Lions break Sharks hearts
25 Sep 2010
Franco van der Merwe scored a last minute try as the Lions beat the Sharks 22-20 at Ellis Park, writes GRANT BALL.
While the grounding of the ball in Van der Merwe’s score was dubious, you couldn’t say the Lions didn’t deserve to win. Sharks fans who complain about the try will also be well served to remember Lwazi Mvovo’s second score, which shouldn’t have been allowed.
Earlier the Lions suffered the worst possible start when Mvovo cantered over in the second minute, while in the same movement the hosts’ hooker Martin Bezuidenhout threw a punch and was yellow carded. Leading 5-0, playing against 14 men and exuding ultimate confidence in the try-scoring movement where they ran from their own 22, the odds were in the Sharks’ favour.
However, the Lions outscored the visitors 3-0 in that 10-minute period via an Elton Jantjies penalty. It’s been repeated throughout the season how different this Lions outfit is compared to the Super 14, but it can’t be emphasised enough. With the numerical advantage, on one occasion the Sharks pounded away for 19 phases at the Lions line and also exhibited brilliant offloading, but the Lions wouldn’t relent.
That theme continued for the rest of the half as the Sharks had all the possession, but the Lions’ cover defence and turning over ball at the breakdown was outstanding. After another multi-phase Sharks attack, a dropped pass fell into the hands of a Lions player 5m from their own line. The hosts countered rapidly, another feature of their play this season, and with Jannie Boshoff feeding Jaco Taute, the fullback finished off under the poles.
The Sharks replied through Mvovo’s brace, and even though the visitors had dominated possession, they were lucky to head into the shed level at 10-all. Mvovo again showed impressive pace and strength, but he had clearly placed a foot out in the build-up, but the assistant referee inexplicably missed the act.
Jantjies, who had been in exemplary goal-kicking form before last week’s match against the Bulls, also missed three penalties at goal, while Lambie hit the upright with an easy conversion for the first try.
In the first fixture between the sides at Kings Park the Sharks’ similar first half onslaught also didn’t yield results on the scoreboard, but eventually the defending took its toll on the Lions as they conceded 50 points. However, that didn’t look like repeating itself when they took a five-point lead when Waylon Murray scored against his former side after running an incisive angle to break the line.
But the impact of having to make 100 tackles in just 55 minutes eventually told when Odwa Ndungane benefited from quick ruck ball to score his side’s third try. Lambie nudged over his first kick of the match and then a penalty to hand the Sharks a five-point lead.
While the hosts had to defend in the opening half, the Sharks were forced into many tackles in the final quarter, while Ryan Kankowski’s ill-discipline for stomping on a player saw him miss the final four minutes.
Poetically the Lions’ inspirational captain scored in the final movement and while all his team-mates have showed improved resolve from earlier in the year, special mention must also be made of Josh Strauss, Jano Vermaak and Doppies la Grange.
The Lions face the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein and Pumas at home with their semi hopes still alive, while the Sharks versus Western Province match could prove vital in who tops the log.

202 Comments
25 Sep 2010, 19:04 pm
Lion Dragons!!!
25 Sep 2010, 19:05 pm
Very well done to the Lions. Questionable that it was a try, but they deserved the win none the less.
25 Sep 2010, 19:06 pm
One of the best games of the year let alone the currie cup, even if I am a sharks supporter. Well done both teams
25 Sep 2010, 19:07 pm
The sharks need kockott badly. Both at scrum half and to kick. Mccleod’s service is horrible and lambie’s kicking is pathetic.
lions!!!!!!!!!!!
ROAR!
Well done Lions.
See what happens when you play for 80 minutes.
The CC is now wide open again.
25 Sep 2010, 19:08 pm
A shocking decision to cap a terrible night for the officials. What a shame that was allowed to stand. A blight on our rugby to allow these inexperienced officials to influence a huge game like this. What a fantastic game, but what a crying shame.
25 Sep 2010, 19:08 pm
the sharks lost to the surrender m-onkeys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
25 Sep 2010, 19:09 pm
The Lions have improved again. The fitness level of their forwards was amazing, and they could have scored more tries. The Sharks also squandered some opportunities earlier in the game, but the Lions have really come a long way. If they contract a few more quality players they could be an impressive team.
25 Sep 2010, 19:10 pm
SO now we have quotas officiating the game of rugby. Only in Serf Erfrica.
25 Sep 2010, 19:11 pm
@thefeather(thefeather)-8: I think 22 all would have been fair, but would have liked a sharks win.
But yep, the ref is well off the pace, no matter what Joel says, he missed so much, as he always does.
25 Sep 2010, 19:12 pm
Is it just me or is Joel a massive corksucker?
25 Sep 2010, 19:14 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-13:
No he is.
25 Sep 2010, 19:16 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-12: Spot on…little boy blue looking to stamp misguided playground angst on the bigger boys now that he has a whistle in his hands. A draw would have been a fair reflection though.
25 Sep 2010, 19:16 pm
I’m a stormers supporter …
This was an awesome game …
Ref and Assistants was def out of their depth …
Seems try from both Sharks and Lions should have been disallowed ….
So guess what?
Lions won fair and square ….
John Mitchel and Carlos Spencer doing wonders …
25 Sep 2010, 19:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-9:
As spoken by an ape?
Sorry, I didn’t mean to denegrate the apes …
25 Sep 2010, 19:17 pm
What a great game of rugby – I enjoyed this immensely.
Joel is a douche though
Guys from this game that must be on bok radar some time in the future – even 2012:
Willem Alberts
Mvovo
Jantjies
Keegan Daniels
Lambie
McCloud
Taute
Jabo Vermaak
Congrats to the Lions, but I bet you my Sharks will still take the CC this year. Their wake up calls are always at the right time.
