PdV’s still in denial about Blackout
23 Aug 2010
Peter de Villiers says the margin between an easy victory and defeat against the All Blacks at Soccer City was a miscued kick.
Forget that the majority of the Springboks weren’t fit enough to sustain their effort. ‘We weren’t tired. We played at the highest intensity we have yet,’ De Villiers told keo.co.za.
Forget that they failed to dominate the collisions on attack in the second half and that as a result they struggled to get into threatening positions.
Forget that Dan Carter left 10 points out there through poor goal-kicking. Forget Bryan Habana shooting out of line needlessly in the build up to Richie McCaw’s score-levelling try. Forget John Smit slipping a straight up hit on Ma’a Nonu which culminated in Israel Dagg’s match winner.
Forget all that. It’s one kick, a touch seeker from Morne Steyn in the 72nd minute which pitched infield and rolled over the Blacks’ dead-ball line, that De Villiers said was the major contributor to the defeat.
‘What stood between us and an easy victory was one kick,’ he said. ‘If it had gone out 5m from their try line we would have set the lineout drive up and it would have been all over. That [error] had a ripple effect.
‘From where I was sitting looking through my binoculars I could see the fear in their [the All Blacks'] eyes. We thought we had [the victory] in the bag.’
De Villiers is deluded if he thinks that Steyn’s uncharacteristic error is the primary reason for the defeat (he did cite a secondary one – a skew scrum feed by Francois Hougaard late in the match). But one has become accustomed to these baseless offerings from the head coach.
He also returned to his popular rhetoric of playing up the effort of the players as a means of deflecting criticism of the defeat.
‘The one mistake I made was becoming caught up in winning and losing again. I lost track of how we played. I watched the match over and over and they made me so proud. They stood up again and again. Five, six, seven minutes stood between us and glory.’
It was three minutes. Three miserable minutes in which the Springboks’ soft underbelly was brutally exposed. ‘If we don’t learn from those experiences then I’m not doing my job,’ De Villiers said, ignoring the fact that they’ve lost four on the bounce. Four opportunities to ‘learn’.

50 Comments
23 Aug 2010, 13:32 pm
>‘From where I was sitting looking through my binoculars I could see the fear in their [the All Blacks'] eyes. We thought we had [the victory] in the bag.’
From where the rest of the world was with TV they could see the fear in yours. You fool.
These weapons you have would have tipped the scales SA’s way:
FduPreez
FSteyn
One is not avail atm, the other is (even though you try deny it and do you best to mess it up). Together its a massive arsenal.
Many of us wrote these comments before 3N started .. it was THAT obvious.
The question is : Have you overcome your greedy ego yet? Once you’ve done that boks can start winning again.
As sad as it is … better now than in 2011.
23 Aug 2010, 13:41 pm
Forget that the majority of the Springboks we’re fit enough to sustain their effort.
If PDV is failing as a coach then you are as well as a Journalist , what does the above mean ? This is just one of the many literary errors we come across this site daily.
23 Aug 2010, 13:46 pm
Ryan , actually PDV does make sense , if the kick went out we would have had a attacking Lineout , instead we had to defend from a scrum.
Forget Carters miss kicks , made no diffs in the game as if he kicked it over the whole context of teh game changes. One could easily argue then what if Mccaw did touch the line ? What if Habana did not shoot out etc etc.
The end result , the better team won , there was not much in it and the boks played much better. They still need to change more and play like PDV wanted too 3 years ago when guys like you Ryan shot him down and said stick to the structures that Jake implemented , well look what the ABS just did and now what is everyone saying ?
23 Aug 2010, 13:54 pm
Stupid Steyn should have made sure that he kicked the ball into the toprow. So much for BMT?
23 Aug 2010, 13:57 pm
‘From where I was sitting looking through my binoculars I could see the fear in their [the All Blacks'] eyes. We thought we had [the victory] in the bag
23 Aug 2010, 14:14 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-2:
Sparticus if you are going to criticise, make sure your own back yard is in order…just another of the many literary errors you come across on this site is from what people like who write!
