Attacking ails show no plan

GRANT BALL writes that the Springbok backs’ failings and breakdown woes stem from an impotent attacking game.

Why did South Africa have the best players in the world during the Super 14, and only a few weeks later look out of their league on the international stage? Have the players’ abilities waned? The short answer is no, but the problem comes from the Boks’ one-dimensional attacking game.

The Boks’ kick-chase approach is still a valuable tactic if executed properly, but their major flaw is they look inept once they have possession in good areas of the field. Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana’s form have all been questioned, but why did they look so dangerous in the blue jerseys of the Stormers and Bulls, but look a shadow of those attacking forces now?

In the green and gold, those players clearly haven’t been given a plan of how they want to break down defences. The All Blacks aren’t all of a sudden superior physical specimens to the South Africans, it’s the clever way Graham Henry and co have used what they have at their disposal. The Kiwi brains are outplaying the Boks, who are over-reliant on their brawn.

It’s clear the Boks want to to play for territory, which is still the correct route under the new law interpretations. But once they have attacking options, they look clueless, and this can’t be blamed solely on the players.

Dick Muir has been a proponent of ‘heads up rugby’, but with little attacking structure under his control, the talented Bok backs haven’t been able excel. The Boks’ forward runners also aren’t dominating the collisions and handing their backs a decent platform to attack from, but this too can be blamed on the predictable nature of the attack. There is little subtlety or variety in the form of dummy runners, a la the 2007 World Cup. There the big Boks were running one-on-one at defenders, but now the Boks are facing a line of defenders who don’t need to guess where the ball is going.

All the All Blacks require is to man up in the physicality stakes, which they have done, and because they know where the ball is headed, the Boks are easily repelled as the Blacks can defend offensively. With a little imagination from the Boks (for example Danie Rossouw’s try where Ricky Januarie had options in Jean de Villiers and outside backs off the lineout), the Boks showed how difficult they could be to stop. Rossouw crashing over was a rare case of a Bok heavy dominating the collision. The reason for it: the improved attack.

Peter de Villiers has predictably blamed the officiating of the breakdowns as a cause for concern. While there may be some merit in that argument after Alain Rolland’s handling of the tackle area, the Boks would be better served looking at their own inadequacies rather than whining.

Just one example of the Boks’ own attacking failings is Mils’ Muliaina’s first half try. The Boks’ predictable forward runners halted, the ball was flung out to Steyn who shovelled on to an isolated Fourie. The rest of the Bok backs didn’t know the plan, the ball turned over, and the result was five points 75m down field.

The disconcerting point is why hasn’t the Boks’ attacking game evolved since 2007? Just look at Dublin last year as another apt example. It’s fair to say the Boks have at best stagnated, at worst, regressed.

The players can’t be blamed here. While De Villiers and Muir have talked a wonderful game in terms of the Boks’ attack, they haven’t once produced anything post-2007 to make their opponents worry.

By Grant Ball

Follow Grant on Twitter

120 Comments

• 1.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

It all starts with that fat DRAGON at #9, the improvement not only in the backline but the whole team was easy for all to see when he was replaced.

• 2.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-1:
    Yes his slow service his poor box up and unders and his knock ons
    We kick away too much possession
    ABs keep ball inhand dont kick away good ball and defend well when they kick

• 3.Lawman: Reply to this comment

Ha Ha.. love it. Saffas questioning themselves. Can’t wait until Cooper rips them up this Saturday. 0 from 3!

• 4.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Now that I got that off my chest, congrats to the ABs on yet another thrashing of the Boks. We can paint this a 1000 different ways but at the end we were outplayed comprehensively yet again.

I feel a little like a stuck record but what was said last week can just be repeated this week. Spies yet again dissapeared in a tight game, nowhere to be seen on attack or on defense. We can’t affors that when we play real rugby…

As for old slow poke, I have tickets for Saturday’s game but I will state on this public forum that if his name is called out yet again in the #9 jumper I WILL be supporting the Wallabies!

As for Meisiekind, like Spies he has had his opportunities in the G&G and again failed to deliver. With Jean not being there I assume I will have to watch him do it all over again on Saturday!!!

As for PDivvie, he fixed nothing from last Saturday and with his bunch of helpers managed to turn a star studded team into a bunch of bumbling fools…you can start gaining some respect by admitting wrong team selections and fixing them this coming weekend!

• 5.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

Ricky was miserable to watch… When Ruaan came on we seemed to play faster. Ricky’s time is up. Truth be told it was probably up 5 – 7 tests ago. PDV trusts him and gave him more chances than he deserves. Did not work out, time to move one.

One thing that bothers me though is the sneakiness of the AB’s at the breakdown. They arrive in number and one of their tight-five (usually a prop) will either hold onto our players standing around a ruck thus taking out a defender. i saw this happen numerous times. Flouw was also held a few times to prevent him from scavanging.

I think they also tried to get under our skins with little niggles targeted at our players they have identified as guys who lose it quickly. (Cowan tugging Bakkies and heavens knows what Richie did to Danie as examples) This is not new though. This is one area of the law that the AB’s have always exploited. Our guys need to wise up to this and learn not to respond by lashing out.

We need streetsmarts on the field. The coach now has a lot to prove. Tough decisions need to be made and i am at least hapy that we are experiencing all this a year before the WC.

• 6.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

lots of typos

:oops:

sorry

• 7.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Yep have to say that when the ball is passed in front of the flyhalf, it allows the backline to get away. Fatty boom boom passes to, or behind his flyhalf, making them stop, lose momentum, and lose half a second on the gain line. Ditto to forwards receiving the ball from him- which is why they never have momentum or line breaking speed to cross the gain line – they are going from a standing start. At this level it is about micro measurements.

Good passing is critical, and Januarie does not do it well. His technique is poor. To much time lost, both in the speed of the pass, and in the direction of the pass. That is why the flyhalf has more time to make better decisions when Fourie du P plays- he passes accurately, and in front of the players receifving the pass.

Januarie needs to
    - step into the ball with a wide stance and bend his front knee to get to the ball and retain stability that prevents interference from opposing heavies (and allows him to move quickly out of range of players flying over the top – an area he gets interfered with often)
    - use a single motion pass straight from the floor – not straighten up and take a step before passing
    - pass as if he was passing with a single hand (the back hand) – this gives more control of the ball, and the ball flies slightly sideways, which allows it to be caucght easily
    - pass in front of the players receiving the ball.

He can still snipe around the fringes if he sees there are no defenders, as he can turn the single motion in to a lunge for the gain line. At this level, he should have better technique. Strange that nobody has told him this?

It will make a huge difference on attack and speed on the ball, as well as our ability to cross the gain line, and prevent interference by opposing forwards at the ruck.

• 8.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-4: It was not the team selections- it was the game plan that was teh problem. As soon as we changed it (when Ruaan Pienaar came on) we gained parity with the AB’s in terms of attack and tries. We cannot expect to make up 10 points on them though. We neeed to start with eth right game plan, and make less mistakes on attaclk and defence than them. itis a grinding out of a win through consistent skills, and lack of mistakes in attack and defence.

The coach could have used more mobile forwards- like Beast and Chilliboy earlier on – though… Big, lumbering forwards days are over. The new game is fast, and requires fast, fit heavies.

• 9.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-5:

Don’t worry about the typos, that is why we have Tackles, he reviews everything and will let you know what was wrong!

The ABs have been doing that for years now, with McCaw getting away with murder on the ground they do well out of it. But don’t dispair, it will all come back to haunt them as it always does.

@Lawman(Lawman)-3: So what you expecting, congratulate ourselves on a better performance?

• 10.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok(SjamBok)-8:

Can’t agree with you there, the Bokke backline is terrible no creativity, penetration etc they remind me of the English backline.

• 11.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-9: WC in NZ would not be a bad time for karma to target the kiwis :mrgreen:

That being said i think they played awesome rugby over the last 2 weekends. They knew what they wanted to do, executed and won.