Also, I respect Oupa Stef, but he should not be captain – questionable calls all the time.
25 Sep 2010, 19:19 pm
@Jughead(Jughead)-16: don’t remind them that mvovo’s foot was in touch…
@Jughead(Jughead)-16: There’s a major difference in an incorrect try with 30 minutes to go and one at the death where the TMO should have been used for a completely unsighted non-grounding and where the final result is on question by one single act of refereeing stupidity. To apply a *** for tat mentality here is not only shortsighted, it’s plain ignorant.
Well, I’m suitably impressed.
Both sides scored a try that shouldn’t have counted, so in the end, a fair result.
The only guys who will be smiling after this result, are WP.
But well done Lions. You are still unlikely to make the semis, but you’re going to come damn close.
25 Sep 2010, 19:20 pm
I’m looking for all of the apologies to JC but can’t seem to find them. Anyone know which thread they are on
25 Sep 2010, 19:20 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-11: idiot
25 Sep 2010, 19:21 pm
@thefeather(thefeather)-20: aaaaaw what a sweet post
25 Sep 2010, 19:21 pm
@coherence(coherence)-10: they are well coached……the problem in SA is that the quality of a coach is not recognised….Mitchell is showing what a great coach can do with untapped talent. Imagine if all SA Currie Cup and S14 teams had the best coaches how strong our teams would be. Get another top coach for the Cheetahs and see more talent get polished.
25 Sep 2010, 19:22 pm
congrats Lions…
I guess this result means Heavens Game wont be around for a week or two
what a shame..
25 Sep 2010, 19:22 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-23:
Meouw!
25 Sep 2010, 19:23 pm
@OCO(OCO)-17: suck it up arsewipe
25 Sep 2010, 19:23 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-18: Why they didn’t go for poles in the 1st half no one will know. They played off their game plan and it bit them hard. ONE panalty at goal instead of lineout and game over.
Both tries were dodgy and I have to ask who keeps picking poor refs for Sharks games? They are top if the log and have had to deal with jafta this week and last week a guy who blew the Sharks out of a S14 game and then got dropped for NOT BEIG GOOD ENOUGH.
Is SARU trying to detroy rugby from any angle including officials? Now I don’t want the job but pick the experienced guys for the big games.
Heck at least when Steve Walsh drank the Sharks to losing the Super 14 final in 2007 he was pi$$sed LOL.
25 Sep 2010, 19:25 pm
Well done Lions, great game, high intensity, plenty of errors but the passion was unbelievable.
This win will shut the big mouths like HG,Ranger, and SL up for a while…………nah ….. probably not !!!!!!! they will find plenty of reasons as to how they were “robbed”!!!
25 Sep 2010, 19:25 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-11:
Ag shame, Irish refs quota’s too????
25 Sep 2010, 19:26 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-26:
He’ll be halfway to Dover already. France is his preferred destination at times like this iirc
25 Sep 2010, 19:27 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-29: Steve “yesh occifer” Walsh?
hehehe so SARU have taken a leaf out of Paddys books and dropped a SA ref/linesman?
25 Sep 2010, 19:27 pm
I like Tank’s tweet…
Lions one bad refereeing call from being knocked out the tournament, yet success starved Vaalies want to give team and coach freedom of jhb!
25 Sep 2010, 19:28 pm
There must be a class somewhere for referees from disadvantaged backgrounds. Someone clearly stole the answers to the questions for the last exam…
25 Sep 2010, 19:28 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-32: I pity the poor bloke next to him on the channel crossing
25 Sep 2010, 19:30 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-29: Goody I have to disagree vehemently with you.
The ref was actually very good across the 88 minutes. His linesmen made the right calls.
The 2 tries were 1. Not a try. 2. Inconclusive.
But this happens in rugby, since I ahve been watching it.
He may look like the ballboy, but he was clear, consistent, coherent and from what I could tell respected by the players.
@gretep(gretep)-31:
According to the English…
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-35:
your team lost, take it like a man not a whiny girls blouse…..
25 Sep 2010, 19:31 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-33: SARU have no clue. Jafta struggles to keep up and Pro Legoete is ranked 5th on SA refs list! And Jafta is 7th!!! And he gets to ref this game?
25 Sep 2010, 19:31 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-35: yo Sharkie did Mitch and King Carlos spoil your weekend? or was it Jantjies who tired his best to keep your team in the match that did it?
25 Sep 2010, 19:33 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-37: Dis agree all you want. Both were not tries, that was evident.
I saw many many missed decisions and the fact that he is 7th ranked then begs the question WHY this game?
Rubbish.
25 Sep 2010, 19:34 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40:
Read quote 23.. Stop blaming the ref.
The Sharks should have put the Lions away in the first half with all the possession they had. They failed to and lost because of it,,
But hey let’s blame the ref.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40:
As a neutral observer, and from previous games where I’ve seen Jafta in action, I have to say I think he is a pretty good ref.
Still developing, obviously, but by far the best of the previously disadvantaged group, and I enjoy his demeanour on the field a lot more than the likes of some other refs.
Of course, just wait for him to ref a game where the Bulls lose, and I’ll rip him a new one on the blog.
Hehehe.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40: Boet. Losing sucks. But this was a great game of rugby between 2 evenly matched teams of men.
The ref did a great job of letting it flow, communicating with the players and made good calls consistently the same for both teams.
I think he is going to be excellent, and will ref international Test matches in the future.
I have seen Northern Hemisphere refs that make him look like the Michael Phelps of reffing.
Fark. I’ve got 6 months in a country with no supersport and the internet is slower than Wylie Human. I can’t believe I’m missing the run in to the most exciting CC in years (as a WP fan anyway)
25 Sep 2010, 19:35 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44: Bud. I love it when you are neutral. Your sense of humour comes through.
