EP’s fresh start
23 Sep 2010
EP Kings director of rugby Alan Solomons talks to GRANT BALL about transformation, keeping players in the province, and getting ready for Super Rugby.
What has the move from Ireland to Port Elizabeth been like?
I’ve found myself coming full circle. I was born in Uitenhage and went to school at Grey PE. There’s a bunch of good people at EP, from the CEO Anele Pamba to president Cheeky Watson. Good people make a huge difference in a move like this. I still do the odd bit of consulting for the IRB, but it’s not a big thing.
How difficult was it luring back players who were earning big salaries overseas?
That’s the fantastic thing about guys like Darron Nell and Rory Duncan. They appreciate what we’re doing here. They want to be here at the start of the journey and they know there’s light at the end of the tunnel. For Darron, I think the whole experience of playing in a British & Irish Lions game made a big difference to him. He was here for 10 days for that game, and he could see he was a part of something good. In that regard it wasn’t difficult getting back guys who are from the region. In terms of general recruitment, we really need a Super Rugby franchise, because other good players with no previous links to the area want to play at that level. But that will be resolved, and we’ve been guaranteed Super Rugby entry in 2013 by Saru. As far as I’m concerned, we’ve been given unequivocal backing from the top. It’s got to happen now.
What’s your response to people who say the Kings’ Super Rugby inclusion won’t be a boost for transformation?
Against Boland we had four players of colour in the starting team, but Mpho Mbiyozo was still injured and for the first time this season, less than a third of the side was black. But that’s not what this team’s about. There’s no numbers game and everyone is picked on merit. There’s a relaxed atmosphere at training and guys speak English, Afrikaans and Xhosa. The black guys feel at home more than they do anywhere else. I’ve selected a leadership group of six players, and of those, only De Wet Barry isn’t from the Eastern Cape. We’ve also got Tiger Mangweni, Mzwandile Stick, Darron, Rory, and Mpho. De Wet’s committed himself to the region, proof of which is him learning to speak Xhosa. When we played the Valke the following week, we had six players of colour in the starting team and two on the bench. That isn’t an issue for us, and it shouldn’t be for the pessimists.
Will you be able to get black players to return to the Eastern Cape?
I’d love it if every black player who’s been developed in this region came back, because they get lost at some of the other unions. Without a Super Rugby franchise in the Eastern Cape they’ve had no aspirational pathway. It’s going to be tough, but we’ve started a process. You can see from all the players’ body language how happy they are to be back home. My motto is to bring them home and keep them home. They want to be part of something special.
How do you think Mbiyozo will make the transition from sevens back to the 15-a-side game?
I coached Mpho at UCT [University of Cape Town] in 2005 when they were part of a relegation scrap, and he was exceptional. I couldn’t understand why he hadn’t got any opportunities with WP and the Stormers. We saw when he played for the Kings against the Lions last year – he hadn’t played 15s for a while and he was adjudged Man of the Match. I don’t think he’ll battle with the adjustment. He’ll be back by the end of August after keyhole surgery on his shoulder which he injured while playing sevens.
What’s been the key to EP’s best Currie Cup campaign in years [they are top of the First Division log]?
It’s difficult to comment on the past few years as I wasn’t here, but hard work has been vital. Everyone here has been prepared to do it – from the administration, to the coaching staff, to the players. We’ve tried new things with the players, and they’ve been happy to embrace change. We made things difficult for ourselves against the Griffons but got the result, and the win against Boland away from home was a big victory for us. Winning breeds confidence.
What was the thinking behind bringing backline coach David Maidza from the Border Bulldogs?
David worked with us against the Lions and I was very impressed. When we approached him, he could see a bright future. He’s a first-class coach and an outstanding guy. He’s looking to develop himself as a coach and we want to give him opportunities to travel. We’ve made a tentative approach to the Western Force for him to go there for two or three weeks in December to work with Richard Graham, who will be their coach once John Mitchell leaves. Rich is a brilliant skills and backs coach, and all coaches should want to up-skill themselves, which is what David wants to do. He is highly intelligent, articulate and he’s got a good manner with the players.
