Attacking test looms in Cup decider
26 Oct 2010
JON CARDINELLI writes that the Sharks will need to innovate as well as intimidate if they’re going to make inroads into the formidable WP defence.
Defence was the bedrock upon which the Stormers’ 2010 campaign was built. Opposition teams struggled to breach their defensive line, while the Stormers’ forwards did exceptionally well to slow and in some instances steal possession at the breakdown. Individuals and combinations were hailed for their decision making, the key ingredient to any successful defensive recipe.
Having built on the Super 14 effort, Western Province are the top defensive side in the Currie Cup. They’ve been boosted by the return of their Springboks, as Schalk Burger and Jean de Villiers have contributed greatly in this department. Although he hasn’t been as accurate as he was in the Sanzar tournament, Francois Louw has also put opposition teams under pressure at the breakdown.
So what will the opposition be thinking? Those who followed Allister Coetzee’s musings throughout the Super 14 will know the answer.
After the Stormers had established themselves as a near-impregnable unit, Coetzee said that attacking teams would need to think outside the box. ‘If they can’t go around us or through us, they will try to go over us,’ he explained, the latter option in reference to a kicking game aimed at fracturing WP’s defence.
But let’s consider the option of intimidation. The Sharks may feel they have what it takes to go through WP, such has been their ball retention stats of late. Willem Alberts and Bismarck du Plessis will be the primary ball-carriers before the secondary speedsters like Keegan Daniel and Ryan Kankowski have a crack. If those forwards create the momentum, the potent Sharks backs will have the platform to punch through.
I don’t think it will be that easy, though. A lot’s been written about the Sharks’ hunger in their recent victory over the Bulls, but there’s plenty of hunger and attitude about the Province side, not least of all in the shape of their captain. Burger, along with the menacing and unrelenting form of Duane Vermeulen, have massive stopping power on defence. It’s for this reason that the Sharks may have to pursue another avenue of attack.
The Stormers’ defence wasn’t a factor in the Super 14 final, because the Bulls played a superior tactical game. Halfbacks Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn kicked accurately, probing for space behind the Cape defence and launching high bombs that forced the opposition into errors. Once they had won the territorial battle, the Big Blue Machine capitalised on the momentum. They piled on the pressure and translated that into points.
The Sharks will take a lesson from that game, although this season’s Currie Cup will also factor into their planning. WP have often been exposed by a chip kick or grubber that inevitably fractured the defence. This was evident in their first game against the Cheetahs where a Tewis de Bruyn chip was regathered by Hennie Daniller. WP’s dismal showing in Johannesburg was also down to an inability to deal with the tactic.
Sharks flyhalf Pat Lambie has already shown a few innovative touches this season. His tactical execution and decision making this Saturday will determine how the Sharks fair against this WP defence. The war of attrition will inevitably be waged by Alberts and company, but it will take more than direct running to put this Province side in a spin.
Du Preez and Steyn backed themselves to kick on Gio Aplon and Joe Pietersen in the Super 14 final despite the pair’s counterattacking prowess. Accuracy will once again be the watchword if this Sharks side uses similar means of unsettling a well-organised WP team.
And the margin for error is slim. Accurate probes will give the Sharks an advantage, but poor kicks could prove costly.
WP have a conservative reputation due to their flyhalf’s tendency to play the percentages, but with men like Aplon in tow, they remain a devastating counterattacking force. So while good use of the attacking kick will see the Sharks prosper, poor implementation will see them punished.

93 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
26 Oct 2010, 13:52 pm
49. JOHN GALT(JOHN GALT): So this Saturday the final will officially be played at Kings Park…? Oh yes please…
26 Oct 2010, 13:56 pm
50. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME: Its all over and I have a big chip on my shoulder… I must be bitter about WePee and envious about Cape Town, if I don’t agree with the conventional wisdom here…? I am trying hard to agree… truly
26 Oct 2010, 14:02 pm
50. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME): good for you. Is the game on Sky?
26 Oct 2010, 14:06 pm
53. JOCKBOK(JOCKBOK): Yeah it will be…
26 Oct 2010, 14:09 pm
52. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME): JC stuck his neck out and said the Lions were going to beat the Sharkies and he was laughed out of the door, accused of everything from being a Sharks hater to a child molester.
Lions won.
Chances are he fancies WP’s chances on Saturday, probably because they have a decent chance and it’s his job to pick a winner.
You guys need to stop being so precious. If sharks do win, I’ll be happy for you. Honest, and all real WP fans will be too.
Of course, the fact is, you’re going to get pumped
26 Oct 2010, 14:15 pm
55. JOCKBOK(JOCKBOK): Who is being precious… Of course the Sharks have no chance against the impregnable WePee… Many times teams have tried to impregnate WePee and they have failed… They regularly get impregnated by some Bulls but other than that very rarely by other teams…
The Sharks have impregnated them twice this year already but that was by luck and Barnie overdid it a bit against Tiaan Liebenburg – the oke was left with a red face that he still can’t get rid of.