But I completely agree with you on the ref.
25 Sep 2010, 19:36 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44:
25 Sep 2010, 19:36 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-42: Why not? And again – he did a good job. Result pretty much deserved.
25 Sep 2010, 19:37 pm
Lions should have taken this game by 15. Sharks were lucky to come this close.
@gretep(gretep)-43: Hey I am not blaming the ref, Sharks left it out there themselves.
I am just questioning why 7th an 5th ranked refs get the Top game of the weekend.
I don’t think Mr Jafta had a bad game, I think he tries hard, I would just like to see the best ref and assistants at these kinds of matches.
Anyway, for once, next week GO BULLE
Well played lions ! Lambie had a night mare ! was impressed with waylon ! THE ONLY thing that irritates me is that jc will be beating his chest like a ****** jc; IM THE MAN ! DONT EVER ARGUE WITH ME AGAIN!
Tough call at the end and mvovo foot realy on the line ? Dam burden should have scored! And when we kankowski through the ball into the lions players hand which lead to a try ! Must be said ,for those who thought ndungane was past his best -what a preformance !
Congratz lions you won at home ,we still top of log !:D im going to sulk for the rest of the night hehehe
@JockBok(JockBok)-46: Hamish. Where are you? I know you told me but I have forgotten.
25 Sep 2010, 19:38 pm
Top game of the weekend boet, that would have to be any game that Province plays… And wwe got Jonker the Plonker…
25 Sep 2010, 19:38 pm
@XV(XV)-25: Spot on. The two teams playing the best rugby at the moment – Sharks and Lions – have Kiwi head coaches and assistant coaches (Plumtree/Boyd and Mitchell/Spencer). Coach the players to do more than just run into each other and you won’t need to rely on buying players; the Lions in particular are a good example of how to build a team with good coaching.
25 Sep 2010, 19:39 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40: in the long run it hasnt hurt your teams chances as I imagine they will still sit at the top of the log? know the pain though, as Im sure every rugby suporter has at some time or another..
didnt see the game, couldnt find a stream to watch so have to entrust the bloggers for their analysis on that aspect..
25 Sep 2010, 19:39 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-49: Actually you are right. Heck 2 dodgy tries and all things are equal. I think we should demand he refs the RWC final next year (at least it will mean there is a SAFFA in the comp after the 1st round
Fark it, just annoyed at the Sharks, made silly errors but will bounce back.
Best game of rugga I have seen in a while though!!!
25 Sep 2010, 19:40 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-53:
Just arrived in Chad mate. I’m sure I did something wrong in a previous life
25 Sep 2010, 19:40 pm
Waylon Murray looked really really good by the way.
I don’t know what Willem Alberts has to do to get a Bok look in, but f uck tackling that guy is a ‘mare. Also great game, at lock too.
25 Sep 2010, 19:41 pm
Good coaches. A Kiwi made something out of the worst union in South Africa. He must be a miracle worker. Lets hope Mitchell sticks around for a few years.
25 Sep 2010, 19:42 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-59:
Not get injured at the wrong time again perhaps?
@gretep(gretep)-54: Should have guessed you are a WP supporter, they usually irritate me instantly
Amazing how your team, who hasn’t won anything in ages, still thinks they are the best. Based on what? What weird energy does that mountain give off that turns you lot into knobheds?
@JockBok(JockBok)-59:
UN?
25 Sep 2010, 19:43 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-58: Geez dude. I hope they pay you a LOT of money. I watch on RugbyZone by the way, and you can download the game if you need to. Best value for money in the world. You get every game really.
25 Sep 2010, 19:44 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-62:
Based on the fact that we just know we are… And we have a mountain to prove it.
25 Sep 2010, 19:44 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-60: yep, but after about 3 years the runctions within the lions will be similar to the force..
mark my words..
25 Sep 2010, 19:45 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-63:
Had one too many bottles of Klippies tonight? Got that Joburg joller aggro going on.
25 Sep 2010, 19:45 pm
@gretep(gretep)-65: Finally a WP dude with a sense of humour, nice one.
Right, out all, going to drown my sorrows.
Pull it together SHARKS
25 Sep 2010, 19:46 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Mitch, King Carlos and the boys are going out on a drinking party tonight.
25 Sep 2010, 19:46 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-63:
Not you..gretep
25 Sep 2010, 19:47 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-67: No joburg in me, and I only drink good red wine.
Natal through and through, I should be drinking Gin and Tonics, but then again I should probably be beating my slave with a stick because the Sharks lost what what? ha ha ha.
25 Sep 2010, 19:47 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-62: i wish this site had a “like” button like in facebook
25 Sep 2010, 19:48 pm
@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-69: it will be all handbags and bonnet surfing…
Nothing wrong with the ref. Jafta is a promising young ref and officiates a game very well. Well done Lions.
The same cant be said for the 2 m.onkeys on the touch lines. What an attrocious, second rate, inexperienced lot those two were.
The fact they get a game of this magnitude is an absolute disgrace. Viva transformation Viva.
Huge decision towards the end to penalise Burden for absoutely nothing.
@BlackShark(BlackShark)-56:
I agree bru.
This match is the reason that Currie Cup rugby is unmatched for intensity, passion and all out entertainment. Now we have a dogfight for position number 2, unless Province suprises me and swats away the Bulls at Roftus – and this is the 2010 tournament so don’t bet against it, folks.
25 Sep 2010, 19:51 pm
Hmmm, moderated comment?
Anyway not UN, building power plant.
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-76: Dead right. The CCup brings out the bulldog in everyone.
There is something very very magical in the way that the average SA rugby player would go to any length to beat his brother to death with a rugby ball, but capitulates against the New Zealand Grannies’ Handbag touch teams
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Honestly I doubt it. I don’t think that the SA psyche is the same. Giteau is a git.
