Boks latest – Beast misses training

Keo.co.za brings you the latest from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour.

Beast misses training – Beast Mtawarira sat out of Monday’s training session due to a knee injury incurred in the Boks’ defeat to Scotland. The decision on the prop’s availability will be made later in the week.

Should Mtawarira fail to pass fit, CJ van der Linde will be considered as a replacement. This would lead to Coenie Oosthuizen coming onto the Bok bench.

The team for Saturday’s Test is due to be named on Tuesday.

Poms buzzing ahead of Bok clash – England No 8 Nick Easter says his side is feeling confident about the coming tussle with the Springboks. England beat Australia two weeks ago, and despite a lacklustre showing against Samoa, he felt there were positives.

‘We’d created chances but had not nailed them,’ Easter wrote in his Daily Telegraph column. ‘We did in the second half. In many ways, we’ll get as much from this as we did from Australia. We’ll have to bring the best of both performances to beat South Africa.

‘I’ve played against them five times and lost the lot. England have lost their last six against them. Trust the Scots not to do us a favour. It’ll be a wounded Boks who come to Twickenham. It’ll be a full-blooded affair. It always is.

‘We want to finish on a high note. It would put a dampener on the autumn if we don’t manage to do that, difficult as it will be. We’ve got to make the most of these moments, all the more so as this is the last chance we get to clock a win against the southern hemisphere before the World Cup.

‘There’s a buzz in camp. We’re very much up for it.’

Matfield regrets poor tactics – Springbok captain Victor Matfield said his side employed the wrong approach and that contributed to a crushing loss to Scotland. The Boks tried to run the ball, even though atrociously stormy conditions prescribed a percentage approach.

‘There has been a lot of talk about us needing to be more expansive in our approach and maybe we paid too much attention to that,’ said Matfield. ‘These weren’t the right conditions to play expansively, and we made too many mistakes in our own half that Scotland were able to punish instead of us getting the ball down into their territory and playing from there.’

Bok coach Peter de Villiers defended his decision to sub goal-kicking machine Morne Steyn for Pat Lambie in the second half. Lambie went on to miss a crucial kick.

‘If we look at the Morne Steyn incident in isolation then it might have been a mistake, but if you look at the bigger picture towards next year’s World Cup then you have to say that the players need to get experience of playing in these conditions,’ De Villiers offered.

Poms take aim at Boks – Despite a disappointing showing against Samoa, England are feeling confident about the coming clash with the Springboks. Manager Martin Johnson wasn’t satisfied with the performance against Samoa, but said the fact that England ground out a win was important.

‘We had to keep our composure and keep on playing and it was a good experience for them,’ said Johnson. ‘I think we’ve clearly taken steps. This week was a new experience – not all of it good, but in a sense it is good because things like not finishing, going behind in the second half, are all ultimately good experience.

‘We’ve got one big shot at the world champions next week. Everything about us has got to have a little bit more intensity and accuracy. If we’d got that against Samoa we could have scored two or three more but we didn’t.’

311 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

• 151.Karen: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo) : Well they need to ask for a refund seeing the drugs they supposedly had taken did definitely not work yesterday

• 152.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation) : although i agree why did the coaches in the past use someone else to kick when they played a flyhalf that was not the best kicking option around??

honiball was not the greatest kicker nor was butch, but other players covered that

percy for example kicked instead of butch for the most

we had ruan and f steyn that could kick yet our coaching staff and capt would rather put the pressure on the kid

thats plan silly when you have options as the boks do

and good day boet

• 153.malcolm: Reply to this comment

You cannot expect young players like Lambie to be given short cameo roles in a game and then have to succeed under extreme pressure with potentially match winning kicks. That is a recipe to destroy a talented player. Give the bloke a full game to get up to speed with International rugby and leave the kicking for now to guys like Ruan (if he plays)or Francois Steyn. One thing is for sure Morne Steyn is not the answer. I also think trying Spies on the wing is a great idea. We do not have creative centres anymore that can give players like Aplon the space to be dangerous. Spies can create his own space ala Lomu. Hell it might not be a bad idea to put Kanko on the other wing.

