Preview: Springboks vs Wallabies

GRANT BALL says Australia blew their chance at breaking the highveld drought and another loss in Bloem will follow.

The contest to avoid the wooden spoon produced a loose affair last week, a game that suited the visitors in their quest to break a 47-year losing streak at altitude. They dominated possession in the last half hour, especially, but still botched it.

The tourists have spoken about the self-belief gained from their start, but it’s more likely that lost opportunity will haunt them and only serve up more mental demons. Reversing the result this Saturday after the nature of the Loftus blowout will take massive character from this Aussie unit, but they don’t appear to have the necessary mental fortitude to win in tough conditions, or when they’ve got themselves into commanding positions (for example, 21-7).

If the Boks allow the Wallabies a similar buffer in Bloem it will only highlight their defensive and tactical frailties, but as poor as the Boks have been throughout the competition, you can’t see that happening again.

Robbie Deans’ response has been to make three changes to his pack, two of them clear acts of desperation. Ben McCalman is selected to bring some physicality, but picking a lock at No 8 for his first Test start is a gamble at altitude. The Boks will adopt their kick-chase approach, and McCalman’s tactical nous at the back and his covering skills will be tested to the limit. Mark Chisholm displaces Dean Mumm in the second row, but whether Chisholm is the answer is highly debatable – he’ll play his first Tri-Nations Test this year after last featuring in Australia’s unconvincing win over Ireland in June.

The elevation of  hooker Stephen Moore is no surprise, but it again highlights how big an opportunity the Wallabies wasted in Pretoria. Saia Fainga’a's lineout throwing faltered and he didn’t offer much in the loose, but Deans failed to bring on Moore and other substitutes when individuals were tiring.

The Boks have neglected the opportunity to blood new players and have made just one change – promoting Danie Rossouw – before the majority of the players undergo a conditioning camp. Whether their minds are on the break or what will be the final Test of the year for some will go a long way to determining the performance.

The standard of their showing is important in gauging whether the Boks have stagnated or regressed over the past six internationals, while their competitors have advanced. If the Boks can re-produce a similar set piece display as Loftus, and then replicate the team breakdown performance, they’ll have the quality possession needed to dominate the fragile Aussie defence.

It’s no surprise Morne Steyn had his best Test of the year, as did Jean de Villiers, against an Aussie midfield of Quade Cooper, Matt Giteau and Adam Ashley-Cooper. As dangerous as that trio are with ball in hand, if the Boks get front foot ball, they should look no further than attacking No’s 10, 12, and 13.

A possible second win out of six will get De Villiers crowing once more (who knows what he could say post-match), but it may just serve to lead to complacency and unfounded confidence that the Boks are on the right track under their eccentric coach.

Prediction: Boks by 10

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

Australia – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

Follow Grant on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

135 Comments

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-49: 4 or 5 years ago I wasnt on this blog, and I have never set foot in SA.. so must have been someone else..

as for bad mouthing the boks, well it is a SA blog, but the continual diatribe directed at anyone of foreign heritage in this site really does give one an indication of the SA psyche..

case in point, the time from the end of last years 3Ns to the start of this years…

so if people cant handle it now the shoes on the other foot, thats not my problem..

• 52.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-50: You havent negated the point I was making. The All Blacks are always installed as favorites what ever has preceded before. they will be favorites again next year regardless.

Great compliment to the ABs

• 53.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-49: now thats a faux pax if ever i saw one – how dare you confuse a revenge-obsessed, small-minded, Ozzie provincial Kiwi with a noble Bok supporter :wink:

• 54.poppa69: Reply to this comment

The seven dwarves are down in the mines when there is a cave-in. Snow White runs to the entrance and yells down to them. In the distance a voice shouts out “Sth Africa are good enough to win the World Cup.” Snow White says “Well at least Dopey’s alive!”

• 55.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-53:

Are you giving Pops a back handed compliment :D

• 56.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-55: its this myth of a “noble bok supporter” …considering conspiracy and Paddy Obrien have suddenly become the most popular words in the Seth Afrikaan vernacular

I thought noble was a very strange choice… :lol:

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-55: you know what, the worst insult will prolly be a complement to that sheepshagging whale whisperer…

• 58.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-56: As I said, ” back handed compliment.” ;)

• 59.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-57: Nice to see the spirit between us all. I don’t think it gets any better. :)

• 60.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-57: hehehe the fact youre talking about me is its own reward… seems a lot of you ahem noble Saffas take the bait every time I post… its funny to watch, and amazing that lil ole me can illicit such a range of responses and emotions..

but you could always hide away in France for a few weeks and not have to put up with my posts.. oh hang on

• 61.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-59: talking about confused identity – i was watching the womans world cup on wed… I saw the kiwi woman’s prop, a head shepherd by profession, and I sh.it you not, her team mates called her poppa

• 62.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61:

Ons kan nie bekostig om verskoning wanneer die huis is aan die brand gesteek….

and guess who started the fire, seems someone was clowning around with matches…

• 63.poppa69: Reply to this comment

hoe kan ek, hemel spel, raak ontslae van hierdie voortdurende duim druk…

:oops:

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-47: hey Popps, how’s the pressure, ur shoulders weary?