I reckon Mitchell will be a huge success.
And I am proud to say I called it before D ick The P rick got the job. If our talent pool is to develop, including coaches we need more Kiwis to take us to a higher level.
Any way adieu.
Nice one my Lions.
See you through the window.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-72:
Fully! Was aiming at the other bozo that sounds like he’s 10 sheets to the wind already.
25 Sep 2010, 19:52 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-78:
Copied.
25 Sep 2010, 19:52 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-74: well Bezuidenhout got a yellow for punching air – Burden did exactly what Bakkies got carded for – shoulder charged an innocent…
25 Sep 2010, 19:53 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-78: so, now weve attacked the WP supporter, next in line is the kiwis ?
lmfao..
go have that gin and tonic now man
25 Sep 2010, 19:54 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-79: cheers Soda, enjoy the moment..
25 Sep 2010, 19:55 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-82:
Dunno. I replied to you and soda. This place has been a bit weird since they ‘fixed’ it.
Good game and good show by both teams
Well done Lions
@poppa69(poppa69)-83: not attacking anyone, just having some fun… LOL.
And besides, WP people just deserve it. You know, like Gingers deserve to be teased.
25 Sep 2010, 19:56 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-80:
Congrats mate. Enjoy a sherbet of two tonight
25 Sep 2010, 19:56 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-86:
I got moderated too.
25 Sep 2010, 19:57 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-87: hehe I know, was just having a laugh with ya..
the old bloodnuts huh? yep, cant deny that one
25 Sep 2010, 19:57 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-83: the Kiwis are good people – look at what Mitch has done with my forwards and Carlos has the backs stepping, offloading with blind passes and showing the boys magic play.
ROAR!
25 Sep 2010, 19:58 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-88:
Ginger girls are my favourite….
25 Sep 2010, 19:58 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-88:
Careful Goody. You attacking WP and Jocks now
25 Sep 2010, 19:59 pm
@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-82:
Oh please, if Hargreaves hadnt moved his head, he would have caught a punch. Burden floppd onto the maul and gets penalised!
Give me a break dude.
25 Sep 2010, 20:01 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-90:
Your reputation precedes you
All I said was I’m probably the only white guy here who is not UN????
25 Sep 2010, 20:01 pm
@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-91: I am hoping to catch a replay of the game when I get home from work in the morning… shows that the talent is there in the Lions region, just wasnt being utilised properly…
its amazing how often fresh input can lift performance…
25 Sep 2010, 20:02 pm
John let the okes enjoy their moment. It hasn’t happened too much in the past few decades.
25 Sep 2010, 20:05 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-96:
Bliksem I have a reputation? Can’t understand why.
25 Sep 2010, 20:09 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-97: So says a Sharks fan. I’m just saying.
25 Sep 2010, 20:12 pm
I heard that Alberts, Ludik and Pretorius want their Lions jerseys back.
25 Sep 2010, 20:14 pm
oth budding princes to the fly half crown froze on the night, both Lambie and Jantjies coughed up points and almost let their teams down.
In the end was the massive do or die efforts of Le Grange, Minnie and No. 8, as well as Taute, and both wings, and Killian when he came on late, plus never say die attitudes by all the Lions faithful both forwards and backs that drove the eventual nail in Sharks coffin at the death.
Was a good effort well rewarded and well deserved, fortune usually does favor the brave, and it proved itself again tonight.
But both Jantjies and Lambie almost cost their teams the game when stakes were highest.
25 Sep 2010, 20:16 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-102:
Yep it was down to the youngsters and their inexperience.
25 Sep 2010, 20:20 pm
Kanko cost his side big time !!!!!!
Stupid, stupid , stupid !!!
25 Sep 2010, 20:26 pm
Kanko is no international No.8, wish the fools who call the shots would see it once and for all. And Spies not either.
In Alberts and Vermeulen with smatterings of other talents elsewhere No. 8 is far better covered than either these two flash in the pan Harry’s both in Spies and Kanko, they both going to cost us big time on the big stage, neither of them are up to tough international No. 8 standard.
25 Sep 2010, 20:30 pm
Loved this.
Well done Lions you beauties!
Kankowski is an arse, an overrated prancing dancing nancy boy. What a joke that he gets picked for the Boks.
Doppies was immense.
25 Sep 2010, 20:30 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-104:
Spot on !!!!
Will be interesting to see who they select for eoyt at 8 ??
My guess is the same mistakes will be made again !!!
25 Sep 2010, 20:36 pm
Doppies is highly underrated, should have been called up to higher inside center duties way before the other nancy pancy poncified mommies boy WO.
Since Lions dropped Grobbler they turned the corner, Grobbler was a big part of their mediocrity before.
25 Sep 2010, 20:37 pm
See You JR
stay well
am out.
25 Sep 2010, 20:38 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-108:
Cheers skop !
25 Sep 2010, 20:38 pm
Congrats Warriors taking out them Redback creepies like that.
Sharkies we will see you in the semis … FS you are next on the hit list.
Oh it is true
RL out!
25 Sep 2010, 20:41 pm
warriors!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
25 Sep 2010, 20:49 pm
Imagine if Mitchell was coaching the Boks……….
25 Sep 2010, 20:52 pm
are we seeing the rebirth of waylon murray?
25 Sep 2010, 20:55 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-107: I posted that 3 weeks ago, Baywatch was the problem
25 Sep 2010, 21:14 pm
What are the chances that all the Doppies haters would be around to eat their words?
What are the chances that those who poo-pooed the pro-Lions poll earlier in the week, would be around to do the right thing?
What are the chances?
