Preview: Scotland vs Springboks
19 Nov 2010
JON CARDINELLI predicts a comfortable rather than convincing win for the Springboks in Edinburgh this Saturday.
Scotland have been a team on the relative rise, following a shock win against Australia in 2009 with a big victory over Ireland in the Six Nations. They went on to win a series in Argentina, and the more optimistic punters claimed they would be competitive against New Zealand and South Africa in late 2010.
While they deserved to win the aforementioned matches, special mention must go to the poor quality of opposition. Australia were awful in that loss, and Ireland went on to lose three more fixtures in succession, a losing streak that was only snapped by a scratchy win over Samoa. Argentina have been similarly disappointing, the 2007 World Cup semi-finalists sneaking home against lowly Italy last week.
The All Blacks provided some perspective with a 49-3 hammering of the outclassed Scots. While they’re capable of catching any team on a very bad day, Scotland cannot compete when the southern hemisphere teams show any sort of form. Even though the All Blacks didn’t have everything their own way at scrum time, they still held the ascendancy in other areas. If the All Blacks didn’t lose momentum in the latter stages, they may have surpassed 60 points.
The Boks are without many of their first-choice players, so we shouldn’t expect the same attacking fluidity that characterised the All Blacks performance last Saturday. What we can expect is a determined forward showing, as the Boks will look to produce a consistent effort after the erratic display in Cardiff.
Their scrum is in for a challenge, with British & Irish Lions tourists Euan Murray and Ross Ford supplying the necessary power to the Scottish pack. But as a unit, the Boks boast the better tight five. An accurate showing at the set-piece will allow their ball carriers to build the same kind of momentum that proved so unstoppable in Cardiff. The platform-setting aggression paved the way for Willem Alberts and Victor Matfield’s second-half tries.
Deon Stegmann, Juan Smith and Ryan Kankowski are an inexperienced back-row combination, but should enjoy the benefit of playing behind a dominant tight five. Kankowski has a lot to prove in the ball-carrying stakes. Until the point when the home resistance crumbles he will be asked to play a more bruising role than he’s accustomed to.
Andy Robinson has picked a big Scotland pack in hope of combating the robust South Africans. Traditionally a lock, Nathan Hines is moved to flank to give the Scots more lineout options, and bring more grunt to the all-important battle at the collisions. If the hosts cannot stifle the Boks in this area, then they will cop another hiding.
The severity of the beating depends on whether the Boks click or not. They have played well in patches on this tour, showing an appreciation for depleting a defence and attacking from the right areas, but then also exhibiting a tendency to make bad decisions and run the ball from poor positions. They’ll need to exhibit some tactical intelligence before unleashing finishers like Gio Aplon and debutant Lwazi Mvovo this Saturday.
It could be that Scotland opt to test South Africa’s new-look back three with the high ball. To do so would run the risk of exposing themselves to the counter-attack, and as seen in last week’s outing, Scotland’s scramble defence isn’t great. While the Boks shouldn’t embrace a looser game, they must punish Scotland’s errors. Again, it comes down to decision making of when to counter-attack and when to play for position.
Because of the injuries and the lack of established combinations in several departments, the Boks won’t complete a rout in Edinburgh. They will achieve a comfortable win though, one that gives them momentum for their all-important clash with England, but offers little insight into how youngsters like Pat Lambie may fare in a starting capacity.
Prediction: Boks by 15
Scotland – 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Nikki Walker, 13 Max Evans, 12 Graeme Morrison, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Dan Parks, 9 Rory Lawson (c), 8 John Barclay, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Nathan Hines, 5 Scott MacLeod, 4 Richie Gray 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Subs: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Moray Low, 18 Richie Vernon, 19 Ross Rennie, 20 Greig Laidlaw, 21 Ruaridh Jackson, 22 Chris Paterson.
Springboks -15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Frans Steyn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Adi Jacobs.

293 Comments
19 Nov 2010, 05:37 am
haggis dragons vs flu medicated dragons.
should be a “positive” game.
19 Nov 2010, 05:55 am
Bokke by 15, that would have to be considered as a loss if its 15 or under.
19 Nov 2010, 06:15 am
lwazi kwedini make us proud! kwedini ephuma kulamaxathuka akowethu, kumhlaba wendluli ezingapheliyo nemilambo ewelwa zinkonjane zodwa! Hamba kwedini
19 Nov 2010, 06:15 am
Considering the game plan (?) and coaching (?) we get any points on the board is a “win”….
19 Nov 2010, 06:21 am
If the Boks want to be taken seriously, they need to start playing like the no. 2 side in the world.
A try count of 4 nil or minimum 3 – 1 would be necessary in order to build sufficient monemtum going into the test against England. They’ve got to become more adept and ruthless in creating and finishing off moves. The Boks should have more than enough ball to do this.
And oh yes, a better defensive performance by the centre pairing is needed. All eyes will be on them once again tomorrow.
The Boks by 20+ at least.
19 Nov 2010, 06:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : “kwedini ephuma kulamaxathuka akowethu, kumhlaba wendluli ezingapheliyo nemilambo ewelwa zinkonjane zodwa! Hamba kwedini”
Insects are going to fly into your mouth if you open it up quite so wide. Moderate your delivery.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer) : They’re the number 3 side.
19 Nov 2010, 06:36 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler) :
oops, sorry Stormer.
IRB World Rankings – 15 November 2010 Position (last week) Member Union Rating Point
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 93.04
2(3) SOUTH AFRICA 86.70
3(2) AUSTRALIA 85.90
4(5) ENGLAND 83.61
5(4) FRANCE 82.75
6(6) IRELAND 81.05
7(8) ARGENTINA 80.33
8(7) SCOTLAND 79.81
9(9) WALES 77.67
10(10) FIJI 74.39
19 Nov 2010, 06:41 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer) :
England could sneak into 3rd by the end of the month.
19 Nov 2010, 06:41 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer) : don’t engage the self-styled ‘yarpie revver’
19 Nov 2010, 06:54 am
Good morning all.
What a great day….
Had 16mm of rain this week, the dam is filling nicely and the animals are looking as healthy as can be. Great!!!
Sad-sad thing this friggen Rhino poaching in SA … what the hell!
Ok sorry… this is a rugby blog…. GO BOKKE!!!!
19 Nov 2010, 07:18 am
Bit harsh on the Scottish revival in the 3rd para JC. They were awful against NZ, looked to be struggling with the new law interpretations but they were good value for those wins and should’ve beaten Wales too. SA will have their work cut out in my opinion especially as Robbo looks set to meet fire with fire up front.
19 Nov 2010, 07:27 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit) : yip, must honestly say this is not a given….. boks will struggle if they do not do the basics right…
let’s wait and see.
19 Nov 2010, 07:36 am
I like the look of this team. Probably the best starting15 thus far on tour. Boks by 20.
19 Nov 2010, 07:50 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler) : no 3, no 1, no 2 …you guys occupy no 1 more often but cannot lift the WC
19 Nov 2010, 07:52 am
Wow Scotland higher rated than Wales!!
19 Nov 2010, 07:52 am
OOP the JOCKS !!!!!!
19 Nov 2010, 07:54 am
@mountaingoat(mountaingoat) : Only a matter of time. Under a year now. But that’s the only thing that’s missing. All the other cups are in the NZ cabinet where they belong. They only go on loan to other places, briefly.
19 Nov 2010, 08:11 am
It will be a mish mash game that the boks will strong arm a win out of. Not a bad team and a better bench than I have seen for a while. Strauss, Alberts and Flip will add grunt and Ruan / lambie are looking good so far this tour.
If they click and pump 40points it will ironically confuse the picture further ..
19 Nov 2010, 08:12 am
dream on dreamer..btw what are the other trophies? S14? LOL…think it would only be a fool for betting against that Super trophy staying in SA for the next couple of years
19 Nov 2010, 08:12 am
Honestly the A4Y’s are currently light years better than the Boks and if we don’t improve radically from our coaching side… the A4Y’s will be WC11 holders… imo.
to be brutally honest… i can’t see us winning them if we keep the current coaching staff… that’s my opinion..