• 65.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@lapoftherugbygods(lapoftherugbygods)-52: Well actually you were making a point about everyone hoping the AB’s will lose a WC, rather than someone winning it. I was pointing out that we have won it. Twice. But yes, you will be favourites next year, and good luck to your team.

• 66.Oupa: Reply to this comment

Grant
    McCalman is not a lock. He is a No8 or No 6. He occassionally plays at lock.

• 67.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Testing

• 68.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-60: anytime you finish pounding the english girls in the final, you come find HG in Barnes and he’ll take you out on the town – from the white hart on the thames to the orange tree in richmond – we’ll find you a welsh bloke or something who’ll treat you right. You can talk about sheep together…

• 69.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: what pressure Trans? you mean the type of pressure thats on SA shoulders in trying to avoid ANOTHER wooden spoon… how many is that now?

• 70.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

HeavensGame

• 71.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: I am not at all into women playing, but to each their own. Anyways, my husband was channel flicking the other day and came across the Aussie girls playing the English. The English team had one of their flankers sin-binned. As she begrudgingly walked to the side she removed her head-gear. My god she was bald!

I also noted that one of the Aussie girls is Matt Giteau’s sister. I honestly must be a dinosaur… girls look far better with pom poms. :P

• 72.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: are women allowed to head anything in new zealand? i guess there are always exceptions, especially in poppa’s case.

• 73.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-62: jy kry lekker tweetalig, ne, my verliefste fokk.en doudruppeltjie…

• 74.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-70: are you experimenting with the lineout again?

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-68: sounds like a night, but wont you have to get permission to be allowed to go out? isnt your missus rather strict like that?

vatso katvis!

• 76.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-71: apparently Deans is considering drafting her into the squad at Matt’s expence

• 77.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-76: Damn, just what we need… another set of twins :shock:

• 78.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

CapeTown

• 79.BuckT: Reply to this comment

that would be dreadful

• 80.heboric: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:

20 points I am not sure, but if Boks win you will disappear or make some disingenuous remark.

@poppa69(poppa69)-47:

To be fair on people who makes these comments, it has happened enough times to justify them saying it

• 81.DROOOL: Reply to this comment

SHOULD THE BOKS WIN???

I will never wish a loss on our National Team but this might be the best for the boks in the long term. Div is walking on thin ice and if coaches are going to change. this would be the opportune time.

• 82.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

NZ’ers invented the condom in 1812 by using a sheep’s bladder. South Africans perfected it in 1813 by removing the bladder from the sheep

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-71: I tell you what, some of the women are immensely athletic and the atmosphere of the WC is reminiscent of the best of the amateur bygone era.

i was walking to a game on saturday, with the banshee – who likes the game, and saw a group of blonde women walking our way. one woman had an ugly shiner – normally you would think, jeez i’d love to get my hands on the bloke that did that to her – but, this time it was the Sweden womans rugby team….

Some of the women are not bad looking – in a robust, hockey player way. Lots to admire about their commitment – stories of some taking months of unpaid leave to take part… makes a change from some of the spoilt brats in the pro era…

• 84.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-75: the banshee enjoys a bit of “boys will be boys” for yours truly…. in your case its more like “girls will be boys”… good luck for the weekend, and don’t forget to tie those locks in a tight braid – that english policewoman in the front row is mighty fierce – head shepherd or no head shepherd – she don’t care…

• 85.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Sing us another one, Boy George !

• 86.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

I agree with the journo this time around. Aussies blew their chance at a victory at Loftus, 14 pt lead should have been enough to strangle the Bokke but they let them back in instead. Theres a potential bloodbath awaiting the Wallabies this w/e. Which will be great – the Aussies and Boks still fighting out for the Wooden Spoon and, yet, the Safas will kid themselves that all is right yet again and that they only lost 0-3 because of some refereeing conspiracy.

Long Live Krusty !

• 87.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61:

only in NZ would they be proud that there women are good at rugby. urgh.

• 88.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-86: I would love it to be a blood bath – will be in the stands to see it!!!

Seriously, I think Giteau’s sister would most certainly do better than he does. I find it interesting that his slump in form coincided with Deans’ arrival in Aus. Don’t think Gits likes the discipline that Deans is trying to instill in the team.

Barnes at 12 would have been a far better bet.

• 89.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-87: It is silly to assume only NZ being proud of their womens team. If that were true there would be no opposition :oops:

• 90.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-84:

3-0

doot doot doodle oodle oot doot do do

• 91.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-69:
    Carter: World Cup pressure too much
    </strong

Dan Carter says the pressure of winning the
    World Cup is responsible for the mass
    exodus of All Blacks to Europe.

A host of top players, including Carl Hayman
    and Luke McAlister, have decided to sacrifice
    their Test careers
    for the opportunity to
    play in the relatively pressure free club
    scene in Europe.