Don’t try and get personal because you disagree with someone’s opinion. There is simply no sense or end to the “we could have, if only….” argument. It is loser talk.
23 Aug 2010, 14:19 pm
“an easy victory”
PDV keeps surpassing himself. May long it continue.
23 Aug 2010, 14:21 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-5:
LOL,
“We thought we had [the victory] in the bag …”
Wrong again.
Peter is a laugh a minute.
23 Aug 2010, 14:36 pm
3 tries to 1.
Looks at the scoreboard.
23 Aug 2010, 14:41 pm
While I agree that the coach’s offerings are not the whole truth, he has some very good points – thats how close it is in rugby.
3 tries to 1 is also a skewed perception. 1 AB try should NEVER have been a try.
The other try came in the last seconds.
After Matfield’s charge-down and we were on the try line, McCaw infringed so badly, blatantly and deliberatly, yet he was not carded.
Despite McCaw’s repeated infringements he again is not warned or penalised. So the coach is absolutely right in saying the small things can change the game.
If he had been sent off for 10 mins (or possibly even 2 yellows) as he should’ve, the game wouldve been VERY different.
23 Aug 2010, 14:42 pm
Even when they win………………………no other International Coach talks this kind of craap.
I am beginning to think Peter is in survival mode. Desperate. He has thrown his own dignity and that of the SARU down the toilet. (again).
Ted or Dingo would be sacked by lunch time for these ungracious utterances.
The Local Media, and “cringe factor” would demand it.
and ……..for what it’s worth………..
His binocculars obviously never scanned the NZ bench.
23 Aug 2010, 14:47 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-11: From some of the posts that you post here, you are evidently an expert in what talking craap is!
They are all truthful utterances with very good points.
Its easy to win games when your team is allowed to play with forward-passing.
Its easy to win when you can bring all the rules you want and never get properly punished or carded.
23 Aug 2010, 14:49 pm
@Ibleedblack(Ibleedblack)-6: “Ibleedblack” bleed black what?
From where?
Your @nus?
23 Aug 2010, 15:17 pm
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-12:
Sure I talk craap.
But I am not the Coach of an International Rugby Team.
My opinions and utterances mean less than nothing.
Those of your Coach disgrace not only himself , but SA as well.
Send in the Clowns…………
23 Aug 2010, 15:49 pm
@Ibleedblack(Ibleedblack)-6: blaa blaa blaa voocheck !!! LOL
23 Aug 2010, 17:19 pm
The helium is contaminated.
23 Aug 2010, 17:41 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-14:
Who cares? He is good for the opposition – much in the same way as Hitler was good for the allies. So much so that a conscious decision was taken not to have him taken out.
Imagine if the Boks had people like Allister Coetzee, Heyneke Meyer & Jake White coaching! No thanks, may the status quo remain for a long time to come.
23 Aug 2010, 18:31 pm
Forget Juan Smith reminding us all how good he is and what it means to play for the Springboks. Forget Smith’s tackles on the All Black captain.
Forget the discovery of a scrum half in Hougaard showing the beginnings of a legend, the passion and strength.
Forget the bravery of Aplon, the commitment of our captain, the return of JP, the prospect de Jongh is and you forget what it is to be South African.
23 Aug 2010, 18:36 pm
@Washier(Washier)-18: being positive is good. but we lost…
23 Aug 2010, 19:22 pm
@mainland(mainland)-19: I am disappointed too
23 Aug 2010, 19:45 pm
Hey Peter, true champions create their own luck!!! Please don’t say we needed luck!!! The AB played Saturday the same way the Crusader used to play when they where dominating Super Rugby. Cool calm collected and for a full 80 mins!!!
23 Aug 2010, 20:44 pm
Snor if you read these posts i beg you please leave now and take your two stooges with you before you do real serious damage to bok rugby and it`s reputation as world champs.If you leave now and take the 2stooges with you there is still time to appoint a much better coaching staff than you lot will ever be for the next world cup and we might have a chance of retaining it,but with you lot there we have no chance.
