Bok back-row blunders continue

JON CARDINELLI says the axing of Francois Louw is a sure sign the Springbok selectors learned nothing from the Australasian beatings.

Louw’s been selected for Saturday’s Currie Cup clash between WP and the Bulls. WP coach Allister Coetzee said he would play the Boks who don’t make the final 24-man squad, and Louw’s selection suggests the flanker isn’t being considered for the 21 August Test against the All Blacks.

Dewald Potgieter will also return to the Bulls, which leaves loose forwards Schalk Burger, Ryan Kankowski, Juan Smith, and Pierre Spies in contention for the Soweto fixture. Burger, Smith and Spies will start, and while they’ve been such a formidable combination in the past, it’s clear the current breakdown laws demand the inclusion of somebody who plays to the ball.

Heinrich Brüssow was the top fetcher in the world in 2009, besting prominent breakdown bandits like Richie McCaw and George Smith. After Brüssow’s season-ending injury in early 2010, Louw was identified as the alternative. He made a great start in the preliminaries but then battled behind a losing tight five in the two defeats to New Zealand.

Surprisingly, the Bok selectors opted to replace Louw with Kankowski for the final tour match against Australia. Predictably, the Boks were completely outclassed by a Wallabies back row that boasted a better balance, and more importantly, a specialist fetcher in David Pocock.

The Bok selectors who explained Kankowski’s inclusion as one that would speed up their game were exposed. You cannot hope to put speed on the ball (or deny the opposition a quick ruck recycle) if you don’t have a breakdown specialist. Louw should have played in Brisbane, and he’s a must if the Boks want to combat McCaw and Pocock in the coming three Tests.

Burger and Smith are no slouches on the deck, but their ball-poaching strengths cannot match those of the best fetchers. A trio of Burger, Smith and Spies is geared for ball carrying which is fine as long as the Boks are on the attack, and on the Highveld it will work to some extent. But consider how well the All Blacks and Wallabies retained possession in the Tests against the Boks, and you will realise why a ball-stealer is so vital.

You would hope there’s been some mistake and that Louw will return to the Bok squad next week, but then why would you release him to play in a grinding forward-oriented clash against the Bulls? He will be needed at some point this year and in 2011, as even when Brüssow is fit, the Boks need two fetchers in their squad.

The decision to retain Kankowski is perplexing, as like Wynand Oliver and Zane Kirchner he’s yet to make the step up at Test level. The Bok selectors are blowing an opportunity to start Louw, Smith and Burger as a combination. They’re refusing to try something new. They’d rather favour a tried and tested, but ultimately limited, trio. That may work to a degree, but it won’t win matches.

And if they believe that combination can win matches, where is the planning beyond the Tri-Nations, a tournament that South Africa can no longer win? They need to give Louw opportunities now and experiment with a new No 8 in Burger. Kankowski is not good enough and Spies’s defensive game is lacking.

The Bok management should try something new on this home leg. Playing the same old combinations will ensure they get even less out of this Tri-Nations tournament than they already have.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

281 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-195: Grant by all means call out John Smit and Pierre Spies – but a perpetual insult just makes you seem hysterical.

Plod this, Plod that, fat this fat that. I just think you demean yourself rather than add some criticism to the table.

IMHO.

• 202.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-200: Chicek or the egg.

But I would rather play in the other guys half personally.

• 203.willievz: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-197: I suppose you weren’t the adjudicator that handed him his MOTM accolade.

• 204.The Bill: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-192: You will only give yourself a heart attack. When the top 3 sides play each year, you are bound to lose a few each year or over the duration of a few years we will win some & lose some.

If you take life too seriously, it will kill you!

• 205.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Bill(The Bill)-198:Last year when Brussow was carving up all and sundry i said the most nb person in sa rugby is Steggmann. I constantly called for his inclusion in bok squad…..as he was and is the closest thing we have to brussow.

For me one of those 2 needs to be on the park at all times…..

But these 3 stooges are so confused….its simply ludicrous.

They have contracted themselves into a pickle and now are 13 months out and diont know there arse from there elbows.