19 Nov 2010, 08:17 am
well hoskins and his dwarfs had the chance to get rid of the bunch but kept them…we have the players to hammer the all blacks but eish the know-how is missing
19 Nov 2010, 08:23 am
@Staal(Staal) : Weet jy van enige goeie wildplase in die Ellisras-omgewing wat night time game drives bied?
19 Nov 2010, 08:29 am
@Staal(Staal) : Well put, I wonder what emphasis is placed on our current coach staff for results ? There is no performance clause in pdv contract so …..
Sitting here today, the ABs are light years ahead of all teams. Their Mngmnt are extremly smart but cynical as displayed by Henson every time he opens his mouth, but if you want to be the best and win RWC maybe that is what it takes.
Forget it under PdV, not his fault but he is way out of his depth .. same goes for Dck and GG which is more unacceptable.
19 Nov 2010, 08:34 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : ongelukkig nie … net privaat eienaars.
19 Nov 2010, 08:40 am
@bananas(bananas) : look i don’t want to seem negative about the coaching staff.. but talking to some players (who are positive about the coaches) even they confirm that the line between coaching and player’s managing the gameplan is now a grey area…
screaming and yelling at halftime is motivation for 5 minutes but there is NO plan B… nada! NIKS!
I have said that i will salute Snorre like i did with JW if we win the WC11 but currently i am at a loss to see how we will win it..
let’s hope i am wrong… (again!)..
in 2007 is thought the French will win it…
19 Nov 2010, 08:46 am
@Staal(Staal) : Yes 100% if they lift RWC they will have surpased JW who did have a dream run in to the final.
I for one dont like the cynical Henson but would love a smarter group leading the Boks. On another thread I mentioned the thought of these guys in charge of the 2003 squad !!! Now that is scary …
19 Nov 2010, 08:51 am
ive got a feeling the boks will come right in this game.
Alberts should start im sure stegmann is a good player but like louw he hasn’t made much impact.
either way boks by 20 to 30.
The boks wont lose the world cup because of the coaching staff , they will win because of the players that will be on the team.
equally so anyone can coach the all blacks to a 90% win record but id like to see them coach the AB’s to a world cup final win that would be impressive
19 Nov 2010, 09:11 am
@mountaingoat(mountaingoat) : The Cantabs will reclaim it next year.
19 Nov 2010, 09:20 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler) : Where is the Super14 title?
19 Nov 2010, 09:28 am
Just goes to show the talent that comes out of the South of Africa. With a madman for a coach with little acumen for top class rugby coaching and political interference from even madder tin pot morons ‘running’ our beautiful country, we still somehow manage to win trophies. Some countries try and try and try but just can’t win and impress where it counts. It’s like being the strongest kid in school but having a tiny chaloger…that is New Zealand’s albatross.
Imagine how effective we could be with a truly brilliant coach and no political interference.
Boks to sail through this game with no game plan and no cohesion as with the last two games.
The real test will be England and the Boks will either win on pure dumb luck or get pulverised.
Fingers crossed like Snor does with each and every game.
19 Nov 2010, 09:30 am
The Stupid IRB will change the rules again next year and then we will all be at ground zero concerning tactics and application of laws. So the All Blacks might not have it there own way next year.
19 Nov 2010, 09:34 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : The laws might favour us like in 09. Or the IRB will keep it because it favours their beloved Sheep Shaggers. Maybe thats why they changed it after 09 because we smashed their beloved All Bleaks. The IRB is run poorly in my humble opinion.
19 Nov 2010, 09:38 am
I see Jannie du Plessis is doing a lot of work with the media ever week.Really good,intelligent interviews from him and it shows how he as studied his opponents and their tactics.Also showing respect
Well done Jannie du Plessis, keep it up
19 Nov 2010, 09:42 am
More se span, lyk goed. 2011 sal ek net vir 13, 8,7,6 en 1 verander. Ek kort Jacques,Spies,Schalk,Brusson,Steenkamp… Ek is nie gepla oor die vleuels nie… Die bal kom in elk geval nie by hulle nie… En daai poepol wat dink Morne hoort nie daar nie…. Dink weer…. Ek sal dalk vir Frans in 15 inskakel…. Zane, die game het verander…
19 Nov 2010, 09:56 am
I think a game of 2 halves could work nicely. Take the concervative approach in the first 40 and clock up the penalties with Morne,
Then bring Lambie on for the second half with points on the board and take the expansive approach
19 Nov 2010, 09:59 am
So the question is are they going to be fatigued by the time England come up or running well through match practice? Nobody ever really has answer on that one.
But what happened to pdivvy saying earlier this week that now was the time to start playing the youngsters …”they start bitching amongst themselves” was his as usual bizarre way of putting it? Do they really just make it all up as they go along? Looks like it.
19 Nov 2010, 10:12 am
12. Staal(Staal)that is about 230 now this year with the 17 found on Letaba near Kruger.
19 Nov 2010, 10:17 am
36. Marino(Marino) agreed. We need to test our depth before the RWC and the only way is to give some new blood a run. So if Stain gets hurt are we confident in our back up?
I would have liked to see Jantjies get a run. That laaitjie can skop for posts…
19 Nov 2010, 10:44 am
Bok fan – I like your idea. I am keen to see Lambie get an entire half, with F Steyn & RP to takes kicks, it will leave Lambie to run the ball a bit. We have some speedy wingers, be nice to se them fly this Sat!
19 Nov 2010, 10:48 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) :
Give it up son, 09′ was the obligatory 5 year blip on the radar against your boys, normal service has resumed or have you forgotten 07′ and 08′ you couldn’t buy a win against us in those years either.
19 Nov 2010, 10:50 am
Don’t know if anyone else watched reunion after boots & all last night. Taine Randall’s comment’ on Bjorn and Chilliboy were a bit out of line. He also implied SA sport has a history of doping problems. He didn’t even make the distinction between a stimulant and a performance enhancer. I think even the presenter of the show felt a bit uneasy when he commented.I admired Taine for his play, bu his comments were a bit off.
19 Nov 2010, 10:55 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : You admired him for his play? Really? I always thought of him as the most unimpressive player to ever don an All Black jersey.
19 Nov 2010, 11:00 am
@race of tan(race of tan) : Ja I think guys like Lambie, Pienaar and Butch shouldnt be the first choice kickers ever and play there best without the added responsibility
19 Nov 2010, 11:01 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : well Black Panther says Taine in his time played against ‘juiced up” Boks like Francois Pienaar. i haven’t read Pienaar’s book, apparently he confesses to having been on the goo! so Taine might’ve been referring to ‘those’ Boks.
19 Nov 2010, 11:02 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : no, that is Donald!
19 Nov 2010, 11:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation) :
Taine is good mates with Spies.
19 Nov 2010, 11:10 am
looks like taine saw his chance for a bit of the limelight and grabbed it with both paws.
19 Nov 2010, 11:13 am
@gunther(gunther) :
You obviously don’t know the man, a straight shooter who is now back in NZ working charities no reason to lie on national TV risking his reputation for 5 mins of headlines, like your mate Trannie just said Pienaar admitted he was on the juice.
19 Nov 2010, 11:15 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : 42. I suppose admired might be a bit strong, but I thought he was a decent players. Could do the basics very well and one of the better NZ loosies of his time.
19 Nov 2010, 11:19 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) :
oh china stop crying.
I’m not talking about Frankie Pienaar.
I’m talking about they way he now assumes the bok team is “back on the juice” after two people tested positive for a nasal decongestant.
grow the **** up.
go and have a massage or something.
19 Nov 2010, 11:20 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : Juicing didn’t help Pienaars play though. But that is news to me.
For all PDV’s k@k selections, GH does make some iffy ones himself.
Just goes to show there are no hard and fast rules for selection. A coach needs to trust his judgement when assessing a players aptitude and readiness for test rugby.
What do you guys think should be the basic requirements for selection. Please leave politics aside for this one. What would qualify a player as test quality?
19 Nov 2010, 11:22 am
@gunther(gunther) :
Funny you should say that heading out for one now, wouldn’t surprise me if they were.
19 Nov 2010, 11:25 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) :
of course it wouldn’t.
but the says more about you really doesn’t it.
sanctimonious little toad.
