Currie Cup latest (Thurs)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Kanko cops one-week ban

Ryan Kankowski will miss this week’s game against the Leopards after being suspended for stamping.

Following Saturday’s loss to the Lions, the Shark No 8 was cited under Law 10.4 (b) for stamping on an opponent. Kankowski used his right foot in a stamping action on the body (stomach area) of Lions flank Trevor Hall during the 75th minute of the game. He received a yellow card for the offence, but was later cited.

On Wednesday, he pleaded not guilty to the charge. His defence argued that he was in the process of falling backwards which forced him to lift one leg to regain his balance and that resulted in him placing his foot on his opponent as he regained his balance. It was also argued that the Sharks No 8 did not have the benefit of being able to stop during the incident to regain his balance and ensure that his foot was placed away from his opponent.

According to a statement from Saru, after considering all relevant facts and available video evidence, the judiciary recommended a suspension of two weeks. This was however reduced to one week after a ruling that Kankowski’s action was impulsive rather than reckless was made. There was thought to be no malice in Kankowski’s actions.

Pretorius gets start

Andre Pretorius will start his first match for the Sharks against the Leopards in Durban on Friday.

The flyhalf comes in for Pat Lambie, who drops to the bench. The Sharks have made four other changes and one positional change, which sees lock Gerhard Mostert make his first appearance since injuring his shoulder in the opening match of the Super 14 against the Chiefs while Springbok tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis also gets a run.

Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Andries Strauss, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Andre Pretorius, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie Du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden,1 Eugene van Staden.
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Patric Cilliers, 18 Anton Bresler/Michael Rhodes, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Pat Lambi and 22 Luzuko Vulindlu.

109 Comments

• 1.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

Dragons roar…

yes it’s true

• 2.sparticus: Reply to this comment

What the story about Schalk being arrested last night ? Apparently he wore a cops cap in a restaurant and they raided the place and arrested him ?

• 3.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-2: Yeah,he wasn’t arrested. There was just a confrontation because he wore a police cap with the old police emblem on it. He gave the cap to them and that was the end of it…

• 4.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo)-3: Six cops to handle this volatile situation? Sounds a little daft to me.

• 5.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-4: You dont wanna make Schalk Angry!

• 6.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

The Sharks may shortly experience a wing crisis similar to the one that was a major headache for Free State in this year’s Currie Cup.

Not only did the Sharks have to deal with the High Court verdict on Wednesday that wing Lionel Mapoe had to return to the Cheetahs immediately, but it has also emerged that Bok star JP Pietersen has received a huge offer from the Lions to continue his career in Johannesburg.

The Lions confirmed the offer to Sport24 on Wednesday after it emerged earlier that Pietersen’s Sharks contract expires at the end of 2010.

The Sharks have 14 days to make a counter-offer for the Bok wing.

Mapoe will, however, not be making his return for Free State against the Lions on Saturday.

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotské said that he would consider the wing for next week’s away match against the Leopards following the verdict by judge Corné van Zyl in the Free State High Court.

“I have no ill feeling towards Lionel. In fact, I’m very fond of him,” said Drotské.

The Free State team for the Lions game had already been announced on Tuesday, which makes it impossible for Drotské to consider Mapoe.

Mapoe’s return for the Currie Cup run-in is great news for Drotské following the serious knee injury suffered by Springbok flyer Jongi Nokwe.

Free State are fielding two centres — Corné Uys and Philip Snyman — as wings against the Lions on Saturday.

Since the end of last year, Free State have lost wings such as Fabian Juries (to Western Province), Danwel Demas (Italy), JW Jonker (France) and Wilton Pietersen (Lions). MJ Mentz is unavailable because of Sevens commitments.

Springbok hooker and Free State captain Adriaan Strauss said that he and his teammates were excited about Mapoe’s return.

“We can’t wait for Lionel to come back. He’s an incredibly good and special player. There is no-one in the camp that harbours any ill feeling towards him,” said Strauss.

