Smit out of Euro tour

John Smit has undergone successful surgery but won’t make the Grand Slam tour.

The Bok captain has been ruled out for three months after undergoing an operation to repair a chronic cervical disc.

‘The op will also ensure John’s availability for the Springboks and the Sharks for the 2011 season,’ said team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘The timing was right for John to undergo surgery as he will now have a prolonged period of recovery in advance of the new season.

‘This was not a career threatening injury.’

220 Comments

• 1.Loki: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope he comes back lean and mean. If he’s going to go to WC, we might us well hope he’s 100%

• 2.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Thank Goodness!

• 3.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

nou gaan chilliboy weer k@k aanvang vir die bokke

• 4.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Question now is, who will be made captain for the EOYT?

• 5.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Or let me rephrase, will he look to another senior member, or to the future of Bok rugby?

• 7.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Why is my post being moderated?

• 8.rangerman: Reply to this comment

huh?

• 9.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

chilliboy

• 10.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Imagine if PdV includes Luke Watson in his EOYT squad, and makes him captain :lol:

• 11.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

dewald potgieter

• 12.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I see Percy and Tasmin Montgomery were divorced last week.

Eina, is Percy now going to remove that tattoo of her name from his abdomen?

• 13.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Maybe a bit of lipo suction whilst “under” will help !!!

• 14.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

“cervical disc”? Should be difficult to swallow, so hopefully he’ll stay off the pies. :smile:

• 15.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Grant10 not here yet? Probably out celebrating.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

This is a big blow for the Ab’s we need him back desperately for the WC.

• 17.onemanshow: Reply to this comment

At least Bissie and Craig Burden can take over. Would make Smith captain. Or Kanko? :)

• 18.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Well that explains a lot. It also means SmitFit won’t be anywhere near the Sharks’ team come semis. I am not sure if there will be many tears shed about that one.

One thing though, he better lay off the pies and ice cream.

• 19.onemanshow: Reply to this comment

Maybe they should just bring ol’ Terblanch in for one more final Bokka test and make him captain. :p

• 20.Puma: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith should captain the eoyt now. Though don’t think John or Victor were going on that tour anyhow. So this is the right time for John to get that neck op.

All the best to Smit in his recovery.

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

ek se maar niks

• 22.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Keo: “So Peter, how does this operation affect your build up to the world cup?”

PDV: “Ja you know. John came to me before this and said he had a sore neck and I said John, are you sure it’s not a chicken bone? But that’s then and now is not the World Cup. John and I, ja, we will work through this and come 14 June we will be ready to face Russia in Singapore.”

Keo: “Peter, the World Cup is in New Zealand, in September and we don’t play Russia.”

PDV: “Ja, you guys in the media. Taking a story and ruining the man. Like Bees Roux and the Metro Cop. You know, Ritchie will be excited with John out, you know. The Metro Cop on the loose with no Bees about. You know?”

Keo: “What?”

PDV: “I’m not saying Castor is a man, but if we short of flanks or John is out I may make that call. Ja. It’s between men, and Castor will be there for the Boks, fronting up like the man she is. Ja Keo, come World Cup John, Castor and the rest of the boys will bring home the glory. And if they don’t well there is ice cream in hospital and Mt Edgcome is a nice place to eat Pasta. “

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

grant going to lose his sh*t over this thread hahahaha :D , get well soon Plod

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

so much for a training regimen to get plod remotely into a bok shape…..

Now in 3 months time he miles behing again…..

But carry on….check the tears come Oct 2011….

• 25.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

…pity Donkey De Villiers doesn’t need a hammy op

• 26.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks fans will be bloody relieved…

• 27.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

24. grant10(grant10) yeah the training squad didn’t make any sense. You can’t store up training like grain. You are either fit or SmitFit. Back in high school I was fit, but now I am not. I could have run further in high school, but today I’d still not be fit. The Boks are bozos.

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

in fact i would go as far to say that sharks probably win the bloody cc now that this oke out.

• 29.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Lets see if he comes back fresh and can get through the Super 15. By then one would imagine that someone had already played themselves into the Bok starting hooker position.

Please lets identify someone else other than the quota Chili-umfaan.

• 30.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So, Chiliboy is ABSA’s nominated captain then…

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what is an ‘umfaan’? :roll:

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

so i guess no ‘Grand Slam’ for the Boks then, cos apparently the Springboks are kak without Plod’s super fit ‘aura’…

• 33.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

A quota…

• 34.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I can see that there are 114 stoopid, stoopid fools who think the Surrendermonkey Lions are going to beat the Numero Uno team in the CC – the Sharks…

Idjits…

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

32 Trannyumfaan – change “superfit aura” to superior leadership ability and then you talk sense for a change…

• 36.deadlypea: Reply to this comment

I thought Chilly played really well when he came on, he showed much promise and had he been put on the field against the All Blacks in Soweto we could have won that test as John was off his feet.

Bismark is definately the form Hooker in SA when fit
    John is the form Captain
    Chilly is the young up and coming player, when fit.

• 37.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, tell us about the World Cup.”