However neither are playing on Saturday which makes WePee double impregnable…
26 Oct 2010, 14:19 pm
Heaven’s game and friends, you are all a sad bunch. You cannot stand anyone being postive and confident about their team.
Yes, so I think WP will win on Saturday. Will I bet my house on it? No ways, the Sharks are a great side and I might even admit that they are favourites at home if I was neutral.
But I’m not neutral, and neither are you, so just give it a rest already. Get off your high tower, you Bulls fans are the biggest hypocrites among SA rugby supporters.
26 Oct 2010, 14:22 pm
Jockbok, even as I typed my previous post I’m a bit pissed at having fallen to their level again. Trust me man, it is not worth debating on their terms. What does it matter anyway that on the Keo blog (a very small corner of the internet) there are Bulls fans talking bullsh..
So even as I advise you to just enjoy the game and don’t read all this drivel, I too will keep a vigilent eye for the wost lies that have to be countered
26 Oct 2010, 14:25 pm
57. WPJOULEKKADING(WPJOULEKKADING): Hey punk, I do admire the Bulls for their success and professionalism as the benchmark union for the past 4 years and respect many of their supporters for their knowledge of the game (An average Bulls supporter is probably more knowledgeable than the dime-a-dozen WP “expert” you seem to find on Keo, either commenting or writing articles)… However I am no a Bulls fan…
2 words and its not “Fark you” but you can take it to mean the same:
SHARKS FOREVER!!!
26 Oct 2010, 14:30 pm
56. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME): I know what you are doing mate. Dulling the possibility of defeat in your mind that’ll make things easier should the Sharks lose. Keep your tongue in your cheek and keep the comments coming. You’re not foolng anyone but it might just help you come Saturday evening*.
* Disclaimer – Should WP win of course which they may or may not do.
58. WPJOULEKKADING(WPJOULEKKADING): Keep fighting the good fight my brother
26 Oct 2010, 14:35 pm
Well then you have even less of an excuse for your over the top rhetoric. I’m looking forward to saturday, think WP will win (and that’s not a crime), but won’t be suprised in the least if your boys take it.
)
And I don’t appreciate all the “fark you” and “punks”, lets keep it civil shall we? (although it must have been tough to be called a bulls fan
26 Oct 2010, 14:38 pm
who are you guys going to wind up when it’s the Boks again in a weeks time? maybe we’ll need to invade a UK rugby forum and stir up some trouble there
26 Oct 2010, 14:39 pm
60. JOCKBOK(JOCKBOK): “Dulling the possibility of defeat”…? How can it be dulled in Keo where a Shark fan with a “chip on his shoulder” is relentlessly reminded on Keo by most commentors and “wise” rugby writers how the impregnable WePee already have one hand on the CC trophy… All they have to do to get the other hand on, is pitch up to Kings Park on Saturday… apparently…
I mean look at their:
- defence
- experience
- talent (So many Boks in their lineup)
- flair
All the Sharks have is young Lambie on a wing and a prayer… Its all over and in G10′s immortal words “Goodnite Nurse”!!!
26 Oct 2010, 14:40 pm
62. fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell): lol!! Now there is a great idea! Find me the forum and i’m there
26 Oct 2010, 14:44 pm
Outtahere for now rugbylovers and WePee knobbers… Back later to add some more perspective to your WePeecentricity…
26 Oct 2010, 14:44 pm
63. Heavens Game(Heavens Game):
) afterwards. No need to attack honest WP supporters.
So the Keo writers only have one eye. Who cares? Just enjoy the game and if you win gloat (in a respectfull way
26 Oct 2010, 14:52 pm
63. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME): Aha! Okay, so who are ‘most commentators’?
26 Oct 2010, 14:57 pm
65. HEAVENS GAME(HEAVENS GAME): That’ll give you time to compile your list. I’m off out into 40+ degree heat. I’ll be back later to ponder your answer.
26 Oct 2010, 15:05 pm
Where’s haai_pomper?
26 Oct 2010, 15:21 pm
has anyone seen Tac since last saturday? EFG
26 Oct 2010, 15:24 pm
Gerhard vd Heever has been picked for the Bulls U 21 team that will play in the final against WP.
That makes you realise just how young he still is.
CJ Stander, Francois Brummer and Rossouw de Klerk have also been picked for the U21 team that will play in the final.
26 Oct 2010, 15:36 pm
tac
what is shadow’s whooopass rating?
26 Oct 2010, 15:38 pm
Gunther
The junior Bulls have lost twice to WP this year, so it will be a huge achievement for them to win the final.
Very different scenario from the champion Bulls who underperformed in their loss against the Sharks.
26 Oct 2010, 15:49 pm
71. TACITUS(TACITUS)
Is this allowed? I thought players had to participate in X pool games before allowed to play in a semi?