Free State will not train on Thursday. Mapoe will therefore be back in a Free State training jersey again at Vodacom Park at 09:30 on Friday morning.

• 7.katman: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-5: I guess he does often bulldoze the first two or three defenders.

• 8.adi: Reply to this comment

only 2 black players in sharks team
    1 in cheetas team

ABSA please help

• 9.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-7: Yip he is a beast…..its amazing what he puts his body through. Would do you think about the possible JPP signing? I think it would be great for JPP and the Lions….JPP will get a change of scenery and work with Spencer which should improve his game and the Lions are getting an experienced Bok in the squad. Killian and JPP on the wings for the S15.

• 10.katman: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-9: It would probably be a good thing for JPP and the Lions, but I must be honest I’m not his biggest fan. I feel there are wings out there who work harder.

• 11.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-10: Ja i see what you saying. But he can be devastating when on top form.

• 12.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@adi(adi)-8: I guess Kabamba’s blonde hair makes him white?

• 13.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

Adi, if you don’t like it, go watch soccer! We want to see strenght vs strenght.

• 14.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Raka will definitely try to spite Mapoe. To give a player 80k pa compare to 780k, is a joke. Freestate should get rid off Raka and his kaka staff! No wonder Ollie wanted to bliksem him

• 15.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

How old is Hendro Scholtz that he still demands a staring spot. Kambamba the bloody fool should have trekked to Europe in search for a deal. Hell even a third rate club would give him more money than the corrupt Slave State

• 16.adi: Reply to this comment

• 17.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

for mapoephol R80k is alot .. he can atleast get dstv for his shack or RDP house

• 18.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-17: True, he is just a greedy *******. R80k a year is alot of money for a 21 year-old.

• 19.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-18: ag kuk man. there are 21 yr olds who make HUGE salaries simply for being at an elite end of their field.

mapoe is in this category.

good luck to lionel, he will be better off anyways for haing experienced a pro setup at the sharks.

• 20.The_duke: Reply to this comment

@Katman4. the last time they sent one cop we all know what happened

• 21.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

:shock:

• 22.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-10:

The Bulls apparently had to choose between JP and Bjorn. JP wanted something like 3 times what Bjorn would cost them, and they happily paid the additional transfer fee to get Basson instead.

• 23.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

wtf is that modderated for??, for saying JP will be staying with the Sharks??

eish Keo is julle n klomp klooster koeke ??

• 24.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Lionel should just take his matter to Cosatu. The Slave State could use some of the pro-setup of the Sharks!

• 25.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

not one swear word …. and i greeted ranger and it gets moderated :lol:

• 26.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

rangerman mate i think ur nick name is under moderation :lol:

• 27.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-19: now now Ranger do not come here with your Shark spin – Mapoe is on someting like a 350K package not the Shark 80K spin.

p.s. why you guys paying JPP so little? why wait for the Lions to make him a decent offer before giving his due?

• 28.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-28: does talking **** come so easy to you???

dont thumb suck figures dude

• 29.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-27: What is JPP getting?

• 30.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

the ref wont beable to help the lions next time they meet the sharks :lol: :lol:

• 31.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-30: JPP is on 1.2

• 32.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Bees is getting 850K
    Lionel 80K-350K
    JPP 800K
    Eberson 750K

• 33.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-26: :lol: probably.

@Roar for Mitch and King Carlos(RL)-27: hey rl, congrats for last weekend. i really hope your lads get a semi.

now shurrup and farkoff you bleddy agent :lol:

• 34.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-31: You dont know how much the Lions are offering?

• 35.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-34: :lol:

• 36.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-35: not sure i heard its around 1.4 but cannot confirm that

• 37.rangerman: Reply to this comment

1.2 bar a year?

hmmm….not too bad.

i rate JPP. big time!

