Preview: Springboks vs Wallabies
3 Sep 2010
GRANT BALL says Australia blew their chance at breaking the highveld drought and another loss in Bloem will follow.
The contest to avoid the wooden spoon produced a loose affair last week, a game that suited the visitors in their quest to break a 47-year losing streak at altitude. They dominated possession in the last half hour, especially, but still botched it.
The tourists have spoken about the self-belief gained from their start, but it’s more likely that lost opportunity will haunt them and only serve up more mental demons. Reversing the result this Saturday after the nature of the Loftus blowout will take massive character from this Aussie unit, but they don’t appear to have the necessary mental fortitude to win in tough conditions, or when they’ve got themselves into commanding positions (for example, 21-7).
If the Boks allow the Wallabies a similar buffer in Bloem it will only highlight their defensive and tactical frailties, but as poor as the Boks have been throughout the competition, you can’t see that happening again.
Robbie Deans’ response has been to make three changes to his pack, two of them clear acts of desperation. Ben McCalman is selected to bring some physicality, but picking a lock at No 8 for his first Test start is a gamble at altitude. The Boks will adopt their kick-chase approach, and McCalman’s tactical nous at the back and his covering skills will be tested to the limit. Mark Chisholm displaces Dean Mumm in the second row, but whether Chisholm is the answer is highly debatable – he’ll play his first Tri-Nations Test this year after last featuring in Australia’s unconvincing win over Ireland in June.
The elevation of hooker Stephen Moore is no surprise, but it again highlights how big an opportunity the Wallabies wasted in Pretoria. Saia Fainga’a's lineout throwing faltered and he didn’t offer much in the loose, but Deans failed to bring on Moore and other substitutes when individuals were tiring.
The Boks have neglected the opportunity to blood new players and have made just one change – promoting Danie Rossouw – before the majority of the players undergo a conditioning camp. Whether their minds are on the break or what will be the final Test of the year for some will go a long way to determining the performance.
The standard of their showing is important in gauging whether the Boks have stagnated or regressed over the past six internationals, while their competitors have advanced. If the Boks can re-produce a similar set piece display as Loftus, and then replicate the team breakdown performance, they’ll have the quality possession needed to dominate the fragile Aussie defence.
It’s no surprise Morne Steyn had his best Test of the year, as did Jean de Villiers, against an Aussie midfield of Quade Cooper, Matt Giteau and Adam Ashley-Cooper. As dangerous as that trio are with ball in hand, if the Boks get front foot ball, they should look no further than attacking No’s 10, 12, and 13.
A possible second win out of six will get De Villiers crowing once more (who knows what he could say post-match), but it may just serve to lead to complacency and unfounded confidence that the Boks are on the right track under their eccentric coach.
Prediction: Boks by 10
Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.
Australia – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

135 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
3 Sep 2010, 05:13 am
End of the line Dragons for PDV?
3 Sep 2010, 05:17 am
The Grit Australia are missing- Cameron Shepard, Mark Gerrard, Digby Ioane, Wyclif Palu, Scott Higginbotham, James Horwill…those players I rate
3 Sep 2010, 05:24 am
Ben McCalman is a 1.92m backrow forward. Since when is that picking a lock at No. 8?
Research!
3 Sep 2010, 05:30 am
Aussie to win with eye-watering ease by about 20.
3 Sep 2010, 05:31 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:
Stop stiring Yarpie!
3 Sep 2010, 05:33 am
@Ooh Aah Umaga(Ooh Aah Umaga)-3: haha yea just read that, even his profile say’s he’s a No8/flanker. Think poor grants a big confused.
3 Sep 2010, 05:33 am
@Kiwisamoan(Kiwisamoan)-6: sorry meant to be “a bit confused”
3 Sep 2010, 05:38 am
@flanka(flanka)-2: Add to that Tatafu Polota-Nau and Ben Alexander. Plus Stirling Mortlock, who despite being past his best, would add some fantastic composure to the backline, as well as a consistent goalkicker.
Rodzilla, Vickerman and Daniel Heenan (the incumbent Wallaby blindside before a severe injury) also back in Australia next season, hopefully seeing Brown and Ma’afu sent back to Super Rugby for good.
@Ooh Aah Umaga(Ooh Aah Umaga)-3: I can understand the mixup given he did play a few games at lock for the Force this year, but yes he is primarily a backrower, be it blindside flank or number 8.
3 Sep 2010, 05:43 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-8: I def agree with polota-nau, ben alexander and motrlock….im a bit hesitant on rodney blake. he was a bit of an overhyped flop and by the time he left he was massively average (and overweight) at the reds. always good to have depth but never really rated blake. vickerman has been out of top flight rgby for a while and i think it might take him a while to adapt considering he’s been playing for cambridge in a much poorer league. still a class act though. Mortlock is the wallabies biggest loss i think….Deans was too quick to get rid of his experience and he brings an aura as the only wallaby backline player from the golden days. Ioane probably has his measure though when fit
3 Sep 2010, 05:45 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-8: i hear the great Larkham is in line to become wallaby backline coach coz of ‘the john mitchell effect’…..what the boks would give to have someone like Larkham coaching habana, pietersen, JDV, JF….wasted talent
3 Sep 2010, 05:49 am
@flanka(flanka)-9: Yes they definitely miss the Evil Wizard, but I am also keen to see Ioane get an extended run at 13 I think he would be explosive.