PDV: “Ja you see children. It was a long time ago and Pappa Snor took the Boks to the World Cup. Ja it was hard, in New Zealand, where it rains a lot and the balls always bounce in a Maori manner.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, tell us what happened next.”

PDV: “Ja children, it was like this. Pappa Snor knew what the Boks needed and he said to his friend John, John, have some chicken and pies, I want you to play 1, 2 and 3 that way we will always have an overap. Ja, Pappa Snor was glorified and the chosen one then already children.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor,then what happened.”

PDV: ” Ja we played you see, we played hard. In the end the balls always bounce and the pitch was maorified. Now I am not saying Ritchie Metro Policeman used trick balls but when you lose it’s never as nice as winning.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, but you said you won.”

PDV: “Ja children you see, there is a moral and I am a Prophet. And Prophets need morals to tell stories. Morals cause Prophets I tell you. Ja, winning isn’t everything but not amount of chicken makes a front row strong. You see children it was sanctified by the man upstairs. We could never win. How many saints won? None, ja you see to be a saint you must lose. I lost the world cup, others lost their heads.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, we love you for being such a great coach.”

PDV: “Ja you see again children, winning is everything but sometimes a true Prophet knows the value of a loss. The whites they didn’t like it but you know, there are no white Prophets, and when in Rome you Sack the Jews. Rugby isn’t only played on the field you see, ja children, we were winners, we were saints. It was a good year. ja.”

• 38.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

****, ****, ****, ****, **** ….

testing the mod

• 39.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

****, dammit, god, ***

mod test 2

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@***** Game: so what if we win this thing without Plod? Whose ‘aura’ will take the credit?

• 41.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

test

• 42.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Why are all my posts being moderated ??

• 43.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-12: Ag no! Seriously? Thats a shame – after they stuck by each other through all the trouble in Wales and so on (if you read Monty’s book)

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: Its like his Uncle – Oom Faan ;-)

• 44.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

2. justrugby(justrugby do not hit reply, it does an auto moderate

• 45.katman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-42: It’s the new Media Tribunal. Feel it. It’s here.

• 46.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

43. THEBokFan(bokfan1) and she just won Miss Fit Body SA on the weekend. Percy missing out there on the body double.

• 47.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

justrugby(justrugby)-45: Mine too! Its the new Media Act of Keo ;-)

• 48.katman: Reply to this comment

This site is well fcked and Keo can’t afford to fix it because Jake White has run off with his cash.

• 49.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

justrugby(justrugby)-42: LOL!

• 50.Puma: Reply to this comment

Why is some of our posts awaiting moderation? Nothing much in my posts why moderate them?

• 51.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

51. goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2): Seriously? Eish, sorry for Percy…

53. katman(katman): LOL, you guys are on a roll

• 52.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

40 Transinkonyane: according to some, definitely not “prophet” Piet…

Its going to be a real quandary for Keo and other Jake the Snake minions who will get the credit for the grandslam if Smitty is an absentee coach…

However, Skype or Cisco videoconferencing from Umhlanga Hospital may be possible… Problem solved.

• 53.Puma: Reply to this comment

This is crazy now. About 3 of my posts are awaiting moderation. For what?

• 54.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

42. JustshaggedG10 – its because your comments are rubbish…

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

i have tried to vloek HG about 10 times but keep on getting moderated.

HG consider yourself vloeked in your moer.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Puma, don’t press the reply BUTTON!!!!!!

• 57.grant10: Reply to this comment

its the rooi gevaar i tell you.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

keo…wat gaan aan?

• 59.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Keo: “Peter, is SARU moderating my website?”

PDV: “Ja Keo, I’m not saying I know anything, but you reap what you sow and maybe Malema has had enough.”

Keo: “Can Malema turn on a computer let alone moderate a forum?”

PDV: “You see, ja, thinking like a white man. Moses didn’t say I am not a stone mason and yet he carved the commandments. ja, you see, us, the men of this land, we know.”

Keo: “You know what?”

PDV: “Ja, again you see Keo, thinking in white man’s terms. Like you think about rugby. Not having any knowledge is no hinderance in our culture, we are winners, we achieve beyond our abilities.”

Keo: “Moderation is an achievement?”

PDV: “Ja, you see Keo, you have much to learn. Julius has a standard 4 in woodwork and now he monitors words. you see the power of our ways, achieving beyond our means. The glory of the Prophets of Abraham. We are chosen. Ja.

• 60.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

49. Pussyman – LOL. you speak truth

• 61.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

1. THEBokFan(bokfan1) Seriously yep. Tightest bod in SA… over 40s I think. Pretty good stuff.

• 62.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

56 Grabbed10Moffies – vloek yourself, man

• 63.katman: Reply to this comment

wiesjoufokkenpussyman?
    >^..^<

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

so plod back doing what he does best….f all….

3 months….at least he will be fit for xmas pudding.

• 65.Puma: Reply to this comment

59 – Transie thanks.

It also logged me out…….hahahahaha. Had to log back in. Think it is taking toooooooooooo much time just to post one post here. Will be back later once it is working proper.

• 66.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

smit should go along to escort and provide the necessary aura

• 67.race of tan: Reply to this comment

PA – I reckon this is a blessing in disguise. Juan Smiths long rest was very evident and hopefully so will JSmits. Is MatField touring? I hope he gets a rest too and probably Morne Steyn but with no flyhalf i think MSteyn will be touring!!!

