Twickers result is irrelevant
24 Nov 2010
JON CARDINELLI writes that backing experimental selections at Twickenham would have been better than sending the first-stringers out to avenge wounded pride.
The Boks broke a 10-year losing streak in Dublin, a victory that was important in the World Cup context. They picked up more psychological points in Cardiff the very next week. It wasn’t pretty, but the Bok had struck two big blows before a defining 2011 season.
Then Scotland brought them to earth. Many people lamented the end of a Grand Slam opportunity when in the greater scheme of things, the Grand Slam should never have been as important as building towards the World Cup.
Last Saturday’s game was a waste with Peter de Villiers neglecting to back more fringe players in a starting capacity. Nothing was learned in terms of how the second-stringers could handle the starting responsibilities. Those lessons would have been worth the risk of defeat.
But De Villiers blew that opportunity, and failed in his own personal ambition to stay on course for a career-saving Grand Slam. He’s blown another opportunity ahead of this Saturday, picking his strongest side yet again, as a win against England could be what keeps him in the job.
If the Boks beat England, they will head back to South Africa with a scorecard that reads three Test wins from four. It may be considered a pass in the results department, but when it comes to developing new and exciting talent before a World Cup year, the head coach and the selectors have failed.
Lwazi Mvovo has been rushed into the Bok starting side due to Bryan Habana’s tour-ending injury, and wouldn’t be starting if Habana was fit. Pat Lambie has been limited to three second-half cameos on this tour, while Francois Hougaard has also been used erratically.
Willem Alberts has produced two powerful bench performances that suggest he may be South Africa’s new super-sub in 2011, but he deserved a start in the Scotland fixture. Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies has done nothing but carry tackle bags, and would have been better served conditioning for an important Super Rugby tournament.
That the Boks would embark on a Grand Slam tour a year before the World Cup is a bungle at administrative level. No team should be expected to send full-strength squads to the north after a full year of rugby, especially just 11 months before the all-important tournament. This should be a time for testing new combinations and blooding new players.
Somehow this tour has become more about results and preserving De Villiers’s job rather than developing and strengthening new combinations. De Villiers missed another chance to try something different when he named his match 22 on Tuesday. He listed conditions as an explanation, but why bring the other players to the northern hemisphere if you’re not going to trust them to deal with the weather? Sending them on in difficult conditions midway through the second half doesn’t help their development or the synergy of the team, and it’s this kind of mismanagement and lack of common sense that’s characterised a disappointing tour.
Lambie should have been entrusted with a starting opportunity from the outset. If the Boks were really adamant about picking up the psychological points against World Cup opponents Ireland and Wales, then you could understand the decision to stick with Morne Steyn at No 10 as well as several other safe selections. But there was no sense in sending the seniors out against Scotland.
There’s even less reason to send them out against England. The Poms are hitting some form, and there’s a good chance a full-strength Bok side could come short yet again. A loss at Twickenham for the Boks’ first-choice team would render the tour a failure, as nothing new would have been learned, and two big defeats would have been suffered. But if De Villiers backed more youngsters in this final fixture and they performed (or alternatively, fared poorly) then he would know what he had in those players.
If there’s an argument that it’s unfair to ask players like Lambie and Jantjies to play now, it calls into question why De Villiers selected them to tour in the first place. Most of the fringe players will get a chance against the Barbarians on 4 December, but this fixture cannot be used to gauge a player’s aptitude for Test rugby.

449 Comments
24 Nov 2010, 05:21 am
result not important dragons..
you guys are even sounding like the poms now,. how the mighty have fallen..
24 Nov 2010, 05:37 am
‘Experimental selections’???
In 2009 it has been rare for the buffoon to select the same 9/10 and 12/13 combo for more than one test!
24 Nov 2010, 05:39 am
@money_man(money_man) :
2010!
24 Nov 2010, 05:50 am
Hey Jon, Keo (hell, even Ryan!!)
Please start up a cricket thread again…the season’s in full swing and there’s plenty to talk about, from Brittle Smiffy to the pathetic pedestrian ploddings of Kallis and Prince last night. And even the Ashes.
Kallis is a great, but he sure plays for his averages – why ele would he poke around and frustrate the living bejesus out of us when quick runs, a declaration before stumps on day four and two new-ball bursts seem to offer the only (and very distant) prospect of forcing a result.
As for Prince, he is understandably under pressure to keep his spot, so fought to retain his wicket at all cost, to hell with the team. Than goodness for Hashim, Alviro and AB, who all did their best to push the pace, sacrificed their wickets in pursuit of quick runs.
Unfortunately, the cancer of South African sport – conservatism – was again evident once they departed last night in the UAE.
Amla for captain, bye bye Boucher, JP Duminy for has-been Prince.
Bring on the flat track bully Indians!
24 Nov 2010, 05:54 am
whats the point of blooding new players in a team with no plan. they will just look bad and lose confidence.
24 Nov 2010, 05:56 am
The old Bokke would be turning in their graves reading the shite these guys write about results being irrelevant, shame on you Jon on a weekly basis you cheapen the Bokke jersey.
24 Nov 2010, 05:59 am
PDV is trying to save his job. Why would he risk blooding new players. So please tell me this SARU is he does fail with his the strongest team and he failed to test young players what then?
24 Nov 2010, 06:06 am
Its scary to think what psychological impact it must have on younger players if the senior (first choice) players cant even beat Scotland. How confident are they going to be to playing under PDV? What impact does that have on their self belief?
24 Nov 2010, 06:10 am
All a bit late. Experimental or first 15…makes no difference if the game plan and the coach are defunct.
Same old tired outdated kick and chase and running into tacklers..as predictable as yesterday’s menu.
24 Nov 2010, 06:17 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) :
Agreed 120% mate!!
24 Nov 2010, 06:19 am
if the boks are going to play a possession game then it has to be a slow and forwards dominated game because i dont think they have the players and skills to run the ball from their 22 for 80 minutes
build it in phases and line up drop goals if necessary this has become a must win game, 3/4 is better than 2/4 and will count the scotland game as a mistake.
24 Nov 2010, 06:29 am
PDivvy, forget conspiracies, incompetent referees, the third force and alien abductions, you now have the perfect excuse for another hammering on Saturday:
London – With the Springboks having struggled in Edinburgh’s rain, the bad news is that they may well have to deal with snow during Saturday’s Test against England at Twickenham.
24 Nov 2010, 06:31 am
How do you “make ” news if there are no news…..
must be a bummer….
24 Nov 2010, 06:32 am
@Jeez(Jeez) : If P-Divvy had taken a bunch of youngsters and left all the Experienced guys, who’ve played too much rugby back home to recover and gone out and said that the tour was being used as an opportunity for fringe and new players to show whether they are ready for test rugby and demand selection for the world cup, he would of had his job safe despite the results. If an inexperienced 2nd-3rd string go down against one or 2 good international teams so be it, but the chances are you will find a few stars and know who isn’t ready yet/ever. Then come back with a bigger and better squad to chose from and your super stars are fresh and ready to go for a long season of massive importance. The media would of forgiven him and the provinces could of lifted the pressure off him during the super 15 season. He has no idea!
24 Nov 2010, 06:34 am
yip i see it’s gonna snow… now with the poms in the “white” jumpers it would be fine…
but us in the green jumpers won’t know where they are to tackle them!
cause we ain’t gonna have the ball cause we will kick it to them…
24 Nov 2010, 06:56 am
@Joe Maher(Joe Maher) : Joe, do yourself a favour, forget about the Proteas until you read that Boucher, Kallis and Biff have retired, it will save you plenty of hair in the long run, cricket used to be my first choice sport, but this era has killed it for me and it will take many years for me to sit through one of their games again.
24 Nov 2010, 07:01 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie) :
Morning Toogie!
Mine was quite the opposite! Used to be a huge Rugby fan, but this era killed it for me. Would rather watch cricket now – when PdV chosen kids are no longer, I may change my mind.
24 Nov 2010, 07:11 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots) : Hey Billy Goat
Hows things old man?
yeah its pretty tough for us Saffas right now, but for me right now its like the weather and petrol prices, there F all you can do about it so i just ignore it and let it do its thing and hopefully it all just settles down.
24 Nov 2010, 07:26 am
hell Mitch’s Lions would have thumped the jocks in the cold and wet … so maak al die Leeus Bokke and get rid of the clowns, has-beens and prima donnas.
24 Nov 2010, 07:33 am
You have to feel for most of the Bok supporters who have no control over the destiny of their team & are forced to take whatever is dished up by their incompetent administrators & coach.
Without outside pressure, SARU will not change, but will go from bad to worse as it is simply an extension of government policy.
Make a difference by voting with your feet & not attending test matches. This will be tantamount to letting rip with both barrels because by also hurting the opposition (by your non attendance) you will immediately bring international pressure to bear on SARU to mend their ways. The government doesn’t mind upsetting the local yokels but they love to be admired by the world community.
Give it a go, you have nothing to lose.
24 Nov 2010, 07:40 am
AT this rate, in 3 or 4 years from now we might be watching springbok rugby on sabc 3….
24 Nov 2010, 07:43 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable) : you over estimate us Bok supporters, we will whinge and moan but we cant organise a pissup in a brewery let alone a mass action in protest, South Africans have a nature of “let someone else do it”
24 Nov 2010, 07:46 am
“his own personal ambition to stay on course for a career-saving Grand Slam.”
Too many personal ambitions in that Bok team!
Why didnt Victor stayed behind in Cougaria? Resting wouldve done him good!
24 Nov 2010, 07:49 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie) : call the afriforum hahahaha
24 Nov 2010, 07:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : let someone else call em
24 Nov 2010, 08:01 am
The Southern Kings will play Auto & General Lions (February 11)……..
24 Nov 2010, 08:07 am
@Joe Maher(Joe Maher) : We no longer cover cricket on keo.co.za.
24 Nov 2010, 08:08 am
“No team should be expected to send full-strength squads to the north after a full year of rugby”
More nonsense, is this not what the All Blacks did this year? Furthermore they will win their 3rd Grand Slam in the last 6-7 years.
24 Nov 2010, 08:09 am
Result against England irrelevant? What a load of rubbish!!! A win against England at Twickenham is always a high point of players and supporters alike. Can’t believe you white people are writing this ****!!!
24 Nov 2010, 08:14 am
@Zinto(Zinto) :
We have taken them 8 straight at Twickers and every time its been a great result and a great feeling to stuff the Poms.
24 Nov 2010, 08:16 am
@Zinto(Zinto) : now why you gotta go there?? its like saying why are you black guys womanizers? i am quite sure that 99.99999999% of white Bok supporters think that the result IS relevant and quite important actually, dont make it a racial issue just because of one idiotic white journalist, it will just highlight how ignorant you are.
24 Nov 2010, 08:20 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie) :
You put that bet on yet about the Ab’s choking next year?
24 Nov 2010, 08:25 am
a jouno surely has a difficult call to make.
does he tell it as it is (to the bok coach and players) and take the risk of never being invited to a media release….
or does he toe the line….
i heard Bob Skinstad say … naw… i’m not sure PdV should be fired “at this stage”….. (after ranting for 5 min regarding our style of play)…. now that’s what i call “covering your wickets”
24 Nov 2010, 08:26 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : waiting for a taker, no one wants to take it, you keen?
24 Nov 2010, 08:29 am
And we can also read a little deeper into this… A result is very important to our supporters where winning is really the only option(been a long year.)Probably for the management and coaching staff,s job security etc it would be quite irrelevant…
24 Nov 2010, 08:33 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie) :
I never bet against Black in recent times you would have lost 86% of the time.
24 Nov 2010, 08:34 am
Staal
Skinner talks a big game
24 Nov 2010, 08:34 am
You’ll find someone.
24 Nov 2010, 08:37 am
@gunther(gunther) :
Do you think the Poms will clean your boys up this weekend?
24 Nov 2010, 08:43 am
China
I’m not sure.
Weather looks like rain and maybe snow.
Looks like it will be an arm wrestle.
We should shade them up front but who knows?
24 Nov 2010, 08:45 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie) :
Thankfully then we wont have whiney so called supporters like yourself around good to hear.
24 Nov 2010, 08:45 am
Oh, so Jon reckons it was a blunder to send the Proteas on a Grand Slam tour the year before the WC, and to boot, we should not play our first choice players.
Bull Dust, the AB’s are on a Grand Slam tour and lo and behold, they are playing their first choice players – also after a full year of rugby.
Nah, this business of fatigue and loss of form is only really a problem when you are losing and is compouned by the fact that players have to perform above expectations to compensate for the lack of coaching and meaningful structure.
24 Nov 2010, 08:51 am
Winning breeds confidence … England were the losing finalists in the last world cup when nobody gave them a chance. Continuing to get victories over them will be a psychological advantage if we meet them in the play-off stages of the WC.
24 Nov 2010, 08:53 am
“Elton Jantjies has done nothing but carry tackle bags, and would have been better served conditioning for an important Super Rugby tournament.”
In your opinion. Junior players often say it was trips like these that created their hunger for the green and gold.
24 Nov 2010, 08:57 am
Jantjies must stay away from snorre. Let Mitchell and Carlos take care of him…..till we have another coach.
24 Nov 2010, 08:57 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan) : Agreed. Introducinh him to the Bok set-up now, familiarising him with the structures will ensure a relative smooth transition to the team should he be selected some time next year.
24 Nov 2010, 09:01 am
November 2010
27 Italy v Fiji Modena 16:00
27 England v South Africa Twickenham 16:30
27 Scotland v Samoa Edinburgh 16:30
27 Wales v New Zealand Cardiff 19:15
27 France v Australia Paris 21:45
28 Ireland v Argentina Dublin 16:30
December 2010
4 Barbarians v South Africa Twickenham 16:30
Great. Back to back rugga, and we can watch the Aussies too.
24 Nov 2010, 09:04 am
Obviously its relevant you idiots. A win over England will build nice confidence within the team and give us a psychological edge over England if we meet them next year in the World Cup.
24 Nov 2010, 09:05 am
REF’S FOR THIS WEEKEND
England vs South Africa at Twickenham, London
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Simon Mcdowell (Ireland)
Television match official: Iain Ramage (Scotland)
Scotland vs Samoa at Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Marius Jonker (South Africa), Cobus Wessels (South Africa)
Television match official: Tony Redmond (Ireland)
Italy vs Fiji at Stadio Braglia, Modena
Referee: Dave Pearson (England)
Assistant referees: Christophe Berdos (France), James Jones (Wales)
Television match official: Graham Hughes (England)
Wales vs New Zealand at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), David Changleng (Scotland)
Television match official: Giulio De Santis (Italy)
France vs Australia at Stade de France, Paris
Referee: Brice Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Carlo Damasco (Italy)
Television match official: Hugh Watkins (Wales)
Ireland vs Argentina at Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Stuart Terheege (England)
Television match official: Daniel Gillet (France)
24 Nov 2010, 09:05 am
GEORGE CLANCY it is then.
24 Nov 2010, 09:06 am
the Grand Slam should never have been as important as building towards the World Cup.
But we are building towards the World Cup by getting the edge over Wales and Ireland.
24 Nov 2010, 09:07 am
Not even going to bother reading the article.
Since when is any test ever irrelevant?