19 Nov 2010, 11:27 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : It would have been prudent for Taine to excercise some diplomacy in this matter and only commented on the story which he was asked about. Even the host, Melodie Robinson i think, said to him ‘be careful’.
Not discounting his good work, that was a bit uncalled for, espcially since we hear ad nauseum about a certain Bok coach’s crazy mutterings.
I also detected a bit of discontent from Dave Rennie regarding the scrum officiating. He is not alone in this, but consering his stance on PDV and reffereeing issues, it’s just a bit hypocritical. PS. Why does he always look so sour-faced?
19 Nov 2010, 11:30 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : If he makes little or no mistakes.
19 Nov 2010, 11:30 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : Taine should do well to shut his mouth. There are a few South Africans who have seen him misbehave in Durban clubs, often. Hardly one to talk about what other people do.
19 Nov 2010, 11:33 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : What did Taine say? I fell asleep while watching Boots n All!!
19 Nov 2010, 11:33 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : Starting in his Provincial team at least…
Unlike Chili, Jacobs, Maku, Januarie, Rose and and.
19 Nov 2010, 11:34 am
@gunther(gunther) : You see Gunther, it’s easy to be sanctimonious, if things are going for you, and difficult if you feel you not getting the rub of the green, but to get an honest opinion all the time is a real challenge and for all PDV’s crazy words, you always get the sense that he is being truthful(a bit too much at times)
19 Nov 2010, 11:37 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : He basically said it wasn’t a complete shock to hear about the ‘doping’ scandal, because SA has a history of drugging in sport. He couldn’t even make a distinction between a stimulant and a steroid.
19 Nov 2010, 11:41 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : What about coaches just preferring one player above another? Example. Duvenhage was started above Ricky for most of the season. Ricky did go through a patch where his form and conditioning wasn’t up to scratch, but on rugby ability, he is miles ahead of Duvenahge, in terms of his aptitude to play international rugby.
19 Nov 2010, 11:46 am
@pompies2(pompies2) : What a pompous a-hole
19 Nov 2010, 11:55 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : Tell me about it. Just goes to show how easily a rational mind can be lost when spotting an opportunity to get one over the opposition.
19 Nov 2010, 11:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : taine might be right.drugs performance enhancing drugs have always been a problem in south african schoolboy rugby especially amongst the afrikaner community due to their unnatural obsession with rugby.the joke used to be that these boys would sit down for breakfast with their performance enhanced drug placed next to their porridge bowl…but that was no joke.it’s sad to see black sportmen picking up these dirty habits.
19 Nov 2010, 12:04 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : What about the 6 other scrummies that are better than Januarie in South Africa?
Coaches have favourites, but what do these guys have in common?
And they are not the best in their position by a LONG way.
19 Nov 2010, 12:10 pm
@bluejay(bluejay) : A dont subscribe to this theory. Even I, as a non-white, have to admit the genetic predisposition of caucasians to be a bit bigger than our local blacks and coloureds.
The whole supplement craze started with the creatine explosion. I know because I was one of them who would’ve like to use it, but couldn not afford to purchase it.
At that stage, the attitude of parents of kids in the various racial groups were also very different. White kids were encouraged by their parents to make sure they’d used all the neccessary avenues to ensure they maximised their sproting potential. My parents for example, ecnouraged participation, without really seeing rugby as a viable professional direction, regardless of my ability. Socio-economics did play a role, but they always tried to play down the comparison between how ‘white’ kids were approaching sport and ‘non-whites’ were playing sport.
19 Nov 2010, 12:13 pm
@bluejay(bluejay) : That is your opinion and you have quite a few others who agree with you. But there are some who also feel differently. And this is the coaching situation. You don’t have to listen to anybody. Daily we see bloggers select teams, but not once have i seen everyone agree with a team selection. Whay is that?
19 Nov 2010, 12:30 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : The drugs may help the kids get bigger sure, but genetically the white guys in SA are bigger than the blacks coloureds and indians.
Unfortunately a portion of this does have to do with nutrition, going back several generations… and could be blamed in segregation.
But all societies have the same thing, the richer and more powerful generally eat better and marry taller and so richer people are taller.
It’s an economic and social stature thing.
There are not many short people belonging to rich dynasties… maybe self made guys but not many, and then they marry tall women LOL
19 Nov 2010, 12:36 pm
No denying what you’re saying, but in a rugby context, does it necessarily preclude those who are no that that phsyical stature from being selected. We are programmed to think bigger is better, but when this theory is countered, we act as if we never expected smaller could be just as good, if not better.
19 Nov 2010, 12:38 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : Ok I must have missed that.
Well, Aplon showed on Saturday what is really important is heart not the size of your chest.
19 Nov 2010, 12:41 pm
Good team and good bench.
19 Nov 2010, 12:55 pm
Hi guys – at least Boks are back up to #2 again! Suprised (not) that Keo and other journos have not noted this, they were quick to notice the drop to #3.
Check www(dot)irb(dot)com
19 Nov 2010, 12:55 pm
I’d replace:
Zane Kirchner
10 Morne Steyn
Deon Stegmann
Flip van der Merwe
22 Adi Jacobs.
19 Nov 2010, 13:01 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) :
Aplon is one of those rare players who can handle bigger players. The vast majority of smaller players get blown away. Look at how de Jongh was utterly savaged during the TNs when he came on. Yet Aplon, who is smaller, made a crunching tackle to dump Muliaina from a standing position. Aplon is the exception to the rule. You get them, but not many of them. Check out Giteau. Then you get some of the big boys that never really impose themselves. Like Bekker, whom at test level has been humiliated countless times, being manhandled by much smaller backs. The highlight being dumped backwards onto his backside by a 5’7 78kg Frenchie. Size will be the winner, but you get the grey areas. You just have to be the judge on the individual.
Regarding genetics. The Afrikaaners descend from the tallest nation, but due to very difficult living conditions in their early history developed a very muscular and hardy gene pool. To deny the Afrikaaner as a genetic monster is simply foolish to the extreme. Do some take performance enhancing drugs? No doubt about it, but that is not the source of their physicality in rugby. They are perfectly suited to the sport. Black SAns are not very big, central and Western Africans are much bigger. Hence Bafana struggling even in soccer. Being physically out gunned in the stacks. The whole numbers game played by politicians is rediculous.
19 Nov 2010, 13:08 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : Totally with you on all points.
I think the thing to remember is that there are exceptions, like Gio so we can’t discount them all out just on size… I think that is waht the other guy was getting at – i hope.
But yep, look at Brent Russell… dumped and run over.
And Lambie – he may be small but that guy has tackled everyone all season and runs in hard too… and then there are big guys with no heart, Spies had a name like that for a long time and disappeared in the hard games… apparently he is getting stuck in now but I am biased still
19 Nov 2010, 13:11 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : The Dutch are tall so when their dykes break they can breathe… not very good at rugby though and terrible taste in colour… orange on a whitey YUCK!
19 Nov 2010, 13:20 pm
LMAO!! XD
19 Nov 2010, 13:23 pm
It’s called technique
Technique, bodybposition and the eye for the gap! Aplon is a smart laaitjie
19 Nov 2010, 13:30 pm
I don’t believe in a team needing to have a Plan ‘B’. If Plan ‘A’ is not working, then either you are not executing it correctly. Or the opposition is not allowing you to execute it, i.e. you have been out thought or lastly, you are executing it and it is in-effective, i.e. the coaching staff lack creativity or the ability to analyze another team effectively
19 Nov 2010, 13:53 pm
Looking at the form of our current centers, I must say we are really missing Wynand Olivier
19 Nov 2010, 13:59 pm
@phil72(phil72) : no, what you said is wrong
19 Nov 2010, 14:00 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : I read an interesting article recently about Aplon and the Stormers players where they have a specialist contact coach who coaches about body postioning in contact situations. Gio acsribes quite a bit of the success to him. You still need heart though and that cannot be coached.
19 Nov 2010, 14:01 pm
Good on crash ball. Good on defense and he can pass. What does the other 2 have to offer?