• 68.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Mama Luciano’s may lose some profit over the next 3 months…

• 69.katman: Reply to this comment

The rest of the site is well fcked, but at least the poll is spot-on.

• 70.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@katman

Yes, the Lions will win!

• 71.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

70. Pussyman – The poll indicates the collective intelligence of Lions supporters on Keo – IQ of 136 and counting divided by the total number of votes…

• 72.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

so what the F is afriboredom doing about rhino poaching

• 73.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

You guys who think the Lions will win probably also think WP will win the Cup. Bwah ha ha ha ha. Like Percy you’ve shot your bolts for the last time.

And the kitties look better, but the Sharks are gonna get ya.

• 74.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

71. We Poep-Forever. Yes, and their are no quotas in rugby… get a grip… catch a wakeup

• 75.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

72. Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua) YOu mean Cheetah Poaching? Harold sent them a letter but he didn’t pay enough for postage.

• 76.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

lions will easily beat the player stealing cheetah team

• 77.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

73. Mighty ***** – WTF do you care other than using the poached rhino for bushmeat after you’ve sold the horn to the local colonising chinaman

• 78.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

73 Might Wh.ore – play it again… WTF do you care other than using the poached rhino for bushmeat after you’ve sold the horn to the local colonising chinaman

• 79.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

HG .Will you join my facebook page to stop the poaching

• 80.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

76. Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua) True, how dare those Sharks offer to pay a guy 20 times more. Awful we are, not a standup chap among us. Filthy as fannies in a house of ill-repute.

• 81.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

?

• 82.Slartibartfart: Reply to this comment

79 Hoerewa: Your face is too ugly for facebook!

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

80 Might *****… Fark that, the masses need bushmeat…

• 84.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

77 Who have the Cheetahs stolen… Not right in the professional era…

• 85.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

in comparison with the sharks, cosatu looks like imams

• 86.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

82. Thats why we’ll use the absa logo. So are you joining the anti poaching fan page

• 87.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

we can give the bushmeat to zimbos and porras cause the masses wil get an increasd social grant from the tax of the elite

• 88.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

LOL, Afriforum made ABSA change there tune very quickly. Soos in die ou dae is die afrikaner baas.

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

87 Dont use tracebook

• 90.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

• 91.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Its ok HG

• 92.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sport 24
    Absa: No quotas for Currie Cup
    2010-09-21 22:31Email | Print

Johannesburg – Absa did not threaten to withdraw sponsorship money or suggest quotas be instituted, Absa and SA Rugby Union (SARU) said in a joint statement on Tuesday.

“SA Rugby confirms that at no time did Absa threaten to withdraw sponsorship money or suggested that quotas be instituted or was in any way prescriptive about the composition of the teams,” SARU president Oregan Hoskins said.

Last week, reports surfaced that Currie Cup sponsor Absa had expressed concern over a lack of transformation in rugby.

This caused civil rights group AfriForum to launch a “Stop Absa Quotas” campaign, with many people threatening to close their Absa bank accounts.

Absa responded in a Rapport article on Sunday, with deputy chief executive Louis von Zeuner saying: “We have never said a team should include a certain number of players of colour.”

But on Tuesday, Afriforum’s executive director Kallie Kriel said the organisation had found an SMS from Von Zeuner to Hoskins, apparently contradicting Von Zeuner’s weekend statement.

It was sent after the Currie Cup matches played on September 11.

According to AfriForum it reads: “Regan, I think you should write to the major unions on black players -judging from today’s games Lions 2, Bulls 1, Cheetahs 2 – they are not respecting the spirit and goals of transformation. Louis.”

According to SARU and Absa’s statement: “quotas no longer apply to the Currie Cup Competition.

“However, it is expected of each province to take serious cognisance of the issue of representivity of players on the field of play, to support our broader transformation objectives.”

They quoted a provision in the competition rules: “SA Rugby has adopted a comprehensive transformation charter that will guide SA Rugby and its provinces on the critical aspect of the game”.

Von Zeuner said Absa’s request to SARU was that the tournament “be presented in such a way that it ensures that the Currie Cup competition gives the opportunity to all players to develop their potential”.

He said spectator numbers “are not always satisfactory” and had told SARU that “all aspects of the agreement are not always adhered to”.

“Currie Cup matches must generate the same excitement as was the case with certain sporting events earlier this year.”

• 93.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

93 “However, it is expected of each province to take serious cognisance of the issue of representivity of players on the field of play, to support our broader transformation objectives.” – jeez, that is a long way to say that there are quotas…

Ironic all this quota imperative coming from Fatty von Zeuner: a middle aged mlungu…

• 94.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this op is really fishy! It’s okay to just say Plod is dropped.

• 95.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

93. I wonder what mlungu Fatty von Zeuner’s interpretation is of “the spirit and goals of transformation”?

• 96.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I had no idea it was SARU’s and the Unions jobs to go into schools and beat black kids with sticks until they like rugby more than soccer. Likewise with the teachers, the ones that actually teach or do sports, that they should teach a game they have no idea about.

