Currie Cup latest (Fri)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Boks won’t fire up Currie Cup

Bulls conditioning coach Bazil Carzis believes the results of the Boks’ conditioning programme will only be seen next year.

Carzis said the conditioning programme will benefit the players in the long term but it is not expected to have positive results when they come back to the Currie Cup for the final round of the competition.

‘Time on the field is something they will not have,’ Carzis told Sport24. ‘While they may look rested and refreshed, it does not mean the rhythm will be there from the start. Every player is different. Some guys will take longer than others to get back to their usual form.

‘We will see the results next year. The body is now getting the chance to recover and the brain time to relax. It will mean a lot for many of the players in the long term.’

55 Comments

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

holiday dragons…

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

see planet rugby latest.

F Steyn slams PDV …..

big drama….again.

The circus continues

• 3.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2: “I want to give everything for my club who respect me and take me as I am,” he told Midi Olympique.

Thats says it all – its the professional era, Boks… Time to embrace it… Saru needs to wake up soon.

• 4.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2: Francois Steyn comes across as a really insecure kid. He is almost like Rocky – all he wants is people to respect him.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-3: for once we agree…..

prat

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: LOL

Ja….

But great Managers get the best out of diverse personalities……refer Alex Ferguson,Mourinho, etc….

Its clear F Steyn has issues with the Bok Management….perhaps they a bit amateurish?

He is working with Berbizier at Racing Metro i believe? Class.

• 7.JL1: Reply to this comment

PDV over played our resources
    He had them play all the time for 3 years now. PdV is no better or no worse than any other coach, he did however get a nice deck of cards handed to him

What a joke SA rugby is, always over promising and then under delivering

• 8.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-3: Sounds like his club blows smoke up his arse and lets him play in whatever position he thinks is his best.
    When he comes back to the Boks and isn’t pandered to (as he is not the best 12 in RSA) he seems to spot the dummy.

• 9.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-8: Spit the dummy rather.

• 10.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Heres the Raw translation (google) of the summary of the MO article:

In an exclusive interview to Midi Olympique, to discover this Friday, behind South African Racing-Metro Francois Steyn delivers everything he has on the heart. If it shows his commitment to racing and the Top 14, he does not spare Peter de Villiers says he is ready to stop playing for the Boks.

Clearly, the 2007 world champion put the record straight in this interview to Midi Olympique given shock, especially as regards his tumultuous relationship with the Springbok coach Peter de Villiers. “He had come to Paris last September 18, explains Steyn. He canceled the appointment. This is not the first time he did it. It is a disrespect to the Racing-Metro and to myself. ” In cold with Peter de Villiers, the player Ile had nevertheless been recently recalled by the end of the Tri-Nations, partly because of a popular movement in South Africa which demanded its return.

” I expect nothing more Springbok ”

Today, Francois Steyn gives a very explicit in its priority Racing-Metro. “I want to give everything for my club who respects me and takes me as I am.” He said even ready to put his international future in brackets to miss the next World Cup in a year in New Zealand. “I expect nothing more of the Springboks and I went to something else, “says the rear center or opener. In that same interview Steyn, who assures be impressed by the level of the Top 14, also returns to the beginning of the season for his club and his ambitions with the Racing-Metro. And certainly, these are high. Further proof that currently its only objective is to shine with the team Ile.

Read the entire interview shock on two pages in the edition of this Friday Midi Olympique.

• 11.JL1: Reply to this comment

It says a lot if F STeyn praises the French lot, just shows how p..ss poor our management really is

French are not known for good management

• 12.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2: i guess
    robbie deans & graham henry have a lot of respect for their players :roll:

Unhappy relationship: Frans
    Steyn says PDV doesn’t
    respect him

In a forthright interview with a
    French newspaper Francois Steyn has
    said he is willing to put his Springbok
    career on hold to concentrate on his
    club commitments.

Speaking to French daily Midi
    Olympique, the Springbok full-back
    made no secret of his uneasy
    relationship with national coach Peter
    de Villiers while reaffirming his
    commitment to current Top 14 leaders
    Racing-Métro.