24 Nov 2010, 09:07 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : So Stuart the Diek got nothing, mmmmmmmm?
24 Nov 2010, 09:09 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : Since these journos acting like You magazine scribes
I see Gant Ball joined 365 and his articles are looking better already
Test matches are there to be won, we just do not get it right often enough
24 Nov 2010, 09:11 am
@JL1(JL1) : He is getting a time out.
24 Nov 2010, 09:14 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : True
24 Nov 2010, 09:15 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : Lets see if Steve can make a hatrick of stuff ups – one to go.
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : @JL1(JL1) : Im willing to bet a pretty penny that had an ‘experimental’ team been selected the JC wouldve been in full cry lambasting PDV and the Bok setup. Keywords would have been: “cheapening the jersey”, “winning is a habit, so is losing”, “Lost opportunity to gain edge over possible play-off opponent”.
The BaaBaa’s game is irrelevant……but these fools will probably showcase it like a WC final.
24 Nov 2010, 09:16 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : Building towards a WC should never be a goal. Playing good/excellent rugby no matter what combinations are available should be the goal and the results including the WC will follow. I agree that there are some preparation issues with regard to a WC in that the nature of the tournament calls for a different approach sometimes but developing your players to play good rugby should always be the prime goal. Unfortunately this becomes difficult for a national coach when each province/franchise has a different style of play. As a supporter though I’m tired of all the lows in between WC’s.
24 Nov 2010, 09:16 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : No matter what PDV does these vultures will always be circling.
24 Nov 2010, 09:19 am
The articles articles produced by JC remind me of the questions can you swim? Can you walk? Can you talk? Can you sing etc.?.
Yes! Well let me see you do it all simultaneously.
You don’t have suffficient players in you side to achieve all your goals.
24 Nov 2010, 09:20 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : or you could have won 5 times in a row
24 Nov 2010, 09:23 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : I agree with some of your points. In the year before a World Cup you need build towards the World Cup. I Agree with playing good rugby should be the goal. This always happens to S.A a year before the World Cup and then World Cup year our cycle starts again. The 2nd and 4th year of the respective coach/team are always the best. Jake 2005/2007, Pdv 2009/2011??
24 Nov 2010, 09:25 am
PDV has added good players to his squad over the 4 years now he just needs to bring them altogether and get them singing from the same page.
24 Nov 2010, 09:46 am
JC,
Too much energy is wasted on deliberating PdV’s suitability for the job, of his failures and that of on his assistants, suggest we drop it because its an exercise in futility.
Analysing the Village fool’s deficiencies do not serve any purpose, the guy was not appointed for his rugby coaching experience and capabilities, thus his employers will not dismiss him on the pretext of sub par performance.
Enough said
24 Nov 2010, 10:05 am
Simon #27 We do have more than two brain cells and noted that. Joe was asking you to bring it back.
24 Nov 2010, 10:05 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : Do you have the stats on SA games with Stuart **** reffing?
24 Nov 2010, 10:06 am
PA @ 52
Since the RWC started (unfortunately)
24 Nov 2010, 10:07 am
What a S H I T article.
No test is irrelevant.
EVERY test has to be WON. Bok supporters expect nothing less.
If you are winning your tests, good chance you will win the games in the RWC. Winning culture.
Plus, what benefit will fringe players add at the RWC?
24 Nov 2010, 10:08 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan) : 68 something like 2 wins out of 12
and the 2 wins are Portugal and Wales…
something like that.
Very abnormal set of results given the Boks’ average win ratio…
24 Nov 2010, 10:11 am
B’Boy @ 60
AB supporters don’t have too many lows between WC’s
24 Nov 2010, 10:14 am
If you have genuine depth, your B team might not rack up quite as many points as your A team, but they shouldn’t be so bad that they actually LOSE a test against a second-tier opponent.
But losing ANY test is unacceptable.
24 Nov 2010, 10:17 am
That the Boks would embark on a Grand Slam tour a year before the World Cup is a bungle at administrative level. No team should be expected to send full-strength squads to the north after a full year of rugby, especially just 11 months before the all-important tournament. This should be a time for testing new combinations and blooding new players.
Fail! The Kiwi’s are doing it, the wallabies are doing it, hell look at all the southern hemisphere teams touring up north right now. If they did not get sent they would have had how many games in the green and gold since their last one, excluding the EOYT before the RWC?
I think it was just before the end of the CC that the boks last played. That makes it the last game played by the boks :
Saturday 04 September 2010
South Africa 39 – 41 Australia
So from september till their next game without this EOTY, would have been when? How many months? Then we will hear once they laeve the RWC next year , they only had what 2 games? To pratice as a team for the RWC, they had no chance to blood young players. All they had was S15 rugby and no chance to play against the teams from the north. Sorry but your argument fails.
They must be on tour! They need hard games, they need to loose and often. That way they can try and fix what they have broken. Can you imagine how their kick-and-fail tactics would have left more than just egg on their faces at the RWC?
What do I know and care anyway. The RWC will be in NZ for the next four years! Even on the supersport website 75% of the people agree the boks are going to get hammered this weekend. Everybody can see it, everyone except Krusty.
24 Nov 2010, 10:19 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : this is all pretext to an axing.
the Test is “irrelevant” in that even if de Villiers wins it, it shouldn’t count in his favour when the Tour is reviewed and an assessment is made whether de villiers continues coaching the side.
24 Nov 2010, 10:20 am
This debate reads remarkably similar to the one that raged in the years prior to and right up to RWC07.
Jake White was a disaster and his very late decision to bring in Eddie Jones as an advisor was confirmation he was out of ideas to turn the team around.
We know SA won the cup, but what does that tell us? Surely not that Eddie Jones toughened the team up. Good grief SA nearly lost to Tonga and took down an England team in the final that was even more woeful than the Bok’s in their lead up form.
To me it means that form and luck on the day during the knock out stage is the only important factor in winning the RWC.
24 Nov 2010, 10:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : Spot on. These writers really think we’re as stupid as they are. I bet England won’t celebrate any less if they win and neither will the Boks. At the end of the day, those pleayers pulling on the Bok jersey want to do well, for themselves, for the team and for the country.
Last week’s game would have stung them and it will always be with them. They now need to utilize their natural ability to right the wrongs.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) :
“If you are winning your tests, good chance you will win the games in the RWC. Winning culture.”
How has that worked out for the All Blacks?
@Drlector(Drlector) : top post, you’ve exposed the daftness of jc’s thinking!
24 Nov 2010, 10:29 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) :
Ireland and Wales wont be that disheartened over their losses to us. We were poor. And they know that. Lay down a good performance is far more of threat than limply winning by the skin of your backside. We are not seen as contenders, and that was well before this tour.
24 Nov 2010, 10:35 am
@Brads(Brads) :
You are a typically thick South African. Maybe your one of those kids that managed to squeeze past the 34% requirement at school? It shows. Jake had a very successful 2004 and 2005, he had a poor TNs in 2006 when 12 players were dropping like flies. He experimented on the tour whilst resting players, and went on to have a successful 2007. All Eddie Jones did was work on the motion of the ball, if you know what that is. Our test v Tonga was the result of completely new XV taking the field, where players like Pretorius, Pienaar and Olivier bombed. and Fiji had one of the greatest performances on their history, playing to a much higher level than NZ or AUS, or any other QF team. so you are wrong their as well. Luck? LOL. That is the favourite word of those who cannot come up with any in-depth assessment of our WC win but want to sling mud at it, so vague terms get used, and then the lies and twisting of facts get done to blur the truth of what happened before 2007. No Jake basher has ever mentioned the political interference and pressure in Jake’s last years. But that’s a little to inconvenient for everyone to acknowledge.
24 Nov 2010, 10:41 am
@Brads(Brads) : you have just been instulted by your ‘intellectual superior’, bow down since you knowledge is inferior LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 10:42 am
@pompies2(pompies2) :
Natural ability isn’t enough, we’ve seen that already throughout the last three years. You need real work being done off the field, we neec better preparation, management and real tactical nous from our coaches. Until we have this, we will not be successful.
24 Nov 2010, 10:43 am
There is only one thing to be said for this test. Pride.
The boks always come out fighting when they have their backs to the wall.
Remember the last trinations game vs Aus in 2008?
24 Nov 2010, 10:44 am
” No team should be expected to send full-strength squads to the north after a full year of rugby, especially just 11 months before the all-important tournament. This should be a time for testing new combinations and blooding new players.”
I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR MONTHS NOW AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT P DIVVY SELLECTED A FULL STRENGTH SIDE FOR HIS OWN PERSONAL REASONS. HE PUT HIMSELF FIRST BEFORE THE WORLD CUP, BEFORE HIS COUNTRY. SICK I TELL YOU.
24 Nov 2010, 10:44 am
@gunther(gunther) :
Hope you do.
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong) :
Throw some HKD at it this time history is on your side.
24 Nov 2010, 10:46 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler) :
You are correct.
New guys need to be slowly blooded into the test environment.
These days a team consists of a squad of players, any one of whom may have to front up to replace a recognised first choice player.
A full strength first team needed to be taken on this EOYT, along with other players who were snapping at their heals.
Losing any match is unacceptable.
@Alucard(Alucard) :
What was successful about 05?
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck) :
True, pride is at stake, and we may yet beat England. But relying on pride and backs-to-the-wall stuff will not threaten anyone and will not get consistent or important results. I remember the dark days under Viljoen and Straeuli, every week we’d hear talk of the wounded Bok being a dangerous animal, and that we were playing for pride. Did anyone REALLY take us seriously? Of course not, and but for the odd win, we were totally humiliated.
24 Nov 2010, 10:49 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) :
Isn’t thumping Australia in three tests good enough for you? How about beating the best AB side yet? Being within seconds of winning the TNs again? Extending our unbeaten home record to two years, a record to this day? Winning our first home series against france since the 70s? Jeez boet, you take no prisoners, lol.
24 Nov 2010, 10:50 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : Look, it’s a long way back up to the top, and it’s seems even longer after the highs of last year and this year’s S14.
But I bet this team can pull it off.
The problem is the coach….es.
24 Nov 2010, 10:50 am
@JohnX(John_Psycho) : 78
NZ are a ‘special case’. They choke under the weight of pressure.
SA, like Australia, know how to do well at RWC’s.
24 Nov 2010, 10:52 am
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck) :
That’s true. Fair enough point.
24 Nov 2010, 10:53 am
but since when is a result irrelevant
where do these writers get their inspiration for such titles
WOW
@Alucard(Alucard) : I hope you don’t mind me using the AB’s as an example.
What tactical nous have the AB coaches shown? What they have successfully done is harmonising all individuals strengths into a team context. And even this isn’t as difficult as it seems. There are merely feeding off what you can call their national rugby identity, whereby all teams follow a similar playing style. Contrast this to SA, where there appears to be 3 or 4 very different styles of play, so amalgamating all these differing playing styles and harnessing player strengths into a team collective is a bit more complex.
While saying this, I’m not naive enough to deny that PDV’s got it wrong at times, but simplifying international coaching shows a lack of appreciation for what it entails, especially in SA.
@Brads(Brads) : hey 34% jake was very successful in 2004 winning 69% of his games that year and improved on that in 2005 with a 66% average and was hammpered by injuries in 2006 to a 41% win ratio! it wasn’t his fault that he had to take this team to australia and get clobbered 49-0
Springboks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynard Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 9 Ricky Januarie; 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Joe van Niekerk, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Os du Randt.
Replacements: 16 Danie Coetzee, 17 Eddie Andrews, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jacques Cronje, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Breyton Paulse.
24 Nov 2010, 10:55 am
@Alucard(Alucard) :
Thought you were referring to the Tri nations, 05′ was a very good year then when you look back for the Bokke compared to this year.
24 Nov 2010, 10:58 am
@Alucard(Alucard) :
Well there Dullard.
What on earth makes you think I am SA.
I made a statement based on what I am reading now and what was stamped out on keyboards by Bok supporters back in 2006 and 2007.
That said, winning 3 out of 10 3N matches in 2006 and 2007 was to me a little more than just depressing.
What utter nonsense – time and again teams have proved that results in the build-up to a RWC are irrelevant – England, South Africa, France and New Zealand all did so in 2007 (for example). Shouldn’t we simply be aiming to win every test we play, regardless of who we pick? We need a core of established players and as and when, we should introduce one or two new caps in to the Test arena.
We’ve got an average coaching structure for one of the proudest rugby nations in history and as a result, we play to a dire game-plan. We’ve never really had any succession plans for John Smit or that numbskull of a coach we’ve currently got. Can you imagine him being the CEO of a small company even?! He’d have been fired after his first press conference but we persist with him. It’s a shambles, as ever, at the top of Bok rugby and when we do win, it’s mostly inspite of our coaches and administrators, not because of them.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) :
Yip not good, but fortunately everybody still knows who the best team on the planet is.
24 Nov 2010, 10:59 am
Injuries during the 2006 TNs
Schalk, Bakkies, Van Niekerk, Habana, Jean, Fourie, Butch, Pretorius to name but a few. And with no real depth in place to replace them. back then Schalk was still the be all and end all of the Boks. And in sspite of all this, Jake sat before the media and took personal responsibility. No bitching at the S14 sides, no taking swipes at players or assistants, no bitching about refs, no reference to injuries, no talk of conspiracies, but took personal responsibilities. duh Failures sat in front of the journos and said we were playing great rugby in the TNs and he has no idea why we kept losing, then said that maybe it was down to a conspiracy where NZ HAD to win. He sees no fault in himself.
Also, took a full strength, settled team to the first nil at home in 119 years of Bok rugby. Let me say that again ONE HUNDRED AND NINETEEN YEARS!!!
24 Nov 2010, 11:03 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : #95 Don’t discount the importance of a win. At some point you running the risk of being over-coached and you being stuck it trying to execute game strategy and forget that the game could be as simple as you see it. So players should go out and do what they do best and what they know.
24 Nov 2010, 11:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : @96
That is the point I was making.
White was in everyone sights during the years leading into RWC07, and there was no real expectation of the team coming away with the trophy.
Anyone who suggests the build up by White is a blueprint for winning is deluding themselves.
24 Nov 2010, 11:05 am
What Krusty and his clowns dont yet understand is that rugby is more than physical running and jumping and all the other ****. It is mental and emotional as well. Once they have all three of those fine tuned then you have a balance.
The Kiwi’s “chocking” has got nothing to do with their physicality, it is a mental aspect, one I am sure they have been working on, we shall see the fruits of that at the RWC.
24 Nov 2010, 11:07 am
I think we are all taking this up the wrong way. Pdivvy, Crusty and Curly has done an awesome job over the past 3 years, How many new players have the blooded through system? Remember you first have to break them down before you can build them up again… In my eyes they Springboks are the perfect building platform for our Super rugby franchises
24 Nov 2010, 11:07 am
@pompies2(pompies2) :
Agreed, like in 2008 when we totally pumped England. Hopefully we’ll see another performance like that? Surely it can’t get any worse, but I’ll hold my tongue until after the result.
24 Nov 2010, 11:08 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : Thats what I thought. My heart skipped a beat when he ran on
24 Nov 2010, 11:09 am
@BigScrum(BigScrum) :
I agree.
You set out to win the game you are next playing.
24 Nov 2010, 11:10 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan) :Wooden Spoon. It almost stopped when we kept box kicking though
24 Nov 2010, 11:11 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : #106. Don’t hold your tongue, because then you can’t hold your thumbs. Or can you do both simutaneously?