19 Nov 2010, 14:03 pm
hahahaha apparently de jongh – the guy who made 19 tackles against the all blacks at soccer city – was “utterly savaged” in the tri-nations Hahhahahaha
more, give us more
19 Nov 2010, 14:05 pm
Talking about steyn and de villiers. You cant be to bright!!!
19 Nov 2010, 14:08 pm
if de jongh was “utterly savaged” in the tri-nations then i don’t know what the Welsh did to Jean de Villiers last weekend! I counted 6 missed tackles that i can recall from the game yet because he is supposedly a big afrikaner his defence gets no attention!
Imagine Adi ‘revolving door’ Jacobs being that KAK on defence, ryan vrede would’ve penned a vitriolic article on it ALREADY!
19 Nov 2010, 14:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I was about to point that out but then I realised from whom the comment comes from and I decided to scroll past…
19 Nov 2010, 14:13 pm
Springbok are currently playing with a dominating tight 5 and our midfield is probably been the most disorganized I’ve ever seen. Now compare this to the trinations where we were being bullied upfront.
19 Nov 2010, 14:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Why are you begin factual and fair? Get off this forum you agent!! Hamba!
19 Nov 2010, 14:24 pm
talking about tackling… has anyone ever seen Spies “spear” tackle someone back?…
when I say “spear” tackle I mean as in a diving tackle (think Gio on “Lomu” last weekend or Strauss (sharks) during the CC final)… not tipping a player over…
19 Nov 2010, 14:24 pm
@phil72(phil72) :
Don’t speak too soon the Pommie front row is enormous, Thompson and Sheridan are huge and they will cause big problems for the Bokke scrum like they did to us, the question is whether the Bokkes have the backs to win the game.
19 Nov 2010, 14:26 pm
@theOracle(theOracle) : the crazy thing about that game is that ma’a nonu made 5 tackles & missed none, conrad smith 5 tackles & missed none yet jean de villiers made 18 tackles missed none & juan de jongh made 19 tackles and missed 2.
Our centres handled the ball about FIVE times during the whole game, is seems like they were on the field just to tackle?
considering how much we don’t treasure possession, our defence in that game was exemplary.
19 Nov 2010, 14:26 pm
“we are missing Wynand” are you talking about the Bulls or the Boks
19 Nov 2010, 14:29 pm
@theOracle(theOracle) : the hairdresser
19 Nov 2010, 14:30 pm
I predict Scotland will win tomorrow. you heard it here first.
if someone gives me 10-1 for a Scotland wine – I’ll take a wager.
19 Nov 2010, 14:30 pm
@theOracle(theOracle) :
ain’t gonna happen.
19 Nov 2010, 14:37 pm
@brains_trust(brains_trust) : Seriaaaas? seriaaaas seriaaaaaas? I’d take you more serious if you said the Scots will run the Boks close and might pip it, but an out and out statement like you just made, makes me think you throwing the bones and the reading them upside down.
19 Nov 2010, 14:42 pm
@brains_trust(brains_trust) :post 95.
Jocks will have learned a thing or two from last week.
But Boks by 20 plus.
19 Nov 2010, 14:46 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane) :
Has to be can’t believe there are actually some Bokke fans on here worried about the game tomorrow.
19 Nov 2010, 14:52 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : Lol oh please, Taine Randall, one of, if not the biggest f*cktards in rugby, ever….he makes Kevin Putt look like a cool bloke!
19 Nov 2010, 14:53 pm
@brains_trust(brains_trust) : R500 you’re on
19 Nov 2010, 14:54 pm
Jean DeVilliers has never, in my book, been great on defense.
19 Nov 2010, 14:55 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : Don’t blame you, what a dull show….watching Mr Maker on Ceebeebies is more entertaining than listening to Mathew Pearce droning on incessantly about f*ck knows what….
At least that half-man half-beast on Reunion knows her stuff
19 Nov 2010, 14:56 pm
@Atreides(Atreides) : I take that back. It was somewhat offensive.
19 Nov 2010, 14:56 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : that makes 2 books then, yours & Stirling Mortlock!
19 Nov 2010, 15:01 pm
@Atreides(Atreides) : Ha that chick would scare me if I saw her on Lambton Quay at 1.30am…
Anyway, Pearce’s problem is he is too biased, either WP or Boks. Like Bobby he misses the forest because of the plank in his eye.
When he actually talks rugby he’s not bad, and quite a nice guy but not a great commentator.
But then, we need no fear, those Welsh last week were worse than the English or even the great Grant Nisbet…
19 Nov 2010, 15:03 pm
@Atreides(Atreides) : what’s wrong with you, Melodie Robinson knows her stuff!
19 Nov 2010, 15:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Those are dam ning stats as far as our attacking game is concerned…
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : the Welsh were horrible, i was ready to punch something!
@Transformation(Transformation) : lol
19 Nov 2010, 15:06 pm
@theOracle(theOracle) : ja but it was actually de jongh who handles on five times, jdv ten times, i had a re-look..
19 Nov 2010, 15:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Too true. She’s probably more knowldegable than most of us on the forum, minus the testosterone.
@Atreides(Atreides) : she was married to Steve Walsh, divorced him…
two world cup medals with the Silver Ferns playing at blindside…
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : I must say that Matt Pearce is horrible, but even he is still better than Andy Capp. I detest Andy. The Aussies are the funniest and most entertaining. And I can still enjoy the Mex.
Bobby is rubbish too. He only watches one team and forget’s to look at the other.
19 Nov 2010, 15:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I like Melody. She doesn’t talk ****. My favourite guest on her show is Richard Loe. Love him.
Having said that I miss TJ.
19 Nov 2010, 15:15 pm
She wasn’t married to him.
19 Nov 2010, 15:16 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : she was what?
19 Nov 2010, 15:19 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : you’re right they was just pomping…
19 Nov 2010, 15:21 pm
keith Quinn, the worst commentator in history.
19 Nov 2010, 15:24 pm
Thats a bit harsh Quinny loved the game.
19 Nov 2010, 15:25 pm
Can anyone tell me exactly when Taine Randell became such an absolute and utter wan ker?
I actually used to enjoy him as a player, hard working, humble etc. I even felt a little sorry for him after the 99 world cup when he captained the Blacks to their semi defeat against France. He had to run to America to get away from the press etc.
What an absolute co ck he has become.
Not sure whether its because he had a horrible win/loss record as captain of the All Blacks
19 Nov 2010, 15:28 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Oh he did no doubt, just an awful one eye he had. I remember him when I was a lad he was already well into commentating. Did the 1981 Boks tour, I was a small South African living in New Zealand, my parents were the South African bleck haters to all and sundry…
I even think he did the earlier NZ tour to SA, but I was very little then.
19 Nov 2010, 15:28 pm
@John Galt(John Galt) :
Why becasue he told it how it is?
19 Nov 2010, 15:30 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Actually Quinny loved sport in general, even did the Olympics in 1984. I remember we had a TV set up at school. He loved swimming too.
So I take it back… Nisbo is a close call but it goes to the Welsh, for being, well, Welsh and commentators…
And then Bobby, Gavin Rich, Nisbo and TJ isn’t that unbiased either…
19 Nov 2010, 15:30 pm
Tell me one commentator that isn’t. ( except Billy boy from Scotland)
19 Nov 2010, 15:31 pm
Juston Marshall doing quite a good job I thought for a new boy.
19 Nov 2010, 15:32 pm
@John Galt(John Galt) : nah Taine is a bit of a douche, but so many ex players are, from all places.
It seems that the South Africans are the favourite people to hate must be because we are so awesome, work so hard, are so clever and do so well everywhere we go
19 Nov 2010, 15:34 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Actually too right. I thought, as a player, especially after being dropped (probably unfairly) he became a kok of the highest. Remember seeing an interview on Transworld Sport where he said “i’m still the best in my position, but you know, things happen”.
Anyway, seems to have turned a corner, unlike Joel “I hate the Sharks for dropping me” Stransky.
19 Nov 2010, 15:34 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Lol oh please, Taine Randall, one of, if not the biggest f*cktards in rugby, ever….he makes Kevin Putt look like a cool bloke!
19 Nov 2010, 15:35 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Yea he’s actually cool to watch
19 Nov 2010, 15:36 pm
He was very arrogant but his commentary so far has been excellent, his decade long duel with Joost was the stuff of legends.
