EP’s fresh start
23 Sep 2010
EP Kings director of rugby Alan Solomons talks to GRANT BALL about transformation, keeping players in the province, and getting ready for Super Rugby.
What has the move from Ireland to Port Elizabeth been like?
I’ve found myself coming full circle. I was born in Uitenhage and went to school at Grey PE. There’s a bunch of good people at EP, from the CEO Anele Pamba to president Cheeky Watson. Good people make a huge difference in a move like this. I still do the odd bit of consulting for the IRB, but it’s not a big thing.
How difficult was it luring back players who were earning big salaries overseas?
That’s the fantastic thing about guys like Darron Nell and Rory Duncan. They appreciate what we’re doing here. They want to be here at the start of the journey and they know there’s light at the end of the tunnel. For Darron, I think the whole experience of playing in a British & Irish Lions game made a big difference to him. He was here for 10 days for that game, and he could see he was a part of something good. In that regard it wasn’t difficult getting back guys who are from the region. In terms of general recruitment, we really need a Super Rugby franchise, because other good players with no previous links to the area want to play at that level. But that will be resolved, and we’ve been guaranteed Super Rugby entry in 2013 by Saru. As far as I’m concerned, we’ve been given unequivocal backing from the top. It’s got to happen now.
What’s your response to people who say the Kings’ Super Rugby inclusion won’t be a boost for transformation?
Against Boland we had four players of colour in the starting team, but Mpho Mbiyozo was still injured and for the first time this season, less than a third of the side was black. But that’s not what this team’s about. There’s no numbers game and everyone is picked on merit. There’s a relaxed atmosphere at training and guys speak English, Afrikaans and Xhosa. The black guys feel at home more than they do anywhere else. I’ve selected a leadership group of six players, and of those, only De Wet Barry isn’t from the Eastern Cape. We’ve also got Tiger Mangweni, Mzwandile Stick, Darron, Rory, and Mpho. De Wet’s committed himself to the region, proof of which is him learning to speak Xhosa. When we played the Valke the following week, we had six players of colour in the starting team and two on the bench. That isn’t an issue for us, and it shouldn’t be for the pessimists.
Will you be able to get black players to return to the Eastern Cape?
I’d love it if every black player who’s been developed in this region came back, because they get lost at some of the other unions. Without a Super Rugby franchise in the Eastern Cape they’ve had no aspirational pathway. It’s going to be tough, but we’ve started a process. You can see from all the players’ body language how happy they are to be back home. My motto is to bring them home and keep them home. They want to be part of something special.
How do you think Mbiyozo will make the transition from sevens back to the 15-a-side game?
I coached Mpho at UCT [University of Cape Town] in 2005 when they were part of a relegation scrap, and he was exceptional. I couldn’t understand why he hadn’t got any opportunities with WP and the Stormers. We saw when he played for the Kings against the Lions last year – he hadn’t played 15s for a while and he was adjudged Man of the Match. I don’t think he’ll battle with the adjustment. He’ll be back by the end of August after keyhole surgery on his shoulder which he injured while playing sevens.
What’s been the key to EP’s best Currie Cup campaign in years [they are top of the First Division log]?
It’s difficult to comment on the past few years as I wasn’t here, but hard work has been vital. Everyone here has been prepared to do it – from the administration, to the coaching staff, to the players. We’ve tried new things with the players, and they’ve been happy to embrace change. We made things difficult for ourselves against the Griffons but got the result, and the win against Boland away from home was a big victory for us. Winning breeds confidence.
What was the thinking behind bringing backline coach David Maidza from the Border Bulldogs?
David worked with us against the Lions and I was very impressed. When we approached him, he could see a bright future. He’s a first-class coach and an outstanding guy. He’s looking to develop himself as a coach and we want to give him opportunities to travel. We’ve made a tentative approach to the Western Force for him to go there for two or three weeks in December to work with Richard Graham, who will be their coach once John Mitchell leaves. Rich is a brilliant skills and backs coach, and all coaches should want to up-skill themselves, which is what David wants to do. He is highly intelligent, articulate and he’s got a good manner with the players.
Why did EP change its name to the EP Kings this season?
Cheeky and Anele were behind the thinking and know more about the reasoning, but I think it’s great. Everything about the team is new; we’re moving into the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on 1 September, and wanted a fresh start. The Mighty Elephants belonged to the Boet Erasmus and things are changing with the Kings. This is a new beginning.