• 12.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok(SjamBok)-7: No, Januarie need to go back to club rugby where he belongs!

With him there we can forget about any gameplan, it stops even before it starts…

• 13.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-11:

Dagg to sidestep the whole Bokke team and score in the corner?

• 14.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Why did South Africa have the best players in the world during the Super 14, and only a few weeks later they look out of their league on the international stage?

…erm because “The Coach” is on a learning curve…that he should have got at S14 level.

I apposed White as well as PDV for this reason. Our national coaches need to cut their teeth at S14 level. Coaches need to get used to Old boys clubs, blooding younger players and pacing the players over a 4 year period and politics.

We endured Whites learning curve and how lucky we were not to meet the Abs at 2007. Will we be lucky again. I hope so!!
    We have a repeat of the last world cup. Other teams have rested their players and are on the upward curve. We have flogged it and approach another world cup with tired players.

Playing Rickyand WO, playing JDV on the wing, over playing Smit, Habadonna, Spies and Vic and not playing Aplon, Hougaard and JDJ and some younger blood is the coaches lack of experience over the long run.

For the regular blogger that adds laugh comments when white Bok players get nailed, just support the Allblacks. You are cleary Cadre in the government. *** ** ** ****

• 15.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-13: that might happen too…

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-15:

He looks good doesn’t he, that boy is going to score plenty of tries in Black over the next few years.

• 17.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-14:

Yeah Kevin and comments like they look unfit? How in the world do they suddenly become unfit. I think it is a combination of everything, wrong team selection, wrong tactics, tiredness of some players…this all leads to poor dicipline and poor execution.

• 18.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-14:

Kev nobody in SA has rated any player from NZ since your Tri Nations victory last year, many on here told us not one AB would make the Bokke side. This type of arrogance and over confidence can only go one way, take our no 8 for example never gets a mention Spies is the best 8 in the world blah blah blah clearly he is not and was outplayed on consecutive Saturdays. When SA gets a bit more realistic and loses the arrogance they might start winning again.

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

grant, my friend your whole article is nothing but horse sh.t! Go to your boss mark keohane’s article from last year titled “winning with robots” and read with comprehension!

Few teams ever win Test matches playing on the back foot, being kak at the lineout, getting bossed at the breakdown and with players generally not “pitching up” for matches!

Case in point, the stormers game vs the sharks: the stormers thought they just have to arrive in durban & collect maximum points, while the sharks – with backs agains the wall after a 0 from 5 start – were revved up and eager to prove a point. What happened? The sharks upped their physicality, dominated the collisions, swept everything on deck, fronted at the scrums and voila the stormers were decimated! Now tell me, was it alister coetzee’s attacking game plan that saw them lose that game?

Give me a break.

• 20.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-18: Ag rubbish NZ, Spies is a poor example, for every post singing the praises of Spies I bet you there will be two saying the opposite. Don’t generalise and take the delusional rantings of some of the one-eyed blue and horned supporters as gospel.

Same with the arrogance, you give me one arrogant Bok supporter and I will not only meet you but I will raise you an extra AB supporter. This cuts both ways.

• 21.offsides: Reply to this comment

At least this reality check has been dished out with enough time to correct the errors. Defintely got the feeling that the boks felt they’d win by just rocking up… as for the lack of discipline…. come on! Playing 50 odd tests should have taught you a thing or two about keeping your cool!! FFS!!

I really hope the P-Divvy noted (like everyone else) just how much better we looked when Ruan was scrummie…. at one stage Guthro was playing scrummie cause Ricky was fcking nowhere…. What annoys me even more is when he gets there in “fairly” good time, then proceeds to try marshall the troops back the other…. shattered nerves man – PASS THE FREAKIN BALL ALREADY!!!!

Okay, breathe…. whooossaaaaaa!!

• 22.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

He is here I hate all whites twat

For the regular blogger that adds laugh comments when white Bok players get nailed, just support the Allblacks. You are cleary Cadre in the government. *** ** ** ****

• 23.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-20:

If you go back 11 days, it was still mostly world domination stuff, no AB would make the team etc the point I was trying to make was this team thought they could turn up and they would win. Their supporters were saying it and your press certainly was and it looks like they believed it.

• 24.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

23. NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) dont take at face value the poor reporting on this site that Bok supporters feel the same.
    Most real (not the fake twats) bok supporters are not so arrogant especailly the younger brigade.
    We were outplayed by a smarter team. Fullstop.

• 25.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-23:

So how many posters said that no AB will make the Bok team? Was it 1, 5, 15, more than 50%? For reference sake and to make it easier just add the number of people saying no AB will make the Bok side and the number talking about world domination together and then tell me!

The point I am making is that you get idiots on both sides of the fence, generalisations are degrading towards the moderates who make up the largest number. For me personally it is damn irretating and I have a huge dislike for it. Name and shame the quilty, leave the rest alone.

• 26.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-24:

I do take a keen interest in what the SA scribes from your local papers were writing and quite a bit of it was pretty similar to the stuff on KEO so I was assuming ( obviously incorrectly) that was a reflection of most Bokke fans were thinking.

• 27.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-24:

Errr Kev, I am confused?! I am not that young anymore, does that make me a twat?

• 28.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-25:

Fair point mate if I can’t embelish the facts things will get a little boring around here lol if you have time how many Ab’s on current form would make the Bokke 15???

• 29.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26:

Ahhh I see the problem! The scribes you refer to mostly cater for the people who do not have a TV to watch to make up their own minds. Most of the ossewaens in Pretoria do not have power, let alone TVs’…the confusion about Spies blah, blah blah falls 100% into this explanation as well!

• 30.kesbok: Reply to this comment

First – well done to the All Blacks – well played you deserved your win. Total rugby.

I agree this whole situation can only be down to the sub standard coaching – this includes player selection. I cannot beleiwv that with the depth SA has in many positions oin the field we cannot compete let alone win.

Why is it that there are so many common opinions here that all point in the same direction and yet the 3 people responsbile for this see it differently? Am I missing something here?

• 31.Predawn : Reply to this comment

Meyer for Bok coach. Give the pretender to White’s legacy his marching orders.

• 32.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-29:

Was fortunate to go to a game at Loftus in the 90′s, interesting place to go to a game…

• 33.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-28:

Easy, 14! I will chuck in Ricky to make up the 15. If you promise to start with him and play him for 78 minutes I think we should have a fair game…I really have to work some but I am sure some clever cog will help you with a proper team later.

• 34.Shauny: Reply to this comment

Our problem starts at the coaching level, i’m not necessarily saying game plan, as when executed with the RIGHT players its a winning game plan. It’s been proven by the Bulls and bokke. However certain selections hamper our momentum…2 Step Ricky case in point…enough said

Unfortunately Spies and Flo don’t work in a team, does that make either player bad? NO, but when starting 1, you can’t have the other. Watch Spies excel with a Burger & Smith at 6 & 7

REST! its been mentioned before, but what happened to Matfield getting a proper rest?…he hasn’t suddenly turned into a bad player but give the man a break.

Smit needs to be given a few months to lose the weight he had to gain for prop, thus making him more mobile.

CJ can retire now, he offers us nothing that we don’t have on the bench and more.

And then my ref rant…I in know way say that he cost us the match because between Rolan and the bok players & management you have a great team. BUT when is Golden Boy Richie never get sin binned going to start getting pinned for his transgressions. I remember 1 VERY clear incident when he basically entered the ruck from the Bokke’s side of the ruck played the ball and then got the penalty for a Bok holding on….all this RIGHT in front of the ref.

He got warned again & again & again. Everybody goes on about reputation and that it counts against some players, but don’t refs watch these games on tv or highlights?
    Surely they can see that he is a perennial offender???? Anyway, that being said when on the front foot most teams get the benefit of the whistle.

the first match the AB’s gave away 12 penalties to the Boks 5 (which includes bakkies yellow) Thats stinks of negative play which doesn’t get punished, every time some momentum is built they cut it down illegally but now yellows.