24 Nov 2010, 11:18 am
@Brads(Brads) : two days after being pumped 49-0 jake DIDN’T blame the S14 franchises, he took responsibility
White wants more control
Jake White’s latest gripe is with the lack of
control he has over Vodacom Super 14
franchises in this country, and how it
effects the Springboks.
The fact that he has no say of who plays
where in terms of both position and
franchise is, as he says, to the detriment of
the national game.
“Things can’t work if the Springbok flyhalf
plays fullback for his franchise, the
openside flank plays on the blindside, the
inside centre at outside centre and the
props are played out of position too, ” White
told the media in Wellington.
White used the systems in place in New
Zealand as a example to illustrate his point.
The Kiwis have had a stronghold on Super
Rugby since it ’s inception in 1996, and have
also dominated the international game for
over a decade.
“So we must be crazy not to see the
benefits in their system, from which they
are getting a lot more return than us,” said
White.
“New Zealand contract all their top players.
So when players like Mils Muiliaina and
Byron Kelleher are told to move to another
franchise, they become better players and
New Zealand get more competitive teams.
“Every decision is based on the good of the
All Blacks team.”
White may have raised an inherently valid
point. But what do these statements
suggest for the Boks chances at the World
Cup next year? Even if he is given the
power to control the placement and
positioning of players next year, that only
leaves a few months to mould a side at the
conclusion of the Sanzar tournament.
More pertinently, what do these statements
suggest for the Tri-Nations this year?
“Against New Zealand and Australia, when
we get it wrong it will really go wrong
unless we get the systems in place.
“I don’t want to make it sound like all doom
and gloom, but the Super 14 is the basis on
which I pick from and the five franchises
have not performed well.”
Say what he wants, it doesn’t get much
gloomier than that. The Bok coach has just
given us the reason for failing, not just
against Australia, but in the Tri-Nations
before the Boks have even played their
second match.
This entry was posted on Monday, July
17th, 2006
no BLAME LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 11:19 am
Forget who the coaches were, just ask the question what has our win% percentage been against the top 5 nations in rugby the last 5 years? How many times have we beaten the AB’s;Wallabies;France;England and lets say Ireland in the last 5=10 years and how many times have we lost, irrespective of who the coach was. This ought to tell you if,first of all the other nations have overtaken us in developing players (physically as well as skillfully) during the professional era, overaken us in playing structure and culture and lastly whether or not we have the depth we think we have at International level.
Someone please show me I am wrong in my assumptions that the above is true.
24 Nov 2010, 11:21 am
@phil72(phil72) :
Are you kidding? Selections since 2008:
Failed: Watson, Mujati, Bobo, Britz, Odwa, Conradie, Odwa, Jantjes, Louw, Grant, Nokwe, Januarie, Bekker, Kirchner, Chiliboy, Maku, Rubenheimer, Newman, Johnson, Rose, Hargreaves, Adams.
Successful: Beast, Morne, Brussow.
Of the three Morne was only in the squad out of pressure from the public. de Villiers stated during the team unvailing that he was lucky, and has to date refused to credit him for his contribution in 2009, every time he was asked, he went off about Pienaar. And Brussow was forced upon him, as he had few options, and even then de Villiers repeatedly tried to replace him with Roussouw.
Players out of Position: Pienaar (10, 15), Frans (10, 13, 15), Jean (wing), Smit (3), Roussouw (6), Kankowski (6), Kirchner (13), Olivier (wing), Adi (wing), Butch (12), Morne (15), Spies (7), Potgieter (6), BJ (1), Adi (12), de Jongh (12).
We’re sure following in NZ’s foot steps, breaking our team down is definitely the way to go. de Villiers inherited a good, settled team, all he had to do was blend in new blood. But he couldnt even do that. Utter fail! We are not even close to being on the right path.
24 Nov 2010, 11:24 am
I see that PDV says there is nothing wrong with the Bokke game plan its the execution that sucks. Well that means we can look forward to more rugby without the ball.
24 Nov 2010, 11:24 am
Wat ek dink v JWhite is onbelangrik.
Wat belangrik is dat hy het sy kant gebring.
Respek = WC2007.
As Snorre dit ook doen in WC11 sal ek ook so sê!
24 Nov 2010, 11:26 am
113. Alucard(Alucard)
Now imagine the players coming back from the international circus tour and going back to their respective provinces with all the systems in place, professional coaches etc. They must think it is heaven, no wonder we have been performing so well in SUPER RUGBY over the past few years…
24 Nov 2010, 11:27 am
I honestly wish you guys would get over your rugby stats and percentages , great it might be awesome to reflect back on, but what does it really help? Does it not highlight the failures of the past, more than the success’s?
It is the same as practising for years to be able to hit a golf ball as far as possible, great you can hit the ball far and hard, pity you can putt for **** when it counts… It is all about balance.
24 Nov 2010, 11:28 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) :
We were overtaken in terms of coaching from 99. From then on rugby has developed immensely, and it started with Jake in the recovery process, but under him our Super rugby was pathetic and it was only in 2007 when foreign coaches got involved that they had improved nearly instantly. Our rugby, domestically is at a better state than it ever was, and our skill levels are outstanding. But we went the other way with the Boks, going backwards with de Villiers, so it’s not showing at test level. Coaching has always been the biggest weakness in SA rugby, it’s better now than it was a few years ago, but it’s still far from great.
24 Nov 2010, 11:28 am
@Alucard(Alucard) :
I thought you had a comprehensive database on all matters Springboks?
Did you forget how Jake tried to blackmail SA Rugby in 2006 by making himself available for the England coaching job? How he blamed fans, the media and the rugby administrators of this country of being cowards by not backing him when things were tough?
Did you forget how he threatened Dale Granger on the 2006 Tri-Nations tour telling him that Nigel McGurk was one of his mates (a KES old-boy) and that he received sms’ from him telling him (Jake) that he will sort them (media out) – for the people out there, McGurk was one of the self-confessed hitmen that killed Brett Kebble.
Did you forget how he referred to Solly Tyibilika as a transformation player when he was selected for the NZ test after the Brisbane (49-0) hammering?
Should I go on?
24 Nov 2010, 11:33 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : Thats my concern I don’t see our players doing the basics at International level i.e taking the ball at pace; offloading in the tackle; running supporting lines even passing the ball accurately. If we cannot do these things properly how are we going to get players to think of strategy and game plans or perhaps its too much focus on the latter thats affecting the basics. I honestly do not know.
24 Nov 2010, 11:33 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
Actually Jake made himself available in 2007 after he was ousted. So what’s your problem? and wasnt solly a quota? I think he definitely was. Where has Solly been the last four five years? LMAO. As for the threat, where’s the proof?
Please do go on, there’s nothing but hot hair this far in your post.
24 Nov 2010, 11:35 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : klink soos n sepie!
@bananaboy(bananaboy) :
It’s the result of confusion. They are struggling to do anything as a unit. Hesitancy in knowing who is where and doing what results in errors, particularly when you are facing the two best teams in the world!
117. Drlector(Drlector)
I have given this a lot of thought… Now how can we go about transforming golf in South Africa… Any thoughts on that?
24 Nov 2010, 11:36 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : you are mistaken, jake never blamed referees, he took responsibility
Honiss hammers White
New Zealand referee Paul Honiss was in no
rush to excuse Jake White ’s outburst after
the Boks lost 49-0 to Australia.
White blamed Honiss’s refereeing and said
the referee blew South Africa out of the
game.
Honiss, awarded 13 penalties to Australia
and six to South Africa, said the Boks have
got off lightly.
Responding to White’s criticism, he said:
“Who am I, the scapegoat for this week?
Obviously to Jake White. If they’re going to
point the finger at me then they’re
obviously not focusing on the right things
for next week.”
Honiss said the the Boks’ rush defence was
to blame for the penalties.
“That rush defence of theirs wasn’t
working,” he said.
“I had an IRB (referees)
selector (assessing the game) … he said you
had five penalties for that (off-side) in the
first half, you could have doubled it. He said
you couldn ’t back down because if you backed down they would have walked all
over you. ”
This entry was posted on Sunday, July 16th,
24 Nov 2010, 11:38 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : Yes, and he also left his wife for another good looking lassie. Oh, and he also arrived pissed at a function where he was supposed to be MC. So, lets take him to the town square and take off his head because he also knew a guy who knew a guy who killed Brett Kebble…………..
24 Nov 2010, 11:40 am
Yet again kuckle trail Transformation cannot read. Jake took responsibility for the entire TNs campaign dunder-nut. Obvuously you were in the same class as Malema when you both flunked the 34% pass requirement at school. But at least you can cut and paste, LOL.
24 Nov 2010, 11:41 am
@Alucard(Alucard) :
No he made himself available in 2006 already… And it backfired badly.
Quote:
The RFU (England’s rugby administration) has shortlisted an impressive number of candidates for their elite ‘Director of Rugby’ position. One of them is Jake White. The Poms favour Sir Clive Whingeward, but word round the campfire is the Woodie digs Jake and is looking to involve him in England rugby.After the RFU confirmed they were talking to Jake White, he said :
“Yes, it’s fair to say that I’m at the crossroads and might not be Springbok coach for much longer.”
This would see White be in direct opposition to the team he coaches now at the 2007 World Cup. And we’re in the same group as England again.
“There are people in South African rugby who pledge their support, but sometimes you think it is just lip service. If we had won on Saturday they would all have come to the dressing room, stood in a circle and maybe put out a press release saying we’re backing the coach until the World Cup.
“Instead, we lost, and you look around and realise there are some who are still with you, and others who have fled to the hills.”
Dale Granger situation:
On the flight from Wellington to Sydney, after South Africa had lost the second test to New Zealand, I approached White, sitting next to captain John Smit, to discuss the way things were going, after he had spat the dummy in public a few days earlier, having just escaped the guillotine.
“Have you heard of Nigel McGurk?” said White. I said no.
“Well why don’t you check him out?” said White. “He is a KES [King Edward School, Joburg] old boy.”
“What are you saying?” I asked.
“I get SMSes all the time [from McGurk] offering to sort you okes [the media] out,” he replied.
“Jake”, I said, “Don’t threaten me.” At that point Smit chipped in: “Hey guys. Just calm down.”
So much for hot air hey?
See unlike you I am actually interested in fact, and not inflated opinion about oneself.
No point in carrying on, your posts is all the proof anyone needs – please do carry on covering yourself in glory.
Ciao
24 Nov 2010, 11:42 am
@Staal(Staal) :
Staal, I like White moer baie actually.
Punt wat ek maak is actually doners eenvoudig.
Hoe meer dinge verander in SA rugby, hoe meer bly dit dieselfde…
24 Nov 2010, 11:43 am
that World Cup 2007 is a farce its clouded everyone’s vision to reality
White had a less than mediocre record outside the Wc and against top 5 nations
White defeated New Zealand 3 times from 10 starts 30% success
He lost 49-0 to Australia, only 2 WC players not in that squad that lost in Brisbane being Botha and Burger, every last other front line player including Os Smit Matfield Smith Van Niekerk Januarie FdP De Villiers Fourie played that game and got trounced 49-0
White lost 3 from 4 vs France, never beat Ireland away, beat England only once away, never beat New Zealand away.
Whites real win % against top 5 nations NZ Aussie France Ireland England was around 44% that’s how he should be measured not by striking it lucky at a Wc where nobody above rank 6 bothered pitching up.
If these fools like Draconian Dracula want to keep on bullsh’ting themselves that White was the real deal while he couldn’t achieve f’all till he got a proper coach like Eddy Jones to take the coaching reigns, then only idiot he’s fooling is himself. De Villiers record against top 5 rank teams still way above that of White and then some.
24 Nov 2010, 11:44 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
Beautiful
24 Nov 2010, 11:45 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
all Jake said is that he might not be Bok coach for much longer, and the RFU approached Jake.
as for the other point, where’s your proof? I don’t consider hear-say or he said/she said nonsense to be proof.
Hot air, again.
Dr Phil
Non white golf balls?
@Alucard(Alucard) : LMAO when did i pass matric? LMAO where did Jake take responsibility, i have shown you two pieces from 2006 where Jake BLAMES others for his losses… bring the proof LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 11:47 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : Yeah but when last did you see us dominate the opposition through clever rugby and totally annihilate them like the AB’s seem to be doing to all and sundry. (incl SA when you look at the NZ 3N’s tests). The first test against the B&I Lions (i.e.in the first 60 ) was the best performance I’ve seen in a long time by the Boks and comparative to what the AB’s show on a regular basis.
@gunther(gunther) :
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
Granger was a twat, still is but then again, so was JC at times.
24 Nov 2010, 11:48 am
Pisser
I would have also threatened Grave Danger with a hitman.
The guy is full of it.
I believe he has moved to Oz.
He will fit right in.
24 Nov 2010, 11:50 am
@Alucard(Alucard) : 132 “RFU approached Jake”??? Come on… Snake was pimping his services to all and sundry…
24 Nov 2010, 11:51 am
@Alucard(Alucard) :
Ever heard about the saying that goes something like; ‘Better to remain silent and being thought a fool than speak out and confirm it?’
There is no need for me to carry on with anything on this thread anymore, your posts are doing all the work themselves.
I will just sit back and enjoy.
24 Nov 2010, 11:53 am
@gunther(gunther) :
He is in NZ and still a prick of note, you right, he will fit right in there, good riddens.
24 Nov 2010, 11:54 am
@gunther(gunther) : Irrespective of what Granger was like that was no way for a Bok coach to react , it smacks of a bully who can only get his way by threatening folks.
@askanaz1(askanaz1) :
Of course the Boks were only successful because of Eddie Jones, look how they played like australia under Jones’s obvious leadership! LMAO
Jake thumped Eddie Jones 3 tests in 2006 which got Jones fired. Remember that?
What you also faile to mention is that Jake had to overturn alot of wrongs. In beating Nz for the first time since 99, in bearing ENG for the first time since 2000, in beating Australia away for the first time since 98, beating France for the first time since 2000, and many other things like building a two year unbeaten home record Jake BUILT a new culture for the Boks. Unlike you imbeciles I actually have a balanced view of Jake. I stated that he made mistakes, he wasnt perfect, but he did far more good than bad. He improved the fitness and discipline of the Boks from an utter rabble. Restored consistency and respect for the jersey rather than the any tom **** and harry comes in like revolving doors. What he left beind was a perfectly functioning team, one that quota has destroyed. You cannot appreciate what Jake achieved because you are a one-eyed gimp. and the likes of Transformation cannot accept him because the quota that boasted that he would be the best coach yet has failed spectacularly, thus taking swipes at Jake to make de Villies look better. How very sad. But all this keeps resurfacing and round and round it goes. If you dont like Jake, and if you dont want to appreciate the last good era of Bok rugby, then that’s your choice. We’ve made our opinions known and I’d rather concentrate on duh Failures tenure as that’s the present. This is the last time I’m going to be dragged back into another pointless argument about Jake. It’s getting ridiculous now.
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : 135… But that 1st Test was nearly farked up by the PdV/Tricky Dicky shoot-themselves-in-foot substitutions… You would think they would have learned from that… They still haven’t!
Having said that, it was a great match!
24 Nov 2010, 11:55 am
133. gunther(gunther)
Good idea!