>^..^<
25 Sep 2010, 21:26 pm
@katman(katman)-115: yeah, lay into them katman! Bloody doubting Thomases! The keo poll was on point
hahahaha wait till Rangerdoos, Banshee’s Game, Shark-Lover gets here, it’s going to be excuse galore!!!
Even the air here @ Fish river seems a bit fresher
25 Sep 2010, 21:36 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-116: Ha ha, you won’t be seeing the sharkies round here for a couple of days.
25 Sep 2010, 22:06 pm
As a Bulls supporter I have to say how gobsmacked I was by the Lions performance today…. This was a performance that wasnt necessarily built on a introduction of new players or some new way of playing the game…
No it was built on dheer guts and the belief that they could win this game… Wave after wave of Sharks attacks were cut down with a belief that when we get our hands on the ball “watch us go”.
And “watch us go” happened… I have never seen such an inspired will to win performance… It even made me a convert because one kinda knew they were going to hit that last try…
You Lions you beauts… you deserve all the applause well ******* done… and for once the swearing is justified…
25 Sep 2010, 22:27 pm
Only a ****** would compare a refereeing blunder during a game and a refereeing blunder in the final movement as same and justified.
Anything prior to the last movement, reshuffles the entire game and gives rise to any possibility of outcomes. A mistake in the final movement doesn’t. If it wasn’t a try, it wasn’t a try and the result would have been different. makes no difference what Mvovo did previously in the game and was missed.
But then again, keo & co have to justify the dribble written during the week about this masterful Lions resurgence. They’ll be back to getting klapped ad nauseum in 2011.
25 Sep 2010, 22:39 pm
I got it right but just, the Lions were worse than I thought.
The odds the whole week were in favour of the Lions anyway.
25 Sep 2010, 22:41 pm
The Lions will not win at sea level with this kind of game, the Sharks were asked for a defeat, Lambie isn’t a flyhalf, Steve Myer would have done a better job and Tereblanche isn’t a centre either
25 Sep 2010, 23:57 pm
lions played well.
the cc needs games like this.
sharks will be back.
bring it on!!!
26 Sep 2010, 00:30 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-121:
You’re right. Their kicking game plan cannot work at sea level.
26 Sep 2010, 02:13 am
Joshua Strauss was immense. The type of warrior that won’t let you down in any battle. Pitty that the Bok brain trust will continue to overlook iron men like Strauss for show ponies like Spies and Kankowski.
26 Sep 2010, 04:14 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-97:
Yes, the Lions have had little to cheer about over the last few years, you are right. Let us enjoy these rare moments in peace please. What with all the player raids every single season, we have had little to cheer about. I think if not for the constant raids in Vaalie land, along with the Cheetahs, the Sharks would never win anything. But you have won a bit more because of it. Still have not won the Currie Cup more times than the Lions though. You have also not won a Super trophy yet. And the last Currie Cup win before 2008 was all the way back in 1996. I think the crowinig jewel for the side though has been the loss of potentially the best backline in the world though. I mean, Steyn was booed all the way to France, Barrit is in England, Pienaar is in Ireland, Murray is just happy to be playing at the Lions, JPP is headed that way soon. No wonder you guys are raiding other provinces for players again!!!
26 Sep 2010, 05:00 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-104:
Yes, Alberts has been very impressive. Btw, I’m pretty sure we have never won a Tri-Nations game when Kankowski starts….
Take note, the Lions are winning now. If they continue with this in the Super 15, they may just gain another supporter.
D-ic-k, let John Mitchell show you how to coach a team buddy…
26 Sep 2010, 06:15 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-126:
In fairness you got to say: ” The Lions under John Mitchell are winning now”
To be more specific you could say: “The Lions under Mitchell with Albert, H. v.d Merwe, Janes Labuschagne, Willi Wepener,Jaque Fourie, Ludik, AP, and the remnants in the current team from 2-4 seasons ago would have gone ALL THE WAY”!
No decent coach would have put up with pathetic tokens and creeps such as Januarie, Conrad Jantese, the Rose brothers, Ryno Benjamin and Sephaka, NEVER!
26 Sep 2010, 08:11 am
this was a fantastic advert for SA Rugby. 2 teams in an intense battle for the full match, massive intensity and what a grand stand finish.
Both teams and coaches can take a bow….best match of the season for me so far….most enjoyable.
26 Sep 2010, 08:21 am
Well done to the Lions! You won the game and that is what counts. If and buts don’t count for Ziltch!
26 Sep 2010, 08:24 am
The defense of the Lions was outstanding and they stuck to their game plan! Impressive young team this! I shudder to think what they will be like after playing a few seasons together. Take a bow Mitchel, you have proved the value of having a great coach and the difference such makes to a team.
26 Sep 2010, 08:38 am
Good call in your previous post JC – some might have to eat their words
26 Sep 2010, 08:43 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-107:
I think I actually agree iwth you for the 1st time ever
26 Sep 2010, 08:47 am
watershed week for boks coming up…..huge calls need to be made.
26 Sep 2010, 08:59 am
province
26 Sep 2010, 09:07 am
One of the best games I’ve seen in a long time. Well done all concerned and well done the Lion’s Kiwi coaching team.
26 Sep 2010, 09:11 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-130: yeah i saw in the 1st half they made just more than a hundred tackles & missed 13 the same number as the sharks who hadn’t even made half of the lions’ tackles. I was worried about fatigue setting in eventually but it never came. Those lions forwards outlasted the sharks!
Doppies tore the sharks centres a new cloaca! He broke the line all night long!
26 Sep 2010, 09:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-136:
I had the same thoughts Transie! They were like tigers out there. They fully deserved the win!
26 Sep 2010, 09:35 am
some youngsters impressed me big time yesterday….the lions 15 Taute….man that boy can play…..Elton Jantjes will be a star.Mvovo ….man he can do a job….and Odwa is looking full of running as well….