• 154.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Very disappointing loss.

Seems like if it close and wet keep your reliable kicker on.
    And how about starting Alberts

• 155.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My Bok team for England test

15 Frans Steyn
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 Jean De Villiers
    12 Patrick Lambie
    11 Lwazi Mvovo
    10 Elton Janjtes
    9 Francois Hougaard
    8 Willem Alberts
    7 Juan Smith
    6 Keegan Daniel
    5 Victor Matfield
    4 Bakkies Botha
    3 Jannie Du Plessis
    2 Bismark Du Plessis
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Adriaan Strauss
    17 CJ Van Der Linde
    18 Alistair Hargraves
    19 Pierre Spies
    20 Ruan Pienaar
    21 Zane Kirchner
    22 Adi Jacobs

My team is picked on the fact that it doesnt matter about the result, SA strongest team will always beat Englands strongest team at the moment. It is time to give other a chance.

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Karen(Karen) : hey karen long time no see , hope you are well?

look i am not one for just sacking coaches etc , and yes to my surprise even transie was yesterday calling for pdiv to resign

and who can blame him , reason i cant blame lambie is that he comes on in terrible conditions for 10 and is now expected to save the game??

that game was lost in the first half already,, hougaard and steyn struggle as a combo , and kicked away 95% of possession as did kirchner to a degree

my problem also is not that we kick all the time, but that we dont think on our feet to change the plan on the feel as needed at the time

the problem starts with pdiv yes but capt and muir and gold are just as guilty

matfield is a great player , but again when the chips were down instead of getting the players to focus and work together he was concentrating on the ref

then i also find the team is not really a team , to many individuals , a good example is the sharks , not the biggest names but they play for each other

i dont want to knock cockott here but the reason he is mostly on the bench is because just that, he cant seem to get the team thing, and this seems pretty much the problem in the bok setup ,

we all know they fantastic players , but do they play for each other ?? for the jersey?? pride?? somehow i dont think so

• 157.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm) : Vic and Bekker on 12 and 13

• 158.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Seems like the boys are tired
    Too much rugby

• 159.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm) : agreed

• 160.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Karen(Karen) :
    Looking at many of the Samoans and the Tongans players, I must say I regard the credibilities of drug tests in World Rugby a fraud, dictated by many interests of various Test Unions.

• 161.Karen: Reply to this comment

@Two Eyed(Two Eyed) : :-) should actually be Vic and Pierre wys my jou spiere Spies on 12 and 13

• 162.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm) : Seriously though. I want to see Spies on the wing. He is not a no8. But he is a super athlete. Need to utilise that somewhere.

• 163.rocco: Reply to this comment

Duuuhhh… So yesterday the Boks played expansively? Wow!!! That explains how each of our wings at least touched the ball.
    Vertically expansive maybe, as the ball spent more time at extreme altitudes while the Scots gratefully awaited gifted possession.
    If that was their idea of expansive play, we’re in even bigger trouble than we realise…

• 164.Karen: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : Hallo Sharks_Lover – yes long time. Hope you are well and yes it was a major disappointment yesterday. I actually love seeing who blames who in the zoo – the blame game actually is better than plan A of the Boks at the moment ;-)

• 165.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : he seemed to kick well in the currie cup final yeh?

• 166.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7) : Lambie and Jantjies should be left out of that mess. Jantjies must come home under the watchful eyes of Mitchell and Carlos. Keep Snorre away from him pse.

• 167.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

my team would be

15 F Steyn
    14 Aplon
    13 Adi
    12 Jdiv
    11 Mvovo
    10 Lambie
    09 Pienaar
    08 Spies
    07 Alberts
    06 Juan (yes i know he is not as fetcher but nor do england)
    05 Matfield
    04 Bakkies
    03 Jannie
    02 Bissy
    01 Beast

16 Strauss
    17 CJ
    18 Flippie
    19 Kanko
    20 Hougaard
    21 Morne
    22 Kirchner

• 168.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

How can you run on to a field seeing the stormy weather and try and play expansive rugby?