How do you plan to incorporate Border and SWD into the Kings franchise?
I don’t see it as a problem. When I coached the Stormers, we easily negotiated bringing in Boland and SWD. You always have an anchor union, which EP are here, and it makes sense as PE is the biggest city [compared to George and East London] and we have the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. With the Stormers, we had camps in George so that SWD felt part of the franchise, and we also played warm-ups against Boland and SWD.
How does your job as director of rugby branch into other areas?
We’re doing our best with the professional team, but it’s also about under-pinning that with high-performance teams. We’ve started working with the schools, age-group sides and universities in the region, which never happened in the past as there essentially hasn’t been any professional rugby here, and therefore none of the professional structures. We’re also taking a road trip to the top 27 schools in the region with guys like [former Bok centre] Danie Gerber and [ex-Bok prop] Robbie Kempson.
How long will it take to stop the excessive loss of players to other unions?
It will take two or three years to arrest the haemorrhaging. We’ve made inroads already and we’ll make academy signings this year. It’s all part of a process.
Some argue that even though the Cheetahs have a Super Rugby franchise they still loseplayers. Why will the Kings be any different?
It’s very simple. The Cheetahs lose players every year because for some or other reason they don’t perform at Super Rugby level. They aren’t as wealthy as the other unions and their players get poached, and therefore they’re unable to compete. But we’ll have the financial wherewithal that the Cheetahs don’t have and we’ll make a mark in Super Rugby. The consequence is that the players will stay.
How important is it to gain promotion to the Currie Cup Premier Division next season?
That’s the ideal scenario. Like everyone in the First Division, we’re looking to move up. We want to play a higher level of rugby. If we play in the Currie Cup Premier Division in 2011 it will facilitate our entry into Super Rugby two years later. But we’ve only played a few games and aren’t even halfway through the season, so it’s early days. Our ambition is to get to the Premier Division. At times we might go sideways or a little backwards, but ultimately we’re moving forward. People in the region have seen what’s happening and interest is rising. We must also remember that we had the most representative rugby crowd for the Kings’ match against the Lions last year, which shows the interest and hunger for sport across all racial groups. Although not every South African has links with the Eastern Cape, we should all be working together to support the union, not criticise it.
Is EP going to set up a rugby academy?
Our ideal model is to have players coming from high school to the academy while studying at varsity in PE, playing for EP U19, and also NMMU [Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University] in the Varsity Cup and the local league. NMMU will model themselves on our structures, and our academy players will be based at the stadium, along with all the senior players. The university and academy will play a central role in the development of the franchise.
How worrying is NMMU’s last-place position in the Varsity Cup?
We’ve got to tackle the problem of NMMU. We had our first meeting with their staff at the start of the season and have rekindled our involvement with them. We want them to be a success, not like the recent past. We’re determined to make them powerful, which they have to be for the sake of the province. NMMU have to be a
pathway for players to the senior team; they must have the same approach as the professional side.
– This article first appeared in the September issue of SA Rugby magazine
Click here to subscribe to print edition

289 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2010, 10:19 am
EP
23 Sep 2010, 10:26 am
Darem min ABSA’s in die baai
23 Sep 2010, 10:30 am
ep have had more fresh starts than Lindsay Lohan.
23 Sep 2010, 10:32 am
LOLOL
23 Sep 2010, 10:33 am
2 downfalls for EP was A Coetzee & Quinten Davids
23 Sep 2010, 10:34 am
Solly, care to explain one of your players Paul Perez and why a player deported from NZ (had his VISA revoked) and accused of beating his girlfriend/partner is doing at the Kings given your pretty tales above?
Surprised you did not ask him Grant?
23 Sep 2010, 10:35 am
Perez = Gibbs … must say Perez is a great player.
23 Sep 2010, 10:38 am
@ABSA: So Gibbs is a great player?
23 Sep 2010, 10:39 am
WAS a great player. for a season or 3 ..like habana
23 Sep 2010, 10:43 am
on the subject of cricket, its a disgrace that Loots Bosman is in the SA T20 team and Davey Jacobs is not. Shocking!!
23 Sep 2010, 10:58 am
Comrade Loots Bosman was the first player to hit a T20 hundred in SA maybe even Internationally! Show Respect
23 Sep 2010, 11:04 am
yes Solly, why did you import that Polynesian thug. Are you that desperate to gain access to the CC premier division to import ccriminals wanted by Interpol.