Great game …really exciting.
Both Lambie and Jantjes froze with there goal kicking….need to get some ice in the veins….but Jantjes kicked the 1 that counted.
26 Sep 2010, 09:45 am
with F Steyn now seemingly out of the eoyt…..and PDV rumoured to be resting up to 13 players….my revised squad for eoyt would look like this…
15 Aplon….Taute
11 mvovo….basson
14 jpp odwa
13 JDJ…JF
12 jdv m bosman
10 E Jantjes M Steyn [ he has to tour now i reckon ]
9 F Hougaard januarie [ if weight reduction on track ]
8 d vermeulen kanko
7 w alberts j smith
6 d steggmann [get fit mate] F Louw
5 J Kruger ….A Hargreaves
4 Bakkies Botha F VD Merwe
3 bj cj
2 bissy chilliboy
1 guthro beast
26 Sep 2010, 10:57 am
@kevin w(kevin w)-119: Come on, read your post again in the sober light of day and tell me you don’t sound pathetic. Since when do you decide when in a game a ref blunder is okay and when not?
26 Sep 2010, 11:13 am
@grant10(grant10)-139:
Idiotic man. Januarie doesn’t belong anywhere near the Boks. Every single other scrumhalf in the currie cup is better.
26 Sep 2010, 11:17 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-141: he is a pdv favorite
26 Sep 2010, 11:18 am
@katman(katman)-140: that comment at 119 was insanely funny…..stupidity personified….
26 Sep 2010, 11:22 am
Where can I get the highlights of this weekends CC? I cant watch any supersport.co.za videos, cause im in Korea… Any other sites?
26 Sep 2010, 11:26 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-126:
“Take note, the Lions are winning now. If they continue with this in the Super 15, they may just gain another supporter.”
why does this not surprise me, considering jumping ship again?
what a weak weak weak supporter you are..
26 Sep 2010, 11:40 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-145: Like I have always said. Kobus Kitty is an a$@&hole.
26 Sep 2010, 11:46 am
absolute shocking caal by the little boesman in the dying seconds … lets hope this was his last BIG game. Sien julle wat mens kry as jy average mense kies @ ABSA … nou gaan f0kken maak ander planne, want julle sien nou julle is/was besig met k@k.
26 Sep 2010, 11:48 am
@kevin w(kevin w)-119: cry me a river
26 Sep 2010, 11:51 am
@UK Bok(UK Bok)-146: we not need ex Lion supporters like him trying to join the pride again.
26 Sep 2010, 11:52 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-147: Hoe ironies. Op hierdie site is jy nie eers naastenby average nie. Jy sleep onder tussen die afsaksels rond. Jy droom van eendag average wees.
26 Sep 2010, 11:56 am
a 50/50 decision against the Pumas … a shocking decision against the Sharks … hell on this trend Lions can win the Currie Cup … f the star players, get k@k refs to ref and give them some money under the table. Clever lions
26 Sep 2010, 12:24 pm
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-151: You don’t know much…do u!!
26 Sep 2010, 16:04 pm
With Pro and Jaftha reffing the Sharks, it’s surprising they are not last on the log.
pisspooor in all departments both of them and yet they continue to get the top of the log team.
And now Kanko is cited for almost being tripped up?
That citing comissioner Burger would do well to change his blue and white striped underpants sometime, and while he’s at it white the brown stain from him lips.
Pathetic attempt at highjacking the Sharks before they play WP. Freek I hope you suffocate while sniffing your own jocks.
26 Sep 2010, 16:10 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-153:
Been sucking on a lemon ?
26 Sep 2010, 16:18 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-154: No they just are fairly less than average refs. And to cite Kanko, for that? Utter rubbish.
Will the WP stop at nothing, have they no shame?
26 Sep 2010, 16:29 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-155:
As expected, your team is beginning to choke as the competition is nearing its business end. It got nothing to do with WP, they cannot help it if the Sharks cannot handle the pressure.
I wonder where the master of making the wrong predictions (HG) is hiding today?
26 Sep 2010, 17:49 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-157:
That’s funny. One loss and the hyenas are out to cackle.
26 Sep 2010, 18:07 pm
Sore loser – as the old-timers say, “Look at the scoreboard!”.
I watched the game with some Sharks fans – when Mvovo clearly stepped out and it was missed, they were dead quiet. But when Franco van der Merwe didn’t seem to clearly ground the ball at the end, suddenly they were out of their chairs claiming some sort of referee conspiracy against them!
Rather ask why the Sharks weren’t able to score more often against a Lions team that had put in twice the number of tackles in the first half!
The Lions deserved that win, very gutsy by them.
26 Sep 2010, 18:09 pm
That stamp by Kankowski to the player’s chest was almost a kick, it was a brain **** from him.
Doesn’t matter if you get provoked, you should know this by now.
26 Sep 2010, 18:30 pm
well done lions!
what a great game of rugby to watch.
cmon sharks fans. forget about the ref. the lions deserved that win on sheer guts alone.
they won the collisions and thats what kept them in it. the number of turnovers the sharks conceded will need to be rectified sharpish as the playoffs loom.
again, well done lions! and LMAO at doppies and his sh i t comment, you could have fried an egg on his forehead after that
26 Sep 2010, 18:56 pm
so.
i see all the wp fans are almost having orgasms online here over the sharks loss.
well lets have a look at what this means shall we?
if i am not mistaken, wp have two games left. a home game against the sharks and an away game against the bulls.
the sharks play the leopards at home and wp away.
the sharks lead the log by 4 points.
they will presuamably take 5 points off the leopards.
so in order for wp to end top of the log, they would need to take 5 points off both the bulls and the sharks and prevent the sharks getting any points in their matchup at newlands.
this is a very exciting end to the season but i have the feeling the sharks will end up topping the log for the second year running.