• 38.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-35: i have no doubt sharks have matched it or bettered it as he very very very recently said he was staying at the sharks

thus i said earlier he will be staying at the sharks, and i heard that from the same person that told me smitty would stay at the sharks, we all know the result of that big lions offer that failed

and now they saying they did not make an offer :lol: :lol:

• 39.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-38: yes per year

pretty decent money , but he is a decent player

• 40.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

ok got to run be back laters….

• 41.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-31: that is a disgrace!!!

how can anyone live on 100k a month – are you sure you are sucking that figure correctly from Strooli?

• 42.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, cheers all.

keep well.

• 43.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-38: You wouldnt know what the Lions offered John Smit? and how much is he worth currently at the Sharks

• 44.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-24:

He’d have a fantastic case to present, hey Shighty?

‘They offered me a contract and I willingly signed it.’

WTF dude?

• 45.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

SL we did not make an offer for Fatty, he played the rumour game to secure his place in Dirtbin also getting an increase in pay out of the game, smart man.

Now JPP, dfferent game, the Lions are prepared to pay JPP more
    Dusty is here, King Carlos vs HRE, the King wins.

He will be a Lion, bet on it.

• 46.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-42: cheers you weird Shark boy … do not be in a rush to return.

• 47.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

Bees only @ R850K a year? sheesh i thought is was much more.

• 48.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-40: yeah do what all Sharks do … run away boy.

• 49.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-44:The sharks firmly believed that the contract that Lionel signed with the Cheetahs was not up to standard

• 50.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-44: I’m curious about your nic…r u an emigrant from SA or were u born in Scotland?

• 51.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-49:

no they believed that they could find a loophole.

which has been shut in their face.

• 52.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@ 49 Mighty

Don’t get me wrong, I sympathise with the guy, but there are ways to do things and saying that he doesn’t like his deal anymore when it suits him is not one of them. The courts have ruled, what have COSATU got to do with anything?

@ 50 Oracle

I’m a Jock in Bok land. Born in Scotland, living in SA. It just rhymed, that’s all :)

• 53.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-51: The pro setup at the Sharks usually find loopholes.

• 54.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

For being an almost Bok, Lionel is not worth the small change that Cheetahs were and currently offers him! The onus is on the union to do the right thing and validate the value of a player yearly and not on a contract that was sign in 2007

Cosatu will ensure equality.

• 55.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-52: I see… thanks for that info… now when the Boks play the Scots, I bet you don’t care who wins as long the Boks win…. ;) or am I taking your allegiance to the Boks too far :)

• 56.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I dont see why the loss of JP Pietersen would create a wing crisis for the Sharks. How much game time has Pietersen had for the Sharks in the last while and it seems the Sharks are doing just fine ?

Also, Lionel Mapoe and JP Pietersen are not the only talented wings in the country that the Sharks could approach. In fact, I would think that Pietersen moving to the Lions would send a clear message to their wings which have in my opinion performed excellently – so, the Sharks will happily do a trade off.

I doubt the Sharks will make a counter offer on Pietersen. You can all but take this as an announcement that he will be moving to the Lions.

In addition – I cant understand why the Lions would spend such a lot of money on Pietersen. I would have rather used that money to sign someone like Jean De Villiers or Morne Steyn.

But – good luck to them. They seem to be getting a clue lately.

• 57.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-51: It aint over yet. Has Mapoe arrived in Bloemfontein ? I think he has until 3pm today if I am not mistaken.

Lets see if that happens.

I am no attorney, nor do I profess to have big knowledge of the laws of the country, however – should he ignore the high court order – he would get comtempt of court right ? With the option of a fine.

Then the Cheetahs must sue him for breach of contract – which would also come with a fine.

Fines can be paid with a black and white cheque book.

• 58.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-57: sorry dusky but they have made a counter offer

• 59.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-57: Make that contempt. ;-)

• 60.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-57: Nope. What will in all likelyhood happen is that the Chettahs will halt his salary until such time as he is back with them. Mapoe will then have no income, but will be prohibited from playing anywhere else. So he can sit out the rest of his contract in the change rooms, by which time the world would have moved on and he will have missed the boat.

