakkies’ sin of a week earlier — begging for a card. It wasn’t ever going to seriously maim or injure McCaw, but it was going to say “I’ll kick you if I think nobody’s looking, just to show you I’m really a pretty serious alpha male.”
These guys just don’t seem to learn anything at all from a team-mate’s punishment, do they? Every clown has to re-invent his own personal disciplinary wheel and then present it to the ref for a coat of yellow or red paint.
Hats off to the ref for coming down hard on these senseless displays of territorial-spraying from those knuckle-dragging klip-en-kouk yokels from Snor City. They are a bit of a national embarrassment, aren’t they?
18 Jul 2010, 07:20 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-212:
For me I am not complaining but Danies deal was no yellow
18 Jul 2010, 07:24 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-213:
It’s rugby Richie and his boys do it too
It was no yellow card
18 Jul 2010, 07:52 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-215:
when?
18 Jul 2010, 07:54 am
@ricane(ricane)-216:
Well its been a while or have just missed your posts?
18 Jul 2010, 07:55 am
Screw you ,you yellow belly chicken runner !!
18 Jul 2010, 08:01 am
Hey h’can.
yeah, it’s been a while.
Busy at work through early season, we now have a lifestyle (life sentence farm as well) and coaching sons rugby team taking priority over Keo.
Took the boys to the caketin on yesterday though (seated front row 10m from Daggs cameo try) which has got me excited about it all again!!
18 Jul 2010, 08:02 am
@204 you forgot to mention Zane’s high tackle. I’m reading a lot of complaints about Rangers shoulder, but I’ve seen nothing about Zanes head high tackle.
18 Jul 2010, 08:06 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-203: Although I agree with some of what you have said, there are some gaps in your thought. You cannot leave Schalk out of the team. He was the only decent player in the last two games and is playing his heart out and getting all over the park. Without him there we would have lost by much further. You forgot to mention that we need a new coach. He has proven that he is not up to the task and should now take it upon himself to step down if he has any values or class. Spies needs to be sent back to CC. He is not international quality. I would not agree with putting Gary Botha in the team, I think he is overrated. I do agree that Smit needs to go.
18 Jul 2010, 08:38 am
Head???? Which game were you watching??? And if that was a yellow, the “cynical shoulder” from the AB wing deserved to be sent off …..
18 Jul 2010, 08:39 am
And they are just as much a national embarrassment as the Kiwi team last year, when you did not post a thing …
18 Jul 2010, 10:26 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-215: Referee Rolland said it WAS a yellow card, and therefore it WAS a yellow card. A referee is the sole judge of fact.
18 Jul 2010, 10:42 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-75:
You cannot count any of those…they are either injured or PDV does not think they are worthy.
Any Bok side with those you mention that were missing would have been klapped…the AB’s were that good.
Get in your hole and cry….only come out if you have the balls to admit that your boks were trumped.
The AB’s will beat the wallabies but at least I can say that…your arrogance bends you over time and time again.
18 Jul 2010, 11:01 am
Why do we have to put up with these third world referees? Why he did not give 4-5 yellows to the Bokke beggars my imagination. Time to get rid of the racist Gerrymander, aka IRB.
18 Jul 2010, 15:31 pm
HEY SAFFIES…Take a teaspoon of cement and toughen up,your excuses are hilarious…bad coach,wrong players being chosen,quotas,referees….maybe,just maybe you were outplayed by a superior team,and maybe your so called golden generation isn’t that golden after all,did you really think the rest of the world was going to sit back and admire your’AMAZINGLY, GIFTED PLAYERS for the next few years and do nothing about it.According to most on these forums this is the worst AB outfit ever….or has opinion changed a little…probably not,because like AB fans saffies are just as one eyed…..The AB,S are on the up ,players like Kieren Reid were immense and put so called superstars like Spies in the shade.