I’m waiting eagerly to see the penalty stats from this last match, because I’m sure it was heavily weighted towards the AB’s conceding many more penalties…

• 35.Shauny: Reply to this comment

Sorry…typos

• 36.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-33:

Thats not very funny.

• 37.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Aish, before I go…I just did the poll above, 75% of pundits (3506 people) say Meisiekind deserve to be in the Bok team…no wonder we look at kuk as we do!!!

• 38.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Shauny(Shauny)-34:

PDV will end up with a record similar to Whites in the Tri Nations, White was 1 from 4, PDV will be 1 from 3 after this year, its not the coaching.

• 39.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Slartibartfast judging by your name we are the same age. Nioce nic
    No my headbutt was aimed at a certain pig on this site who derides any person that is white. He thinks being previously disadvantged means you can be r a c is t.
    He belongs in the same pen as quotosuxdoos and the likes.

• 40.Bhupendra du Solanky2: Reply to this comment

This is my first contributions for over two weeks, so my apologies for being off-air so to speak.

Whats up with the Boks?
    Are they too tired?
    Are the old boys reaching the end of the road?
    Is the tactics too one-dimensional?
    Is Du Preez services being missed?
    What about the non-appearances of the likes of Bismarck, Pieterson, Francois Steyn and Juan Smith? Are we missing them?

Lots of questions and not enough answers

First thing first. I refused to believe this Bok team is tired. Last year, the Bulls won the Super 14 and then beat the Lions in a physical series before entering the tri-nations, albeit at home. This time round, the Boks had a lighter build up against Italy and the French was the only big test. Strangely on that day, everybody thought we would be invincible in the tri-nations. Not to be.

The French game to me was most of the players Everest. It was what they wanted and wanted badly and their performance reflected that. Against the AB’s these last two weeks it is obvious that some of the older and even younger guys have not been pitching up…something is amiss. Do they lack motivation? Players like John Smit, CJ, BJ, Bakkies, Victor, Burger, Spies, Fourie, Habana, de Villiers look strangely out of place…they look bored and uninterested. That is more than half your team. Other players like Januarie are not in the right form to play. I do believe it would have made no difference if Du Preez had played since he would most likely have been equally disinterested as those other players mentioned above.

I always said that PDV needs to get his mix right for the world cup…I said before on this site, that some of the players who played well in the super 14 should be put out to pasture for good…I am talking about John Smit, CJ, Bakkies, Januarie, Olivier, de Villiers etc…in my view only Matfield and Jaque Fourie should be spared as I think they are vital for the RWC.

My Bok team for the RWC opener would consist of the following players which would offer us speed, experience, youth and power…

1. Steenkamp (Beast)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (Gary Botha)
    3. H. van der Merwe (BJ Botha)
    4. Rossouw (Flip van der Merwe)
    5. Matfield (Andries Bekker)
    6. Heinrich Brussow (Potgieter)
    7. Juan Smith (Louw)
    8. Spies (Vermuelen)
    9. Du Preez (Pienaar)
    10. Morne Steyn (Butch James)
    12. Juan de Jongh (???)
    13. Jaque Fourie (????)
    11. Habana (Hougaard)
    14. JP Pieterson (Aplon)
    15. Fran Steyn (Jantjes)

I think the above is a good mix of experience and youth and will get the Boks over the finishing line come RWC next year.

If we stick to the hasbeens we will be in trouble.

I see depth issues at flyhalf and in the centres, especially if De Villiers and Olivier are not required.

I hope De Villiers makes some changes for the Wallabies game…some of the abovementioned players are available right now and should be used…if we can win in Brissie, which will be damn hard, and take out the three games at home, I think a 4 out of 6 result will be pleasing going into the RWC next year….the main thing is not to lose the home games at any cost…we need the right game plan to do it and the right players…

Its over to you PDV!

• 41.Shauny: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-37: The general consensus is that our forward momentum is seriously hampered with 2 step ricky at #9, and that that effects the time steyn has to decide and execute. However WO slaters don’t seem to think there is a correlation between WO and #9.

Most rugby writers and pundits will say that 9,10,12 is intrinsically linked, starting at #9. Ricky offers Steyn very little time to decide and execute and in turn WO even less. Our backline showed a marked improvement when Ruan was on the field.

Play Ruan and we’ll probably see a different WO on Saturday.

NOT to mention his stirling work on defence…he was stellar!

• 42.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The Boks seem as clueless as the Lions looked in the S14. Now what could be the common denominator, I wonder…

• 43.Shauny: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-38: big difference is White recognised his weaknesses and recruited to make up for the short fall (see Eddie Jones). BUT maybe the biggest difference is White inherited an absolute shambles of a team when he started out coaching the boks, where as PDV inherited a World Championship Team.

I’m not running PDV down as he has done good things and I guess every coach has his favourites, but he needs to improve and admit where he is lacking and look for help. Your Team leader doesn’t have to know everything, he just needs to know people that know everything and then have the ability to harness that knowledge

• 44.Bhupendra du Solanky2: Reply to this comment

NZINCHINA

I note your point about Jake White. Truth is, he was also a uptight person who refused to make changes until very late..which did work, so credit to him

PDV has brought in Os du Randt for the scrums which was average over the two weekend and some may say poor…what PDV needs is a back line coach in the mould of Eddie Jones. **** Muir is out of his depth, he has become mediocre dealing with a mediocre team like the Lions. That mediocrity has spilled into the Boks…but I don’t think the Boks outside back are weak…they can’t be as they are world class. Its the forwards who are not doing the job and a halfback who lacks the skills to play the kind of game which the Boks did last year. No doubt, the AB’s are good, but we can beat them with the right players, tactics and coaches…all this blaming referees is pointless. The ref to did force Bakkies to head butt or Danie to knee Richie…so early in both matches, we lost vital momentum and that comes down to our own ill-discipline. 10 minutes in the bin and its good bye against a team as good as the AB’s…

Alot of the players have to do alot of soul searching, so does PDV and his management team…

But on the bright side, don’t you think it good that we are having our bad year now? In 1994 we were no better and we won the cup in 1995 and in 2006 we got thumped 53-3 and still came back to win the cup in 2007. So take the bad results with a pinch of salt…it will all work out…I am confident

• 45.durbanbay: Reply to this comment

This is my first comment on Keo.

1) January must go – there is no doubt about it the Boks looked 10x better when Ruan got his chance.

2) Olivier must go – we didn’t even see him there.

3) St. Richie must be canonized – I am proposing as the “Patron Saint of Professional Fouls and Spineless Refs to Cowardly to act” – Heaslip kneed him in the head because he was doing exactly the same thing as he did on Saturday, slowing the ball down on the wrong side.

4) Nobody minds losing, but when the ref blows like he did on Saturday it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. When Australia thumped us 49-0 in 2006 I never had one complaint about the ref. Mr. Rolland was rubbish and the yellow on Danie despicable. It did affect our game.

5) Smit really needs to get fit or retire.

Thats about it.
    Ciao.

• 46.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

I also have a massive issue with Habana. His kick chases have been RUBBISH, and his tackling of kick receivers RUBBISH. He has not gone looking for work, and has gine for intercepts at bad times, badly misjudging teh game.

He needs to be dropped to get his *** into gear.

• 47.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Wakey wakey! While SA has recently been very competitive at the top end of the S14, it’s a simple fact that NZ has dominated the competition for years and years. The same applies to 3N.

It’s really not a sudden and unexpected event for the ABs to hammer the Boks, regardless of who was the Bok coach or the scrumhalf.

The Boks came swaggering into Auckland, cocky because of the success of the Bulls in the S14 and thinking that the Boks/PDV are automatically a better team than Bulls/Ludeke. PDV probably pep-talked them into thinking that the ABs are a weaker combination than the Crusaders.