• 61.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-60: Sorry Spelling

• 62.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-58: Surprising that. I rate JP, but I feel the Sharks could use his salary better elsewhere. Perhaps for a certain Dewald Potgieter or JC Kritzinger for example. They could probably get both for what JP wants to earn.

I wouldn’t mind so much if he goes to the Lions. Go well JP and good luck !

• 63.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-60: Interesting scenario. I also think its probably best he goes back to the Cheetahs.

Before they fill all their geriatric sanitary towels up. Bunch of cry babies.

• 64.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-63: LOL this case actually is very important from a precedent point of view. The previous cases were mostly an issue of “loophole”, whilst this has more to do with simple refusal to report to duty. If they buckle on this one it leaves the door wide open to anyone else who doesn’t want to play ball (so to speak)..

• 65.jonnow: Reply to this comment

So Mapoe has told the Cheetahs what they can stick their contract, he’s not going back to Bloemfontein.

I think the clowns at the Cheetahs have lost their loving feeling towards Mapoe by this stage.

I find it very strange that the court ordered Mapoe to go back to the Cheetahs, in Labour Law cases the courts are loathe to order specific performance against one of the parties, because when the relationship has broken down, as it clearly has here, in practice it will not work out for either of the parties to force someone to work for an employer they do not trust or want to be associated with. It would have been far better to award the Cheetahs damages against Mapoe and let them end this unhappy relationsfip.

• 66.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

Ek lees Anton van Zyl meen dat die naweek se wedstryd “krag teen krag” is….. Iemand moet tog vir die kerel verduidelik wat die term beteken!

• 67.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

Interresting poll results….

• 68.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

All uninformed Sharks’ supporters:

From Rugby 365:
    “Mapoe, who was on a R60,000 per annum junior contract with the Cheetahs last year, received an ‘increase’ from the Cheetahs in December – when they agreed to pay him R200,000 per year.

However, once he was named in the Cheetahs Super 14 squad at the beginning of the year, he became subject to the standard players’ agreement that stipulates a minimum monthly payment of R27,500.”

From News24:
    “Sport24’s sources indicate that Mapoe is earning around R29 500 per month in the Super 14, which is the minimum salary for a South African player in the Super 14. His contract with Free State is worth about R200 000 a year.

Mapoe was contracted as an unknown emerging talent by the Cheetahs in 2008 for R80 000 a year for three years, with annual increases built into the contract.

He still played for the Free State under-21 side in 2009 and only made his mark for the senior team later in the season, after which the Cheetahs decided to increase his salary.

The Cheetahs are now believed to be willing to increase his salary to R750 000 a year within 24 months if he’s prepared to extend his contract until 2012.”

• 69.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Tegejo(Tegejo)-67: Bulls is gunstelinge of Sharkies wat wil he WP moet verloor

• 70.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@jonnow(jonnow)-65: In an employment contract you can resign with a period of months/weeks notice and there is nothing preventing you therefore from leaving to go another employer. My question is that if Mapoe is being restricted from leaving the Cheetahs on the count of a contractual clause, is that in line with Labour practice and employment laws and does it perhaps not constitute a restraint of trade which in most cases is difficult to enforce in a court of law. How then can the courts force him to move back to Cheetahs – Is he not entitled like you or me,with a notice period of course, to take his services elsewhere?

• 71.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

So, it is CLEAR to see that as Mapoe developed in his career at the Cheetahs, the Cheetahs increased his salary. They also identified that he was a talent and made him an offer of R750 000 a year (same as Robert Eberson), yet MAPOE believes he is worth more! And when the Cheetahs refused to make him an offer of a million rand, HE WENT AWOL!!!!

