Smit out of Euro tour

John Smit has undergone successful surgery but won’t make the Grand Slam tour.

The Bok captain has been ruled out for three months after undergoing an operation to repair a chronic cervical disc.

‘The op will also ensure John’s availability for the Springboks and the Sharks for the 2011 season,’ said team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘The timing was right for John to undergo surgery as he will now have a prolonged period of recovery in advance of the new season.

‘This was not a career threatening injury.’

220 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Loki: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope he comes back lean and mean. If he’s going to go to WC, we might us well hope he’s 100%

• 2.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Thank Goodness!

• 3.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

nou gaan chilliboy weer k@k aanvang vir die bokke

• 4.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Question now is, who will be made captain for the EOYT?

• 5.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Or let me rephrase, will he look to another senior member, or to the future of Bok rugby?

• 7.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Why is my post being moderated?

• 8.rangerman: Reply to this comment

huh?

• 9.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

chilliboy

• 10.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Imagine if PdV includes Luke Watson in his EOYT squad, and makes him captain :lol:

• 11.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

dewald potgieter

• 12.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I see Percy and Tasmin Montgomery were divorced last week.

Eina, is Percy now going to remove that tattoo of her name from his abdomen?

• 13.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Maybe a bit of lipo suction whilst “under” will help !!!

• 14.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

“cervical disc”? Should be difficult to swallow, so hopefully he’ll stay off the pies. :smile:

• 15.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Grant10 not here yet? Probably out celebrating.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

This is a big blow for the Ab’s we need him back desperately for the WC.

• 17.onemanshow: Reply to this comment

At least Bissie and Craig Burden can take over. Would make Smith captain. Or Kanko? :)

• 18.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Well that explains a lot. It also means SmitFit won’t be anywhere near the Sharks’ team come semis. I am not sure if there will be many tears shed about that one.

One thing though, he better lay off the pies and ice cream.

• 19.onemanshow: Reply to this comment

Maybe they should just bring ol’ Terblanch in for one more final Bokka test and make him captain. :p

• 20.Puma: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith should captain the eoyt now. Though don’t think John or Victor were going on that tour anyhow. So this is the right time for John to get that neck op.

All the best to Smit in his recovery.

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

ek se maar niks

• 22.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Keo: “So Peter, how does this operation affect your build up to the world cup?”

PDV: “Ja you know. John came to me before this and said he had a sore neck and I said John, are you sure it’s not a chicken bone? But that’s then and now is not the World Cup. John and I, ja, we will work through this and come 14 June we will be ready to face Russia in Singapore.”

Keo: “Peter, the World Cup is in New Zealand, in September and we don’t play Russia.”

PDV: “Ja, you guys in the media. Taking a story and ruining the man. Like Bees Roux and the Metro Cop. You know, Ritchie will be excited with John out, you know. The Metro Cop on the loose with no Bees about. You know?”

Keo: “What?”

PDV: “I’m not saying Castor is a man, but if we short of flanks or John is out I may make that call. Ja. It’s between men, and Castor will be there for the Boks, fronting up like the man she is. Ja Keo, come World Cup John, Castor and the rest of the boys will bring home the glory. And if they don’t well there is ice cream in hospital and Mt Edgcome is a nice place to eat Pasta. “

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

grant going to lose his sh*t over this thread hahahaha :D , get well soon Plod

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

so much for a training regimen to get plod remotely into a bok shape…..

Now in 3 months time he miles behing again…..

But carry on….check the tears come Oct 2011….

• 25.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

…pity Donkey De Villiers doesn’t need a hammy op

• 26.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks fans will be bloody relieved…

• 27.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

24. grant10(grant10) yeah the training squad didn’t make any sense. You can’t store up training like grain. You are either fit or SmitFit. Back in high school I was fit, but now I am not. I could have run further in high school, but today I’d still not be fit. The Boks are bozos.