19 Nov 2010, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : I believe he showed Bobby who was boss off the field once too…
19 Nov 2010, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Didn’t Sheridan play on the Lions tour??
Think the Boks will be a much sterner test for England, because their scrum is as good…
The English destroyed the wobblies, because they destroyed the girlie scrum the wobblies played with…. really only Elsom, that can command respect!!
19 Nov 2010, 15:39 pm
@Atreides(Atreides) :
Kevin Putt the turncoat pretended to be a SAFFA and then ran home, never forget and interview he did in NZ when he was the coach and at that stage the Sharks couldn’t buy a win in NZ he was very defensive and NZ negative, you lot should have kept him.
19 Nov 2010, 15:41 pm
@Atreides(Atreides) :
He was a brawler in his youth apparently put some poor bloke in hospital before the Crusaders saved him…
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva) :
Fair enough mate but don’t be surprised if you go backwards more than once.
@Atreides(Atreides) : Kevin Putt… that dude tried to teach economics at Cambridge High back in the 1980s. Think he spoke rugby the whole period.
Seemed fairly cool until he went all postal after leaving the Sharks… turned into a scrumdillyumptiousfucktard.
19 Nov 2010, 15:43 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Putt is NOT welcome at the Tank after his outburst in the Waikato Times about how badly he was treated at the Sharks.
I’d personally give him a tight slap.
19 Nov 2010, 15:45 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Joel was pathetic in the CC final this year
19 Nov 2010, 15:46 pm
Your right he certainly couldn’t work in PR.
19 Nov 2010, 15:49 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Ugh you can keep him!
Yea JM look slike he can handle himself, Booby such a softie…I spent quite a racous evening with him, cool nbloke and wouldn’t hurt a fly
19 Nov 2010, 15:50 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : I agree we might go backwards a few times, and then so will the Poms.. It’s called scrum parity, like in the Welsh match…
The Bok pack, and lineout and even looseforwards are light years ahead of the Wobblies, and, as brilliant as the Wobblies are on attack, they have been woefu on defence..
England just gave the recipe to play the wobblies, run with the big boys at the 10/12 channel all day long, and keep the ball.
I think the Bokke are going to surprise the Poms, and I think the win against the wobblies, might just count against England, as they might over estimate themselves, and be too confident.
It’s going to be a cracker!!
19 Nov 2010, 15:54 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell) : Joel has one of those faces and voices that just makes me want to tear his beating heart from his chest and shove it up the hole where he thinks the sun shines from
19 Nov 2010, 16:06 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva) : 142. Good post
19 Nov 2010, 16:24 pm
a. FOLLOW the words of our leader and our hero Oom Piet. He will lead us to the promised land but only if we LISTENING. Players must never question him. He is the biggest strength of SA rugby at the moment.
—
b. We must score tries in order to beat Scotland. Not penalties or droppies but tries..
—
c. Rugby is not dancing we must hit collisions harder than the Scots and win the ball quicker.
—
d. Mvovo will be the reason for victory. Scotland arent knowing his skills.
—
e. Adi must come on the field at 60 mins because he has the knowledge of closing down a game. Most underrated player in the world.
BOKKE BOKKE BOKKE BOKKE !
19 Nov 2010, 16:25 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva) :
Light years, why did you lose to them twice a few months ago then?
19 Nov 2010, 16:27 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : lol
19 Nov 2010, 16:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : ?
19 Nov 2010, 16:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) :
You wont be laughing when the Scots clean you up tomorrow lol
19 Nov 2010, 16:29 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 148. Farking funny post. A compliment.
19 Nov 2010, 16:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Ja and same to you when Ireland win by 35 points ne
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Ja thanks for the compliment meneer but I wasn’t trying to be funny ne. I think these are what have to be done to get victory. Along with the usual things like our lineout winning.
19 Nov 2010, 16:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Yeah, yeah… I’ve learned never to underestimate the Scots. I think tomorrow will be way more difficult than most Bok supporters think it will be.
If the pack can perform like they have the last couple of games then the Boks should be safe. However I would like the 7 players that haven’t been utilised other than as numbers in D to actually make some opportunities…
19 Nov 2010, 16:35 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) :
Why are you even remotely concerned about the game tomorrow, there are plenty on here who think beating the Ab’s at fotress Eden next year will be easier than the Scots tomorrow, what a joke if you can’t bury these guys by at least 25 something is wrong.
19 Nov 2010, 16:36 pm
How to beat Scotland:
“So coach what is the plan?”
“Ag ja, you know when I was a boy the road was long but my trousers were longer. My shoes got polished to and from school each day.”
“Ah, yes coach, what do you mean, practice?”
“When you practice you must have an eye on the prize. Too many pots spoil the broth but a bird in the hand saves nine.”
“What? What must we practice?”
“Practice to win my boy, to win.”
“How coach?”
“Ag ja I am the coach you are the players, you must play. I sit in the box and look interested. Ja.”
19 Nov 2010, 16:37 pm
Like I said at 153 no problem beating the Ab’s next year but mild panic for the Scots hard to work out that one.
19 Nov 2010, 16:41 pm
“Coach I have been chatting to the boys and they are confused about this practice thing.”
“Ja Victor, you see, I am the coach, they must not forget that.”
“Yes Peter you are my coach, now what must we practice?”
“Ag Victor a rugby ball isn’t round and when it bounces it can go anywhere. You know I can’t teach you that, you must play what you see, ja. And practice.”
“Practice what coach.”
“Victor, don’t look at me through your eyebrows are you stupid? I told you, practice to win! I wish Smit was here, he has brains, this Bull doesn’t.”
“What?”
“Nothing. ja.”
19 Nov 2010, 16:41 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Fortress Eden? hahahahahaahahahhahhaahhahahahahahahaha . Can you see how I am laughing there.
Why are you putting your faiths in a stadium and not your players?
Oom Piet is already making a good plan to smash the Kiwis next year. None of us know it but it is there. Oom Piet is like a fierce warrior king coming to destroy the kiwi dreams. he is a nightmare !
ALL HAIL KING PIET – DESTROYER OF KIWI DREAMS !!!!!!!!!!
19 Nov 2010, 16:42 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 151. Jeez, if you weren’t trying to be funny then that is even funnier LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!
How’s your mind bra!
19 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
Which part of that don’t you understand its the hardest place on the planet to win a game of rugby, unbeaten there since 94′ but you keep laughing your sh itting your pants about the Scots tomorrow that says it all really.
19 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 155. Yeah, but the problems come with the Boks when they are overwhelming favourites – Not good!
Being underdogs suits the Boks perfectly… Its a mentality thing.
19 Nov 2010, 16:45 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : You are joking surely.
19 Nov 2010, 16:46 pm
Who said you were overwhelming favourites, you have your nose in front just, whats up with you tonight your normally an ars*hole?
19 Nov 2010, 16:48 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 94 what ! 94 what ! records are there to be broken.
Wait and see next year on the newspaper. Zane Kirchner and Bakkies holding up Ricky Januarie with the Webb Elice cup and headlines
‘PIETER DE VILLIERS MASTERMIND’
‘Graham Henry resigns ; calls Pieter De Villiers a rugby ‘god’
19 Nov 2010, 16:48 pm
why anyone would refer to Heavens Game as “meneer: is beyond me
19 Nov 2010, 16:49 pm
What are the chances of this:
Boks go with PDV to RWC 2011 with Smit.
Smit retires and VM takes over captaincy.
The Kings hire Luke Watson for 2012 and they play CCup.
2013 Kings play SuperRugby.
June Tests Watson is named VC. End of year, Matfield gone, Watson Bok captain.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Joking of what ?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Sir its my opinion. But just to say I am usually right.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 162, Its daytime where I am and you lot (Kiwis) are being less irritating than usual.
19 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 164. You can call me Sir, my boy…
19 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : About PDV being awesome, surely. I mean, he’s a clown.
19 Nov 2010, 16:51 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Zero
19 Nov 2010, 16:52 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : And of course you are welcome to your opinion… I just thought it was a send up initially. But if you were being serious, then by all means have a go.