The 2007 World Cup winner slammed
    De Villiers’ “lack of respect” for him and
    his club.

“He was supposed to come to Paris on
    September 18 but he cancelled the
    meeting,” explained Steyn.

“It’s not the first time that he’s done it.
    It’s a lack of respect for Racing-Metro
    and for me.”

Steyn insisted that he would “die for the
    Springboks” when he was recalled for the
    home leg of Tri-Nations, but his enthusiasm
    to play for the national side seems to have
    been dented since.

“I want to give everything for my club who
    respect me and take me as I am,” he told
    Midi Olympique.

“I don’t expect anything from the
    Springboks and I’ve moved on to other
    things” he added, suggesting that his
    participation in next year’s World Cup was
    far from a sure thing.

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-12: something is very wrong with the bok set up imo…..

there is clearly a lack of strong and strategic leadership. The issue is ….imo….a select band of seniors that are holding sway, this as a result of the lack of a clear line in the sand between what constitutes Management responsibility versus ‘senior ‘player ‘ input.

Blurred lines almost always leads to conflict…..

• 14.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-10: after this interview, Steyn’s salary will rise a good “few” thousand…

the french are quite partial to Steyn (comments from the article)

- “Steyn says what he thinks an honest man, I think many people should do the same, life is not bisounours.”

- “Steyn is not selectable for France? just a question does not kill me please”

- “Care Bears for France!”

- “As we can see with Toulon Steyn is very attached to his club. It silences all the people talking about mercenaries”

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

we will soon witness the cancer in sa rugby raise its head again.

Watch wp screw up the centre position dilemma…..i bet JF is utilised at 14 or 15 to accomodate JDJ and Donkey…….

Our coaches wrestle with the ‘royal game ‘….and will rather accomodate them out of position as opposed to making tough calls….

This is a feature of our rugby mentality in SA…see Kanko at 7….Smit at 3 and 1 ….Fsteyn at 15….10….wing…..R Pienaar at 15…..10….

Very seldom does this accomodation selection work over time….players will often rather play provincial rugby in there preferred positions than national rugby out of position.

F Steyn and R Pienaar are prime examples of losses to overseas so that they couild play in positions they prefer as opposed to being shunted…..and now we see players hapy to miss world cups in order to ‘enjoy’ there rugby.

We really need to wise up with our man management.

Its easy to say players must play wherever they selected…..but those perspectives are flawed….players are professional, you wont find a dermatologist being happy arriving at a Medi Clinic and being told that for the next few weeks they will be utilised as gynaes….

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-15: I think that JF is one player who can actually play very well at 13, 14 or 15.

But yes, playing players out of position is a bad idea for all the reasons you gave.

Off the whale festival for the long weekend. Have a good one all

Go Lions! :)

• 17.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-15: Too true… When you not being an idiot, you can speak truth… Good one.

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-15: i will always disagree with you on this one Grant. John Mitchell, in this year alone played james o’connor at 15, 12 & 10 and then robbie deans in-turn sticks the kid at wing!

Do you see o’connor moping around dik bek, saying he is being moved from pillar to post?

Israel Dagg, Cory Jane – they’ve both decimated the Boks & Wallabies this year playing at wing!

• 19.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: Porksword… How’s you WePipsqueaks supporting the Lions…

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-18: it again comes down to the 1 area where we are weak….and that is man management transie. The Brent Russels….R Pienaars….F Steyns …etc are all examples where players were poorly managed. I know Brent…..the oke was shunted to the point of despair….Ruan basically told sharks it was 9 ot outta there….Frans made it clear he wanted 10 or 12….

Facts are it obviously varys from player to player…..but 100% buy in is crucial ….if a player is reluctant dont do it…..!

It is terrible to read that Smit actually feared for his safety at 3….thats not funny, its bloody awful!

Our coaches motivation is almost always…..’he is not good enough for his position but too good not to start’….

Thats such a cop out.

• 21.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-18: The big difference for me is that when the Aussies shift someone around, and he fails, he is able to return back to his previous position.