24 Aug 2010, 01:06 am
I thought it was the White Afrikaaner who had a monopoly on arrogance but Krusty takes the cake. Breathtaking !
24 Aug 2010, 01:24 am
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-10: 3 tries to 1 is a FACT. Not another “coulda-shoulda-woulda”.
And four different referees have found little or no fault with McCaw’s playing — not worth a penalty, let along a card.
Refs are the SOLE judge of fact.
That, too, is a fact. Not a C-S-W.
24 Aug 2010, 01:25 am
…let ALONE…
24 Aug 2010, 01:25 am
‘The one mistake I made was becoming caught up in winning and losing again.’
Fark me sideways…and there I was thinking that winning is the most important! Silly me…
24 Aug 2010, 01:28 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-25:
What did you tell us yesterday about spelling mistakes?
24 Aug 2010, 01:30 am
The Boks need to run out next Sat with “Justice for Hellium” written on their arms………..he is being picked on!!
The doos must go!
24 Aug 2010, 01:38 am
@whatever(whatever)-28:
Eish…Justice for the Bok!
He is slowly but surely killing off the Boks and what they stand for. Keep up the ‘good work’ and we won’t have to walk out of SANZAR, we will be thrown out
24 Aug 2010, 01:52 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-29:
Yup, the tosser was given a quality squad and has slowly f u ked it up through poor player management, poor communication, pathetic selctions in some positions and not dropping guys who are not playing well, viz Spies, dare I say it, Plod and Ricky.
Nevermind a game plan and a Plan B???
But, then again anyone who has 13-0 D ick Muir as his right hand man has got problems…….
24 Aug 2010, 01:53 am
ok, so we have had a few injuries as well……………..
24 Aug 2010, 01:59 am
If a coach who’s tactics, team selections and decisions does not get a team to win after 3 losses ,in a stadium packed with 90 000 in the highveld, then he’s not a very good coach, is he… He should be questioning his coaching ability and not mention one kick that could have made the difference between winning and loosing.
In a perfect world he would have been fired after the tri nations. Having a new coach for the end of the year grandslam tour, woulda coulda shoulda, MUSTA happen! There’s light at the end of the tunnel, but only if Heyneke Meyer is at the end of that tunnel.
When we drop out in the quarter final, ill be happy if there is going to be some change coming.
24 Aug 2010, 02:23 am
And let this be a lesson to SARU. Never had out a contract for a coach until after the worldcup. If PDV didnt have the security of that contract SARU wouldnt be so supportive.
24 Aug 2010, 02:24 am
having to rely on “luck” when you have a HUGE home crowd baying for blood, a rested team, players that made relatively few mistakes in general, and showed massive commitment and passion on defence, says all you need to know about your game plan.
Your game plan is sswimming against the current. The current is how the laws are being interpereted. You are not using them to your advantage, which you would be doing by retaining possession from pretty much your own 10 metre line. You insist on handing the ball to the AB’s so that THEY can use the laws to their advantage.
When you players play that well, for that long, with that much passion, and LOSE, then your gameplan SUCKS!!!
For 10 minutes in the second AB game, we held onto the ball and retained possession, and built up pressure – and scored two (easy) tries as result. This is completely ignored. WHY!!!!???
Snor, you are a fu@king IDIOT and your head must roll!!!!
24 Aug 2010, 02:45 am
@whatever(whatever)-31:
True but it does not take away from what you said before. You can add in poor subs/timing of subs which he has never gotten right.
24 Aug 2010, 03:51 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-35: Would .you agree that the Sringboks are not fit .For me that is one of the main keys to success.The only possible way for a team to outplay you in the last 10 min is when they have superior fitness and conditioning. That comes back to poor coaching.In the super14 this did not happen.Why not??
I totally agree with you as far as the subs go.
24 Aug 2010, 03:57 am
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-34: Good point! Giving to much ball back to the AB and Aussies..Didn’t see this in 4 tests ,did he?Either him or his deputies, or the whole bunch must go. But someone has to pay for this.NOBODY can be so off the mark and still retain their job.
