Mitchell gets Wallabies recall

Drew Mitchell and Ben Alexander are the only two changes to the Wallabies side that lost the last Bledisloe Cup Test in Sydney.

Alexander is back from a knee injury while Mitchell replaces Lachie Turner on the wing despite the latter’s impressive showing against the All Blacks. Coach Robbie Deans said that Mitchell’s selection was down to what he brings to the back-three combination.

‘We’ve re-established the back three that did so well for us in South Africa during the year,’ he said. ‘Lachie did really well for us in Sydney and he’s been rewarded with a place on the bench.

‘From the team’s perspective, the combination that has been so effective throughout the year has now been re-established.’

Wallabies - 15. Kurtley Beale, 14. James O’Connor, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Matt Giteau, 11. Drew Mitchell, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. David Pocock, 6. Rocky Elsom (c), 5. Nathan Sharpe, 4. Mark Chisholm, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Benn Robinson
Subs: 16. Saia Faingaa, 17. James Slipper, 18. Dean Mumm, 19. Richard Brown, 20. Luke Burgess, 21. Berrick Barnes, 22. Lachie Turner.