Preview: Scotland vs Springboks
19 Nov 2010
JON CARDINELLI predicts a comfortable rather than convincing win for the Springboks in Edinburgh this Saturday.
Scotland have been a team on the relative rise, following a shock win against Australia in 2009 with a big victory over Ireland in the Six Nations. They went on to win a series in Argentina, and the more optimistic punters claimed they would be competitive against New Zealand and South Africa in late 2010.
While they deserved to win the aforementioned matches, special mention must go to the poor quality of opposition. Australia were awful in that loss, and Ireland went on to lose three more fixtures in succession, a losing streak that was only snapped by a scratchy win over Samoa. Argentina have been similarly disappointing, the 2007 World Cup semi-finalists sneaking home against lowly Italy last week.
The All Blacks provided some perspective with a 49-3 hammering of the outclassed Scots. While they’re capable of catching any team on a very bad day, Scotland cannot compete when the southern hemisphere teams show any sort of form. Even though the All Blacks didn’t have everything their own way at scrum time, they still held the ascendancy in other areas. If the All Blacks didn’t lose momentum in the latter stages, they may have surpassed 60 points.
The Boks are without many of their first-choice players, so we shouldn’t expect the same attacking fluidity that characterised the All Blacks performance last Saturday. What we can expect is a determined forward showing, as the Boks will look to produce a consistent effort after the erratic display in Cardiff.
Their scrum is in for a challenge, with British & Irish Lions tourists Euan Murray and Ross Ford supplying the necessary power to the Scottish pack. But as a unit, the Boks boast the better tight five. An accurate showing at the set-piece will allow their ball carriers to build the same kind of momentum that proved so unstoppable in Cardiff. The platform-setting aggression paved the way for Willem Alberts and Victor Matfield’s second-half tries.
Deon Stegmann, Juan Smith and Ryan Kankowski are an inexperienced back-row combination, but should enjoy the benefit of playing behind a dominant tight five. Kankowski has a lot to prove in the ball-carrying stakes. Until the point when the home resistance crumbles he will be asked to play a more bruising role than he’s accustomed to.
Andy Robinson has picked a big Scotland pack in hope of combating the robust South Africans. Traditionally a lock, Nathan Hines is moved to flank to give the Scots more lineout options, and bring more grunt to the all-important battle at the collisions. If the hosts cannot stifle the Boks in this area, then they will cop another hiding.
The severity of the beating depends on whether the Boks click or not. They have played well in patches on this tour, showing an appreciation for depleting a defence and attacking from the right areas, but then also exhibiting a tendency to make bad decisions and run the ball from poor positions. They’ll need to exhibit some tactical intelligence before unleashing finishers like Gio Aplon and debutant Lwazi Mvovo this Saturday.
It could be that Scotland opt to test South Africa’s new-look back three with the high ball. To do so would run the risk of exposing themselves to the counter-attack, and as seen in last week’s outing, Scotland’s scramble defence isn’t great. While the Boks shouldn’t embrace a looser game, they must punish Scotland’s errors. Again, it comes down to decision making of when to counter-attack and when to play for position.
Because of the injuries and the lack of established combinations in several departments, the Boks won’t complete a rout in Edinburgh. They will achieve a comfortable win though, one that gives them momentum for their all-important clash with England, but offers little insight into how youngsters like Pat Lambie may fare in a starting capacity.
Prediction: Boks by 15
Scotland – 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Nikki Walker, 13 Max Evans, 12 Graeme Morrison, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Dan Parks, 9 Rory Lawson (c), 8 John Barclay, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Nathan Hines, 5 Scott MacLeod, 4 Richie Gray 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Subs: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Moray Low, 18 Richie Vernon, 19 Ross Rennie, 20 Greig Laidlaw, 21 Ruaridh Jackson, 22 Chris Paterson.
Springboks -15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Frans Steyn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Adi Jacobs.

293 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
19 Nov 2010, 16:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Ja and same to you when Ireland win by 35 points ne
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Ja thanks for the compliment meneer but I wasn’t trying to be funny ne. I think these are what have to be done to get victory. Along with the usual things like our lineout winning.
19 Nov 2010, 16:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Yeah, yeah… I’ve learned never to underestimate the Scots. I think tomorrow will be way more difficult than most Bok supporters think it will be.
If the pack can perform like they have the last couple of games then the Boks should be safe. However I would like the 7 players that haven’t been utilised other than as numbers in D to actually make some opportunities…
19 Nov 2010, 16:35 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) :
Why are you even remotely concerned about the game tomorrow, there are plenty on here who think beating the Ab’s at fotress Eden next year will be easier than the Scots tomorrow, what a joke if you can’t bury these guys by at least 25 something is wrong.