24 Aug 2010, 03:57 am
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-10: Of course, I’m no expert but hasn’t Matfield picked up the ball from the back of the ruck in question (and nearly dropped it) then just flopped onto all the prone bodies. I would have thought this was a new tackle and McCaw had every right to dig for the ball.
24 Aug 2010, 04:00 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-36:
I don’t know Opti. Most of the guys played right through the S14 and met in the final, would not have happened if they were not fit.
I think the answer is a mixture of being overplayed, some injuries, poor game plan and execution and also fitness. What is saw in Brisbane specificlly was a team void of confidence, some of the factors mentioned could contribute to this but all up I think it is showing a poorly coached team.
Now I don’t really care who runs the show but at the end of the day something needs to be done…and quickly!
24 Aug 2010, 04:01 am
@Washier(Washier)-18:
“…the discovery of a scrum half in Hougaard showing the beginnings of a legend…”
Yeah he had a good game but one swallow doesn’t make a summer.
24 Aug 2010, 04:20 am
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-40:
24 Aug 2010, 04:40 am
why does Pdv continue to talk to the media – everything and anything he says will be twisted against him he should just stop talking to the media full stop.
its getting harder and harder to take these articles seriously.
i think Pdv is just pointing out the turning points of the game. ti was a tough game both teams played hard the abs came out on top albeit with a bit of luck on their side.well done to the abs – the boks lost now get over it.
24 Aug 2010, 05:02 am
“An easy win” seriously? what part of this game was easy? both teams gave it their all not at any stage did one team look like they were going to have an easy win. Can someone tell me where sa find this guy? Did they just choose some random hodo of the street?
24 Aug 2010, 05:43 am
@Kiwisamoan(Kiwisamoan)-43: Good question.However if he is not totally up to do the job. surely his deputies should advise him better.Maybe I am just missing the whole picture here but WHAT do these guys see ,that the public cannot see?Maybe it is the box they are sitting in at the stadia. Now there is one for conspiracy theories. They must be seeing a different game. I think the ABs are putting a screen in front of their window.
24 Aug 2010, 06:01 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-44: Maybe he should use his own eyes rather than binoculars!
24 Aug 2010, 06:05 am
The author of this piece is just trying to make pagers for the site.
Give us real stories not kak
24 Aug 2010, 06:10 am
@Kiwisamoan(Kiwisamoan)-45: That’s it!He is confusing the two teams.Earlier on he was supporting the ABs (with reason) Now he is getting mixed up. Knew there was an answer.
24 Aug 2010, 08:01 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-46: I think that this is the most relevant article up at the moment. Bozo honestly has no grasp on what is happening around him. But worse than that he thinks no one else saw the game. Its almost like watching Mugabe saying the Zim economy is healthy..in fact that’s exactly what its like
The boks of old would have never lost that test, let alone coming a close second. The crowd, the wounded Bokke, the highvelt, the passion, all should have meant a thrashing for any visiting side.
There is something very wrong with Snore and his Bokke and his binoculars….
24 Aug 2010, 08:38 am
I wonder whether the Bokke problem could be that many are too old.
Some have been around a long time and their bodies take far more punishment in the professional era. You may get the occasional freak like Brad Thorn who at 34 is still winning the Blacks’ beep tests, but some of today’s players must feel like they’re in the body of a 40-year-old after taking such a physical battering for season after season.
At next year’s world cup, Rossouw will be 33, Juan Smith 30, Smit 33, Matfield 34, Botha 32 and James 32. Even a fringe-selection player such as jantjes will be 31.
Some may be past their best already. But if they are going to be selected for the cup, to have the best chance of performing well these older guys need a long break from the game. Too much is being demanded of them and they’re only human. Something has to give. I would leave many of them out for the rest of the year to let them recharge.
24 Aug 2010, 10:36 am
@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-13:
Yeah THEBokFan, from my @nus. Hahahahaha @nus. Too funny. Clever mate. How long did it take you to come up with that one?
Somehow you managed to be witty, funny, original and to not at all to resemble a 7 year old school boy.