Lions break Sharks hearts

Franco van der Merwe scored a last minute try as the Lions beat the Sharks 22-20 at Ellis Park, writes GRANT BALL.

While the grounding of the ball in Van der Merwe’s score was dubious, you couldn’t say the Lions didn’t deserve to win. Sharks fans who complain about the try will also be well served to remember Lwazi Mvovo’s second score, which shouldn’t have been allowed.

Earlier the Lions suffered the worst possible start when Mvovo cantered over in the second minute, while in the same movement the hosts’ hooker Martin Bezuidenhout threw a punch and was yellow carded. Leading 5-0, playing against 14 men and exuding ultimate confidence in the try-scoring movement where they ran from their own 22, the odds were in the Sharks’ favour.

However, the Lions outscored the visitors 3-0 in that 10-minute period via an Elton Jantjies penalty. It’s been repeated throughout the season how different this Lions outfit is compared to the Super 14, but it can’t be emphasised enough. With the numerical advantage, on one occasion the Sharks pounded away for 19 phases at the Lions line and also exhibited brilliant offloading, but the Lions wouldn’t relent.

That theme continued for the rest of the half as the Sharks had all the possession, but the Lions’ cover defence and turning over ball at the breakdown was outstanding. After another multi-phase Sharks attack, a dropped pass fell into the hands of a Lions player 5m from their own line. The hosts countered rapidly, another feature of their play this season, and with Jannie Boshoff feeding Jaco Taute, the fullback finished off under the poles.

The Sharks replied through Mvovo’s brace, and even though the visitors had dominated possession, they were lucky to head into the shed level at 10-all. Mvovo again showed impressive pace and strength, but he had clearly placed a foot out in the build-up, but the assistant referee inexplicably missed the act.

Jantjies, who had been in exemplary goal-kicking form before last week’s match against the Bulls, also missed three penalties at goal, while Lambie hit the upright with an easy conversion for the first try.

In the first fixture between the sides at Kings Park the Sharks’ similar first half onslaught also didn’t yield results on the scoreboard, but eventually the defending took its toll on the Lions as they conceded 50 points. However, that didn’t look like repeating itself when they took a five-point lead when Waylon Murray scored against his former side after running an incisive angle to break the line.

But the impact of having to make 100 tackles in just 55 minutes eventually told when Odwa Ndungane benefited from quick ruck ball to score his side’s third try. Lambie nudged over his first kick of the match and then a penalty to hand the Sharks a five-point lead.

While the hosts had to defend in the opening half, the Sharks were forced into many tackles in the final quarter, while Ryan Kankowski’s ill-discipline for stomping on a player saw him miss the final four minutes.

Poetically the Lions’ inspirational captain scored in the final movement and while all his team-mates have showed improved resolve from earlier in the year, special mention must also be made of Josh Strauss, Jano Vermaak and Doppies la Grange.

The Lions face the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein and Pumas at home with their semi hopes still alive, while the Sharks versus Western Province match could prove vital in who tops the log.

Follow Grant on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

202 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@gretep(gretep)-43: Hey I am not blaming the ref, Sharks left it out there themselves.

I am just questioning why 7th an 5th ranked refs get the Top game of the weekend.

I don’t think Mr Jafta had a bad game, I think he tries hard, I would just like to see the best ref and assistants at these kinds of matches.

Anyway, for once, next week GO BULLE :-)

• 52.baw: Reply to this comment

Well played lions ! Lambie had a night mare ! was impressed with waylon ! THE ONLY thing that irritates me is that jc will be beating his chest like a ****** jc; IM THE MAN ! DONT EVER ARGUE WITH ME AGAIN!

Tough call at the end and mvovo foot realy on the line ? Dam burden should have scored! And when we kankowski through the ball into the lions players hand which lead to a try ! Must be said ,for those who thought ndungane was past his best -what a preformance !

Congratz lions you won at home ,we still top of log !:D im going to sulk for the rest of the night hehehe

• 53.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-46: Hamish. Where are you? I know you told me but I have forgotten.

• 54.gretep: Reply to this comment

Top game of the weekend boet, that would have to be any game that Province plays… And wwe got Jonker the Plonker…

• 55.BlackShark: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-25: Spot on. The two teams playing the best rugby at the moment – Sharks and Lions – have Kiwi head coaches and assistant coaches (Plumtree/Boyd and Mitchell/Spencer). Coach the players to do more than just run into each other and you won’t need to rely on buying players; the Lions in particular are a good example of how to build a team with good coaching.

• 56.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40: in the long run it hasnt hurt your teams chances as I imagine they will still sit at the top of the log? know the pain though, as Im sure every rugby suporter has at some time or another..

didnt see the game, couldnt find a stream to watch so have to entrust the bloggers for their analysis on that aspect..

• 57.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-49: Actually you are right. Heck 2 dodgy tries and all things are equal. I think we should demand he refs the RWC final next year (at least it will mean there is a SAFFA in the comp after the 1st round :-)

Fark it, just annoyed at the Sharks, made silly errors but will bounce back.

Best game of rugga I have seen in a while though!!!

• 58.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-53:

Just arrived in Chad mate. I’m sure I did something wrong in a previous life :(

• 59.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Waylon Murray looked really really good by the way.

I don’t know what Willem Alberts has to do to get a Bok look in, but f uck tackling that guy is a ‘mare. Also great game, at lock too.