19 Nov 2010, 16:36 pm
How to beat Scotland:
“So coach what is the plan?”
“Ag ja, you know when I was a boy the road was long but my trousers were longer. My shoes got polished to and from school each day.”
“Ah, yes coach, what do you mean, practice?”
“When you practice you must have an eye on the prize. Too many pots spoil the broth but a bird in the hand saves nine.”
“What? What must we practice?”
“Practice to win my boy, to win.”
“How coach?”
“Ag ja I am the coach you are the players, you must play. I sit in the box and look interested. Ja.”
19 Nov 2010, 16:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) :
Like I said at 153 no problem beating the Ab’s next year but mild panic for the Scots hard to work out that one.
19 Nov 2010, 16:41 pm
“Coach I have been chatting to the boys and they are confused about this practice thing.”
“Ja Victor, you see, I am the coach, they must not forget that.”
“Yes Peter you are my coach, now what must we practice?”
“Ag Victor a rugby ball isn’t round and when it bounces it can go anywhere. You know I can’t teach you that, you must play what you see, ja. And practice.”
“Practice what coach.”
“Victor, don’t look at me through your eyebrows are you stupid? I told you, practice to win! I wish Smit was here, he has brains, this Bull doesn’t.”
“What?”
“Nothing. ja.”
19 Nov 2010, 16:41 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : Fortress Eden? hahahahahaahahahhahhaahhahahahahahahaha . Can you see how I am laughing there.
Why are you putting your faiths in a stadium and not your players?
Oom Piet is already making a good plan to smash the Kiwis next year. None of us know it but it is there. Oom Piet is like a fierce warrior king coming to destroy the kiwi dreams. he is a nightmare !
ALL HAIL KING PIET – DESTROYER OF KIWI DREAMS !!!!!!!!!!
19 Nov 2010, 16:42 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 151. Jeez, if you weren’t trying to be funny then that is even funnier LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!
How’s your mind bra!
19 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
Which part of that don’t you understand its the hardest place on the planet to win a game of rugby, unbeaten there since 94′ but you keep laughing your sh itting your pants about the Scots tomorrow that says it all really.
19 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 155. Yeah, but the problems come with the Boks when they are overwhelming favourites – Not good!
Being underdogs suits the Boks perfectly… Its a mentality thing.
19 Nov 2010, 16:45 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : You are joking surely.
19 Nov 2010, 16:46 pm
Who said you were overwhelming favourites, you have your nose in front just, whats up with you tonight your normally an ars*hole?
19 Nov 2010, 16:48 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 94 what ! 94 what ! records are there to be broken.
Wait and see next year on the newspaper. Zane Kirchner and Bakkies holding up Ricky Januarie with the Webb Elice cup and headlines
‘PIETER DE VILLIERS MASTERMIND’
‘Graham Henry resigns ; calls Pieter De Villiers a rugby ‘god’
19 Nov 2010, 16:48 pm
why anyone would refer to Heavens Game as “meneer: is beyond me
19 Nov 2010, 16:49 pm
What are the chances of this:
Boks go with PDV to RWC 2011 with Smit.
Smit retires and VM takes over captaincy.
The Kings hire Luke Watson for 2012 and they play CCup.
2013 Kings play SuperRugby.
June Tests Watson is named VC. End of year, Matfield gone, Watson Bok captain.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Joking of what ?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Sir its my opinion. But just to say I am usually right.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : 162, Its daytime where I am and you lot (Kiwis) are being less irritating than usual.
19 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 164. You can call me Sir, my boy…
19 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : About PDV being awesome, surely. I mean, he’s a clown.
19 Nov 2010, 16:51 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Zero
19 Nov 2010, 16:52 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : And of course you are welcome to your opinion… I just thought it was a send up initially. But if you were being serious, then by all means have a go.
19 Nov 2010, 16:52 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : Are you joking with me? In my view Oom Piet is the best thing SA rugby has at this time.
19 Nov 2010, 16:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Thank you
19 Nov 2010, 16:53 pm
bwahahaha
oom Piet? you mean that wee little fella who wears a button red nose, size 22 shoes and has lost all his paint?
as predicted at the start of the month, PDV cant lose a game during Movember
he has the snor for it..
19 Nov 2010, 16:54 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 163. Ja, and now you takingthepiss… Good one
19 Nov 2010, 16:54 pm
once again RugbyGenius is spot on
19 Nov 2010, 16:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : not even if you whip me like Kunta Kinte!
pervert!
19 Nov 2010, 16:57 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) : Like Ricky has the surname January, Oom Piet should change his to Movember.
