Aussies change three

Robbie Deans has dropped Saia Fainga’a, Dean Mumm and Richard Brown for the Test against the Springboks in Bloemfontein.

Deans has retained the same backline from the Loftus defeat, but has brought in three players to his pack who he deems are more physical. Hooker Fainga’a struggled with his lineout throws, gave away penalties and generally wasn’t a factor in the loose, and is replaced by Stephen Moore – who will win his 50th cap.

Mark Chisholm, who wasn’t on the bench last week and hasn’t been selected by Deans since Australia’s narrow win over Ireland in June, replaces Mumm. At No 8, Ben McCalman, who usually plays lock for the Force, ousts team-mate Brown.

Rob Simmons drops out of the 22, while Scott Higginbotham hasn’t recovered from a back injury. Drew Mitchell will also lead the team out in his 50th Test.

Australia – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.