Why did EP change its name to the EP Kings this season?
Cheeky and Anele were behind the thinking and know more about the reasoning, but I think it’s great. Everything about the team is new; we’re moving into the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on 1 September, and wanted a fresh start. The Mighty Elephants belonged to the Boet Erasmus and things are changing with the Kings. This is a new beginning.
How do you plan to incorporate Border and SWD into the Kings franchise?
I don’t see it as a problem. When I coached the Stormers, we easily negotiated bringing in Boland and SWD. You always have an anchor union, which EP are here, and it makes sense as PE is the biggest city [compared to George and East London] and we have the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. With the Stormers, we had camps in George so that SWD felt part of the franchise, and we also played warm-ups against Boland and SWD.
How does your job as director of rugby branch into other areas?
We’re doing our best with the professional team, but it’s also about under-pinning that with high-performance teams. We’ve started working with the schools, age-group sides and universities in the region, which never happened in the past as there essentially hasn’t been any professional rugby here, and therefore none of the professional structures. We’re also taking a road trip to the top 27 schools in the region with guys like [former Bok centre] Danie Gerber and [ex-Bok prop] Robbie Kempson.
How long will it take to stop the excessive loss of players to other unions?
It will take two or three years to arrest the haemorrhaging. We’ve made inroads already and we’ll make academy signings this year. It’s all part of a process.
Some argue that even though the Cheetahs have a Super Rugby franchise they still loseplayers. Why will the Kings be any different?
It’s very simple. The Cheetahs lose players every year because for some or other reason they don’t perform at Super Rugby level. They aren’t as wealthy as the other unions and their players get poached, and therefore they’re unable to compete. But we’ll have the financial wherewithal that the Cheetahs don’t have and we’ll make a mark in Super Rugby. The consequence is that the players will stay.
How important is it to gain promotion to the Currie Cup Premier Division next season?
That’s the ideal scenario. Like everyone in the First Division, we’re looking to move up. We want to play a higher level of rugby. If we play in the Currie Cup Premier Division in 2011 it will facilitate our entry into Super Rugby two years later. But we’ve only played a few games and aren’t even halfway through the season, so it’s early days. Our ambition is to get to the Premier Division. At times we might go sideways or a little backwards, but ultimately we’re moving forward. People in the region have seen what’s happening and interest is rising. We must also remember that we had the most representative rugby crowd for the Kings’ match against the Lions last year, which shows the interest and hunger for sport across all racial groups. Although not every South African has links with the Eastern Cape, we should all be working together to support the union, not criticise it.
Is EP going to set up a rugby academy?
Our ideal model is to have players coming from high school to the academy while studying at varsity in PE, playing for EP U19, and also NMMU [Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University] in the Varsity Cup and the local league. NMMU will model themselves on our structures, and our academy players will be based at the stadium, along with all the senior players. The university and academy will play a central role in the development of the franchise.
How worrying is NMMU’s last-place position in the Varsity Cup?
We’ve got to tackle the problem of NMMU. We had our first meeting with their staff at the start of the season and have rekindled our involvement with them. We want them to be a success, not like the recent past. We’re determined to make them powerful, which they have to be for the sake of the province. NMMU have to be a
pathway for players to the senior team; they must have the same approach as the professional side.
– This article first appeared in the September issue of SA Rugby magazine
Click here to subscribe to print edition

289 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2010, 22:46 pm
@charo(charo)-150: I see you stirred up a budgiesmuggler shitstorm…
hope all is good your side…
bed time for me…
23 Sep 2010, 22:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-151:
yes, me too.
just need to finish this superb tot of bowmore islay 12 year old single malt.
nothing better than a west coast peaty scotch.
old budgiesmuggler has a real difficulty in discerning between reality and pseudo liberalism.
must be that fresh atlantic air
23 Sep 2010, 22:57 pm
@charo(charo)-153: Nice one… cheers
23 Sep 2010, 23:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-153:
maybe tomorrow……?
been fun
24 Sep 2010, 05:45 am
Mpho is one of those unlucky players who is good enough to wear the Bok Jersey, like Killain or Alberts, who will given any bok chances as the agents and richer unions apply pressure to play their princesses.