Surely that is governmemnts’ job through the board of education or sport or something?

What are the Bulls, Sharks, Stormers etc to do? Demand black people like rugby. It’s like demanding me to like soccer, a game I find so boring I felt like crying during the world cup.

• 97.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

94. Transformation(Transformation) No its been on the cards for about a year, his neck has been stuffed for a while.

• 98.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

97. Goyou – maybe thats what fatty von Zeuner wants… When are the Sharks going to take down the absa banners from Kings Park and get another sponsor who is actually interested in rugger… and not in trying to do transformation by colouring-in book…

• 99.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

What does transformation really mean? Fair go is fair go, but what if I don’t like chess or badmington or squash or curling?

We don’t have any black skiers either I think, is that a problem? What about black golfers? Why are so many Indians good at Matric finals, should there be a limit on their numbers so whiteys and blacks can match them? It’s a load of hogwash that has no bearing on the realisties of life.

There are more black people in SA and yet the majority of them like another sport. Is that a hard thing to grasp?

• 100.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

98. Heavens Game(Heavens Game) Ironic that ABSA, of all banks talks this, given their past.

But their CEO is as fishy as a fish stick in a fish hoek summer.

• 101.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

99 I wonder if absa is following “the spirit and goals of transformation”…

Lets apply the same standards of counting black representatives on the absa board of directors (excluding foreign and only “ethnic”):

D C (Des) Arnold Independent
    C (Colin) Beggs Independent director
    D C (Dave) Brink Interim Chairperson
    B P (Brian) Connellan Independent
    Y Z (Yolanda) Cuba Non-executive
    BCMM de Vitry d’Avaucourt (French) Non-executive director
    S A (Shauket) Fakie Independent
    G (Garth) Griffin Independent
    M W (Monhla) Hlahla Independent
    M J Husain Independent director
    A (Antony) Jenkins Non-executive director
    R (Robert) Le Blanc Non-executive, British
    TM Mokgosi-Mwantembe Independent director
    E C (Eduardo) Mondlane, Jr. Non-executive, Mozambican
    T S (Trevor) Munday Independent
    SG (Brand) Pretorius Independent
    M (Maria) Ramos Group Executive Director, Group Chief Exec
    D W P (David) Hodnett Group Financial Director
    L L (Louis) von Zeuner Group Executive Director
    B J (Johan) Willemse Independent

I can only count 2: So by Fatty Von Zeuners own standards, absa “are not respecting the spirit and goals of transformation”…

• 102.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Puma 53: Want jy wil net kak praat. No only joking, they did the same to some of my posts earlier and I didn’t use any dirty words or anything.

• 103.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

Am i missing something, why are the Lions favourites this weekend?

• 104.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

HG, it’s like the story about glass houses, how did Snor put it? “Ja those in glass houses with stones must never throw the baby out with the bathwater. Even if it is Ritchie McCaw. Ja. That’s all I am saying ja.”

ABSA, plonkers.

• 105.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

So if i reply to someone my comment gets moderated???

• 106.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

103. Oxy moron(cjgrove) Why is Snor our coach. Mysteries of the unexplained.

Others to ponder:
    Why WP are unbeatable and yet they have been beaten.
    The Bulls are CCup favourites.
    How Malema managed to get to actually handle a saw at all, even if he failed.

• 107.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Yes you can’t reply to someone by using the reply button.

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hg… Cuba, Hlahla, Mondlane, Mokgosi- Mwantembe how many is that arsewipe?!

• 109.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

109. GOYOUGOODTHING2(GOYOUGOODTHING2)
    Not even the Sharks beating the Stormers in the Super 14 stopped them from claiming the entire bok side should be swamped with WP players.
    Bit of a shame to hear about Keos Jake White Venture, it was a good idea but unfortunately gone about with money as the priority and not rugby…

• 110.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

109 Transumfana – Mondlane is from Mozambique, arselick…

• 111.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Banshee’s Bum: and you’re still left with how many? :roll:

• 112.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

111. Transformation(Transformation) about the same representation as a current Super Squad :-)

• 113.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

109. Oxy moron(cjgrove) That venture sounded dodgy. Not in terms of rugby but can you imagine JW shaping all future Boks, he’d be another Danie Craven. Mwa ha ha ha ha he laughs from his lair under Table Mountain.

• 114.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

112. Transumf: gygt2 has answered nicely in 113… catch a wakeup my boy…

• 115.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

112. Transumf – you argue like a farking union leader… no sense, bloody nonsense…

• 116.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Has Keo.co.za been sent in for a service? Thought they needed a new oil filter! :lol:

• 117.gunther: Reply to this comment

The bleddy agents have hijacked keo.

11% and R1000 housing allowance.

• 118.gunther: Reply to this comment

Barney will be fine.

As long as grantie and the rest of the keo youth league don’t infiltrate the hospital.

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Heavens Shame: you said you coulf count how many kehla le mbamba? :mrgreen:

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

classic at 119….

• 121.gunther: Reply to this comment

I am going to suggest to Barney the following strategy:

Take a total break from rugby till january.

Embark on a rigorous conditioning programme for the first 3 months of 2011.