23 Sep 2010, 11:05 am
and he is useless now.
23 Sep 2010, 11:07 am
Redlion, ek sal ook worry as ek jy is. Volgende jaar mag die lions net sukkel teen die kings
23 Sep 2010, 11:11 am
@Pissant: don’t know where that fits in but yeah, you have your reasons..
Deported Taranaki rugby winger Paul Perez
has found himself a new home in South
Africa after picking up a contract with
Eastern Province.
The 24-year-old arrived in the republic last
week, three days before he was asked to
play for Eastern Province against Border in
the first division – the tier below the Currie
Cup competition.
The opportunity comes just weeks after he
had a lucrative contract with French club
Toulon ripped up after he failed to get a
visa in time to make their pre-season
training.
Eastern Province are top of the first division
after six rounds and Perez made an
immediate impression with the home fans,
scoring a try in the third minute in Eastern
Province’s 49-6 win over Border.
Speaking to South Africa’s Weekend Post
newspaper, the former Samoa sevens rep
said he was determined to help his side
reclaim their Currie Cup status.
“I could not have wished for a better start. I
was delighted with the way things turned
out with that early try in the corner,” he
said.
Perez is determined to make a success of
his new life in South Africa after a brush
with the law in New Zealand earlier this
year, involving an assault charge that
resulted in him being deported back to
Samoa.
“That is all behind me and I am
concentrating on the future. I don’t even
want to talk about it,” he said.
“I just want to move forward and get on
with my life.”
Perez said he had settled in well and his
team-mates had even started teaching him
Afrikaans.
“Paul has not been with us for long, but he
has settled in really well. He is clearly a team
player and that aspect of his game has
already manifested itself,” Eastern Province
Kings marketing and publicity officer Sakki
Gqeba said.
“Paul can become a big star with EP,” Gqeba
predicted.
Perez said his impression was that rugby in
South Africa was much more physical than
in New Zealand.
23 Sep 2010, 11:18 am
15 Transumfana: I thought EP was only for Xhosa’s plus a few token mlungus…
23 Sep 2010, 11:19 am
Perhaps this will help…
JJ Harmse
So let me tell you something about Paul Perez. You know, the Samoan who is playing for the EP Kings in the Currie Cup First Division? Yes, that guy on the wing, who has scored three tries thus far in their First Division campaign in 2010.
Is he the same guy who was expelled from New Zealand, had his visa revoked and had to return to Samoa, despite a provincial contract (= working permit) with Taranaki, you may ask?
Is he the same guy, who according to the Taranaki Daily News of December 2, 2009, “had been sent to Auckland by his rugby union mentors for anti-violence counselling before the incidents on May 29 and 31”? After assaulting his female partner?
The player, who according to the same newspaper, ‘was in further trouble when he was stopped by police for driving without a licence on October 10, 2009)’?
I don’t know for a fact, but I believe he is, as the EP Herald reported it a couple of weeks back.
Now look, I have nothing against Perez, and as a matter of fact, I have never met him. Looking at his record and what I am writing here, I actually pray that I never do!
The thing is, how on earth did he end up at the Kings?
They are supposed to be the new flavour of rugby, with a lot of exciting things happening. The answer to all that has been neglected in the past.
There is a fantastic stadium, a team on the up, with genuine rugby people like Alan Solomons as head coach and De Wet Barry as captain running the comeback ship and, remember, the great freedom fighter, Cheeky Watson as president.
We were bombarded, week in and week out, by those in the know, that the Southern Kings had to have Super Rugby right now. Immediately.
Not necessarily because they deserved it on rugby grounds, but because a former SA Rugby boss (Brian van Rooyen) tried to relieve the political pressures of his job with a cheap alternative.
His successor, Oregan Hoskins, and the good people of the SA Rugby board, who are only too aware of the importance of corporate governance after Van Rooyen’s financial debacles, tried to stand by the promises made, only to be confronted by the economic realities of the region.
As you read this, the proposed partners of the Kings are in dire straits.
SWD are under administration and Border are in court all the time it seems, so much so that a court order some time this week will determine which of the clubs in that union will travel to Stellenbosch as their legitimate club champion in order to participate in the national club championships.
In all of this, the EP Mighty Elephants, no EP Elephants, no EP Kings stood proud in their principles and morals.
Their claims on inclusion into the bigger brotherhood of the rugby family (and profit) was fuelled by a genuine expectation that SA Rugby would deliver on their promise, and more importantly, that they can rejuvenate the ‘crib of black (African) rugby’, to the advantage of South African rugby as a whole.