Never have i been as frustrated and the moer in with a bok set up as i am today.

Circus….and thats being kind.

• 206.The Bill: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-200: I think you will find the Ozzie & AB games will show that to be wrong. This only works when you have limited players who cannot play with the ball. It is not something to celebrate, but something we should work on.

• 207.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-192: And if the Boks win the remaining 3 3N?

Nevertheless I doubt that winning this years 3N was the ultimate goal for the Boks…

You can’t win everything all of the time with the same players – impossible, even if tactics / strategy are optimal. So priorities are important. A bok coach is appointed with the prime obj. of winning the WC with a minimum Win % (not 100%). I suspect NH Grandslam this year is the priority for this team. That makes sense whether you or other rather emotional supporters like it or not. I agree with this – let the Kiwis win and be favourites – put them on a pedestal….

The shrewd observer will know that all things being equal this Bok setup is second to none…

So all the prissy blind negativists can take these “voids” and shove it up their “nulls”…

• 208.willievz: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-202: Your endowments at disposal should play a part here.

We have a good lineout and a weak counterattack.

So yes, play in their half.

• 209.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-203: I was waiting for that. I still think he was kak.

• 210.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-202: Chicken. Or may be that is a Chechen Chicken. Chicek. We will take on Nando’s.

Or maybe it’s one of those girls who look great from far but not from close – “hey look at that chic…ek”.

• 211.willievz: Reply to this comment

@The Bill(The Bill)-206: Absolutely, see post 208.

• 212.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@The Bill(The Bill)-204: Sergeant Stone. I agree. But paying this years bills(haha) with checks from 2007 will make you bankrupt.

• 213.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-201: hysterical?

Good heavens….

The oke is fat….unfit and a liability…..

never knew facts made anyone ‘hysterical’

• 214.The Bill: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-205: Can’t say I disagree, but I don’t think Stegman is close to Brussow.

Unfortunately we don’t seem to have a decent 2nd fetcher – in the whole country. To be fair as a sharks fan, I haven’t watched Stegman that closely.

One thing I will say, I was always thought Deysel was quite a good in a fetcher role – although not employed as one, he is quite good on the deck.

For now, PDV should focus on finding some more of these players.

• 215.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-207: Bud. I was vilified on Keo for saying rest all the big guns against the Italians, etc.

We haven’t tried anything new at all. Niks Null Nought. For our sins we took a carrot up the nought.

For fear of turning in to another repetitive Keo blogger: Don’t expect different results by doing the same thing over and over. The Boks are coached differently to the S14 franchises who win and the Boks lose – draw your own conclusions.

• 216.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyway

outta here let me get some rest….i have no doubt tomorrow will see the Circus once again in full swing.

Wait till they drop Guthro for Plod….then you will see farken hysterical.

• 217.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-208: Ag boet beating us is easy – match us physically, keep the ball, run us off our feet. Bob’s your auntie.

• 218.willievz: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-209: Well you will find that most Saffas agree with you, and disagree with me.

I have been crying out for him at nr8 in 2006 already, and although I am not advocating this as fiercely as back then, I still think there is merit in trying him out there, especially as his career is starting to hug the twilight zone.

Maybe I am squeezing blood out of a stone.

• 219.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

ok I reckon this little GPS tracking system that shows Johnny boy tracking up the touch line arm in arm with gabba PdV signifies one thing IM not so humble Opinion. I reckon blue eyed Johnny is about to chuck in the towel all things being equal.
    Din’t be categorically surprised if come next Sunday morning and a declaration is made that Our Man John has donned the bok tracksuit as ‘convenor of coaches’ or ‘special envoy to hooking strategical consultancy’ or something along those auspicious lines.

Also Spies and Kanko should be out the loop. Should be Pottie, Smith, Burger in that order with Louw and Spies off bench 5/2 split.

• 220.willievz: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-217: Yes, and moer the tighthead early in the game.

Classic yarpie poison.

It is utterly frustrating to see us struggling as I don’t think either the ABs or the Wallabies are good teams. I honestly don’t.