Its clear from the last few years that the best players are not getting selected. Mpho could have easily been selected as our fetcher. Bloody shame and disgrace.
This could work and they should create a good player development structure and good brand. But I think AA will breed mediocrity as they will get given extra chances than deserved and create a Rose franchise they will get klapped every year.
There are great rugby schools in this region and it will be a shame watching the kids go elsewhere as they cannot get selected becasse of a transformation team. Racism is racism not matter how pretty the name is.
24 Sep 2010, 06:19 am
Blo ody hell, grant10 you need to change your nappy boet, you cry more than my baby sister…….
24 Sep 2010, 06:51 am
Hope they will have progressed to the A section of the CC when joining Superrugby. Will be interesting to see the make up of the team over the years.
24 Sep 2010, 07:19 am
Yo, Grant10
Could you you be any more judgmental
The guys have summed you up, a cry baby of note
Go ahead now, f me as much as you like
24 Sep 2010, 07:32 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-155: the last part of your message betrays your ignorance KR, don’t get sucked into the the numbers obsession! EP wants to keep all it’s players here, from Dewalt to Bjorn Basson, transformation & excellence are not inimical entities, f*ck what you been deluded to understand!
24 Sep 2010, 07:57 am
If Cheeky is so serious about transformation, why not appoint David Maidza as head coach?
24 Sep 2010, 08:02 am
@JL1(JL1)-160: oh, goodness, what is transformation JL1?
24 Sep 2010, 08:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-161: You tell me, because Border got transformed, transformed into rubbish, SWD got transformed kin to rubbish, EP was once a very strong union with a club champion year on year, but alas they also got transformed into a pile of dirt
So enlighten me and tell me what is transformation?
24 Sep 2010, 08:31 am
@JL1(JL1)-162: hahaha i see, when @ sea, suspend all reason and let foolishness kick in. Are the Valke a transformed team?
24 Sep 2010, 08:36 am
Why will EP not lose players like FS does … ummmm for the same reason there is a lot more cars heading to the coast over Xmas as opposed to Bloemfontein.
It’s just a better place.
24 Sep 2010, 08:56 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-156: Good point… Some good players, no matter what their shade, always lose out… it is the f.up with Sa rugby: talent ID and retention…
24 Sep 2010, 09:11 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-163: So Valke is the best you could mention, at least they not bankrupt
24 Sep 2010, 09:21 am
@JL1(JL1)-166: Read the article, listen to the responses … they are positive, not claiming anything they aren’t, understand the challenges and for the first time in a long time it looks llike the eastern cape has a bit of direction. It’s good for the region and the game in SA.
being a doomsday prophet isn’t going to make your team any better or more superior than they really are. EC has made big strides in closing the gap, whoever you support – are they maintaining that advantage they already had?
24 Sep 2010, 09:29 am
@JL1(JL1)-166: are the Lions a transformed team? They were certainly kak in super rugby this year.
For 5 years from ’98 – ’02 , the Blue Bulls were the kakkest team in super rugby, finishing last or second last in all those years. Was their mediocrity attached to transformation?
There’s no point talking to you, you’re clueless.
24 Sep 2010, 09:34 am
The last person to lead the FS to a trophy was Rory Duncan wasn’t it? An EP boy who came back to his roots.
24 Sep 2010, 09:36 am
i am looking forward to a strong EP.
used to love these battlers when domkrag was still around.
but if they keep punting the transformation issue and bringing in polynesian wife beating mercs then i will laugh, yes laugh, when they are given enormous hidings by the real power unions of sa rugby.
but we all know its just smoke and mirrors really, keeps the masses quiet.