How many times have they not issued press statements, demanding clarity on SARU’s stance on their (Kings) expectations? How many times have you and I not read about the unlimited resources of black talent locked up and shackled by SARU’s reluctance to give the Eastern Cape Super Rugby?
As we say in Afrikaans, ‘slaan my om met ‘n veertjie’, with regards to Perez.
I am the last one to pass judgment on a rugby player, but on what moral grounds have the EP Kings contracted Perez?
He was deported from New Zealand for domestic violence issues and had to return to Samoa. He has played for Samoa at international Sevens level, so is not eligible for any other country.
Does he look like a good role model for South African kids? Does he look like someone you could justify a work permit for, knowing that he could be keeping a young, black rugby player out of a contract?
I don’t think so.
It is a horrific thought that Perez is depriving a black kid, a son of the EP soil (whoever he might be), a chance to perform on a bigger stage.
I find it sad that the Kings, who are claiming moral high ground with the politicians and the greater rugby fraternity, are paying money to someone with such a dodgy record and by doing so, are depriving one (or 10) of those players they are supposed to nurture, of the opportunity to earn a living and to represent their country.
On that point, let me tell you about the Kings hooker, Antonio Halangahu. I think he used to captain Randwick club in Sydney…
23 Sep 2010, 11:20 am
I hear Paris Hilton was licked out of Japan a couple of days ago….I wonder if the EP are looking for an extra hooker??
23 Sep 2010, 11:22 am
eish licked = kicked. Freudian slip of the highest order there…
23 Sep 2010, 11:23 am
18 Pissedant: Unlock the “talent” in EP, hire a Samoan delinquent…
23 Sep 2010, 11:25 am
20: Stormerstoy: Yeah if that was a freudian slip, sorry for you… licking Paris Hilton under any circumstances is not advisable…
23 Sep 2010, 11:25 am
HG,
I have really lost patience with these guys – in the Solly article yesterday that business man that pleaded with SA Rugby to give the Franchise to a business consortium is something long overdue.
23 Sep 2010, 11:29 am
23. It is long past farce… Giving it to a business consortium is one thing but why not take a first simple step and hire a competent administrator… even from outside rugby…
23 Sep 2010, 11:30 am
Which is why I say go the business consortium route, administrators in rugby have proven themselves time and time again to be cut from the same cloth.
23 Sep 2010, 11:31 am
sheesh you guys amaze me … eerste se julle as OP in CC Premier of Super 15 wil speel, moet hulle dit verdien, noudat hulle klomp spelers gekoop het en wen (1ste op die log) nou kla almal oor daar te min swart spelers is en dat wen nie saak maak nie, maar eerder transformasie.
23 Sep 2010, 11:31 am
@Heavens Game: I Know! Major health hazard.
23 Sep 2010, 11:34 am
are you still angry for Gibbs after he took Minky from Greame.
23 Sep 2010, 11:35 am
adi, that was a k@k story anyway. Gibbs even said so himself. Mind you, most guys probably had her anyway. Gibbs is just too ugly with his sproete and stuff
23 Sep 2010, 11:36 am
25. Pa – Look, although Van Zyl from the Sharks does have his wobblies, he is proof they do exist and can function in the right environment…
It seems though that competent aministrators in Sa are a rare breed… but as you have pointed out in the past, it is the amateur, committee based system that often prevents powerful proactive adminstrators from being appointed…
23 Sep 2010, 11:36 am
let me get this straight, it’s acceptable for some here that rassie & ac imported matt to’omua from the brumbies to play in the currie cup and deprive conrad hoffman a spot in the wp starting line up. Is it because hoffman is not a ‘son of the soil’?
And now hoffman has upped and left to the sharks
who was kak naqelevuki keeping out of the stormers/wp team?
Who was juan martin hernandez keeping out of the sharks currie cup team?
And the kak andy goode?
Ffs, is transformation of rugby the burden of only ep?
Sure the people in this union are actually vocal about their commitment to transformation, is that now a whip that they should be bliksemed with?
f*ck jj harmse!
23 Sep 2010, 11:39 am
spot on transformation!
23 Sep 2010, 11:40 am
31 Transumfana: look twatstick you chasing shadows here… WP has been able to sustain itself as a Union and it does not position itself as the Union best place to “Unlock the massive talent base” of the Eastern Cape… If you position yourself like that it looks silly selecting a Samoan scallywag….