• 221.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-207:

The Boks are expected to win the home leg games – the fact that they play the game against the AB’s at altitude will be a levelling factor as the AB’s will not be able to play their fast pace game.

Unfortunately the wc will be played in NZ – so I will read nothing in a win at Joeys but have seen enough during the last month to make me doubt whether this bok team has a realistic chance to win two wc’s in a row.

• 222.The Bill: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-213: G10, I think you will find being hysetrical about the facts (opinion) still makes you hysterical.

I look at this blog once every 2 or 3 days, & I am now fully aware of your contempt for your new axis of evil…

It is being said, without malice by many people on this blog, perhaps you should reflect on this and perhaps consider that there is some truth to what people are saying.

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-212: Fair enough, but we haven’t accrued any interest since 2007, so we are now looking for new investment…

• 223.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-217:

Hey Joe,

Are you still ok, and battling on here at keo?
    How are you doing at the moment.
    And… I am listening to “Band of Horses” as I am typing.
    “Weed Party” to be specific

• 224.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-218: I think Schalk is a great blindside flank. Let him think he’s a fetcher – it doesn’t matter. He doesn’t play like one. But I think we need someone a little more polished at 8. I like Vermeulen – or maybe even van Niekerk.

• 225.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-220: Can’t agree with you on the All Blacks. Just lovely to watch if you’re a neutral, all polish and power and grace.

Mils is phenomenal at the moment, making a real stake to be a AB all time great.

Their coaching is terrific, and yes at this level guile is an asset, no matter how much we bleat about “cheating”.

We need to get our sh it together.

• 226.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-219: Dream on. It would be great if Smit decided to pack it in now, but I can’t see it happening. He’ll be in New Zealand next year. If he gets in shape, that won’t be a bad thing. If he deosn’t but continues to start Tests, we’re screwed.

• 227.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-221: aye

• 228.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-225: I do think we’re making them look good though. These are the exact same players the Stormers klapped.

• 229.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-223: Hello Robbie. I have been out of action until the last few days or so. Working bleddy hard.
    Hardly listening to any new music.

Went to see Band Of Horses live with my wife & daughter – they were maginficent. Also saw Guster (terrific), Avett Brothers (excellent) and Weezer (surprisingly very good).

Can’t tell you anymore. Other than it’s very bleddy hot!

Nice to “see” you bud.

• 230.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-224: I don’t get it, Vermulen outplayed EVERY 8′th man in S14, has the same lineout ability as Juan. Is NOT slow – the guy can play flank for goodness sake, and supports his locks fantastically at 8 in the scrum.

We select poorly on emotion.

• 231.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-228: aye. I can’t argue that we are making them look good, I just look at the scoreboard.

• 232.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-226: Frankly I think our issues are much deeper than John Smit at 2.

• 233.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

you be surprised that a Burger 8, Smith 7, Potgieter 6, trio could work way better than a Spies at 8 scenario. I’m convinced its the way to go under current parameters and also drop Januarie and M. Steyn out of halfback rather play Frans at 10 than Morne. Its the way to go, try it and you see the big difference.

Gurthro/Beast
    Bismark/Chili
    BJ
    Roussow/Vd Merwe
    Matfield
    Potgieter
    Smith/Louw
    Burger/Spies
    Hougaard
    F. Steyn
    Habana
    JdV
    JdJ
    JPP/ Aplon
    M. Steyn / Kirchner

• 234.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-232: As I said previously, the coaches are clearly out of their depth. They took the worst forwards coach, the worst backs coach and a coach who was the right colour and handed them the reins of the Boks – what could possibly go wrong?

Smit has been a great captain but the return to prop and bulking up at his age seems to have been a step too far. Give him his 100th cap and then tell him not to play again until he has met several clearly defined fitness and weight targets. If he can’t get in shape in time for the RWC, don’t pick him.

Anyway, I need to sleep. Cheers.

• 235.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-233: I can’t believe you of all people are punting F Steyn at 10. Has the whole world gone mad?

• 236.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

K Bye

• 237.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Smit sets the tone of the team with Smit playing under par the entire team follows suit.