Now if only SA rugby administrators had this much insight….
24 Nov 2010, 11:56 am
Easy, golf clubs in all the townships for starters. NOT golf courses but golf clubs, each club then registers at a local golf course. There they identify themselves as previusoly disadvantaged, and should thus be entitled to some form of discount or goverment/sports subsidy.
Lets say instead of paying R100 as example for playing 18 holes they only pay R50 and the goverment/sports clowns subsidise the other amount. That way everyone pays the same amount of money to enjoy the same facilities. If people arrive in there thousands and they pay less, lets say they only pay the R50, less money will be available for the maintanance and upkeep on the venue facilities.
This is as much a goverment and sports initiative as it is a public one. Dont forget the gold courses also have people to pay and bills to be paid, so they cant just do it for free. They can have golf clinics at the golf courses presented and coached by both black and white coaches, this will ensure than the requirements to the local languages are also met and translated, rather than lost in translation. Give the kids a chance if they are compitent enough in English they will have a better repore(sic) with the white coach maybe.
Give them the chance, make gold clubs the responsibility of the area that they live in, then create the infrustructure for them, not the other way around. Supply and demand. no demand in Polokwane for example, divert hose funds and efforts to Soweto then.
24 Nov 2010, 11:56 am
White wanted the Engeland job bad he was punting for it big time from 06, if they’d have considered him he would have been gone quick as you can say fiddled sticky wickets, that’s how much of a 2 face patriot that second grade Charlatan is. Since the Wc he tried Australia, England, Ireland and others including possibilities at clubs like Sarries and Leicester and got turned down, then he turned his attention to trying to destabilizing Boks and aiming at usurping his old hunting ground back but even his own Wc players of 2007 wanted nothing of it,.
24 Nov 2010, 11:57 am
“twickers result is irrelevant”
what absolute rubbish
24 Nov 2010, 11:59 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy) :
Oh please, so you have never told someone to take his mouth and lick his butt hole. Listen, Granger was a real prick; he had it in for Jake since day one just to create media drama. I would have done the same, Jake was not perfect but Granger was born a wan@er.
24 Nov 2010, 12:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) :
Or the fact that they ripped through adi and that put our defence under tremendous pressure, but de Villiers refused to sub the useless Adi and instead subbed Jean for Fourie, and moved at to 12 where his useless defence could be even more exposed! LOL. We went 5 tests in 2009 without making a single line break. The Boks were utterly impotent but for the final quater of the 2nd Lions test.
24 Nov 2010, 12:04 pm
@cab(cab) : 148. You right. It isn’t. I think its going to be a Pommy pummelled paddwhack for the Boks… Lineouts may be a marginal advantage for the Boks, but that driving maul is going to be met, the all too predictable loosie drives in midfield will be stopped… and then what… Do you think the Bok backs are suddenly going to turn on the magic after three games as passengers/tackle bags/kicking robots…Bok backs when receiving the ball are going to kick it down the throats of a dangerous back three…
It ain’t gonna be pretty!!!
24 Nov 2010, 12:04 pm
146. Drlector(Drlector)
Great ideas, but this could take forever, how can we fast track this program?
24 Nov 2010, 12:05 pm
That’s after the Boks try batter into them ball in hand. They always revert to kicking when they fail to use the ball in hand to break down a defence.
24 Nov 2010, 12:06 pm
151. Heavens Game(Heavens Game)
would love to hear the calls off the back 3 when they getting bombarded with the high balls… Not me.. not me.. not me
24 Nov 2010, 12:07 pm
i’m expecting a Bok team that is going to play like they did against ireland, and even better, that all XV are going to play to their utmost – if not, get rid of the lot, and leave PdV in charge. If they play to their potentiation, the Boks will win. Play positive rugby tho, dont play off englands mistakes and counterpunch, take them on, and when the booing starts, play even harder, fair but hard.
24 Nov 2010, 12:08 pm
I disagree with thisw obsession of developing ‘new and exciting talent’ – we have the players to hand in abundance … it’s in the coaching area alone that we need ‘the new and exciting talent’ – moreover, we need to blood existing players – in other words the best possible team – against England … of course we do: for the practice of playing a world-class side on the up in difficult conditions, as much as anything.
We cannot afford another slaughter – unless it has the higher objective of changing the coaching squad … and, if that is the objective, SA Rugby is portrayed at its most dysfunctional …
24 Nov 2010, 12:08 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy) : By the way I cannot criticize Jake as I’ve done the same thing in the past, doesn’t make it right though particularly if you are in a high profile position.
24 Nov 2010, 12:10 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : 153. I mentioned that with the “loosie drives in midfield”… Its continual… or alternatively a 15m-20m driving maul followed by an exciting boxkick to an England player under no pressure… The problem is I doubt the Bok driving maul will make 15-20m against England… maybe 5-10m, no more…
24 Nov 2010, 12:11 pm
i’m a firm believer thats its the players not the coach, virtually all the time, and its quite easily confirmed by watching their mood when they play. i dont mind losing, but to lose without a decent fight – well that is the antithesis of the Springbok and if they more worried about money or their own vainglory – get rid of them and put in some players with hunger.
Phil72.
You cant Divvy has tried the same as you suggest and failed. Have a look at how many players in the bok team back line have played in almost every position other than their preferred position. Their is no short, quick fire solution to success, only to failure.
@Fidget(Fidget) : fidget see response 157
24 Nov 2010, 12:12 pm
@cab(cab) :
Leave Bleater duh Failures in charge but get rid of the players? LMAO. You live in a fantasy world. de Villiers has cycled through many players, and come up with the same disaster every time. We’ve had every combination of loosies imaginable but still failure. Why would players make a difference to structural flaws? You can have any player in the world for the Boks, but if they are having the same structures imposed, they’ll fail every time. Stormers had the best defence in Super rugby history, but now they defend like the Lions? Isn’t that a little suspicious to you? In fact, the way the Boks are playing reflects Muir, not duh Failures, so it puts Beater duh Failures boasts of being die baas into question. As he is obviously just a puppet.
24 Nov 2010, 12:13 pm
Strange how Jake got EJ fired in 06 then cried out for his help in 07. If it weren’t for EJ, Jake would not have won Wc07 and he’d have gone down in the annals of SA rugby at about same eulogy as Harry Viljoen or Rudy Streauli. Eddy Jones made Jake, not the other way, and Jake knows without EJ he was a nothing heading for a dismal failure after returning 2 tri nations wins in 06 and 1 in 07 by virtue of 2 Frans Steyn drop goals else it would have been 2 home wins from 10 games vs NZ and Aussie in 06 and 07
The resurrection of Bok rugby is actually not the doings of Jake White, the resurrection of Bok rugby you can lay at the feet of some Aussie brains starting with Kiss, Louden, Campese and Jones who reshaped Sa rugby starting 06 and 07 at Bulls and Sharks and Jones seeing it through to WC 07. That is where Sa rugby developed its renaissance not through White. And its now being continued by 2 Kiwis by names Plumtree and Mitchell.
24 Nov 2010, 12:14 pm
@phil72(phil72) : 154. Rather, I think Ashton, Cueto and Foden will be fighting over the balls to take turns in running it back… Thats right, England – “dour” England running it back!
24 Nov 2010, 12:16 pm
we dont want players who do ‘just enough’, who have one big game when the pressure is on their selection. we want players who bust a gut every single time. that is what being a Springbok is all about, that is why they are hero-worshipped and why they get paid the big bucks. If they no longer got the hunger and merely presevering themselves for the RWC, fire the lot, and get some new players in, loyalty is a 2-way street.
It is now time they repay some of the loyalty in the coach who has put so much of the trust in them despite many calling for a total cleanout.
160. Drlector(Drlector)
End of today’s lesson…
@heboric(heboric) : Obviously new here huh? ask those who know me what my stance on whiney supporters is, then come chat son
@cab(cab) : 155. Ireland were half asleep that game. They woke up the last 20 minutes and their backline ripped the Boks to shreds… Boks won, but if O Gara of all people didn’t miss his last kick it would have been a draw…
England won’t be half asleep like Ireland, I can guarantee you that!
24 Nov 2010, 12:17 pm
PDV says there is “no panic” – seriously what planet is this twat from??
Under-fire Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has insisted that although the team were bitterly disappointed with their loss to Scotland, they are not going to ‘panic’ and make any dramatic changes this weekend against England.
De Villiers defended his decision to make only minor alteration to his team, as he kept faith in the majority of the players involved in the lackluster performance at Murrayfield.
While ‘no panic’ is the catchphrase of the day, one could be excused for viewing the Bok coach much like a duck on a pond – all appears calm on the surface, but there must be plenty of movement under the water if he plans to fix things following last week’s shambolic display.
The Bok coach explained that hew anted to stick with the “tried and trusted” for the important clash against an England side that are on an upward curve.
“There is no panic,” De Villiers said.
“We looked at all the options but we would be stupid not to go with the tried and tested.”
No.8 Ryan Kankowski was one of only two players to be axed from the starting XV, but De Villiers was impressed with what he saw from the Sharks star.
“Ryan [Kankowski] was probably our man of the match last week, but Pierre [Spies] was [man of the match] the previous week,” he explained.
De Villiers admitted that he had been tempted to hand 20-year-old Patrick Lambie his first start in the No.10 jersey.
“It is always tempting to give a guy like him [Lambie] a start, but then again it’s not rugby only that makes the decisions for you,” he said.
“You have to consider the conditions and we will be stupid if we do not take that into consideration and not go with the tried and tested.”
The Springboks are aware that they face a resurgent England side that have turned the corner under Martin Johnson in the last six months following their mid-year tour to Australia.
“They are now a force again and it’s a hell of a worry, especially with the World Cup so close, that they are gelling as a team,” De Villiers said.
“They are very direct when they go forward and are definitely the best scrummaging side in the world. They keep the ball for phases and phases and it will be a long afternoon for us if we let them have it.”
Springbok captain Victor Matfield will be facing England for the ninth time and the tall lock has found himself on both ends of the scale.
“When I first played I think we lost five in a row against them then that turned round and we’ve had a good period,” Matfield explained..
“They are playing a great style of rugby now – they have width but they run very hard. In a way it’s much the same style as in 2003, keeping the forwards in the channels.”
There may be a cold reception for the South Africans in London with some unpleasant weather and the possibility of snow on the agenda.
“I think you have to take the weather into account. It was difficult against Scotland, the execution was poor and the decisions we made were probably wrong,” Matfield added.
“But we’ve had a good few days and taken the lessons. We need to believe in what we do out there and keep hold of the ball in the strike zone.
“We weren’t happy with the way we played, so it’s a great chance for us to redeem ourselves.”
24 Nov 2010, 12:18 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : 163. Plumtree might be a Kiwi, but he learned his rugger proper under Yoda Ian Mac… Granted, Ian Mac did get a lot of his ideas from Rod MacKenzie…
24 Nov 2010, 12:18 pm
164. Heavens Game(Heavens Game)
Same story.. the back 3,s defensive calls.. Yours, no yours no yours……
24 Nov 2010, 12:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : 170 Rod MacQueen rather…
24 Nov 2010, 12:19 pm
Cabdriver
Hungry players?
Interesting vibe.
Would certainly help franky steyn.
He is starting to look like the Michelin man.
Sacre bleu.
24 Nov 2010, 12:20 pm
The resurrection happened in 06 and 07 by foreign coaches, but we won the TNs in 04 and were seconds away from it in 05. LMAO, In die land van die blindes is die eenoog koning.
24 Nov 2010, 12:21 pm
McQueen? Now that’s a coach! He is everything that Deans wishes he was, and a damn sight better than Henry in my books.
24 Nov 2010, 12:22 pm
@phil72(phil72) : 171. lol. What do you expect from farking wingers. Ja, but it aint going to be funny with aimless Bok kicking come Saturday…
If its not Morne Steyn, it would have been Lambie doing it because the coaching team wants it done this way! They also want Donkey De Villiers being a bosh merchant… WTF
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Victor yesterday was saying that England are dangerous and they play with width and they are now keeping ball in hand and using their width…
my question was, “why aren’t you doing it? you say it id “dangerous” yet you don’t adopt it”
it’s crazy.
@gunther(gunther) : 173. Ask Cab about Frankie Steyn’s pizza parties…
24 Nov 2010, 12:23 pm
I wonder what the psychological impact it must have on younger players, when the senior (first choice) players cant even beat Scotland. How confident are they going to feel when they are selected in the starting lineup?? How much confidence can players have in a coach if the ‘best’ players cant win? What impact does that have on their self belief?
24 Nov 2010, 12:23 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA) : That gives me 14% according to your stats then, i’ll take those odds for the RWC next year if you keen, i wager that the AB’s will not win the RWC next year.
24 Nov 2010, 12:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 177. Ja Transie, I agree. But you speaking like Matfield makes these decisions… are you saying Matfield is coaching the Boks now?
24 Nov 2010, 12:25 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : Yeah a “fairly” good coach
It will be interesting to see what he does with Melbourne in next years S15…
24 Nov 2010, 12:26 pm
we shall see HG, time will tell, i assume you will be around on monday for a good paddy whacking, i aint going easy on u guys this time, there will be a roll-call, naming and shaming, take names and kick arse.
@gunther(gunther) :
yeah i think Frans has been tucking into the baguettes, but he is one of the few players who actually looks committed for 80 mins.
24 Nov 2010, 12:28 pm
It is due to snow on Saturday.
Nobody is going to be playing with width.
Alberts at 8 Kanko and spies on the wings.
Frosty the snowman at outside centre.
24 Nov 2010, 12:28 pm
“They are playing a great style of rugby now – they have width but they run very hard. In a way it’s much the same style as in 2003, keeping the forwards in the channels.”
You mean they are playing the same as they did 7 years ago? Is that a nice way of saying the boks are going to be playing the same as they have been playing since the Jurrasic period?
“I think you have to take the weather into account. It was difficult against Scotland, the execution was poor and the decisions we made were probably wrong,” Matfield added.
If you had been a free thiking person it would have taken 1 minute to figure that out for yourself. I feel sorry for Victor I really do, it cant be easy for him to suck it down.
24 Nov 2010, 12:33 pm
no wonder old cardinelli here is labelling the game as irrelevant, can u imagine how bad they all going to look if the Boks actually win?
Hell with old Tranny around cutting and posting their every word, put it this way, there’ll be no ‘rugby writer of the year’ awards. in fact, we will all have a good laugh.
Its a bit like Keo, almost 4 years ago to this date, he said it was time to get rid of JW, and now they bosom buddies.
end of the day, i dont know if the media actually believe what they write or they trying for sensation, but they going to look heeltemal dom if krusty has the last laugh.
24 Nov 2010, 12:33 pm
As much as i hate to say this, Our forward will have to dominate, we will have to try and kick into space and try and get the ball out so we can compete for the ball again. This idea of total rugby with a back line consisting of 2 donkeys a fattie and the 2 midgits…. will just not do the trick
24 Nov 2010, 12:35 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : 100
just for good measure
“Jake sat before the media and took personal responsibility. No bitching at the S14 sides, no taking swipes at players or assistants, no bitching about refs, no reference to injuries, no talk of conspiracies, but took personal responsibilities. LMAO
Fatigue factor farcical
How the hell can the Bok squad’s fitness levels be blamed for the defeat at Loftus?