In South Africa, we play a player out of position, and if he struggles, he is lambasted, called rubbish, a coach’s favourite, a “quota” or whatever, and he struggles to return to the starting side in his previous position.

As Grant says, poor man management. Russell ripped the Aussies to pieces in one game at 15 (it might have been 10), and then struggled in the next game against the Kiwis, and was dropped from the squad. No investment in the player or in the change of position.

If O’Connor was South African (same with Giteau and Cooper) they would be put on a ‘conditioning programme’ and never played, and their would be no chance of them ever playing at 12 – you apparently need big, strong donkeys at 12.

• 22.RL: Reply to this comment

The Lions never made an offer to Springbok captain John Smit

Oh it is true.

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-22: would have been an awful waste of money.

Go get Wepener back rather…..

Or bissy or Burden….far better

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-23:
    schalk Brits?

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Grant10 & Wolfman:

25. TRANSFORMATION(TRANSFORMATION) :
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    September 24th, 2010 at 12:37 pm

@grant10(grant10)-20:
    @WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-21: Plumtree in
    this year alone has played Lambie @ 15, 12
    & 10, is Lambie looking like he is frustrated?

Are you guys trying to tell me that ALL saffa
    coaches suffer from the same lack of man-
    management skill malaise?

Francois
    Hougaard seems to have made the switch
    to wing with aplomb this year?
    Juan de Jongh too seemed somewhat
    comfortable at 12… :roll:

• 26.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-24: The Lions won’t be able to afford him and I doubt he will even want to come back to Sa… He is highly rated in the Premiership… in fact many pundits think he is the best player there never mind best import….

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

see rugby 365

Mitchell spurns boks….

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Grant10: see i told you pdv should’ve left Butch alone, nothing good has come out of this!

Bath to seek compensation from SARU

Bath have confirmed they are seeking
    compensation from the South African
    Rugby Union for the injury sustained
    to fly-half Butch James.

The 30-year-old Springbok has been
    ruled out of action until November
    after hurting his shoulder while on Tri-
    Nations duty.

“We’re making enquiries because when
    he’s injured elsewhere there’s a
    responsibility to look after him,” said
    performance director Sir Ian
    McGeechan told the BBC.

“We’re now monitoring him here
    following a successful operation.

“He’s already back with the players but
    we feel there is a responsibility to take
    when and where those injuries occur,”
    continued McGeechan.

Meanwhile, reports have suggested
    that England hooker Lee Mears will miss
    the start of Bath’s Heineken Cup campaign
    after being ruled out for eight weeks with a
    bicep injury.

• 29.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-28: apart from the fact his play helped SA avoid a Tri Nations whitewash, their only win of the campaign.

Bath have no basis for compensation and won’t get it.

• 30.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-27: it appears the Lions blocked it. That’s two coaches now the SA provinces have prevented from joining the national set-up, would never happen in NZ.

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-30: yes….

seems boks running out of options .

• 32.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

de Villiers has broken another rugby player. I bet he could break an anvil if given enough time.

• 33.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-31: it’s a poor show really, look at the contrast with NZ who today announced that the management would be involved with their provinces to help manage the players and their media would hammer any province that didn’t allow a coach to help the national team.

They will arrive at the 3N and World Cup at full strength while the Boks arrive depleted.

• 34.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-33: doesnt matter BH, many on this blog have already stated SA have won the world cup next year and that NZ will choke…

• 35.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-34: I suspect they’re responding to some Australiasian wind-ups :) I think everyone knows NZ are one of a number of live threats at the WC, all the more so because they’re at home.

Henry is being very smart right now, he’s essentially offering tacitcal assistance in an exchange for player rest and management. The only other nation which comes close to managing players as well as this is Ireland.

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-35: I seen how “smart” Henry was in 07 :lol:

• 37.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-34:

that’s
    a given

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

NZ ease restrictions on overseas players

September 24, 2010 – 5:51PM

New Zealand will allow its five Super 15
    rugby clubs to field two overseas players
    next season, ending a 15-year restriction
    which stopped teams from choosing
    players not eligible for the national team.

The New Zealand Rugby Union board
    approved the new policy on Friday but left
    restrictions in place on how foreign players
    can be used.