So please, get to grips with yourself. Mapoe, his agent and the Sharks are the one who are in the wrong! No one else!!! An abritration hearing and a high court judge feels the same way.

Mapoe was not treated unfailry. He played a mammoth 12 games (8 CC games in 2009 and 4 S14 games) for Cheetahs senior side. In that time they saw his value increase from R80 000 to R750 000. Now, if Mapoe feels different, then go about it the RIGHT WAY. Mapoe was treated as ANY OTHER young schoolboy who started off his career in professional rugby.

• 72.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-68:

Interesting. Two sides to every story indeed.

If this is true, it looks like Mapoe is just being impatient and wants his superstar wage now rather than putting in the hard graft and earning it long term.

Service delivery rugby style.

• 73.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-71: So lets take it a little personal then. Suppose you are working for a firm and have a colleague who is doing the same work and performing at the same level, however he is earning 3 times your salary. What would you do?

Assume now that you think you are better than that colleague and have possibly demonstrated this in your performance reviews/ratings etc. What then?

What i have read is that Mapoe has only being offered a possible increase to 750k OVER 24 Months i.e. not immediate and hence no guarantee. Again how would you feel if this was the situation in your work place?

• 74.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-72: Service delivery rugby style?

And I suppose Eberson deserve that 750K for being the great player he is!

• 75.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-74:

I’d imagine he showed great promise as a youngster and had a few other interested parties.

Why, what do you think got him his 750k?

• 76.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-75: Eberson got that 750K cause he’s WHITE!

• 77.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Talent wise, Mapoe bring much more to the party

• 78.jonnow: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-70: The difference here is that Mapoe has a fixed contract with the Cheetahs.

But that is no biggie. It happens all the time in business that employees have fixed contracts that they want to get out of. They just buy themselves out of the contract.

How can you force an employee to work for an employer he does not trust? Recipe for disaster and bad for both the Cheetahs and Mapoe. Far more sensible for the court to order that Mapoe has to pay the Cheetahs back everything they have spent on him.

• 79.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-73: Firstly, your arguement in comparing Mapoe with Eberson is rediculous.

Robert was a schoolboy senssation. Mapoe played Craven Week, but not SA schools. Also, both played for the SA sevens team, Eberson was a sensation, Mapoe warmed the bench most of the time. And, by the time Mapoe started playing for the Cheetahs CC side in second half of the 2009 season, Eberson was already part of the Cheetahs senior side for one and a half seasons!

So, to say that Mapoe should recieve the same as Eberson just because he thinks he is a better player, is ludicrous.

It is the same as saying that let’s say next a fairly unkown player from the Sharks u/21 team gets a chance in senior side and makes a huge impact. Now, thus player demands to be paid more than Patrick Lambie. When the Sharks refuse, but make him offer to work towards so that he can earn the same as Lambie, this player goes AWOL! Stupid isn’t it?

• 80.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-76:

Brilliant. Of course he did. I wouldn’t have expected anything else from you. The sad thing is though, you actually believe that.

You’ve obviously never worked in a role where you have to hire people. I had to hire a guy not so long ago on a Cape Town site because we we desperate and the job was falling behind. The guy the agency sent was a coloured lad and because of his previous job and our desperation, we paid him 30% more than the white guy who had been with us for a couple of years.

Market forces my friend, every man for himself. If the white guy found out, he is free to look at his options.

• 81.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

a@bananaboy(bananaboy)-73: Secondly, what you are essentially saying is that every youngster who gets an oppertunity at in the Sharks senior side and makes an impact, should be able to demand his pay and get what HE THINKS he is worth. And, if that plaayer does not get what HE THINKS he is worth, he has the right to take his stuff and go to another union whenever it pleases him. Does not sound right, does it?

• 82.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-77:

Sure, so it seems to be turning out. And if he’d stuck around instead of playing Mr I Am, I’m sure he would have been remunerated accordingly.

• 83.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-81:

Not every youngster, only the black ones.