26 Sep 2010, 19:07 pm
yes top the log and then lose against a k@k team : Lions or Cheetahs again … lol, chokers
26 Sep 2010, 19:10 pm
Quotas Prince & Thysen just cost the warriors 5Mill
26 Sep 2010, 19:31 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-159: It wasn’t a brain ****, it wasn’t a stamp. But be sure Burger will cite.
No problem with WP but do have problems with one eyed citing commissioners – is a full on punch also not worth a citing?
As for the Sharks, yep, they lost it in the collisions and better get working there, they got walked over in many rucks.
I still maintain though, referees for big matches should be the big ones. Imagine the Lions lost because Mvovu wasn’t picked up, that would also be a tragedy from the Lions.
Pick the big refs for the big games, as a WP supporter I know you’d cry like a baby if one of these guys ranked 5 or 7th stuffed up a home semi for you, or made you lose in a semi or final. Fair is fair, I’ve seen this happen with refs so mamy times, look at the Lions the week before, they were robbed.
Time these guys had to be accountable, and I have been saying this for years.
Pro is ranked 5th (wtf) in SA and yet was disgraceful in the S14 and was dropped from the panel. huh?
Please understand, this is not an attack on the characters of the guys, they mostly seem decent guys, even if some of them wear too much fake tan (MR Lawrence).
It’s just like throwing a player in when he is too young, or a coach when he hasn’t the experience etc etc. They don’t mean to make mistakes but they happen.
That is why panels should be more responsible with the selections, but this is Africa and this is SARU…
26 Sep 2010, 20:20 pm
That number 8 of the Lions looks like he could be the SAa version of Chabal, good player from what I could see in yesterdays game
26 Sep 2010, 20:29 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-164: like you, I watched the game Goody. Noted the match official errors but unlike you I attributed these to normal run of the mill officiating performance. They were no worse or better than any other group of officials I ever seen. Even the so called best. I wouldn’t get on my high horse over the slip ups boet. Pointless and perhaps even bordering on the prejudicial IMHO.
26 Sep 2010, 20:31 pm
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-163: and you’re a total prick. What do you know about cricket?
26 Sep 2010, 20:32 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-166: I wonder if Paddy o’Brian agrees or maybe now that it is not the Tri Nations he could not care less
26 Sep 2010, 20:47 pm
@JL1(JL1)-168: Howzit boet? Were you at Vicarage Road this pm perhaps? Good game. Sarries were big. Very enjoyable. Even from down here in damp ol Nuweland. Ref for that game made a few dodgy calls to. Part of the game. Touch judge should have called Mvovo for that step on the white yesterday, no doubt. Got it totally wrong. Seen far worse myself as I’m sure you have. I’ve even scored a five(in today’s terms) pointer without the ball. Still celebrating.
26 Sep 2010, 20:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-161: hey bushman don’t crack open the soetas yet boeta. PV are not going to be easybeats at either Newlands or Loftus. If my team play to their potential they have the beating of the Bulletjies, Bokke restock and all. But agree; this season it a moerava close call. Enjoy.
26 Sep 2010, 21:00 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-166: If speaking the truth is prejudicial then I’m all it. I don’t give a flyingfuckinwinter whether saying the supposed No 5 and No 7 refs are particularly shytewithacapitalshyte.
Not going to change the way things are, just stating my case, like everyone else in here, that is my opinion.
26 Sep 2010, 21:08 pm
Let’s face it – the ref is only kak if the decision goes against your team. When he makes a mistake in your favour, well he’s only human.
Isn’t this true, my fishy friends?
26 Sep 2010, 21:13 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-169: Brilliant game, I was watching on ESPN
Venter seems to be a very astute coach
26 Sep 2010, 21:15 pm
@katman(katman)-172: Catman, I have been bleating about refs, win or lose for a long time. Their influence is getting bigger every day and their mistakes are costing teams even more money
26 Sep 2010, 21:16 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-171: The guys were not the top refs in the world. Think that was pretty obvious. Do you even remember their names? Because I don’t. But they require ‘big’ games to learn. I’ve seen a lot worse. I enjoyed the game. Pretty sure most did because it was allowed to flow. So the guys didn’t do too badly in my book, given the international benchmark. It’s my opinion that we’re too quick to criticise is all.
26 Sep 2010, 21:20 pm
@JL1(JL1)-173: I’ll say. How was that driving by the big boys? Poetry? That game was almost an international.
26 Sep 2010, 21:24 pm
@katman(katman)-172: you’re an exceptionally wise man Kat. Exactly how it works. I was perfectly neutral on saturday and couldn’t have given a toad’s testicle who won out in the end. Just enjoyed the spectacle totally unstressed.
26 Sep 2010, 21:43 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-176: Yep, the boys played well
Did you see the breaking news on the Aussies being in radio connection with Eddie Jones in 2003 RWC
Built into their scrum caps apparently
26 Sep 2010, 22:02 pm
@JL1(JL1)-178: nope. You’re one step ahead of us down here mate. Keo’s girls are asleep at this time. Where did you read that one?
26 Sep 2010, 22:07 pm
Marvellous result!! I see great potential in this Lions team who are now getting some decent coaching from Mitchell.
We need a strong Lions team in the Currie Cup and Super 15. We don’t want a team just to make up the numbers
Well Done Gauteng!
26 Sep 2010, 22:14 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-179: The Rugby Paper
26 Sep 2010, 22:18 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-179: Also Nagaluvuki signed with Bristol
26 Sep 2010, 22:24 pm
Just watched a documentary on SABC2 showing how sports boycotts by anti apartheid activists throughout IOC and other organizations, and with orchestrated anti apartheid movement against Rugby tours to UK in 69, Australia 71, NZ tour to SA in 76 and Bok tour to NZ in 81 did as much to bring down apartheid regime as other financial and international embargo’s did.