Play the second half of the duper 15 of the bench.

Approach total awesomeness for the shortened 3 nations and world cup.

• 122.gunther: Reply to this comment

Go you mighty warriors.

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Mapoe gets Bok blocked

2010-09-22 19:04

Bloemfontein – Springbok Sevens coach
    Paul Treu requested the use of rogue
    winger Lionel Mapoe for the upcoming
    Commonwealth Sevens tournament, but
    was refused by the Free State Rugby Union.

SuperSport.com can reveal that Treu had
    accredited Mapoe on request of his agent
    and the national selectors to be part of the
    South African team for the tournament in
    New Delhi, India, but the request was
    turned down by the Cheetahs.

Mapoe has been in a contractual dispute
    with the Cheetahs for six months now, and
    will head to the High Court in Bloemfontein
    on Thursday after he hasn ’t returned to the
    city since losing the arbitration case in his
    favour.

Treu confirmed the request, saying he
    didn ’t want to get involved in the dispute,

but was looking to help the player get
    some playing time while he was in limbo.
    Mapoe is a Sevens Springbok and knows
    both the structures and game plan of the
    Sevens squad, and would have been a
    welcome boost to South Africa ’s hopes of
    getting a medal at the Commonwealth
    Games.

“I just thought it would be the ideal chance
    for him to get some time on the field,
    which is valuable for a player like him who
    hasn ’t played for some months. Naturally it
    would also have aided us in our quest for a
    medal in the competition, ” Treu told
    SuperSport.com

“I have to say that I am
    disappointed, not only for ourselves but
    also for Lionel, who needs to put this
    behind him and get back onto the field
    again. ”

Mapoe lost the arbitration dispute almost
    two months ago, but has still been training
    in Durban with the Sharks since declaring
    his contract with the Cheetahs invalid. The
    Cheetahs are disputing this and have asked
    for a court interdict to compel Mapoe to
    head back to Bloemfontein and join up
    with his former province.

• 124.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Transformation(Transformation Even more disgusting of the Cheetahs. Were once a fav team of mine but until they lose Harold and his crew they are below the lowest.

• 125.Bhupendra du Solanky2: Reply to this comment

Au Revoir John…I hope while you are on your break you will realize that the standards needed to be a Bok hooker are not reachable by yourself. I want Du Plessis and Liebenberg to go to the RWC. Finish and klaar

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

liebenberg?

he is smitty’s little dutchie beyatch. what an overrated player, he will never be a bok.

smitty has 100 caps.

never forget.

• 127.Bhupendra du Solanky2: Reply to this comment

Rangerman

Liebenberg was really good in the Super 14. If not him than Gary Botha is a good option. Chilliboy however has the inside running though as he is one of PDV’s favourite!

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

don’t mention any wp player in Rangerman’s face, YOU WILL NOT WIN… :D

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

oh, unless it is Juan de Jongh. Ranger, Banshee’s toy, Sharks_lover, Puma, John Galt, GoYouGoodThing, BananaBoy would give you fellatio for him :mrgreen: hahahahahaha

• 130.Transformation: Reply to this comment

how is promoting the transformation of rugby ‘neglecting afrikaners’?

Stop meddling, Absa warned
    2010-09-22 23:06

Daniëlla du Plooy

Johannesburg – Trade union Solidarity
    want to ensure that R18bn worth of
    business – a portion of the money that
    approximately 100 000 of its members
    invest at Absa – is taken away from the
    bank unless Absa provides the assurance
    that it will not continue to interfere
    politically in sport.

This follows Absa’s stance on Wednesday
    that they have a right to have an opinion
    about the issue. Absa are one of the South
    African Rugby Union ’s (SARU) biggest
    sponsors.

A controversial SMS also surfaced in which
    Absa deputy chief executive Louis von
    Zeuner apparently requested that SARU
    president Oregan Hoskins looks into the
    number of black players in rugby.

According to the Solidarity Movement
    (which includes Solidarity, AfriForum and
    Helping Hand) about 65% of its members
    have Absa accounts, with an annual
    turnover of R18bn that flows through the
    bank.

Prior to Solidarity’s ultimatum, Absa hit back
    at critics saying that transformation is an
    important consideration for it as a major
    sponsor.

Chief executive Maria Ramos admitted that
    Absa had raised questions about
    transformation.

“Not only does it mirror our values as an
    organisation, but also part of the
    commitment that rugby has made to Absa
    as a sponsor, ” the statement said.

“It is therefore appropriate that Absa, as a
    sponsor, raise questions and issues related
    to it. ”

Solidarity chief executive Flip Buys wrote
    to Ramos saying that they (Solidarity) are
    “ perturbed about the manner in which
    Absa is neglecting its traditional support
    base and Afrikaans speakers in particular”.

“The expansion of Absa’s client base to
    other communities does not mean that
    Absa should turn its back on its origin and
    clients that have supported the bank loyally
    for many years, ” wrote Buys.

“The unusually hefty reaction that
    AfriForum’s campaign has elicited, shows
    the high level of public frustration.”