Carter said moving overseas was appealing
    to those players because the weight of
    expectation of winning the World Cup was
    just to much.

“Since winning in ‘87, we have been
    expected to win every other World Cup,”

Carter, who confirmed that he would look to
    move to Europe next year, told the NZPA.

“That becomes quite a burden, a real weight
    on your shoulders. There’s always that
    pressure and it is part of the reason some
    of the guys come over here [Europe]. They
    play over here for a club. You might play
    more games than you would play in a New
    Zealand season, but it is more structured

“You play for one team, week in, week out,
    and you are allowed to concentrate on that.
    In New Zealand, you play for three or four
    teams, the standard changes but you must
    always play well. ”

Reflecting on the All Blacks’ World Cup
    quarter-final defeat, Carter lamented the fact
    that they opted to play a forward
    orientated game when centre McAlister was
    yellow carded.

“Because we did that, we made it easier for
    the French to defend against us. Luke came
    back on and we didn ’t change our game
    plan,” Carter said. – so france didn’t play well, New Zealand made it EASY for them :D

“We got our second try from a series of
    close-in drives but the French defended a
    lot tighter after that and we needed to
    change it, but we didn ’t.

Carter, who limped off with a knee injury in
    the latter stages of that match, added that
    they should have attempted a drop goal late
    in the game.

“This is something we could learn from the
    England side, and other teams over here.
    They have set plays for drop goals, ” he said.

“That’s a big part of the game over here,
    whereas you go to the Super 14 and you
    will probably see two drop goals in the
    whole competition.

“We practise drop-goal routines but it’s not
    part of our culture. In the situation we were
    in, it would have been the most appropriate
    thing to do. ”

Carter said he had taken valuable lessons
    from the loss.

“I thought it would continue to be plain
    sailing but it didn’t. Looking back, I can see I
    was vulnerable. Not having had a bad
    experience in my career beforehand, I
    hadn ’t a chance to learn from it,” Carter said.

“It wasn’t arrogance, it was just that I hadn’t
    the benefit of what comes from a huge loss.
    I hadn ’t played in the 2003 semifinal (loss to
    Australia).

“As long as I learn from this, I think things
    will be fine.”

This entry was posted on Monday,
    November 26th, 2007

• 92.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Move over aussies for the pietandbarney bokbefok. the boks are back on track and the “legendary” dingo deans (a right kissing cousin if you ever saw one – overhyped, but thats not out of the ordinary for a kiwi) and his marsupial charges are going to have a good rugby lesson taught to them on Vrystaat turf.
    no “reconciliation” from Oneill is going to help here, ’cause plainly there isn’t an aussie provincial kiwi in sight to do the classic Tew ben dover… other than deans of course who may finally get his DCM (don’t come monday) after this blood river…

barney and his front row will scrum these ozzies into the vrystaat earth with f16 air superiority from matfield paving the way for the loosie storm troopers to blitzkrieg the marsupial midfield. after that even donkey de villiers will look half decent walking his way through to the tryline. Mossie and the outside backs are going to run right with hot stuff habanero coming back with a hat trick bang.

yup, many sad tears this saturday for oneill and his kissing cousin dingo… Schweet.

• 93.RedMan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-84: And how good is the English openside flanker? Reminds me of Serge Betsen in his pomp. But a female version. Full of mongrel.

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-91: Suddenly my coffee tastes a little sweeter.. :)

• 95.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-86: @poppa69(poppa69)-90: nice boys, keep that bubble going – like a subprime mortgage, this is one bubble guaranteed to pop…

the abs fannie mae is going to arrive just in time for Oct 2011…

• 96.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RedMan(RedMan)-93: as athletic as… betsen is a good comparison – she does play like him… must say the kiwi 14 wing is bloody good – jeez she could show many a male wing how to play the game…

• 97.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-91: Am I Dan Carter trans?? so why would I feel pressure?

really, if thats the best you can do youd be better off sitting in the corner of a nightclub blogging on keo while your missus is on the dancefloor, at least liquored up you made some sense..

eish…

• 98.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

I don’t think any of the Trination coaches are feeling the pressure.

GH is winning = zero pressure
    RD is building depth = zero pressure
    PDV has won 1 from 5, gag order is nonsensical = zero pressure

All that is on offer tomorrow is a world ranking. If the Boks can play half decent rugby they will maintain their 2nd status and if they do not then they will fall to 3rd sooner than later.

Cold hard fact. Now or EOYT.

• 99.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-86: You wish, every SA knows we lost 0-4 not 0-3 because we were shite. I really think it’s the best thing that could ever happen to our team, imagine if we were 5-0 up now.

• 100.Marino: Reply to this comment

Well, the odds are that the ozzies have got a foot on the plane already…i hate these games because we all know that it just doesn’t mean as much when you’re 2 and 3. We’ll probably put in one of those 30 pointers or something and have divvy and the matfield/smit kring telling us all there was nothing to worry about
    The “tests” for us were in NZ this year. And we failed them badly. Sorry to be so negative but we must face reality.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.