That’s the latest shocker Jake White unleashed on the South African public, both after the match and when interviewed on SuperSport’s Superrugby. White said his team was running on empty and that it was something he predicted years ago.
White is blaming fatigue against an All Blacks squad who played Australia in Auckland on the Saturday and then flew to South Africa in two groups on the Sunday and Monday respectively. They trained for the first time as a group on the Tuesday afternoon and then smashed the Springboks at altitude four days later.
The Boks, for those who may have forgotten, had a fortnight back in South Africa to ready themselves for the All Blacks. And eight of the match 22 play for the Bulls and were playing at home.
White also had the team overseas for five weeks, in which time several squad players never got any game time. What was concerning, according to provincial insiders, is that several of the Boks arrived back overweight and out of shape. They were also very rested.
White keeps on blaming the supposed lack of conditioning on the provincial and regional coaches, but perhaps it is time he looks closer to home as to why he has played the same players in every test match. Here read Percy Montgomery and John Smit, in particular.
It is ridiculous to use fatigue as an excuse, just like it was outrageous when White blamed the 2004 defeat to England at Twickenham on the fact that Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger and company were physically not big enough to compete with the likes of England. Only a few months earlier the ‘physically challenged’ Boks had smashed the All Blacks at Ellis Park. It was another way of deflecting the attention off the wrong game plan strategy and tactical naivety in the cold and wet English conditions.
Conditioning was not why the Boks lost to New Zealand. Team selections, game plan and attitude were more reflective of the situation.
And for these the coach must take responsibility. Not a fitness coach.
The excuse is as weak as the attempt to describe the team that started on Saturday his B team. If so, then White needs to explain why he has played 12 of the B team exclusively this year and 10 of the ‘B’ team exclusively as his ‘A’ team last year?
Jaque Fourie played and Marius Joubert did not. I know whose the number one and it isn’t Joubert. Yet White consistently this season has thrown Joubert into the mix when he churns out the missing ‘A’ team players. Just like he talks about Gurthro Steenkamp’s absence as a trainsmash when he has always picked Os du Randt, even when Steenkamp was available.
This entry was posted on Monday, August 28th, 2006
24 Nov 2010, 12:37 pm
Is to date, the most successful coach in Australia’s rugby history! Fairly good? Wishful thinking.
24 Nov 2010, 12:38 pm
Even if the Boks win Saturday, the tri-nations and the World cup the “Dutchmen” will never be satisfied with PDV as coach.
PDV will never get credit, unless the boks lose.
He will be the coach when the Boks play in the World Cup.
If they appoint AC after the world cup. the cry will go out to appoint Meyer or Rassie as SARU Technical Director, and if the boks won its Rassie and If they Lose its AC.
24 Nov 2010, 12:43 pm
@adi(adi) :
You are a nub! Has not the ENTIRE trio taken flak? You are a typically dof pro-quota tosser. I have listed duh Failures failed selections, I have listed his poor use of the bench, his total lack of vision and that his only success was the two month period in 2009 were Plumtree fixed our breakdown problems. Nobody in the world rates duh failures, and when he ran in typical quota fashion to rope in more help to do his job, they turned im down. We just had the worst TNs in history with a very good group of players! Easily the best in our history. Is that acceptable to you? The only thing you see is a non-white coach and the need to stick with him no matter what, because you want to stick it to the whites. The likes of you are not required in this country. Crawl into a hole in central Africa and rot in the squaller that you support in SA.
24 Nov 2010, 12:48 pm
You are so in Love with White, are you not his love child.
24 Nov 2010, 12:50 pm
The “result is irrelevant” ?
Are the Springboks the new-England ?!
this from a nation who hung it’s hat on the Result is the Only Thing That Matters.
Think of the gold watches that have been sacrificed and, now, will be consigned to the scrapheap.
24 Nov 2010, 12:51 pm
the other two got flack when they were bok coaches. People suddenly hate john, matfield and steyn.
24 Nov 2010, 12:52 pm
@adi(adi) : dude thats so insulting and totally unnecessary. Its unfortunate that if you look at the stats and records that PDV is not a very good coach and its unfortunate if you look at the stats and the records that Meyer is a better coach than AC. It has nothing to do with race. I doubt that most people would prefer Rassie above AC. AC has world cup experience etc. Why would you ****** about race when its not even relevant???
24 Nov 2010, 12:56 pm
Boks are winning Saturday its already written in the ether so that schmuckaby babies like Herr HG and his Draconian Count can start counting their lucky stars and bemoaning and b’tching their poor sorry sad state that they still stuck with Bleatah De Villiers another whole year (or 4) imagine he wins the Wc and they reinstate him to 2015, won’t it be just jolly rodger goody galloping golliwogs then, you can cry and bleat another whole 5 years about crusty the quota clown.
24 Nov 2010, 12:57 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : 189. Hey numbnut, thats why “fairly” was in sarky quotes…
24 Nov 2010, 12:57 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : How many times can you still recycle the “gold watch” troll? Come on now, be innovative, I know you can. And remember: Im watching you…
24 Nov 2010, 12:58 pm
@adi(adi) : and youre racist too. if you consider all ‘********’ to be racist then you are a bigot and a damn racist.
24 Nov 2010, 12:59 pm
@cab(cab) : hahahaha they’re going for sensation Cabby…
24 Nov 2010, 13:03 pm
@adi(adi) : pdv should’ve resigned on saturday chap, not because we lost to scotland, but the way the team was clueless! even the EP Kings would’ve played better than that kak!
24 Nov 2010, 13:03 pm
@adi(adi) : 190. Apologist for incompetence… one or two results another way, include losses against Leicester and Sarries and voillez, PdV’s record is 1% better than Straeulis….
Wake the fark up!
And ps, I don’t care much for Jake the Snake, I prefer Mallet and the great Kitchie…
Btw, why don’t you compare PdV’s record with Mallet’s, both are at 38 games… Mallet has a 10% superior win %…
You won’t because you are obsessed with the fact that this “must” be a race thing… Dunce
24 Nov 2010, 13:04 pm
@adi(adi) : Your are a sad man!
Tell me something are you perhaps Adi Jacobs?
Clarify this: I heard Pdv was forced to chose Zane @ 13 against Ireland because you (Adi Jacobs) are to fat and lazy and was not able to complete training?
24 Nov 2010, 13:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : on the park, yes he makes the decisions. this is what pdv WANTS ‘player responsibility’…unless the have NEVER practised or been coached to play that way then i can accept Matfield not knowing what to do…
24 Nov 2010, 13:08 pm
I agree with ADI, unfortunately our nation is served to total bias rugby writers. The racist opinion of the minority is reported as fact, when in truth the facts represented in stats reveal the PDV is one the the most successful coaches of the top four rugby nations. This might just be to hard for the white minority to accept.
24 Nov 2010, 13:08 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : 196. Yeah “its already written”… in the stars?? Thats the only these poor players are going to win… It aint going to be due to the genius of TrickyDicky, Goldilocked or PdV… I can tell you that! Already it seems Matfield is making all the calls, onfield and off… He has to because nobody else is… And he is farking up because there are players in the Bok squad that don’t play like the Bulls because they haven’t been together in the Bulls setup.
Wake up, ask an aryan…
24 Nov 2010, 13:09 pm
@Gunter 184.
On a sad note.
While we spend all day on here debating if Boks will turn over the Poms. The AB’s taking Wales to the woodsheds,or should P Divvy,resign or be fired.
Spare a thought for the 3 members of Blaketown RFC, a 17 year old on his first day at work.The New Zealanders,Scotsmen.Australians,and a South African. among the 29 lives lost in the Pike River mine disaster,in New Zealand. early this morning.
Such a tragic event, that puts other matters into perspective including saturdays games.
24 Nov 2010, 13:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : **** muir was the coach vs sarries and leicester.
24 Nov 2010, 13:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 204. Ja, ja. Sounds great in theory, but if a player doesn’t know better than what he knows from his Provincial setup in terms of a coherent strategy, tactics, technique then obviously that is the way he’s going to call it. He definitely ain’t getting it from the Bok 3 “wise” men. And the Captain is going to fark up – expecting JdV to be a crash ball specialist, and Pienaar to be a Fourie Du Preez, or Aplon to be a Kirchner… Its a farking mess…
Just to play a bit of devil’s advocate…
Why is there so much talk about winning percentages and comparisons with other coaches, when a high winning percentage is clearly not the main goal?
@geo(geo) : come on chap, yeah the media has had the knives out for pdv but there’s no excuse for the putrid performance against scotland! that is kak whether u’re black or white and it is equally embarrassing, no?!
24 Nov 2010, 13:13 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : 208. That figures. No different to now. Pdv abdicating authority… and responsibility… All the coaches seem to have done that now… and it shows!
24 Nov 2010, 13:15 pm
@willievz(willievz) : what is the main goal?
24 Nov 2010, 13:16 pm
@PaulLondon(PaulLondon) : 207. Yeah. A tragedy! I hope all the Kiwis on this site have not lost a loved one or know of someone affected. If they have, condolences chaps.
24 Nov 2010, 13:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 213 Winning the World Cup.
24 Nov 2010, 13:19 pm
@PaulLondon(PaulLondon) :
yes indeed.
a tragedy.
@geo(geo) : i doubt that you and adi would be so outspoken if PDV was white. You fail to look at rugby facts and see people who criticize a non white coach as racist and that is exactly the reason why PDV is still in charge, because of that sensitive mindset. If he was white he would have been fired ages ago. Please go and find somewhere else to cry about the unfair ‘white people’.
@willievz(willievz) : 210. Ja, Willie. You up to mischief now
The percentages show trends or progress leading up to the main goal. However, these trends are downward and there is no end in sight… This market bubble has burst… The “candlestick” has exploded or burnt out…
24 Nov 2010, 13:21 pm
are geo and adi cousins?
24 Nov 2010, 13:23 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Maybe even cousins of PDV!
24 Nov 2010, 13:24 pm
RUGBY’S COACHING JOKE (Chris Rattue)
You would think that a loss to Scotland, under any circumstances, would force South Africa to have a rethink about Peter de Villiers continuing as the Springboks’ coach.
Going into this season, the Boks looked well positioned to set up a mighty dynasty. Instead, they have crumbled.
De Villiers is a political appointment in the tricky and sometimes depressing world of post-apartheid South Africa. That aside, he is the biggest coaching joke in international sport, having brought a mighty machine to a grinding halt.
And yet, come a big day in the World Cup, you still wouldn’t write off the old enemy.
24 Nov 2010, 13:26 pm
Unless, of course, you believe in the conspiracy that the Bok players did not pitch up in 2010 mentally and instead focus too much on the 2011 extravaganza…
24 Nov 2010, 13:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I agree it was a bad performance against Scotland, but none worse than 2002 or 2006. But under PDV we’ve beaten the French, All Blacks and Ireland away, which the two previous coaches couldn’t do, but I don’t remember any such backlash from the media, unfortunately a certain section of the rugby supporting public, which also represents a minority grouping in our country seem to enjoy riding this bandwagon. I feel common sense has given way to allow frustrations to be vented and the springbok coach is a easy target.
24 Nov 2010, 13:27 pm
@Two Eyed(Two Eyed) :
Given what Rattue wrote about the All Blacks 12 months ago, he is a joke.
You think the boys on Keo are bad?
This maniac takes the cake.
Ok so let’s break this down into bite sized chunks.
Q: What is rugby: A: Basically a sport
Q: Who is sport most aimed at these days? A: The spectators of course.
Q: What, to the spectators (target market) of SA Rugby, is the most important? Winning the WC only or winning as many games as possible so as to install national pride in our brand, country and, of course, to entertain. A: The latter obviously.
So, how does any rugby match become irrelevant in that context?
Ridiculous.
I am sure PDV and Muir and Gold can turn it around next year.
24 Nov 2010, 13:28 pm
I don’t really care about all these historical facts about ex coaches who will obviously never coach a Bok team again. Currently we have a serious problem with our existing structures.
The highlight of our season thus far was beating Italy twice in a row at home.
On the negative side we look like a bunch of schoolboys coached by the head cheerleader(a very ugly one). We have players taking banned substances and trying to excuse this by saying nobody checked the energy drink. Oh yes Pdivvy did try and recruit a few proper assistant coaches, but none of them want to work with him(this on its own says quite a bit). We don’t even want to get in to his media outbursts, is just to embarrassing…
Now tell me again that we have problems?
24 Nov 2010, 13:29 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy) :
does that come with a powerpoint presentation?
24 Nov 2010, 13:32 pm
@Jeez(Jeez) : refer to posting to Transformation.
24 Nov 2010, 13:32 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Yeah, and with pictures too. I sent it to Cardinelli but it got returned, marked spam.
24 Nov 2010, 13:33 pm
@geo(geo) : Drop your obsession with colour bro!
The Stats dont lie!
24 Nov 2010, 13:34 pm
iori Yagami(#226) – They have been saying that for a while.
Have you noticed, under PDV the Boks do perform between the sublime and pathetic:-
Thumped England 46-6(2008)
2 wins in NZ
1 B&ILions
1 3N
And then some big *** losses!
24 Nov 2010, 13:36 pm
careful.
you will get an email.
or worse still they will ban you and you will end up like skopskiet.
parents will make their children avert their eyes and cross to the other side of the street when they see you.
24 Nov 2010, 13:42 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : @ 198
just think of the recipes that ole Ma’ Soo Zee will no longer pass down to her grandchildren. Tragic.
All this because results are, now, “irrelevant” in SA.
@gunther(gunther) : In all fairness, that has nothing to do with the e-mail. Rather blame the fact that he is on the s.ex pest register. Number 14 of 1376.
ADI and GEO , you both have my sympathy, when someone falls and his only form of defense is the color of his skin it just goes to show how little South Africans have progressed since “The New South Africa” . You know you are really at the bottom of the barrel when you have to make use of skin color.
I take it you see AC as a failure because the WP lost to the Sharks in the CC final? The sharks being coached by a white man must have hurt you deeply then. I saw him and still do see him as a failure because of how Eddie changed what was AC’s in the Bok team for so long, and the changes were immediate and for all to see. CC and otherwise, he is a likealbe chap, he has a good command of both afrikaans and english.
He is the kind of person who brings new insights to the park and one who is open to new idea’s. Yet he still believes in the values of what history has taught the world, and the game of rugby. You idolise Krusty so much you have put him above the game of rugby, in an ivory tower. You see him as a great person looking down at everyone, I see him as a clown trapped in a high tower.
Please get over yourself, racism is sooo 1980′s.
24 Nov 2010, 13:43 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) : Better!
24 Nov 2010, 13:44 pm
@gunther(gunther) : LOL yes. I must say, I’m rather curious what, in Skops largely incoherrant, but remakably consistant rantings, promted them to ban him, when he’s been the flag bearer for inappropriateness for some time now? I mean what was the so called “staw” that broke the camel’s back? Which “fuckadilly” was it?
I’ll have to change my nic to something psuedo intellectual (but not) like dracula spelled backwards or something…….
24 Nov 2010, 13:45 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
Were is Grant10? Has he been banned? Haven’t seen him on here for ages…
24 Nov 2010, 13:45 pm
WHO OH WHY!!!! ..are people always getting on the race defensive??!! The wrongs of the past should be exactly that – the past! I for one would over the moon if Allister Coetzee replaced PDiv… any replacement really!