19 Nov 2010, 16:52 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Are you joking with me? In my view Oom Piet is the best thing SA rugby has at this time.
19 Nov 2010, 16:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Thank you
19 Nov 2010, 16:53 pm
bwahahaha
oom Piet? you mean that wee little fella who wears a button red nose, size 22 shoes and has lost all his paint?
as predicted at the start of the month, PDV cant lose a game during Movember
he has the snor for it..
19 Nov 2010, 16:54 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 163. Ja, and now you takingthepiss… Good one
19 Nov 2010, 16:54 pm
once again RugbyGenius is spot on
19 Nov 2010, 16:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : not even if you whip me like Kunta Kinte!
pervert!
19 Nov 2010, 16:57 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) : Like Ricky has the surname January, Oom Piet should change his to Movember.
Pieter Movember: Springbok Coach.
Richard Muir can just keep his at D.ick.
19 Nov 2010, 16:57 pm
Racist porcine specimen.
19 Nov 2010, 16:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 177. Naah, I will leave Rossi to that for you… Rather call her Sir.
You probably do anyway
19 Nov 2010, 16:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
I am being 132% serious with you. I dont know when it became fashion to hate our national coach. I think he is amazing. it’s not some kind of jokings.
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell) : Thank you for support fantastic
RugbyGenius
When is your uncle harvesting his home grown again?
Rugbyidiot..
you best hope your man oom Piet continues to get lucky with injury and drug-taking, it seems to be the only time he gets his selections right..
19 Nov 2010, 17:00 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : You are winding me up for sure.
Oom Piet is the deathwatch beetle of rugby. Tap tap, tap tap.
“Ag, ja, you know winning isn’t everything but the crowd likes it more than the other thing.”
“Losing?”
“Springboks never lose. We are winners and we learn, it’s just points you know.”
19 Nov 2010, 17:01 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 181. I don’t “hate” PdV. I actually have supported him and can sympathise with the man if he cannot choose his own assistants. But there comes a point when repeated non-performance should be questioned and accounted for.
19 Nov 2010, 17:02 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) : The Springbok’s strategy this year has been awesome:
Injuries and drugs… brought the best guys into the team, almost…
PDV is perhaps the luckiest guy in the world.
19 Nov 2010, 17:03 pm
@gunther(gunther) : @poppa69(poppa69) :
Why you want to be saying rough things like this to me for sharing my opinions? Are we not here to discuss rugby with different views? Is it wrong for me to love our national coach?
19 Nov 2010, 17:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : hehehe
look, nothing against PDV personally, in fact Im very thankful that he will be “coaching” your boys up to and including the cup…
very very very thankful…
the added bonus of entertainment is o for awesome (to borrow a famous kiwi boxers language skills)
19 Nov 2010, 17:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : just because the Banshee whips you don’t think all of us men are like you! hahahaha
19 Nov 2010, 17:05 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : A prophet is never understood in his own land. Wisdom is sometimes hard to understand.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : ja but before we blame the coach we should look elsewhere, the players, the fans, the media.
19 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : How do you mean ‘love’ the coach. In a man walks with boy way, a Michael jackson way or the way Bakkies loves Victor.
I don’t hate him, I don’t hate anyone, I just don’t think he is a coaches poophole….
19 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : 184. Those “insider” accounts are good stuff. You had me going with the one once… PdV and Gary Gold
Wouldn’t mind hearing a tete a tete between Pdv and TrickyDicky regarding backline (non)play…
19 Nov 2010, 17:07 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : i don;t think anyone in the whole world understands odv, probably only his wife gets him, she married the man after all!
19 Nov 2010, 17:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : they’re actually boring but don’t tell gygt…he skeems he is lank funny
19 Nov 2010, 17:09 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : wisdom and PDV in the same sentence? man, Ive heard of taking stimulants, but boet there is a thing as too much y’all..
19 Nov 2010, 17:11 pm
‘odv’ = Oom de Villiers
RG’s enthusiasm rubbing of on you Transie?
@Transformation(Transformation) : 189. Don’t run away from the Keo (b)romance: Transie + Rossi… You guys have chemistry in a cute kind of way…
- Rossi: Transie come here, my son…
WHIP!!! LASH!!!
- Transie: Eina, yes sirree…
Sniff, Sniff.
- Rossi: Don’t cry, my darling son… I will defend you to the end from those Keo racists and fools….
WHIP!!! LASH!!
Transie: Eina, yes sirreee! Sob….
keo certainly has some oddball bloggers…
bluetit
mighty hore
rugby jeanius
all seem to come from the same part of the country as well?
19 Nov 2010, 17:12 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : thats not his enthusiasm
19 Nov 2010, 17:12 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : “Ja, I understand wisdom. You know when I was a boy we has sticks and you know what we did? We used them to make smaller sticks. I know when I walk, even without a stick, that I am like Moses in the desert.”
“Moses walked around a desert the size of my bathroom for 40 years. He was hopelessly lost. Are you lost Peter.”
“A man who walks alone looks like he has no friends, and then he buys the whiskey. The come running.”
“Whiskey, for rugby players? Aren’t you in enough trouble for doping already?”
“Ag ***** drank the wine and turned over the tables of the money lenders. I am not saying I don’t like jews, Stransky won a world cup you know. I’m just saying when shylock has the keys to the safe it’s hard for the brown man to make a wage.”
19 Nov 2010, 17:15 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
It’s Friday, RG’s going to town. Two squooshes of nasal spray in each nostril. The only way to start the weekend…
19 Nov 2010, 17:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I know they are funny, I am getting them syndicated to national newspapers. I am unbelievable witty.
19 Nov 2010, 17:16 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : hehehe is it mardi gras time already? nothing like the rush of amyl nitrate
19 Nov 2010, 17:19 pm
@charo(charo) : 198. Yeah, they seem to come from ole JB’s neck of the woods…
19 Nov 2010, 17:21 pm
Can someone plant some amyldexahydratinenonitrate under Ricky’s unbelievably thick skin… might keep him out permanently…
19 Nov 2010, 17:22 pm
They’re only funny cos they’re true…
Thin ice.
19 Nov 2010, 17:24 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Okes will pay for someone to go and give Ricky an injection of horse steroids in his sleep to keep him off the market for a while… That should do it at least until past October 2011…
19 Nov 2010, 17:33 pm
“So D.ick, I trust you, you are my number 1. What is the plan.”
“Ah Petie I think I’m going to get the guys to put their backs in, to you know, really step up to the plate this week. And on defense, you know take it for the team.”
“And your tactics, you know when i coached under 21 there was a light in my office that flicked. It used to keep me awake after a long lunch but the brandy still worked. You know what I mean.”
“Yep exactly. You know these are grown men, they know what they are doing, I’ve got a date, later Petie.”
“Ja D.ick, your coach knows you know. The players will play our game, ja, step up and you know, look for the prophet. Sometimes he is behind the posts and sometimes he is behind the whiskey. I’m not saying whiskey pays the bills but if you dance like a fireman you can’t get burned.”
@JockBok(JockBok) : 206. Awful “coincidence”
I just went to fetch my ticket an hour ago and on my way out I saw the Bokke in their bus pull into Murrayfield for their captain’s practice, with Percy standing in the front.
19 Nov 2010, 17:34 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : whatever man.
19 Nov 2010, 17:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : “When you live with whales you have to learn to hold your breath. There’s no substitute sugar when your coffee is getting cold.”
19 Nov 2010, 17:39 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : 208. Classic, can imagine the high pitched helium voice delivering the lines.
The trickyDicky “I’ve got a date, later Petie.” can only come with a bit of insider knowledge. Classic!
19 Nov 2010, 17:43 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer) :
I will see you at Murrayfield tomorrow.
Can’t wait.
19 Nov 2010, 18:09 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : yawn….
19 Nov 2010, 20:10 pm
Little goat there again!
Pity because if you insist on selecting him he needs space to be creative?
We are going to miss Assegai tomorrow.
19 Nov 2010, 20:41 pm
Here’s hoping the Boks stuff up the Scots good and proper. Let’s be honest, if the AB’s can drill them, then so should we.
What money on it being a tight, close affair?
19 Nov 2010, 20:47 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer) : I think Percy sits at the front cos he gets travel sick!!
