Preview: All Blacks vs Wallabies
6 Aug 2010
JON CARDINELLI says the All Blacks will beat the Wallabies this Saturday to secure the Tri-Nations title.
After that mauling in Melbourne, the Wallabies will be hurting. Don’t underestimate the damage that 49-28 loss did to their psyche. Christchurch beckons, and another figurative and literal beating is likely.
Their forwards were outmuscled at the Ethiad Stadium, and this week, the benching of Stephen Moore won’t help their gainline or set-piece aspirations. The Saia Faingaa selection may add to their mobility, but mobility means nothing when you’re losing the battle at the collisions and scrums.
Will Genia isn’t as potent behind a losing pack and was well watched by the defence last week. The Wallabies are also missing Quade Cooper’s ingenuity and running threat in the flyhalf channel. Matt Giteau doesn’t take on the opposition defence like Cooper, and it’s because of this that the All Blacks have had an easier time of stifling the Aussie surge.
Some call it cheating, New Zealanders call it mastery. Richie McCaw will continue his dominance in this year’s Tri-Nations, ruling the breakdown in spite of the plucky David Pocock. That Australian back row aren’t done any favours by the five up front, and as a unit, they are lacking balance. Richard Brown has been a poor ball-carrying option thus far, and will be smashed backward once again.
Anthony Faingaa was impressive in the Super 14, but is in for a difficult Test debut in Christchurch. The All Blacks forwards should have the upper hand, and Dan Carter is in sublime form. Carter’s catalytic distribution should allow Ma’a Nonu and Conrad Smith to maximise their running talents, and the Wallabies’ new midfield of Faingaa and Adam Ashley-Cooper will find them difficult to contain.
The All Blacks are in rampant mood, and whether the game stays tight or grows loose, they should win comfortably. They’ve been brutally effective when they’ve retained possession or when probing for territory. If the Aussies kick poorly or concede the ball at the breakdown, the awesome All Blacks counterattack has the class to convert opportunities into points.
I called the All Blacks to win by 10 last week, a prediction that may have come to pass had the Wallabies finished the game with 15 men. This week, the All Blacks are at least five points better for starting at home. It’ll be a fourth straight win in the competition and secure them the Tri-Nations title and the Bledisloe Cup.
Prediction: All Blacks by 15
All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Benson Stanley.
Australia – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c),5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Cameron Shepherd.

442 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
6 Aug 2010, 05:47 am
Preview DRAGON
Blacks by 20
6 Aug 2010, 05:55 am
ABs by 25.
Or more.
Only heavy rain or snow can stop the try-scoring fest.
6 Aug 2010, 05:55 am
At least if New Zealand win the Tri-Nations tomorrow, they might send a slightly weaker team to SA and we might be in with a chance to win a game or two…
6 Aug 2010, 06:15 am
@boktoinfinityandbeyond(boktoinfinityandbeyond)-3
on’t think that will happen, NZ wouldn’t want to slow their momentum down, also the abs have to much respect for the boks to do something like that
6 Aug 2010, 06:18 am
I am kiwi and my prediction is a very close game with the Aussies coming out like men possessed because that’s what they always do when their backs are to the wall.
I am predicting it will be won by kicks and it will be so close. IE three points.
I fear that all the negative press Ritchie has got might mean he will be yellow carded at some stage.
Lately I am agreeing with those that suggest we go the NRL way and put players on report and save the yellow card for something more serious.
Despite that expect a great contest and very little whining after the final whistle.
6 Aug 2010, 06:38 am
Predictably, Robbie Deans’s return to his old stomping ground will end in tears and more pain inflicted. Like the mobility in the run-on team with the changes given the catalogue of players on the treatment table, but surely Simmo’s aggression should have got him in the XV ahead of Mumm and Brown and Elsom will need to front up and get their fingers out. All Blacks by 14.
6 Aug 2010, 07:02 am
@KeyserSoze(KeyserSoze)-6: I think you’ll find that Mumm was just being rotated in, Theres not that much between Simmons and Mumm, I don’t rate Brown, I think he’s a waste of space, has been uninspiring so far in every test he has played, time to unleash the Higgombothom imo
6 Aug 2010, 07:03 am
Hope they bash the sht out of each other
6 Aug 2010, 07:05 am
The Abs to win and take the trinations…unless of course the reffing propaganda war falls on IRB ears and Mcaw to get pinged.
The greatest rugby player to have ever lived…
Bugger I wish we had one.
6 Aug 2010, 07:12 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-9: Ever lived? I kinda think not… But lets leave that arguement for a related thread…
6 Aug 2010, 07:29 am
Oz 21 – NZ 17
“Killer” to score 1st try
6 Aug 2010, 07:30 am
How about you Saffas lend us Spies at no:8 just for this one
6 Aug 2010, 07:32 am
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-12: Then get ready to loose 49-0
6 Aug 2010, 07:33 am
Rather pick Leroy Houston. Offers much more than that Lame and Blunt Spies
6 Aug 2010, 07:36 am
Worst Bok player of 2010 (Boks & Super 14 : b habana & january …
Best Super 14 player, but not so good for Boks : Spies & WO
6 Aug 2010, 07:36 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-14: Houston seems a little hot and cold to me, He looks like he struggles with his weight and is more chubby than anything, Mind you he’ll be better than Brown who gets pushed from pillar to post by the backs
6 Aug 2010, 07:37 am
btw why would PDV think he brought the game into disrepute?? he learnt his rugby @ the Boland where the steek mes and kick each other in their ma se p03s as PDV would put it …
6 Aug 2010, 07:37 am
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-12:
Bwhahahaha now that was funny SAus
I tell you what, we will swap him for Cooper….