SUCK IT UP,SAFFIES……..NUMERO UNO,BABY
18 Jul 2010, 15:40 pm
referee rolland has reffed some good results for the bokke, but the man is a complete idiot, i am convinved he is totally inept.
i thought klip-en-koke Danie had an outstanding game other than for his moment of stupidity, but the boys were obviously psyhed, in fact Danie, Ricky and Schalk all had very good games.
Couple of soft breakaway tries, but i think the \bokke pack is better than these kiwis especially when \bismarck, beasty and brussow back into the bargain bucket.
18 Jul 2010, 15:42 pm
in short, i feel this may be part of the \maestro’s masperplan, to lull the kiwis into a faslse sense of security before a solid pasting at the \rwc2011. my ticket is booked, i am certain its going to happen.
18 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
It looks like South Africa may have doubled their attacking game as the one of the ruck and the occasional pick and go seemed to have them moving forward. Expect more of that when we play them at home I guess.
A strange game with the ABs starting to kick in the 2nd half. The ball retention did not seem as good from players like Ranger and Nonu but they both ran well. I would still play Gear instead of Ranger. GH is just thinking of utility type players for a WC squad but Ranger seems to me as another Toeava who will keep other in form talent from getting a run.
Overall another great performance by the ABs. Weepu and Read were very good.
A number of people on here were taking the mickey out of Dagg during the S14. How good was that try
18 Jul 2010, 16:01 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-211: You a WP supporter? looks like it, January’s bad game – Schalk not securing the ball at breakdowns Jacques Fourie’s defence, Habana’s slippery fingers……… wow just pick on the BB and Sharks players why don’t you
18 Jul 2010, 16:03 pm
Cab, your in complete denial….forward pack better than ours….your props are 1 dimentional dinosaurs,that offer nothing outside of scrumming….oh and by the way your head to head world cup record against the ABs is’nt that good either
18 Jul 2010, 16:10 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-232:
yep, we need to just get back to the team that pounded you fellas in 2009 and Spies to get some benchtime, but otherwise i dont see anything to fear. i am telling u right now, and will put more ballsack on the line, not like these other prime wisselaars, the bokke are going to life the trophy downunder.
18 Jul 2010, 16:10 pm
Im a bit bemused.
Why on Earth did this ‘journalist’ feel the need to expand on the game beyond the heading ? Dont go ruining all that good investigative analysis by then thinking you need to justify the Whys and Hows to your intrepid disciples here.
But, now that we’re already some way down the garden path, a couple of Questions for you, JC:-
1. how was Rollands’ refereeing style ‘negligent’ ? Was it that he failed to spot these conniving ‘AB hands in the ruck’ whilst also failing to call back Bok chasers who were no less than 5metres passed Steyn and Januarie every time they put up a garryowen ?
or was it because he allowed Fourie to repeatedly enter the ruck from the side, clearly (see approx 75th min), like the big dumb narcisstic galoot that he is after he realised he had absolute nothing to add in a backline that never saw any ball ?
Lets not fool ourselves that only NZ indiscrepancies go unnoticed. That would be negligent of you, JC.
2. No matter how many IFs and Buts you are attempting to apply to Rangers try coming after a marginal ‘shoulder charge’ – BOTH his arms make contact – in no way can these then disapply when considering that Sideshow Bob nearly beheaded C.Jane with an intentional head-high tackle that saved a near-certain try. So, how come you mention 1 incident and completely ignore the other ? Because, JC, to fail to do so would be, now whats the word Im looking for……..um…….
NEGLIGENT ?
18 Jul 2010, 16:13 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-232: @bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-232: Come on son, the Boks are the best team ever, with the best coach ever. Ever.
They are the best and were beaten ONLY by the naughty referee and Ritchie McCheat.
Now if the world was fair, the press would love P Divvies outlandish stories, laugh with him as he blames the referee and agree with pieboy Smit when he says the boys will come out fighting.