19 Nov 2010, 20:48 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : Definately going to be close for a number of reasons.
But the core of senior players will guide the team to victory.
19 Nov 2010, 21:10 pm
We are all rugby geniuses, we play our 2 best wings as loose forwards, choose to ignore that a centre pairing is necessary, having one of the best flyhalves in the world and insisting on playing a 19yr old with 10 currie cups under his belt. Then somewhere in our game we started believing in drift offence, yes don’t try and tackle before the advantage line, drift them out to touch. Now suddenly there should only be one game plan, spread the ball and run them off their feet.
Over the past 10 years there has only been one game plan that worked for us – like the Bulls – dominate upfront , kick for territory, tackle BEFORE the game line and play from there……
HoW hard can this be……………?
19 Nov 2010, 21:19 pm
i meant drift deffence
19 Nov 2010, 21:22 pm
@phil72(phil72) : I can ‘sort of’ see what you are trying to say but I do not agree. Why do we have to be so inflexible that we can only play 1 type of game? It’s so predictable and easily worked out. And when it doesn’t work, is there a plan B, C and D?…
I assume it is Morne Steyn you are saying is “one of the best flyhalves in the world”? Mate, he might be the best place kicker in the world but that doesn’t make him one of the best flyhalves in the world.
I’d love to know which budding wings we have currently playing as loose forwards. Spies as wing? Get out of town.
And BTW, the “Bulls style” of rugby hardly worked wonders for them in the S12 between 1998 and 2004.
Your Bulls blinkers are shining through. Time to get on the Bok train.
19 Nov 2010, 21:41 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) :
Referring to Pierre Spies and Ryan kankovski, both potentially brilliant wings, because of unforeseen sir circumstances forced to play as loosies. And yes like you so correctly pointed out the bulls has not taken all the super 14 trophies of the past few years but importantly with the correct game plan and structures managed to take take 2( according to you standards not to good but according tom mine, not all bad). Now can we learn from this? Obviously not, we are all suggesting that names like WO, P spies, Danie, Bakkies, Morne are all over rated and only deserve to play second league rugby. What next
19 Nov 2010, 22:05 pm
@phil72(phil72) : Bakkies deserves his place in the team, the rest of the players mentioned are just not the best players in their positions in SA. WO, Spies and Danie are not in the top three players in their position in the country. Rugby has changed. It’s all about possession, driving up and putting players into space. It’s great having a player in your team that kick well, but putting some in at 10 with no other skills is crazy old school mentality. England, the Kiwis and the Ozzies can see this, it’s just our clown coaches and a few die hards from Pretoria that have blinkers on.
19 Nov 2010, 22:06 pm
this welsh commentator is the most irritating man i’ve ever heard! Moaning, moaning, moaning!!!!!!
19 Nov 2010, 22:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Of course South Africans NEVER moan!!!
19 Nov 2010, 22:22 pm
@carol(carol) : not when they’re calling the game! Fkcu this guy is like a woman!
19 Nov 2010, 22:27 pm
Fiji winning 13-6 at HT. Maybe a bit of perspective for the Boks here?
Tomorrow is going to be tougher than most folk on here imagine
19 Nov 2010, 22:35 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : Feeling a bit tense there Jock?
How do you decide who to shout for, a dielemma indeed!
19 Nov 2010, 22:38 pm
I predicted victories for all big boys this weekend, except France (thou shalt not beat Pumas).
No matter – go Fiji.
19 Nov 2010, 22:42 pm
Hopefully Patterson will get his time tomorrow. He is the one who can challenge Morne Steyn as the deadliest kicker.
19 Nov 2010, 22:47 pm
wales are bringin on the calvary!!!! Hahahahaha
19 Nov 2010, 22:53 pm
@carol(carol) :
Lol, I’m not tense, just bluddy annoyed after last weekend.
The folly of playing the ABs after 5 months without a game is clouding my vision, and I’m not sure what’s going to happen tomorrow.
I’ve come to the conclusion that the ABs were just awesome, and they were allowed to hit their stride all too easily early on. There was only going to be one way traffic after that. Coupled with a rusty team, it was inevitable.
But I think tomorrow is going to be a lot closer. Scotland can’t be so bad again, and the Boks approach the game different to the ABs. Basically the Scots need a bit of belief and need to control the ball early on. If they don’t concede in the first 15-20 minutes, it could get interesting.
Watching Wales here makes me think that the Boks aren’t in the place that they think they might be. And they might just be thinking the same as the fans are ‘hey, it’s only Scotland’ And that could be a mistake.
19 Nov 2010, 22:56 pm
@Nils(Nils) :
You remember what I said to you before last weekend Nils? Something along the lines of Scotland will get an inevitable early penalty and make the ABs mad
Should have kept my mouth shut
19 Nov 2010, 22:56 pm
This castrato welshman is bad enough.
Yes! He bleats when wales are awarded a penalty.
But at least they have found a replacement for Brian Moore who along with Janet Stransky is the most irritating commentator in the world.
19 Nov 2010, 22:59 pm
Groundhog day, Fiji scrum was massacred by the Welsh in WC07, too.
19 Nov 2010, 23:00 pm
Johnothan Davies.
Wearer of the shortest shorts in rugby history.
Honestly if a gogo dancer rocked up to work in those shorts she would have been sent home to change into something more respectable.
And now the little woofter is bleating for a penalty try.
19 Nov 2010, 23:02 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
Jonathon Davies has been an annoying little shiite for many years now. Usually in the studio rather than co-commentator. But in my mind, he overtook Brian Moore a long time ago.
19 Nov 2010, 23:02 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : Sorry for your folks, Jockbok! Scotland are not that bad as they were last weekend but really they had no chance whatsoever, had they even trained together for a year.
19 Nov 2010, 23:04 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Warren “Trytime!” Brosnihan is rather irritating, too.
19 Nov 2010, 23:06 pm
On the positive note, how Davies will bleat next week. Sweet.
19 Nov 2010, 23:07 pm
Jockster
Brian Moore almost cost me a new tv last weekend.
The guy is about as balanced as a pit bull with 3 legs.
The only reason they close the roof of the millennium stadium is to stop him howling at the moon.
19 Nov 2010, 23:09 pm
Man, I get a sore throat listening to the Bros. He voice is just so deep. VERY irritating.
19 Nov 2010, 23:11 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : 233
Fiji beat Wales in the 2007 RWC. I wouldn’t put too much stock in Fiji running Wales close tonight…
19 Nov 2010, 23:11 pm
Nils
Trytime is bad yes.
But he is not in pitbulls league.
19 Nov 2010, 23:15 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
Lol. But like any Jock, I’ve got an inbuilt dislike for the guy after his bad loser comments and his obvious hatred for Scotland.
He really was the guy we loved to hate, and it was reciprocated before and after many Calcutta cup games.
Funny thing is, I’ve mellowed to him in later years, realising he is just passionate about his country. Like we all are.
19 Nov 2010, 23:16 pm
@gunther(gunther) : He could not even pass into his own big mouth from 20 attempts.
(news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/welsh/9176198.stm)
19 Nov 2010, 23:19 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) :
I remember it well mate.
Just saying though. Watch how the ABs walk through Ireland and Wales next week, while the Boks seem to be doing a lot of huffing and puffing.
19 Nov 2010, 23:19 pm
It’s great for the game that a 3rd tier nation can push a 2nd tier nation really close.
19 Nov 2010, 23:21 pm
Jockbok
I remember him well.
I was at school in England when he was playing.
Everyone thought he was a headcase then.
19 Nov 2010, 23:21 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : 248
oh, I agree entirely. Boks always make life hard for themselves (and their fans).
19 Nov 2010, 23:23 pm
Jock – and don’t forget how close Fiji actually pushed the Boks in the 1/4final
19 Nov 2010, 23:24 pm
Penalty!
Old tight shorts just spat his dummy.
19 Nov 2010, 23:29 pm
Now kick the bloody 3 points!!
kick for the draw…
Over!
19 Nov 2010, 23:30 pm
Good result by Fiji.
Boy can they tackle but jeez they can’t scrum.