Reality hit them — while the Boks as a collective are weaker and more poorly-coached than the Bulls, the AB collective is much, much better and more expertly-coached than the Crusaders.

Then, after they collected a 20 point drubbing and were stripped of their smug complacency, did PDV and his team leadership ask critical questions about their kick-and-chase game plan? No, said PDV and Smit, the plan is a good one but our execution was sub-standard.

So, a week later, they rolled out exactly the same game-plan and, once again, their execution was unsurprisingly no better and — duhh — they got thrashed yet again in precisely the same way, right down to the 4th minute yellow card and two tries conceded with the lock in the sin-bin.

And so they’re off to Brisbane with their one-trick pony of a game-plan all harnessed up as per usual, convinced that it will be third-time-lucky (or something). No Plan B, no on-field changes of strategy by the skipper — oh no, it will be the same old same old, and Robbie Deans and the Wallabies really won’t have the slightest idea of what the Boks might do or how to work out a counter? Yeah, right!

Graham Henry is a genuinely fine coach. Robbie Deans is a truly fine coach too. Peter de Villiers is just a “great pretender” and his one-trick pony is a moth-eaten old nag.

There’s your problem. But, can you fix it? No, you can’t.

• 48.JL1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-47: The more things change in SA the more they stay the same, quotas will always be part of the make-up of the team and the management team

Henry has coached, Ireland, Wales and the ABs
    PdV has coached, the Valke, under 19 and under 21

Pretty clear for all to see who is the superior coach ito experience
    PDV has had a lucky run with Jake Whites team, but now that he has injuries in his team he has been found wanting as a coach.
    All of his best selections were forced on his hand due to other players being injured or banned
    I really do not think that he will change much, if anything, for the Aussie test

• 49.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Don’t be dismayed if the “Wobblies” win by 15.

• 50.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok(SjamBok)-46:

True, he looked off form in the S14 and carried that into the tests. I wonder if he is not carrying an injury?

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-47:

“One-trick pony” – ja, you know all about that, don’t you?!

• 51.Staal: Reply to this comment

Good morning all back in sunny SA. Must say the trip is “contrary to Barney’s comments” for me a failure – not winning in NZ that is.

I do not want to single out players cause they all were all so-so…. but I must honestly say we need to have a seriaaaas looking at our coaching as well. We were so outplayed – dis nie eens snaaks nie man!

The AB’s were very good but we were very bad and good players don’t overnight become bad. You play as you’ve practiced. We were totally outplayed in the collisions! Totally, we were nowhere – back – forwards – all of them!

In trying to slate all and sundry won’t help….. we need to adapt as coaches. This Bok team had 700 caps and we play like that – remember there is a gameplan decided apon by the coaching staff & the senior players!

Now is the time when a coach and his support staff will have to show the players THEY can come with something new…. seriaaaasly the players need that now…. are they losing trust here?….not only in themselves but also in the gameplan?

If a seasoned bok player say’s he doesn’t know how the AB’s got so much ball in the rucks and mauls when we took the ball in…. says’s a lot to me.! :lol: does he need to see the video AGAIN?

Maybe he should go and look how Carter drove the bok forwards off the ball to eventually allow Dagg to score….. :lol: Stupidity…!

We were very arrogant in trying to tell the whole world we have 2 players in each position and we are now concentrating on “Combinations”…. the new buzz word! All just hype and we swallowed it!

Calling Bakkies “the Enforcer” is all hype and media snot…. now he believes it and has crashed to earth like Area 51!…. GOOD thing!

Now we moaning about Richie… :lol: ….

Next Saturday – and i will be there again…. :shock: *********! Will we moan about something else….. aggenee man…. wake up!

No let’s be honest…. the A4Y’s were waiting for us and were way better prepared! Much better…. let’s change that!
    Oh and Irene v Dyk giving out the jumpers and telling the Boks she supports the AB’s…. nice one that! Another Ras Dumisani! :lol: Who the hell decided to use her…. why not use any Kiwi supporter from the streets man! Stupidity…. i spoke to some of the players and they said they were not impressed!

Giving out the jumpers is also hype man and PR if you do it that way….

We have previously went through a slump… let’s fix this one! VINNIG! :lol:

Also honestly… Sa is the best coutry by far… ek mis die plaas! :lol:

• 52.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

Must say that the boks looked like “Golden Lions” the last two tests ….

Is **** Muit having a whole lot to say about the “heads up” attack rugby???

Seems like it to me ….???

Anyway, I think this bok team would loose to top S14 sides.

I suppose one “positive” is that the ABs hit us with EVERYTHING they had at their disposal …. and the Boks had personnel to spare as well as players playing out of postion.

Interesting …. and I am hoping that there is a greater plan at play, like 2006 where we are building combinations for the WC.

• 53.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

Whaty can I not write D.I.C.K?? As in D.I.C.K Muir??

• 54.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-51: Staal, waar gaan jy bly in Brisbane?

• 55.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-54: ons gaan eers scuba en dan by pêlle in BBane. Jy daar?

• 56.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-53: Yeah, but funnily enough you can call him Doos Muir!

• 57.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-55: Yip, allie pad Cairns toe of bietjie meer Suid?

• 58.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Is noboddy picking up on the Bakkies Story this morning?? Signed for a french club/ Anyone? Bueller, ….Bueller, ….?

• 59.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-58: its after the wc in 2011

and was always on the cards?

• 60.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-59: Yes, true, just wanted to know if it was official. It’s sad when Iafrica.com pips Keo when it comes to breaking Rugby news. Maybe I shouldn’t be so surprised?

How you feeling this morning after a bad international weekend, but a rather good one on the domestic front?? Our youngsters looking very healthy in the Cape?

• 61.schnoggs: Reply to this comment

Look, the boks arent playing well at the moment for various reasons 1) complacency / arrogance 2) injuries to 3/4 key players 3) the all blacks simply being awesome 4) incorrect game plans 5) referee although this is subjective 6) lack of discipline 7) fatigue

The fact of the matter is its not the end of the world as most of the media suggest. A couple of tweaks here and there and a different approach will make a huge difference. Sacking John Smit is very short sighted and people have very short memories. It wasnt too long ago that everyone was slating Bismaark for his lack of discipline and wanting him out the team – now everyone wants him back in cause he has done what since he has been injured?

A new 9, De Villiers back to 12 when his suspension is finished and Juan Smith back in place of Schalk and we will be competitive again. At the end of the day, I will take a crisis in confidence / loss of form now rather than this time next year. At least we will have a year to devise a game plan to counter New Zealands – by that time they wont have enough time to re-adjust before thier traditional world cup failure. It seems impossible to think of it happening now, but a year is a long time in rugby.

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-60:
    I am pretty upset with the fat boys club…..we are in a hole and i am not sure we have a ladder to get us out. I am waiting to see team for aussies….i amy blow a fuse or 2 once out so in advance i ask for forgiveness!!

Went to the wp game….great defence by w…..i still feel wikkelspies kicks a bit too much…..but at least he is damn accurate and a win is a win….the bonus points will come back to bite us later i fear….

Sharks and bulls gane was a cracker…..sharks starting to build nicely….great to see jpp back and mvovo shaping….the difference between Burden, Gary Botha, Liebenberh compared to Smit was like nite and day….

And a flu ridden vermeulen did more work than spies would ever do!

Anyway….aussies going to be a helleva challenge….they going to go wide from minute 1…..we better make 1 st tgime tackles and fight fire with fire…

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

@schnoggs(schnoggs)-61: how will plod look in a year?

Delusional mate…..absoltely delusional….he is gone…klaar…finito.

• 64.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Lawman(Lawman)-3:

are you kiwi or aussie

• 65.Atreides: Reply to this comment

D.i.c.k.-face Muir has brought his cancerous ideas from the Lions and it shows, bright as day. No defence to speak of, they ran through us like schoolgirls!! The sooner they give that ginger pr**k his marching orders the better!!!