24 Sep 2010, 09:39 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-170: at least they haven’t brought rubbish like andy goode to our country
24 Sep 2010, 09:44 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-171: ag, old andy was a nice oke transformation.
he was just not very good at rugby.
but at least he isnt a wife beater. where are all the incredibleks that we have been told about?
24 Sep 2010, 09:47 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-173: incredibleks – FarkLOL!!!!!!! Bwaaaaaaaaaaa….
24 Sep 2010, 09:50 am
you know?
the dozens, if not hundreds, of incredibly talented blek players that are being robbed of chances by racist white coaches.
just like solly.
or is solly cool because he is dancing the “transformation jig”?
haha, us whites are so clever, always finding a way to bamboozle the rest. look at mike sutclffe!
24 Sep 2010, 10:00 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-175: Ja, the Politburo still has no idea that Sutcliffe is actually just another subversive counter-revolutionary blaady agent… Bamboozling, bullsh.itting and manipulating is easy with transformation and B(insert a B or few)EE… a puppetmaster’s charter…
24 Sep 2010, 10:01 am
ffs don’t question the notion of “transformation” in the ec.
you will get called silly names by umfaan….
and labelled a fascist nazi by the budgiesmuggler
24 Sep 2010, 10:02 am
I see the ANC have decided that the expression service delivery needs to be relooked at because it encourages complacency and makes people feel like the state owes them something.
Social grants also need to be looked at because they encourage a culture if dependency.
Thirdly informal settlements are being looked at again. People are irritated that recipients of houses are selling them or renting them out and going back to informal settlements.
Joh this ANC is soundingore and more like a bunch of cynical moaning mhlungus.
24 Sep 2010, 10:09 am
haha HG, he is one of the smartest (if slimiest) whiteys around.
the oke has fleeced MILLIONS from under the nose of the anc. hell, if we all decided to do the “sutcliffe shuffle” we whiteys would STILL be leading the pack in terms of salaries.
disclaimer: i am merely pointing out inconsistencies in the system so dont get all woolly liberal with me please lefties
haha, charo mate, i was also drinking bowmore last night. from one of the bottles i brought back from Islay. also went to lagavulin and laphroaig and have some stock staring at me right now.
life is good.
24 Sep 2010, 10:14 am
What’s going on here
24 Sep 2010, 10:16 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-179:
talking about west coast single malts.
rugby is boring at the moment.
@gunther(gunther)-178: Have you not thought that the “third force” has finally subverted the anc and that the father of the nation is now a “Breetish” puppet used to perpetuate racist cliches against the majority…
so “service delivery” can become “bonsela for voting correctly”
social grants are too expensive. not enough left in the kitty for the familia. they have to go with cap in hand to the gupta gang and thats just not in the spirit of the 1948-1949 zulu transformation charter (see: all mahindi go home!).
looking at informal settlements is far better than touching them. sies! those things are dirty.
maybe if the zikhulise cleaning companies of this world (thats right, anc again folks) didnt build houses that fell down when it rains people wouldnt up and move back to a cardboard box.
meanwhile the soweto houses built in the 60′s soldier on.
but i digress. lets have more black players in the cc please, situation critical people!
24 Sep 2010, 10:18 am
@JL1(JL1)-160: why should cheeky appoint david, so that the likes of you can call him a quota coach? Hahaha not a chance. In one breath you want people to acquire skills and earn their way up the ladder in the same breath you want them fast-tracked into positions so that you can wail that they don’t make the cut
24 Sep 2010, 10:19 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-168: Kak, not mismanaged financially
We will see, transform as much as you like young Malema, transform as much as you like
24 Sep 2010, 10:20 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-180: ag, i am being cynical Dawnie.
nothing much really.
in other news, a club team from that greatest of provinces (KZN) named College Rovers (hate the fukkers but today we are all RO…ugh….eeeeeeeeeh…..sorry, cant do it) are playing maties in the finals.
look out for koos haarhof at flank. a relation of the rangers (by marriage).
i hope maties get a carrot.
24 Sep 2010, 10:22 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-182: question is who has got his arm up the president then?