• 169.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete) : Well they had no clue what expansive rugby is. When mullet eventually decided to pass, Morne was standing 20m behind the advantage line, catch the ball while standing still and he would pass that to JdV who would bash it up. I have no idea what it was they were trying to play.

• 170.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) :

Sharkie, you, like the majority of doff Saffers, fail to understand that you CANNOT improvise a gameplan out of nothing. The players are not coaches, it’s not their job to do what the coaches should be doing. Rugby is a game that relies massively on the cohesion of individuals as units, without the proper planning off the field it will never materialise. Hence why Nz are better than us. This belief that they just wing, so we should too, is a lie. They are always well prepared off the field, whilst every four to seven years we have a coach who will do likewise for us. Look at this years S14, then look at the Boks, if you cannot see this then this really does signify that SA fans really are as the rest of the world claim them to be, defiantly stupid.

• 171.rocco: Reply to this comment

Okay, must’ve watched a different match, cause to me there’s nothing EXPANSIVE about running straight into tacklers when in possession and kicking the ball away the rest of the time.

• 172.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Two Eyed(Two Eyed) :

You want to know where the problem lies? Then read this quote from de Villiers. It was from an interview with him when he took over in 2008, upon reading it, tell me whether he has achieved his vision or not.

“Structure in rugby came from Australia, a country which doesn’t have a lot of rugby talent,” he explains. “I believe the more talent you have, the less structure there should be.”

Well, they certainly look like they have no structure in any aspect of their play, so job done de Villiers. Too bad that, as Eddie Jones said, nobody on planet Earth plays rugby like he is talking.

• 173.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : 167 – Howzit Sharky, I would play McLeod at scrummie. Wont even give it a thought. He has been the best scrummie this CC. Also wont kick every damn ball away. Play the Sharks loosies Sharky. They being playing together as a team. Helps I think. Or Alberts at 8 Juan 7 and Keegan at 6. Someone above mentioned Spies on the wing, well maybe not a bad idea that.

Just wish we had better centres. Fransie just not doing it at 13 nor JdV at inside centre either.

• 174.crowbar: Reply to this comment

I think I watched the wrong game, I never got the impression that the Boks wanted to run the ball. What I saw was the Boks giving the ball away with poor kicks and ****** handling.
    Am I going blind?

• 175.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@Two Eyed(Two Eyed) : Yes Spies has all the gift to be a great winger. He is certainly quick enough not to be embarrassed by most of the wingers out there while his physical size will give all of them problems. The choice is in my opinion to keep him at eighth man where he seems set to remain at best an average international player or move him to the backline where he may become a great winger. At the moment we have nothing to lose by at least trying something different.

• 176.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma) :

You can play any 9 you want, it wont have any real impact on the Boks as they’ll still have the same flawed, poorly coached gameplan. They’ll still kick, as that’s the only way they can get around defences.

As for Fransie, he is not a 13, he is however our best 12. Jean would be better suited to 13 than Frans.

• 177.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard) :

that makes
    div
    about as
    intelligent
    as half
    a small bag
    of
    charcoal
    yesterday
    i credited him
    with
    the intelligence
    of
    a small bag
    of charcoal
    i was wrong
    he is only
    worth
    half a bag
    maybe

• 178.diewareouboet: Reply to this comment

The big reason why we lost was that we came second in the collissions. What changed?- Spies didn’t play. And when he doesn’t play and Kankowski replaces him our forwards gets smashed.

Spies deserves more credit for the physicality he brings to the pack. He does a lot of work preventing counter rucking and stopping opposition drives.

• 179.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra) :

half a
    small
    bag

• 180.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard) : Go read Dan Retiefs site. He is one rugby writer that makes plenty sense.
    http://www.danretief.com I agree with what he had to say about this game.

Also once the players are out there playing, gameplan or not it is up to them if anything is not working to change the dame gameplan. Which I hardly saw any of yesterday. WE WERE CLUELESS!!

• 181.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@crowbar(crowbar) :

actually for most of the first half the Boks were trying to run it, but ran out of steam trying to bludgeon their way through the Scots and resorted to kicking to try and get around them.