• 66.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-65: He has turned our backline into a laughing stock. We couldn’t construct a try if our lives depended on it.

• 67.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-63:

Why dont you just have him off’ed……..(such hatred, seems personal)

• 68.oodles: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-66:

Easiest way to work a try is to R U N with the ball. Everytime the boks have the ball they kick it. There is the problem.

• 69.schnoggs: Reply to this comment

Well I dont have my crystal ball but we can either:

1) slate everyone and fire De Villiers, drop Smit, Burger, Spies, Morne Steyn and all the rest of the “dillusional” remarks I have read on the site and pick a young inexperienced team for the WC based on public opinion. We then get lose early in the world cup (quarters probably) cause we didnt have enough experienced heads during a tight quarter final and the public bemoan dropping Smit as he would of got us through. I dont suppose you can remember as far back as 2007 when Smit composed the team against Fiji?

or 2) We can calm down, back the players, devise a better rest programme (give senior players time off during Currie Cup and EOYT), look at the gameplan, slowly bring back injured players and work on skill levels, set plays, etc and head into the World Cup with a better prepared core group of proven winners with a few fresh additions to the squad who would make the difference (F Steyn, F Louw, H Brussouw, Aplon, Vermuelen etc).

• 70.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@oodles(oodles)-68: There’s a time to kick and a time to run, I agree, but the backline look at sixes and sevens with the ball in hand. Compare it to the way the BA’s put attacks together…streets ahead

• 71.Atreides: Reply to this comment

BA’s = AB’s

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism)-67: not personal….i just cant stand the way he had a go at Luke but plays so badly, is so out of shape, but hangs in on his reputation….

it disgusts me.

• 73.grant10: Reply to this comment

@schnoggs(schnoggs)-69: Fiji????

Fark me mate….enough said.

• 74.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-62: Yeah the fatties let us down, but they’re not the only ones. I seriously think that some changes need to be made, if only to send the message that mediocrity will not be tolerated. Spies, January and Smit need top be dropped. Maybe Flo and Vic as well. A strong message needs to be sent. We have good replacements in all those areas and we need to give the guys the opportunity to stake their claim.

Ruan in for Ricky
    Chilli for JS
    Potties for Flo
    Kanko for Spies
    Bekker in for Vic

PDV can sell it anyway he likes, rotation, resting whatever. But behind the scenes these guys need to get the message that this is the pinnacle of their chosen sport and they need to respect it as such. If not FIFO as they say…..

On the local front I’m very please with our team, yes the lack of bonus points may come back to haunt us, although with the Bulls getting a **** start to the season it may be between us and the Sharks for the top of the table, if the current trend continues….

I agree with you on Vermeulen. If i were going to war against the NZ’ers, I would much rather have him next to me than Spies. The guys commitment to the game is unbelievable.

• 75.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

the problem for PDV is that he picked quota chilli as the nr 2 hooker … he can’t drop JS for a player like chilli…

• 76.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

It is obvious that the boks have not grown since 2007. We have not improved our attacking ability, not our defence and neither have maintained our dominance in previously dominated areas!

PDV has not achieved what any average coach would have achieved with this great set of players! We need a proper coaching team, one that will have the players respect, a coaching team that has tactical acume and forsight! PDV, Muir and Gold have neither. Up and unders are not a game breaking innovation, we were damn lucky the AB’s were so pathetic last year and the Wobblies lack the depth to really challenge us.

I really hope we have a pathetic year so we can fire PDV (mabey even after the tri nations!) and install a coach worthy of the players he will be coaching! Heineke Meyer, Mallet or even bring back White as they have more tactical acume in their pinkies than PDV, Muir and Gold combined!

• 77.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-75: But what if John picked up a niggle? Would he then fly someone over and leave Chilli on the bench again? Chilli must front up if chosen, I’m sure he’d be up for it, with Smit on the bench, if needed.

• 78.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Spies also needs to get a clue! He has become a show pony of note, he plays like a whimp, standing around the ruck like he doesn’t want to break a nail!

Wake boet! Scoring runaway tries is not what 8th man play is all about, get in there! you look like super man but tackle like pufter! Wake up and play some rugby!!!

• 79.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-74: Bekker is injured for this weekends game – something about a disc injury, they can be serious. After appearing to have hardened up, he is becoming a bit of sicknote again.

Poor fella, the last place he will want to be now is at home.

I agree with Ruan for Januarie and Chili for JS, however if we are struggling upfront with Spies, then Kanko is only going to make things worse. Perhaps a backrow of Burger, Louw and Potgieter, with Potgieter at 8? Schalk can act as the main ball career and Potgieter and Flouw have played well together this year.

I would like to see Hougaard come on at wing, Butch at 12 (with JDV injured) and perhaps Aplon at 15, although Kirchener has been sound. Those Aussie backs are damn clever.

It is desperate times.

• 80.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism(Gonzo Journalism)-67: Grant has an issue with Smit because Smit called a spade a spade in his biography, you see Grant is in love with Puke “The Cancer” Watson and vents his frustration on Keo about Smit’s views on puke, which is quite boring actually, it has become the norm here and most here are quite immune to it now.

• 81.oodles: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-72: @grant10(grant10)-73:

Mate the problem for you is – “enough said”

You never let it be at enough said, John Smit this and John Smit that. Man you would be one of those candy ar se backs that couldnt crack a decent woody let alone a decent graded rugby side.

FFS pal, go find that blond you keep ranting about and ride.

You need it!

• 82.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Hmmm…

Dont know if I agree so much Grant, three instances when the Boks held possession and played some decent rugby they looked pretty damn good (I am excluding Danie’s try here).

Problem is we were robbed of momentum at crucial stages during those phases once by bad execution and twice by some very, very strange ruck calls by the referee.

One has to ask why we could not string more than 3 decent plays together however and yes, that is a problem.

Ricky has been duly subbed early into the second half and things looked better but still not great.

We are simply turning too many balls over and that still says to me we are being dominated in contact and we allowed the All Blacks too much momentum by again missing too many first time tackles.

Now turning over ball is part and parcel of rugby, but worryingly our defensive lines are not up to this when it happens which concerns me.

We do not scramble well enough in defense compared to how well the AB’s did and as mentioned last week, I am concerned with the mental aptitude and attitude of the players (defense is an attitude).

Most telling thing for me however is that we received two yellows in the first 15 minutes of both tests, and in both gave them 10 points during those periods.

You are playing them at home, and by giving them an additional 10 point cushion is simple suicide.

Two biggest concerns for me then is mental attitude of the players and also discipline.

Both of these concerns falls at the door of captain, and coaching staff.

• 83.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@schnoggs(schnoggs)-69: Point 2 sounds good, lets hope things are that sensible as SARugby does not have the reputation of displaying that trait, but with Stofile gone and with our first non white coach i highly doubt though that they would try and sabotage our chances like they did in 2006

• 84.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-72: That is a fine reputation he has, and Luke has hardly covered himself in glory off the field, while, by all accounts, John Smit is a wonderful ambassador for rugby, the Springboks and South Africa. It does appear to be the case that your disregard for Smit is a little personal.

@oodles(oodles)-81: Too far.

• 85.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-82: I would like to know who is running the defensive strategies in the Bok camp? if its Muir……. ons is in kaaaaaaark

• 86.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Ja, we have major problems, there’s no denying it.

The biggest problem is that no matter which personnel changes we carry out, we’re still going to be stuck with this atrocious coaching trio.

And to think I was just starting to come around to support Snor.

Fact is, Div is not even the biggest problem on the coaching team. The biggest failure is D*ck Muir. You can see his influence a mile away.

Div’s failure is that he cannot neutralize this problem, because apparently he doesn’t have a clue how to do it better himself.

It is simply impossible for players to be superstars in the S14 and then look like plonkers in the Tri Nations. All 15 of them.

The Bulls and Stormers have been transformed into the Golden Lions.