That said, Ashley-Cooper finally getting a settled position is also great to see and I think he will do equally well as a 13.
Going from what Big Hit has said, a couple years in the NH has done Rodney a world of good. He is looking a lot harder and his scrummaging has improved out of sight.
Will be interesting to see, as we are lacking a Test level prop after Robinson and Alexander.
Never thought I’d be hoping they bring in Baxter as cover!
3 Sep 2010, 05:51 am
@flanka(flanka)-10: Yeah heard that too.
Without meaning to be selfish, I just hope it doesn’t interfere with his appointment to save the Brumbies backline next season first!
3 Sep 2010, 05:51 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-8: Yes there are starters this weekend that would be flat out making the bench next year, barring injuries of course.
3 Sep 2010, 06:03 am
This is a severely depleted aussie side lacking some real grunt upfront.
If the Boks loose PDiddy must go.
The journos are hacks, last weeks match was really good and as much as the Wallabies blew it, so did the Boks win it. Give credit where is is due.
Keo clowns have lost their press privelages and as with Jake White the knives are out.
3 Sep 2010, 06:26 am
@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-13:
RWC 2011 Team
1. Benn Robinson
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. James Horwill
5. Nathan Sharpe
6. Rocky Elsom
7. David Pocock
8. Wycliff Palu
9. Will Genia
10. Quade Cooper
11. Drew Mitchell
12. Matt Giteau
13. Digby Ioane
14. Peter Hynes
15. Adam Ashley-Cooper
16. Tatafu Polota-Nau
17. James Slipper/Rodney Blake
18. Mark Chisholm/Dan Vickerman
19. Scott Higginbotham
20. Berrick Barnes
21. James O’Connor
22. Luke Burgess/Cam Shepherd/Mortlock (depending if they need a reserve scrummy)
A much stronger looking lot than we have available now.
3 Sep 2010, 06:33 am
Yawn it will be lame if the Bokke do revert back to this predictable boring kick and chase game, use these games to develop a backline that can score trys with the ball in hand and distribute out wide.
The wallabies will have some smart moves and a far, far superior back three in Beale, Mitchell and Connor, a kick and chase tactic would be giving the ball to their best players. It’s silly given the physical strength superiority why we persist in kicking the ball away all the time.
3 Sep 2010, 06:37 am
@flanka(flanka)-10:
After his last match in SA, Larkham was asked by a Supersport interviewer if he would visit SA again. His answer was, “Njaaaa…Don’t think so, mate”
3 Sep 2010, 06:39 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-14:
If the Boks loose PDiddy must go.
Do you want Tackler on your spoor, hey?
3 Sep 2010, 06:40 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4: when?
3 Sep 2010, 06:44 am
18. nama1(nama1) please nooooooooooooo…..
It should read if the Boks loose to this is a severely depleted aussie side he must go.
I think we will win big this weekend.
3 Sep 2010, 06:45 am
“Spies not at all intimidating” Wallaby No 8 Ben McCalman….yes because pierre is making outsurance adds with habana…both playing super kuk
3 Sep 2010, 06:49 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-14: If the Boks loose PDivvy, he’s bound to fall to earth. And if you loose your wheel-nuts, your wheels will fall off.
Better tighten them, so that they’re tight, not loose. Or else you may lose your life.
3 Sep 2010, 06:55 am
It looks like Deans will lose his next 3 matches – what must he do to get fired? Sleep with O’Niel’s misstress.
3 Sep 2010, 07:00 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-22: in about 13-14 months time you’ll go silent for a while again
as the AB’s wheels will surely come off
3 Sep 2010, 07:01 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-20:
Vok Kevin, ek’t jou probeer waarsku. Die oom is ‘n kwaai meester.
loose= los
lose=verloor
Volgende keer gaan die oom jou moer, granietkoppies en al.
3 Sep 2010, 07:09 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-20: @nama1(nama1)-25:
3 Sep 2010, 07:23 am
@mountaingoat(mountaingoat)-24: The ABs have developed way beyond mere wheels. They float like a butterfly and sting like a bee. They’ve got more wiii-ngs than a whole herd of red bulls.
3 Sep 2010, 07:31 am
i like the sound of this McCalman, calling out that showpony Spies! He’s been super sh*t this whole international season and for McCalman to say last week, was Pierre’s best game this season tells you a lot about what the aussies & kiwis think of this guy, no wonder the all blacks were in stitches when they saw his outsurance ad on tv!
Wake the hell up Pierre, what happened to your improved cognitive abilities?
3 Sep 2010, 07:31 am
@nama1(nama1)-25: So do you know the Appies from Steinkopf?
3 Sep 2010, 07:42 am
Lets hope this is habana’s last game for the boks. This guy was been the k@kkest Bok in the last 2 years .. by faaaaaar! (this year even worse it at all possible! .. if PDV is going to pick this quota again after a k@k performance 2morrow, we must moer habana in jail with bees
3 Sep 2010, 07:56 am
i reckon either a very close war …..
or an easy bok win.