Pieter Movember: Springbok Coach.
Richard Muir can just keep his at D.ick.
19 Nov 2010, 16:57 pm
Racist porcine specimen.
19 Nov 2010, 16:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 177. Naah, I will leave Rossi to that for you… Rather call her Sir.
You probably do anyway
19 Nov 2010, 16:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
I am being 132% serious with you. I dont know when it became fashion to hate our national coach. I think he is amazing. it’s not some kind of jokings.
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell) : Thank you for support fantastic
RugbyGenius
When is your uncle harvesting his home grown again?
Rugbyidiot..
you best hope your man oom Piet continues to get lucky with injury and drug-taking, it seems to be the only time he gets his selections right..
19 Nov 2010, 17:00 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : You are winding me up for sure.
Oom Piet is the deathwatch beetle of rugby. Tap tap, tap tap.
“Ag, ja, you know winning isn’t everything but the crowd likes it more than the other thing.”
“Losing?”
“Springboks never lose. We are winners and we learn, it’s just points you know.”
19 Nov 2010, 17:01 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : 181. I don’t “hate” PdV. I actually have supported him and can sympathise with the man if he cannot choose his own assistants. But there comes a point when repeated non-performance should be questioned and accounted for.
19 Nov 2010, 17:02 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) : The Springbok’s strategy this year has been awesome:
Injuries and drugs… brought the best guys into the team, almost…
PDV is perhaps the luckiest guy in the world.
19 Nov 2010, 17:03 pm
@gunther(gunther) : @poppa69(poppa69) :
Why you want to be saying rough things like this to me for sharing my opinions? Are we not here to discuss rugby with different views? Is it wrong for me to love our national coach?
19 Nov 2010, 17:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : hehehe
look, nothing against PDV personally, in fact Im very thankful that he will be “coaching” your boys up to and including the cup…
very very very thankful…
the added bonus of entertainment is o for awesome (to borrow a famous kiwi boxers language skills)
19 Nov 2010, 17:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : just because the Banshee whips you don’t think all of us men are like you! hahahaha
19 Nov 2010, 17:05 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : A prophet is never understood in his own land. Wisdom is sometimes hard to understand.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : ja but before we blame the coach we should look elsewhere, the players, the fans, the media.
19 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : How do you mean ‘love’ the coach. In a man walks with boy way, a Michael jackson way or the way Bakkies loves Victor.
I don’t hate him, I don’t hate anyone, I just don’t think he is a coaches poophole….
19 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2) : 184. Those “insider” accounts are good stuff. You had me going with the one once… PdV and Gary Gold
Wouldn’t mind hearing a tete a tete between Pdv and TrickyDicky regarding backline (non)play…
19 Nov 2010, 17:07 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : i don;t think anyone in the whole world understands odv, probably only his wife gets him, she married the man after all!
19 Nov 2010, 17:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : they’re actually boring but don’t tell gygt…he skeems he is lank funny
19 Nov 2010, 17:09 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : wisdom and PDV in the same sentence? man, Ive heard of taking stimulants, but boet there is a thing as too much y’all..
19 Nov 2010, 17:11 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) :
‘odv’ = Oom de Villiers
RG’s enthusiasm rubbing of on you Transie?
@Transformation(Transformation) : 189. Don’t run away from the Keo (b)romance: Transie + Rossi… You guys have chemistry in a cute kind of way…
- Rossi: Transie come here, my son…
WHIP!!! LASH!!!
- Transie: Eina, yes sirree…
Sniff, Sniff.
- Rossi: Don’t cry, my darling son… I will defend you to the end from those Keo racists and fools….
WHIP!!! LASH!!
Transie: Eina, yes sirreee! Sob….
keo certainly has some oddball bloggers…
bluetit
mighty hore
rugby jeanius
all seem to come from the same part of the country as well?
19 Nov 2010, 17:12 pm
@JockBok(JockBok) : thats not his enthusiasm
19 Nov 2010, 17:12 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius) : “Ja, I understand wisdom. You know when I was a boy we has sticks and you know what we did? We used them to make smaller sticks. I know when I walk, even without a stick, that I am like Moses in the desert.”
“Moses walked around a desert the size of my bathroom for 40 years. He was hopelessly lost. Are you lost Peter.”
“A man who walks alone looks like he has no friends, and then he buys the whiskey. The come running.”
“Whiskey, for rugby players? Aren’t you in enough trouble for doping already?”
“Ag ***** drank the wine and turned over the tables of the money lenders. I am not saying I don’t like jews, Stransky won a world cup you know. I’m just saying when shylock has the keys to the safe it’s hard for the brown man to make a wage.”
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All