Muir is the k*k coach (Lions rugby), and Snor is the k*k selector (Smit, Chilliboy and January).

You need to get rid of both if you want to address the real issue.

• 87.garth: Reply to this comment

Schalk should be captain. Smit needs to go become a player/coach for one of the minor teams, like the South Western Kalahari invitational development team or the Lions.

• 88.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

From News24 – its a long read by worth it.

Wellington – Chris Rattue, the New Zealand Herald sports writer who made himself very unpopular in South Africa when he referred to Johannesburg during the Soccer World Cup as a “hell-hole”, has now come out in defence of the Springboks following their 31-17 defeat against the All Blacks in Wellington on Saturday.

In his column in the NZ Herald, Rattue pointed out Sky TV started coverage of the clash by getting referee Alain Rolland’s nationality wrong – putting the French colours alongside the Irishman’s name.

“Sounds French so must be French – a mistake a few of us have been close to making with Rolland over the years,” he wrote.

“Rolland was French by suspicion, which is the sort of justice he meted out to Danie Rossouw, the Springbok lock, a few minutes later.

“The sinbinning of Rossouw was diabolical, the distorting of a major international sporting contest on scant evidence.

“You’ll see more dangerous pushing and shoving in the pie queue. In fact, the pies themselves are probably more dangerous.

“Rossouw used a hand to flick Richie McCaw, who was sitting on the ground, around the temple and perhaps a little close to the eyes for comfort. What ensued was the letting off of early Test match steam, a bit of push and shove with no damage done.

“McCaw swiped at Rossouw with his forearm. Rossouw responded by shoving a gentle knee in McCaw’s direction.

“Replay of the event shows the knee was not even close to making contact with McCaw’s head or body, only McCaw’s arm.

“The All Blacks were clearly superior, on speed alone, and thoroughly deserved their second-Test victory, although the lineout reverted to a shambles and they made a fair few mistakes.

“What can’t be ignored, though, is that the All Blacks were given a significant leg up, scoring 10 points while Rossouw was sitting down.

“Rossouw would have been a big part of the Springboks’ early plans to tie up possession and turn the forward battle into trench warfare. He made their first significant tackle, smashing Owen Franks backwards.

“Moreover, we, the paying public, not to mention the Springboks, deserved an honest contest, and not one altered by a ridiculous yellow card. The All Blacks also deserved to have their victory scored in the fairest of conditions.

“Rolland clearly stated that the yellow card was for kicking, but Rossouw did not use his boot, and did not make any significant contact with his knee.

“So far in the two Tri-Nations games, we have seen a headbutt go unpunished, along with a spear tackle from Jean de Villiers and a shoulder charge from Rene Ranger – actions that can seriously hurt the victims.

“Yet Bakkies Botha has been sent to the sin-bin for killing the ball, while the All Blacks were able to do this only under threat and without serious sanction in Wellington. Rossouw received a yellow for a bit of child’s play that endangered no one.

“Rugby is getting this seriously wrong. No other sport dismisses players – and thus alters the contest – with such an off-hand attitude.

“The victory was badly tainted, and needlessly so. We all got robbed, he wrote.

Rattue also believes South Africa’s Rugby World Cup prospects will be best served by a Tri-Nations disaster that allows them the perfect excuse to axe the Lippy Looney, coach Peter de Villiers.

“Age may be starting to catch up with a couple of Springboks, notably their legendary leader John Smit. The problem is, Smit – by quiet account – actually runs the Springbok team along with veteran lineout ace Victor Matfield with input from the assistant coaches.

“Smit hasn’t been as prominent around the field as we’ve come to expect, and the Springboks have an outstanding alternative in the injured Bismarck du Plessis along with Gary Botha.

“The jury will also start to scratch the chin about Matfield’s all-round contribution, especially with ball in hand and in the physical confrontations.

“As for playing Jean de Villiers on the wing – utter madness from de Villiers … or should that be Smit.

“Peter de Villiers has been a train-driver coach, able to sit back and push a few buttons as his juggernaut powers along.

“With rule changes and advancing years catching up with the Boks, he now has serious coaching and selecting to do. He isn’t up to it and was completely outplayed by a resurgent, grinning Graham Henry.

“De Villiers was a political appointment – the administration acknowledged as much about a man with no senior coaching CV.

“If South African rugby had foresight and real desperation, it would realise the game is up, the joke is over, and give de Villiers the boot, and quick,” he concluded.

• 89.Grant in NZ: Reply to this comment

It’s my humble opinion that the Springboks stand no chance of defending their world crown with the current coaching staff.

The following an interesting perspective from Chris Rattue of the NZ Herald…

“South Africa’s World Cup prospects will be best served by a Tri-Nations disaster that allows them the perfect excuse to axe the Lippy Looney, coach Peter de Villiers.

Age may be starting to catch up with a couple of Springboks, notably their legendary leader John Smit. The problem is, Smit – by quiet account – actually runs the Springbok team along with veteran lineout ace Victor Matfield with input from the assistant coaches.

Smit hasn’t been as prominent around the field as we’ve come to expect, and the Springboks have an outstanding alternative in the injured Bismarck du Plessis along with Gary Botha. The jury will also start to scratch the chin about Matfield’s all-round contribution, especially with ball in hand and in the physical confrontations. As for playing Jean de Villiers on the wing – utter madness from de Villiers … or should that be Smit.

Peter de Villiers has been a train-driver coach, able to sit back and push a few buttons as his juggernaut powers along. With rule changes and advancing years catching up with the Boks, he now has serious coaching and selecting to do. He isn’t up to it and was completely outplayed by a resurgent, grinning Graham Henry.

De Villiers was a political appointment – the administration acknowledged as much about a man with no senior coaching CV.

If South African rugby had foresight and real desperation, it would realise the game is up, the joke is over, and give de Villiers the boot, and quick.”

• 90.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-85:

Yes a valid question.

Our defensive lines just do not seem to be well organised and one has to understand who makes those on-field calls.

Even so, the best defensive lines means **** if you have a kak attitude in executing it and I will start there.

The Boks seem to be in far off places mentally.

A team that looks good in patches is a tell-tale sign for me that they are not in a good headspace and struggle to remain switched on for 80 minutes.

• 91.oodles: Reply to this comment

Ok, maybe I did go too far, but come on. The string of names G10 has labeled John Smit with goes too far. G10 is blaming JS for more than he deserves. The coach puts Chilli on the bench as cover? Cover for an orange cutter a spare waterboy!

It is of no value targetting the captain when the coach and selectors are clueless.

• 92.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Wellington – Chris Rattue, the New Zealand Herald sports writer who made himself very unpopular in South Africa when he referred to Johannesburg during the Soccer World Cup as a “hell-hole”, has now come out in defence of the Springboks following their 31-17 defeat against the All Blacks in Wellington on Saturday.

In his column in the NZ Herald, Rattue pointed out Sky TV started coverage of the clash by getting referee Alain Rolland’s nationality wrong – putting the French colours alongside the Irishman’s name.

“Sounds French so must be French – a mistake a few of us have been close to making with Rolland over the years,” he wrote.

“Rolland was French by suspicion, which is the sort of justice he meted out to Danie Rossouw, the Springbok lock, a few minutes later.

“The sinbinning of Rossouw was diabolical, the distorting of a major international sporting contest on scant evidence.

“You’ll see more dangerous pushing and shoving in the pie queue. In fact, the pies themselves are probably more dangerous.

“Rossouw used a hand to flick Richie McCaw, who was sitting on the ground, around the temple and perhaps a little close to the eyes for comfort. What ensued was the letting off of early Test match steam, a bit of push and shove with no damage done.

“McCaw swiped at Rossouw with his forearm. Rossouw responded by shoving a gentle knee in McCaw’s direction.

“Replay of the event shows the knee was not even close to making contact with McCaw’s head or body, only McCaw’s arm.

“The All Blacks were clearly superior, on speed alone, and thoroughly deserved their second-Test victory, although the lineout reverted to a shambles and they made a fair few mistakes.