On Tuesday an SMS surfaced in which Von
    Zeuner apparently wrote to Hoskins:
    “ Regan, I think you should write to major
    unions on black players – judging from
    today’s games Lions 2, Bulls 1, Cheetahs 2 –
    they are not respecting the spirit and goals
    of transformation. Louis. ”

Beeld last week reported on a letter by
    Hoskins to provincial unions about the lack
    of transformation. It was apparently
    written two days after von Zeuner ’s SMS.
    AfriForum then started the campaign
    against Absa.

• 131.whatever: Reply to this comment

Yeah, butt out Absa……..select on merit only not on friggn % colour in a team FFS. Apartheid ended when?

Would it not be great if we had a profesional coach, not a clown, a captain who was fit and within the weight limit, politicials who sorted out their own mess and left rugger alone, selections purely on merit, sponors who butted out of selections…. dreamworld I guess?? Well not really….that’s how it is elsewhere in the rugby world……..

• 132.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Yes great news for Smit. I hope you recover fully and lead the Boks to a 2nd successive World Cup Title and a Third Title overall.

• 133.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Holidarity and Afriboredom should concern themselves with the issues of the minority

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

surely time for Plod to call it a day now…..out for 3 months after a neck op…..then into training……with a suspect neck?

He has fallen far behind, he will never make up the backlog….the young guns will increase the gap exponentially.

Smitty, walk away my man….it was great,

maar dis nou klaar.

• 135.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

“perturbed about the manner in which
    Absa is neglecting its traditional support
    base and Afrikaans speakers in particular”

• 136.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@ Mighty H: Teh Afrikaner client base built the bank to what it is today, ABSA wouldn’t exist in it’s present form if it weren’t for them, which is why they are reacting to this.

Like lets say you and your family and friends supported a new restaurant, where loyal to them for 20 years and due to your patronage they grew and became one of the top places around…then one day they institute a policy of segregation whereby you would only be allowed to use the establishment once all white customers had been accepted first – might hack you off somewhat, no?

Oh wait, I forgot, you believe in some god-given right to step in and take something for yourself once someone else has done all the hard work and made it a success….

• 137.gunther: Reply to this comment

they are not talking about cape spanish afrikaans speakers.

• 138.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

@GUNTHER

We call them “Woodstock Spanish”.

• 139.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

Grunter

I forgot: Hardenthefuckup!

• 140.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@ g10

Smit won’t retire until after the World Cup next like Matfield and one or two others, pleading online will not change that. Rather get behind your legendary captain :)

• 141.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ Don’t click on the reply button or you will be moderated

Woodstock of Gibraltar?

• 142.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

Now that Smit is on enforced rest with his kneck operation, he can start his re-hab propertly with a conditioning program that will have him in tip-top shape for next year.

Hopefully.

They should drip feed him for the next 3 months, that will sort out his extra few “tighthead” kilos….

• 143.gunther: Reply to this comment

Biggie

The only time Grantie and the Budgieforum would get behind Barney is if the great man were standing on the edge of a cliff contemplating the meaning of life.

Which of course he understands completely, being a great man and a wolrd cup winning captain.

• 144.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

@gunther

Nope. Not the one. The Costwolds are a very nice summer spot, but not the one i was thinking of…

• 145.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Atreides(Atreides): No it wont hack me off! I’ll rather just go to the next restuarant or just buy Fish, chips and kuite from the Porras! Over the toonbank works much better!

And “you believe in some god-given right to step in and take something for yourself”

Sound like the Hollanders!

• 146.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

134. WHATEVER(WHATEVER)
    and this is the only reason im jealous of the all blacks and wallabies…

• 147.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

I see the moderation **** is still on

• 148.gunther: Reply to this comment

Don’t click on the reply button or you will be moderated

I don’t think the operation was on his Kneck.

I think it was a neck op.

I have already epossed Barney with my rehab programme as layed out in post 121.

• 149.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

@Grunter

Good plan. What did he say?

• 150.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

lol @ the Kneck. I Knever proof-read my posts.

• 151.gunther: Reply to this comment

he hasn’t replied.

I epossed it to gretestbokever @ iafrica dot com.

but serioulsy I have let my thoughts be known to his management.

• 152.gunther: Reply to this comment

no seriously he emailed back and said he can’t wait to have grantie for dinner (or was it breakfast) next time he is in cape town.

• 153.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

LOL I had a converstaion with Grant a while ago where he said in jest that if Barney ever read his posts he’d be very afraid….

• 154.gunther: Reply to this comment

fortunately barney has more important things to do than worry about the Budgieforum.

• 155.Don't click on the reply button or you will be moderated: Reply to this comment

@gunther

Sure, he’s a great man, our Captain. Wouldn’t lower himself to thrashing a senior like old Grant. Not that sporting…..

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

barney couldnt catch me if he tried…..even with these 47 year old knees i will outpace him over the 1 st 100m…..

and i reckon both plod and i cant handle much more than a 100m sprint….so i am safe…

• 157.carol: Reply to this comment

Grant, compared to ‘Skipper John’ you are built like a whipet and would, I assume run like one!

Actually do you have whipets in SA?

• 158.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-156:

“barney couldnt catch me if he tried….. “………..

And if per chance you slipped on a banana skin Grant?

………………………It would be all over in 15 seconds.