The Boks are the best, anyone who disagree is clearly racist and has an agenda and loves Jake White and the old SA flag.
And all this on Mandela day.
18 Jul 2010, 16:15 pm
@garth(garth)-221:
Ja but look now boet:
With Bismarck out there is only Tiaan, Adriaan and Gary really. I’m not of the opinion that the latter is overrated, perhaps he’s underrated. HE was on many peoples’ lists for unlucky players to have been left out of the Boks squad. (really Chiliboy and Maku?!?!) SO no. And I just love how Matfield took on PdV in front of the whole world concerning the matter- so ja.
On the coach- I said what can be done immediately to improve the situation- player-wise. Not the coaches. I meant as in tomorrow.
We had Hougaard, Potties, Flip vd Merwe all sitting on the sidelines on Saturday when they could have help us against a good Sharks outfit. (Although there really isn’t a quick-fix cure to shitless refs- just needs experience.)
On the Burger issue- well, that’s our opinions- the two of us. Burger has been doing most of the defending, great stuff. In the first game (the last time I watched the Boks) Burger froze and let Mils through and a try came 10 seconds later. Ricky put up a poor kick- Roco sent it to Mils immediately, Burger shot up and all of a sudden had to cover 15 and 12. WHat did he do? Nothing- didn’t go for either of them.
I din’t watch this **** yesterday- but the artilces say Burger did it again.
First of all, Burger is class. OK Juan Smith to 7, and Burger to the bench and Brussow to 6. Fine right? LAst year we were on the rampage with Burger on the bench. Things change from season to season, I know.
Oh noes! We don’t have Brussow! What to do?! Stegmann forheavensake. Burger can’t fetch. Burger is slow (comparitively). So I’d rather have a zippy flank breakaway from the scrum infield, ok? You know, one that can still tackle and rapidly get to his feet and pin the ball. It’s not a lost art you know!
RE Spies. I do think he’s international quality. I’d even put him at 14 rather than do something drastic like send him back to the CC. The other guys are Potties and Kanko to cover 8- please no! I’d love to have Vermeulen there rather. Spies wasn’t as bad as they make out, but ja, because of our expectations he gets the most criticism.
18 Jul 2010, 16:17 pm
rolland is a hometown ref, he lacks a backbone, henece the 50/50 decisions will inevitably go to the home team, hes a man of bias imo, easily-swayed.
Fitzpatrick is quite right, its a good start by this fairly young kiwi team, but i feel the bokke left alot of chances out there in that 2nd one.
Put Bismarck, Brussow, Beastly, Frans Steyn, Juan Smith and JP back into the squad with youngsters like De Jong and Mapoe coming thru and it’ll be a different story. Its not for nothing that the Bulls and WP dominated the S14.
However, what does need to alter slightly is the reliance on kick-chase, which is just laziness and conservativeness personified, kicking is fine, but the Boks now need to develop a more attacking attiude which De Villiers has tried to instill but which the snr fellas seem retiscent to take on.
18 Jul 2010, 16:17 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-234: BP the ref was *****, especially *****, in all departments. It’s what I have come to expect in rugby though, either we are all far better at knowing the rules than in the past, or the standards for refs has dropped.
Judging by the lack of refs in OZ, the politics in SA and I gather the small pool in NZ (who really wants to be a ref, you have to be a bit of a plonker to begin with), I’d say they are *****.
In general, all sides, no pretending, no malice, just *****. I think we can all agree on that.
Note, this is not an excuse, this is merely looking at refs.
18 Jul 2010, 16:23 pm
Shy te is the missing ••••••
18 Jul 2010, 17:00 pm
SIDESHOW BOB…….LOVE IT
18 Jul 2010, 18:00 pm
Have not been following the posts on this one. Toooo depressed! Its almost like a death in the family.
Recon the ABs were playing a similar game to what the Crusaders tried against the Bulls – twice. Maybe Snor and co (if they are not too proud!)should consult with Frans Ludeke on how to counter them.