Make no mistake, if this was a white kid, Shighty would have a completely different take.

• 84.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

@jonnow(jonnow)-78: This is the dumbest comment ever! Eberson was captain of the Cheetahs Craven Week side. He scored the most tries at that Craven Week. He also made the SA schools side. He recieved offers from EVERY big union is South Africa. As a schoolboy, he was hailed as “the next big thing”. The same goes for when he played for the SA sevens side.

Mapoe also played Craven Week. He DID NOT play SA schools. As a schoolboy, no one knew him or thought of him as particulalry taleneted. He was an an above avarage player. The Cheetahs were the only union to offer him a contract.

So, to say Eberson only got his offer because he was white, is a dumb statement

• 85.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-80: Whenever POC is not happy with their working conditions like Mapoe, its service delivery style! Jaque Fourie blackmailed the Lions and that not service delivery style?…..wait its only POC that have this begging mentality and service delivery style

• 86.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

@ Jonnow – Sorry mate, previous comment not directed at you! It was directed as Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua).

• 87.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-76:

you are an idiot.

the cape spanish version of hondo.

read fsjakes posts to find out quite how much of a twatstick you really are.

• 88.jonnow: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-86: No worries….I am used to taking abuse :0

• 89.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-85:

We’re not talking about Jaques Fourie and I can only comment on what I see. Strikes and dissatisfaction all over the country because people want more. More for nothing.

If I want more, I change job, not hold my employer to ransom.

• 90.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

It doesnt matter if you were the captain of the Freestate creche, primary school, scored the most landtjie rugby tries! How many guys havent played Craven Week (Name change needed) yet performed briliantly at Currie Cup level. So all players that played SA creche should be given 750K?

Look at Dollie, Played SA schools, scored klomp tries? Did he get a 750K?

• 91.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-89: Did Mapoe or any other POC held any union to ransom?

• 92.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-90: Mate, yet another daft observation! You have absolutely NO idea how professional sport work and are completely obsessed with race. No matter what a person says, you stare yourself blind against your own racial issues. There is NO point in trying to discuss the matter with you. You are incapable of making a statement that is not based on your own racial issues.

• 93.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-90:

Your naivety is simply astounding Mighty. surely WP were right in not paying Dollie a shed load? and is there a trend? Do all white youngsters get more than POC?

Really, you are grasping at straws here mate, I think you should go lie down for a bit because you are very quickly making yourself look like a complete fool.

And I’m assuming a bit here, but when you eventually leave school and have to fend for yourself in the big bad world, you’re in for a heck of a shock my friend.

• 94.Tegejo: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-93: I dont think he will finish school. He might finish is, but actually completing it is a different story. Die tik da innie kaap is mos lekker, my broeh!

• 95.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-91:

Mapoe obviously did. Pay me more or I’m leaving! How else can it be viewed?

And the fact that no-one else has made these demands blows your theory of racism out of the water, no?

• 96.Slartibartfart: Reply to this comment

O **** jy die Magtige Hoerewa…van die Kaap **** jy hom kerm en kla!! He is planning his Zim-style land invasions…

• 97.Slartibartfart: Reply to this comment

Holy me…h o o r gets censored…

• 98.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

change the Craven Week name to the Markgraaff week

• 99.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfart(Slartifartfast)-96:

It’s another hit n run. He’ll be back later to throw around a few more racism allegations and the leg it when he can’t back them up.

• 100.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-81: JS exactly right. If I think I am worth more than what my employer is willing to pay me do I want to be restricted from looking elsewhere and taking my services to someone else. If I lose out as a result that’s my decision but I have the liberty to make that decision , it employment law. Otherwise we are back to slavery.

The fact that Ebersohn was a senstation at school level is a stupid argument because it has to do with your current and future potential and not your past potential. If Mapoe has developed better at S14 level for example , enough to be persued by other unions it may mean that he is a better player now than Ebersohn, in their respective positions.