Just not sure Aussies will be able to pick themselves up after a week at the sea.
Boks danger is they eye the month conditioning camp as a Spar holiday and have a focus there as opposed to the game.
PDV must focus the boks completely, if they catch the aussies early and score early points this could become another Ellis Park type slaughter……
If Aussies mentally up for it though it will be close.
3 Sep 2010, 08:02 am
A spar holiday?
Are boks packing shelves there?
I would have though a supermarket is the wrong place to go for a conditioning camp.
Especially one with a pastry section.
3 Sep 2010, 08:06 am
habana really needs a break. criticism over his form isn’t a new thing over the past few years, and a freshening up could only benefit his game
plus Gio hasnt put a foot wrong this season. surely he deserves a start?
Good moring all.
Just saw a Zebra stallion kick another like planke toe.
Eish… you would not believe how hard he kicked him. I had to put him out.
@I_support_BEES(suffer_guy)-30:
You don’t know anything about rugby do you?
Habana is world-class and a South African great. Just going through a bad patch.
I back every single Springbok 100%, that includes Chilliboy, Enrico, WO.
3 Sep 2010, 08:08 am
@gunther(gunther)-32: plod will nail all the pies
3 Sep 2010, 08:09 am
@Staal(Staal)-34: kan daai zebra agsteman speel ?
3 Sep 2010, 08:12 am
a 2 year bad patch … face it, habana is a has been (should never have left the Bulls)
Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
Yes 1133 – 82% of all votes
No 241 – 18% of all votes
Total Votes: 1374
Started: September 1, 2010
maybe the reason why Loftus was only 60% full – no one wants PDV
3 Sep 2010, 08:14 am
anyway … easy game for Province 2night … only AC knows why he didn’t rest some of his star players
3 Sep 2010, 08:15 am
@grant10(grant10)-37: nie meer nie!
3 Sep 2010, 08:31 am
@Staal(Staal)-40: was he trying to steal his car?
3 Sep 2010, 08:33 am
Beware the winning springbok. That’s usually when we get beaten. We don’t wear the favourites tag well…..
3 Sep 2010, 08:34 am
@I_support_BEES(suffer_guy)-38: so what you are trying to say is that he would have been a has been at the bulls? half the problem with habanna is he plays in team(boks) who don’t like to spread the ball wide and his over eagerness to get involved doesn’t always pay off
3 Sep 2010, 08:38 am
PdV has to go. He’s attacking his players and that’s a no-go zone. What coach, worth his salt, does that. How weak is he?
It must be doubly hard for his players to hear his rubbish when they’ve played well over their time limit already.
That’s the only thing wrong with Habana and one or two others, they just need a break.
Who is PdV going to put in to provide them with that?
There are one or two around, that aren’t injured, but why hasn’t he brought others on only 12 months away from a world cup?
He’s out of his depth.
They should put him somewhere else.
Perhaps in promoting the game in the townships or something.
I wouldn’t give him the women’s team even.
They’re not doing too well.
The last thing they need is something like him to drag them down.
3 Sep 2010, 08:38 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-42: it’s the crayfish syndrome all over again…you get so used to being judged and critisized that as soon as people start heaping praise on you, it goes to your head, not in an arrogant way, just unfamiliar
3 Sep 2010, 08:39 am
On Boots & All last night the Fox commentating team in Bloemfontein also mentioned that think the All Blacks are peaking to soon. THey have revealed their hand a year early. If they pitched up next year playing the way they do now, they would’ve caught everyone off-guard, but now Aus and Boks have a year to work out the ABs. Also, Phil Kearns mentioned for both the Wallabies and Boks there are players that needs to come back that will strengthen the sides, cannot think of any players coming in that can further bolster the ABs. Methinks the will be tears and a gnashing of teeth next year when the ABs fail yet again at achieving the highest honour in Worl Rugby.
3 Sep 2010, 08:43 am
love the fact everyones hoping the ABs choke… it shows how insecure you all are and how you have little to no faith in your own team..
but thats understandable… Ive watched your team play this year too..
3 Sep 2010, 08:54 am
@Craven(Craven)-46: well you can only hope cant you.
Its seems every RWC, the general opinion is, that its the All blacks to lose rather than others to win.
Great compliment to the ABs
3 Sep 2010, 08:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-47: hey poppa, it’s time for you to fess up! I remember having a conversion with a poppa69 about 4/5 years ago, who was a disgruntled non-white south african, working in IT who couldn’t wait to imigrate to New Zealand or Australia. Well you got you wish and now you feel the need to justify your exodus by bad mouthing the boks at every turn. would explain your handle on the afrikaans language
3 Sep 2010, 08:58 am
@lapoftherugbygods(lapoftherugbygods)-48: Well the all Blacks never progress far enough to be beaten by the Springboks. Which is not our problem….
Oh wait, we’ve actually met you thrice in WC’s and won two of them, and the one time you did beat us you still couldn’t go on to win the title…….
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All