“What can’t be ignored, though, is that the All Blacks were given a significant leg up, scoring 10 points while Rossouw was sitting down.

“Rossouw would have been a big part of the Springboks’ early plans to tie up possession and turn the forward battle into trench warfare. He made their first significant tackle, smashing Owen Franks backwards.

“Moreover, we, the paying public, not to mention the Springboks, deserved an honest contest, and not one altered by a ridiculous yellow card. The All Blacks also deserved to have their victory scored in the fairest of conditions.

“Rolland clearly stated that the yellow card was for kicking, but Rossouw did not use his boot, and did not make any significant contact with his knee.

“So far in the two Tri-Nations games, we have seen a headbutt go unpunished, along with a spear tackle from Jean de Villiers and a shoulder charge from Rene Ranger – actions that can seriously hurt the victims.

“Yet Bakkies Botha has been sent to the sin-bin for killing the ball, while the All Blacks were able to do this only under threat and without serious sanction in Wellington. Rossouw received a yellow for a bit of child’s play that endangered no one.

“Rugby is getting this seriously wrong. No other sport dismisses players – and thus alters the contest – with such an off-hand attitude.

“The victory was badly tainted, and needlessly so. We all got robbed, he wrote.

Rattue also believes South Africa’s Rugby World Cup prospects will be best served by a Tri-Nations disaster that allows them the perfect excuse to axe the Lippy Looney, coach Peter de Villiers.

“Age may be starting to catch up with a couple of Springboks, notably their legendary leader John Smit. The problem is, Smit – by quiet account – actually runs the Springbok team along with veteran lineout ace Victor Matfield with input from the assistant coaches.

“Smit hasn’t been as prominent around the field as we’ve come to expect, and the Springboks have an outstanding alternative in the injured Bismarck du Plessis along with Gary Botha.

“The jury will also start to scratch the chin about Matfield’s all-round contribution, especially with ball in hand and in the physical confrontations.

“As for playing Jean de Villiers on the wing – utter madness from de Villiers … or should that be Smit.

“Peter de Villiers has been a train-driver coach, able to sit back and push a few buttons as his juggernaut powers along.

“With rule changes and advancing years catching up with the Boks, he now has serious coaching and selecting to do. He isn’t up to it and was completely outplayed by a resurgent, grinning Graham Henry.

“De Villiers was a political appointment – the administration acknowledged as much about a man with no senior coaching CV.

“If South African rugby had foresight and real desperation, it would realise the game is up, the joke is over, and give de Villiers the boot, and quick,” he concluded.

Interesting stuff.

• 93.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

‘Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana’s form have all been questioned, but why did they look so dangerous in the blue jerseys of the Stormers and Bulls, but look a shadow of those attacking forces now?’

two words…quick ball.

• 94.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-92: Snap!

• 95.Ian: Reply to this comment

Problem is they haven’t got any intercepts so far. When you rely on intercepts to score tries, and they don’t materialise, you run out of options!

• 96.oodles: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-93:

3 words = quick ball
    Front foot gives – quick ball

The forwards are being dominated at the ruck and demolished in the scrum. FDP couldnt save this train wreck, so let see what the coaches come up with at soccer city.

• 97.willievz: Reply to this comment

Excellent article Grant.

You mentioned the dummy runners. I was thinking the same thing on Saturday.

And you are right by attributing our breakdown woes due to the attacking flaws.

Let me add to your article and explain how lackluster attack can filter through to a turnover of possession and disorganised defense.

By merely passing the ball down the backline instead of distributing it and creating space, the tackled player receives diagonal ball and dies with it without adequate breakdown support.

When our conspicuously absent breakdown support eventually arrive, it usually enters from the side because the tackled player had no momentum going forward and could not place the ball back efficiently. In addition, the supporting players at the rucks were usually backline players (notably Olivier and the outside wing when Fourie died with the ball).

This feature, in turn, provided the ABs with turnover ball and allowed them to run at a disorganised defensive line which included forwards in the backline because of the industrious attitude of our outside backs at the rucks.

In the cases where we were lucky to win back that static ball, we already had at least three outside backs sucked into a collision point. They were therefore effectively out of play for at least one phase play. The ideal strategy on this particular ruck ball from a collision where backs were sucked in is to play around the fringes with a strike runner, if only to free up the backline players to participate in the next movement.

This hardly happened in the first half, and when it did, players went forward in piecemeal fashion without any support on their shoulder. Only in the second half did you see players such as Francois Louw involved in driving around the fringes sucking in defenders.

Also, why are we never bringing in Habana into play with an inside pass from Steyn or from a lineout? We are not using our pace outside to break first-phase defenses. In the modern game, you should not pass the ball to the wing via the centers on the first phase, but that does not mean they cannot be utilised efficiently from a set piece.

• 98.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-94:

• 99.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Ian(Ian)-95: nugget of truth in that, it’s about time the SA backs learned to create their own tries, someone who can pass the ball in the centres would be a start.

• 100.Ian: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-99: What amazes me is SA has got some incredible talent in their Backs, but it’s not being developed to create try scoring opportunities. Rather, particularly in the first test, time and time again both Habanna and DeVilliers (who should be playing at centre) went for intercepts that never came off allowing the AB’s to get momentum going forward!

• 101.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-92: i was just abt to put tht up myself

• 102.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Ian(Ian)-100: I get the impression SA back coaches think centres are for solely for bashing it up, they never play a 2nd 5/8th system. They’re behind the game imo.

• 103.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-102: There is a big difference between passing the ball and distributing it.

We pass the ball, but don’t distribute it.

• 104.Papoose: Reply to this comment

while it doesnt come as a surprise when the boks dont perform against the blacks for calls for coaching heads to be rolled

i think we should take a cue from wot Graham Henry did
    Last year, every1 was calling for his head as well
    that was sad
    he re-grouped and came back. the way the Keoites were carrying on abt that last years All Blacks being a weak team we should have pummeled ..COME ON
    Since when do you hear of a WEAK All Blacks team? this same team has thumped us with better tactics

• 105.Papoose: Reply to this comment

the thing is tactically we were found wanting. WAY wanting and we need to crucify the coaching stuff for tht…including Piet Snor
    If we dont, they wont learn
    All those though saying tht they are out of they’re depth and all that..PLEASE. THIS SAME COACHING STAFF HUMILIATED THE aLL bLACKS LAST YEAR AND they’re counterparts WERENT FIRED.
    So lets calm the F.cuk down

Can anyone answer this though…whats been the fundamental change in startegy from the All Blacks 2009 and All Blacks 2010?

• 106.Guns: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26:

Mate dont assume anything you read on Keo or local papers about being a generalisation of Bok supporters…

Common how old are you?

What you read in paper and on Keo is all MEDIA HYPED **** to target more viewers and make a profit financially..

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-79: Pity about Bekker. Yes I hope it’s not the start of more to come. The reason I say Kanko is that against the Aussies he may just be the player for the job, but yes, I’m a big Potgieter fan, and he’s got all the skills to play at 8. He actually fits that role better than 7 in many ways, being an busy, intelligent player who doesn’t shy away from contact. Louw looks tired though, maybe he needs a rest. He’s played more minutes in the Super 14 than anyone in the springbok squad at loose forward this year, and seems to be showing it.

I think PDV will simply swop Aplon for JDV at 14, with the rest remaining the same, but I really hope he bring Ruan in to start. This will go a long way to providing some more of the quick ball that Willie rightfully identifies as key to success…

• 108.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107: From your lips to the rugby gods ears!!!! as soon as Pienaar came on we were miles and miles better, i highly doubt that was a coincidence.

• 109.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@schnoggs(schnoggs)-69: Just a couple of comments mate:

1. To add to your previous list of reasons for the Boks’ poor performance:
    a. Fatigue should not be a factor at this stage of the season. I would rather ascribe their lacklustre performance to a lack of conditioning.