24 Nov 2010, 13:46 pm
Two things to bear in mind with regard to Jake. Firstly, in the 4 years since the world cup, damn nearly every time a coaching position has become available, Jake has “made himself available”, whether it’s a national team or the Putsonderwater Girls u10 team, and nobody wants to employ him. A world cup winnning coach, nogal! This is because he is a kak coach.
Secondly he is also a kak person. Making it clear to his bosses that he had no intention of coaching the boks after the world cup, and whining like a little girl when they offered the job to someone else (this after “making himself available” for the England job the year before. Isn’t it embarrassing when you keep “making yourself available” for various positions and nobody is even vaguely interested?). Trying to muscle in on PdV’s position when PdV was in exactly the same boat as Jake was a few years ago is the behaviour of a ****.
“But he instilled pride and discipline back into Bok rugby!” I hear you cry. Big deal. Since Afrikaners are pretty much born with pride in the Bok jersey, and through continual childhood beatings discipline is usually not a problem either, you actually have to go quite a long way to f*ck it up (thanks, Straeuli). My grandmother could have restored pride and discipline to Bok rugby, and she’s dead! Jake may have been a milllion times better than Straeuli, but he’s just as kak a coach as PdV, which is why their coaching records at junior Bok level and senior Bok level are almost identical.
24 Nov 2010, 13:47 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : I think Grant10 is John Smits wife, she wanted him home so beetched none stop, now he is home. Where is PDiv’s wife when you need him! ( :
24 Nov 2010, 13:48 pm
like the bloggers last week who said he “had a feeling” Snorre wil “turn it aound” vs the Scotts.
24 Nov 2010, 13:48 pm
@willievz(willievz) : 222. All I believe in is a downward trend now…
24 Nov 2010, 13:49 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : A few restraining orders and everyone jumps to conclusions.
24 Nov 2010, 13:50 pm
Ja I must agree…. ‘Stormersboy’ does have a rather *** slant to it
24 Nov 2010, 13:50 pm
The only way we will with RWC11 is if Eng give us a beating…I hate to see it as I endured 8 long hard years in London without a Bok win but a big hiding is what we need…
24 Nov 2010, 13:51 pm
i hate to break it to you, but both white and pdv have very similar coaching records, and neither are anywhere near the worst of our history, in fact, both are nearer the top.
so what are we expecting?
@Bod(bod) :
g a y
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : 239 G10 has left the site. some impersonator was insulting his kids and partner and he decided enough’s enough.
24 Nov 2010, 13:52 pm
why is this debate about JWhite?
24 Nov 2010, 13:53 pm
@Bod(bod) : Yeah, but “Bod” is totally straight….
24 Nov 2010, 13:53 pm
@Drlector(Drlector) : If you have to expierence racism like I, you would understand that racism isn’t something of the 80′s but people like you who live in total ignorance have kept it alive and even more damaging today.
24 Nov 2010, 13:55 pm
Ah okay.
24 Nov 2010, 13:56 pm
It was the female species that gave me that nic… nothing I can do about that…
24 Nov 2010, 13:56 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther) :
well it will be another excuse to strike off your list for next year.
and if you don’t get wayne barnes…
then you are pretty much stuck with global warming or the intrasigence of global financial institutions.
things aren’t looking good.
24 Nov 2010, 13:57 pm
@geo(geo) : The only person keeping it up is people like you who have to make every debate about race.
This is exactly the problem…politics in sport.
Why do you have to link sports with politics?
24 Nov 2010, 13:58 pm
I think Bod is ironic
kind of like calling gio aplon slapchips.
or calling Bakkies “the Brain”.
24 Nov 2010, 13:59 pm
@Staal(Staal) :
its called deflection.
24 Nov 2010, 14:00 pm
Anyone watching this paint drying they call a cricket test match at the moment??
I think I would rather watch the PVR of last Saturdays Scotland game…
24 Nov 2010, 14:00 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
24 Nov 2010, 14:01 pm
@Bod(bod) :
Or maybe even hook up a conversation with Gunther…
24 Nov 2010, 14:02 pm
@Staal(Staal) :
It’s about Jake because they need to sling mud at him to make duh Failures look good! The fact that they have to twist the past to make him look good proves how poor he actually is. He cannot stand out as a great coach on his own, lol.
24 Nov 2010, 14:03 pm
Where were we.
PDV were goint to select Adi, but due to media pressure had to go for a comprimise Zane.WHo performed better than
The only rugby writer that was unbiased from the beginning were Adnaan Mohamed. The others did not even gave PDV a chance.
Where have jake coached sinced the WC. His still riding on the old waves. He wont take a position without Eddie Jones, but eddie have also his eyes set on the coaching job
Where have Meyer achieved since he left the Bulls.
@Bod(bod) : It doesn’t occur to you that, as you stood there in your lycra tights with shaved legs and awkward shoes, strong tan lines at your knees and arms, that they may have been slightly ironic?
@Bod(bod) :
Paul Harris is AWESOME.
the only wickets we’ve taken have been when the jihaaddists have played for turn that wasn’t there.
the groundsman at centurian better stop rolling the wicket right now.
@Bod(bod) : ill rather watch my PC defrag!
24 Nov 2010, 14:04 pm
@gunther(gunther) : 258 just saw your post here. Snap.
Or like calling Skop a moderate….
24 Nov 2010, 14:04 pm
@Bod(bod) :
you are so cruel.
24 Nov 2010, 14:05 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy) : @ 265
skitterend!
24 Nov 2010, 14:06 pm
@Bod(bod) : BOD. As in Brian O Driscoll? As in pasty, chubby and incessantly whiny? I see…
24 Nov 2010, 14:07 pm
with his cycling helmet on.
fresh from his audition for the sequel to District 9.
A prawn cocktail.
24 Nov 2010, 14:07 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
I dont know why they played for Harros turn… there never is any. Maybe they know something we have never seen..
24 Nov 2010, 14:09 pm
@gunther(gunther) : he he he
24 Nov 2010, 14:09 pm
This is the coach we need
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dLArw8CBk0
24 Nov 2010, 14:11 pm
@Bod(bod) :
poor harro.
he is the Zane Kirchner of spinners.
24 Nov 2010, 14:12 pm
Now that I have added a pair of these new Bhorat type cycling thangs to my cycling garb, I personally think that this is the final nail in my armoury of attracting the Camps Bay female species
24 Nov 2010, 14:12 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) :
no.
that’s jake white.
24 Nov 2010, 14:14 pm
@Staal(Staal) : 250 because Alucard has Jake White on his mind all the time, he can’t criticise PdV without sucking Jake’s dlck. That’s why you find all the threads degenerating into discussions about Jake.. LMAO *
* LMAO is the official trademark of the ‘intellectually superior on this blog, those that didn’t pass matric by 34%.
LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 14:14 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
Lets not go down the Zana Kirchner route… its the quickest way to make me want to give up the will to live
24 Nov 2010, 14:15 pm
@Bod(bod) :
A Camps Bay female?
Called Gerald.
24 Nov 2010, 14:15 pm
@Bod(bod) : LOL ok. YOu mean those chick boys with the Adam’s apples?
24 Nov 2010, 14:16 pm
@Bod(bod) : You’re confusing Camps Bay with Sea Point and females with brokebackers. Easy mistake.
24 Nov 2010, 14:17 pm
Here’s another gem by de Villiers:
”I am a ‘small-brain’ person. A small-brain person doesn’t need to go sit down and study over what he’s going to say to people; it comes naturally. People who study and get A’s and B’s are clever people. But people who don’t go and study and have all that wisdom are wise.”
24 Nov 2010, 14:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I’m glad you put the obligatory LMAO at the bottom of your post. I wouldn’t have taken it seriously otherwise
24 Nov 2010, 14:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) :
My education was abroad, where I surpassed metric.
24 Nov 2010, 14:19 pm
ALUCARD = DRACULA backwards.
I get it.
How sad.
24 Nov 2010, 14:20 pm
@gunther(gunther) : see what I did there?
24 Nov 2010, 14:20 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
It only took you people three years to figure it out XD
It’s also a character from a tv series, ultimate fail.
24 Nov 2010, 14:21 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : LOL as apposed to the “imperial” system (metric)
LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 14:22 pm
Howcome everyone is so clued up on the nuances of the dark side of the Seaboard at the moment??
Gunther
Please tell me its not you that wolf whistled me as I sped through the Camps bay promenade last Sunday
@stormersboy(stormersboy) : \
clever boy.
you arfe almost in alucard’s league
@Alucard(Alucard) : Yeah dude, I wouldn’t be all that proud to be the only one on this site who truly appreciates anime……
24 Nov 2010, 14:23 pm
he thinks metric is how black people say it
24 Nov 2010, 14:24 pm
@Alucard(Alucard) : So you intellectual types watch mundane TV series’? No doubt only to confirm your intellectual superiority?
Oh.
Almost forgot:
LMAO!
Now Im clever too!
24 Nov 2010, 14:25 pm
@Bod(bod) :
i dunno.
were you the chick that scraped my porsche with her mountain bike outside caprice?
24 Nov 2010, 14:25 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
oooh. I didn’t realise he was going for the “son of exilet educated overseas and desperately trying to fit in back in the motherland with being constantly called a coconut” thing….
24 Nov 2010, 14:26 pm
exile not exilt
anime?
is that like when mickey mouse gives it to minnie in her hairy inbox?
@Bod(bod) : Be honest. You slowed down, didnt you?
24 Nov 2010, 14:28 pm
@gunther(gunther) : You know, it actually sometimes is (I believe)…
24 Nov 2010, 14:28 pm
the okes must get psyched for england. its time to do the deed. the time has come to bring out the big guns and lift a leg.
24 Nov 2010, 14:29 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) :
@adi(adi) : I wasnt joking when i made the statement!
Adi was dropped because he could not finish the first training session and that forced Pdv to pick Zane @ 13.
That is the only reason and it is also the reason Adi has been sitting on the bench the whole tour he is unfit and should have never toured.
poor Minnie.
all that time she was dreaming of pluto.
24 Nov 2010, 14:30 pm
That’s actually quite funny.
almost forgot my lmao.
24 Nov 2010, 14:33 pm
@geo(geo) :
It’s not about race. Strauli got crucified, JW blarely kept his job.
Supporters want performance, as fickle as they might be.
If a white guy insults a black guy it seems to always be racist.
It’s like Blacks all over the world. Everytime they **** up suddenly it’s racism.
I’ve lived all over the world, UK USA etc and it’s the same **** everywhere with black people.
Get over it, if you fail you will be critised right or wrongly if you are black, white or chinesse.
In Jakes case he succeeded and he still gets no appreciation. It’s not racism.
In PDV’s case his media utterances really have ruined his reputation world wide. At least JW was appreciated overseas even if his own countrymen didn;t.
I’m so f’ing tired of people whining about racism.
And the day SA citizen start voting/hiring/firing based on deliverly rather than ethnic and race lines the day this country will finally have accountabiliy and that will mean we finally rise above being a banana republic. Because we can punch above our weight, we have the people to do it – just like we show on the sports fields.
24 Nov 2010, 14:36 pm
careful.
next thing you know you will be invited over to watch his video collection of all the bok games since readmission.
with perhaps some dungeons and dragons thrown in.
24 Nov 2010, 14:36 pm
@Mike H(Mike H) :
Spot on. Though in the USA, they embrace merit in sport, and though they had to wait, they finally got a Super Bowl coach, and it was legit!
24 Nov 2010, 14:51 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Aparently the kids of today are big “sims” and “World of Warcraft” fans. According to my 13 year old neice. And no, Alucard, you cannot have her number.
24 Nov 2010, 14:52 pm
@Mike H(Mike H) : thanks MikeH.
pdv is not failing because he is black or a quota or a token…he is failing because he is proving himself inept!
24 Nov 2010, 14:52 pm
Why does the poll have so many options. Goodness. Can’t they just say who do you think will win.
24 Nov 2010, 14:53 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy) : Hehehehehehehehehe.
24 Nov 2010, 14:57 pm
my grandmother says gaming leads to ***.
as does dancing.
actually in her book its very difficult to do anything without it leading to ***.
24 Nov 2010, 14:58 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri) : They are narrowing the options so more votes could be wrong. Once you wrong they’ll play on the fact that the Boks haven’t reached your expectations. Chances are that only about 10% will be absolutely correct.
24 Nov 2010, 14:58 pm
@gunther(gunther) : yeah gaming usually leads to s ex: WITH YOURSELF!!! (bada bing)…
24 Nov 2010, 15:02 pm
Slightly off the topic, but how tactically inept were the Proteas? Some crazy strategic decicions. Should’ve declared last night and dangled the carrot at Pakistan. Instead they make sure they don’t lose, before trying to win it, knowing full well their bowlers are incapable of taking 10 wickets in less than a day?
24 Nov 2010, 15:02 pm
throw a blanket on him.
he’s on fire.
24 Nov 2010, 15:03 pm
@gunther(gunther) : (Bows humbly. Checking to make sure that BOD is not behind him).
24 Nov 2010, 15:04 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) :
we woulnd’t have got a result on that pitch in 7 days.
our spinners are inept.
it would have been a travesty to have given Pakistan a sniff of a game that they were never in.
we should have used the last day for batting practice.
24 Nov 2010, 15:05 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : Usually the chaps that get the predictions incorrect are the Keo journo’s.
24 Nov 2010, 15:06 pm
World of Warcraft > The Sims..
24 Nov 2010, 15:07 pm
as long as you bow quickly you’ll be fine.
bod is incapable of getting out of his cycling gear without a family size tub of talcum powder and a high pressure hose.
24 Nov 2010, 15:07 pm
@Drlector(Drlector) : Well thanks for clearing that up for us fella.
24 Nov 2010, 15:11 pm
@gunther(gunther) : It’s precisely because of the wicket, that dangling the vicotry carrot would see the Pakistanis play more adventurously, seeing as they haven’t won a series in a while. What difference did the extra 50 or so runs do? The last thing Pakistan wanted to do was bat yesterday afternoon. Instead Prince and Boucher dug their heels in. Get 2 wickets yesterday and the batsment would’ve been on edge today. A couple of batting mistakes and a few good deliviries and you into the tail. Much better chance for victory.
24 Nov 2010, 15:13 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) :
like i said they were never going to take that chance.
24 Nov 2010, 15:14 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy) : hahahaha
24 Nov 2010, 15:16 pm
Keep Divvie but get him some new assistants. He’s got the vision, he just doesn’t know how to get there.
24 Nov 2010, 15:17 pm
@gunther(gunther) : shew.
24 Nov 2010, 15:21 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat) :
**** that.
two new assistants?
he needs a labrador and dark glasses.
24 Nov 2010, 15:22 pm
There are no more excuses for this awful BOK team
24 Nov 2010, 15:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)
Brilliant!
24 Nov 2010, 15:24 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat) : So just because he has the ‘vision’ we need to give him a backbone by adding new helpers? I often have visions of the Virgin Mary but I realise I am no Saint
24 Nov 2010, 15:29 pm
@adi(adi) : 264
I met Adnaan Mohamed by accident in Edinburgh. The guy is solid, down to earth.
I have started reading some of his stories since and you are right, he calls it as he sees it.