26 Oct 2010, 15:53 pm
Bokhoring
I also thought so. I guess as long as you represented your province, you are allowed to play at any level.
Conversely, if the Bulls senior team were playing in the final, and they had a sudden injury in a key position, I’m sure they would be allowed to pick someone from their U21 team, even if he didn’t play 3 Currie Cup games during the season.
26 Oct 2010, 16:05 pm
Tact 71. Who is Gerhard vd Heever???
26 Oct 2010, 16:21 pm
The final is going to be a cracker. My two fav teams fighting it out. But I still favour Sharks more than I do WP.
26 Oct 2010, 17:02 pm
Let’s hope the pundits aren’t right and Craig Joubert has an impartial game.
In these circumstances may the best team win!
Good luck to both STormers and Sharks.
Ultimately a Bok side composed of the Sharks team and the WP ‘dancing girls’ is the best combination
OK, maybe not the WP ‘Dancing Girls’ …
26 Oct 2010, 17:04 pm
76. Two Eyed(Two Eyed):
GvH is the latest virus from Asia. Sort of like ‘Chicken ‘flu’.
26 Oct 2010, 17:21 pm
tac
playing your heart out all season for the juniors and getting ditched at the final hurdle for a currie cup flop must be difficult for that young winger,don’t you think so?
26 Oct 2010, 18:36 pm
Off the topic chaps but if anyone is looking for tickets to any of the Bok internationals in November then sign up to http://www.springboksupporter.co.uk/. only place left to get tickets!
26 Oct 2010, 18:57 pm
71. TACITUS(TACITUS): who cares how young he is when he is kak…
26 Oct 2010, 19:32 pm
75. TACITUS(TACITUS): the 3 match rule comes into effect when the player has been signed from another union or overseas… Last year wp has to play matt to’omua in all their last 3 games for him to be elligible for the semis. Boland this year were hoping EP has broken this rule when they lodged a protest about EP selecting Rudi Keil in their match 22 in the semis, but it was cleared bcoz Keil had signed with EP in june already
26 Oct 2010, 20:05 pm
mapoe is k@k .. shadowwwwwww is king
26 Oct 2010, 20:07 pm
farking quota bosman out!!! .. how can he play ahead of Davey … f*cked up selectors..A Hudson you d00s …. bosman se gat lyk soos ‘n boesman ..the guy is out of shape!
26 Oct 2010, 23:13 pm
Keo trolling on his twitter.
26 Oct 2010, 23:15 pm
73. Bulls didn’t underperform, Sharks just had a reasonable strength team unlike the other meetings. The Sharks pack were just tougher, guys like Beast, Bismarck and Alberts take no ish. There has never really been anything to choose between the two sides, Bulls just have better depth and player management.
27 Oct 2010, 00:10 am
Jockbok
if the sharks lose, dont expect to have Heavens Shame to talk to for about a week after here on Keo..
the man disappears quicker than Usain bolt being chased by the cops…
the boy doesnt have the stomach to back up all his pre-match bravado should his team lose, be it Sharks, Boks etc..
I would put him in the same category of supporter as Kobus Kitty, both extremely fickle and braggarts when their team is going great, but when their team loses…
27 Oct 2010, 00:20 am
88. Eish, Popeye69… Just as I am switching off… Never fear HG is always here to teach you little Hobbits-no-more (since middle earth NZ is about to be fired in favour of middle earth England) a lesson… Maybe tommorow… Until then enjoy little Bopeep the sheep…
“Vatso Katvis”
27 Oct 2010, 00:50 am
mamparra @ 89
always? bwahahah except when you are hiding out in France huh?
and I notice youve left, she who must be obeyed decide youve had enough puter time for today?
tsk tsk…
27 Oct 2010, 04:33 am
85. Tomatoboy_ralepelle(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller): you do make Sean the Prawn seem likeable.
I am just happy the the kak and chase Bulls are out. Ja ja shatup your face you graciuos supporters,
this will allow our top managed team the Bulls to vary their outdated game plan. Keep possesion and give those great wingers some ball and we will see one of the most polished sides in rugby. But keep what you are doing and become runners up.
As who is going to win, I hope the team that score the most tries and gives us great entertainment wins.
27 Oct 2010, 04:47 am
Dam ABSA has dumped the Sharks because they wont move to the new stadium financed by banks.
Firstly we all warned this would happen as the government try fill these white elepants. Typical politicians trying to force people into thier agendas by stealth. This should have been agreed before the staduims were built. The Durban stadium is old and Moses is probably a better option but they should have got agreement first. Most of our major cities will now close dwon their old rugby stadiums.
This typical of revolutionaries. Plan for the revolution but no post revolution planning.
27 Oct 2010, 14:23 pm
If they pulling out for that reason, its shocking, i hope The Shark Tank and Newlands dont give in to these bullies, whats next power cuts and no running water.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All