2. You are as good as your last game. Selecting Smit based on his previous achievements is absolutely ridiculous. My grandmother can compose a team playing against Fiji – even when she is on a manic episode.

I am not saying Smit should be sacked – he should be managed better. Get the guy into shape. You cannot play with passengers in the team – not against the Southern Hemisphere teams.

• 110.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-108: Yes, on the odd occasion that we got front foot ball in the drive upfield Ricky started his slow down and directing traffic thing and killed the momentum. Ruan has a sense of urgency about his play that will make a big difference. Let’s hope PDV moves on from Ricky now like he did with Earl.

• 111.posts: Reply to this comment

Muir is the weakness, look what he did for the lions.

• 112.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-103: Very good point. If you look at the Sharks game on Saturday, you will see a backline that understands something about distribution. Meyer was good because he straightened the line and created space and options for his outside backs and in my humble opinion Dumond was even better. LAMBIE WAS SUPERB – he exhibited skills that cannot be taught. How people can compare him to that fool Frans Steyn is beyond me.

I have hope for backline play in SA after watching the Sharks. It was not just about individuals trying to do things with the ball – it was about intelligence and putting people in space. The Sharks are my least favourite team, but if this is how they are going to play, they will quickly climb the ranks.

• 113.OUToftheBOKS: Reply to this comment

Lambie was fantastic! But cant agree to you opinion on Frans Steyn.

• 114.OUToftheBOKS: Reply to this comment

Smit is certainly not having stint by any stretch of the imagination, and as agreed by most people here, should be sent for some re-conditioning…along with big Vic to get a rest.
    Bissie should be returning Augustish…so, that will resolve the problem to some extent (please, no one can be seirous about giving Gary Botha another chance, not should Tiaan L wear the Bok jesrsey…same as with Schalk Brits). We are having a bad run, but we will have the last laugh come next year WC. This serves as a good test to assess where we are without some influential buggers in our team. Bissie, Heinz Brussouw, Juan Smith, FDP, JPP and Frans Steyn.

• 115.OUToftheBOKS: Reply to this comment

great stint :)

• 116.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The Abs looked at stats and metres gained by Janaurie(more like December too me) and line breaks, since Rugby is a numbers game, knew they could commit more players to the ruck cos Janaurie would not be fast enough to attack around the fringes where the gaps were!
    As soon as a faster player Pienaar came on the Abs game had to be a defensive and they changed strategy straight away allowing more space for Steyn to run onto the ball as defenders hung back to defend the holes januarie could not squeeze through!
    It was instananeous as if a huge hamburger got lifted off the boks!
    There are a few more passengers than get be ejected to make the Bok masjien fly again

• 117.toddke: Reply to this comment

Another absolute BS piece of journalism. All this stuff from KEO about “SA stop moaning”!!! What about lets have some decent reporting…Keo calls for new back 3, inside center, scrummie and maybe new loose fwds. Are you serious? It doesn’t matter who you put there if you don’t have the ball. Rugger is a very simple game. If you don’t have the numbers and you don’t have the right body position you will get nailed. Body position? Yes that little piece of advice you were taught at school. Look at how Kiwis, who man to man are lighter than all Bok fwds and in case of Hooker, big Kev gives away nearly 15 Kgs to Smittie, still stop us DEAD at maul time, drive over us at breakdown (NOT 1 article on here about absolute domination at BREAKDOWN – UnF@#$*&believable) have numbers at breakdown, gang tackle our runners, counter ruck, body position when attacking, sealing off Bok ball defensively etc. Yet all this talk of drop this guy, new FB here, game plan this etc etc.

Now meesage for Grant Ball who wrote this article. It is abslutely nuts how you guys standard are dropping. Geez this is the best rugger site out there but recently beginning to feel you guys are rushing out pieces with zero analysis. For example, you speak of the Bok game plan or lack thereof and then cite your example as follows:

“Just one example of the Boks’ own attacking failings is Mils’ Muliaina’s first half try. The Boks’ predictable forward runners halted, the ball was flung out to Steyn who shovelled on to an isolated Fourie. The rest of the Bok backs didn’t know the plan, the ball turned over, and the result was five points 75m down field”.

No Grant, this particular incident happens at approximately 11 mins and 13 seconds into the game. Fourie running at diagonal angle (as he did the whole of S14) is tackled by Nonu with Smith going in to turn over ball. Habana is right there and is first Bok player in, followed by Morne Steyn, Januarie is now wobbling up to ruck with Oliver on his shoulder. So on ground is now only Fourie with Smith trying to steal, Habana and Steyn. 3 Boks 1 AB. There is no ISOLATION and lack of Bok plan knowledge you speak of. Crumbs the guys has 4 Bok players on his crack. Nonu is now standing up next to Oliver and Mealamu is just on fringe defending any snipe. The ball comes off Steyn knee as it is quickly recycled. But Januarie decides to kick it ahead instead of Picking up. NOTE JANUARIE KICKS AHEAD FAST RECYLED BALL. It bounces backwards off Mealamu’s body and into hands of Weepu. (Who by the way also has a gut the size of Januaries) We all know the stroy from there. Infact Kiwi commentators (Marchall I believe) observe something along lines as follows: “That play highlights difference between 1 halfback that wants to kick the ball (Januarie – in fact it was a hack fwd) and another who wants to keep ball in hand (Weepu).

I mean the examples of this type of inaccuracy are abundant and you can have a field day analysing their comments.

Also reference to some players in Blue not becoming bad overnight and weren’t in S14. Yes they were, but unfortunately their flwas were covered. As good as Stormers were, they butchered many many try scoring opportunities. Habana as talented as he is has horrible hands and passing skills. This is nothing new. Strong as a robbers dog and fast as a flach but handling skills no. Fourie has developed this diagonal run over past season which again is schoolboy stuff. IMO, Januarie is HUGE problem as is our front row, not just in scrum, but open play too. Oliver is off key but wouldn’t put De Villiers there either as has been off colour for over a season. Morne Steyn cannot be blamed. He is only is 2nd season and hasn’t much go forward ball. Despite contrary, I think Zane Kirchner has been excellent.

So comon guys lets get some good journalism going here please and stop just taking pot shots. Let’s see your THOROUGH analysis and input.

Finally to all the P Divvie beaters who accused him of window dressing side lines circus show. Don’t want to now hear an effen bleep about him being sacked now, because according to you guys it was players, Dickie Muir and Gary Gold who ran the show not him. So therefore he cannot be responsible for this.

Finally again, lets not fall in mass hysteria, as we discredit our opponents, who in my opinion haven’t been given enough credit. It is always about how poor we were, never about how good they were. They, Henry and Co. have shut up alot of folks, including Kiwis Super coaches, former players and their journos, not to mention making KEO look like an absolute clown with regards to his statement about Kiwi rugger in the sh*tter. HEHEHE. Well done AB’s and well done Henry and co. You guys played a simple brand of rugger, with nasty intensity, are extremely well drilled, accurate and direct. WELL DONE. Now please go back to being KAK!!!!

• 118.Suidkapenaar: Reply to this comment

Shouldn’t Muir’s season with Lions tell us something about the way our defense is going?

• 119.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Kick-chase works as long as your opponents aren’t skilful enough to counter-attack. But, if they DO have the skills and the nous to counter-attack, you’re kicking away your possession and feeding straight into their strengths.

But the Boks have pooh-poohed the attacking game for decades, trusting their nostrum that defence wins matches, not attack.

They’ve leaked EIGHT tries in two tests against a team that knows more than just a bit about attacking. The ABs defence isn’t too shabby either, letting in only two tries in two full tests.

So, where do the Springboks have any advantage left at all? Place-kicking? Well, their deadliest and longest place kicker is sitting in France, so that cant be it.

• 120.Waster: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-119: That is why australia will probably beat the boks as well, no other gameplan and no mindset to change to another style of rugby now that they have been found out.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.