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

in fact i would go as far to say that sharks probably win the bloody cc now that this oke out.

• 29.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Lets see if he comes back fresh and can get through the Super 15. By then one would imagine that someone had already played themselves into the Bok starting hooker position.

Please lets identify someone else other than the quota Chili-umfaan.

• 30.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So, Chiliboy is ABSA’s nominated captain then…

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what is an ‘umfaan’? :roll:

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

so i guess no ‘Grand Slam’ for the Boks then, cos apparently the Springboks are kak without Plod’s super fit ‘aura’…

• 33.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

A quota…

• 34.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I can see that there are 114 stoopid, stoopid fools who think the Surrendermonkey Lions are going to beat the Numero Uno team in the CC – the Sharks…

Idjits…

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

32 Trannyumfaan – change “superfit aura” to superior leadership ability and then you talk sense for a change…

• 36.deadlypea: Reply to this comment

I thought Chilly played really well when he came on, he showed much promise and had he been put on the field against the All Blacks in Soweto we could have won that test as John was off his feet.

Bismark is definately the form Hooker in SA when fit
    John is the form Captain
    Chilly is the young up and coming player, when fit.

• 37.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, tell us about the World Cup.”

PDV: “Ja you see children. It was a long time ago and Pappa Snor took the Boks to the World Cup. Ja it was hard, in New Zealand, where it rains a lot and the balls always bounce in a Maori manner.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, tell us what happened next.”

PDV: “Ja children, it was like this. Pappa Snor knew what the Boks needed and he said to his friend John, John, have some chicken and pies, I want you to play 1, 2 and 3 that way we will always have an overap. Ja, Pappa Snor was glorified and the chosen one then already children.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor,then what happened.”

PDV: ” Ja we played you see, we played hard. In the end the balls always bounce and the pitch was maorified. Now I am not saying Ritchie Metro Policeman used trick balls but when you lose it’s never as nice as winning.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, but you said you won.”

PDV: “Ja children you see, there is a moral and I am a Prophet. And Prophets need morals to tell stories. Morals cause Prophets I tell you. Ja, winning isn’t everything but not amount of chicken makes a front row strong. You see children it was sanctified by the man upstairs. We could never win. How many saints won? None, ja you see to be a saint you must lose. I lost the world cup, others lost their heads.”

Grandchildren of The Snor: “Pappa Snor pappa Snor, we love you for being such a great coach.”

PDV: “Ja you see again children, winning is everything but sometimes a true Prophet knows the value of a loss. The whites they didn’t like it but you know, there are no white Prophets, and when in Rome you Sack the Jews. Rugby isn’t only played on the field you see, ja children, we were winners, we were saints. It was a good year. ja.”

• 38.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

****, ****, ****, ****, **** ….

testing the mod

• 39.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

****, dammit, god, ***

mod test 2

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@***** Game: so what if we win this thing without Plod? Whose ‘aura’ will take the credit?

• 41.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

test

• 42.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Why are all my posts being moderated ??

• 43.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-12: Ag no! Seriously? Thats a shame – after they stuck by each other through all the trouble in Wales and so on (if you read Monty’s book)

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: Its like his Uncle – Oom Faan ;-)

• 44.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

2. justrugby(justrugby do not hit reply, it does an auto moderate

• 45.katman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-42: It’s the new Media Tribunal. Feel it. It’s here.

• 46.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

43. THEBokFan(bokfan1) and she just won Miss Fit Body SA on the weekend. Percy missing out there on the body double.

• 47.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

justrugby(justrugby)-45: Mine too! Its the new Media Act of Keo ;-)

• 48.katman: Reply to this comment

This site is well fcked and Keo can’t afford to fix it because Jake White has run off with his cash.

• 49.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

justrugby(justrugby)-42: LOL!

• 50.Puma: Reply to this comment

Why is some of our posts awaiting moderation? Nothing much in my posts why moderate them?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.