• 159.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-157:

Speaking of it all being over in 15 seconds………….Hi Babe.

Good to see you back.

• 160.carol: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-159: Hi Cane, good grief it has been ages…..How are you?

Nice to see some familiar names again!! ;-)

• 161.grant10: Reply to this comment

hi carol

i often get harassed by 3 whippets on the beach….

they run rings around my poor retriever….

a bit like the kiwis against plod…

• 162.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-156: he’s coming for you post-WC grant, u know it :)

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod and g10

like superman and kryptonite…

just never gonna cut it…

• 164.carol: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-161: Good comparison!!

Btw, keep your eyes open for Percy….I am planning on ‘meeting’ him in March in his favourite Camps Bay Cafe, that is if I don’t pin him down in Cardiff in November! ;-)

• 165.grant10: Reply to this comment

carol

have been on beach a lot lately…..no Percy or Tasmin in sight….a damn shame to hear about the divorce…..a 5 year old and 14 year old involved….sad.

Percy blew it….

• 166.bananas: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-165: Had heard a few stories, sad considering his contributions.

• 167.gunther: Reply to this comment

budgieforum

actually the mistake was putting her dad in charge of his money.

• 168.carol: Reply to this comment

Percy’s biggest mistake was having Tasmin tattoed on his abdomen, actually the tattoo on his back is a bit dodgy too!!

I could overlook these youthful indiscretions tho!! ;-)

• 169.gunther: Reply to this comment

carol

I think it would difficult for you to overlook the one on his abdomen.

• 170.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Carol @164

hi Carol, just make sure when you meet him youre not dressed as a punching bag, seems hes that sort of tough..

• 171.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-171: Yeah, Percy is a real maori wannabe…

• 172.poppa69: Reply to this comment

HG

nah, seems hes just another blond eyed, wife beating neanderthal..

real men dont hit woman…

• 173.gunther: Reply to this comment

actually poops it seems like you are that sort.

the one thing you and percy have in common is that you both have nasty little tempers.

• 174.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-173: Like I say a real maori wannabe … maybe an extra from Once were Warriors… No eyeliner though, so not quite there yet…

• 175.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-173: really grunter… you know nothing about me, Ive never hit anyone in anger, even on a rugby field..

but good to see the both of you took the bait straight away

talk about not waiting long for a bite..

• 176.gunther: Reply to this comment

poops we are talking about your nasty little temper.

• 177.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-176: no, we were talking about the poster boy for SA domestic violence..

was a rubbish rugby player too… big cat wasnt he?

• 178.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-175: Funny that “big” maoris and their penchant for handbags, eyeliner and other fem grooming tools…

wonder if they carry a sheepshearer in the handbag… Necessary for a smooth passion partner after a good old tenderising…

• 179.money_man: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-156:

You can talk some shi te!

If he can do this, an old Toppie in budgie-smugglers walking his retriever hand in hand with JR should be a walk in the park!

Doesn’t look that slow here now does he!

www(dot)rugbydump(dot)blogspot(dot)com/2010/09/john-smits-one-handed-catch-against.html

• 180.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-178: yawn, and here you were talking about originality..

so how do you deal with domestic violence HG, or does she only hit you occassionally?

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-181: Naah, HG is safe, his Banshee hasn’t started greeting nose to nose or doing a haka yet….

• 182.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-178:

“Funny that “big” maoris and their penchant for handbags, eyeliner and other fem grooming tools…”

yep, theyve all been ringing WO to see who his Timotei supplier is, theyre quite amazed a blond, blue eyed neanderthal can actually look human.. amazing product huh?

• 183.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-181: so she cant look you in the face? understandable :D

• 184.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-181:
    Heres a good one:
    Two NZ maori are flying the mob to a new farm. Suddenly, the engine fails and the plane begins to fall quickly to the ground.
    Ma’a: “Quick! Grab a parachute and jump!”
    Malili: “What about the sheep ?!?”
    Ma’a: “Bugger the sheep !!!!”
    Malili: (pause) “Do you think we have time?”

• 185.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-184: Heres another one: Maori practising safe ***

They paint the legs of the sheep that kick.

• 186.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-186: Heres another one: Maori practising safe s.ex…

They paint the legs of the sheep that kick.

• 187.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-184:
    Last one:

Have you heard about the latest Maori *** aid?

Velcro gloves.

• 188.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

“173. poppa69(poppa69) :
    September 23rd, 2010 at 2:10 pm
    HG

nah, seems hes just another blond eyed, wife beating neanderthal..

real men dont hit woman…”

Women or a woman?

Who was that former All Black that got slappy with a couple of teenagers at a party a few months ago…

• 189.stonespirit: Reply to this comment

Good chance for you to retire smitty.
    Love the comment about liposuction when he is under.
    welcome back Bismarck du Plessis

• 190.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Smit will be back and in charge as per the right order of things.

• 191.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see Plod has renewed the Sharks contract till end of 2011…..

Well done Sharks…..i really hope WP make a big move on Bissy now.

• 192.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-191:

ha what did I tell you.

I hope wp make “a big move on bissy” too.

• 193.grant10: Reply to this comment

bissy would be a great signing by wp and stormers….