• 60.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Good coaches. A Kiwi made something out of the worst union in South Africa. He must be a miracle worker. Lets hope Mitchell sticks around for a few years.

• 61.gretep: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-59:

Not get injured at the wrong time again perhaps?

• 62.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@gretep(gretep)-54: Should have guessed you are a WP supporter, they usually irritate me instantly ;-)

Amazing how your team, who hasn’t won anything in ages, still thinks they are the best. Based on what? What weird energy does that mountain give off that turns you lot into knobheds?

• 63.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-59:

UN?

• 64.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-58: Geez dude. I hope they pay you a LOT of money. I watch on RugbyZone by the way, and you can download the game if you need to. Best value for money in the world. You get every game really.

• 65.gretep: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-62:
    Based on the fact that we just know we are… And we have a mountain to prove it.

• 66.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-60: yep, but after about 3 years the runctions within the lions will be similar to the force..

mark my words.. :D

• 67.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-63:

Had one too many bottles of Klippies tonight? Got that Joburg joller aggro going on.

• 68.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@gretep(gretep)-65: Finally a WP dude with a sense of humour, nice one.

Right, out all, going to drown my sorrows.

Pull it together SHARKS

• 69.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Mitch, King Carlos and the boys are going out on a drinking party tonight. :razz:

• 70.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-63:

Not you..gretep :-)

• 71.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-67: No joburg in me, and I only drink good red wine.

Natal through and through, I should be drinking Gin and Tonics, but then again I should probably be beating my slave with a stick because the Sharks lost what what? ha ha ha.

• 72.baw: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-62: i wish this site had a “like” button like in facebook

• 73.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-69: it will be all handbags and bonnet surfing… :lol:

• 74.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Nothing wrong with the ref. Jafta is a promising young ref and officiates a game very well. Well done Lions.

The same cant be said for the 2 m.onkeys on the touch lines. What an attrocious, second rate, inexperienced lot those two were.

The fact they get a game of this magnitude is an absolute disgrace. Viva transformation Viva.

Huge decision towards the end to penalise Burden for absoutely nothing.

• 75.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@BlackShark(BlackShark)-56:

I agree bru.

• 76.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

This match is the reason that Currie Cup rugby is unmatched for intensity, passion and all out entertainment. Now we have a dogfight for position number 2, unless Province suprises me and swats away the Bulls at Roftus – and this is the 2010 tournament so don’t bet against it, folks.

• 77.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Hmmm, moderated comment?

Anyway not UN, building power plant.

• 78.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-76: Dead right. The CCup brings out the bulldog in everyone.

There is something very very magical in the way that the average SA rugby player would go to any length to beat his brother to death with a rugby ball, but capitulates against the New Zealand Grannies’ Handbag touch teams

• 79.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Honestly I doubt it. I don’t think that the SA psyche is the same. Giteau is a git.

I reckon Mitchell will be a huge success.

And I am proud to say I called it before D ick The P rick got the job. If our talent pool is to develop, including coaches we need more Kiwis to take us to a higher level.

Any way adieu.

Nice one my Lions.

See you through the window.

• 80.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-72:

Fully! Was aiming at the other bozo that sounds like he’s 10 sheets to the wind already.

• 81.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-78:

Copied.

• 82.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-74: well Bezuidenhout got a yellow for punching air – Burden did exactly what Bakkies got carded for – shoulder charged an innocent…

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-78: so, now weve attacked the WP supporter, next in line is the kiwis ?

lmfao..

go have that gin and tonic now man :D

• 84.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-79: cheers Soda, enjoy the moment..

• 85.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-82:

Dunno. I replied to you and soda. This place has been a bit weird since they ‘fixed’ it.

• 86.JL1: Reply to this comment

Good game and good show by both teams

Well done Lions

• 87.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-83: not attacking anyone, just having some fun… LOL.

And besides, WP people just deserve it. You know, like Gingers deserve to be teased.

• 88.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-80:

Congrats mate. Enjoy a sherbet of two tonight :)

• 89.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-86:

I got moderated too.

• 90.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-87: hehe I know, was just having a laugh with ya..

the old bloodnuts huh? yep, cant deny that one :D

• 91.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-83: the Kiwis are good people – look at what Mitch has done with my forwards and Carlos has the backs stepping, offloading with blind passes and showing the boys magic play.

ROAR!

• 92.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-88:

Ginger girls are my favourite….

• 93.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-88:

Careful Goody. You attacking WP and Jocks now ;)

• 94.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-82:
    Oh please, if Hargreaves hadnt moved his head, he would have caught a punch. Burden floppd onto the maul and gets penalised!
    Give me a break dude.

• 95.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-90:

Your reputation precedes you :D

All I said was I’m probably the only white guy here who is not UN????

• 96.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-91: I am hoping to catch a replay of the game when I get home from work in the morning… shows that the talent is there in the Lions region, just wasnt being utilised properly…

its amazing how often fresh input can lift performance…

• 97.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

John let the okes enjoy their moment. It hasn’t happened too much in the past few decades.

• 98.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-96:

Bliksem I have a reputation? Can’t understand why.

• 99.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-97: So says a Sharks fan. I’m just saying.

• 100.Kaaskyker: Reply to this comment

I heard that Alberts, Ludik and Pretorius want their Lions jerseys back. :)

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.