23 Sep 2010, 11:41 am
I struggle to remember anyone happy with WP’s imports…
Secondly, they themselves painted them with that brush on transformation, taking the moral high ground on the issue, playing political games.
If you proclaim yourself to be something, don’t cowar away when you are judged on it.
23 Sep 2010, 11:43 am
hhhaaa hhhhhaa transie
you have had your fair share to say about some of those selections.
The boots on the the other foot now.
Geniet.
23 Sep 2010, 11:45 am
I’m withn Pissant on this one, EP played the Transformation card as one of the chief reasons that they should be given the franchise. All the talent in the Eastern Cape and all that…..
The chickens coming home to roost??
Having said all this, if the get promoted for next year, they’ll have 2 years in the top division to continue to “develop” players (read: buy or convince enough established stars to come to PE) in time for the Super Rugby debut.
23 Sep 2010, 11:47 am
31 Transumfana: Goode was a farkup by most accounts – Dolf went dilly, not in buyng for the 10 position but in choosing the wrong player… However the Sharks unlike the EP learn from their mistakes – top of the CC log is a long way from wherever the fark EP are…
Hernandez is a marquee player and the Sharks have a successful tradition of selecting these players and being desirable as a destination for elite players from around the world – they all generally add to the Sharks (Mentors, Play or Marketing) in many ways rather than detracting….
Wake up fool…
23 Sep 2010, 11:49 am
@Heavens Game
That the best Mr T impression you could come up with??
23 Sep 2010, 11:50 am
at Gunther, Pissant: how many black kids was naqelevuki keeping out?
Is that fair judgement?
Who critisized chris jack being at wp? Are wp not committed to transformation?
Hehehe some of the judgemental hypocrites we have here astounding
like steve biko said ‘black man, you are on you own’ and don’t get me wrong, alan solomons is black
23 Sep 2010, 11:54 am
38: Stormerstoy: Yeah and Mr. T is needed for Transumf – he’s being contrary because he thinks this is an mlungu thing trying to keep the EP down… He is trying to point out imaginary duplicity where there is none…
He is a fool… a hlanya…
23 Sep 2010, 11:54 am
Go EP….
Lekker to see Solomons and Cheeky getting that region up to speed….great for SA Rugby.
23 Sep 2010, 11:55 am
Get L Watson back there as well…..add Mujati into the mix too…..
Love it…
23 Sep 2010, 11:57 am
42… yeah, mujati is from Transkei via mashonaland… fool
23 Sep 2010, 11:59 am
Paul Perez….. wtf???
Sounds too much like Dirk Diggler to me
23 Sep 2010, 11:59 am
HG…..you sommer gooi klippe without warning…..
prat
23 Sep 2010, 12:00 pm
Perhaps you are not reading what I said, if you paint yourself with a certain brush, don’t be surprised if you are going to be judged on it.
This region, as I mentioned to boredom in the past, have enough clout to make it on rugby reasons alone.
They, like most administrators however seem to be stuck on transformation, even promoting their cause solely based on this many times.
At one point you then have to ask why?
The answer is pretty obvious though, it seems if you want to be on the gravy train you have to be drinking from the same cup and play the same political games.
Problem I have with that, is once you go that route, you forget what you are supposed to do and what you are supposed to serve (being rugby) altogether.
My support for this region and their inclusion is pretty well known, but I am getting pretty tired of the games everyone is starting to play.
Enough of this kak though, got better things to do than to rehash old debates and arguments.
23 Sep 2010, 12:01 pm
Hierdie gedagte dat die EasternCape kamstag so vol talent is is
n pot stront!! Kyk ‘n bietjie hoe k@k vaar die OosKaap se clubspanne!!
23 Sep 2010, 12:01 pm
what is fundamentally wrong with contracting halangahu & perez (okay perez seems to be a bit of a nutjob)?
23 Sep 2010, 12:02 pm
@black man you are on your own…
that’s exactly right.
people were happy to criticise them. now the boot is on the other foot and you don’t like it?
should ep not be criticised where others have been?
time for a media tribunal.
I’m afraid black man you are on your own on this one
23 Sep 2010, 12:03 pm
EP should go after that Goosen laaitie
23 Sep 2010, 12:05 pm
Grantie Budgieforum CEO
Luke won’t be coming to the kings for a while.
he has had a falling out with pops.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All