• 101.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-81: And what if he is approached by another union. Doesn’t that indicate he is worth more than what his union are paying him and deserves the right to look into the possibilities even if he is young. Look at the football scene for example. All that is required is for players to be bought out of their contracts for the right price or see out the period of their contract until they can make a free transfer. And if a side is willing to pay the transfer fee, they are off.

• 102.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

anyways outahere, have a good evening folks

• 103.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101:

Not necessarily. An approach has to be made from one football club to another and the suitor can be refused permission to talk to a player. So it’s in the hand of the club who holds the contract whether to allow the approach, and the clubs also have to agree on compensation if the player wants to leave.

Of course, nowadays with all of the silly money being bandied about, a player can insist on different clauses in his contract on approach and release if he is a big enough name.

• 104.Roar for Mitch and King Carlos: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: so fruit boy what you are saying is say Toulon can come around offer Lambie 6 times his Shark salary, invite him to train with them, pay for his plane ticket to France, put his face on their website and basically say fu to whatever contract he may have, cite something silly like a breakdown in the relationship and you would agree to this?

• 105.krog: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-100: Bananaboy you say: “The fact that Ebersohn was a senstation at school level is a stupid argument because it has to do with your current and future potential and not your past potential.”
    You are actually the one being stupid here I am afraid. Read fsjakes post again. He was explaining why Robert Ebersohn got the better junior contract – because at that stage he was regarded as a sensation and Lionel Mapoe just an average player with potential.
    And fsjakes also explained why Robert was offered a senior contract sooner than Lionel – because he progressed to senior rugby long before Lionel did, he showed his worth long before Lionel. When Lionel eventually also showed his worth FS was willing to offer him the same – Robert coincidentally were also hunted by the Sharks amongst others, but FS offered him the R750k on condition that he signed for another few years. Robert accepted rather than waiting longer for bigger money from other unions. Lionel preferred going for the bigger money – which is fair, but then wait out your contract period and honour your contract.

• 106.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-101: Firstly, the comparrison with Eberson are a perfect example, because everybody is accusing the FRU of treating Mapoe badly because he recieved less than Eberson.

The reason Eberson recieved R750 000 from an earlier age, was because he showed his talent & worth from an earlier age. He also achieved much more than Mapoe from at. earlier age. Now, when Mapoe started showing his worth at the end of last year, he got offered a contract of R750 000. The same as Eberson.

That shows that the Cheetahs did exactly you are saying they didn’t do. Increasing the players salary as his potential/worth increases.

Having said that, Mapoe is the one who feels that he is worth more than R750 000. And that is his right. It is also the right of other unions to offer him more if they want his services.

But, id does not mean that just because he feels he is worth more or that somebody else thinks he is worth more that:

1. The Cheetahs HAS to match that offer
    2. Does it make his current contract null and void.
    3. Gives it him the right to just pack his stuff and leave.

There is NO way you can spin this to show that the way Mapoe & the Sharks behaved were right. NO WAY!

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@fsjakes(fsjakes)-106: Excellent summation FS Jakes. Someone who lives in the land of the living.

No wonder the culture of “entitlement” and “it’s not my fault/job/it’s so unfair/yadda yadda” is so prevalent in SA.

It seems to permiate this site too.

Now you’ve all made me go off like Skopskiet…..

Burns my but to read some of the comments here….

As far as i’m concerned Lionel Mapoe can go sit in a corner and wait out his contract by which time no one will care about him anymore. And the Cheetahs can save their R30/month.

• 108.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Sharks smashing Lambie’s confidence so early on…

Be careful.

• 109.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107: I agree with Jakes, there’s this permeating attitude of entitlement in SA. I think the guy has huge talent, but he needs to do a bit more hard work before he can start making demands like that. The Ceetahs have already showed they;r willing to up his wage so why all the histrionucs?

That said, is it not possible he’s being given poor advice by his manager and/or lawyers?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.