24 Sep 2010, 10:24 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-185:
Chill … haven’t read all the the posts!
Just chiming in.
24 Sep 2010, 10:27 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-178:
Jinne
You white people got all the whiskey.
Here I have to budget carefully for the Grouse.
24 Sep 2010, 10:30 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-187: Ja but you see this is a complex and obscure series of puppet mastery worthy of any B(Insert another B or few)BE scorecard…
The father of the nation’s real puppet master is….
JuliusMalema…. who can be revealed to be the star of Leon Schusters new Movie : Venda in my Kitchen…
Starring Leon Schuster…
You see JuliusMalema is actually Leon Schuster and everything is one moe.rse publicity exercise for the new blockbuster…
24 Sep 2010, 10:34 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-190: The publicity slogan for the Blockbuster is:
If you cant take the Heat, stay out of the Keetchen… Emigrate you bastaards….!!!
24 Sep 2010, 10:45 am
i see Keos KKK elite Wit Wolwe in full swing this morning.
Puffing out there chests and shouting out the odds from far off shores…..
So superfulous to the countrys needs…..spat out by the new saffas….but still clinging to there delusional sense of importance. All the while the country moves on …..and is better off without the racists…who offer nothing more than hysterical rantings and criticisms…..never solutions or alternatives…..
The rest of us Saffas are enjoying the prospects of Heritage day…..the sea is blue….the sand is white…..the braai will be enjoyed with fellow saffas….so will the cold Windhoek lager.
And the enjoyment is magnified in the knowledge that the racists are far ,far away….spreading here cynicism and anti new SA poison…..but with every day that passes becoming less and less important in the greater scheme of things…..
Viva Freedom
Viva democracy
viva the new SA
and thank the angels we rid of the filth.
24 Sep 2010, 10:47 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-189:
24 Sep 2010, 10:48 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-168: You are a thick gravy train conductor, surely it must a,ways be best person for any job
Transformation did not help the Bulls, a good solid coach and structures did, the same as what they are now trying in EP, and Border because transformation failed, dismally
So now the best person for the job must go and fix what transformation fkd up
Show me success after transformation, please, go google and paste like you always do
You must a thicko believing everything on the net and in newspapers
24 Sep 2010, 10:55 am
Freedom is a murder total of 20000 per year
Freedom is the highest number of rapes in the world
Democracy is having no water, lights and services
Democracy is one doctor 100 000 patients
Viva to access to all the above, viva
24 Sep 2010, 10:59 am
@grant10(grant10)-192: but i’m here huckleberry.
its now racist to point out things you dont agree with?
helen zille must top your list then.
no one mentioned that any failures are due to race, rather they are due to incompetence and greed. these are not racial traits, they are human traits.
we simply blame it on the current mob, same as the old mob. you simply suck the k n o b of whoever is in charge.
but what about you soul
is it cold
is it straight from the mould
and ready to be sold?
(with thanks to Jack Johnson)
24 Sep 2010, 11:00 am
taking joy by highlighting the negatives….
ran awy so not here to assist with solutions
rather sit far away and break down all the good
point out how much better it was under nazi apartheid.
long for the ‘old days’
long for baasskap…
stay where you are….we dont need or want you okes back….
24 Sep 2010, 11:01 am
i feel like i need a shower after being too close to cyber nazis…..
yuch!!!
24 Sep 2010, 11:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-197:
Someone has to take orders from someone:
Transumfaan always takes orders from Budgiesmuggler…
Oregan Hoskens takes orders from Fatty von Zeuner…
Baasmanskap very much alive in azania, just the new baas speaks the language of inclusion…
24 Sep 2010, 11:08 am
@grant10(grant10)-196: No one is running away, but it seems some like to hide in their little beach enclave, living in a bubble, hey
24 Sep 2010, 11:18 am
It would be a safer bet putting money on a new franchise winning a Super title over the Lions or the Cheetahs. Even with everything supposedly in place and sponsorship aplenty, they still get their backsides handed to them week in and week out.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All