Select a hungry no nonsense captain that can lead and command respect from the front or go down as the pretenders that fluked a WC against Argentina Fiji and England

• 238.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-233: Assuming no injuries, players rested, select internationales etc:

15. Joe Pietersen

14. Gio Aplon
    13. Fourie
    12. Francois Steyn
    11. Habana

10. Morne
    9. FdP

8. Vermulen
    7. Smith
    6. Brussow

5. Matfield
    4. Rossouw

3.Werner Kruger
    2. Gary Botha
    1. Guthro Steenkamp

16. CJ
    17. Bismark
    18. Bekker
    19. Burger

20. Hougaardt
    21. Pienaar
    22. Juan De Jongh.

• 239.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I’m talking now next week with players selected in this squad not hyperthetical team with players out the loop, that would be my 22 there and I switch M. Steyn out of FH where he’s a one dimensional premedidated type player who brings zero to the game, WO too.
    Switch half backs both of them and 6 and 8 too and you see a marked improvement, and drop Smit right out the equation use a mobile 2.
    Then you see Bok’s cook with some gas again.

• 240.whatever: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-237:

stuck record, worse than G10!

• 241.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

take a flying leap whatever its the truth schmuckadilly suck it up any which way you wanna those are the facts dumb doos

• 242.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

and I’d never pick Gary Botha in a month of Sunday’s I’d pick Chili before him.

Hookers to go ahead

Bismark
    Liebenberg
    Chili
    Burden
    Fourie
    Brits
    Strauss

• 243.whatever: Reply to this comment

anyone who plays F Steyn at 10 is clueless and should not even comment on rugby even on a blog for idiots………..

• 244.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

your WC winning hero attached to his Aussie mentor played him through 80 long minutes of Baabaa mayhem cause they wanted to prove a point to PdV that he was the bees knees of fly halves in 08

Well now the kid has settled at 12 in France and played through his entire school career at 10, and to all intents and purposes would bring about 100% more spark to the game than the predictabke kick n chase nothing doing garbage that Morne Steyn’s been dishing up the last 3 outings and the 2 Eoyt games before that.

So if its anyone that got no clue about how rugby should be played and commenting and portraying their idiocy on rugby blogs its these fools that continue with same old same old expecting miraculous differing results.

• 245.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-233: Steyn can’t pass a ball in either direction.

• 246.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

which Steyn can’t pass either direction, seems they both struck with the same malady so I rather go with the one with balls enough to attack the gain line and set something up for the others, the one currently in the saddle is so tentative on the back foot that he’s either hoofing it into the heavens on a hail Mary wish and a prayer or else he’s telegraphing his pass to the centre who’s getting oppo man and ball on the nose similtaneously.

F. Steyn is a selfish prima donna but he got enough go forward to create something if he charges the gain line and sets up phase two. M. Steyn is just a ine dimensional deep pocket predictability that AB’s and Aussies seen coming a long time aready down the track. Time to start doing something different or else its same ild same old add infinitum as we disintegrate down the one track mind road of predictabke mediocrity.

• 247.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

More proof that the coaches dont have a bloody clue. Were in for a 3-0 beating at home too. Mark my words. Pieter wees maar hardkoppig jou d005. Jy gaan nog les op se. Lekker dom.

• 248.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-205: well said Grant – agree fully from heroes to zero in less than a year. Wheres that come from.

• 249.charo: Reply to this comment

in and out chaps

rugby is all about pressure, pressure, pressure.

be it offensive as in a good kick and chase game

or in defence as in a rush system

or in lineouts or scrums

last season the boks played a pressure game, gave the all blacks no time or space.

and simply took them apart.

this year there has been zero pressure.

mils has had time and space to counter attack.
    there has been no closing down of the opposition
    not enough competing on all black line out.

we have to back to pressurizing the other team.

otherwise we will continue to see our collective asses

• 250.whatever: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-244:

Exactly……..after trying him there they realised the failure……..you then go pick him in that position knowing full well he is not a 10……..doos logic!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.