• 194.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-193:

he would certainly increase your penalty and yc count.

lots of money for the fines box.

• 195.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Get better Smit and lead the Boks in 2011. The rest will do you good.

du Plessis is going nowhere. He gets the best game time with The Sharks plus the franchise is recognised worldwide. What better place to earn your keep and get a Bok cap.

Going to Province is as good as going into retirement…ask Ross Skeate..he escaped in time.

• 196.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-198: Grantie, your delusions are getting worse and worse Oom.

Liebenberg is the man.

I love Bissie in a Bok jersey, but as Gunther says, he has become a YC risk.

• 197.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-198: I think WP should sign Smit for hooker. I would love to see your face on that day! :)

• 198.justrugby: Reply to this comment

The problem is they sound as though they might move JS to LH, so Beast loses out in the deal, crazy I say !!!!!!

• 199.grant10: Reply to this comment

Bissy….imo….best 2 on the planet…

cheers all.

• 200.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-198:

What a load of old poppycock !!!

• 201.grant10: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-198: i will have a heart attack…

• 202.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-184: showing your ignorance again HG

Ma’a and malili arent even maori names..

maybe one day you’ll figure it out… as for your “jokes”, heard them all before… cliche is the word..

heres one for you..

whats a neanderthal blond, blue eyed Saffas favourite *** lube?

formeldehyde!

• 203.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-188: I agree, Robin Brooke I think it was… I dont condone it from any nationality, so whats your point??

• 204.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-170:

and you wonder why the saffas have a go at you?

walk into a room looking for a fight and you can’t understand why the people aren’t queuing up to hug you !!!!!

• 205.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-205:

Zactly..

• 206.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Best of luck for a speedy recovery to the Lard of the Manor !

• 207.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-177:

I was no huge fan of Lord Percey Percival, either, but he was hardly “rubbish” Poppa. He was a superb open-field runner with nice hands and turned himself in to an awesome placekicker which, considering Boks limitations at the time, was the difference in overturning RWC heavyweights Tonga, Fiji and Argies. Fair to say he wasnt ever going to be the best FB in rugby history because he shied from tackles and garryowens, but no player gets 100caps for being rubbish. I would have thought he was better off at wing where his weaknesses were no so glaring but he certainly didnt look out of place on a Test field (unless Buncey was selected…..).

Fella, we have endured epic levels of Safa arrogance in 2009 and survived but I fear your desperation to ‘return serve’ in 2010 has now reached the tipping point. Dont lower yourself to Boy Georges’ rugby version of pen*s-envy, its not a good look.

kia kaha

• 208.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-208: peni.s envy? is that the nadir of your contribution to keo…?

havent you sheepshaggers had enough of “revenge” ?

…some new material, please…

• 209.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Sing us another one, Boy George !

karma karma down, you’ll burst a blood vessel.

• 210.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-210: HG, bete noir of all sheepshaggers… itssoeasy :lol:

• 211.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

The funniest thing is you actually believe you are anyones ‘bete noir’. OOOOh, the sheepshagging jokes really hurt *sob*. So witty, so clever. Do you REALLY want to hurt me ? Do you REALLY want to make me cry ?

With you around, Boy George, there is simply no need to put the boot in. In fact, I think youre doing our job for us, far far ‘bete’ than I could do myself. Carry on, Boy George, put another dime in the jukebox. Strung one up lately ?

• 212.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-212: it must be really itchy… :lol:

• 213.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-214: shuddupyoudirtybleddyagentkiwiprcikwearesosickofyourshit.

k n o b

• 214.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

what you ladies really need is to appoint 1 spokesman to front up to the Kiwi minority who not only has the required hatred of all-things NZ but also has the requisite level of intelligence in order to be able to communicate your point to your cerebral superiors. Clearly this is a task somewhat beyond the self-appointed morons like Boy George and Charo and if only Transformation could extend himself beyond the innate urge to cut’n'paste everything then he could have applied for the role of Forensic Research Assistant. Perhaps you girls should consider cloning a hybrid of Ratel and Skoppie which, I believe, would be a formidable opponent and might even give you an evens-chance of competing somewhat better than the 0-3 self-sacrificing beatings that Boy George constantly serves up.

• 215.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for the EOYT, shall be a high level of entertainement!
    Imagine the inevitable now: Steenkamo, Chiliboy and The Beast in the front row, which quota will be sent home maimed first this time? last year Bobos Steenkamp and Chilliboy got the honours!
    Ashley Johnson and Ruebenheimer in the loose, great, even better
    We shall see how the Boks will fare without JS.
    Can’t wait

• 216.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-214:

Go play with yourself ya wanker!

• 217.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-216:

Unfortunately you dont quite qualify on the ‘requisite level of intelligence’. Short sentences filled only with profanities tend to expose glaring inadequacies quite quickly.

Theres a good boy, run away and let the adults sort this one out.

• 218.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-218: You mean BANKER? Like Absa Bank?

• 219.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-215:

Steenkamp has had a great year. And looks like all props SHOULD look, a face only a mother could love.

Thought Ashley Johnson looked v.promising last year – whats his form been like in CC ?

• 220.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-215: One word… Sheepshagger… hehehehehe

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.