Rugby here has been deigned to religious type status amongst certain communities, and it is way out of reality in terms of its real priority of importance as far as the contrast between human plight and human sporting prowess goes.
Rugby should be seen in the true context it actually represents, and not as a type of super human racial statement of ridiculous intent. Some like Hondo will never really get it, pity that the human individual is still largely by decree the remnant of the neanderthal specie he actually is.
26 Sep 2010, 22:25 pm
Well done Lions……….good to see one of the “big boys” back in business. Now take it to the S15!
26 Sep 2010, 22:27 pm
It only a game after all…………….
26 Sep 2010, 22:35 pm
South American football teams and their fans and then European teams and their fans
Celtic and Ranger fans
So it is not isolated to rugby
26 Sep 2010, 22:48 pm
It is when it is put up as a statement of ethnic superiority or religious type identification with undertones of racial attitudes of supremacy that it turns into a complete and utter human farce.
Pity that rugby here identifies with ethnic diversity more so than any other sporting code. That is why I appreciate athletics and some other sporting endeavors where individual attribute is rated higher than clannish type collectivity of groups in a team sport context.
It is ridiculous to think that that which should embark man on a quest to reach his highest ideals sometimes actually denotes the opposite and brings out the worst in him, his lowest common denominator and his underlying human prejudice.
26 Sep 2010, 22:50 pm
Football is just as ridiculous, maybe even worse. Human mob stupidity personified.
26 Sep 2010, 22:52 pm
Interesteing e-mail
American Chamber of Commerce in South Africa:
…I am an American who has been living and working in pre and
post Apartheid South Africa for the last twenty years. Over the
past 24 months the growing administrative chaos and corruption in
the current ANC lead national government has become so weighty
that those of us on the ground are now feeling the burden. The
“new” South Africa of everyone’s hopes and dreams is taking on
the character of a failed state. By any reasonable, civilized
Western standard of government competence, delivery and
efficiency South Africa is a failed state. On the matter of
crime, though the most recent statistics are mildly promising, at
approximately 21,000 murders a year or nearly 57 murders a day
South Africa has the mortality/casualty rate of a country engaged
in a low-grade civil war such as Iraq .
I have had the wonderful opportunity to work with many people in
South African business. They are not afraid to share their
stories or line up to emigrate. Simply put, their consensus is
that there is a crisis of acceptable standards brewing at all
levels especially when State administrative structures become
sullied with motives of punitive taxation and end up riddled with
crime, corruption, graft, squandering of funds, entitlement and
administrative dereliction. The current massive, country-wide
strikes which are shaking down the country are signs of things to
come. I have been warned by one of my students, an astute
investment broker, that this is a sure sign of regime change in
South Africa.
26 Sep 2010, 22:58 pm
i find it fascinating that so many saffas abroad spend so much time looking for kak about there homeland…..why?
Is it because the okes who left want there country to fail?
Is it because of guilt? So hoping the country implodes so the saffas abroad can say …’ we told you so ‘….
Serious question?
Its like the saffas overseas take some sort of morbid satisfaction in highlighting the challenges we face…..those that chose to stay and make things work.
26 Sep 2010, 23:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-190: This sht gets mailed to us Saffas abroad, daily, almost like begging for help
I get no enjoyment to see how a the country is being messed up
Do not be in denial and do something about it, I am
26 Sep 2010, 23:02 pm
@JL1(JL1)-191: i must do something about it?
Are you so certain i am not??
26 Sep 2010, 23:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-192: I would hope so
But to criticise the current government should be done the same as the previous one was criticised
26 Sep 2010, 23:05 pm
and the 1 thing i will not do is post negative stuff on a blog.
26 Sep 2010, 23:07 pm
@JL1(JL1)-193: there are ways and means to go about improving your country….posting negative conjecture on a blog is not 1 of them.
but its late.
26 Sep 2010, 23:10 pm
you looking for corroborating evidence to justify your defection or what?
26 Sep 2010, 23:15 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-196: No need to
26 Sep 2010, 23:21 pm
This government with all its warts and pimples are a thousand times, maybe even a million times better than the previous one by some distance.
Whites are still allowed to retain their status parameters of survival in a society that still has huge caste distinction separating wealthy from the poor, in spite of some of the unfair discriminatory practices which gave them their so called ethnically assumed advantages. The colonialist countries all got built on the backs of the blood and sweat of the poor and downcast while the fat cats sit in their ivory towers of supremacy, as they continue to do still.
Such is the way of the jungle, survival of the fittest, but all wheels turn and what was strength once becomes weakness later.
Nothing is cast in stone, not even ethnic divisive atrocities born out of ignorance and blighted religious type convictions of superiority.
27 Sep 2010, 01:41 am
@grant10(grant10)-190:
Don’t generalise D ick head!
27 Sep 2010, 08:40 am
Well done Lions.
27 Sep 2010, 09:15 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-198:
Comrade leave these agents.
While I was driven to wek today in my Mercedes I realised that we brudders are so much of downtrodden by the coloniasts. As I looked out the window at informal traders plying their goods to smiling customers I was suddenly accosted by a coloniast beggar and it almost put a damper on my morning.
Lucky for heem I was in the good mood from my breakfast of samp and goats liver.
I theenk today I will do something for my downtrodden brudders and buy a BMW. After all it is us that puts the bleddy things together am I right, so infact I am geeving job to many brudders.
Hawu I feel better to get that off my substantial chest.
Hamba kahle comrade!
27 Sep 2010, 11:39 am
Kanko would be a great 12 !!! What a fool , he should have known better !!