• 182.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma) : 180 – typo – dame = damn

• 183.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma) : **** forgot mcleod was there lol

howzit bro

div wont make much changes mate ,2 prolly at most

i was thinking of keegan on the bench and playing only 2 reserve backs

• 184.crowbar: Reply to this comment

For all the Shark fans and now Bok selectors, you only won the CC this year, there is actually another league between the CC and test rugby…

• 185.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@diewareouboet(diewareouboet) :

Give Spies credit? That’s far too much to ask, as most Saffers get on the player bashing bandwagon with relative ease. whatever is the common thought is usually wrong and stupid.

• 186.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard) : if you read all my posts you will see 99% i blame on the coaching staff

its not only div , but muir and gold too

• 187.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard) : 176 – Agree that JdV and Fransie should change positions. Frans is better at inside centre but not great at all at outside centre. Jean has played there many times he could do it. Adi on form would be great too, but has not had enough game time. Anything will be better than the game we playes last night. We were very poor not only the coaches buddy, but the players were not great either. We have to have them thinking for themselves on the field if nothing is working.

• 188.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

don’t
    split
    the blame
    it lies
    with the
    coach
    his name
    is div
    the quota

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : 183 – Div should gamble this week..hehehe. Damn I would just play McLeod. Nothing to lose. Think we gonna get a smack this week if we don’t come up with something different against England. Hate to even think what the score will be. Hope nothing like 2002 when we lost 53/3 to them.

• 190.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra) : actually the blame starts higher then Div lol

• 191.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

true

• 192.Two Eyed: Reply to this comment

Dan Retief’s summary is worth a read. Most sense I’ve read in a while.

• 193.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Two Eyed(Two Eyed) : 192 – Good writing there by Dan hey!! He makes very good sense for sure. I read his site on a daily basis.

• 194.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@diewareouboet(diewareouboet) : I do not agree. Kankowski more than holds his own when the Sharks play the Bulls and many would rate the Bulls pack as being far better than Scotland (before yesterday anyhow). Kankowski is not my first choice either although he is talented and a potential gamebreaker but in his defence he has not been given a fair chance to prove himself. He gets very few oppertunities to start for the boks and then its one off with 6 or 7 games before he gets another chance. No player can become test quality if treated like that. Spies has been given every oppertunity to succeed at 8th man. He is in my opinion very average in the position although not as bad as some make out.

• 195.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Blown away, washed away, kicked away. Take your pick because they’re all applicable to the Springboks’ desultory performance in going down to Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Blown away by the whistle of Stuart Dickinson, washed away by the Highland rain and kicked away by the Springboks themselves.

My contention is that the biggest cause of what really was a shocker was the latter. Sure Dickinson confounded the Boks with his infuriating inconsistency and stream of penalties, although part of the problem was because the Boks’ support of the ball was not close or intense enough, and the rain teaming down was not helpful but the Boks’ kicking game was downright amateurish.

Dickinson is an old adversary and Victor Matfield, his frustration boiling over, might have “managed” the official in a friendlier manner and the rain was a given. It started pouring down well before the start and it was astonishing that the Boks had made no allowances for the conditions the way they bulleted passes around that were difficult to hold, the ball thus ending up on the sodden turf and making constantly releasing the pressure on the Scots.

The Boks’ all-round kicking game, though, is a far more serious problem. It has been evident for some time now that Morné Steyn’s out-of-hand kicking is, well, injudicious. When it comes to putting the boot to ball, as one sometimes has to, especially in rainy conditions, Steyn is not in the league of a Naas Botha, or Dan Carter and even Dan Parks, while neither Francois Hougaard nor Ruan Pienaar are close to Fourie du Preez when it comes to kicking the ball to put defenders under pressure.

The kick-chase, which used to be a strength when Du Preez was steering the ship, has slowly been getting worse and less focussed – for instance the way two or three players converge on the catcher without anyone anticipating the catch-and-spin or the catch-and-pass. In all three tests on this tour there have been instances of the Boks being put under great pressure when a catch has been made and the player evaded the first wave of chasers. One shudders to think what the All Black counter-attackers might do to them the way they are playing at the moment.