24 Nov 2010, 15:33 pm
@Drlector(Drlector) : 322
Not a chance
I am a massive Sims fan.
Yet to play Sims 3 though, 2 keeps me busy enough
24 Nov 2010, 15:37 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
The only reason Pakistan lost three wickets was because they played for the spin from Botha and Harris…
How dof, someone should tell them our spinners cannot turn the cap of a coke bottle.
24 Nov 2010, 15:38 pm
@gunther(gunther) :
He may lose sight of who he really is with those dark glasses. That will be counter-productive and we’ll be back to square one. Two new assistants, one at a time if it makes things easier.
24 Nov 2010, 15:41 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
classic
24 Nov 2010, 15:46 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt) :
exactly.
setting Pakistan a target would have been suicide.
I cannot wait till Imran Tahir qualifies.
24 Nov 2010, 15:47 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt) : I really felt that Graeme should have given AB a chance to go for his triple hundred. 278 is a few boundries away. I know he wanted to declare but still.
24 Nov 2010, 15:47 pm
@willievz(willievz) : isnt he the guy that got moer-ed by Jake’s buddy at a pub some time back after an argument with Jake?
24 Nov 2010, 15:48 pm
@gunther(gunther) : That was a batting track plain and simple. not much in it for any of the bowlers. Dead as a doornail.
24 Nov 2010, 15:49 pm
@gunther(gunther) : ask Fikile Mbalula to tell Home Affairs to expedite his application like they did the Beast’s.
24 Nov 2010, 15:51 pm
Who the 2 fools that voted Boks will win by 30+…. Either Ask a Naz1 and Cab or a coupla Kiwis takingthepiss… Poppa and China…
24 Nov 2010, 15:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : adi & Geo
24 Nov 2010, 15:55 pm
indeed.
I would also like to see AB getting 300.
i don’t think Fikile has managed to switch his computer on yet.
24 Nov 2010, 15:58 pm
Don’t know Transie, but if it is him, it tells a lot about what type of character the buddy is…
24 Nov 2010, 16:01 pm
@gunther(gunther) : he looked so “in” that I thought he should have been allowed 2 or 3 overs to go for it.
24 Nov 2010, 16:05 pm
Magtag
Slow day here today.
24 Nov 2010, 16:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : 345. Ja, but I didn’t think they could count that much
24 Nov 2010, 16:08 pm
@Dawn(Dawn) :
howzit cougar.
24 Nov 2010, 16:12 pm
when is the ashes , is it tommorow ???
24 Nov 2010, 16:13 pm
@gunther(gunther) : LOL! My first exposure to a cougar was in the tv series cougar town. Can’t all the cougars be like the character in the show?
24 Nov 2010, 16:20 pm
PdV will be out-coached. Again.
24 Nov 2010, 16:23 pm
@funkyzoo(funkyzoo) : Dont think so. We are going to beat England. Their expansive game is not going to come off against us.
24 Nov 2010, 16:25 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : i’ve just been introduced to cougar town, yeah if all the cougars were like courtney cox, i’d bag myself one too
24 Nov 2010, 16:27 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) :
my first exposure to a cougar was at the tender age of 15.
i cant still remember touching her front bottom.
good times.
24 Nov 2010, 16:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Once met a Cougar on New Years Eve, she was drunk as F%&*!! Hopped out of her Chevy Spark and gave me and my buddies all hugs!! When she drove away we were like, damn should of banged her!! lol
24 Nov 2010, 16:31 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie) :
Yes 2am our time.
24 Nov 2010, 16:34 pm
@gunther(gunther) : You cant remember?
24 Nov 2010, 16:38 pm
Our defense us porousvand our attack is predictable. We have no vision and no plan. And every coach PdV goes up against outmaneuvers him tactically.
If we win it will not be architected and it will not be convincing. But it’s much more likely England will skin us. Intelligence matters.
24 Nov 2010, 16:40 pm
Martin Johnson: “Good teams are good every week”
Hey Martin – we’re not good every week but we’re a good team. Aren’t we?
24 Nov 2010, 16:42 pm
@gunther(gunther) : You a mechanic too. You like to fiddle under the hood.
24 Nov 2010, 16:43 pm
can..crikey.
i’ve gone all week at the knees and my hands are shaky.
24 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
@funkyzoo(funkyzoo) : Our defence was very good against Ireland….they hardly made half a metre on attack. Our attack is predictable I agree…..but if we move the ball from side to side and run straight like against Wales, who can stop us? PDV tactically outhought Kidney with the selection of Kirchner at 13. Ireland and O’driscoll thought they would have a field day with Kirchner at 13. What happened? Kirchner was good and created the match winning try. This team will come right. We are in a slump right now but next year is a new year. Have some faith.
24 Nov 2010, 16:44 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) :
part timer.
after work and weekends.
I don’t mind rolling my sleeves up.
24 Nov 2010, 16:45 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : hahahahaha the one that got away
24 Nov 2010, 16:46 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Was she reg? lol
24 Nov 2010, 16:47 pm
@pompies2(pompies2) : gunther is am olympic gold medalist 3 times in the sport of FINGERING
24 Nov 2010, 16:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : Lol
Ja hey.
24 Nov 2010, 16:49 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : 365. “PDV tactically outhought Kidney with the selection of Kirchner at 13.”… LOLLLLLLLLLLLLOLLLLLLL.
Hehehehehehehehehehehehehehe
LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!
Grasping for air!
LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
“Tactically out thought”…. Hehehehehehehe
Hysterical!
Lock yourself in a padded room…
LOLLLLLLLLLLL!
G2g cheers guys
@gunther(gunther) : as long as you stay away from the rotary wankle engines, it’s all good under the hood.
24 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@gunther(gunther) : my first exposure to a cougar was at the tender age of 15.
i cant still remember touching her front bottom.
good times.
2 weeks ago thus?
24 Nov 2010, 16:50 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Lol you crazy man!
What do you then call the selection of Kirchner?
24 Nov 2010, 16:51 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : Lol
24 Nov 2010, 16:53 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : go HOME!
@Taahirah(Taahirah) :
It felt like it was yesterday.
actually I tell a lie.
It felt like taking gold coins out of a silk purse.
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : 375. Brain dump, farked up, f’kadilly, bullshit, horseshit, rubbish, nonsense…
Not “tactically out thought” Teehehehehehehehehehehe
Still hysterical…
Chair and all have fallen over 3 times now…
The office is getting suspicious…
24 Nov 2010, 16:55 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : Fark, are you one of two who voted Boks will win by 30+ points… Hehehehehe… spose there’s room for everyone on this Bok trainsmash of a ride
24 Nov 2010, 16:56 pm
exactly.
iori works for igovernment.
if he puts in overtime it will show up on my rates bill.
then I shall have to send Mabel to toy-toy.
which will require taxi fare and “spending money”.
plus she will block up my pvr with all the wrestling she misses.
24 Nov 2010, 16:58 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah) : 374. Her “front bottom”… dead badger???
24 Nov 2010, 16:58 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : How can it be a brain dump.
Whose call was it? PDV
Did it work? Yes
What did Ireland expect? To smash the Boks because Kirchner was at 13.
What did Kirchner do in the game? Made good tackles and never lost the ball. Set up Aplon for a try.
You cant deny, it was a good selection and played mind games with Ireland. They really didnt know what to expect.
Therefore PDV outplayed Kidney.
24 Nov 2010, 17:00 pm
meerkat.
killed with an axe.
24 Nov 2010, 17:00 pm
Guys I must really go now or I will miss my train. @Heavens Game(Heavens Game) : Nope I voted Boks to win by 1-7.
24 Nov 2010, 17:01 pm
@gunther(gunther) : ur wife is Mabel right?
24 Nov 2010, 17:01 pm
@gunther(gunther) : Lol I am working overtime whole week to save up for a christmas box. Thanks Gunther!!
24 Nov 2010, 17:02 pm
@gunther(gunther) : 384. Jeez, I amdone FARKLOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLPOLL
24 Nov 2010, 17:03 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : that’s the same mindfark jake was going for when he played wacko jaco at 10, but it backfired terriblr for jake. LMAO
24 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
I have explained this.
i have asked Mabel to be my second wife hoping that I will save on her salary.
However her family are being ridiculous with lobola.
I have done a spread sheet and it is not cost effective.
So we have a strictly kosher vibe.
also I my partner in a tender for trampolines (which she has stolen through her contact in the army) for the western cape education department in an effort to get kids off tik.
In case they end up like Mighty.
So all in all there is much to lose.
24 Nov 2010, 17:06 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami) : 383. Did it work? Because nothing happened beyond 1st centre doesn’t mean it “worked”…
I saw Kirchner make two errors, one that very nearly led to s try and another that actually did… To Ireland…
Prime example of the truth according to Bob Mugabe…
It ain’t frustrating, it aint sad… Its bloody funny… Keep it up, nearly as funny as Grunter LOL
24 Nov 2010, 17:09 pm
@gunther(gunther) : so who is Maevis?
24 Nov 2010, 17:18 pm
you don’t know that joke?
guy walks into a bar full of dead stuffed animals and says to the barman.
“If I can name every one of these dead animals, tell you hwo they died and what they are worth will you gib=ve me a free drink?”
The barman looks incredulous but the man’s wife rolls her eyes.
she’s seen this before and says she’s going home.
the man points to an animal and tells the barman
“antelope, killed with a hunting rifle, worth about $2,000″
correct says the barman and pours him a drink.
the man continues
‘shallow pig, killed with a crossbow worth about $150″
correct again says the barman and purs him another drink.
this carries on until the man leaves the bar completely shitfaced.
the next morning the guy wakes up with two black eyes and a raging headache.
he asks his wife what happened.
“I beat you up” she says
“why” he askes
“because you came home shitfaced after playing your usual game. you crawled between my legs and slurred
meerkat, killed with an axe. worth nothing”….
Maevis is Mabel.
Mabel is the name she uses on her fraudelent social security grant.
24 Nov 2010, 17:21 pm
@gunther(gunther) : 393. LOL, dribbling now… Called over a colleague. The oke is choking…hahahahahahahahah!
24 Nov 2010, 19:52 pm
@gunther(gunther) : @ 256
what with gold watches now deemed redundant and ole Ma’ Soo Zees recipe book consigned to the museum, they might now just have to rely on Lady Luck instead to make Test wins relevant again….
DOH !
bugger, already used that one up in 2007.
24 Nov 2010, 21:47 pm
One of the PDV apologists earlier said that PDV has beaten the French in France. Can you please remind me when this happened. I must have been on the Moon at the time, don’t remember it.
24 Nov 2010, 21:48 pm
396 – More accurately put – PDV “has coached the Boks to a win in France.”
24 Nov 2010, 21:50 pm
its obviously the decline of the holy imperialistic colonialist Aryan empire but they just can’t seem to get their dumb deluded indoctrinated Caucasian heads around some salient facts
You see Pdivvy is an agent of the dark negative forces of embedded Affricative evil, the underhand irreligious current of anarchic chaos sent to destabilize the Aryan supremacy syndrome of highfalutin snotty nosed delusions of grandeur as pertinently and patently signified here by the likes of these draconian second grade excuses for Springbok supporters, these heathen handed halfassed exclusionary diversionary delinquents who like to think of themselves as the upper crust narcissus echelons of the SA rugby fraternity.
They gotta get their @sses handed to them one ignominious method or another, so good for you PdV, drive these heathen horde Nazi sympathetic moronic ignoramus’s elongated snotty filled Aryan snouts into the hallowed white skinned evangelical ground.
Its time, time to see the reality for what it is, time for these deluded delinquents to realize whats actually cutting around their despicably dreary dubiously droning ears, time to understand they no more the sanctified peanut brained society of sycophantic psychosocial rugby religionists who think they rule when in fact they are ruled, who think they supersede supremacy with schizophrenically psychopathic sich heil certainty, time for these dubious delusional derelict defrauding dumbschmucks to face their own eroding derailing dereliction of denial square in their dubious deliberating pompous pretentious faces.
24 Nov 2010, 21:54 pm
Lol @ the deluded one. The funniest guy on the blog
24 Nov 2010, 21:55 pm
223. GEO(GEO) :
November 24th, 2010 at 1:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation) : I agree it was a bad performance against Scotland, but none worse than 2002 or 2006. But under PDV we’ve beaten the French, All Blacks and Ireland away, which the two previous coaches couldn’t do, but I don’t remember any such backlash from the media, unfortunately a certain section of the rugby supporting public, which also represents a minority grouping in our country seem to enjoy riding this bandwagon. I feel common sense has given way to allow frustrations to be vented and the springbok coach is a easy target.
Can anyone tell me when we beat France away under Snor?
24 Nov 2010, 21:58 pm
Just for skoppie:
FIRE THE CLOWN PDV AND HIS 2 JOKER ASSISTANTS
This team should be 75%+ None of this losing to Scotland bullsh*t.
24 Nov 2010, 22:03 pm
I think I might count the sum total of true Springbok rugby supporters on this thread on exactly one hand (and an extra thumb)
Zinto
Willievz
Cab
Adi
Geo
Yetirat
doubt I can find too many others
maybe a couple fence sitters like bananaboy, iori yagami, transformation, and perhaps couple more I may have inadvertently skipped past in my haste to highlight the obvious
That the majority of this negatively bred, negatively endorsed and negatively indoctrinated heathenish delinquent derelict dichotomous diametrically opposed tribe of whitewashed woosie wetassed washed up feeble palefaced pratassed pricks are so far removed from being true SA rugby patriots, and true Springbok supporters, that they would be far better served heading for the very gas chambers and funeral parlors of prejudice that they still almost 20 years after the demise of their indoctrinated supremacy baited breeding ground of pugnacious pestiferous propensity, and which they have not yet learned what the underlying principles of humanity and humaneness represent.
24 Nov 2010, 22:07 pm
I support the Boks. Not the coach before the Boks.
Good results = happy times
Bad results = sad times
Good coach = good results
Bad coach = bad results
Simple equation, really.
24 Nov 2010, 22:10 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : Hey, you forgot about me, spend many a pound travelling after them, even through Jake Whites bullsht
24 Nov 2010, 22:10 pm
Bad coach = bad results = gets fired = not accepting MEDIOCRITY.
Simples.
24 Nov 2010, 22:12 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : …and as true fans we also demand more
I think that is fair?
24 Nov 2010, 22:12 pm
@JL1(JL1) : 404
Yeah… I was at Millenium Stadium 2 weekends ago and will be at Twickenham this weekend cheering on the team.
How utterly unpatriotic of me
24 Nov 2010, 22:16 pm
JL1 is a true patriot (perhaps a little of a reluctant one) but deep down underneath everything the man is a true Springbok supporting patriot, through and through.
24 Nov 2010, 22:17 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : 402. And you see yourself as a true green blood supporter
Ehh?Because you text at 50 words per minute on a Nokia 2210 until yup get blisters on your fingers, Whooppee whoo champ, glad you think that you support them
24 Nov 2010, 22:19 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : I reckon we all are on this site because love the Bok, we just hate losing and the bitter pill that goes with it
I see PDV loves the Boks maybe more than what he should as it clouds his judgement from time to time
24 Nov 2010, 22:20 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : I feel your pain, worst place on earth to lose is at Twickenham
Bloody Pomms remind you every day, but they keep forgetting about the many times we trampled them
24 Nov 2010, 22:20 pm
Jake White was hounded.