6 Aug 2010, 07:38 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-14:
Or my Gran, she also offers more…
6 Aug 2010, 07:40 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-18: I would have given you Cooper for nothing last year, He’s come good but only after a lot of pain, I would be happy with Spies and pinaar if you can spare him
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-12:
By the way, how much did your team improve under Link? I hope they keep it up next year, it was good to see the crowds just getting bigger and bigger…
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-16: Brown looks like war veteran only he that he fought against Grade 2 girls. He is damn lazy player and even the u20 no8 of the Wallabies could do better.
BTW when is Palu returning?
6 Aug 2010, 07:43 am
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-20:
Hehe I know, should have done it last year and got a good deal! He has turned magical this year, I was behind the poles a few weeks back and he ran that Wallaby backline like a veteran, whenever he touched the ball things happened.
6 Aug 2010, 07:43 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-15:
Worst Bok Player 2010: Spies, WO, Matfield, Bakkies (With the limited time), Zane, only then Habana
6 Aug 2010, 07:45 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-22:
I think Palu may be back in November…or is he another only back next year? Hope he worked on his fitness or else he will only get back to proper fitness 3 weeks after the WC…
6 Aug 2010, 07:46 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-24:
Aish you clearly forgot the pocket rocket Januarie?!
6 Aug 2010, 07:47 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-13: To be honest I don’t think anyone in Aus actually expects the wallabies to win, We didn’t for the game in Melbourne (mind you we didn’t expect a flogging either) or Christchurch for that matter, If they give it a damm good go and show improvement then thats a good result, With so many of our first iv players out how can we really be expected to win. After this game all the trophies will go to NZ, I think Both Aus and SA should be looking at building the strongest team we can
6 Aug 2010, 07:48 am
mighty horua, you don’t watch much rugby esp the super 14 do you? you rely on DIE SON?
6 Aug 2010, 07:49 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-26: Eish, ok here is list:
Spies
Olivier
January
etc
etc
etc
6 Aug 2010, 07:50 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-28: Clearly you dont watch 3N rugby…you rely on Keo?
6 Aug 2010, 07:52 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-29:
Not to put to fine a point on it but I assume the names listed are all equal #1 and then the rest falls in from #4 onwards…?
I can live with that!
6 Aug 2010, 07:54 am
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-27: Oz is in a much better situation then the Boks. The continual selection of Smit, Matfield, Spies, Morney Steyn, FdP and WO plus the Jake White rugby is killing SA rugby
6 Aug 2010, 07:56 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-31: They all occupy the no.1 spot
6 Aug 2010, 07:57 am
Habana has been p!ss poor the whole year, if you can’t see that, then i just don’t know .. also PDV has no clue
6 Aug 2010, 08:00 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-33:
Fair enough, you will have to go the the n’th degree to seperate them anyway.
6 Aug 2010, 08:01 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-35:
Having said that, on balance Januarie may tip the scales…
6 Aug 2010, 08:04 am
WO has been fantastic the whole time being a Bok. Scoring tries from all angles and creating beautifull, masterfull tries. Spies with his elegant and sublime running and defensive skills makes him the dominant No8 in world rugby. He has contested every ruck,clearing opposition players.
BTW PDV are still clued on Jake White’s trash
6 Aug 2010, 08:06 am
PDV is a puppet …. said it all along, no one can coach jake White winning rugby than the master himself … get Heyneke … get rid of all the ex SARU players ****
6 Aug 2010, 08:06 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19: We’re talking rugby here…not interrested in you incestious extracirricular activities….
6 Aug 2010, 08:07 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-37:
I am not going to help you out again! What about Januarie with his +25m bullet passes and pinpoint box kicks which place him so far ahead of other #9 in the world he looks like a #18!
6 Aug 2010, 08:08 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-24: You missed Schalk, Jacques, Flo and and the brittle Andries
6 Aug 2010, 08:09 am
@UnbeataBULL(UnbeataBULL)-39:
Get your mind out of the gutter boet! Sies man
6 Aug 2010, 08:12 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-32: Who should replace these players IYO?
And whats your issue with JW?
6 Aug 2010, 08:13 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-38: Jake White and Heyneke are the puppets…hanging around to be the next Boks coach
6 Aug 2010, 08:14 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-42: I was just pulling your chain… soz….was a bit uncalled for. For that, I apologize….
We cool?
6 Aug 2010, 08:16 am
@UnbeataBULL(UnbeataBULL)-45:
Errr we will be cool if you take your hands off my chain…
Is ok, no offense taken!
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-44: And when that happens, we will win the WC again in 2015! I really hope that PdV gets his act together. He is the cancer of this team at the mo.. selecting so many undeserving Stormers…
Smit- Tiaan, Gary…ANyone
anyone
Matfield – Bekker
Spies – Kankow
Morne – Jaques L Potgieter
FdP – Sarel
WO –
6 Aug 2010, 08:18 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-46: Skerp!
6 Aug 2010, 08:20 am
@UnbeataBULL(UnbeataBULL)-45: @Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-42: I was just pulling your chain…
No man! There are other websites which cater for that kind of thing.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All