There’s a maxim that you must kick to land and not to hand but the Boks seemed to be trying to give the ball to a Scottish catcher.

To me it was as if no preparation has gone into the tactics of kicking the ball. There are a great variety of kicks available but the like of Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Zane Kirchner, Geo Aplon tend to kick when they should hold the ball and run when they should be kicking… and not putting it where it might be retrieved when they do kick it.

The most obvious example of this was when they finally managed to mount a promising wide attack in the 73rd minute. Kirchner was 30 metres out when he grubbered – a ball eventually saved with steely application by Hugo Southwell who bravely waited for it to cross the goalline before dotting down – but that ball should have been kept in hand.

Two minutes later when Kirchner was gifted possession near his own goal line when Parks tried an unwise grubber and there were acres of unprotected space in front of him he chose to run, and was caught.

The decision to opt for an up-and-under in the 77th minute when the only way out of the hole was a try was breathtakingly daft – both Matfield’s calling of it and Pienaar’s poor execution by kicking it too long.

I’ve asked it before and I’ll do it again – where is the brain power in the side? I see nothing new – no innovative moves, no adjustments for specific conditions, no rectifying of problems that have been apparent throughout the Tri-Nations and this tour.

At Murrayfield the substitutions were again incomprehensible. Francois Hougaard, behind a struggling pack, battled to come to terms with the conditions but just when it seemed he was getting into it he was subbed. In the 46th minute? Why not then just have sent Pienaar on at halftime?

Why send on Pat Lambie, a mobile flyhalf adept at running onto the ball and taking it up to the line, in a game we were not winning the ball, in conditions not conducive to moving it, with a referee not allowing us to set platforms? Or was that a concession by the coaches that they are as worried about Steyn’s enduring inability to take control as the rest of us?

Makes no sense… seeing as the Boks know how to do it. Remember how we praised them for adapting to conditions in Dublin.

The weather at Murrayfield was almost certainly worse than it looked on television but when I saw the sheets of rain I thought we would be rubbing our hands in glee. Instead we got our approach badly wrong and lost to an ordinary Scottish side. Even our try, by Alberts, was a fluke because the lineout throw was intended for Victor Matfield.

As the correspondent for the The Scotsman, the incongruously named Tom English, so aptly put it: “There are days in rugby when things get primal, when the weather is Biblical and the game is ugly and when the winner and loser are determined not by line breaks or tries or moments of genius but by altogether more straightforward qualities. Scotland achieved a famous victory because in the maelstrom they managed to keep their heads better than their celebrated opponents. They were smarter. When the rain was coming down in sheets their game management was a level above the Springboks and their discipline was streets ahead. Sometimes it’s not about who is the most aggressive and the most passionate on days like this, but who is the coolest in the madness.”

A final word: TV coverage of the match was abominable. The director kept getting caught on close-ups, had no sense of the breadth of the game and I’m still trying to find out how, in the 73rd minute a drop-out to the Boks became a penalty to the Scots on their own 10-metre line? And as for comments man Brian Moore? … a man seemingly intent, with the encouragement of his employers, on being a parody of himself.

• 196.rocco: Reply to this comment

181. ALUCARD(ALUCARD
    Accepted, they tried to run it, but as individuals. A JdV putting the ball under the arm and trying to run over the defender does not equate ro expansive rugby. My understanding of the expansive game is players combining through the running of intelligent ilines, drawing defenders to free space for a team mate and getting off well timed passes to nullify defenders.
    The Boks of yesterdays debacle give no indication that they possess the aptitude, intelligence or intent for such a gameplan.

• 197.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hey Puma How are you
    Yes McLeod was the form 9 at end of CC
    Ruan is hot and cold and is basically a reserve to cover all positions
    Alberts should have started at 8

• 198.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover) : Sharky, Good you copy and pasted this article. Nice read I thought by Dan.

• 199.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma) : brilliant article by Dan

• 200.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

This game should have been kept tight with the forwards grinding scots into the mud.
    Kicks yes smart kicking, high balls in the wind and wet
    And yes long touches across fild once you have commited a wing and fullback who maybe out of position

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.