Also, maybe now is a time for the changing of the guard. Our heroes of the past have done us proud but…. there comes a time.
18 Jul 2010, 19:08 pm
Stop this childish complaining about the ref. If you analyse any rugby match from the comfort of your couch with multiple camera angles and television replays you will always spot things the ref doesn’t.
If you’re a ref out on the pitch running about in a fast paced match i can only imagine how difficult it is to be aware of everything thats going on. You’d need about 4 refs around the field to spot everything. And that isn’t gonna happen.
So suck it up South Africa and just face it. The All Blacks are gonna be awesome this year and you’re not. The reason you lost is because your team looks past it and tactics are stale. You peaked in 2009, it was always gonna be downhill this year. Plus PdV is an awful coach.
Very good chance that Wallabies will beat you in Brisbane and you’ll be heading home 0 – 3 down. All Blacks will win in SA also so you’ll probably finish tri-nations 2 – 4. After that your next match in November is Ireland in Dublin where you’ve lost on last 3 occasions. You’re gonna get beat there again too.
Time for a big wake up call.
19 Jul 2010, 01:34 am
@chch(chch)-230: C’mon, give the guy a break. Not everyone starts as well as Dagg and to both their credits they were the coolest when it mattered most. Rene got the touchdown in that wonderful aerial style that only confident and capable players do. He mucked a couple of touches but he has the mongrel and skills and with some mentoring he will develop as they all do. Look at Piri, he’s back with a vengence after nearly being dropped all together. We should be celebrating the likes of Rene who add to our arsenal and will only get better in time. Nonu was another that took sometime to get his stride and I remember you bemoaning him over the last couple of years ago making comments about his hair etc etc….well you were wrong then, look how he is now he has his confidence. You were also wrong about Henry and Co and the NZRU keeping him on as well in favour of your beloved Deans. So before you start bagging the **** out players and people the first instant things dont go well stop and think what your writing as it comes back to haunt you. If you want to keep it up , move to SA.
19 Jul 2010, 12:23 pm
You guys can whine as much as you want to about the ref and Maccaw and Danie kicking some one , albeit not on his studio ..
What the real problem is , is the fact that all SA supporters are disgusted in how their team played. They wont admit it , but to blame the ref and all the other **** is just far easier.
Sol Kircher at no.15 is a joke , he cant tackle , he is a ****** , simple! Snor wont pick Frans Steyn , cos Frans Steyn has a video tape .. something to do with East London … JDV is not a wing , put Aplon in! Habana did nothing the last 2 tests give someone else a chance. Olivier and Fourie , sorry that combination did not work out against the all blacks . Learn from that PDV , Nonu and C Smith , are super 14 team mates.
Morne Steyn and Bricky Januarie , please take a look at Wepu and Carter, to see how to do things , having the Fly-half getting a pass on the front foot and while , moving forward to get the ball , actually helps. Dont give him the ball while he is stadning still. Spies , did nothing , FLO had a better game , Burger was a clown at best , please note his tackles and his arms around the throats of tackled players.. Saw one on Carter , someone needs to point that out to him. Matfield , not much to write about . The no.4 jersey …yet to see a full 80 minutes of rugby so far ..
Front row , BJ did nothing wondeful , nor CJ , Smit was disapoiting . I hope it is not a case of them holding on to him so he can get 100 test caps …. Have a look at the All blacks , Israel Dagg , Aaron Cruden , Sam whitelock , not sure how many there are but these are guy that did very well in the S14 and have been rewarded with test caps … I am NOT a blue bulls supporter , but i cant understand why Gary Botha was not playing , instead it is chilli-boy … Give Frans Hougaard a chance now that JDV is out. These guys have had great s14 seasons , reward them with a chance, stop carrying around dead weight , like January , our 3rd or 4th choice scrum half .
/end rant .
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All