Rudolph Streauli was lynched.
Markgraaf was tarred and feathered.
Viljoen was persecuted.
Du Plessis was tortured.
Sh*t, even Mallett was fired for voicing a ‘non-embarrassing’ and very reasonable opinion…
And here we are, asked to believe that the criticism of PDV’s dreadful results is somehow ‘racist’ and ‘unpatriotic’? Get out of town.
24 Nov 2010, 22:22 pm
@JL1(JL1) : 411
Oh yes, its started at work already… Wearing the Bok jersey in on Friday.
24 Nov 2010, 22:22 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : Spooner, one day you must meet up with the ‘London Keo’ Lads (I am the quota Lass) !!!
At The Fox, pre match…..good bunch, 4man who organises it is a Sharkie !!!
JL1 and PaulD our Stormers supporters now Supa is back in SA I am the only Blue Bull supporter!
24 Nov 2010, 22:24 pm
@JL1(JL1) : Hello
One of your ‘Bloddy Pom Mates’ saw that!!!
Prepare for humiliation on a grand scale!!
24 Nov 2010, 22:26 pm
@carol(carol) : Lol, sounds an elite group. Where is the Cheetah, Lion, Welwitschia, Griffon, Puma and Mielie boer?
One day Carol. This weekend I’m tied up with clients.
Still can’t believe you chose the Bulls
24 Nov 2010, 22:29 pm
I count the following bad coaches in quick succession the past decade or so
Andre Maakgraaf, Harry Viljoen, Rudolph Streauli, Jake White
how many of those got fired?
the only ones that got fired are the good ones, Carel Du Plessis and Nick Mallett, and one outright racist who got caught red handed using the K word in semi public.
The other outright schmucks, Streauli, Viljoen and White walked Scott free, Viljoen baled because he couldn’t handle the heat, and White and Streauli the 2 absolute w@nkers of note got given the thumbs up all the way to their ignominious end or else their flukety fluke fallacious crowning glory.
White escaped the ax and so did Streauli, all on account of this feeble impostor of a fallacy driven in-dignified delusional obsession with a lucky packet Russian roulette syndrome called the ‘World Cup’ which it patently isn’t, its a setup song and dance that comes around once every 4 years with groups split into setup pools with mostly the obvious 8 getting to the quarters, then a lottery of who falls through the cracks and who gets the lucky draw to the final showdown where one team or another gets crowned ‘World champs’.
Utter bullsh’t baffling brains, no such thing. World Champs are those consistent winners who take on all comers, week in and out, season in and out and come out trumps, those are World Champs, not lucky packet psychosomatic schitzo’s who pull a flukety fluke win over the last 7th ranked team standing once in a 4 year blue moon.
24 Nov 2010, 22:30 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : We are a bit low on the other teams, you are right. Just the ‘Big 3′……
We are very inclusive though!
I met some Sharks fans in Oxfordshire today, they were very surprised when I congratulated them on winning the Currie Cup, they were even more surprised to know that my team were the Blue Bulls
Seriously, we will have to get you along sometime…..it is a laugh, although I worry when they talk in Afrikaans and then laugh!!
24 Nov 2010, 22:31 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : She was brainwashed with brandy and coke
24 Nov 2010, 22:34 pm
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : 417. And Pietie Divvy f’kadilly is going to join that ignominious grouping…
Funny that, incompetence truly is colourblind…
24 Nov 2010, 22:37 pm
Some people have veeeeeerrrrry short memories if they don’t remember the amount of stick White and Streauli received, including on this website.
What PDV is facing now is nothing new or abnormal.
But using their fanciful argument of “if it happened to our previous sh*t coaches then we should allow it to happen again”:
1. Streauli
Look what happened when we allowed him to continue in the job to the world cup – our most embarrassing World Cup ever and our first and only quarterfinal defeat in the competition.
2. White
Their argument is that White only won the World Cup due to a “fluke lucky packet” draw.
Well if this is the case, then surely they are hoping that PDV gets a fluke lucky packet draw? How else is he going to succeed if his results are roughly on a par with those 2 other bozos. Lets hope we don’t meet either of Australia, NZ or France otherwise we are done for.
Yes, very sensible arguments to keep PDV in the job
24 Nov 2010, 22:38 pm
Out to fetch a son
so long
24 Nov 2010, 22:39 pm
Me too, night all.
Nice one Carol, I’ll have to join you guys one day.
24 Nov 2010, 22:42 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : 421. Its deflection, Woody… I’ve said it before. Its like these poorbuggers are in the grips of Stockholm syndrome, with PdV, TrickyDicky and Goldilocked as the kidnappers…
With the syndrome victims think any lack of violence is an act of kindness and they illogically grow attached to the perpetrators…
With PdV, his farcical farkups and doing nothing are likewise seen as acts of kindness. And the first thing these silly victims do is blame Jake White… WTF? They forget about their “kidnapper”, PdV the skelmpie…
24 Nov 2010, 22:49 pm
@carol(carol) : Hahaha! But you are different
24 Nov 2010, 22:53 pm
@carol(carol) : Are you joining for the Baabaas game?
Friday I am doing the SA old vets vs the English old vets at the Stoop
24 Nov 2010, 22:56 pm
Snow and temperatures between 2 degrees and -2 degrees predicted for London on Saturday…Bokke are going to have a hard time, cause as they proved, they cannot get going in very cold and wet conditions.
24 Nov 2010, 23:14 pm
@JL1(JL1) : Sadly this time I am elsewhere, although I would actually rather be with you lot…..It would be funnier!
Have fun, and have a pint on me!! I will settle up next time
24 Nov 2010, 23:16 pm
Result irrelevant?????????
Muir now saying heads will roll if England wins at Twickers. So the result appears most relevant indeed.
So what is wanted? A win or a loss???
24 Nov 2010, 23:18 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon) : I will tell you when we next meet!
See you….
24 Nov 2010, 23:33 pm
@carol(carol) : I will have two pints on you, pity that you are not joining us
Next time, maybe the boxing day at Wembley
25 Nov 2010, 01:49 am
@ispy(ispy) : when did Muir say that?
25 Nov 2010, 03:57 am
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : Id like to hear some reasons. While there have been legitimate rugby reasons given to your ‘chosen’ they don’t seem to respond with objective responses. Its all about race and its so sad and pathetic to have rugby supporters arguing amongst each other about politics. Criticism against a coach while his team is losing is part of sport, any sport for that matter, its those idiots and you included who see criticism as a political agenda. The voices in your head calling for racism is exactly what it is producing. So please stop focusing on race, because theres no place for racist paranoia in the sport of rugby.
25 Nov 2010, 04:45 am
Sporting Life – Rugby Union News
MUIR AWARE OF PRESSURE
By Alex Lowe, Press Association Sport Rugby Union Reporter
South Africa’s backs coach **** Muir admits the Springboks management team could face the axe if they lose to England at Twickenham on Saturday.
The reigning world champions finished bottom of the Tri-Nations table and their 21-17 defeat to Scotland last week has ramped up the pressure.
Muir insisted South Africa have to approach the England game as an opportunity to right the wrongs of Murrayfield – but he knows what to expect if it goes badly.
“Our public back home epitomise what it is about. It is ruthless,” said Muir.
“They expect you to come over here and get the win and if you don’t get the result then there are going to be heads that are going to roll.”
The Rugby Football Union consistently backed Martin Johnson and his coaching team to remain in place through to the 2011 World Cup, even when things were not so rosy in the England garden.
But even with the defence of their title less than a year away, the Springboks have to work in a very different environment.
“In South Africa it is probably a bit more volatile than it is here,” Muir added.
“(In that environment) you have to believe in yourself, you have got to believe in your management team and your bosses.
“You have got to have a shared vision and hang in there in the tough times.
“From a coaching perspective you know most coaches end up getting fired so if you trust what you are about you can achieve what you ultimately set out to achieve.
“To be as good as we need to be at the World Cup, we are slightly off our pace. We need to do some clear thinking to make sure we are in line for that.”
South Africa secured narrow victories over Ireland and Wales before losing to Scotland and head coach Peter De Villiers has already identified England as their toughest challenge.
“Martin Johnson has had to go through some tough times but hats off to him for sticking to what he has. He has introduced some very exciting young players,” said Muir.
“The balance they have is good. The style of play is good. It will be a massive challenge for us.
“It has been a wake-up week for us after not getting the result against Scotland. England are really playing good rugby and we have got to have our wits about us.
“We are a proud nation and we are not proud of what happened at the weekend.
“We have to face up to the facts that we did not deliver and fortunately we have another week to be able to redeem ourselves.”
The last time South Africa played at Twickenham on the back of a defeat to Scotland was in November 2002 – the so-called ‘Battle of the Boks’.
South Africa lost all discipline as Corne Krige led his side on a trail of destruction. The Springboks had a player sent off after 23 minutes and England ran out 53-3 winners.
Muir admitted South Africa have at times put too much emphasis on brute force and he warned they will have to be much smarter against an England side now ranked fourth in the world.
“It has counted against us at times when we have been too hell-bent on being physical. You have to have the balance right,” said Muir.
“You need to be physical but you also need to be astute.”
25 Nov 2010, 05:03 am
@ispy(ispy) : 434 good that Muir knows the axe is waiting…
25 Nov 2010, 05:04 am
ESPN-SCRUM
High Noon for De Villiers – Stephen Nell -nov 23 2010
There are some things we take for granted in South Africa and beating Scotland at rugby is right up there with sunny skies, big steaks and spacious hotel rooms.
I refer to the latter because I am in a supposedly swanky hotel in London, but my home for the next two weeks will be a decidedly cramped little room as I continue to cover South Africa’s latest ill-fated tour to the northern hemisphere.
Saturday was my fourth visit to Murrayfield and I consider myself fortunate to have missed one of South African rugby’s darkest hours when the Springboks lost there in 2002. I had consoled myself that it was merely part of the blip that was the Rudolf Straeuli coaching era and would not happen again. Well, at least not for a decade or three, maybe even four…
Now please don’t accuse me of typical South African arrogance. Having covered rugby for a long time I have learned when and where to give credit and when and where it’s due. Yes, I believe Scotland deserve credit for beating South Africa on the weekend.
But should it really have happened? Anyone who follows rugby in South Africa will testify to the vast reservoir of talent in the country. I believe Scotland remain a limited side in spite of the weekend’s win and have as much chance of winning the World Cup as their football team, whereas the sky is the limit for South Africa if they channel their resources properly.
Last week, after the Wales game, I wrote a column for the Afrikaans daily newspapers in South Africa questioning whether the Springboks have really progressed in spite of their tour victories over Ireland and Wales.Had Ronan O’Gara’s conversion attempt been a centimetre to the left, South Africa would have been left ruing in their wastefulness after being 23-9 up. They held on to win 23-21.
What saved them at the Millennium Stadium was their champion spirit and the Welsh inferiority complex. Wales had the team to beat a South African outfit not playing close to their potential, but did not believe in themselves and the Boks knew it.
And then came Scotland – a match South Africans regard as a routine victory. The only thing is that the Scots were smarting after being thrashed by the All Blacks and the Boks had been riding their luck to a point where it papered over some obvious cracks.
South Africa defended their line desperately in the second-half to see off the threat of Wales, but the Boks’ tackling was actually quite atrocious in the first-half. That was also the case in the Tri-Nations, in which they lost five out of six games. Defence has traditionally been a South African strength and the Stormers were the most effective defensive unit in the Super 14.
For those that believe South Africans were reluctant to embrace the new interpretation of the breakdown laws, consider that the Bulls and the Stormers contested the Super 14 final.All the tools were there for Springbok coach Peter De Villiers and his lieutenants, **** Muir and Gary Gold, to have a cracking international season.
The rot did not start at Murrayfield. We could still excuse last year’s European tour based on South Africa winning a series against the British & Irish Lions, as well as the Tri-Nations. However, the Boks have now won only 8 of their last 16 Tests, a statistic that proves they are a declining force in world rugby ahead of Saturday’s showdown against England in Twickenham. This is a match that may well determine whether the coaching team stays or goes before the World Cup.
South Africa have an outstanding coach like Heyneke Meyer as a possible long-term successor to De Villiers and there is no reason that their rugby bosses should consider it necessary to tolerate failure. Not for the first time then it’s high noon for a Springbok coach at Twickenham. Jake White survived the chop with a 25-14 win in 2006. It will be interesting to see how Peter De Villiers ultimately reflects on the clash of 2010.
25 Nov 2010, 05:12 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : Sure but a couple of things spring to mind – be careful what you wish for
And – do have to wonder about the players themselves. Haven’t heard any expressions of support for the coaching staff. What are thoughts of the players???? You can’t tell me that they’re sitting back taking this nonsense – career, reputations etc. Haven’t heard a whisper about their allegiance to Krusty’s great game-plan, other than having difficulty in executing it. So do they have any belief if it/him at all????
25 Nov 2010, 05:57 am
@ispy(ispy) : good question. I think any bok wants to win all the time, but at some point they must start asking the question if the coach is good enough to guide them to victory
25 Nov 2010, 07:08 am
@ispy(ispy) : 437 in that case Pdv is his own worst enemy, why choose players who you can tell – at training – have not bought into your strategy? Deans did a thorough clean-out of all the ‘power cliques’ in the wallabie team and ONLY those players who were willing to learn & implement his ways got picked. Why persist working with players who can potentially undermine you?
25 Nov 2010, 08:19 am
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : Dude WTF?? Fence sitter?? You got to be kidding me. I will die for the Boks. I support the team and the coaches. I am one of the only guys who always punt the Boks to win. Where other guys say stuff like England by 20. I will never say such **** in my life. I am one of the most positive guys on here.
25 Nov 2010, 08:26 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : And yet, the Aussies are still losing
25 Nov 2010, 08:26 am
@askanaz1(askanaz1) : And dude I am coloured.
25 Nov 2010, 08:29 am
What colour?
25 Nov 2010, 08:31 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast) : Hehehehe
25 Nov 2010, 08:42 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast) : Multicoloured!
25 Nov 2010, 08:45 am
You like a mood ring?
25 Nov 2010, 08:50 am
@Transformation(Transformation) : Stranger things have happened, and aye, Dingo did have a clean out.
I’m just not seeing during these dark hours any flicker of support for a coach under the pump. Usually by this stage there are reports from players saying how much they believe in the direction or methods of ‘Coach blah.’ Happened to Marty Johnson and Dingo. Sometimes the players opinion has shortened or lengthened the career of a coach but in this case – zip, nothing.
25 Nov 2010, 08:51 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast) : I am like a LED T.V 2 million colours *****!! LOL
25 Nov 2010, 14:59 pm
The current coaching set up is not up to the task. No coach in the current era had has the quality ofplayers available as these guys have. The SA provinces are stronger than they have been for years. The sharks, bulls and stormers have become a lot more professional and we are seeing the results. Unfortunately the Boks are way behind. I disagree with the assertion that the boks should lower the importance of this game and play fringe players. It is a test match and we should be aiming to win it. I can’t believe that with all the games our Players play and the training programs they engage that the coaches need to experiment in a test like this. Wasn’t that the idea of the Italy tests?
Good coaches know what they want and know who is capable of what. Look at Mitchell at the lions. Came in took a look around and took control. Our coaches are all over the place.