There are still recruitment regulations on
    New Zealand teams, including rules that no
    more than one foreign player can play in a
    specialist position such as hooker or
    scrumhalf.

NZRU chief executive Steve Tew says the
    rule seeks to strike a balance between
    maintaining New Zealand’s depth and
    strength while ensuring Super rugby “is the
    best international competition in the world.”

• 39.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Watch our South African players get recruited. Good for them and it’s New Zealand’s gain.

• 40.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-38:

They are hoping Argentine players will come to play S15 Transie.

It is considered that with Argentina not involved in S15, then it will be very difficult for them to put a competitive Team in the revamped 4Nations.

• 41.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

they
    will try
    anything
    to beat
    the bulls

• 42.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-41:

they’ll
    also try
    to recruit
    all the
    bulls
    that
    retire after
    rwc 2011

• 43.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

But New Zealand has been doing this for years.

Just check out the last couple of paragraphs. You’d swear Tonga or Samoa are somehow provinces of New Zealand. After a couple of years residence in New Zealand, they will then qualify for the Ab’s.

“Pacific Island players are not treated as foreign players under this policy.

The existing approach to the contracting of Pacific Islands players, whereby players from the Pacific Islands who are not eligible to play for New Zealand may be contracted to play for New Zealand franchises if no equivalent New Zealand eligible player is available, remains.

This recognises the special relationship that exists with the Pacific Islands and the contribution that Pacific Island players have made to Super Rugby.”

• 44.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-40: Argie should be all right to put a full-strength team out, only question is whether they’ll have had enough game time to be up to test pace.

• 45.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-43: yep, because we grab players at 6 months old, thats how good our talent scouts are :roll: eish…

At the turn of the 20th century, the Samoan islands were split into two sections. The eastern islands became territories of the United States in 1904 and today are known as American Samoa. The western islands became known as Western Samoa (now the Independent State of Samoa), passing from German control to New Zealand in 1914. New Zealand administered Western Samoa under the auspices of the League of Nations and then as a UN trusteeship until independence in 1962.

At independence in 1962, Samoa signed a Treaty of Friendship with New Zealand. This treaty confirms the special relationship between the two countries and provides a framework for their interaction. Under the terms of the treaty, Samoa can request that New Zealand act as a channel of communication to governments and international organizations outside the immediate area of the Pacific islands. Samoa also can request defense assistance, which New Zealand is required to consider (Samoa does not maintain a formal military). Overall Samoa has strong links with New Zealand, where many Samoans now live and many others were educated.

so yep, we are only ever interested in the Islands for the rugby players we can poach…

• 46.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

literally every single thread on this site is turning into a NZ vs SA bashing contest

• 47.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-45:

Well, good on New Zealand. But there are also plenty Tongans and Fijians in New Zealand rugby circles.

But the article in question wasn’t addressing those issues. It is now open to any nationality to be considered. Some saffas have already represented Aussie Super franchises.

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-47: yes, and NZ does a lot for those countries too… financial aid, usually one of if not the first country to provide assistance when it is needed…

if you look at the world today, many people from all walks of life migrate to other countries and then become citizens of said country..

Beast is a prime example… yet it seems NZ is the only country that comes under criticism for it, why is that?

• 49.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-46:

Nothing new.

We’re just playing for time until the CC kicks off in less than 2 hours from now.
    There are 2 games on tonight.

• 50.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-48:

Beast wants to play for a strong rugby playing country. :)

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-50: :D

• 52.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-49: fair enough… is there any NZ rugby forum or equivalent that we can relentlessly troll?

• 53.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Poppa @ 51

Got moderated for comment below – just for pressing reply buttom. Funny things happening on keo.

Anyhow I’m out for a few hours. Public holiday – National Braai Day – I mean National Heritage Day – and catch the Province game.

@ Fantastic

I’ll leave you with pops.

• 54.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-53: enjoy the game and the braai…

• 55.rugby911: Reply to this comment

if anyones interested get the match tonight http://www . veetle . com/index.php/channel/view#4c8e88aeb5576

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.