19 Nov 2010, 23:30 pm
hahahahahahahaah GO FIJI hahaha
19 Nov 2010, 23:31 pm
They better nail the furniture down in the welsh dressing room before gatland gets there.
19 Nov 2010, 23:33 pm
16-16. Well done Fiji.
Yep, Spooner, I love to see the wee teams doing well. It’s 15 v 15 and sometimes the big boys forget that. Especially when the fans expect the victory because of the name of the team they are playing and because, well, they always beat them.
Sometimes passion and heart can make a big difference.
19 Nov 2010, 23:35 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
Lol, couldn’t happen to a nicer coach.
19 Nov 2010, 23:38 pm
Great result for Fiji, finally non loss to a “Tier 1″ side in Europe. They were so close 4 – 5 years ago in Cardiff when only late dropgoal saved Wales blushes (11-9).
19 Nov 2010, 23:43 pm
So we narrowly beat Wales, who actually deserved the win. Fiji drew with Wales. Fiji are playing “at home” during the World Cup. It may not be a given that we will make it out of the pool stages.
19 Nov 2010, 23:51 pm
Tier 1
SA
NZ
Aus
Fra
Eng
Tier 2
Wales
Ire
Scot
Arg
Ita
Tier 3
Sam
Fij
Ton
USA
Tier 4
Can
Georgia
Russia
Namibia
Urug
Spain
Portu
No way is Wales a “Tier 1″ Nation
19 Nov 2010, 23:53 pm
*** = J.a.p. (abbrev for Japan)
20 Nov 2010, 00:11 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : You mean, Argentina who beat France 7-2 since 2002 – a SECOND tier?
20 Nov 2010, 00:13 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : Canada are way stronger than USA and beat them comfortably, swap them. Otherwise, except for Argentina, no complaints.
20 Nov 2010, 01:03 am
Habana scored 30 tries in 36 Tests played during the White era. In 32 Tests under De Villiers he has scored eight tries and the bulk of them have come against Italy.From Keo.
He has a point here(Keo is a serial Pdiddy basher) with this statement.
20 Nov 2010, 03:17 am
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : Back off on those magic mushrooms, pilgrim. They addle the brain.
20 Nov 2010, 05:04 am
It’s interesting to see how Stu Dickinson will handle the test.
Rumors from Sidney said the ARU is fuming over Craig Joubert’s refereeing of their test against the Poms, a retribution might be on the card.
If none of it, the Boks should get it, so far Sexton and Stephen Jones made no serious effort to put the Boks back
3 under contestant pressure, Dan Park might try it.
The Scots were woeful against the ABs, despite having a superior front row and very able set of loose forward, a slower Test team in the Boks may help them to get themselves together.
20 Nov 2010, 05:11 am
only genius on this thread is rugby genius, the rest of these dumb schmuck whiteys are thick as two planks as per usual. That is whether they hail from petoorsland or expatriated white nosed junkies like this twaddle stick Herr Tackler here. And Especially these other two dumbf’cks agreeing with each other, this dumbdutchman Alucard along with this dumbfck pompous pommiefaced pratt goodthingonerfckwit high on their own magic mushroom juicy potion that dutchie genetics was designed for rugby. Ignoramus supremo’s.
20 Nov 2010, 06:24 am
Ah, Snotskiet, keo’s own Julius Malema! I assume you include Robbie Deans and John Plumtree in your childish race based analysis #271. Snottie, I suggest you don’t try too hard to be funny, especially when you’ve been snorting home made tik. Using the race card just exposes your lack of a coherent argument. Like your pals Thabo, Julius, Jimmy etc.
20 Nov 2010, 06:30 am
#271 SNOTSKIET….yes YOU DOOS,lay off the tik you bloody agent…..
What an IMBECILE you are bwahhahahaahahahaha
20 Nov 2010, 06:33 am
SNOTSKIET….die klongetjie van die Vlaktes nè.
Sit neer jou tik pypie,vat av jou burka !!!!!
20 Nov 2010, 06:40 am
@skopskiet(yliad) :
Your racist anti white rantings are becomming quite boring. Why don’t you put a cork in it you stupid dooos!
20 Nov 2010, 06:49 am
SNOTSKIET YLIAD writes loads of ****…..how he manages to see and write while wearing his burka is quite an accomplishment…..for one with such a diminished intelligence
20 Nov 2010, 06:53 am
only schmuckheads like this Twatty toothless huthky and his bumchum wpforever along with 99% of their whiteassed brethren who think everything in life revolves around dumbass palookaville politics and who can’t see that its schmuckaby baby idiots like these pompous pricks the dutchie genetics genius Alucard and his pommie faced pomegranite eating punkernickle goodthingonerfckwit who are devolving dumbass derelict delusional defunct European castoff cuckoos while its the likes of rugby genius above who is the true positive south african realist patriot.
These other dumbschmuck delusional dimwitted whiteass licking dickheads should make like these other delirious punkeyed pommiefaced princesses like Tackler and his ilk and go hole up in somebody else’s fuckedup country and make snappy about it before they catch the dreadful intolerable saffa disease. Though look like to all intents and purposes seems its way too late for this pair of delusional denigrating pisswilly punks.
20 Nov 2010, 06:57 am
Dis lekker in die vlaktes ne YLIAD DOOOOOS
Ek ken jou soort….hahaha
gaan slaap jou aapie !
20 Nov 2010, 07:01 am
another dumbschmuck whitey colony swapping whattyeverkins who couldn’t cut it in Africa and ducked for the safety zone of Polypennopolesia promulgating his pompous pommiefaced presuppositions through his premature pom pom prejudices.
20 Nov 2010, 07:05 am
jy dink miskien jy ken vir my soort arme doosiedrol, maar jy raai heeltemaal mis jou domdoos onnosele idiot
20 Nov 2010, 07:06 am
yes, guys. all with good high school education…an even more distorted privilege since Independence. Whiteys and dolphins enjoy the good life; most South Africans are poorer than under the evil of apartheid…wake up you dickheads!
20 Nov 2010, 07:06 am
Your grammar is atrocious YLIAD…..make an effort to improve….now shove that up your tik pipe you idiot !
20 Nov 2010, 07:13 am
dumbfcks like this tumbling thumbalina wanna revert back to apartheid, that says it all for these dumbfck rugby superior genetically endowed tribe of European cast offs, better you fckoff fast like your Whateverkinsmen and the Tackler pricks et al before you dumbfck delusionistas get swallowed up whole
20 Nov 2010, 07:16 am
stoopid vs even stoopider (but whi is which?)…but a good laugh and thanks for matinee entertainment!
20 Nov 2010, 07:18 am
bored s-less, thanks for the giggles f-ups!
20 Nov 2010, 07:32 am
SNOTSKIET DOOS your utter lack of manners and poor grammar clearly indicates that you were not a very bright student at school….You should have paid more attention in the classroom…….instead of toy-toying with your wooden rifle trying to be a “freedom fighter”
20 Nov 2010, 08:10 am
SNOTSKIET
You have serious issues….. go and see you pastor and your sangoma,,, maybe the can help you through this dark patch…..
20 Nov 2010, 08:52 am
Does anyone know if hougard is going to be fit to play?
Please say yes, the pienaar experiment is failing badly on this tour.
20 Nov 2010, 10:13 am
Skopskiet is thicker than a dog. Literally, thick as pigshit.
@last movement(GrubdogSA) :
He’s in doubt? Oh, joy… make way for Sulky face to insert his sloppy box kicks.
20 Nov 2010, 10:51 am
poor genetically endowed dumb schmuck supremo’s still grappling with this concept that dutchie genetics are superiorly toughbred for superior rugby physicality and even brains mind you. How abysmally thick can you actually get to even contemplate such dumb f’ck genetically endowed thick as two brick thoughts? Smoke on the water, fire in the sky.
20 Nov 2010, 11:07 am
@skopskiet(yliad) :
You thought Genia was/is better than FdP. Lol.
20 Nov 2010, 14:39 pm
Guys just ignore skoppie.
Looks like another hit generator character here on Keo.
I refuse to read his posts – just skip over them when I see his name.
Now, anyone know of a good link for the game later?
20 Nov 2010, 14:42 pm
Any idea where I can see the game online?